(2008/08) Aug 2008

RTCP,
We've decided to call baby Bernice. But I'm trying to convince hubby to put a middle name also, but he say too long. hahaha. I was thinking of Bernice Corrine Tan. So got part of my name and hubby name.

Celyn,
i think dont need to bother u for the voucher cos hubby say he will settle the stickers
Thanks anyways.

i'm waiting for my rooms to be painted before i re-arrange my furniture. luckily, bb's room is an existing gym, so just need to shift one cross trainer to the study room. i already sold off my gym bench <sob>.

by july, the room should more or less be ready. that's when i will start washing the clothes and all also. right now, i'm just chucking all of bb's recent purchases in a vacated wardrobe.

little twin stars,
will start washing all the things in july but setting up of cot and drawers cupboard will be when baby is back loh. don't know since when he become so pantang. i also can't take it leh, baby's room is full of things lying around on the floor.

krex78,
i never thought of where to bathe baby. thinking of doing it in the toilet with bath tub only. why is it recommended to bathe baby outside toilet?

krex,
i went out to buy shoe racks and bags cabinet to store all my things since i;m shifting those things out of my spare room to make way for the maid. then it must be nice n presentable to match my furniture yet be big enough for storage etc. then my baby;'s bed has yet to arrive as i have not clear the baby's room lei, so everything is on the floor occupying 2 rooms

i also wanna do up my place but i'm barred from it till i give birth so wait lor

twin star,
yup, my gynae nurse told me to bring marriage cert + IC, she will attach my blood test results + gynae letter &amp; ask us to go to the hospital admission counter to the pre-admission...

re: wash of baby's clothes
at my antenatal class, Mrs Wong BB say must use baby laundry detergent to wash baby's clothes, she mentioned that it's not necessary to use softener...

re: painting
if you pantang then dont paint till after delivery...

celynlee,
my HB pantang so cannot set up baby cot &amp; move her drawers upstairs... my basement is almost full now... i actually asked my HB after washing baby's clothes then put where, he say put on the masterbedroom sofa wor...

Re: HB Staying in Hosp.
read all your views on hb staying in the hospital..my hb nd me have been thinking abt this and not able to decide..since i'm carrying twins and all chances of preterm labour, v r really concerned if the babies may need incubators(God Forbid)....i think KK quite expensive if I take the 1 bed room..but i really wish my hb could stay with me..

valnsw:
thanks thanks... heard from my ex coll that the other confinement caterer doesn't provide food up to mark. headache. so many things to consider.

re: maternity package
anyone signed up bloom package? or with other photographer? i did that at the fair with studio loft. hope it would not be disappointing. hee.

dongle,
so fast do pre admission? i also want lei. i ask gynae;s nurse the last visit, they say no need cos i;m not doing c sect so how to confirm admission date.
y cannot set up bb's room? it;s not like we r doing it before we are preg, that one i heard b4. but at our stage still cannot set up, i never hear b4 lei. but at the rate i am going. sigh

Catherine,
U signed up for studio loft right? is it @ 180 with 18R and a few 4Rs or sth like that right? but isnt tt too few pics n then we'll end up spending alot more buying the pics?
Abt eating too much, yea i know i shdnt b eating too much..n i know its not really for 2 as in eating for TWO. But i cant help it leh, think cos in the first place i have quite a huge appettite, then come preg, use it as an excuse to eat..

lil twin star,
at least now i feel more relieved that the bb is putting on weight, and not all the wgt only going to me, hee

joanne,
ehh .. actually I also dono how much it cost me. I just made an appointment date for mid July. hahaha. So terrible right .. hahaa. Now I need to think what to wear and where to get ..

catherine,
u mean u nv even ask how much and what it includes ah? i cant decide shd do w studio loft or with David frm foto-u leh..

joanne,
actually cos I quite like their stuff. So just make an appointment 1st lo. So far I think her works most impress me. Anyway the price I think will be fixed anyways. As for David I like his children works more.

just want to let you know Gap is having sale. Their baby items (selected items but almost everything) going for 30-50%. And UOB card members get an additional 10% off. Just bought a few stuff there last weekend

Joanne,
Good to hear dat ur bb is eating well!

u were still so worried the last time..

