(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hisstory,
Ya, I think my gynae abit more KS, he doesnt allow me to take GP's medication when I'm unwell too...heehee

I'm looking fwd to Thu now coz then I will be on leave and next week officially start my ML no matter popping or not coz I think beta rest b4 popping man.

LC,
OIC, thatz half squat...think thatz still possible but dun think I can handle full squat now man...heehee

Twin Stars,
For me, I rather gynae tells me natural or c-section from the start instead of having to go thru long labour liao then go emergency c-section coz bb in distress etc...

rbr to update us on your birth story and of coz bb's pics hah.

YLN,
Wsa your coll's cervix soft/ripe when she went in for induction? My gynae was saying if the "gate" still closed then induction will be long labour...my #1 was oso induced but induction was only carried out when my gynae said cervix has ripen and bb's head is low.

huichin
do take care and rest more.

twin stars
thx, my gal will be very happy if she heard that.
so now u noe what m2b and me are trying to say about having gal liao hor?
they will sweet talk to u, and help u to do housework....no matter how tired u are at work, u will forget 1 lor. =)

looking forward to see ur bb now? hee hee....

i'll chk the bank acc later ok? thx.

hisstory
u are most welcome.
if there is a chance for gathering after our confinement, i can try to bring her out if u ladies dun mind lor.

rat
i also thought that u go deliver liao. =P
cos now u should be full term liao mah rite?
i think quite afew of the mommies went missing liao also....

m2b
ya, my cervix din dilate during my previous induction also.
ended up emergency c-sect, cos gynae told me i can wait more than 12hrs in that kinda cases lor.

twin stars

i think i wld be in for a shock.. But nvm lah, bb safe can oredi! heehee
Me enjoy now? I'm still so busy with work, work & more work! I am thinking of getting MC or HL abt 2-3 weeks before EDD, but gynae never mentioned tt I can 'freely' ask for MC or HL leh..

YLN

So that kind of pillow is okie & prob wun cause suffocation yah?
U're such a sweetie to let give bb an opportunity to know ur mum. Your intentions will def warm ur bb's little heart & wld also make ur bb feel so loved!! *hugs*

M2B

Ur gynae's def more KS than mine.. When I told mine abt the cramps I had around 20+ weeks, she told me take panadol.. Even when I'm down with flu, I rather go GP.. My GP's more caring than my gynae *tsktsk*

Yupz, u must rest before popping, the labour process and taking care of NB requires so much energy.. My colleagues keep telling me to go rest, work can never be finished..

snow

Of coz not! So many mummies here say ur ger's so cute & she sounds like such a darling too.. Hopefully my bb wun be too much of a handful to bring out though *heheheh*

so many posts to catch up. pant pant.

M2B,
glad to hear things are ok for your bb. Looking forward to see ur minnie soon!

Little twin stars,
Your turn is next liao. Do post pix!

storeberry,
nice meeting you yday. Next time if have gathering can talk more. Ya, I think the SMH PM got some prob. sigh... No rush on the FTG, let me knw when u're ready.

Catherine,
thanks again for helping to get the cream. Too bad can only short chat, hubby waiting for me.

aurora,
Ya, had my gynae check-up today. bb is engaged already. saw side view of bb's face. I gained like almost 1 kg in 2wks and bb gained 400g.

cocomo,
my bb's weight is 2.5kg at wk 36. thanks for updating the table!
Your EDD is about the same time as me.
Doc says I prob can be due in another 2-3 weeks. Estd weight of bb to be slightly under 3kg. She said gd leh, easier to give birth.

huichin,
You must have been flabbergasted. Do rest well at home!

medusa / jas,
end up I have the vagina infection. So have to insert that pill-like tablet. Dr Heng wanted to insert cream through a tube but I remembered Jas said later all go down the drain when pee. So I requested for the tablet to insert myself.
Next week is every week check-up, gota go for CTG.
She said, I better go for epidural, cos I winced abit when she was pressing my left side where she said bb's head was engaged.

Shay,
so how's your check-up and bb coming along?

medusa,
ya, I get lots of violent wobbling and movements from my minnie. Just now was watching hellboy movie and I think the noise probably disturbed her, she was like moving so violently.

