(2008/08) Aug 2008

Wah SHint
you can still go shopping? me now just stay at home and waiting for my contractions... haha... too tired to move anywahere.... my hubby asked me to join his frens for gathering i also din go felt so bad...

To mummies who had popped,
did you all experienced going to toilet often to clear big business before you all showed signs of labour?

My Darling =)
1626807.jpg
1626808.jpg

I finally popped on 8 Aug 2008, natural with epi.

Here's my birth story:-

11am: Went for gynae checkup. She said 2 cm dilated already so either today or the next day.
2pm: Felt very strong contractions lasting 30 secs within 5 mins of each other. I still blur lor.. dunno if is it want to do big business or contractions.. so waited. I was actaully at parkway parade doing last min baby shopping!
3pm: Pain was getting intense and called gynae. Asked me to admit immediately. When I heard labour ward was full... panicked cos thot no place to deliver! That day got many c-sections and inductions : p
4pm: Gynae came and cfm I was in first stage of labour. Broke the water bag and was 3cm dilated.
Nurses said dilation shd be quite fast cos second birth
7pm: Contractions were intense.. almost 2 mins within each other. Opted for gas but it was of no help! Felt so thirsty after each inhalation. Nurse came in to check. Still 3 cm dilated! No movement at all! Couldnt go for other painkillers cos I got drug allergy to all the painkillers.
8pm: Was on the verge of going crazy... contractions were so bad..Finally asked for epi.
8.30pm: After epi done, was happy and smiling... still could watch olympics ceremony : ) But told the nurse to let me feel some pain so I can feel push later.
11.00pm: 10 cm dilated! Gynae asked to push.. tried for 15 mins still cannot. In the end told her to prepare vacuum.
11.28pm: Gave final push and little Darwisyah was borned, @2.99kg, 50 cm

Valnsw: We were in the same delivery suite! We could have met each other!

I was discharged yesterday but bb cannot be discharged cos she got jaundice. Got to stay today and tmr...: (
So sad...but I know its so common for them to be jaundiced.
Anyway now pumping very hard... supply not really there..managed only 20-30 ml per pump.
Will try harder.

For all the mummies who have popped...congrats
Will update pics later.

Ratatouille,
your gal is so sweet-looking! Wana pinch her cheeks too.

M2B,
Yup I bought Enfalac A+.

Joanne,
Congrats! Your boy has lots of hair! Agree w u that it's a heartwarming moment when they place bb next to you, makes it feel all so worthwhile.

Cindy,
Be patient, you will see your bb soon. Ya, I pooed 3x 2-3 days before I gave birth. Or you can walk more to let bb come out faster, at least that's what my massage lady told me.

LC,
I sms the massage lady once I delivered and she asked me when I gona discharge. She came one day after my discharge. Didn't get me to prepare anything.

The nurse in the delivery ward got my bb to latch on the moment they did all the tests with her and wrapped her up.

shint / aurora,
Thanks for the advice on diaper cream. Think I will get the maid to apply it on bb's bum before diaper change.

Medusa,

I think Dr Heng delivered my baby before yours leh...

Cos I remembered asking her if she still had any more to deliver, as mine was already quite late. She said, she had one more and mentioned a Muslim name and is 2nd baby. My first thought was you but then I didn't ask further, paiseh later wrong person.

Your lil princess and mine about almost same weight and length

BTW, which ward number were you in? I went to the nursery one of the nights I woke up to see bb, and I thought I saw an angmo-looking bb, wondering maybe that's your bb? Did you require total breastfeeding? Cos I noticed the label for that on that bb's incubator.

valnsw,
COngrats yah... ur baby quite big.. still rem when we actually compared our tummies previously, still small... will wait patiently.... think its clearing my bowels...

will try to walk more but tired.... haha....

Thanks all =)

Congrats also to all who have delivered!

Val,
Congrats on ur bb, 080808 girl! was it very crowded at e hospital n all? i saw e ppl checking in on 07aug at tmc and it was alrdy quite scary leh

Hee yup, my boy has quite abit of hair. Dun think i bear to shave for full month. Wanna leave his hair alone, later shave alrdy dun grow as much hair!

hisstory,
It will be ur turn soon! N yes, its an amazing feeling carrying ur baby in ur arms =)My heart just melts...it will be ur turn v soon!

M sure all hbs will be supportive when such drama happens =)

Valsnw
Yeah haha! I think so too...!

Yeah lah shd be me cos since we are only about 1 hour apart from each other.I was in room 3191.. the ward that is to the left side of the nursery... I think they put me in the PD ward cos that time when doing admission i think the normal newborn ward full liao.. Yep I request for total brestfeeding but maybe wrong bb lah cos my lil gal looks quite chinese I think..hehe. My photos all in my hb's hp so later I post them up. Were you discharged on mon? Yr lil princess ok rite? No jaundice I hope...

joanne and medusa15,
congrats.

hisstory,
hopefully in 2 days time. his jaundice level is in control, no need to go under light at all. if this continue for 2 days, he should be able to come back liao.

earnestmum just sms saying she is checkin into Mt A now for induction and delivery past midnight. AMber is about 4kg and her EDD suppose to be 12 Aug so decided not to delay since no signs yet.

