(2008/08) Aug 2008

Huichin,
wow... 80-100ml sounds good lei. i until now only 50ml hahaha. but i must admit that i very lazy and nvr pump every 3 hours la. very boring to sit there and then wait for the pump for half hour and cannot carry bb. when she sleep i got so many things to do .. shower, eat, read email etc etc .. hahaa. but my girl got latch on la. so i usu let her latch on. but sometimes she will fidgit here and there to find a comfy postion. then hubby will get upset esp in the night and he will just ask me give her the fm and save everyone the prob. so now i trying to express out to give her in the nite..

ur hubby granny sounds good lei .. i can only start 2 mths later.. prob after ur hari raya. must go ur hse or can she come my place ?

yes i super thirsty too .. day time i drink red dates but in the night i drink water, no choice. cos usu maid put a bottle water by bedside for me.

Catherine, so when u latch BB on is not painful rite? Sighs...think i need to practice more...but i cannot bear to see Falisha like almost suffocate with my huge boob in her face..so i pump loh. Sob. Maybe must keep trying until grows a big bigger.

Oh yes yes, 2mths later is a good time, cos fasting mth she will have no energy to carry out her work so earliest she can start is mid Oct. U are the preggie so she will go to ur house, but hor will need to include her transportation fee - very cheap only, so dun worry
Heh. Normal ppl massage will have to go to her place. Heh. Where u staying at ah?

Oh ok then i'm not alone feeling thirsty! LOL.

huichin,
sometimes the first suck is painful. actually sometimes i notice she sucks only the nipple + abit of the areola. i think it's normal cos her mouth not veyr big :p but she has this habit of comfort sucking (like suck until fall asleep).. but after she sucks, i do feel the breast softer already so i think somehow in her own way she did drink the bm lo.

but if you manage to pump 80-100 is very good
i wish i can pump that amt.

i stay kembangan. near you .. you stay bedok reservoir right ? I PM you my number

Chin chin,

thanks!! so relief to hear that is a common problem, think i got two lumps on each side, think the size of 50cents coin too lei.
u mean ur nipple big ot breast big ? my nipple very big, so think emre also got difficulty wrapping his whole mouth to the areola part. how u manage to pump 80ml ?? that's alot wor, u eat alot of fish ? i din pump since he came back today, just let him latch on, he keep falling asleep while sucking, also dunno he got drink enuff or not. been massaging with warm water ard the breast before feeding, yup agree with you after hot shower breast tend to drip.

i been drinking water (room temp/warm) , longan + red dates drink, eating banana and fruits (consist of water also mah)
my massage lady say can drink water, so i drink loh ..kekeke..if not so thirsty only drinking the longan+red date drink lei.

just started my massage today, really feel so good, having the binding on over nite, massage lady say to buy binder to wear after the whole massage session, did u gals have any binder ? where to get a good and cheap one ?

dunno whether lose weight oredi or not, cos still feel heavy and bloated with fabby tummy, dun dare to weigh yet.

Catherine,huichin: u didnt engaged confinement nanny?

Catherine: c-sec got any problems with milk flow? cos seems like those who hv natural birth produces more milk easily????

huichin: does boobs become much bigger during breastfeeding? or same as pregnancy?? i bought nursing bras liao...hope my size dun change!

Mommies, anyone noticed our nipples n aerola become bigger? Will it change back to our pre-pregnancy state? haha..

Catherine, oh...hmm..think my nipples are more or less healed so i think i should try latch her on in the day (like u say i oso want fuss-free nites (chop chop settle Falisha down in the night).

I think for pumping u can just keep trying. Eat more fish k!

Oh u stay kembangan only! Yes i'm at Bedok Reservoir Rd. If after Raya u wanna have the massage/binding session think we can decide later on the venue k. How long do u wanna have the massage? 1/2/3/4 wks? So if u interested i can 'chop' her 1st. Heh.

