(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN,
I just showed hubby the clothes I bought for bb and he just said ooh.. v cute and that's it. haha. Think men not many comments.
Ya, like you I also worried that bb will outgrow v fast cos all seem so tiny to me. I ever dreamt that bb outgrew her clothes.

snow,
I'm thinking of checking out this I Can Read program which M2B recommended, cos I was v impressed with her daughter who could read off the Coffee Club menu "I love the taste of coffee" for a 4-yr old. I called up just now but the Simei branch not open yet. Want to check the entry age.

Yup, I think generally most childcare centres start at 1.5yrs old.

Pre-registration: oh you mean there's such a procedure? Maybe I can check out with the gynae or the hospital.

medusa,
your gynae's Dr Heng too right? Cos I remember you and I have the same gynae.

At the beginning, in my 1st trimester, I didn't lose nor gain any weight. At wk 12 check-up, I asked Dr Heng, how much ideally I should gain. She said I'll be lucky if I can gain 10kg. Then I started to gain weight in 2nd trimester but all reasonable weight gain.

Now in the last 5 wks, I suddenly gained 4kg! madness. The nurse who kinda knows me, said gd lo, I got improvement. Dr Heng said ok la, I can afford to put on more cos I was light to begin with. Now to date, I've gained 11.7kg from pre-preg already! Sigh... I better control my diet so that I don't hit above 15kg.

YLN, tired, but lots of work to do, so no choice. so the fair was similar to the one in march?

val, i feel so guilty. didn't buy anything for bb although we saw some nice koala booties when we went to blue mountains souvenir shop. also saw a nice stuff toy kangaroo with bb kangroo in the pouch, but hubby say don't want to buy. so in end, nothing for bb :p

Val
Yes, I forgot! Yeah Dr Heng also...cos my first one I gained 11kg till birth then I think this time she also tell me dun put on so much.. But I also never eat alot leh.. I think hor its all my junk food... this pregnancy i eat A LOT of chocs and potato chips... jialat. I also booked for 1 bedder this time cos the last time I took 2 bedder and guess what the mummy next to me had a birthday celebration for her older son lor! can die man... and the ward had like 20 ppl!!
So this time I tell myself not to take any chances. If you lucky you get good neighbours.. else damn cham..

joanne/YLN,
I think I even more extreme leh. You wouldn't believe it, but snow and the rest who turned up to get their spree purchases, saw that I bought a bikini from the spree for my bb.

I thought of letting bb play with water in swimming pool once 6mths old, so bought one bikini for her.
AND YES, the bikini is pink too! though not entirely pink.

haha, wana take photo of bb in it. Hope bb won't whack mommy next time for letting her wear such revealing clothes. keke

joanne,
r baby is big wo, so guess u don;t have to worry about yr baby's weight already

snow,
yr mom might wanna chiong to some last min holiday just before u give birth in case she needs to help u after u deliver.
u might wanna check of yr gynae already did a pre-reg for u. mine did w/o telling me

motherhood fair:

i managed to do some shopping in a whopping 15 mins that i was there
(hubby's too impatient to go thru the booths n keep nagging for me to go off!)
my loots:

1) mishka and maven's cot bumper n bedding set ( finally they carry them now so i don;t have to customize it )

2) mishka nad maven's doorknobs for the drawer baby bed

3)pampers newborn: 1 pack
pampers S size : 1 pack
( my hubby managed to get them to give us the elephant plush toy although we did not buy 8 packs )

4) sweetest moments cutlery set ( think i got the same one as msapple) that comes with a voucher to offset it when u order full mth package from them. tried their cupcakes, non bad )

i wanted to look around but my hubby was chasing me to leave for dinner. sign, speed shopping

medusa,
Ya, I think it's the junk food la. I've been eating ice-cream, fries too. I think this bb loves potato wedges/fries. Was craving for potato wedges but somehow don't really have fastfood that sells wedges. Think she takes after her daddy in this aspect, cos I personally never liked fries or wedges.

Now that I know I gained so much, I better control. Shuckz..

Yup, I alrdy told Dr Heng's assistant that I want to book the one-bedded, cos bb can bunk in with me too. I also saw how crowded and noisy it was for 4-bedded when I was at the hospital tour.

little twin stars
ya..my hubby also got no patience one...hurry me to go and buy things and hurry me out...i had actually wanted to browse a little longer...but he hates the crowd..sigh..so have to chop chop buy..
but u not bad ar...still managed to grab quite a few things ..

