Hi AnnabelleMummy,
Change your maid. My ex-maid contract was due in April and she wanted to go canada, she had her first interview and final result she did not make it. She beg, cry, etc to ask us to renew her so she can go in 6 months' time if she passes another interview which is Aug when I am due.
I asked her to delay her going to Canada and at least till my baby is 6 months old but she did not want to. I cannot sabo myself and try to help her, pity her.
Hubby oso same. Say she so good so good. Love our son so much (2+), etc and lazy to get a new one. Say can trust her, she can do the job and most imptly, love my son. In the end, i told her if she only wants to stay for 6 months, then I have to let her go. She quickly found a new ANG MO employer and then left within 2 weeks instead of the initial agreed 1 month - left me stranded and I could not find a new maid in time.
They can give all the excuses to beg us to help them but they may not help u in return. Her work slagged so much and despite me warning her to buck up so we can consider renewing her. She will ask for adv pay, talk on phone for 4 hours a day, ask for off the day before she wants to go and refuses to change date, etc.
Just before she left, her new employer requested she stay with us for 2 more days over the weekend so as to allow her old maid to go for interview but my ex-maid did not want to stay. Cos she was getting her day off on Sunday once she goes to her new employer on Saturday. I was so mad cos she cried, beg us and say how much she loves to work with us, how nice we are but yet, she cannot stay with us 2 more days.
After she left, the other maids in my neighbourhood started telling me how BAD my ex-maid was. How she always take advantage of us and she did alot of bad things - just that we did not know.
Anyway, the point is, do whatever is comfortable to you and not cause yourself to be "blackmailed". I considered alot of things too and even wan to renew her despite me being vv pissed with her working attitude and handling my son - cos hubby dun wan to change and oso she seems so poor thing.
We can be nice but dun let them take us as fools - haha, that's what my FIL told me. Anyway, after she left, she smsed us to say she is not happy with her new employer and would not have left us, etc. I told my hubby that I'd rather suffer without a maid than have her back.
I did suffer ... haha. Anyway, I managed to get another transfer maid who is vv good! She is much better than my ex-maid (Perhaps my ex-maid is so bad that my standard has become so low).
Finding a suitable new maid is not easy. I took more than 1 month, going for various interviews, etc. I was lucky but I am sure there are still some reasonable maids around.
My house is now sparkling clean and new maid really spend time playing with my son. She wun complain my son is heavy. She wun leave my son alone when she is at the playground with him. She wun be too busy with her hp than paying attention to my son and doing the housework properly. She will wake up at nite to see if my son is ok when he fusses at nite.
New maids are by luck - good or not. Old maids u know that they are already no good, want to bargain, they have lots of tricks up their sleeves. New maids at least be on their toes for a while.
I try to please everybody but in the end who suffers? I will. Who utilises the maid most?Me! Not the husband, not the MIL, not the FIL ... so let us make the best decision for ourselves and live with the consequences.
Just my 2 cents worth.