(2008/08) Aug 2008

I agree with Luvlel.

Talk to your baby. They listen to us. Just before delivery, my little one still in breech position. I told her to turn head down so that I can go for natural birth and she really turned head down JUST BEFORE doctor final check!! Amazing..

Cheers!!

in exactly 7 days at this time, I would be in OT having my csec .. heehehe .. can't imagine.

yesterday I went to M&S @ centrepoint and they have some very nice baby clothes there. Good quality , kinda like mothercare quality. Abit ex but very nice. And their sizes are all very big. I bought a few pieces ... again .. hahaha..

luvlel,
yah, its still weight lost even though baby is gaining weight. but i don't mind losing weight, so got less to loose mah. but dietician is not happy, she want me to gain weight but i just can't.

yln,
wow, 'ai xin' pillow for baby leh. don't be bother by the ugly stitches, its the thought that matters.

huichin,
oh no. please do rest in bed as much as possible. try not to move around too much. any medication given to stop contractions?

catherine,
yah, its raining in town too.

Checkup
Looks like quite a number of us went for gynae checkup today! My bb's weight is 2.8kg @ 38 weeks. BB gained 200g over a week. Hopefully he will be at least 3kg when I deliver. Been eating durians these few days. HAahaaa.. luckily my weight didn't increase. Also dropped a bit. But think my cervix no sign of opening yet. Gynae say I can even go JB to shop! But I'm also getting impatient leh.. can't wait to see bb (tho' i still have some stuff not prepared yet!) :p

Those mummies delivering in 1-2 weeks time, have ur cervix opened? Is it the same as dilate?

medusa, is beansprout pillow effective? actually i'm putting bb in sleeper unit on my bed for the first 4 mths, so i dun think he'll need any pillow rite?

huichin, eat more durians, heehee. are u sure you want your bb to pop so early?

Snow
*grins* Hehehehe.. : ))
I just didnt like the person passing judgement just lidat *rolls eyes*

Huichin
Oh dear, pls take care, rest well in bed and dun move an inch.

M2B
Glad to hear the cord is no longer a threat : ))Actually how can we tell if the cord is coiled around the bb's neck? Will the ultra scan shows or need to do sepcial scan then can see?

aurora, posted CD to u today via normal mail using padded envelope. costs $2.35. can transfer to my a/c later when u're free? let me know when u receive it

Hi aurora,
My EDD is next Sat but cervix still closed too so gynae asked me to look out for natural labour signs and see me again next Mon if none...think bb is too comfy inside liao although mommy is not. =P

Hi Medusa,
My gynae did U/S scan for me and found that the cord was ard bb's neck 2 weeks ago although heartbeat is still gg strong so I guess scan shd be able to detect liao...I think most imptly is must make sure bb is moving daily lor coz if movement reduced then shd be cause for worries.

Krex78
The sleeper unit is it like a small little mattress with for bb to sleep next to you? I think like that depends cos the beansprout pillow is more like a "comfort pillow" to be put on bb's chest so its optional... So some mummies may think it's not necessary but I personally like it lah.. haha. Cos my boy in first 3 mths tend to get startled easily so putting a pillow woth some weight tends to help quite a lot..ut I never use any pilow for his head cos I felt his head to soft so better not...

BB's Pillow:
Is it becos bb's head is still soft and not properly formed yet, so not advisable to let bb sleep on it? So some pple actually buy those pillows wif a dent in the middle.

Playpen @ BB Ave:
Anyone went to their sale over the weekend?
Is their playpen (Offer price: S$99) a good buy?

Pressie for Pri 1:
Any mommies wif children in pri school can advise me watz a good pressie to get for my niece whois gg to pri 1 next yr?

M2B
Ah I see.. ok thanks. Cos am thinking if I need to check with my gynae about the cord but since she never say anything I think shd be ok bah.
Aiyo my bb moves so much throughout the day sometimes I over paranoid and think dunno if she in distress anot...

Krex78,

oic..tks, how to ask for HL when we are not admitted to hospital ? some gynae provide them one ah ?

YLN,
really ? dr ong be away ? then i better tell my son not to come out when dr ong is away wor.
when is ur next check up ?

Catherine,
okie, will try to air next few days.