Medusa15 (medusa15) ,
I also only send my girl to gym class only as I want her to enjoy first. As for class, I am still looking for a good childcare to start her next yr. Very headache cos very good cc locate so far away.
I gain total 6kg and I am in my 31week. Baby thinks still abt 1plus kg.

M2B,
Really peifu u as u seem to have energy for all fair and bought a lot of things everytime u go. .

U gals have to pay first during pre-register? Is it done at clinc or hospital itself?
My first birth was in KKH, this time round in private so not sure pte and gvt the same practise?

Hi Rat,
when you are free, help me update, 30 weeks =1.429kg.

Dunno why but my gynae says baby is big?? When i compare to the rest, seems quite normal leh...also, based on wt, the EDD brot forward to 28 July so was quite surprised. But anyways, we shall see when my minnie wants to come out!!

Weight gain. At thirty weeks, i gained 7 kg. Am trying to keep it to below 10.....but i know last minute sure spike....I guess it depends. If you are skinny, you shd gain more than recommended 10-12 kg, and if you are overwt, then you shd try to gain less than the recommended wt gain.

One bedder
For my first one, I opted for a one-bedder so my hb can bunk it. Gleneagles charged me $75 just so my HB can bunk in but guess what? All they provided was a pillow and a blanket and he still sleep on couch. I tot they will set up a roll-away bed....but the good thing was I got upgraded to a premium suite (or something like that).

Eating habits

Feel very bad for my number 2 cos I eat all sorts of junk and not really conscious of my diet as I was the first time round....first pregnancy, i didnt even consume coffee or tea and now, i drink one to two daily!!

was thinking if any of you have come up with names for your darlings? My HB and I struggling so am looking for ideas....

snow

Tt's right, must keep urself in positive spirits k? BB knows when u're upset *hugs*
I wonder if my hospital has such a system.. But I must say, it's a gd method, coz both daddy & mummy can focus on what's more impt than the admin matters

val

Was ur BMI in pre-preggie days below 18.5? If so, then the wt gain is expected to be more.. Better for u & bb

RTCP

Got a Christian name for our Princess, but not the Chinese one though.. Struggling with the latter

celyn,
wah you results very good lei. mine up and down. sometimes will fail one :p

snow74,
i think for shichida, you need to give it sometime to see results. And to me, this flashcard is not about interest, but it's a form of brain stimulation

YLN,
yr hubby n mine can shake hands man! haha. i'm s professional shopper before i quit to stay home, tt's y i can be very fast in shopping

lunch at paragon:
i just noticed that all the mummies that went r expecting minnies
(M2b, yr no. 2 is a minnie or mickey? ) if mickey means he;s the only thorn among the roses,hehe . if minnie means. we were having a "woman";s conference that day

Skin:

I was wondering if any of you are getting moles, warts and pigmentation on skin esp the face. If yes, then do these fade away after baby's birth?

Thanks All!

Val
Yeah lor.. the same reason why I wanted a one bedder this time cos I thot can have more privacy with hubby and my #1.. As for junk food, I can totally understand man! We can shake hands liao.. hehe : ))

Avocado
I also thinking dunno whether to send my boy to childcare cos actually I recently got a domestic helper to cope with arrival of #2. Then I am thinking dunno if I shd send my boy to childcare or shd I leave my maid to take care of him as well... *headache* my concern is that if he stay at home everyday then maybe for development not that good leh....

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone intending to sign up for Cordlife but have not done so?

I have a $150 Cordlife gift voucher to give away. You can use it to offset the enrolment fees.

There is a further discount of $50 off the enrolment fees if you quote me as your referer. Please PM me if you are keen to have the voucher and further details. Thanks.

Little Twin stars,
You went to Motherhood fair on weekend isit? I was there on Sat just to grab the Pureen bathing things then go. There were just so many people that I also don't want to stay too long.

Ya, I think it was an all-women conference that day for lunch, cos I remembered M2B said her #2 is also minnie.

hisstory,
ya, my BMI was below 18 but then I guess it's cos I'm tall plus got light bones. I don't look the skinny sort, at least I hope. I just hope bb will absorb all the gd nutrients from me.

