(2008/08) Aug 2008

Babywise,
Feels like he's gonna come out sooner than my new planned C-sect date and if baby decides to come out on 080808 then I'll faintz .. hahha.

catherine: I did not receive your sms on Dr Gong's contact yet. maybe can send again?

hisstory: Yes I know about softening cervix so I thought of asking gynae to check but she said as if, once checked would prompt delivery of baby.. so did not check...

little twin stars: I have never heard of a new life would cause people to cast aside differences but it indeed happen to me. My inlaws love my 2.6 years old son so much that it's easier for me to live with them now.

valnsw: Yes, my fingers are a bit swollen too. It's good to take off rings which have become too tight. I have done so.

mulberry: I am supposed to do squats everyday but since I know my gynae be on leave from 080808 to 100808, I dun dare to do any more till she's back!

For those whose edd is 12 Aug like me, another 9 days to go, how are you feeling? hee...I am taking it as if Amber be coming rite smack on 12 Aug :)

Cat, my supply also slowly increasing now at times got 90ml every 3hrs
so i give bm in the day & fm at night.

Mulberry, ur labour is short too.

my ameda pump
mummies who bought ameda pump...ok.. i managed to get my pump fixed..
..its my valve that has a crack...thats y the suction is no good...so if u mummies are washing the valve...be very careful cuz the valve is very delicate...valerie of Mumsfairy taught me to just wash with soap and water...no need to use force..just gently..
now..i have a peace of mind...can pump properly liao...but i better buy the valve online to keep just in case...there is a spare one in the box...but skali crack again...so i better buy and keep..btww..valerie very good and on..i sms her and then she will call me back and teach me how to fix the problem..heehee..i can hear children in the background somemore..

milk...wah ...most of ur bbs drink quite alot hor...mine drinks abt 70ml now(2-3 hrs)...pumping just nice....but concern if she increase her dosage next week...skali pumping also not enuff...cross fingers hope that milk will be sufficient..

congrats mulberry..
welcome to many more sleepless nites...heehee..

Shint,
Thanks for the consolation
I'm ok now, just pump longer to get more milk. Yesterday we ignored bb crying all morning and then he was so tired, he slept through the whole afternoon. Never demand to be fed, then I felt so guilty!! Actually my hb is already very hands on, when bb cry at night also he won't wake me up, just quietly go and change diapers or warm up EBM.

YLN,
Did you get the pumpin' pal set? Cos' I realised use the ameda pump (and probably other pumps too), make my back damn achey! How long do you usually pump for? Until no more milk? or set yourself a certain time limit? Cos I realised if I pump until no more milk, can take almost 1 hour! And I scared will get sore nips.

morning ladies! =)
sorry for missing during the whole wkend.
was thinking its the last my gal's ONLY wkend, so spend every single happy mins with her lor.
daddy took us out the past 2 days, and let her ate almost everything she requested. =P

megan
yup, at least till now should be fri lor....hee hee....
i'll be at GlenE by 6.30am, c-sect scheduled at 10.30am.
hopefully can get the room at level 6 as requested.
i gotta take ga, cos slip disc is not advisable to take epi.
my hb said ga very fast 1, less than 1/2 hr after i pushed in he saw my gal pushed out liao.
u leh? how to see u there?

mulberry & huichin

joanne
dun worry, just get ur hb here to collect if he is not those pantang type lor.
at this moment, just concentrate on ur preparation thingy okie!?!?!
jia you!

catherine
Dr Gong of kinderclinic is a gd pd, my gal is still visiting him when she is not feeling well.
he might look young, but very experience.

yuuri
i ususally pump both sides for 10 mins..and stop...massage for 1 minute...and continue for 5-10mins..until i c just drops of milk lor...i dun want to pump for too long..cuz nipples pain sia...
..just pump to get enuff..sumtimes not enuff..will pump extra 5-10 mins...all in all..i wont pump for more than half an hour lor..

no leh...i dun get back ache leh..i tried using the handsfree one..but no use leh..i still prefer to use hands to hold it...and i will read the newspaper or watch tv while pumping...

Wow, so many mummies delivered already!
Congratulations to all!

Shint
You can get fenugreek from GNC

earnestmum
Mine oso due 12 Aug...i'm still working and waiting...a bit busy at work. :p
No signs of labour...just bad backache nia.
I think if bb dun come this week, I'll just take my ML from 12 Aug onwards, maybe rest at home a few days then induce. :p

I've 15 bottles of concentrated birdnest for sale.

Each weights 230ml.

