(2008/08) Aug 2008

now i'm worried if my bb is born on 080808. Mt A only has 10 single wards and they're very "hot". looks like i'll have to settle for double or upgrade to deluxe or suite if i do deliver that day!

Mrs N,

thanks for the info.
i got exercise ball at home but nvr touch it cos i tot i cant do anything on it..though the other day i was bouncing on it..lolz.
now i noe of better use for it.yeah!
seat cross legged also help, that's great too! cos been seating down on the floor with my legs crossed every nite when i have my dinner in front of the tv and on coffee table..lolz.

Jvenus,
not sure if is the pineapple, but just to share, i been eating pineapple too, even during my 1st trimster (but in moderation lah)
today i just had a slice too (cannot resist the sweetness). so far i havent experience any BH from eating the pineapples.(they are rich in vit C)
how many wks are u at ?

M2B,
Well, we have good taste. Am looking at ordering 18-24mth. Cos' din think have much opportunity to wear them when baby is younger. Can't walk anyway. Also rem the shoes u got looks small too.

Interrace you're welcome. Actually there's also another use for the exercise ball. MWs were saying that by sitting on it, it will also encourage the baby to move into the correct position for birth. Hee! Hee! Besides we can also use it for exercise after birth to get rid of excess fats!

snow,
have sent you 2 PMs on my orders... pls take the 2nd PM... sorry so mafan... thanks...

valnsw,
my mum is not staying with me, she comes over to do household chores & cook lunch/dinner during weekdays as i was on HL since Apr... now that my maid is here, she only does cooking now...

cindy
pm u liao. =)

mrs n
ya, think those who want 080808 gotta make appointment fast by now.
beside those who scheduled, think hospital gotta leave aside some buffer for those emergency cases also lor. =P

reirei
if u got to noe zara on sale, let me noe also ya?
thx.

ReiRei,
I got the sms on Mango sale too but too bad, we can't buy now...

Yap, I'm also INTERESTED in Zara sale coz their gal's clothings are just sooooo nice!

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude.

I am from April thread.

Desitin Creamy

I am ordering from drugstore tomoro. Any mummies need more of this? If interested, pls transfer to POSB savings: 032- 29853-2 and indicate your nick. (Shipping cost to be advised)
Collection: City hall / Tanah Merah Mrt

Nick:
Qty:
Price: (USD 4.69 * Qty) *1.45
Collection place:

M2B,
Think should be ok during the stage when they are learning to walk. Too hard sole dun think they can walk properly. My boy started with those soft soles before promoting to hard soles. Anyway think the sizes look small so might as well get bigger one.

Snow,
Have PM u my order. Thanks!

happycat,
u stock up from bp or ..? i love b&b works stuff, but v limited bp doing it. Wonder will shipping cost alot to buy online myself

Looks like lots of mummies here aiming for 080808 babies!

Had a long day, went to settle the maid, my mum interviewed the maid on the phone, the maid sounded polite and all so keeping fingers crossed that all will be good.

cindy,
is your mucuous discharge colorless or yellowish? I have that too, and I have to change my panti-liners twice a day. It's most likely some yeast/vaginal infection or some people I know call it Strep B infection? Anyway check with your gynae, cos I told my gynae about this and she said she will do a test for me nearer to EDD. For yeast/vaginal infection, cannot take jab and maybe at most take some medication else there is danger of infection passing to bb as bb passes through the birth canal.

YLN,
I think you need to tell your ILs not to allow your maid to watch TV at their place else later she takes it for granted and may do so at your own place. Don't bother to wait for the agent to go scold her. Even with the language barrier, you have to communicate through some other way that she cannot watch TV.

I think for hospital bag, you need to bring a few sets of bb clothes and plus receiving blankets? I don't think the hospital will provide these.

little twin stars,
to do kegel exercise, you need to know which muscles to work on. You can test by passing urine and then stop half-way then that's the muscles you use for kegel exercises. But don't do this while urinating hor, else will have infection. Once you know which muscles are to be contracted, you can do it anywhere, while on typing on your laptop etc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kegel_exercise

Joanne,
Bought during my previous trip to USA. Also ask sis to buy for me when she was there for trip. Believe price is cheap but shipping may be costly.

Esther J,
Welcome!
I have the same EDD as you.

reirei,
if have zara sale, I also wana know!

snow,
do you still accept the babymallonline orders? I've just PMed and smsed you. hehe

Re: Pelvic exercises
Its good to do the exercise daily, supposed to strengthen our pelvic muscles which in return will return to original state easier after natural birth. If not, might "loosen" n will affect sex after birth.
Thats what Mrs Wong frm prenatal class said. But i also lazy, never do. HB keep asking me if i know how to know, must do..blah blah..think thats the only thing he rems from the prenatal class we've been attending

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude. I am from April thread.

