(2008/08) Aug 2008

Celyn,
If your workload is not that heavy then shd be ok to clear the balance ML when you back to work. I dun want to take the risk so I will taking 84 days in a row...yahor, transport cost is another issue if working half day...

Happycat,
Your hb gg for business trip? How old is your boy? My gal knows she is past the carrying stage but she will still ask my hb to carry at times but not me...heehee

Megan,
Can I have the contact for the PIS Advance? Still thinking of whether to buy it cos the last round I din breastfeed long enough but this time intend to do it longer. Dunno worth it to buy or not ... still thinking.
How much does it cost in SG? I can't remember cos i had been checking up on Ameda as well but some it's 300-400, the better range is about 700+.

wah, u all really prepare early.
My first boy, I was so stressed out with my confinement .. cos last minute MIL din help and no confinement lady and I was staying at my hubby's auntie's place .... too stress to do any first month celebration. In the end, I did one for his first birthday to compensate but it was mostly me entertaining my friends ... not sure if he enjoyed himself ... hhaa.

Anyway, this time must do it for 2nd one.
Gonna scout for good buffets to cater liaoz.

M2B,
My son oso dun ask me to carry cos I told him I have to carry Didi inside, so cannot carry him, only when my tummy is flat then can. He understands and only asks any other people - hubby, FIL, maid to carry.

He always choose the maid cos my hubby will carry him 5 mins and say he too heavy and get him to walk but the maid will carry him longer. Now we try to get him to walk but he choose to be lazy.

He is now 27 months.
He also learnt that we'll carry him when we are crossing the road cos we say in Mandarin "Ma Lu Bao" (Road can carry) ... so now, he will point to the road even from far far away and say "Ma Lu Bao". So now, I have to change it to "Guo Ma Lu Chai Bao" (Carry only when crossing the road) but he still goes "Ma Lu Bao". haha.

HappyCat,
Maybe you wan to start psychoing your kid that you cannot carry him too much, or only when u sitting down.
Sometimes when my son insists, I will just carry him up, walk 1 step and put him down. Well, I did carry him, didn't I? Hehee, and it works.

wow alot of posts..

hisstory,
I lazy to go out now, think in the end I will just get the first bag, the one with the flap rather than the hobo bag.

shint,
Do take lots of rest and fluids. Flu is a nasty bug. I agree with you on the maid part, cannot let them go over our heads. Now on the search to get maid.

M2B,
glad you had a good time with your gal. I was thinking of watching kungfu panda too, maybe ask hubby if wana go watch during wkend. BTW, your hubby back from Taiwan already right?

bacon&egg,
Welcome!
Not sure about why cannot set up cot so early but I heard something "ghostly" about it? Ermz, anyway I think should set up early before bb comes home. Else if deliver before EDD, then how? no standby leh..

Megan,
about babies inc, are you referring to this website?
http://www.babiesinc.com.sg/
According to the link, have only Bukit Timah and Tg Katong branches. You mean there's one in Tampines? Or you moving out of Tampines soon?

happycat,
Thanks for using the Citibank card to get the discount. Hehe I forgot how much I paid. I've PMed you my account number for the refund. Too bad I didn't get to talk much with you that day as I had to go for gynae appt. Catch up again ya?

bacon, depends on what's the "protocol" at your end lor. i don't think we'll invite a comprehensive load of relatives lah. just the immediate ones that we're close to i suppose.

dongle, my friend says forehead scan is better coz sometimes bb may get irritated with ear thermometer.

haopycat,
i have a numbing pain just below my right bust, above my tummy. i ask my gynae n he said it's muscle stretching, nothing to worry about lei. not sure if yrs is the same as mine

yeah, tom i can see my baby again

Megan,
yup can u pm me the contact if u dun mind, thanks!

Re: PIS Advanced
Seems like theres 2007 and 2008 version too. anyone knows what is e diff?? these things r really so complicated le..then still differ by us units or swiss units, local serviceable or not..gosh..n its so exp somemore, dun wanna end up buying the 'wrong' one

Re: 3D/4D scan
hisstory,
hee i agree, looks abit alien-y

Dongle,
Actually what ur gynae say is true, for my case cos i keep thinking this might be my only child, so dun do will nv have a chance liao. Its just good for remembrance.

