(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN,
I oso kenna those small itchy red dots!!
went to see GP, they oni gave me anti-itch medicine..eat liao still itchy..was scratching non-stop for the past 2-3weeks.
now better liao..dunno issit menses came so not so itchy..*shrug*

Missysz, Dongle,
wat is the vulgar word?? Not nice to say here, can PM me? hehehee...so dat if my mil were to say it, i know?

re: ILs
wow..do many of u want ILs to be outta picture!! thot i'm the oni want! hahaa..
(PS: Yuuri- why u say u more evil??)

SIGH..i got too much to rant liao...reunion dinner tis yr wif mil was the most torturous dinner i've ever had...
first ting stepped into mil's house, she started chiding hb why never bring stroller up. Her voice v loud and i tink bb was abit startled and started to cry..so i had to soothe her and purposely say 'dun cry dun cry..nobody is scolding u lah..'
thru'out whole dinner, i had to carry my girl cos she couldn;t sleep. 1 hand carry her, 1 hand eat dinner. i know mil's eyes were fixated on bb..watever bb does, eat hands, purse lips, touch table, etc etc, she got tings to say..and she doesn't use proper language to say it which is sooo irritating..(like when bb close & open hands, she will say 'wu ge, wu ge'..feel like telling her 'wu ge shen mo?!?!?')

i tink bb oso doesn't like mil..everytime mil tries to tok to her, she will bian zui and cry..carry her, she will turn her head back and bian zui too..but mil still dun 'die heart'..always wanna try her luck to carry her everytime she sees bb...soooooo irritating!!
And oh, she knows i dun like her to touch bb..she still purposely in front of me, smell bb's hands..smell once, peeped at me, then smell anotehr time...and another time....argh!!!!!!!!

now the sianest ting is she's gonna stay over at my place next Mon for 1 nite..i've been dreading it since the day she announced it to the whole world! hmm..maybe i will bring bb out..hahaa..

YLN,
hahaa..a piece of chocolate!!!

Happy 牛 year! Here's wishing that all our babies will grow up healthy and strong. Busy juggling my first CNY with my girl and her being sick. She is down with blocked nose, cough and flu since CNY eve. Loss of appetite and watery eyes. Brought her to paediatrician on Wednesday. Appears to be slightly better now but then she still seems sian sian.

RE: Gathering at Timminbuzz's place
Venue: AMK
Date: 6 Feb
Time: 2.30pm
1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx
7. Happie
8. Apriltan
9. Smurfette

Timminbuzz,
I've e-mailed you my HT order and transaction details le. Thanks for accepting my order at the last minute.

Sylvia,
Sorry for the very late reply. My girl was born at TMC.

missysz: i think the article is an isolated case..but still be careful, always check the cereal first. *Remember* no wet hands/spoon into the dry cereal else it'll get spoilt easily.

Missyz,
Yaya, I was there to attend a fren's twins bb shower at Fairmont Singapore. =P That day very stone coz slept late the night before...was waiting for hb who was parking the car...

You two shopping? Saw so many nice clothings for the gals but I controlled...heehee

So many posts to catch up!

1st... b4 i forget...
Timminbuzz, have transferred. pls check. tks!!

will ask hb to help collect fm u.

dongle,

we all have different stories on PILs.... CNY got more frictions.

My MIL also attack especially when HB nt around. She kept saying bb's nail very long ( I just cut the day before lor) When we change Meredith's diaper, she was crying coz sleepy. I wanted to wipe quickly n send her to sleep. But MIL kept saying must go toilet n wash. Must use cotton wool.... Cry till red face liao still insist that must wash with water. The thing is..... she din take care of her kids plus dun bath or clean them.... in what way can she complain n demand....

In the end, I just insist wipe and then bf quickly.

Then she threw a comment...... "if bb is like that, then don't bring out so late!"
( the thing is... they were not at home and when we went on 1st day, they were either sleeping or not at home)

When she shake bb, I told her don't. She asked me then why aunty can? Aunty is my hb's aunt. Then when bb dun smile at her, she asked why laugh at aunty n nt her?

coz bb looking at mummy's funny faces when aunty carry ........