Surcharge
I called TMC to ask if they have surcharge. They do, in fact, any case of C-section, so long you prebook a date and time, there's a charge. Maybe that's why natural is cheaper.

Guess what my gynae told me when I asked him what's the high risk and complication when I wanted to change my scheduled C-section date to earlier 37wk+ instead of 38wk+. This time he said ... oh, it actually quite ok to deliver cos I am already 37w+ but the date I wanted is a popular date so the hospital might charge up to a $1000 more. Then he asked me to discuss with my hubby. I think he wants to charge not the hospital cos hospital dun charge so much. Anyway, it's the same if I do it on my initial scheduled date.

U see, first time i visited him, he said ok, but must book early. Then next when I wanted to change, he said I have high risk and complication. Then another visit I asked him he said the hospital charge more ... so it's no more risk liao .... WOnder what he is up to? Perhaps his schedule is packed as my hubby did once mentioned.

so many posts today! Little Twin Stars, Jiayou! Wish you a smooth delivery.

Rice Wine
By the way, is anyone going to wipe your body with warm water mixed with rice wine during days when we cannot bathe? Heard tt it can help repel wind in our body too. Any idea how bottles we need?

Shint,
TMC will charge $200+ if pre-book the date (I pre-booked the date for my first one also and that time I was charged $100+ only). My gynae charged $500+ if it is on weekday, but if booking on weekend then no additional charges. Think when your gynae said $1000+ maybe he include his own charges as well.

i have confirm another massage lady for my post natal massage liao. but her charges are more compare to my original one. $460 for 7 sessions. don't want to stress over this, better settle it earlier.

wow, seems tat everyone is in the 'getting ready to pop' mood! i'm still far from it, oni in my 35th wk oni leh. plus a bit sian cos gynae keeps saying tat bb is big lah, mebbe i've got gestational diabetes lah. imagine at wk 36, still gotta take test and then, if necessary, go on strict diet. i seriously wonder whether it's of any help to go on strict diet at such a late timing???

nowadays, i dun have much appetite. like, if it's time to eat, juz eat lor. not tat i will b particularly hungry n crave for something to eat. but yar, heartburn suddenly more frequent again. most likely cos the insides are all being squeezed up by the growing babe.

juz need to post abt some 'nasty' incidents at work. many a time, i've been 'consulted' by my colleagues at work and then they do the reporting to my boss. when boss says smtg good, they oso never mention anything abt my helping them :S and i noticed tat they always approach me when boss NOT ARD. how scheming. i feel so 'used' and wish i knew how to deal with this.

then another useless boss in my gp made a remark to me today. i mean, cmon lah, he knows for months tat i'm having a girl again tis rd, so i tot it weird when he asked me again my bb is gal or boy. i said 'gal, tot u knew oredi?'. then he purposely told me tat 'oh, life is like tat. t*** wants a gal but is having a boy.'. btw, t*** is his pet lor... bth.

Tomorrow I am in my 37weeks. Today I have contraction and I time it every 5-6mins, so quickly prepared all things and wake my darling girl up @ 6am to go ah ma house and who knows, my contractions stop halfway packing so still continue off to mum house to sleep instead. make my girl so cranky cos lack of sleep. So strange that this contraction abt the same as having #1 but why it stop? will visit gyane tomorrow. Now it is the wait and wonder when cos I am on 1week mc.

how exciting! i never experienced this process and hope that I will be able to this time cos last round was induced. yar, quickly go visit gynae tomorrow and get his advice!

i used up almost all my mc visiting the doc leow. now oni left 2 days for rest of the year! can't take anymore.

hee... i can imagine how cranky ur gal was.

avocado (rosehip),
think my BH to intense liao, not sure that means labor is very soon. I hope after 23/7 cos I want a Leo Rat, but will let nature take its course.

hi ppl, i'm going crazy in my maid hunt. called a few shortlisted maids over the past few days and was quite disappointed. some cld not be contacted and those who were contactable didn't leave a good impression. they were not very good in english and can't seem to comprehend me. all they said was "yes mdm". *faintz*

those who hire for 1st time, did u take new maid or those with experience? we're avoiding those who worked in sin previously but now, i think we might have to reconsider. i think filipino english standard really worse than indo leh!!!