My gynae dun haf the machine also..so i hafta do it at TMC fetal assessment centre where all the growth scans r done. Then id better pray baby position is good, if not really waste money, 250 le. Gynae's nurse suggested doing it at ard 32 weeks, say thats e best time.

Its so expensive to be preggy!

megan,
I didn't really book her cos she told me to just call her 2 weeks in adv once I get clearance from my gynae cos mine is csec. It's this indo lady called Kasue. My fren's wife used her and she said she is good. Her 10 session package is $830. But I didn't check is it an hour or 1 hr+. Kasue told me best to do 5 conseq days then rest a few days followed by alternate days. My fren's wife she csec and she did it from 1.5 mths. And she lost all her pregnancy weight with Kasue. But I think such things are quite indiv. So I'm hoping can lose all of mine and more.. hahaha

re:full mth
My plan is to have a dinner prob at restaurant with immediate family then a seperate buffet with friends. Not sure about the cake part. But probably will give a box of cakes each family hsehold. Not sure friends part wana give cakes or not.

re: 3D/4D scan
I just realized that my package already included the 3D/4D scans. Just dont include transfering them to DVD. But dono how many times can do the scan lei. I did it once about 3 weeks ago during the visit. Sometimes the gynae during visits she will just scan and show me. Sometimes she will just print out and give me. I think cos my gynae have the machine so it's like quite easy to do. Seeing her this friday again .. hope we can scan again :p

3D/4D scan:
Think I will not do the 3D / 4D scan.. Think the normal ones are gd enough.. Don't want to spend additional $$.

Catherine, your gynae have the machine! Thats good yah? Can have clearer pix every scan.

seems like a quiet nite here on the thread.. I feel so guilty cos i ate durian again. But this time only 2 seeds la. (and only cos it wasn't nice so I ate only 2, cos my limit by the dietician is 4 seeds). Then had dinner and took my glucose test ... it's only 4.1 Hahaha. Even lower than normal. Weird. hahaha. My mom say maybe cos the durian lousy. hahaha

I haven't gone for my hospital tour yet. Suppose to be today, but was so tired. Cos I slept at 5am again. 3rd day already. Accompany hubby watch soccer :p Tonight maybe I give it a miss and sleep early. Suppose to bring MIL to vivo city. And need to collect my loot from Snow, need to go ikea buy hangers for baby clothes, need to go united sq .. oh no .. so many things to do. weather was so hot an humid today I showered like 3 times. Lucky now raining. Hope 2nite will be cooling

Just got news one of my cousin wife expecting. 3 mths now. EDD is Dec. So their baby will be same age as mine

twin stars

Thank u so much!! *muacks*

krex

Oh, it's a simplified hospital tour ah.. hmm, then i prob go for one tt's outside of the course. Am thinking of opting for 2-bedded, then request for 1-bed when admitting.. Downgrading will still have to pay for the higher charges as per booking

bacon&egg

U might want to check with ILs & ur parents' practice.. It's afterall their grandkid, so they may want to 'show off'. At least i think my ILs will.. *sigh*

happy cat

Better take gd care k? *cross fingers & toes* tt ur son wun bully u when ur HB's not ard

val

Heheh, so is the bag a push pressie fr HB or a treat for urself? *heehee*

joanne

Wow, $250 for the 3D/4D scans are quite pricey.. But if bb's going to be the only one, then maybe worth it

catherine

wow, ur gynae's machine can actually have the images transferred to DVD eh.. Tt's so good!! Even if the images are just the 2D ones, also really gd, can chart the growth..
I get the print-outs only.. One per visit, wonder if i can ask for more.. *hmmm*

hisstory,
I nvr ask about transferring the 2D images to DVD cos I dont think I will transfer to DVD for the 3D ones. My gynae usually give me like 3-4 print outs. I think she's quite generous lo. But most of the time I also cannot make out what is what. And I buy a scrapbook to paste them until now still haven't started :p Feel so bad.

catherine,
wow looks like you have alot of things to do. Happy shopping tomorrow ya?