All the best !!

cat,
yr gal very cute... look a bit angmo-ish lei...

val,
yr gal very pretty lei

medusa,
congrats...

rata,
yr gal looks alert & got bright eyes

my gal also very noti, keep wanting pple to carry her too..

joanne,
congrats... yr boy very cute, looks like daddy?

yuuri, shint, val, hisstory,
funds transfer are in order...

val, she is cute when she is behaving hahaha. congrats on ur 080808 baby.

dongle, is taken juz after shower so look fresh.

dongle,
thanks =) i saw ur girl pic too, very cute smiling pic!
yup he looks so much like daddy. 10 out of 10 ppl says he looks like daddy. told daddy he will take after my personality then, my hb was like "omg!noooo" haha cos im quite bad tempered n stubborn

catherine,
ur girl looks like got chubby cheeks, cute! i like chubby babies

val,
wow ur bb eyes v big. mine always dun like to open his eyes, i dun even know how big his eyes r now

valnsw, congrats! Ur bb managed to pop on the nice date la! hehe....so cute! eyes open big big liao! Hhehee...

krex78, Hi Five la! hehee...

Mulberry, oh we same same oso wor! hehe...

Rata, ur BB looks so alert! LOL

Joanne, congrats! Ur BB hair is really alot siah! Lurve the red red cheeks! Like japanese kiddo!

Medusa, congrats to u!!! Hehehe...

How much milk are ur BBies drinking now ah Mummies? Falisha is drinking abt 50-70ml at 9days-old leh. Just wanna check...

And hor, how to clear BB's nose shit if have ah? Falisha will cry when she has some stuck in her nostrils, think uncomfortable, i oso duno how to help her, so poor thing!

dongle
i will transfer the $ to u soon..sorry for the delay, am waiting for a chance to go out and do ATM transfer..is that ok with u??

Mulberry, u nottie nottie wor! hahaa..now i pity my hubby...all attention now goes to Falisha, so sometimes he will keep singing 'Lonely, i'm so lonely..i have nobody now...on my own~~~wooooo' to ka jiao me! Hahaha...

Joanne, ur bb so chubby at only 11 days, i hope my Falisha will faster buff up too~! How much milk is he drinking now ah?LOL...now like fragile siah...wanna handle her.

Huichin,
my bb now 17 days old drinks abt 70-90ml of milk, but the frequency differs from 3 hrly to 1 hrly. Ur bb Falisha shd be drinking well. Are u feeding on demand?

My bb also has difficulty with his breathing for the past 2 days due to snot in his nose. He'll make 'wheezing' sound, esp when i bf him. So poor thing. But try not to dig the snot out cos we might hurt their nose membrane. No choice but to wait for the snot to come out by itself when bb sneezes or pull it out when we can see it near the nostril.

Joanne,
ur boy so kawaii. Agree with huichin tt he looks japanese.

<u>vaccination</u>
Mummies, where are u bringing ur bb for vaccination? Back to ur hosiptal/ PD or polyclinic? The essential vaccinations cost ard $660 plus (6 in 1 n others) if i bring bb back to TMC for vaccination. If i wan the rotavirus and pneumococcus vaccine, then the package cost $1400 plus. Any advice???

Huichin,
My bb is drinking 80-90ml at 13 days old.
You can buy those Nose Cleaner, like this one: http://www.pigeon.com.sg/product.php?pr_id=35
I used it on my bb when I saw a big pc of snot inside and clears very well! If just abit of mucus, just wet a tiny pc of cotton and swirl it in bb's nose.

Aurora,
I don't think I will continue going back to TMC for pd services. Don't like the PD assigned to me. Probably bring to polyclinic for 3-in-1 and then to pte PD for the other optional jabs. But still sourcing for a good PD.

Hi Aurora, 70-90ml sounds ok hor. Falisha is drinking 50-60ml at 9days. Guess she gets hungry easily! like almost every 2hrs she will wake up...there was this one time she woke up in the middle of the nite and drank 90ml! Shocked me siah...cos the bottles i using for her now are the pigeon 50ml ones, i had to do a 50+40ml! Haha...ok so shld just leave it hor..the snot.

Yuuri, think it shld be average bah - based on the amt u and Aurora mentioned. Heh.Thanks for the link! Will pester hubby to go get it. BTW, guess wat? When i ask my mum how she cleared our noses when we were young, she said use mouth to suck it out loh. OMG! And the best part is, she din dare to do it, so my Auntie who was helping out to take care of us did the dirty job. Whoa!!! Hahaha...