Price : $55 /= bottle.

I've got them from my uncle, however too much to finish.

Please PM me if you are interested.

1606525.jpg

hey snow...later i got time i pte u then we have contacts and we will noe which room we r at...my c-sec is 9.30am, ya..ga super fast..less than 30mins...

i also planning to check in at 5-6am too but we got to fast the night before liao...so my frens arranging a tea session on thur

megan
okie! =)
think u gotta reach there by 5.30am, and fast from 3.30am rite?
i also dunno can tahan till 10.30am anot leh, sure very hungry 1 lor. =P

u so gd hor, still can go out eating...ha ha...
my gal inside dun let me eat or walk much nowadays leh.

mulberry

*waves*
Ur threshold of pain is quite high! Like u, i'm a little worried tt my techniques for breathing & the eventual pushing might be salah.. Shall *cross fingers & toes* tt I wld be able to get them right with the guidance of the mid-wives

U rest more k? Come & chitchat with us when u're more rested
Enjoy ur mummyhood!

earnestmum

Oooh, if cervix is checked it might prompt delivery ah.. I better monitor then, and double check with gynae at Fri's appt

mummies to be who are still working

How are things getting on with the handovers & completion of duties? My head's spinning today with 10 thousand & 1 things to settle.. *faint*

ya hisstory...i also cannot finish the handover...someone my dept realli short handed now...working till wed...onli thur then can take leave..and fri..delivers

me just had my gynae check-up. baby is 2.9kg at wk38 2d. and I gained 1kg over the 1 week

Dr says I'm 1.5cm dilated. She said if I want, I can induce birth and the charges will be as per natural delivery package.

Sigh... now the question is: Should I induce or let baby come out naturally? Dr said if I want to induce on 080808, to give her a call on wed to let her knw.

Shint,
now I know how you feel liao.... damn dilemma. Am glad you made your decision to give birth on 200808.

Medusa,
I remember you said your cervix is about 2cm dilated. Did Dr Heng ask if you want to induce? Or you gona wait for bb to come out?
I called East Shore Hospital, the nurse said not to worry they hv standby and enough beds. She asked which gynae I'm under and after I told her is Dr Heng, she said I better tell Dr Heng earlier, cos she will be at East Shore Hospital the whole day!! I guess cos she got so many babies to deliver??!

hisstory,
the VE is not exactly painful but quite uncomfortable.

YLN,
You didn't use the handsfree set ah? I got it in the bundled deal haven't really looked at it.

Good that Valerie of Mumsfairy got back to you. Yup, she has kid too, I think she joined Juliet who's the original owner of Mumsfairy.

OK will take note abt the valve, will wash delicately. You mean there's a spare valve in our bundled deal?

Valnsw
Heee... not me leh.. Did you mixed me up with Shay..haha! Btw no news from her...Bet she must have popped. I am going for VE this fri so I think from there can tell. For me I think I let her come out naturally lah..
Yeah lor.. she so popular one.. Sometimes i see her going out from her clinic to deliver babies, she like as if going out to buy kopi like that.. so cool and zai.. : p
Oh dear.. then how you going to induce on 080808?

Hisstory
I am going mad... I got so much to clear.. and worst is I am having a severe cough and flu.. then this week is my last week at work cos i think i better start my ML next week.. Feeling very weak and tired.

Medusa,
oh dear, do take care and take more Vit C. You can take Redoxon effervescent to help build up your immune system.

Maybe I got confused with Shay.. Ya, nvr hear from her, don't know if she popped liao?

You going your check-up on Fri right? then Dr Heng going to deliver babies, then you gota wait like siao..

I duno if I wana induce yet, just told hubby and see what we want to do. One part of me is I don't mind inducing cos I cannot tahan the weight liao but the other part of me hopes baby will come out by herself.

Isit true after 1.5cm dilate labour will come soon?

Aiyo... headache now..

valnsw
Yeah lor.. thanks. I am hoping that the virus clear before I pop lor.. can you imagine having to push out a baby with a dripping nose and dry throat... *faintz*

Yeah man.. so i intend to take mc on fri.. keke. Cos my appt is at 11am so I think by the time i finish hor mite as well dun go back to work..

Sollie cant advise you cos my first time it was a natural process.. water bag burst and then i went hospital. I didnt even mng to do the cervix check cos I popped before my last appt with her..