hi krex,
my myanmese maid has been wif me for 1 mth leow. she has no experience in sg, but supposedly has experience in myanmar for 2 yrs (seriously doubt it). but, i have to tell u, their engrish cannot make it. need lotsa patience.
however, she makes up for it wif ok attitude n manners. wan me to gai seow the agent?

btw, congrats to all those who have popped! :D

avocado, leo rat good? i din even look into the star signs yet. juz know tat bb's birth will fall in lunar 7th mth *diaoz*

better make sure wif ur gynae. but i juz know someone wif the same experience,and abt 1-2 wks later, deliver leow.

fae, wah, how u tahan? i scared they can't even understand what you tell them to do and they can't operate electrical appliances. must teach them to not only use washing machine and vacuum cleaner, but also steriliser, food warmer, etc. it's going to take months to train her man!

faeriekim,
no lar, juz that I am cancerian and I hope everyone in the family diff ah. my friend told me if same as me, we both will fight. heheh!

krex78,
you are right.. filippino english std is worse than indo. Which i am very surprised. Actually indo have a flair for language. They pick up language very fast.

my filipino maid no exp in sg but worked 6 yrs in philippines.. but no matter how exp they say they are, come here still must train cos std is diff. Her english is quite bad, sometimes ask her do one thing she will do opposite. Esp hubby talk fast, most of the time she cannot understand. I will talk more slowly to her but sometimes she also do opposite. eg that day i tell her put the carrot back into the soup, she went to put more carrot into the soup. She will do opposite. Hubby ask her take 1 thing she will take another thing. So far we dont let her operate the washing machine. We will turn on for her and when finish she knows how to take out. Then other basic appliances she knows after teaching. Not so bad. But really need alot of patience. My prev indo one very efficient and very fast. But she's experienced la. My this filipino one do everything also slow. eat also slow.. most of the time we finish eating she will still be there eating .. so we just sit around and chit chat while she eats.. my mom say she too "lady like" .. hahaha..

snow,
thanks for organising the spree.
btw, yr ger is soo adorable. At first my hubby was still saying that this will b my 1st n last pregnancy coz i seem to have suffer alot. but after seeing n hearing bout yr ger ytd, he told me that its gd if we can have another ger or if lucky enough, a pair of twin gers in future. haha.Faintz.

Vone,
Congrats, remember to share with us yr bb's pic.=^_^=

cocomo,
pls help me update bb weight's is 2.505kg at 34wk 4 days. thankie

Sometimes, as true labor draws near, Braxton Hicks contractions become relatively painful and strike as often as every ten to 20 minutes, making you wonder whether true labor has started. But if the contractions don't get longer, stronger, and closer together and cause your cervix to dilate progressively, then what you're feeling is probably so-called false labor.

My tummy is getting tighter or is my baby suddenly growing bigger? Anyone with the same feelings?

So happy to hear so many updates!! Hahaha!!

Aurora , I tot is using Daifonai ( Chinese herb) mix with hot water to bath. The rice wine is for drinking and cooking food?

Btw,my frd getting straight from Factory thru her connection, in retail is sold as wrinke remover cream, but very effective as stretch mark cream. She's ordering, so I will be ordering one. Don't you wanna try or nt.

She also said very effective, less than 3 mths, can see the marks gone in the applied area. But she just dunna to tell me the retail brand, but will be much cheaper than what is sold in the retail and the actual packaging wont be sold as due to legal issues pah....

If u want, jus pm me.

Cocomo,
Thanks for info.

I seem to have slight spotting last nite .. gotta monitor and go for check if it worsens. Backache is getting quite bad and had been using Tiger balm regularly for a while to soothe the ache.

#1 had been down with viral fever for almost a week and only stopped last nite but his cough is still going on. Gotta bring him to doc again and prob take a day of child MC ... so i can rest as well.

Can't sleep .... woke up at 4am cos i was hungry.
Then #1 had nightmare and kept calling for daddy ... dunno what he dreamt of. Wondering he din call mommy? I devote so much time on him ... heee.

Krex,
In April, i was also looking for a new maid as my old one's contract ended and I did not wan to renew her cos she was only going to stay with me for another few months .... which will be the time I am due.

