(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="#CD3278">eve</font>
Very pretty &amp; colourful! Such delightful cakes.. But it seems the svc not too gd hor? And then apparently they dun deliver as artistic a design as the amt they are charging.. Read fr the thread posted earlier

Are they all fondant cakes?

hisstory
these are wat PG emailed me. maybe can give u some ideas. but I only have winnie the pooh ones cos I'm doing this theme.

krex
according to PG, min 2kg is required for 2-tier cake n 1kg can cater to abt 12-15paxs. so if u have abt 30 paxs, then 2kg shd be ok. I'm getting my cake topper frm the BP here.

<font color="ff6000">hisstory,</font>

i have the comic books too leh, the whole set. I got to get someone to buy back for me from taiwan for the 1st 10 books and then went over to taipei to get the rest myself... bought the last 2 from kinokuniya. I've got the dvd too and now thinking of getting the korean title one too... Crazy liao...

Who do you like best? I think too much trouble for the gal to like the super rich guy lah, I would have given up long time ago and probably go with the other guy... heheheee

Pinky
I'm getting the pooh figurines frm one of the BPs in this forum lor.

hisstory
u can look for Liz. so far, she's been great n really efficient. haha... I feel that they are just trying to earn more $$ from us by charging us for "artistic labour". just that they find a cheem term for it. I think PG cakes are all fresh cream cakes.

<font color="0000ff">eve,</font>
How do you cut a 2-tier cake? will you cut through from the top tier to the bottom one? Sorry, never have a 2-tier cake before so dunno.

I wanted to order a 3 tier wedding cake for my wedding some 9 years ago. At that time, there's not much demand. Raffles wanna charge me $3000! Just simple fruit cake with icing, 3 tiers... but maybe it is even more expensive now?

eve, how many kg is ur cake? I ordered 3kg more ex lei. so which pooh design u choosing? I also doing pooh

All, No free samples. u can buy 1 slice each at $2+

<font color="ff0000">Rata,</font>
got eat until fat fat or not?

Where is PG? alamak, getting me curious. Now i felt like going over and just get a slice to try.

tree,

heehee...sorry, i oso nvr hv a 2-tier cake before....maybe hv to cut fm top to bottom ba...

Eve, is it necessary to get a cake topper? it's not provided by PG?

rata
me ordereda 2kg cake. I choose 1 of the designs then tell them to modify abit here n there lor.
Aiyoh... yours 3kg, of cos more ex than mine cos they calculate the price by per kg mah.

Pinky
if u've read my earlier posts, PG only provide cake toppers for sesame street n hello kitty themes. U can chk out the BPs for the price of the cake toppers. I got mine at abt $17.

hisstory,
not sure how much a 2 tier will cost..maybe ard what eve is paying?

rona,
have email you another supplier for the jelly cake..not as good as the first one

pinky,
i dun have ur emails leh

rona,
still deciding..actuali more or less on PG then this jelly cake comes along..so more decisions to be make..have to ask ah lao leh..

maybe we can have a mini cake tasting session of PG cakes?? haha

Hisstory,
Hope Ashley gets well soon. Mae's cough recovering liao...the good thing is it doesn't affect her appetite and sleep...heehee

Shirley,
I'm interested in the jelly cakes contact too.

Msapple,
I ordered the birthday banner from a BP here at $18...shd be receiving it soon...included both gals' pic so as not to let #1 feel left out...heehee

tree, i go there buy 1 slice each &amp; bring hm to share wif my parents too so ok.

eve, ya la dats y i keep asking how many kg. Kpo abit which design u choose? I also choose a design &amp; get them to change the colours &amp; modify.

Shirley, i wan the jelly contact too. thanks.

M2B, did u read ur mail? banner ready for collection liao. I collecting mine tomolo

anyone cooked pasta/baby pasta for your babies to eat liao? Any receipes to share? BTW can they eat cheese aredy?