Talking about sweet stuff, I also craving for sweet things such as yakult, trying to cut down leh..

hisstory,
I'm getting it for myself la. Won't want to ask hubby to get it. Sigh.. hint to him about push pressie, he acted blurrr.. Maybe should get him to give me something nice for my next birthday. I asked for a pair of Birkies for my birthday this year. Should have "conned" him something more expensive. hehe

hisstory, i was considering 2 bedder too but hubby seems to be all for 1 bedder though it's more ex. he's worried next door neighbour may not be too considerate

the other day, he was asking about the suite also!?! i dun see prices for anything above single, so better go check it out.

morning ladies! =)
hb took leave just to help me clear up my nursery room, so no time to log in yesterday lor.
the rain last nite and now looks scarry ya?
dunno later still can go my exercise class or not.

m2b & happycat
maybe next wk bah, cos now i need to clear the current spree 1 1st lor.
my whole living rm is in a mess now. =P

catherine
actually i'm sort of agree with m2b, really can start enrichment program for bb only after 1yr old at least.
u might like to start some simple flashcard and story reading to bb 1st at home before that, and even play music to them.

hospital re-reg:
its not only to get the hospital rm fast, its also to go admin process fuss-free on the actual day.
i remember when GlenE dun have available single rm that time, they let me occupy the whole double rm.
meaning, its almost the same as single rm beside hb gotta sleep on another hospital bed next to me...hee hee.....

hospital additional lodger:
beside extra blanket and pillow hor, paid lodger also get 3 meals a day.
this time dunno my extra mini lodger how.... =(

Good Morning!

Shint,
I can only hug my gal now so strictly no carrying…1stly, she is too heavy and 2ndly, with the tummy, it is not possible to carry too…anyway she is 4yo+ liao so she wun asked to be carried much unless she needs to see or reach for something which is too high…

Valnsw,
Kungfu Panda is a nice show, rather funi…nope, hb will be back tmr night…now considering whether to go airport with my gal to pick him up or not coz his flight quite late…

Catherine & Avocado,
Durians, yummy but now bb already 2.08kg, I think I beta dun eat liao coz wait all the weight on me again…I have gained too much liao lah…

Snow,
Sori for messing up your living room with our sprees. Really appreciate your help man!

morning mummies

Hey Shint...hmm i cant pte message u leh...eh..u pte me okie? then i send u email..

val, ya..in katong tt one not bad...thats the one that I would like to send my boy next time..they dun take in kids for K1 onwards..

hmm i like to move to east coast or nearer town if possible but see how cos now buying a place damn overpriced leh...

morning mummies.

full month cakes:
between sweetest moments and choz confectionery, which is better? any comments?

m2b,
i'm going to watch kungfu panda today.

snow, if they put u in double but the room is exclusively yours, do u pay for single or double? that time your hubby got pull out bed or he had to sleep in couch? which hosp was that?

celyn, i like sweetest moments. packaging plus food seems of high standard, and price is reasonable too. it's just that i haven't decided if i'm giving cakes to colleagues only or everyone else.

dongle,
Local suppliers also only provides warranty for Medela's motor, wear and tear on accessories such as valves and membrane is not included.

celynlee,
I never try sweetest moment b4 so cant comment. I used choz conf for my son's full month, quite satisfy and have good feedback on the taste from relatives. This is their website: http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2007/home.php

RE: Full Month
For those who I inviting for buffer I will not give them the cake but will prepare some 'ang gu kueh' and red eggs to table for buffer. Cake set will only be given to my colleagues/relatives/friends who have given angbao/pressie but can't make it for my buffer. Was thinking to give the cake redemption voucher (valid for one year) to them so that I no need to physically deliver the cake set to them.

RE: Thermometer,
Anyone knows where can I get Braun's forehead thermometer?

hi ladies, i'm from sep's.. and had been a silent reader in aug to prepare myself for earlier due date..

see that u guys are talking about full month cake.. wonder why is a necessary to give out this full month cake to colleagues/relatives and friends.. anyone knows what is the purpose??

full month
think i will either invite immediate family for a meal and distribute cakes to those who contribute gift eg. colleagues or just invite everyone to a buffet. V headache! Will decide closer to date.

celyn,
i prefer sweetest moment..saw their packaging v nice n cute and quite economical.

