(2008/08) Aug 2008

valnsw: no prob

yes send her home yourself is the best. take care .hugs for chevelle

Hi mommies, been busy with CNY..hehe.. i eat n eat non-stop..opps :p

Braiden have been waking up n super duper cranky these 2 nights, me and hubby become panda liao. He can keep screaming n crying suddenly during his sleep... I woke up like 3-4times a night to pacify him. He kept scratching his tummy too (like so irritably itchy!
).. So today bring him to see the PD n diagnosed as mild ecezma. Then PD referred us to bring him to NUH to do the allergy test, and we went there immediately after confirming the time available. Tested for shrimps,scallop,eggs,cow's milk,peanuts,dust mites etc... About 10+ of pricks but thank god no allergy! Really felt relieved that his ecezma got nothing to do with my bm.. Then narrowed down to his sensitive, dry skin..So have to put on the treatment moisturizer diligently. I hope he'll be ok soon..

Weaning questions.. need guidance!
I just bought a pack of HT n few food jar from HT too.. How much to give on the first day? Can i add in formula milk to make cereal? If yes, how much formula milk to 1 table spoon of cereal.. Can i give him sweet potato puree,pears puree,apple puree (food jars) too??

THaNKs MoMMies!

valnsw

you shouldnt even let her pack her bag...just send her out and then u pack for her...

the last maid i sent her back to agent first...told agent to meet her at the car...i just dropped her off at katong shopping centre front porch...then i went home and packed her bags...

that time baby only 1 month old...i also suffering bad baby blues...so didnt want drama...i was pretty certain she would go on her knees and beg me...so i just sent her back to agent first..bags later...

and u wont believe all the funny things i found...tsk tsk.note my maid has no off days: love letters from her bangladash bf(write in english so i can understand: tell her things like please destroy this letter once u have read it dont want ur employer to find it), handphone chargers(even though she not allowed phone...later found out she hid it in her bra), indonesian black magic stuff...and lots of singapore telephone numbers(obviously her Singapore frens..use my house telephone to call--i have caller id)

of course i felt bad i had to go through her personal stuff(i never did when she was with me for 8 months)but gosh..im now glad i did...

i sent her home when i discovered she had a bf! during confinement i looked out of the window alot..and i noticed this guy loitering alot outside my house ...realised he was looking for my maid...i confronted her and she came up with all sorts of stories...arrrgh

this is someone who lives with u...u need to protect yourself and family from devious characters

mummygiraffe
heheh, think anything the kids do wld always be cute.. And parents always think their kids are always cute!

On the contrary, I stay in bishan but work in Clementi..

Now is to pray which of the sch's to send my ger to...

yuuri
U're so fortunate!! Keston sleeps very well.. Studies apparently show tt those bb who nap well wld get gd night's rest, sthg like positive reinforcement

I'm praying & yearning tt this happens soon for Ashley ger..

ling & hisstory
Thanks but I'm finding it abit disturbing that he sleeps so much. I don't have enough time to play flashcards with him!!! Like no bonding like that...

timminbuzz,

ya man, I also hate it when hb got reservist. Everytime he’s away, I’m on my own with 2 gers. #1 needs to be asleep before 9.30pm but don wan to. #2 wans to sleep at 9pm. And I’m usu only home at 8pm. Don’t even hv time to play with gers individually. Haiz..

baby emma,
10Q 10Q! I’m so happy to see this thread. All the mummies here got so many things to share. Yeah!

Hashisan,
10Q 2u 2! Like you, I also wish I can join the gathering but I’m a FTWM so very difficult to do so.