Anyway, I tried looking for fresh ones from Indo and Philippines but I find that I speak too fast, they cannot understand and I don't have the time and patience to retrain them. I needed experience ones. Even the agent told me that i better take philippino as i speak too fast. Then when I interviewed one/two over the phone, I find that I cannot make it ... hahha, cos i cannot slow down.

My previous Filipino maid is VERY experience and VERY smart. Anyway, in the end I decided to take transfer maid. It took me a month and few travels to the agencies for interviews before I decided on my current one. It's hard work to find a suitable helper.

Thank goodness, my transfer maid is so far ok. If you want to take a transfer maid, you have to know why they transfer and request to talk to their ex-employer then u decide if u can accept those characteristics which their employer cannot accept.

Some may be due to financial or no need for a maid, then this kind shld be ok. Those who come back late, demands for things then better dun take. Anyway, one thing to note, alot of transfer maids esp filipinos are rather demanding so if they start to negotiate with u from the start, better dun take lor.

However, all depends on the time u have to look. Better start looking soon cos when baby comes out ... where got time?

morning mummies.

mummies who is getting confinement lady, do we give her our house key when she go marketing? or we open the door for her when she come back. any advise?

rat,
cos my current one is not available now. so need to find new one.

faeriekim,
you still have 2 days mc for the rest of the year. i got none liao.

catherine, yours is new filipino maid? so far i interviewed one new one and one who worked in saudi; both also can't really comprehend what i say.

shint, any short cut to this? i'm hoping to find an agency that has minimally screened the maids and can assure me that they speak well. very pointless for me to waste money calling them to find that they have no basic standard of english.

gosh, this thread moves so fast!! really cannot catch up.

Vone
Congrats! See ur bb pic soon.

If any other mummy has also delivered, and I missed the news, congrats too.

Twin stars
u've scheduled ur delivery for this week? Hope everything goes smoothly for you and post a pic soon!

Nini,
ur massage lady so good! Do for bb too?
Can i ask, for these massages, how long (how many hrs) must we remain wrapped up? Is it uncomfortable or itchy?

Tok abt maids, my frens also looking...haiyoh, some of them are "terrible!". sometimes really depend on luck too. But from their experience, I think it's good to choose "older" ones like around 25yo (more mature?) and preferrably not the youngest in their family. The oldest usually hv a greater sense of responsibility.

So many pple hving gynae appts...mine's tomoro! I hope bb will come nearer due date cos i got a lot of work to do...i think for #2, i'm getting complacent. :p

Good Morning!

YLN,
Hehe, yap, can ask your gynae to conduct VE to check what is the condition below b4 deciding. =P

Snow,
Yap, gals are dearies! =P
Yalor, thatz why my gynae will do checks below to ensure good or ripe conditions before he decides whether the next step…I also dun want long labour…

Hisstory,
After working till I pop for my #1, I will strongly encourage all MTBs to take some leave/MC to rest before popping coz after that, it can be real tiring and stressful lor…especially for 1st time mommies…

Valnsw,
I’m looking fwd too coz can’t stand the tiredness and aches now but seem like my bb is getting real comfy inside though…heehee

Rata,
Rbr to update us after your checkup today…hope you got good news!

Fae,
Dun care abt the nasty colls in your company…look fwd to your new bundle of joy and enjoy the ML.

Avocado,
Rest well and update us when you pop.

Celyn,
I have more than 20 days of MC left for this year after taking some earlier this year and 3.5 days last week...

celyn

Maybe instead of giving the keys, and if u want to play safe, u use padlock instead? Coz padlock can change easily, so more secure. So even if the key's lost or is duplicated, it won't work for a new padlock if u get it replaced

HTH

M2B

Heheh, thanks for the affirmation! Then maybe after Nday I wld start going on MC/ HL.. Hope my gynae is willing to grant such requests *cross fingers & toes*

How come u have so many days of MC? Sounds so shiok!

mousse

Same here, my swelling started last week.. Can get HB to massage & try to raise ur feet when sleeping. If u can get a stool or box in the office, rest ur feet on them while u're at ur work station.. All these methods have helped quite a fair bit for me

mousse,
is it water retention? i don't have swollen feet so far. 'touch wood'

hisstory,
maybe a padlock will be helpful. just lock the iron gate with padlock instead of the key.