Here's the details:

Price: $50 per session (massage/binding)
Average Duration: 1-2hrs
FYI: Binding material + transportation at cost

Yuuri,
My #1 can sing part of it oredi .. haha.
I just sang a few times to him and he kinda also remembers some of it.
The other song is "Singapura, Oh Singapura, Sunny island, set in the sea. Singapura, Oh Singapura, pretty island, there for you and me". I think this is correct, anyway, this is what i taught him and he likes to sing this song .. hhaa.

Interrace, yea i got eat fish at least 4x per wk. Haha...not like ALOT but have la. Heh. Eh...i was saying my boobies are big as well as nipples/areola! LOL..BTW so when u latch Emre on izzit painful now?

NiNi, no dun have leh. LOL. During ur nursing, yes, definitely ur boobies will become bigger. Hahaa..

Nini,
My nipple, aerola has become bigger - breast oso. I went to measure today and realised that the diameter is 30mm ... so that's why I order the Deluxe Combo ... maybe the medium size one is too small .... dunno la but my set comes with both medium and large.

In fact for me, sometimes i see some leaking colostrum/milk oredi ... so i have to be careful not too press it .... lest the colostrum leaks before baby is out ... then no more liao. Not sure if it keeps producing .... or if it leaks then no more ... vv precious leh.

Maybe mine is #2, that;s why.

Nursing bra ... i discard it during my confinement ... went braless .. haha.

If outside, i normally give bottle so dun need nursing bra. Dun go out for too long, be in time home to latch and pump.

hisstory,
order for lansinoh bag noted...

shint,
fenugreek from drugstore ordered liao, quite easy for drugstore spree cos me ordered from them before & my details aledi in their system, just add to cart can aledi... me very busy with baby so can only consolidate & order 1 spree at a time plus me amateur organiser so have to check carefully... hopefully tonight can close the other 2 sprees...

shay,
wat an amazing feat... such a big baby still can do w/o epi... think u r the idol of our month... hehe...

celyn,
wah, congrats on yr EBM volume... i also find that pump for 5 to 10 mins then stop to massage then pump for another 5 to 10 mins then stop & continue if still can tahan is better...

missysz,
ok, noted...

huichin,
80 to 100ml is very gd since u have just delivered last week... mine still averaging 80ml though i had one 120ml pump this morning, i was so sleepy that i forgot to watch the clock & overpump... nnp a bit sore after that

catherine,
yr gynae told u 2 months then can massage? me cant massage till 1 month after delivery... & im paranoid that my wound might burst...

chin chin,

how to post pics ah ? can advice ? my pics size too big lei, dunno how to resize.
yup, boobs and nipple both become big big now for me also.

today latching on emre no pain, cos i squeeze some milk out and apply ard the whole nipple and leave it, think it helps to condition the nipple.

Shint: huh! is that so? I also almost everyday see colostrum... i mean it keep producing everyday what.. everyday i will squeeze out abit, so that when bb latch on, it will be more smooth... I scared will get traffic jam inside if never regulate properly..hahahah!

Btw the Deluxe combo is for what? Nipple shield? I heard some bbs refused to latch on if nipple shield is on!!!

Shint,
i haven order pumpinpal yet... u want to change order? i was adding to cart just now & realise they got international shipping for usd 30... now is usd10 (local) + vpost fees... seems quite worth if we can hit higher amount... vpost fees sometimes quite unpredictable cos some merchants use very big box then we kena higher fees...

nini,
u want to ride onto our pumpinpal.com order?

http://www.pumpinpal.com/html/survival_kit.htm
deluxe combo got supershield for you to pump without sitting upright, meaning you can lean back plus handsfree kit allows you to pump without holding the bottles...

Dongle,
Don't quite understand u leh .. did you read that I wanna change order to the Delux Combo #1 M/L set liaoz and Earnestmum sharing with u on the M/M size. Eh, also dunno how it works ... u PM me so i can call u tomorrow to discuss?

USD 31.85 + USD 5 (ground shipping) + Vpost rite?
How much might vPost cost?

Who has international shipping for USD30? USD10(local)?
Pumpinpal dun ship to Singapore cos using those agents lor ... checked oredi.

dongle

Thanks! Keep me posted abt the payment details k?

huichin

Great to see u here back in action!