Did she say still can wait?

valnsw
got..there is a spare valve in the box...u havent open n see rite? heehee....but i think the valve is very delicate..so i reckon mine will spoil soon due my maid's rough handling..so i bought another 2 online just now..better be safe than sorry...

valnsw..oh..i tried the handsfree thingiee..but no good leh...maybe i dunno how to adjust..but i feel quite mah fan to adjust lor...i just hand to hold ...faster that way..

valnsw: hey val! i shared the same sentiments with you!
my bb is already 3kg at 37weeks...now i m at 38weeks.. so heavy..sometimes feel quite 'xin ku'..Like u, i dont mind inducing but i still hope can carry till full term (but that will like much bigger than) n bb come out himself.. Hmm.... :/

nini,
I think anytime after wk37 is considered full-term so we are already considered full-term liao.
So therein lies the dilemma, to induce or not.
Is your cervix dilated already? Did your doc say anything about inducing birth?

YLN,
I already opened my Ameda pumps bundle but I didn't notice any spare valve. Think I must have been damn blur...
So you bought extra valves from mumsfairy. I suppose they will deliver to your house?

Medusa,
Heh, actually I'm the itchy mouth who asked Dr Heng isit can induce? cos my cervix dilated and I abit cannot bear the weight liao. She said can induce if I want to, and to inform her earlier. Else if I don't inform her, will see her again next Monday.

Anyway, better for you to take MC on Fri, you already so sick, might as well rest during the weekend. Need to conserve energy for the birth process.

snow74,
ya the 6th floor is very nice but must make prior request safer... But i feel some of the nurses there not very experienced esp the younger ones, they dont really know how to latch bb on for you. Then the more experienced ones got some attitude. abit yaya and impatient. Got this particular one short hair from philippines, very yaya. Hubby also dont like.

ya my hubby like dr gong too. But his waiting time is really long. in time we probably will change to another PD from kinder clinic nearer to our home. There is one at parkway and one at siglap, we're evaluating which is better.

twin, i think pumping helps. doc advise dun let bb suck breast for comfort, coz' he/she does not get much milk. also, since u can't tell how much milk bb drinks, pumping helps to give a better gauge. at least i know bb is drinking 60ml of breast milk now. when u pump breast milk, u get hungry faster also but i realise my tummy goes down fast, so i'm not complaining...

hisstory, nurses won't scold lah. it's just for your own convenience if u get the full button kind of nightgown. else half also can. just gotta get used to it.

btw, any mommies here go to the kid's clinic at rivervale mall? that's my PD for now. went there today to check jaunice. so crowded!!! waited 1 1/2 hours for my turn even though mine is newborn.

any mommies started with polyclinic from the start? heard it's faster and cheaper. i'm thinking whether to do the switch or not...

hi gals! congrats to all who have popped! this is so exciting.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, i had the squeaky problem with the pump last time too. how did ur hb lubricate to get rid of the sound?

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>, i'm still working too. handover? what is that? haha. we are so understaff and overwork, where got time to handover? sian. dun even think i can clear leave before i pop.

<font color="0000ff">m2b, mulberry, mums delivering in TMC</font>, i asked this before but dun think anyone replied. any idea where to pump helium balloons around TMC?

i have made my last trip to office today. back home to rest and wait for baby to come out anytime he wants.

hisstory,
i got nothing much to handover so just went in today to inform them of any outstanding issues.

Hello Moms and Moms to be,

Apologies for not being very regular.

Mulberry and Chin Chin congrats!

Shint:
you can get fenugreek from GNC. Other herd you may want to try would be Cumin Seeds. Another thing is Fenugreek also helps in losing weight if taken first thing in morning :D But again it also works as contraceptive and may cause abortion if trying to second baby soon.

BF &amp; EBF:
Your efforts are really great. Wish I can do the same when its my turn.

Got my Drs appt on wednesday and she says the moment I would stop my pills i would go into labour. Today I am 36W + 2D.
Oflate feeling very tired and difficult even to walk or turn or getup from chair or bed. Hell lot of pain at the back and right leg.
Feel like giving up the pill so that can see the baby fast. I am quite motivated by looking at all those beutiful baby pics :D Feel like holding mine.

Old Wives tale:
My old chinese neighbour was saying gals born in aug are very intelligent. I am not sure if mine is a gal or boy, even if boy then little more intelligent than normal :p

Rivervale mall PD:
I went to visit my doctor on saturday and was quite amazed at the length of queue even before the clinic opened. The queue was from clinics door till taxi stand! Think the PD must be really good. Does anyone know the name?