Catherine & Val,
I so scared I can’t handle a maid so I’ve never gotten one. Have always depended on childcare and now infantcare. Lucky govt give more infantcare subsidy now. If not, siong ah...plus the after school care.
Amazed at how you gals can handle one.

hisstory,
Ya, I’m counting my blessings whenever I see how much my #1 wants to help with #2 and whenever #2 smiles so sweetly as #1 plays with her. I hope they’ll stay as close as possible even with the big age gap.
I’m sure u’ll know which school to send your ger to when the time comes. You still have time la. ^^ You may want to consider the distance and after-school care since there is no Methodist school at Bishan. What are your after-school plans?

celyn,

my MIL decided not to give the spinach today coz' he was still pooing a lot of spinach. i think i will stop for now and start on carrots/ pumpkin or apples/ bananas next mon when i'm on ML again.

shint,

me haven't got menses yet also. dunno when it will come back...maybe soon?

hashisan,

apparently that was what my maid's ex employer did. she packed her bags and didn't tell her that she would be sending her back to agency. employer also took a few of her personal belongings (dunno for what) and she ended up having not enough footwear and underwear. my maid is actually a transfer maid and we took the risk by hiring her. during interview, we thought she was pretty good coz' she can understand us, is educated, and can follow instructions well. in fact, quite impressed she can follow recipe bk and becoz she took a mid wifery course and has a son, she is able to help or advise us sometimes. her performance became worse in dec but after a pep talk with her, she improved tremendously. sometimes i think just got to communicate more so we're on the same page. i'm glad we got round to appraising her...it really does help. if this continues, i think we can keep her till her 2 yrs is up with us.

*complaint*

sigh, just want to rant out my frustrations today. rushed home from work to feed my son and wanted to go home early from IL's place to rest as it was a tiring day. to my dismay, found that my SIL and hubby visited my ILs and the whole family decided to go to restaurant for dinner. i asked if my hb wanted to reconsider and go nearby instead, since there was a shopping mall with restaurants, but no...they had to go to their favourite restaurant which was a 10 min drive! by the time i BF my bb at IL's place, it was already 8 plus. we had to drive out for dinner, order, eat, and the whole makan session ended at 10 plus. by the time drive home it was close to 11pm and near bb's feed time.

needless to say, bb cried a lot during car journey back and at night. even as i'm typing, he's still crying.

i'm so angry why my hb cldn't see the big picture and cldn't take my advice and eat somewhere nearby and go home early. all of us have to work tmrw and we end up so tired. and recently, my hb has been yelling at bb coz' he has been crying during bedtime (also due to lack of sleep...we have been coming home ard 10 plus the last few days). he shld know by now what caused the crying but he still doesn't take corrective measures to rectify it.

i'm still sighing about this and dunno whether i shld just forget the matter and pray it doesn't happen again, or have a talk with him abt it. i'm pretty sure he'll be defensive but really, i wish he had more common sense!

it doesn't help that my MIL/ FIL/ SIL all like to have long, expensive dinners and they all sleep late. dunno how they can tahan, esp since SIL and hb are also working.

*sigh* sometimes life is really tough when u have to depend on ILs to take care of bb. there are days i wish we cld just migrate and send our kid to childcare. get ILs out of the picture and perhaps we can have a more peaceful life?

krex
Sounds chaotic for Jonah.
Think you need to slowly hint to your hb abt your concerns...my hb also super defensive about his parents which annoy the hell out of me. During CNY lunch, I was feeding Kes halfway and they insist on starting lunch....and then Kes haven't eat finish, they insist on taking a group picture!! I mean, they really cow sense lor..cannot accomodate baby abit meh? I also wish the ILs were out of the picture, but my thinking is more evil than yours. Haha
When I'm pumping and hb is taking care of bb, I'm always v scared baby will start fussing and hb will lose his temper. If he scolds bb, then I will be v angry with him cos I always tell him bb is not crying to be naughty but there must be something that's making him uncomfy.

Transition from breastmilk to formula milk
Need to find out when u mommies transit your baby from BM to FM, how do u all do it ah?
Just start with 1 feed of FM? full feed or partial BM, partial FM? separate bottles?

Me gotta start doing it cos my fridge supply left only a few packets. Me not producing enough for Kai daily intake liaoz. Maid had been taking from fridge slowly.