Valnsw,
actually i haf the 1st one but it's leather.
Find dat it cannot put alot of tings..the most a palm size wallet and a hp. tissue papers hafto squeeze in.
it's better to go see/feel the real ting.

twin star,
i was told to do the pre admission 1st but still doesn't guarantee that i can get a 1 bedder... that time i was admitted earlier, i stayed at the labour ward &amp; waited 24 hours to get a room... even then, only managed to get a 2 bedder, was transferred to a 1 bedder 2 days later... 2nd admission also same thing, couldn't get any 1 bedder &amp; stayed at 2 bedder throughout... duno whether isit GlenE give priority to mummies who just gave birth... hopefully not so crowded when it's my turn to deliver... maybe yours at Mt A is differnt?

my HB is pantang about shifting bed cos the 1st time i was admitted, there was this woman who came to my house to demo on their vacuum cleaner &amp; she flipped my mattress in front of me... the 2nd time i was admitted, my HB went to take the baby cot from my SIL, this time round, i din even witness it cos my HB loaded the cot into my basement where i was sitted in the living room &amp; i still kena... so my HB forbid any moving of bed related stuffs... maybe it's just me

reirei,
you mean have to squeeze tissue papers?! aiyo.. But I thought from the dimensions, the bag is quite ok, as in can put wallet, hp, 2 tubes of lipstick and some keys?

dongle: It is best not to move the bed... Flipping i am not sure but maybe if wanna do also nobody else but ur hubby do it.

I only get my part-time maid to change the bedsheet for me, she only left up the coners of the mattress as its very very heavy (20kg!) for me n hubby is not at home.

celyn,
ehh .. the website is http://www.mytotsroom.com/ This you put one extra O there :p but thanks for the site. Will show hubby.

dongle,
Ya I just remembered abt ur shifting bed case. Think I better cancel the appointment with this cleaner who is suppose to come and demo the steam clear for the mattress.

mousse,
things to bring to kk for admission are as follows:
1. inpatient admission authorization form
2. ic
3. appointment booklet/card
4. 1 set of clean clothes &amp; under clothing
5. 1 set of baby vest and blanket
6. 1 pair of baby booties and mittens
7. toiletries

if you want to do birth registration for baby at kk before you discharge or within 14 days from date of delivery, must bring:
1. ic (couple)
2. original marriage cert
3. live birth notification form
4. a letter of authorization from parents of child if someone else registers the birth.

Valnsw,
erm..mayb can try to squeeze lah but it'll be v crammed lor.
i like bags which r abit more roomy so can put other junks in :p

Jasmine,

I am thinking of getting bumwear too. So sharing a package will be a good idea. I tried to PM you but you are not accepting PM. Let me know how do I contact you ? Maybe we can go to the store together to get them. I am thinking of either Thursday or Friday this week if you are free.

jasmine/babywise,
I'm interested in the bumwear too but more the freefolds. Anyone getting that ?

Valnsw,
Like reirei, I also like roomy bags. Small bags like never can put anything.. Unless just credit card and lipstick .. but those are for partying days .. ahhaha..

Valnsw,
I've not seen the 2nd one before but i like the weave strap.
then again, imagine u carry it on ur shoulder and wanna zip open the bag, i tink u will struggle a bit cos the bag will not stay up straight..u know wat i mean?
Like wat Catherine says..it depends on wat u wanna use it for lor.
ah i know..i try putting in my wallet &amp; stuff and u see how the inside is like?
wait i pm u..

reirei,
I know what you mean by have to struggle abit as the bag will not stay up straight.

That's the thing about bulkier bags. If I dump everything inside, I have to "struggle" to find the items. Cos they will be all over the place.

Paiseh, make you go stuff your things into the bag to test how it is.

Catherine,
haha I like the way u put it, for those partying days. Seems like so long ago. Now heavily pregnant and cannot go out party anymore.
Just now after my dinner, my tummy felt like a bowling ball!

weight gains:
aiyo.. moi gynae told me 2 gain 20kg when he knew i was pregnant n i thot.. huh? so much? but i tink i greedy pig... gained like 14.5kg of weight le.. at 32 weeks.. alot hor? tat's y feeling so tired easily..

1-bedded or? :
i opted for 4-bedded in Mt A cos incase anithing happens n bills add up 2 too high.. i thot tat was de safest choice.. but then again, can upgrade upon admission mah..

pre-admission regn:
i quite ks, did tat like in my 28 weeks.. but then unless bingo on actual day else no guarantee of beds oso lah..

setting up bed:
talking abt setting up the bed.. moi parents n old man veri pantang.. they says onli can set up on actual day.. dden i scared cos if 2 last min.. i will ka-la-ka-bo one... haiz..

full-mth:
mummi says if got do catering den no nid buy de cakes 4 distribution.. so i guess tat's the most budget bah.. but she says nid 2 bring bb home on tat day.. she says it's tradition.. u all heard abt it???

reirei,
thanks for the detailed photos!
Got your email.

Ok la, in the end, still looks quite alright, think I can put my wallet, tissue paper, staff pass, some keys and 1 tube of lipstick... hehe I think I will see what I can put inside first.

Krex: I will be using Kodomo baby detergent to wash bb clothes, cos bb's skin is very sensitive so will wash separate as well. As for softener, I don't see a need now.