Big Mama,

This recipe is from Timmin:

use a lil olive oil to fry half chopped white onion till soft. then add in 2 ice cubes of veg stock. add in diced carrots, zucchini and tomato (1 each). add in water (i agah agah for this). add in minced beef (100g) and minced pork (30-50g). (A friend who cooks well told me that adding pork in bolognaise makes the sauce much sweeter and tastier. Apparently, they do that in aussie restaurants) Bring to boil, then simmer till veg soft. After it's done, i use a masher to mash it a lil. Cook pasta and add in sauce. E loves it!!! I freeze remainder.

huichin,
I have given my bb pasta star too. but i just boil the pasta and add in veg/pork soup... heheheee... not really pasta pasta but soup pasta! I also gave mee sua, my bbJ loves it.

rona,
any brand of mee sua also ok?

what other food can we give our babies? my boy is taking porridge everyday..so boring. ;p

Thanks tree nymph ! I wil try it out! hehe...oh so now bb can eat tomatoes liao ah? Last time i remember someone posted a food allergy list for bbies and i remember tomato is to be introduced at a later stage. Haha..seems like it's fine afterall! LOL

missysz
ya same! hahaa

Rona

Guess your big boy is doing okay now?

Been very busy these few days and will be more busier for the next few days also. Tomolo baking a cake for my gals lunar Calendar bday.. This friday is their big day... wah! One year old soon... so excited.

Busy buying things, custom made birthday present. Ordering special tradition kueh.. etc etc Prepare their new clothes, new shoes. Need to prepare red eggs, ang koo kueh, hainanese kueh, cook e-fu noodle, bake cake.... wah piangz ! my head big liao!

Cake? Of cos, I'm baking one for them.. been making fondant figurines these few days... kekeke... first time making figurines , kind of cute but dun know how the cake will turn out.. Hopefully, it'll turn out well.

Mrs Teng,
Yes, he is ok liao. xu jing yi chang!

Wow, so many things to do huh? I guess we are really bo chap - even for the 1st born. heheheee.

remember to take lots of fotos and upload the cake and let us drroolll...

M2B,
Thanks will check it out.

Huichon,
Due to the high salt content in cheese, so personally I don't feed that before one year old same for mee sua.

huichin, missysz,

Any brand mee sua ok. its a bit salty though. This is Mrs Teng's method:

Ingredient:
Mee Sua (cut into small pieces)

Finely chopped minced meat (yes, those that you minced twice already... chopped further if you want it fine)
or Finely Chopped Fish

Chopped veggies of your choice (eg spinach, carrot, xiao bai cai or cabbage)

Chicken or pork stock
Ikan bilis powder (optional)

Method:

Bring stock to boil, add minced meat and boil for about 10mins
Add the chopped veggies and boil until slightly often (approx 3 mins) , if it's carrot (boil slightly longer)
Add the cut mee sua.. and boil till it soften

Note: Remember not to use too much stock if you prefer the mee sua not to be too soupy.. And if during the process of cooking, if u think it's getting too dry.. add a little water at a time..

Mrs Teng
whoa u're such a great cook i'm sure your cake will turn out nice and pretty!

msapple
thanks! hehe..i oso agree la..haahaaa

tree nymph
thanks for the method. Sounds pretty delicious

I wonder if you still remember me. Been a long long time since I last posted, very busy with everything. I sped read through some of the posts and everyone is so busy planning and preparing for their darlings' big day. I'm starting to gan cheong spider liao cuz I haven't even started on mine yet.