Wow, tt's quite a lot of milk.. Keep up with the gd work man! Oh yes and tt weight loss!!

celyn

*congratulations* Keep up with the efforts in pumping & latching on, more 'demand' will help create the supply

snow

Why cannot go hospital during 7th mth?

interrace

Do u have any photo editing prog? The forum only allows up to 50kb and 600x600 for the photos.. So must go downsize before we can upload successfully..

HTH

To all mommies who popped, CONGRATS!

snow, zynn very cute! already very good dresser wif mommy's help! ;)

M2B, i hope my #1 is also very helpful n caring twds mei mei.

shint, my tummy oso like urs! everyone @ office is also wondering wat on earth am I doing still lugging tat belly ard. actually, tis rd very of preg quite bad for me cos my legs & pelvic area keep aching...

huichin, envy ur big boobs...

faeriekim

Me too, feeling the aches at the pelvic area these few days.. Quite painful esp after getting up fr the chair/ sofa
When are u going to start taking MC or HL? I just got my gynae to give me for next week..

hisstory!
we sound alike! painful especially fm sitting on tat useless unergonomic friendly office chair. have to get up VERY slowly and walk very slowly, esp the last wk.
i told my gynae to give me HL starting wed next wk. I oni got 2 days of MC nia, can't use MC anymore.

Faeriekim, hisstory,
Monday I am taking my National day leave.
Tue-Wed, back to work to clear the last min stuff. Thu, going to see gynae, then prob take 2 days MC. I only took 7 days this year so far ... so think 2 more days shld be ok.
Next week, I'll take 2 days leave before I go deliver on Wed - if baby dun come out earlier.

But my hubby prefers me to go office cos for work wise, it's low period. He says at home nobody's ard and if I need to deliver, no one to help me. Office still got colleagues around.

morning mummies

hisstory,
yah. even without baby, i will pump every 3 hours for 15 mins. yesterday, check with nurse baby is drinking about 50ml now. so must pump more to feed. he finished all the ebm that we send over liao.

huichin,

dongle,
thanks. everyday, must wake up in the night to pump in darkness. breast very engorge if don't pump, can only tahan 15 mins. breast sore leh.

Shint,
my schedule oso omost same. mon is forced hol at orpid. so i juz need to go for tis mtg on tue and then fm wed, REST. i have used up so many MC cos there was once i was sick during my 5mth mth n had to take 3 days (no medication)! then plus everytime go gynae take 1 day, so now oni left 2 days. eeks.
it's true tat not so bz nowadays,but i dun tink i shld torture myself physically anymore. it's good tat u r not feeling tat uncomfortable even wif a good-sized belly.

Huichin,
You very solid ley! Deliver not long can pump out 80-100ml already! My maximum only 70ml and most of the time is around 35-60ml. My bb is 2wks old tmr!!

Feel like trying nipple shield to get bb to latch on again. Now i try to latch on, he will suck like max 5 times then refuse. So sad.

Yuuri,
I can't promise it works but then have to try rite? Get the nipple shield that is same brand as the bottle u are using, I THINK it helps cos the feel is the same.

Perhaps for them, they recognise the bottle teat as the "nipple" so in order to bluff them that that's the "nipple" for source of food, use the same one.

It's all trial and error. Well, if it works, then next time when baby more in tune with the position, the body touch, etc ... then can switch back without. Hope it works.

morning ladies! =)

shint
i'm not sure, cos i said based on my own experience.
today is 2nd day, i can walk downstair myself to buy potato chips liao.
so i suppose epi can recover as fast as natural in that case? then its very gd ah.

huichin
thx.

interrace
i also drink plain water and eat fruits, cl say like that won't have constipation.

hisstory
i'm not sure, just that elderly more sensitive to lunar 7th mth lor.

faeriekim
thx.
gal gal mah, must dress up lor.

hello mummies..

delyed tidings....my boy titus was born on 8 aug 3.36kg 52cm...

very sleepy boy though...ryin to bf but not easy..bm not comin in leh

snow zynn is very cute...shall try to pop by later....

Shay, wa! such a big baby wor. congrats.