Setting up of furniture:
My MIL also pantang &amp; my DH says will set up the wardrobe after I give birth but my fren say can ask DH to set up while I go out of the house.

val

Prob coz of ur low BMI, u're putting on wt more quickly now.. Nvm k? Bb's def going to do well

I like the version with the flap better, but the other's weaved strap is very nice too.. Have seen someone with the white trimmings for the one with the flap, very nice!! But it wld be gd to go down to the boutique to seesee looklook, get a better idea which u prefer.

dongle

All the best with your new maid..

catherine

Agree, cannot have insufficient salt intake also.. I think tt's for prevention of leg cramps

star_xin,
wah 20kg ??? u got ask the gynae how to lose or not :p maybe is it cos you're very petite in size ?

krex,
i read best not to use softner for baby clothes cos their skin is very delicate.

re:full mth
I asked my MIL yesterday when i go take my bak chang, she say dont need to give cakes to her side. Only just give immediate meaning her, hubby bro and sis. So she only need like 3 boxes. hahaha. I think they all super easy to please.

hee... kua-zhang hor.. i tink i nt veri petite in size lei.. but i oways tinking.. wow.. gain 20kg but baby onli abt 3kg cun be water so much, rite? quite scared man.. cos mummi become at least twice her size after she gave birth 2 me.. no doubt tat's 28/9 years ago.. but still the thot is still quite scary...

star_xin,
baby eg 3kg. Then got placenta weight. Got water weight and increase in ur blood weight, breast fat weight etc .. hahaha ... My gf she put on 16kg that time, but after she deduct off everything she say she only put on 2 kg but of cos took her also like 2 years to lose the weight .. hhaha ...

Hi AnnabelleMummy,
Change your maid. My ex-maid contract was due in April and she wanted to go canada, she had her first interview and final result she did not make it. She beg, cry, etc to ask us to renew her so she can go in 6 months' time if she passes another interview which is Aug when I am due.

I asked her to delay her going to Canada and at least till my baby is 6 months old but she did not want to. I cannot sabo myself and try to help her, pity her.

Hubby oso same. Say she so good so good. Love our son so much (2+), etc and lazy to get a new one. Say can trust her, she can do the job and most imptly, love my son. In the end, i told her if she only wants to stay for 6 months, then I have to let her go. She quickly found a new ANG MO employer and then left within 2 weeks instead of the initial agreed 1 month - left me stranded and I could not find a new maid in time.

They can give all the excuses to beg us to help them but they may not help u in return. Her work slagged so much and despite me warning her to buck up so we can consider renewing her. She will ask for adv pay, talk on phone for 4 hours a day, ask for off the day before she wants to go and refuses to change date, etc.

Just before she left, her new employer requested she stay with us for 2 more days over the weekend so as to allow her old maid to go for interview but my ex-maid did not want to stay. Cos she was getting her day off on Sunday once she goes to her new employer on Saturday. I was so mad cos she cried, beg us and say how much she loves to work with us, how nice we are but yet, she cannot stay with us 2 more days.

After she left, the other maids in my neighbourhood started telling me how BAD my ex-maid was. How she always take advantage of us and she did alot of bad things - just that we did not know.

Anyway, the point is, do whatever is comfortable to you and not cause yourself to be "blackmailed". I considered alot of things too and even wan to renew her despite me being vv pissed with her working attitude and handling my son - cos hubby dun wan to change and oso she seems so poor thing.

We can be nice but dun let them take us as fools - haha, that's what my FIL told me. Anyway, after she left, she smsed us to say she is not happy with her new employer and would not have left us, etc. I told my hubby that I'd rather suffer without a maid than have her back.

I did suffer ... haha. Anyway, I managed to get another transfer maid who is vv good! She is much better than my ex-maid (Perhaps my ex-maid is so bad that my standard has become so low).

Finding a suitable new maid is not easy. I took more than 1 month, going for various interviews, etc. I was lucky but I am sure there are still some reasonable maids around.

My house is now sparkling clean and new maid really spend time playing with my son. She wun complain my son is heavy. She wun leave my son alone when she is at the playground with him. She wun be too busy with her hp than paying attention to my son and doing the housework properly. She will wake up at nite to see if my son is ok when he fusses at nite.

New maids are by luck - good or not. Old maids u know that they are already no good, want to bargain, they have lots of tricks up their sleeves. New maids at least be on their toes for a while.

I try to please everybody but in the end who suffers? I will. Who utilises the maid most?Me! Not the husband, not the MIL, not the FIL ... so let us make the best decision for ourselves and live with the consequences.

Just my 2 cents worth.

I guess I seldom pop in cos busy with so many things .... will try to pop in more.