Hope that I'm still in time to join this:

Aug Bday Gathering, 1 Aug, 5pm. Saturday. @ Gymboree Harbourfront

1) YLN, Hb and Kaer
2) celynlee and yu ze
3) April and Denzel
4) Babyemma(victoria) and Mark
5) blue_aurora, hb and Reagan
6) catherine and Bernice (cant confirm if hb coming)
7) Vern and Izzy
8) NiNi and Braiden
9) Ruixuan and SL (cant confirm if hb coming)
10) Valnsw and Chevelle (can't confirm if hb is coming)
11) Sylvia, Edward &amp; Meredith
12) faeriekim &amp; SY
13) snow74 + hb + #1 + zynn
14) missysz + hb + babyJ
15) pinky + jayden (can't cfm if hb is coming)
16) irabuben + hb + baby Kai En
17) mousse + hb + baby k
18) Tigg3r + hb + Cherilynn + Clarabelle + 2 maids (not confirm yet)
19) Dongle + hb + cayla
20) Balugu + gerlene (cant cfm if hb is cuming)
21) Snowhamster13 + Shievon (cant cfm if hubby is coming)
22) fairybees + HB + Kynan
23) cocomo + Shervalle (HB &amp; #1 not confirm yet)
24) melmal12 + Amelia + maid + HB (cant cfm if hubby is coming)
25) nymph + Jerold (+ 2 elder kids + hb = not firm) maybe late cos kids enrichment class ends at 5pm.
26) Linx + Nandini + hb
27) vone + #1 + dawn (can't cfm whether hb is coming)
28) krex78 + jonah + hb + maid (not eating)
29) happie + chiemi ( can't confirm if hb can mk it )
30) m2b + #1 + maegan (tentatively only, yet to cfm)
31) Roiv + Baby Allivier + Gor Gor Xavier - PS : Can I invite one of my friend, who's also a Aug mummies along??
32) msapple + #1 + Aisleyne + Hb + maid
33) smurfette + hb + Kaitlyn

1. bdae cake
2. finger food 4 adults &amp; toddlers
3. drinks 4 adults &amp; toddlers (snow74)
4. plates, forks, spoons, napkins 4 d adults &amp; toddlers (snow74)
5. goodie bags 4 d kids (toddlers &amp; bbs)
6. photographer

Would also like to join this if possible. Cocomo, please let me know if there's any slot left for me after the waitlisted ones have joined?

One more baby on 11 July, anyone interested??

Aquaducks baby swimming trial - Free
----------------------------------------------------------------

Date: 11 July 2009 (Sat) at 9am
--------------------------------------
#1: cocomo - Shervalle Gow 04/08/08
#2: Dongle - Cayla Foo (20/07/08)
#3: Hui Chin - Falisha (02/08/08)
#4: Linx - Nandini 06/08/08
#5: smurfette - Kaitlyn (28/08/08) - To be confirmed

Date: 18 July 2009 (Sat) at 9am
#1: interrace - emre norman (05/08/08)
#2: ruixuan- Siong Lok (03/08/08)
#3: celynlee - yu ze (06/08/08)
#4: sylvia - Meredith (28/08/08)
#5: rona - Jerold (24/08/08)

finally confirm my venue.. well almost confirm. just need to go make deposit but all major details confirmed. entertainer also just need to make payment.. now time to prepare party favors etc.. hehehe.. ohh and the guest list too. Cos of the size of the function room, need to be selective to the guest. cos i went to see and 9 tables is max they can put.

hate the stupid fullerton. crazy. wana charge me 30% of price for kids above 3yo. crap. plus their service is really bad. in the end they willing to extend the age until 6yo. but i dont like their attitude. Raffles Hotel is so much more friendly and helpful. True i pay more but i think it's every cent well spent. They are accomodating and reasonable. Only problem is the size is smaller so lesser guest. But the food variety is much better. So I guess for about 1K more at least I get good quality and variety of food. sorry to rant but I feel so pissed with fullerton.

huichin
I give the star pasta to bernice too. sometimes after cooking i put the jarfood veg flavor, sometimes I put with soup.