RTCP,
I also have headache giving name to bb. Hubby and I still cannot agree on the names. He's now keen on Christy after Christy Chung but I don't like it! Chinese name, I think easier to settle.

medusa,
ya now must eat healthier food, better stay away from all the sinful food.
I think you should let your boy go to childcare maybe for half-day, then 2nd half your maid can look after. Else when your #2 comes, you and your maid may not have the time to take care of your boy the whole day.

re: GD
"jiayou" to those MTBs who need to control their diet... at most 2 more months to go...

re: pre-registration for hospital stay
i did my registration at my wk 32 as gynae say i might deliver earlier... was told to bring along a copy of our marriage certificate & IC etc... chose a 1 bedder so that HB can stay with me & more privacy too...

re: weight gain
i gained 7kg in 32 weeks & baby's weight is 1.819kg, gynae say bb's weight is good considering my small frame...

re: motherhood fair
bought mostly diapers, got Huggies Ultra, Pampers Dry, EQ Dry, Drypers & Softlove... got free gifts like Frisomum milk, motherhood magazine, mothercare rompers, diaper samples, wet wipes etc...

re: maid
my new maid coming today... hopefully she turn out to be good... will ask her to start washing baby stuffs this week...

dongle
good luck with your maid

my maid had a 'mini gathering' with my sis's maid on sun...n i asked my sis's maid (since both from Myanmar) to ask how my maid feel...
actually, i think i kinda misunderstood my maid...:p
in fact, she found that there was very little house chores to do at my place and even lesser things to do at my ILs place..so she vey bored and misses home very badly...she would rather have many many things to do to preoccupy herself so she won't miss her family much..but my place now also nothing to do one....no need cook cuz IL cook..IL place...MIL will HOG all the housework and said maid dunno how to do this and that..and would rather she do herself...so i quite pity my maid lor..plus..i just realised she has been forcing herself to eat all the food we give her!...n to think i thought she was eating too much!..:p...feeling a bit guilty liao..she actually eat very little one..just that she dun want to waste food..she she keep forcing herself to eat!..
i think the lesson i learnt here is not to be too judgemental ..sigh...better learn to understand my maid a bit more first before i form an impression of her....but i still dun quite agree with some of her bad habits...so that part, must slowly teach her lor..i remember yesterday we were in the car, then she conveniently put her feet on (cross legged) on the car seat!..ah yo...no manners leh...so my hubby told her cannot like dat...i think she see me doing it, so she thought she also can...:p...

valnsw,
yup, was there on sat night. the crowd was not that bad lei, to me, it;s not crowded. i wanted to go to the pureen booth but my hubby nag until i got no mood to walk liao

maid:
seems like all the maids are coming in liao
mine will be home with me on sun. i'm getting my part time maid to train my new maid for 3 wks to get her familiar with my hse as i can forsee a diff time training the new one as she is "fresh from kampong"
dongle, all the best too, keep us posted

dongle,
need to bring marriage cert etc? that means mine is just tentative booking? i better ask my gynae this wk. u bot so many brands of diapers? i was in such a hurry, i didn;t even get any freebies

Val,
Yah, my HB also coming out with all sorts of funny names. This morning he tell me, what abt "Venice" and i was like "HUH??" and then he said "Vaness" and I said "Vaness Wu is from F4 and is a guy" and our conversation ended there....panic button!!

re: Bumwear Diapers - Anyone keen to share the package?

Hi all.. been a lazy poster for the past few months. My bb girl is due in mid aug and like many of you, I have started my uncontrollable crazy shopping for the past few weeks. Don't dare to start calculating the amount I have spent on bb or mummy items, keke. Anyone visited the MH exhibition and looked at the Bumwear diapers? They are so so so so attractive and I wonder if anyone of you are currently using or intending to buy the them? Thinking of sharing package with mtb: Package D - 12 diapers/pull-ups + 30 inserts (enjoy 12% off - usually S$534, now S$469)

Anyone keen to share with me? Their website is at http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/bw-pockets.html

know this is kind of out of topic, but just wondering if anybody can comment which Coach bag is better?

http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=10909&category_id=1567

or
http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=10906&category_id=264

I'm lemming for one of them but not sure which one is nicer. I heard the pink color ones for both are nice but I think I alrdy have one totally pink bag. The camel color is the 2nd best but the brown like v bright brown.

Another factor is the second one (the hobo) might be out of shape if I don't fill it up, i.e. it goes all lumpy.

Anybody have seen the actual bags before and can comment? TIA!

RTCP,
my hubby commented that I'm the one who came up with funny names cos he thinks too hard to pronounce. He super fussy, wants only 2 syllables so that easier to call.
I suggested Chevelle and then he said don't want, cos he said already one "Ah Val" aka me. Can you imagine?!