M2B,
glad to hear ur baby staying away from the cord..

chin chin,
pls rest and dun do anything, leave all the fetching of water and food to ur hubby okie?
take care hor...tok to baby and tell her to wait for 2 more wks (then u be wk 38 izit?)

snow,

i jus came back from the dr. later when hubby gets into his off, i will ask him to transfer the money for the spree.
yr girl is such a sweetie pie!!!!
no wander u dote on her so much
she is sp adorable n still bring things to show me
hubby's heart also melt. he say thank god we are having a girl after seeing how adorable yr girl girl is, hehe

cocomo,
u taking over the chart thinggi liao.......think i no need to update cos thurs i'll be admitted...........

ladies:
thurs i will be induced in the afternoon n mayb fri baby will pop? so gan jiong liao...better finish up all my last min things

Celyn
Could be yr mucous plug... That is a prelude to labour. But fret not. If it comes out thick thick and clear clear like mucous then most likely it is. But sometimes after mucous plug come out labour may or may not start few days later....

Celyn

More info for you...

What is the mucous plug?
The mucous plug is a collection of cervical mucus that seals the opening of the cervix. It keeps bacteria and infection from entering into the cervix, providing a protective barrier for the developing baby.

What does the mucous plug look like?
Some women describe the mucous plug as looking more like the mucous in your nose. It may look like a thick glob of stringy mucous, thicker than what you would see with normal vaginal secretions. If you are close to going into labor you may see pink, brown, or red blood around the edges of the mucous plug. This is called the “bloody show”.

When do you lose your mucous plug?
Some women will lose their mucous plug or part of their mucous plug weeks before they go into labor. Losing your mucous plug does not always mean labor will begin shortly. Keep in mind that even if a woman has begun to dilate, it may be weeks before she actually goes into labor. However, if you notice blood tinged mucous before your thirty-sixth week of pregnancy, notify your doctor right away. As your body prepares for labor your cervix will begin to dilate and thin. As your cervix opens up, your mucous plug may fall out. Losing your mucous plug is a good sign that labor is on its way. Though, it could be days or even weeks after you lose your mucous plug before labor actually starts. Many women do not lose their mucous plug at one time; instead, they lose it more gradually. They may notice an increase in vaginal secretions weeks before they go into labor.

Should I call my doctor if I lose my mucous plug?
If you are full term and have lost your mucous plug, there is usually no need to call your doctor. You may lose your mucous plug weeks before labor starts. If you notice regular, timeable contractions after losing your mucous plug, follow your doctor’s protocol for proceeding to Labor and Delivery. If you have a history of preterm labor and you suspect you have lost your mucous plug, call your doctor right away. If you notice blood tinged mucous and are earlier than thirty-six weeks call your doctor immediately. Moreover, you should also call your doctor if you have sudden bright red bleeding. Bleeding can be a sign of placenta previa or placental abruption.

snow

Once again, thanks so much, for coordinating the spree for so many merchants! It's a pity I didn't meet u or ur ger the other day, feet were too swollen to walk..

Ur ger sounds really cute!! Laughing in her sleep *heehee*

krex

U or ur HB was playing with the cot? My HB was rolling the cot around, his excuse.. To 'air' the cot!! *faint*

krex & YLN

Why isn't it gd to give newborn bolster or pillow?

cocomo

Thanks for updating!
Could you help me with mine?
2.4kg at 34 weeks

M2B

*congrats* on the good news.. What a relief!!

Huichin,
You take care and rest more k.

M2B,
I heard that to walk and squat more then will dilate faster. Dunno if correct?!!

twin star,
So excited you going to induce this Thurs liao. Wish you have a smooth delivery and can pop as short time as possible after you induced!!! (No need to wait till Friday la). Update us your birth story and BB photos after that k!!!

I will upload the table here once every 2-3 days after accumulated few updates else the thread look so many tables in one day. Hee. . .

32 - 35 weeks, I have only gained exactly 1 kg but I ate quite alot leh. Perhaps the little weight gained is cos of the growing baby replacing the ambiotic fluid.

wow so may mummies gg for early delivery....*excited*

tomor gg for 37th week checkup, see if there's any changees on EDD. Now at the last trimester, getting very diffcult to sleep well. Every night wake up at least 3 times to either go wee wee or change sleeping position. :p

Huichin,
Understd that must be a bad scare…heed your gynae’s advice and rest well at home.

Medusa,
Think dun have to worry coz your gynae will advise accordingly.