Rata,

will see if can cope with him to bring him along or not ba. if cannot cope think will not bring him along, later u hear baby screaming during the dinner, not so nice loh. :p

valnsw/nini,
i understand how u gals are feeling wor, also feel same way during my wk 38..heavy and tired from the weight, movement and waiting game.
but still waited till today, baby still no sign of coming out wor, so will be inducing since overdue loh. my frd's baby was induced before term and went through 30hrs labour wor, another frd who was overdue also went through abt 20+hrs.. hear oredi also sian and tired loh. of cos the full 20-30 hrs not in pain ba, is still the waiting game to be monitored in hospital after induced. Actually since both of u are not due yet, should wait for natural engine to start loh, unless realy overdue or baby being too big/not growing/placenta aging then will encourage induce. just my 2 cents worth lah.

thanks shint! will try to jia you!

joanne, same day of admitting to hospital, jia you jia you too!

krex,
thanks for the advise, i also start to realize but i rather my bb latch on for comfort every morn so i can bond with her, if not my CL tried to use pacifier to mimic BF so bb won't want me. but bb spit out the pacifier n want me so she has no choice but to let me latch. i'm very happy
hehe
anyways, i'm really stressed by the CL n my milk production seems to decrease liao. jus now only managed to pump 20ml after BF. today i;m going to try latching n pumping after to stimulate production

thanks 4 the info :p

catherine,
my PD now is the one at siglap. hubby likes hin alot cos he is very patient n takes the time to explain things in details to us. he also say if any emergency, can jus call him n he will try to ans our ques over the phone, no choice then go ANE to meet him. he is dunno wat Lim, hehe

hisstory,
bring more PJ's,. in case u perspire n want to change more often. the hospital only provides surgical gown!

Ladies - just now go toilet and see got a small patch (abt 50cents size) of wetness on my panty.. feel a bit watery and sticky.. anyone has this? Previously, it is more sticky like those white discharge but today its a bit watery.. could it be a leakage??? Worried now
I am only at my 34weeks+..

twin, dun give up. i believe u can still keep up at least until the growth spurt from 6 weeks onwards. are u supplementing with formula? i am, as my boy really can drink!

venus, not sure leh. i think he lubricated the joints, or where the pump handle connects with the bottle that area. maybe your hb might know :p

Celynlee,
Haha, u are soo farnie! Not oni does he get half day but everyone in skool will be celebrating n'day, so no lessons! Shiok hor!

Joanne,
So fast for u, cos ur edd supposed to be end aug hor? Jiayou!!

Valnsw, Hisstory,
i oso jus had VE today.
It was OK when gynae first poked her fingers in.
Then i tink she was trying to measure the cervix (felt dat her fingers were stretching and there was some pain) but it's still bearable.
Hisstory, u can try to breathe in &amp; out when u feel any discomfort.

Btw, bb is engaged. cervix is soft and i'm 1cm dilated.
Gynae said i can choose to be induced (won't be too painful cos cervix oredie soft) or give birth naturally.
So, i will opt for natural birth, cos if bb finally decides to come out, the labor shld be quite short (i tink &amp; hope so lah).
Plus i wanna feel the excitement of water bag bursting or having contractions in the middle of the nite..haha..

Anyway, gynae says ONCE i feel ANY contractions tis week, jus make my way to hospital, dun even haf to time the interval or worry it's a false alarm leh.
Cos even if i dun deliver tis week, i'll haf to be induced next Wed when i'm due.

Mulberry,
U've got such a smoooooth delivery! Hope mine will be like urs too!

So overall, was the contraction pain bearable?
At which point did ur water bag burst har?
these few days when u dun haf BM yet, do u feed bb wif FM?

i went to Lei Garden on Sunday, felt dat their standard has dropped..most of the tings i ordered were quite salty..i still prefer Carlton.
So u &amp; bb haf not missed much lah.

Medusa,
i always felt breathless on my last day of work, trying to clear as much as possible.
Tho the list seems achievable but there's always distruption, so work can neva be finished one.
Jus make a to-do list on ur desk and do ur best loh, but dun tire urself out.
Watever u can't finish, ur colleague or boss will jus hafto depend on ur to-do list.
I'm told dat no one is indispensable. When u not around, ur colleagues will find ways to survive..hehe.. :p

lc,
i have been having that for the past few days. its on and off. i also thought its water bag leak but doesn't seems like it loh. i'm still monitoring.

reirei,
haha.... must not sound like i'm forcing him to come out on that day mah. :p

val

Yah man.. VE is not comfy at all, but not as bad as I thought *phew* I rem asking one of the MTB here when wld VE be done, and I rem her mentioning tt it's at the 38th week.. So I didn't anticipate it at my 36th week.. *panic* Hahah, luckily it wasn't as bad as i thought