Celyn & Hisstory,
I have 30 days of MC in my company...heehee

Hisstory,
Yup, try to rest b4 popping...my hb actually want me to start my ML this week but I find it abit wasteful since I already rested 3.5 days last week thus I will take my own AL from Thu and starts my ML next Mon instead...

Mousse,
Think thatz water retention...I had it for awhile few weeks ago but it seem to have gone away again...try lifting up your feet more often and also avoid too salty foods...

mousse, mine starting swelling some time back. my friend says it's a sign that labour is near. now i can't even wear my shoes, so painful. my hands also swollen and feel numb. so hard to type on keyboard.

m2b, i also got 30 days mc, 60 days hospital leave. are u taking mc or hospital leave prior to EDD? i feel like taking, starting 1 aug onwards. too tired to work liao. still wondering which one to take since mc still got so many days left. so far i only took about 5 days i think. i'm just worried if i take hospital leave, HR might be sticky about it and ask if i did indeed go to the hospital.

morning ladies. =)

happie
hee hee.....pai seh. =P
but its always gd to have more than 1 kid, else later ur only kid will request for a playmate sooner or later anyway. =D

celyn
since cl booked liao, dun think or compare too much any more lor.
as long as everything goes smoothly now.

m2b
ya, make sure ur cervix is ripe enough to dilate 1st....else, pain pain leh. =(

Need to check something with you all. Does the Nuk teat fit into any of the other bottles like pigeon or Dr Brown? Or must buy only nuk bottles?

Any recommendation between piegon, dr brown's and nuk bottles?

Sigh... I am self employed, so no MC or HL to speak of. Now that I know I have to go for c section, lagi even more stresed coz got to tie up all the loose end in these last 2 weeks.

re swollen feet:
I've had swollen feet for the last few eeks already and also stiff fingers pretty much the whole day. Drinking more water supposed to help...and raising your feet.

faeriekim:
I also went for my GD test at week 34 and went for the consultation at week 35 (last week). No choice, coz baby getting too big, so not good for both baby and mummy. If you trying for natural childbirth, then if baby too big, may not be able to come out. Mummies who have GD also have a higher chance of having diabetes later on in life. But I agree, I was like really 'sian' to go through this at this late stage. Was so looking forward to all the durians now that they are in season. But on the plus side, we suffer slightly less than those who had to go on a strict diet for 2-3 months.

Maybe you can cut out all the sweet and fried stuff? Btw, seems it's ok to have kway teow, bee hoon, rice but not noodles...

sorry, my post or reply may b abit late cos last night got things to do so need to disappear

M2B,
i also told my gynae the same thing. tell me natural or c sect. dun let me have long labour then end up em c sect. but he replied: everyone is diff and will respond diff in labour. there is no way to tell if i will dilate fast or not but that does not mean u don;t try for natural. ok lor, i accept la

snow,
every child's personality is diff lei. yrs n M2B happen to have very sweet girls. i hope mine will be like that too

mmmm......m looking forward to see baby but i do agree with catherine that i also feel a "separation anxiety " as i have carried her in me for so long.....irony hor :*

hisstory,
yes, i was in shocked too last wk that;s why never ask much questions about induce. but i came to accept it liao. oh, if u have finish yr hand over, ask yr gynae to give u MC or HL la. teaching is no joke lei. can rest...rest

valnsw,
next may not be me wo.......now alot of pp are in the waiting game...who knows sudd someone will post that they have just popped! hehe

faeriekim,
u so long never post, if u waited another week, i think got even more pp will have popped, hehe
dun bother about yr coll. pp can be insensitive. i always rem the "gold 90.5 ad" listen to only the gd things
need to filter wat we hear liao as we need to remain in gd moods to prepare for birth. next time if they come to u, say u giving birth, wait 4 boss. as for yr boss, treat him as someone with low EQ lor

avocado
leo rat gd huh? i also want leo rat
wah, u started yr "labour practice drill liao " hehe. gd practice, at least when the real thing comes, u will not be so scared