Huichin,
It's true about the using mouth to suck out part! Last time I heard people telling me and I was like 'Euuurghhh! No way am I gonna do it!" So when I saw the nose cleaner thingy at Carrefour, quickly buy. Few bucks only and you don't have to taste mucus! Hee.
Btw, how do you know Falisha is hungry for more? Cos usually whatever I warm up, will just give my boy. I never know if he wants anymore cos' he always almost fall asleep already...so my 80-90ml is based on what I poured out to give him! Haha

just came back from fair. nothing special there. exactly same as the prev one. I got only baby wipes and diapers. Only got huggies there. Promotion is similar to that of the motherhood fair. NB for $7.70 per pack of 24pcs.

Joanne,
my girl got chubby cheeks, but she's not a chubby baby. I'm working towards that ..hehehe

huichin,
my girl drinks abt that amt too. now at 2 weeks she drinks about 110ml if she wants to. Pigeon has this clipper thing specially for nose shit, so i usually wait until the shit come close to the nostril then i use the clipper to take it out. very easy. but must wait until the shit come almost out. cannot dig inside.

Rata,
My #2 is also boy. Girls have "parents' heart" ma .... boys, next time grow up, get married, only listen to wife.
My theory : They listen to u for the last 20+ years, wife's nagging not that long ... to mommies, they already turned a deaf ear.
Anyway, they have to live with the wife, not the mommy anymore, so who they listen to? Wife of course.

If the wife bad, then really like losing a son. Unless we are bad la ... u know all the stories about MIL and DILs, we are part of it.
For girls, the hubby always will "listen" to them ma. That's why, girls better. ahhaha.

Cindy,
Shopping .... i quite enjoy oso but tired la. Hubby always complain boring then how? i can stay at home and sleep but he is restless.
Yesterday just went for high tea and then to borders.
Yes, just now told hubby that it'll be the last liao. No more energy ... and now maid at MIL place with son ... so have to do some housework too.
Been eating out as well ...

Like tat, walk so much, scarly baby decide to come out earlier. But I dun wan .... cos I wan to wait till planned date or till as long as possible cos #1 still recovering.

hi ladies, finally got chance to post my birth story.

5aug
21.30 reach hospital, straight away nurse gave me enema (for passing motion) and asked me to change to hospital gown.
nurse check dilated 1.5-2 cm
not long after, gynae came, broke my water bag.
nurse put me on drip for induction.
22.00: still not feeling any pain, i think the nurse adjust the drip to make my induction stronger
22.30 start feeling pain. still bearable
then pain getting more and more intense..
nurse keep asking (like every 10 min) whether I'd like "happydural" since the dr is around..
already made up my mind.. no epidural for me.
22.45 very painful.. asked for gas
nurse checked dilated about 5-6cm..
after that was just really really intense pain.. and I also felt giddy because of the gas.
23.50: feel urge to push. nurse told me not to push otherwise the tear will be bad..
I didnt really care that time just wanna push so badly.
nurse checked : can see baby head already.
right away called dr W.
dr came.. I push about 2x with all my strength

00:23 Baby misaki abigail was born... 2.9kg and 49cm in length. Praise the Lord

1628653.jpg

Yuuri, oh Carrefour oso got sell ah. hehe...i haven come across anything like that...so abit suah gu. Haha.

Oh usually i will tap on her lower lip, if she opens her mouth then i will prep abit more for her. Usually they just want abit more then fall asleep liao. Haha.. greedy BB. If not, sometimes she will cry after i burp her, so i make abit more. Sure cannot finish one, so another 20-30ml is enuf liao. Haha - esp. BM! Dun wanna waste siah...heh.

Catherine, oh urs is a clipper thingy ah? Aiya i din think of this previously now wanna get hubby to buy hor like scared he dunno. Arghh. Yea i oso heard cannot dig. Anyways their nostrils so small, cannot fit oso la! LOL

Medusa,
I was in ward 3151. Guess our ward could be pretty close? Cos I think the one-bedder next to mine is 3161.
I duno if my gal's big eyes come from me or hubby, cos I dun think mine are that big, norm sized. Maybe she follows my side, cos when my bro and me were babies, our eyes quite big but duno why grow up become smaller liao.

dongle,
just to check w u, how many capsules of fenugreek you take? Cos I bought one bottle from GNC, taking one after each meal. Not sure if sufficient.

So for the sprees, prob be expecting the order to come in 2 wks from now?

medusa / dongle / Ratatouille,
thks for the compliments on my gal.

Noticed her features changed. This is her at Day 3. Pardon my exposed leg... hehe

1628676.jpg

hashishan,
Congrats on your baby
She is sleeping so soundly and peacefully. Don't mind me asking, but does your baby have Japanese blood? Cos of the name and she looks like she has mixed blood.

earnestmum,
Congrats! waiting to hear from you!