Interrace, oh so u took the thigh injection instead. for me i go straight for epi hahaha the nurse didnt check for my dilation when i ask for it coz they thot not so soon. so my epi was abit waste4d but nvm so long baby is healthy. see u at the wedding

Interrace, Elmo, shay and hashisan on the arrival of ur little bundle of joy!!!

Snow,
Your baby looks like angel with the band! Congrats again!! :D

dongle, haha...i oso got overshot timing when pumping BM b4 too! LOL...sometimes hor pump until wanna fall asleep siah. Haha...

Interrace, i think u can try right-click on the photo image file and see if u have the option 'edit'. U should be able to resize ur photo in the default image-editing program in normal comps. Oh now u latch on no pain ah? So good...i wanna try later - again. Wish me luck! LOL.

hisstory, thks! haha...

faeriekim, LOL! At this point of time for once i dun really like my boob-size....bleah...

Yuuri, just try keep pumping every 3-4hrs! ehehehe...got a fren told me can try even 2hrs apart - but i think my BM cannot produce and 'recuperate' in time la! LOL...3-4hrs just nice for me

nini,
my massage lady told me that cos mine is csec so wont be able to do it so soon, so just call her after i get green light from my gynae. then i checked with my gynae she say csec wound must about 2 mths then can do massage. Also my massage lady seems to charge quite ex as compared to alot of what i read on the forum. she charging me $870 for 10 sessions. I didnt ask each session how long la. meanwhile i just put on the binder. i feel that it does seems to make tummy smaller lei.

i dont think csec will cause prob with milk flow. my cousin csec both kids and she bf until the kids 3YO.

huichin,
i also dono how many weeks lei .. what is the norm ? 2 mths later should be abt in end Sept or early oct.

re: eating fish
when i attended the bf-ing workshop, the instructor said eat everything in moderation. she know this lady that eat fish everyday and her baby reject her milk. later the instructor went to her hse to help her, she said cos the milk smells so fishy the baby dont want. hahaha. so she say can take fish but not every meal

dongle,
ya i asked my gynae when can do the massage and she told me 2 mths later.

snow74,
you good lei.. can walk down to buy potato chips, i 2nd day can walk furthest was to the nursery and my ward that time was 638 very near the nursery.. hahaha. did u get the 6th floor ward ?

Catherine, usually i think if u wanna do massage with binding ppl will take abt at least 2-3wks. Cos if one wk only too short, cannot feel any difference one. U lemme know k. Hehe..Early Oct shouldnt be a prob. Will drop u an sms soon k!

snow74,
Yah you very good 2nd day can walk downstairs already!

Catherine,
You 2nd day walk to nursery also v good...I 2nd day only walk from bed to toilet! hahaha

just wondering for mummies expressing BM..
how else do ur try to increase ur supply? my bb now drinks 100ml ..(she is 2 weeks plus)..but im only expressing max 70ml per 2hr session..i have 2 work doubly hard 2 pump just nice 4 her every feed....i drink lots of soup, take fenugreek...and rest as much as possible...i even wake up at nite 2 times to pump every 3 hrly...how else to increase? stress leh...dun wanna to give FM to bb yet...how how how?

Checking in while I take a breather. *pant pant*

I popped on 8 Aug 10.54pm at East Shore Hospital. Baby Chevelle was born 3.13kg, 51cm.

Ok birth story here goes:

9.45am~10am: Discovered "show", some blood when I wipe off my urine and pantyliner. Called clinic to ask what to do. Say go admit hospital. Felt one contraction but not v painful.

11am: Admit hospital, put in delivery ward, cervix still 1.5cm dilated as per Mon. Given some pessary to insert to dilate/soften cervix. Asked if want epidural, said ok.

12pm+: Cervix about 2cm dilated. Dr broke my water bag.

1.30pm: Felt some contractions by now getting more intense, then anaesthelogist came to administer epidural. Then wa... really blissful.

6pm: Cervix only about 3-4cm dilated?! So long only like that. Dr said no prob shd be able to deliver before National Day.
After dr left, told nurse can lower the epi dosage cos don't feel anything.
Wa.. once dosage reduced, can feel contractions liao! once every 2-3 minutes.
Then cannot take it, put back to original dosage.