I just went for a checkup and my bb now is about 1.3kg ..... for me, I had lost 2 kg initially and gained 6 kg ... so effectively gained 5 kg? Or can say it's 7 kg?

Anyway, my tummy is really big ... 40 inch already. Alot of people asking me if I am delivering soon but I still have a long way to go. EDD is 26 Aug but planning to go for C-section on the 18 August.

Other than that, all's well with this mommy and Mickey here. Mickey kicks alot and tummy feels stretched. Can see him moving and stretching quite abit.

Currently down with cough and flu - hence the time to check this forum ... hehe.

Take care and hope to post more!

I mean to say I lost 2 kg initially and now has gained another 7 kg ... so I had gained 5kg? or can say it's 7 kg?

hi shint,
I share your sentiments abt the maid. Nvr allow yourself to be blackmailed. Cos no maid is indispensible. It's just now much inconvenience only. Glad you found a better maid.

Catherine,
Cool... do let us know how the maternity makeover goes. I am going to take mine on 19 July and I guess that's only 1 week after yours? Am impressed by her works too but hubby said "eh, i don't see how this lady photographer might make you look any more relaxed than the others.." keke.... hope to get some really good shots.

Joanne:
I think David from photo-u is not taking anymore packages at the moment cuz he wants to concentrate on creative works. like catherine, i prefer his children's works than maternity work. up to individual preference ba!

babywise and catherine,
do you think we can get even BIGGER bulk discount and free prefolds, etc if we go and share a big bundle together sometime end of this week? been trying so hard to fight back buying all the cute cute bumwear but really worried they end up like white elephants at home..haha.. see how paranoid mums-to-be can be over their tiny ones even before they are born!

bb detergent:
i bought pigeon powder detergent, but heard it will make clothes stiff. scared to use liquid detergent coz' it always gives me problems with my washing machine. i use the front loader ones so best to use powder detergent low sud forumula. detergents like dynamo will spoil the machine. anyway, for bb's clothes, i'm using the scense egg washer, but i will still stick to powder detergent just to play safe.

bathing bb:
nurse at class said best not to bathe bb in bathroom coz' floor may be slippery and if you're using stool to bend down and wash, may hurt your back. easier to do it standing up and place the bath tub on an elevated surface. anw, if can't find any good solution, might end up doing in toilet also lah. see how my CL does it then learn lor.

hospital tour:
anyone went for mt a hospital tour? can choose your own timing or must follow a fixed timing? thinking of going this sat, then at the same time drop off my pre-reg form. hubby deciding between single and suite. not sure if we take single room, will hubby have bed to sleep on, or he just sleeps on the couch and hospital provides pillow and blanket? also, for the $80 surcharge, i suppose they will provide meals?

catherine
re washing of bb's stuff

my EDD is 1 aug..so, i better wash my stuff earlier...might pop earlier...dun wan to ka la ka bo mah..plus over the next 1-2 weeks will make sure i buy all the stuff so once late june and early july comes, i will be all ready...i also want to spend more time with hubby..and dun want to keep thinking what else haven;t buy and do...will try to spend more time with hubby since after delivery ..will prob have less time with him liao..
..heehee..now got some privacy...must go 'pak tall' abit

Halo MTBs!
Went for my gynae’s checkup yday and bb is 2.08kg at 32w2d…
Next checkup is 3 weeks time…oso good lah coz can save $...heehee

Rata,
Can help to update when you are free? Thanks again!

Valnsw,
Yup, my #2 is a Minnie too…btw, the Kungfu Panda show is really nice and my gal enjoyed it so much!

Massage ladies – yup, they are all Malays.

Coach bag – I prefer brown for both but the 1st one seem abit small?

Enrichment classes – I sent my 1st gal to GUG classes when she reached 1yo and after 3 terms, she started her cc at 18mths…only enrolled her for piano classes at 2yo+ and now at 4yo, she started her English and mandarin classes…I believe in exposing the kids at a young age but I think paid classes can start when they are 1yo though…thatz my opinion lah…

Snow,
I’m always ready when you wana organize any sprees again…heehee, just let me know. :p

Hospital registration – My gynae never mentioned anything to me yet so I just wait and see whether he mention next appt or not…

Any1 here interested in buying the fridge-to-go?

It's a insulated bag for storing breastmilk after w pump it out in the office so tat the milk can last (10 to 12hrs) till we reach home.

I got it at the expo bb fair yest at a bundle set, comes with a extra small bag for storing 1 milk bottle (can last 4 to 5hrs)

I got the set og the big bag + small bag at $60. Tang selling $54 for the big bag &amp; $18 for the small bag.

Selling coz my sis going to pass me her old 1 coz she is weaning her gal soon.

Interested, pls email me :