I oredi pump vv hard. 4 times a day and each time around 300-400ml .... but Kai's drinking too much.
I think i better start with a little FM first cos scarly he dun like or not use to it then dun drink how?

Btw, when can they start with the 6 months' old milk? Kai is now 5m and 10 days liao @ 9kg. Can start oredi not ah?

val,
glad you have decided to send your maid back home... my neighbour's maid scold the employer's kids quite often & handle them very roughly ... sometimes scold so loud that we can hear even though they close all the windows & doors cos they on aircon the whole day... she gotto do all the housework, cook & take care of 2 kids... think she is very exhausted till she vent her anger on the kids... many of the neighbours told the employer who is french but they din replace the maid... duno due to what... the maid told my maid that she want to go back home...

Mensus - me oso haven't kenna. Just want to be sure i din kenna ... u know what la .. haha.
*Phew.... breastpad oredi costs me a bomb ... if got mensus, then double bomb .. haha.
Everyday 2 pcs quite siong manz.

shint,

i use the cloth type of breast pad, so just wash 2x a week can liao. for me, my boy already drank FM when he was newborn as he didn't wanna latch on, so no prob. when i intro to him again 2 weeks ago, he didn't have any probs taking it. but noticed he can't finish his night feed these few days. dunno if it's becoz there is more liquid in the bottle (when we give 180ml FM, we fill the bot with 180ml of water, add 6 scoops, and the total qty becomes 220ml).

yuuri,

always so hard when dealing with ILs. i usu go thru hb to raise my concerns but he can't even protect our interests. he can still ask "go lah, what's wrong? need to eat dinner mah. no diff whether drive out to restaurant or go opp to eat". feel like we're talking on diff wavelength!

i also have the same prob. hb takes care of bb from 10.30pm onwards when i bathe, then go pump. sometimes i hear him scolding the boy and yelling at the top of his lungs. it's like both of them having screaming competition. think my maid also a bit stunned whenever he does that...dunno what to do so she sleeps outside in the kitchen until bb has fallen asleep then she go into the room to sleep. told hb so many times dun scold the kid, will affect psychologically and he won't listen. after all, if we come home late, it can only be our fault and bb has every right to cry to complain. even sometimes when bb cry due to poo poo in the car, he will scold. wah lau, i sure pity bb...can't cry to communicate a need and is expected to sit there and smile when feeling uncomfortable meh?

This thread very happening so many posts!!!

Warm
kao_welcome.gif
to Jems and Mummygiraffe!

Ling I'm in the UK.

Krex hee! hee! Even with ILs out of the picture life may not necessarily be more peaceful.
Perhaps your hubby too stress at work and baby's crying just sets off his frustrations. I'm like that too when I'm really stressed out. But I've since learnt to either walk away and calm myself down for a few minutes before going back to attend the baby. Most of the time baby will have calm down by that time too.
Though don't know if it's got to do with the weather. I find that I tend to be more hot tempered when I was in Sg. Either that or I have become more tolerant in my 'old age'. Ha! Ha!

At the moment I'm feeding solids during a milk feed i.e. let him drink some milk then feed a few spoonfuls of solid and then finish up rest of the milk. He's having very little solids at the moment. Will probably introduce in between feeds later on. I've started adding carrots to his rice to give it a bit of taste. I am cooking everything in FM at the moment 'cos health visitor said he needs to put on more calories as his weight has remained stagnant for a month.

Shint, has Kai taken the FM before? If yes and there's no allegy issues or rejection issues with the FM then it's ok to start replacing 1 milk feed in between with FM. If he's has never taken the FM before then it's better to mix in ur BM, 1st time feeding the FM mix 3 part BM 1 part FM then gradually increase to a full bottle of FM. This is to be on the safe side to lookout for any allergy and also to let him gradually taste FM so that he won't get a shock suddenly that this thing taste so different from the BM that he's been taking for nearly 6mths. Its the same way even when u change FM or changing the FM to 6mth old formulae. My gal is now 6mth, she's still taking the 0-6mth milk formulae, will only change after she finish this tin. I'll feel that on the safe side its always to change a bit later than earlier..cos dunno whether their digestive system can take it before 6mth or not..