I give bernice mild cheddar cheese and the cube cheese too. Like msapple said, it can be salty so I give once a week. My friend whose baby is allergic to milk, dr cheng advise her to give cheese to make up for the calcium. so i guess it's ok to eat lo.

re: mee sua
my family dont eat mee sua so i dono but my mom say if want to feed mee sua then buy the xing hua type. dono if this helps

huichin
i've introed alphabet pasta to E cos he finished his pasta stars. i boil them a lil longer to make sure it's soft. he loves it. takes about 2 full chinese soup spoons of just pasta alone in a meal.

i mix it with bolognaise or cream sauce.

missy
i bought jap organic somen. looks and taste like mee sua. tink less salt. but not too sure abt it.

u can try many different things. i've given E baked fish with cheese sauce. and shepherd's pie too. hee...

Hi <font color="ff0000">smurfette</font>,
You confirm your place for 11 July? Those in the waitlist one are those who already joined the trial last time. Priority will be given to those who have not join b4. You want the place? If not I shall give it to others. Please let me know by tomolo as I need to submit the name list to Aquaduck liao. Thanks.

Aquaducks baby swimming trial - Free
----------------------------------------------------------------

Date: 11 July 2009 (Sat) at 9am
#1: cocomo - Shervalle Gow 04/08/08
#2: Dongle - Cayla Foo (20/07/08)
#3: Hui Chin - Falisha (02/08/08)
#4: Linx - Nandini 06/08/08
#5: smurfette - Kaitlyn (28/08/08) - To be confirmed

Date: 18 July 2009 (Sat) at 9am
#1: interrace - emre norman (05/08/08)
#2: ruixuan- Siong Lok (03/08/08)
#3: celynlee - yu ze (06/08/08)
#4: sylvia - Meredith (28/08/08)
#5: rona - Jerold (24/08/08)

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
U're really so adventurous when it comes to E's food.. Today I tried grilled salmon for Ashley.. Thankfully she likes it *phew*
Have u added spice, like pepper to E's food?

<font color="#CD3278">eve</font>
Okie! Thanks for the headsup! I shall look for Liz to get a quote

<font color="#CD3278">shirley</font>
No probs abt it!

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
hahah.. U're really a BIG fan! I always feel so happy after watching the show.. hahah

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
So good, Mae really loves to sleep.. I just want her phlegm to go away asap, coz she can't spit out, so sometimes she sounds so awful.. And yah lor, even her naps are so disrupted

hisstory
oh really? i haven't tried grilling for E yet. cos i was a lil afraid that it'll cause the surface of the meat to be tougher. great that ashley liked it!

i haven't put in spices in homecooked food. but most of the bottled foods he eat has spices. so i guess he has taken some @ least?

oh...E really likes to eat steamed tofu with egg yolk &amp; pork! he eats a lot when i give him that! u can try with ashley.

Timmin &amp; Hisstory
I'm so envious when I read about how E and A enjoy what you prepare for them.

I'm having a difficult time with D where feeding is concerned.. again. He is refusing to eat. Can be so frustrating but I keep telling myself to keep calm and just relax. Nothing to fret about (for now) since milk is still supposed to be their staple.. moreover, D is still rather chubby! Hee..

Weaning began today..

We gave D some FM in his new NUBY bottle and upon the initial taste of the FM.. he gagged. Haha.. then, dun want already.

I tried it as well.. and..

I gagged too!! Oooooooops.

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Lunch's salmon was over-grilled, coz i was worried it might be undercooked.. But still after some mashing, she took to it.. hahah. Then dinner's portion took abt 5-8min

i thot of adding pepper to maybe make it taste better.. heheh! dunno if i shall make tt bold attempt

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
Maybe D's on a diet! no lah.. I believe he wld take to food in no time
Does he like bb biscuits/ bites?

Woah, u've started on weaning.. Then how, u tried again?

eve,

which BP u referring to? can gimme the link? PG artistic sense really cannot make it. their design not as comparable as divinity, but i guess i'll use them more for the taste. will have to really guide them into designing a cake to my liking.