3D scan
i am paying $100 for 3D scan at NUH. NUH dont scan at every visit..only listen to doppler hence i will go for the 3D scan..cos i dont get to see my bb often on screen.

catherine

ur gynae is really generous.. I must try to be abit more thick skin & get a few more print outs the next visit! *heheheh* U're such a good mummy, I just keep the images but do nothing abt it.. HB prob is too lazy to think of anything like a scrap book

val

There's still time to get the push pressie!! He might have acted blur coz he has sthg else in mind? Hmm, con for a nice diaper bag?

krex

I prob will eventually ask for the 1 bedder, but on making the 'booking' I prob state I want 2 bedder. Like avocado, I dunno if bb has complications then the cost may be rather high..
Yeah, there's the suite too.. Heard it's newly renovated

snow

Be careful as u go out later.. Everywhere shd be quite wet & might be slippery, dun aggravate ur slip disc yah?

von

Am not too sure of the significance either *heheh*

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

Good morning mommies/MTBs!

Jus a question... I found some clearish,odourless liquid oozing out from my nipples! What is that????

nini,
could that be colostrum? I also had abit leaking from my nipples and once harden, it becomes some flaky crust which I will wipe away.

Maybe other second-time mummies can confirm?

Hi von,
I'm not sure about the significance of giving full-mth cakes. Maybe it's to announce the arrival of your lil' one? As to who you want to give, there're lots of opinions on who should be given. I guess nowadays it's up to individual.

Mulberry,
So which diaper bag did your hubby help you get?
I'm not in the mood to get diaper bag, cos I already have one Fila bag which is quite huge and have compartments for milk bottles etc. It's totally pink, think hubby will not carry it wor.. -_-"

Samantha,
Did your hospital give you a list of things to bring for admission? Mine did and I will base on that to pack. Think it's better you call your hospital to check. Cos mine told me to bring 5-6 sets of bb tops in addition to the list.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
me also thinking of getting Medela PIS Adv. Nearly wanted to get hubby to buy from US but in the end didn't bcoz afraid if anything spoils, quite troublesome to get it fix here.
Anyways, another thing is the one my hubby saw in Target wasn't the 2008 version.

oh btw, copied this from another thread. The mommy made some research on PIS:-
<font color="aa00aa">There are 2 types:-
Medela PIS Original - only got 1 phase
Medela PIS Advanced - 2 phase i.e. got the extra breast stimulation phase

Anyways, the word "Advanced" is clearly indicated on the box. Thus, should be no problem in differentiating between Original and Advanced.

Then for Medela PIS Advanced, there is actually 2 versions:-
a) 2008 version - new sets produced/manufactured in year 2008 because to rectify the diaphragm faceplates defect. You can google for it to read more.
b) <u>before</u> year 2008 version - some may have the faceplates defect.

This is difficult to differentiate because it's not indicated on the box but not sure whether inside got paper that indicates the manufactured date.

I went to the Expo Motherhood fair yesterday, I've asked both Mums&amp;Babes booth and Mumsfairy booth, they say theirs is the Medela PIS Advanced older version i.e. not the 2008 version. But they told me no complains about the PIS Adv breastpumps they sold to date. Anyways, they said got 1yr warranty, if really got problem, can just bring back to fix/replace FOC.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
u remember the diaper bag faeriekim used during our 1st June gathering? my hubby bought the exact same one...keke..
During the gathering, i was asking faeriekim about her bag and saying it looks good and roomy.
Actually he bought the bag before he received my list. luckily i also like that bag (but it wasn't my #1 preference in the list lah).
My hubby like it because it's dark brown in colour. :p

medusa,
BTW just wanted to ask, how's your Indon maid coming along? Thinking if I should use the maid agency you got your maid from.

mulberry,
I'm afraid I didn't see faeriekim's diaper bag. Cos I came in abit late. hehe I only remembered her DD was v active, running around hehe.
Good that you still like the bag your hubby got for you.