Medusa

*hugs* U try to rest as much as u can.. Dun overwork urself k? Have u exhausted ur MC?

krex

Thanks!! I was reading up one of the Mt A threads, seems like some mummy kena 'scolded' for not bringing the right attire.. *cross fingers &amp; toes* I wun kena a fierce missy

jvenus

hehheh, u're so funny! But u're right so many things to do &amp; so little time &amp; ppl!! But i think u just got to go, u just got to go.. U're not in-charge of staffing problems mah.. *hugs*

Luvlel / Krex78
Yes my PD is at Kid's clinic at Rivervale mall. There are 2 PDs. One is Dr Allyson Tan, the other is Dr Lilian Lim. My boy goes to Dr Lim. Yeah they are very packed.. its crazy sometimes. So hor if you wan to KS abit, sometimes if no appt you need to go at 8.30 to queue.

Congrats Mulberry and Huichin!

Reirei
yeah lor.. I also trying to tell myself relax.. no one is indispensable.. Haha! They die die also will need to find their way out..Yeah I already have a check list liao so am just ticking them off one by one.. if bb decide to pop earlier this week also bo pian... hehe

Valsnw
Yep.. so now i am counting down to thu! Yeah! Anyway i think my boss also scared she stress me too much later my water bag burst in the office... she keep touching my tummy and telling baby not to come out during 9-6pm : p

celyn

Ah, sounds like u're all ready to go oredi! Gdgd..

luvlel

I dunno the name of the PD, but i know my sis brings my niece to the same PD
Heard she/he is really gd

twin stars

U mean change before the actual delivery, yah?

ReiRei

The pain is quite bearable.. Thankfully!! I will practice the breathing techniques too
Thanks ger!

Did ur gynae give u a time frame of when u may pop, now tt u're 1cm dilated? Do u feel any contractions so far?

Hisstory

Ya now my policy is to leave at 6pm on the dot.. haha! Last time I still will work till 7 plus 8..As for MC haven really exhausted but becos I just joined this new co less than a year so I feel a bit bad to take many days..

medusa15,
i also just join my company last oct, less than a year now. but i have use all up all my mc and taken some hl too. i feel that if i need to rest, means i need to rest. baby is more important than work. don't have to feel bad or paiseh about it.

rata,

doc say he will allow baby to be overdue at most one wk, but if tomolo admit, means overdue 5 days nia. initially he say to admit ytd nite, but he tot we pantang abt "4"th aug so change to admit 5th aug loh, actually me and hubby not pantang type, but hubby got meeting at work on 4th aug, so we agreed on 5th aug.

hisstory,

what right attire should be brought to mt a ? i only bringing 2 pyjamas, got specific type of pyjamas to wear ah ??

snow,
My c-sect is today, now at hospital liao. So excited can see my gal in hours but damn gang qiong about epi c-sect.

Celyn
Same.. Hee I just joined my co last Oct also! Yeah true lah health is more impt than anything else.. unless i really cannot take it then I will just take sick leave. Then did they freak out when they realise you pregnant then? Cos I join liao then one month later I found out i was expecting! Some companies are quite nasty one... you read the newspaper report yesterday on mummies kena sacked becos they are pregnant.. so terrible leh! Heng my co still ok.

medusa15,
hehe... they can't freak out cos govt encourage us to give birth to more babies mah. so i follow the law loh. hahaha....

anyway, i did told them i just had a miscarriage before i join. so they are very careful when they know i'm expecting.

Hisstory,
Whenever i asked my gynae watz my bb's est'd weight when born or roughly when she'll pop, she'll say dunno, it all depends on bb.
Good lah, at least i won't have any expectations and be disappointed loh.
After my false contractions last week, so far bb has been quite guai *fingers crossed* :p

Medusa/Celyn,
Hey, i oso joined my company in Oct last yr.
But i'm not as lucky as u..i tink once i told my boss i was preggie, she tried to make life difficult for me and i had no choice but to quit on my own.

re: Cordlife or StemCord
Initially i din haf intention of signing up cos not many frens/relatives around me haf done so.
But today gynae kept raving abt its benefits, and asked us to consider it seriously.
i'm sooo tempted to sign up, but hb still abit skeptical..keeps saying they r v commercialised.
Wat abt the rest of u?
BTw, Cordlife is now having N'day promo: http://www.cordlife.com/promo/national_day_promo_08.htm