krex78, totally understand ur frustration with ur ILs. Mine also the same type...always got lotsa dinner ah, seriously my mother is also very frustrated with them. Perhaps at times u should just show a bit frustration and be firm that you don't wanna go and is very tired from work. For me, I always insisted that my gal goes to bed no later than 10pm no wonder what they are doing and where they are and what day is it...I know behind my back my MIL has been saying a lot of things about me but i just simply don't care as I wan to set a routine way of bringing up my gal. I don't feel that that's wrong, cos it really proves that she's easier to handle most times..Sigh, yesterday my hubby juz mentioned to me that my ILs wan my gal to be up at 12 midnite to pray to tian gong next Mon..immediately i gave him a face and he knows my Ans liao...hahaha

yuuri
..heehee..ya ..ur can 'pop' in and see us!

catherine
heehee..i totally undertstand what u talking abt with ur maid..my maid also toot toot one...tell her things have to repeat like 5 times...sigh...her english damn jialat lor..even after 3 months...but bo bian lor...have to have her to do housework..so i ren until 2 yrs lor..after that..i think i will get maybe philipino maid liao..at least english better...otherwise i really buay tahan ler...

skin allergy
any mummies experience skin allergy while breastfeeding? i have this problem ..initially just some small patches over the past 2 months..lately..the rashes are like mosquito bites..small and many..all over my arms and back..face also kena..its the itchy kind..like the more i scratch..the worst it gets..then it stops itching for a day..then it starts itching (the same spot) again in another 2-3days..i suspect it was nuts allergy initially (whichi i didnt have before ) then i realised could also be seafood, (which i also dun have before)...but luckily, my BM for kaer still ok..kaer not affected..just me..how how ? should i see a GP or go to TCM?

krex78,
*pat pat* have a good talk with your hubby when his moood is better. its not right to yell or scold baby..he is too young to understand. baby may shriek even louder due to the stern and loud voice! i agreed w u that men can be very defensive. sigh.

Timminbuzz,
i will give this HT lobang a miss coz i dont stay near your place. Hubby will surely nag if I ask him to drive me there to pick the stuff. :p

catherine,
your maid is really a joker but on a positive note, its good that she asked questions instead of assuming but stll, Wrong. haha

morning mummies

Cat
was reading ur post to hb oso cos I find it very funny heheheh.... jialat yes but good she tried to make it clear :p

Krex
lucky my hb never scold my ger even though what, usually it's me who scold her :p but the things is whenever I raised my voice to her, she will laugh hehehehe... the real laugh like hhahahah hehehehe ones and that's all lor.. all the tireness n frustation gone

baby swimming
mummies, I want to ask this long time oredi.. do bb need swim diaper cos usually nowadays the swimsuit also coome with diaper one.. so bit confused.... the last time bring my gal to swim, I just used the swimsuit. is it ok ?

hi Krex,
i reali understand ur situation because i am also in the same situation as yours....me also hope IL are out of the pictures but cant since i depend on them to tak care of gerlene..me also wan set a routine for bb but they will always break away and then push the blame to me say i am too rigid in taking care of bb...

worst still my hb do not even side with me or help me to take care of bb at all..weekdays i work weekends i will have to take care of bb all by myself in between still have to take my mil go market, ferry her to massage centre, ferry her to salon wash hair or ferry her to play mj....i feel worse than a maid, i dun even have any me time at all....

cny even worst, mil herself dun want play mj but ask ppl cum my hse play and even ask my hb to join in even though she noe we nid go to my dad plc for dinner...purposely damn pak cek...

well do calm yourself down and bond with jonah more, bb will listen to you just like what i do with gerlene

my MIL wanted to scoop some soup from the steamboat for my baby to drink! when i said "CANNOT", she asked me "WHY?" argh...luckily she didnt insist..but few mins later, she asked FIL to try the soup to see if its salty..if she is worried that its salty how can let my boy drink right? *smack forehead*

YLN,
sadly my maid is philipino... so doesnt mean their english better. in fact i think worse. cos their english accent is very different. Ask her make ham sandwich she say no ham. Then ask her got what, she say got "hum".. hahaha.