I letting go the following:
1) avent manual pump (lightly used) at $50
2) 2 box of NUK breast pads BN - 24pcs per box at $10
3) 1 pack of Huggies dry (used a few pcs)- 84pcs size M at $12
3) 2 packs of pamper comfort BN but open already-58pcs size M at $10 per pack

My girl is wearing Mamypoko size M, the diapes cutting are small compared to Mamypoko size M.

Please PM me if you are interested.

snow,
I'm going to give the spree a miss... I think recently I bought alot of baby clothes already :p need to control abit :p

hi gals, long time no see.... back fm my london trip oredi. wow.... it was such a hectic period prior to the trip. almost no time to prepare my itinerary. ended up going to almost everywhere wif so little time. had a hard time walking. goodness.. kept wondering whether my baby appreciates the exercising tat i was doing while she's in my belly??

mulberry,
thanks a lot for ur help! ;)

megan,
thanks a lot to you too for the info on burberry. in the end took ur advice n din go there cos a little outta way. ended up concentrating on m&s on my last day. mothercare and elc were not tat fantastic, just mebbe 10% cheaper after conversion and not worth me lugging back.

hello all

Am back fr BKK

Did some bit of shopping for bb wear, but still don't seem to be done with it.. *heheh*

snow

Hope I'm not too late.. I shall email u my orders soon

faeriekim

Wow!! I am so amazed that you made it through the long flight
I would love to return to London sometime soon, it's one of my fave places to visit..

Discharge:
I also have quite abit of discharge but Dr says as long as it don't itch should be ok.

Welcome back Hisstory!! You must have enjoyed yourself!! Show us your loots!

valnsw,
my discharge sometimes colourless sometimes yellowish. actually having it before my preg and it just continue. no itch at all so guess should be alright. Anyway will ask my gynae the next time i visit him. Im giving birth at TMC and they say dun have to bring anything for the baby except a set of clothes to go home if we wan baby to go home in nice nice clothes. They will also be providing a swaddle blanket. maybe you wanna check with your hospital.

Snow, U got my mail?

hey...faeriekim

no worries
glad u enjoy urself..realise tt prices of everything have gone up like so much..was asking a friend to help me get some prada stuff in italy gave her a $ range that was already above what I paid for 2 yrs ago and she came back and ask me if I had bluff her cos the prices now is at least double the range that I gave her!

Hey Hisstory...London is one of my fav place too

I think it's better to include a set of new bb clothes, mittens & socks, hat as well as a hood blanket, in your hosiptal bag. Can bring some maternity pads also cos I heard although hosiptal provides, it is chargable to your account.

Ard 6 mths, I started to have discharge, watery or at times yellowish. Gynae mentioned its ok. So now, try to change panty liners more often to minimise infection.

interrace, i am now about 30 weeks. been feeling the pressure pressing down sometimes and it's quite uncomfortable.

Re: Kegels
I thought we had to do perineum massage to stretch the perineum so that will not tear during delivery. Never heard of kegels helping?

Re: 080808
Wah! Nice date! But I'm hoping to watch NDP instead of spending the holiday in hospital. Hehe.

Good morning mummies,
waah! so many posts alr! read somewhere that its normal for us to have discharge cos of the increased blood flow. but if discharge is coloured or smelly, it could mean infection..
to tackle my discharge problem, i take either yoghurt or yakult.

Re: Discharge
I also have quite heavy discharge. Gynae said it is normal as long as not yellowish, no itch and no smell. Mine a bit yellowish and gynae did culture test (include strapB test) for me at 24wks, results showed normal.

Re: 080808
I also intent to deliver on this date if go for c-sect. Will also book the time coz counting the 'bazi' for BB. hee. . .

Re: BB name
Anyone has already determine your BB's name? Did you go 'suan ming' or read the book?

morning all!!

Jvenus, am not comfortable to do the perineum massage wor...cos need to use KY gel/lubricant, then must be careful not to infect the area at the same time?

maybe ur baby head is down liaoz that's why u feel the pressure below, not very sure how soon we should be feeling BH though, did u check with ur doc ? my doc did ask me during last visit if am feeling anything, i asked him if i should be feeling anything at 33wk, he say it depends.(*wonder what he mean by that)

Maybe some mommies here can advice?

hmmm, i get discharge all the time even before preggie. sometimes can be quite smelly. dunno if it's because i wear the same panty liner the whole day, coz' it only smells bad in the afternoon or evening. yakult and yoghurt doesn't seem to help much.

valnsw
i did ask my gynae if he was sure i dun need to bring anything else for bb in my hospital bag..he kept saying 'no need'..just bring one set of clothes to bring bb home...he say mittens and booties all provided for by hospital..even receiving blanket...im delivering at Mt E...any 2nd time mummies with birth experience in Mt E?

i just had a dream last night that my bb was born ..like 2-3 weeks earlier than my EDD...dunno if im paranoid or what..but i have been feeling worried for a while..wonder if its depression ....like what was mentioned in the papers today (mind your body section)...depression during pregnancy..i keep thinking if i can look after bb well...whether me and hubby can adjust well to having a new addition..and wonder if i can tolerate the confinement period..when i can get back into shape...etc...
my sis was just telling me last nite the confinement period was the toughest for her...feeling hot all the time...sweating..body so sore and flabby..she said that was the most depressing period in her life...sigh...sounds so scary..

good morning ladies

heheh, am glad to be back too.. Let me find time to take pix & upload here, the loot I got. Bt I didn't get as many I thought I wld have *ooops*

Megan

Agree, things have gone up in prices by quite a fair bit.. Bt the slighty weaker pounds may help cushion the rise a little. I wanted to get an LV bag sometime bag, and I realised tt it was cheaper to get in London than in France..