Twin Stars,
Must be real excited to be able to see your little princess this week…meanwhile rest more coz after bb is out, not much time to rest liao…

Interrace,

wonder if dongle given birth oredi..also where's rata ?

twin star,
wish u a short and smooth labour this thursday!!

do keep us update when u can hor.

Hey hey, I am still here. Juz dat todae back to work so abit bz. My gynae say not so soon for me. My actual edd is 1st Aug not 19th July sorry for the confusion. coz the edd keep shifting forward base on her weight but in actual fact edd is 1st Aug. As of last week baby's head still not engaged, gynae say should b last week of July should not exceed 1st Aug. Will see gynae tomolo again shall see hows things. Since last night I am finally experiencing some minor BH (i think) is juz some hardening on & off but not reali pain. Soon we will ve more & more mummy poping

Vone, congrats.

interrace, i think gynae can give you HL if you opt for it, coz' MC got limited days. HL usually 1-2 mths. seems like you don't have to check into hospital for HL, but really depends on your co policy. my colleagues have been taking HL before they deliver as they don't want to waste their ML.

hisstory, my hb was playing with cot mobile. he went to attach it to the cot so that it can play music. quite entertaining, heehee.

cocomo,hisstory,M2B, interrace

me want fri date if possible
but all these depends on baby liao. cos bb is big, dr say if wait till next wk, it;s at my own risk, so of cos induce lor......
oh, just now we manage to see bb's face..wah, her cheeks is so chubby. dr also say: chubby bb

hisstory,
the baby's room is not entirely ready but can do la, need to. then need to send my dog for shaving. need to teach maid to wash bottle n use sterilizer. haven use lemon to "wash" sterilizer yet. mmmm.......my spree items also dunno how to monitor liao

snow,
i transfered the money to u liao
Txn Ref No : 1807560517
$16.08

thanks for helping out!
u rest well too ya. dun walk too much already :p

interrace
my check up will be tomorrow.. when is urs? I knew he was going away last week liao...he didnt tell u?

hisstory
i think the pillow and bolster might not be a good idea with new borns cuz of the fear of suffocation..since new borns need to be swaddled..i think intial weeks maybe no need ba...

my pillow is the kind with a dent in the middle..so i think it may not affect the bb's head much ba...but to play safe..i will wait till the bb dun need to be swaddled then will let her use ba..in the meantime..maybe just use as decoration or as a barrier to prop her back lor...

little twin stars, all the best to u. u dont sound kan cheong which is good.
do we have to wash the steriliser with lemon? mine is a pigeon steriliser. i haven't even opened my steriliser, still in the box. ;p

Any mommies here experiencing wana puke after meals…I seem to be having this feeling since the weekend…just now went to puke out my lunch…sian

Hisstory,
Yalor, we are indeed relieved when gynae said cord is away liao. =P

Cocomo,
I have been walking a lot so hopefully will help…anyway now tummy so heavy, oso difficult to squat…heehee

Rata,
Just now, my gynae said my bb’s head is in position but cervix still closed…so no sign yet too…but I dun feel good whole of this afternoon too…

Twin Stars,
Yalah, if bb too big, quite difficult for natural birth coz might end up assisted delivery…chubby bb is cute! My gynae commented that my bb very active cos when he is scanning, she is kicking away…

Just went to see gyane today. He said baby a bit too big. She's 3.2kg @ 36 weeks. Somemore, I quite small size and had a lapy 2 years ago for my fibroids, so prefer that I go for c section. Sianz...Looks like I will be giving on the 8th Aug...same as Megan?

Aiyoh..now I so stressed out coz still got so many last minute things to do.

Gynae also want me to watch my diet till I give birth. That means I won't be able to enjoy the birthday buffet lunch for my grandmother at Merchant Court this Sunday. *sob*!

vone- congratulations...as long as bb and you ok in the end...that's all that matters.

For those going to pop next week...jia yu!

Hi, cocomo

My gynae also asked me to do half squat everyday.. and to continue with my swimming, at least twice a week but not more than half an hour per session.. i did not go swimming anymore cos my hubby schedule dun permit me to do so.. so now i do half squat everyday and try to walk as muc as possible in office.. climb the stairs too, my gynae it helps.. but not going down the stairs..