Catherine, ok i will get my hubby go take a look. Heheh...

hashishan, yea ur bb looks matured liao! hehe...nice hair! haha...

valnsw, ur BB looks quite like u leh (as far as i can remember)! hehe...wanna pinch her cheeks! hehehe..

Interrace where r u? Faster post pix! LOL...i wanna see ur BB Emre! Can find the program or not? If cannot u email me la! i edit n upload for u! hahaa...

BTW Mummies, how's ur stitching down there ah? I think the stitching thread is still there leh..issit suppose to 'dissolve' by itself or we suppose to go Dr's to check? And for ourselves need to go for any checkup or not? I was so tired at the hospital, everytime Dr came i forgot to ask qtns man. And hor, when is ur BB's next checkup ah? What's the usual? I feel so blur siah...i only heard from the nurse who passed me BB's health book record that next jab for Hep B is one mth from birth. THe rest like erm...

aurora,valnsw,huichin: thank you

yes she's one little anone mixed.
.. heee. my hubby is japanese,and I'm indonesian - chinese.

huichin: stiching: mine is still painful especially when I sit or stand too long. that's why i always lie down when breastfeeding my girl.
the stiches will dissolve by itself.

I just went for BB check up this morning( it's her 6th day).
maybe you could try to call the clinic where your PD's working?

shint

U're most welcome

joanne

*heheh* Ur son looks like he's doing a salute!!
I'm quite sure my HB wld be supportive, I hope i dun terrorise him while in labour pains..

dongle

Thanks for the confirmation!

hashishan

Ur ger looks really cute! She's got brownish hair yah?
And ur labour's reallyreally short!! *Praise God*

can i check , those of u feeding Bm and FM...what FM do u let ur bbs drink?

i have decided to surrender to FM at nites for my bb cuz my supply really cannot catch up her demand..she is only 2.5 weeks and already drinking 100ml...while i pump only about 70ml...i have to pump religiously EVERY HOUR for 2-3 hrs for the past few day and nite just to meet her demand...nnp very pain liao.....very very shag and tired...so, i decided for the best of me and bb...i will feed FM at nites to her..a bit sad that i cannot keep up with her demands..but i must make sure she is feeding well and at the same time, i dun tire myself out too much...sigh...basically for the past few days, im like a milking machine...when nite comes, im pumping away every hour till 12mid nite..

yln, no choice my gal since day 1 drink 100ml so i didnt ve enough bm i also feed fm at night onli till day 10 my bm caught up. try taking fennugreek it helps for me.

So many cute cute baby pics! I'm just waiting for Baby Jayden to come. I'm so huge now, when walking gotta walk slowly. Down there hurts badly. But I still go out. Wanna walk more &amp; shop all I can 1st. haha.. Haven buy something for my 2boys. Wanna give it to them when they visit us in hospital. Then say it's from there didi lor.

Congrats Babywise, joanne &amp; medusa!!

val, you only taking 1 tablet of fenugreek after meal? Enough?? What is the recommended dosage? You took it because supply not enough? Or you just wanna supplement it to have more bm??

hisstory,
gynae mentioned the squats exercise again today. cos she said it will help to bring the baby lower. apparently, my babe is not low enuf yet. she's getting kinda anxious. so, even ask me to start climbing stairs n exercise MORE! wanna induce me next wk if i still dun show any 'progress' cos babe is big. If tat's the case, tink i wanna induce on 20/08/2008. Hee... but come to tink abt it, is 3.9kg TAT big (today checkup at gynae says 3.6kg at 38wks)? I mean, some of our mommies here delivered to babies around tat weight and I dun see their gynae getting so 'excited' over it...

hisstory, val, shint, aurora,
hee.. farnee to read ur comments abt tat colleague of mine. in fact, diff to ask her to do more cos she now has moved on to another co. shld have said she's my ex-colleague. anw, 1 ear in, 1 ear out. can't store all tat rubbish inside my head for too long otherwise i'd juz end up bearing grudges. sheesh. hard to be human.

dongle,
u've got mail!

<mummies>
they all look so adorable! hope my #2 comes out looking so cute as well.

faeriekim

Ah I see I see.. My gynae never mentioned if my bb's not low enough leh. She doesnt really tell me anything, except to ans some of my questions. But I may forget to ask sthgs at times.. *ooops* I shall do more squats too, just to play safe lah

Am thinking if my gerger wld like to meet the world on 20 Aug too.. But i dun think i want to induce or do elective c-section. Just *crossing fingers* tt she might like to choose a nice bday for herself.. *heheh*

Thank goodness ur ex-coll is no longer ard to bug u with silly comments.. Sigh, so needless &amp; non-constructive..