Krex
I’m also lucky like Ling ling. My hb doesn’t scold my baby ger. He only starts scolding my #1 when she was older about 2. Instead, I’m always the one scolding them! And they are scared cos they recognize the anger in me. My hb always says this is no good cos I really sound “emotionally unstable” and tend to be “emotionally threatening”! And they will tend to mirror our actions when they are older. I’m noticing this in my #1 already. Haiz..I’m learning to control.

Is it possible for you to talk to your IL like SIL or anyone you are closer with? Share your concerns? Or tell you hb nicely how late schedules can affect everyone and especially the young ones?

It is slightly easier for me cos I send my gers to childcare although it was planned for MIL to take care of #1 then. I just let it be and slowly, they accepted my way of parenting and choice of caregiver. Phew..

catherine
oh..really ..philipino also no good..hmm..sigh..how ar like dat? i tok to my maid until want to vomit blood..then my hubby always think im very harsh with her..but its cuz she always cannot understand what i mean and do wrong things...my maid say lemon is LEEMOON..i always correct her..but she still say leemoon...n infact , its not lemon we refering to it lime..(the small green one)..but i gave up teaching her..so whatever is fine for her..its fine for me lor..as long as she knows how to put a name to the items..plus..her breath still very smelly..sigh...hubby dun wanna to bring her dentist...i talk must stand a distance...*shake head*

hi mommies, tks 4 your words of comfort. will try to have a word with hb this weekend. meanwhile, i dread tomo cos will be seeing MIL/ FIL/ SIL again tomo 4 family lunch. the only day i get a break from IL is sun <sigh>.

YLN,
thats why i very scared to change maid already. dono if will get one worse than this one than die. hahaha. I feel indo pick up language faster than pinoy.

re: maid bday
my maid bday this sunday. what u think i should give her ah ? I thot of giving her $50 then ask her to go buy whatever she wants.

giraffe,

haha, sorry not close to ILs at all. SIL is the most irritating of all cos she likes to instruct my hb what to do cos he's the younger bro, even tho only 1 yr apart. she tries to run our household and how we shld bring up bb and the ironical thing is she does not have a kid!

why do such ppl exist?

cat,

wah u so generous. for my maid's bday i brought her shopping to choose a pair of slippers from OP for $15. hers broke and she had to use my old one. she uses the slippers daily now

krex
Haha I also same, not close to ILs family as well. SIL is much older and v baby-unfriendly. When FIL ask her want to carry bb, she roll her eyes like want her life like that! Then she keeps getting irritated that bb make noise during lunch/dinner. Cow!

cat
ya ..i agree with krex..$50 is alot leh..my sis's maid bday..only give $4 angbao!..bought her a cake also lar..
my last maid..i only bought a chocolate bar for her..me very ngiao hor...hehee

krex,

oh my, indeed irritating. eh, is it possible to stand up to her and tell her what's your, as the mom of the child and mistress of your household, preferred method? i mean after sharing and talking to your hb la. is it too harsh cos your SIL might be doing so thinking she is the elder sis and that she doesn't have a kid?

re:pIL
not many DIL can stand our PILs hor... me too... my MIL always commented everybody including me duno how to carry cayla... she always say i carry until want to drop!!! cos i got skinny arms &amp; seems to be struggling... it's such a irony cos she never carry her 2 kids for long cos they were sent to babysitter's place for years after they were born... my HB call them "auntie" &amp; "uncle" instead of "mummy" &amp; "daddy" cos they were not close when they were young!!! she dont even know how to bathe babies!!!