9pm: Nurse checked, cervix dilated to 9.5cm. Wa... so another 0.5cm to go! Nurse said to up dosage, else the pain will get worse once into labor.

10.30pm: Dr came in, said, ok can push liao, she will tell me when to push.

Seriously, I really cannot feel much contraction, but somehow instinctively know when it's coming.

10.54pm: After 5-8?? pushes, finally pushed her out.

Baby Chevelle is born!

A close-up pic of her when she is just born into this world:
1625179.jpg

Thanks to all the mummies who sent their congrats and well wishes!

And Congrats to all mummies who have popped!

Jiayou to all other mummies waiting to give birth!

Sorry, too many posts to catch up liao, plus my gal is really one hungry gal.

YLN / Yuuri / Krex,
When you breastfeed for the 1st 2-3 days, is only colostrum right? I squeeze my breast but only got colorless liquid come out, don't have milk yet.

Me super blur, but don't think can pump out colostrum right? She today latch on, one of my nips kena internal "bleeding" liao

Sigh, think she not enough, I'm spoonfeeding her FM to supplement, else I totally no rest.

YLN / Yuuri / Krex,

Oh yea, another question, do your babies after latching on, suck abit then after then the suckling motion gets lesser, until you prompt them? She like needs to feed, latch on super enthusiastic to suck but after few sucks she will slow down and hang there. V pek chek, then when I want to withdraw, she will quickly grab on again.

Also, how to know enough is enough? Seems like never enough for her leh

TIA! Sorry so many questions

Congrats val!
Wah Chevelle just born, eyes already open so big! Yup first few days you only get colostrum, don't bother pumping out. Cos' 1 teaspoon can last her the whole day. So the LC will advice you to just let her suckle. As for latching on, yah usually they suck abit then will stop, and you gotta tickle their chin or cheek to make them continue. Feed bottle also like that

valnsw,
when she slows down or seem to have fallen asleep, tickle her cheek or chin to get her to suckle again. if u try to withdraw, she will quickly suck back, it will be very painful for the nipple.

the LC say if you have latch on properly then about 15-20 means each side should be enuf. anyways after she finish suckling, you will feel your breast less full and hard.

val, yah first few days in hospital only colostrum, so u won't see much milk. nurse told me bb don't need to drink much milk during the first few days until the transit milk comes in. by now, i'm producing mature milk. anw, my bb totally refuse to latch on now, so i'm just pumping every 5 hours. manage to get about 80ml each round. also supplementing with formula.

huichin, we're both in the same situation. i think i'm lactating quite well due to confinement food. CL says eat more of the "mi jiu", fish, etc. will help to boost ss. i dunno if it's true but my BM has increasing a little bit every few days. the most i ever pump is 90ml. my BM also leaks every time after bath. worse than having menses leh! now i have to wear bra + breast pads almost 24 hrs a day. ya, u will feel thirsty during the first few days. drink lots of red date water or plain water. CL says when u drink more fluid, u will also get more BM. i've also lost about 10kg to date. tummy almost flat but still got flab lah. must do more ab curls to tone muscles. hips is the only one that hasn't gone back to normal. so far still can wear some of my looser skirts but aiming to get into most of my pre-preggie clothes by the time i get back to work!

Shint,
I'm 1.7m that's y bb is long too. You have 3 more days to go....jia you!

Val,
Congrats....wah ur bb's eyes so big leh! so sweet...

I also had sore nipples for the 1st 3 days but that's due to wrong latching but after some practice and with the help of LC, he can latch on pretty well now and the nipples r healing well.

In the nite time, my bb also latch on for a good 20 mins then doze off and most of the time not able to wake him up to latch on again. have to put him to his cot and he will wake up again in like 15mins to 30mins time...haiyet hubby said he's having jet lag! day time he can sleep for a good 4 hrs. So, I practically slept for 1-2 hrs in the nite and sleep more in the day.

Val,
May be u may want to do some face massage or burp ur bb b4 latching her on again. For me it doesn't really work but hope it works for u.