Val,Megan,
my friend is working at the Baby's Inc at tg katong, if you mummies wana take a look at the place, let me know. but no discount la.. hahaha. I asked before already :p

M2B,
I also hope baby can reach 2kg soon so I wont feel so stressed :p

re: pre-registration
I already informed the gynae clinic that I want 1 bedder last month, do I still need to do the pre-registration ? Cos she told me she will arrange. Better ask her this Friday

re:push pressie,
hmmmm .. what should I ask for ? hahaha

Mulberry,
US$25 is a very good buy

Nini/valnswn,
Ya think it is colostrum. Understand from Gynae that milk for some MTB will kicks in as early as 7mths. I got one fren 8mths preggie already started to use breast pad as her milk really leak!!! But good also as no worries later not ebuf milk for BB.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
I also think it's very good buy. The bag very good quality.

oh btw, my hubby's missing luggage arrived liao! The airport staff came an hour ago. Me so happy
. Was unpacking my bb's toys....keke...my mom said i'm like a big kid...how come i'm so happy to see the toys. :p

mulberry,
thats good
Thinking back about how sad you were then .. now it's such a funny thought right ? hahaha

I'm still lazy to leave the hse to run errands. So tired. This soccer craze is making me so tired. Wanted to go Ikea buy hangers but just can't drag myself out of the hse :p

Yes, it is coloctrum, I also have it very early like 5-6mths. Whenever press the nipple, it will comes out.
For my first pregnancy, it did not happen till 8mths

wah u r a soccer fan. but don't stay up late everynight to watch ya. we preggies need more rest.

re: push pressie
dunno is this considered push present but my hubby bought this Coach bag for me. He bought the pink one but actually i prefer the gold one leh :p
http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=11071&amp;category_id=320

does anyone knows whether we can do exchange for Coach bags bought in US in our local stores here?
I know LV allows that but dunno whether Coach allow or not..?

i have stop my anti contraction pills again. My gyane said I can start preparing when 34wek onwards which is 3weeks away. OMG, so fast. I try to tahan till 36weeks and above.
Now everyday sleeping and nua at home and hardly walk. hehee

Mulberry,
Hmm the bag looks quite nice
Actually the pink one also not too bad la. The flowers more distinct. Each has it's qualities.

cocomo/avocado,
thanks for the info. I think mine is not like really leaking, but rather jus ooze out abit. Then everytime when I bathe I have to use wet cotton wool to wipe off the crusts.

Mulberry,
I like your Coach bag!
At least your hubby knows your taste to get what you like. If my hubby, I think he totally at a loss. I have to specifically tell him what I want.

I'm not sure if you can exchange it but maybe you can call Coach? But the thing is the bag seems like new design isit? If it's new design not yet available in SG, then don't know if you can exchange it.

Looks like your hubby had a fruitful trip for you!

avocado,
better guai guai rest at home. What you mean you can start preparing at wk 34? prepare for birth??

Catherine,
me also lazy to get out of house today. I almost thought of going out to Raffles City and at the same time meet hubby for lunch but end up he has conference call then I also felt pukey this morning. puked out the fish soup mee sua which I already told my mum I cannot stand the smell but still have to eat.. til now the fishy/queasy sensation still in my stomach.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
hehe...if my bb can talk, she'll probably be saying "mommy, is that your toys or mine?"

yeah i don't mind the pink. but i'm thinking the gold one like can match more clothings colour :p

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
hee...my hubby not so smart lah. it's coz there was a time last month, we went to Coach at Raffles City and I was trying on that bag for quite long time. thus he knew i like that bag. But i remembered i was trying on the gold one. sigh...he must have forgotten abt colour.
thanks, yeah good idea, will call Coach to ask.
u take care ya. maybe can ask your mom to fry the fish 1st or marinade the fish more, to take away the fishy smell.

re: leaking colostrum
wah so many of you all leaking colostrum already. That's good. *envy envy*.
i heard that will mean you all will have no problem with your SS when the time comes ;).