she always like to criticise that we are late &amp; never mention anything when my SIL is late cos "they got 2 kids"... during day 1 of CNY... we reach her house at 11.30am... she started snapping at me in the lift cos HB went to park the car at the MSCP... i casually asked " you all eat aledi?" she snapped "NO, WAITING FOR YOU" i say very loudly too "ME?" she say "YOU TWO, THOT S SAY 10.30AM REACH?" i say "HOW CAN BE 10.30AM? EVERYDAY CAYLA NEED TO TAKE MEDICINE AT 10.30AM SO NOT POSSIBLE TO GO OUT BEFORE THAT!" then she kept quiet... sometimes duno what they think... go out must skip medicine time mei? i aledi skip her cereal time cos out visiting so can only feed cereal in the evening, everything must change bcos of visiting?

then during angbao taking, she say to cayla "ask mummy to give you a didi ok? everybody also got 2 children" somemore she say some hokkein saying which contains vulgar language... bue tahan her... i commented "wa lau, nainai so vulgar one" then she stop... another thing to rant.... she only cook 1 dish - fried beehoon with prawns on CNY 1 lunch... &amp; i dont eat prawns... my maid also look at me when she scoop the plain beehoon for me... when i go my mum's house to "pai nian" i purposely say very loudly that i very very hungry cos i ate beehoon w prawns only at my IL place... my mum's mouth turn downwards upon hearing too!!!

what a long rant... paiseh...

cat,
ya, $50 is a lot... my HB gave her a $10 phone card on her birthday cos she came for only a month then...

re:angbao
my maid collected $79 angbao so far, HB say i will keep the money for her &amp; give it to her if she perform well... but then the next day, HB asked how come she got so many pimples &amp; she say her face foam finish aledi... my HB say why never say... then he suggested asking her to buy using the angbao money... how do you deal with maid's angbao money?

dongle
Wah! You really can...dare to ding zhui with mil. If I ever talk back, think will start world war 3! Does your mil know you don't eat prawns?

sorry. am closing orders for HT. if u haven't made payment, pls do.
thanks for understanding! once $ come in, will be ordering by end of today. thanks everyone!! will be sending all mail to everyone once orders made with regards to delivery day and my add for self-collection.

yuuri,
hahah... i follow my HB ding zhui with my MIL cos she always talk insensitively... ya, must see situation, if your HB seldom talk back to parents then cannot lor... my HB not close to his parents since he was "farm" out to babysitter for few years &amp; never go home kind cos my PIL were selling chicken rice everyday from dawn till midnight &amp; doing quite well then...

oh, the funny thing is that she like to "suan" me only when my HB is not around... so cunning hor... cos sometimes my HB will side me if she say wrong things...

since cayla can recognise people aledi, those pple whom she dont like &amp; carry her, she will cry very loud... including my MIL... hahahahehehe... my MIL dont dare to carry cayla for long liao...
maybe next time if MIL carry cayla &amp; she cry again, i will say that she carry cayla until want to drop... hehehe...

dongle
wahhhh..... brave mum..
good 1 though.. I know I wont b able to 'ren' also if my PIL saying something like that...

Cat
yes u r very generous

Nini
IHHHH... that's a very scary story.... wonder have HT gave any reply to STOMPS enquiry... very bad uh... I mean that's for baby... baby food...

Yuuri,
forgot to answer that my MIL knows i dont take prawns at all... somemore, it's those giant size tiger prawns &amp; she aledi counted the number of prawns before cooking....

lingling,
hehe... luckily my HB never say anything oso cos he knows his mum's character very well...

yuuri,
i think yvonne is from acjc. do u know her? i am her online friend. her son is super cute!

dongle,
i think i know the vulgar words ur mom in law said to cayla for a di-di. really faint!

cat,
i dont know how much cny angpao my maid got but i think should be quite a lot. i let her keep since she is keeping her own salary also. sometime i wonder if we are too lenient to our maid. my hubby gave her $20 angpao for cny. he wanted to give her $60 but i told him off. really wanted to kick a big fuss but controlled!