Maybe your hubby and mine can shake hands...

Little twin stars,
I know for admission to my hospital, will need to bring marriage cert (original) and I think the blood test results. Daddy's and Mummy's ICs needed. I guess is for the birth cert registration of bb. You will also need to bring the doctor's letter for admission, which I think I need to remember to ask the doc too in case I forget.

OH!!! Val....my HB came up with "Belle" yesterday!! I asked him "Beauty and the beast ah?"

Yah, they can shake hands man!

YLN,
I also havent start washing yet.. not too early meh ? I thot wash in July better. Now like so early.

mousse,
Mine highest is 7.8 .. that day 1st day got one 6.8 the nurse already call me :p this week visit sure kena nag by my gynae.

hisstory,
Ya i got raise my feet when sleeping but still sometimes will have water retention. Reduce salt but I read cannot have insufficient salt intake also lei. My mom say drink more peanut + chicken feet soup + che xiao dou can help deduce water retention.

bacon&egg,
thanks. actually dietician don't allow us to drink fruit juice. i go and see see look look for prune and see how then. worse come to worse, i stick to my yakult. heheh....

Valnsw,
i don;t really buy coach except their black leather range, so can;t help u on that.

names:
i must make sure my hubby can pronounce it before i can even consider it, haha

re: confinement food

anyone intending to get natal essential confinement food? any comments on the food compared to newbaby?

sigh, speaking of maids, haven't even done any homework yet. sure die one! this month, i'm getting nippon to paint all my rooms (including bb's one), and going on a few shopping trips to buy big items. wish me luck!

Valnsw,
Yes I've been to the cherie hearts to see the place and teachers. Quite good i feel. In fact you can place your child there for a trail half day program. But my godson went when he was 3 so not sure about the infant program. The other one I went to see is Baby's Inc at Tg Katong. They adopt a montesorri approach. The place also looks quite good. But I'm not so sure about leaving such a young baby there unless no choice. But the place is very clean but abit quite ex I think.

I have done some read ups on right brain development and I believe that it's true. So I'm going to give Shichida a try and of cos need to do alot of practice at home. Nothing comes free.. mummies must work hard too. So even thou they say can start at 3 mths, I intend to start at 6 mths cos I think by then baby will be able to be "awake" more in class than sleeping all the time :p

I think my hubby also will complain abt starting baby so young, but end of the day I think he will leave the decision to me.

I can Read is quite good. My niece and nephews attend their programs. My niece is 2+.

Joanne,
dont overeat. Cos u dont really need to eat for 2. Our body will know how to give what baby needs to the baby. Just eat as per normal and eat more healthy

celynlee,
ya, then it'll really be a joke !

krex,
i already did my furniture shopping, first batch arrived yesterday. clear until my legs can;t even stand properly today. i also want to pain but i need to hack some furniture first ......so that is out of the ques. be sure to tell yr painters that u are preg and they need to use non toxic odorless paint

oh yes, when washing bb's clothes, do u all use special bb powder/ detergent, and can use softener or not? must separate lights from darks right?

little twin stars / mousse / celyn,
thanks for the feedback. Hehe, I also more biased towards the first one but thinking of which color to get. hehe

krex,
can paint house ah? I think you better be out of the house before they paint else the smell will be v overpowering.

jassie,
I read somewhere that natal essentials website said no MSG but I think some mummy complained in a thread that they added MSG without informing customers. You may want to clarify on that if you are particular about MSG.

little twin stars,
although i have baby cot and storage drawers at home liao but hubby refuse to set up baby's room till i deliver. sigh...

celynlee,
when u give birth, u'll be back in 2 days lei!, still need to clean the cots n wash all bed sheets etc. i don;t think it's very realistic to set up so late wo. we have yet to clear the baby's room too, hubby's target is july, i already buay tahan

celyn, i'm using nippon odourless...the premium range, so won't really leave a smell. just that i can't really help much with moving the furniture, so will get my dad's maid and hubby to do most of the work. my walls are in bad condition now. all starting to crack due to lousy job done by contractor few yrs ago.

twin stars, what furniture did u buy? the only furniture i'll get is a cot. still deciding how to organise my change/ bath station. recommended to bathe bb outside toilet environment, so haven't figured out whether to buy a rack to put bath tub on, or maybe support it with a side table/ cabinet or something like that.