ValVal

Hmm, about the maternity pads.. If we dun use the ones tt the hospital provides, coz we brought our own, can we turn down their offer?

YLN, diff hosp provide diff things. for mt a, they do provide bb clothes together with the bb hamper, but some parents may want to dress bb in "nicer" clothes. they said to bring own mittens and booties also. i think u'll be packing more of your own stuff than bb's, coz' u'll need clothes, footwear, pads, toiletries, etc.

i dun think u're getting pregnancy depression. quite common to feel apprehensive and have strange dreams during pregnancy. all part and parcel of the fear of being a new mom. i had my strange dreams early...during 2nd trimester, i think. i actually plan to bathe during confinement but will get the confinement shampoo and body wash instead. cannot tahan not bathing or washing hair!

cindy,
I checked with my hospital, they said to bring 5-6 sets of bb tops. I guess I will have to bring the swaddle blanket too.

faeriekim,
Welcome back! Hope you had a gd trip with your hubby ;)

hisstory,
so what did you get from Bangkok? Any gd buys?

YLN,
Best to check with your hospital directly if need to bring anything for bb. Maybe your doc may have forgotten too.

cocomo,
I have not decided on Chinese name yet. Hubby wanted to go to those shifu to come up with name but I told him actually we can come up with one by ourselves.

krex,
I agree with you that yoghurt or yakult doesn't really help. I think it's good to change panti-liner twice a day. Perhaps you can bring one pack of panti-liners to your office and then after lunch, you can change into a fresh one.

interrace,
I got BH contractions as early as wk 16. But that was like maybe twice and then no more. As the pregnancy progresses, I started to have more and frequent BH contractions.
Like you, I also feel the pressure on my pelvic area, especially when I lie on my back or after walking for long distances. Could be the baby's weight/pressure on the pelvic area.
Feeling my bones are so crickety now.

Krex
ya...my gynae said the same thing...he said to pack more for myself than for bb..cuz hospital will provide everything for bb...as for me..he said i need to pack like i going away..hee..

i think i will also bath and wash my hair during confinement...the weather so hot nowadays..if dun bath...like very dirty ...somemore breastfeeding the bb must be more clean also...heehee...air con is also a must man...

derpession
i hope its not depression also lor...cuz cannot help thinking negatively sometimes..so a bit worried if this will persist on...but i will try to talk to hubby abt it when im really moody...sometimes having a male's objective opinions works to allay worries and fears..

valnsw
i also having problem with coming up with chinese name...cuz if we dun get the names ready..we will need to go to ICA to register the birth of our bb...the hospitals all have a counter for us to register immediately after birth...so now im having second thoughts about going to a shifu to get a chinese name cuz so mah fan to go down to ICA on a separate day to register...may have to buy a book on chinese names soon and find a suitable one on our own..
did u get a book specially for chinese names?

Dreams:
I usually get a dream where i see that I am in labour and pushing my baby and at the end baby is born normally. At time i tend to push in sleep while seeing the dream. Sounds crazy but its true. Getting all worked up about labour. In a way scared too. i pray i have a normal delivery.

Good Morning Mummies : )

Regarding bb clothes:-
Its best to bring some bb clothes to change, cos esp for those mummies delivering at east shore, cfm they dun provide bb clothes. And also remember to bring a swaddler/receiving blanket so that when bring bb home can wrap the bb.

YLN
Yeah I agree with you abt bathing also.. hee. I breast-fed the first time and my mum freaked out when she found out that I bathed and even wash my hair lor... : p But must keep clean mah. Then in the end, she quickly go and buy dry shampoo for me and ask me to use that at least for first 2 weeks cos she scared later I "tao hong"...I didnt like the dry shampoo but bo pian so use it else she nag i more cannot tahan...

YLN,
That's the problem. I also don't like the hassle of having to consult the shifu and wait a few days to get the chinese name then register separately at ICA.
Nope, didn't get any book on Chinese names. Just think of what virtues/qualities we want our bb to have and then just choose the characters that have that meaning. Til now, also have not decided on the Chinese name too.

Re: dreams
I had weird dream last night too, though not v graphic. I dreamt that I gave birth to bb but she was so tiny!! Then I heard her crying and I woke up to find her sucking on a pacifier. So I let her latch but then instead of suckling properly in the correct direction, she was facing outward! Then latch her to my right side instead but no milk came out.
End up later she went back to suckling on the pacifier but then end up she was doing it so furiously til it was so noisy.

Super weird dream.