Hi hi, Valval - I also gain 1kg for my 28th week to 32 weeks..I did my scan last sat when I was abt 32week 2 days, baby has gained 600grams.. so i suppose its ok that we mommies gain little weight so long baby is growing reasonably. take milk powder if you dun mind the smell.. it is good for you..

Strep B - can anyone advise when it is the time to take such test.. my gynae asked me to go back to have this test when i am in my 35weeks but my schedule cannot permit so tot of moving it just 4-5days earlier and surprisingly she said better not..

Hi, M2B - Me too, i am also have that puking feeling :p.. its like movin up from the throat,and is burp, lucky worse.. i usually swallow back :p gross!! Gynae said it is heartburn or is it heatburn (can't remember exact term).. she suggests to take small meals but very difficult for me so each meal i will want the usually portion to feel satisfied. hehe...

missysz,
mine also pigeon, the instructions says so lei. put lemon juice inside for 30mins....not sure, need to go read again. me not gan jiong yet cos no experience ma........ by wed night, think i can;t sleep liao

M2B,
so yrs no need to induce? just wait for cervix to "ripe" ? hehe.
my dr did not check cervix, he jsut told me to induce by this wk. if i wanna wait, it is at my own risk liao,so induce lor

twin stars

What's ur bb's weight now? My gynae also mentioned tt my bb's on the heavier side, but didn't comment whether shd induce or do c-section.. Maybe coz my EDD's end of Aug *hmmm*
^5! hahah, my bb's got chubby face too..

Alot of handing over to do.. Next few days looks really packed with activities. U're still in sprees ah?

krex

So fun! My cot still hasn't gotten a mobile.. I've been eyeing a Classic Pooh mobile, but HB think it's too pricey for a mobile. Dunno if I shd specify this item to my friends who want to give bb a pressie

YLN

IseeIsee.. What abt the beansprout type of pillow?
My mummy made a really sweet bolster case for me.. Heehee, must take a pix & show u mummies, someday

M2B

After hearing of ur case, I asked gynae if the cord's ard my bb's neck.. She says she usually won't scan for it, coz there's nothing much tt can be done, except to deliver earlier. But she says we can monitor on our own by noting the level of activity of bb's movt..

U're not feeling well??

LC,
What is half squat? Now tummy so big and feel so heavy, really difficult to squat man…

Yalor, feel like puking every time after eating leh…this morning oso then lunch oso…sian but I dun think it is heartburn…more like the food cannot go down probably…

Twin Stars,
My gynae knows I’m into natural birth so he said since cervix not ripe yet coz closed then no point inducing coz will be long labour so gonna wait for the right time then…heehee

He conduct VE every visit now…

Hisstory,
My gynae will check for the position of the cord every visit since I forget which week coz he was saying since lesser space inside then high possibility that bb will entangle with the cord thus to be safe, he checks every visit plus water level…

Dun know leh, dun seem to feel good today…maybe trying to tune back to working mode ba…heehee

Rata,
BB’s head in position I oso dun know is it mean engaged or not leh…my next appt is next Mon…yours?

M2B

IseeIsee, i think ur gynae's more careful.. My gynae's like more chin-chai? Hahah, dunno if i've described it accurately!

Heheh, it's Monday & the weekend never seems enough hor? Can countdown to going home oredi..

My bb's moving alot now, just as I'm typing this.. heehee

M2B - Half squat is with your legs apart and toes facing outwards and you bend with your back straight. do 40times up and down a day.. gynae said next visit will teach me to do full squat.. alamak!!!

hisstory,
my dr never say anything about induce until last wk. so mayb yr timing not yet
enjoy as much as you can now hor

M2B,
natural is the best
u also can stand by liao
jia you!

hisstory
the bean sprout pillow is like a long small pillow..u fill with green beans..(i filled mine with green beans)..and u put on the bb chest when bb sleeping...so that she will not get startled by noises easily...
i specially made mine with an old dress i bought with my mother (who passed away last nov) ..so its like my mother making for her grand daughter...will bao you my bb..and have many sweet dreams.
...sorry..just the thought of my mum will make me tear a bit...

M2B
my colleague was just telling me, her two births were also induced..and it was actually quite fast cuz the gynae can adjust the medication according to his/her schedule...she said her gynae admitted her in the morning...and told her she will deliver her bb after her lunch!...and her bb was really delivered after the gynae's lunch!...any one with similar stories?
im hoping to get induced and deliver fast also...hm...