In the end, my HB even has to sayang me ltr.....

I guess hb has to support us in a way as MIL will always side SIL, BIL etc... we are always the last one coz we are still not their own.

anyway... CNY greetings are over, so I will avoid as much as possible liao.

giraffe,

my hb is quote close to family so i can't anyhow be too sarcastic, altough he does blow his top on them when he finds them unreasonable. well guess what, my sil is preggie now after trying very hard to concieve. can't wait 4 her to deliver so she can experience the trials of parenthood herself! i'm so thankful her bb won't be looked after by my ILs, else sure a lot of conflict one.

mommies,

re: cereal feeding.
after feeding my boy 3days of one teaspoon of rice cereal, he finishes everything and want more, should i increase the teaspoon and decrease the milk feed ml? currently is one teaspoon of cereal mixed with milk then he drank 150ml of milk after the cereal feeding. should adjust to two teaspoon of cereal with milk then feed 120ml of milk after ?

interrace,

u can start giving him more. 1 teaspoon is quite little. on first day, i gave my bb 1 tablespoon worth of cereal. he cried for more, so made another tablespoon. then next day increase to 2, 3, 4 then 5 tablespoon. now he can eat 5 tbsp of cereal 2x a day!

i haven't decreased milk feed yet coz' he wasn't feeding very well when i latched him on earlier. also, i'm feeding my cereal in between milk feeds so he is able to finish all. i only plan to reduce milk feed when he can finish one meal on his own, e.g. porridge/ cereal + veg + meat (maybe). if it's substantial enough and makes him full, then i will totally drop that milk feed and replace with a solid meal. i read somewhere that we must feed minimally 600ml of milk when weaning bb.

need some advice. How do you start with cereal? does cereal replace 1 feeding? if not, do i squeeze in 1 cereal feeding between milk?

krex,

if it's me, i wont be able to tahan and will tell her off. but i know lah, not easy since they are ILs.. gotta give hb face also.

i used to be bo chap and even insists on my gers calling them appropriately. now, all of them follow my style of calling. haha.. me quite mean hor.

well, i'm sure your SIL will understand the ups and downs of parenthood soon.

i also got the same question as Samantha. can i start the cereal feed and treat it as one feed? funny thing is although i have #1, she did not take cereal at 5 months. she took puree at 7+ months and then porridge at 8+ months. and she did not use any milk bottle after 3rd month. so i dunno what to do now.

i initially wanted to start #2 on cereal only when she 6 months but now, i thot of trying it earlier. any comments on this?

Re: cereal

Today is Braiden's first attempt on HT brown rice cereal... He finished half a bowl.. Then he also continued with his milk. I just feed him the cereal once a day then next week 2x a day.. But still latch on as usual..

Re: ILs
Looks like there're so many of us here who are not that happy w ILs.

Me is another one. Think reirei, little twin stars knw. haha

MIL actually told me to cook/boil the egg and give the egg yolk and mash up w cereal give to bb. In my mind, I was like, no way! But of course in front of her, just nod and say yes. Cos my hubby is super defensive twds his parents. Anything I say abt them, he's damn sensitive.

Men!

Catch up w the other posts later. Going to hv dinner!

HELP. Switching to FM - Kai threw up.
Mommies, help.
This afternoon ard 4pm, my maid fed Kai 30ml of FM(Enfalac) and 150ml of breastmilk. Kai slept over 1 hour and when he woke up, he threw up quite alot.

Then at 7+, time for his next feed, maid fed him my breastmilk, Kai threw up again. almost all the milk he drank - about 100ml ba.

Noticed that he is vv lethargic , not smiling happily like normal. He just finished another ml of milk and now fell asleep.

How ah? is the milk not suitable? should i send him to the PD now? but he is sleeping liaoz. or wait til tomorrow?
But he is not crying, just abit tired to respond to me. Normally when he sees me, he vv hyper and excited one.

Shint, I dont think its because of the formula. last time when Ryo vommited his milk usually its because he is not well,follow by fever/ stomachache/viral infection. just monitor tonite and tomorrow . also his poo or whether he vomit again.
have you checked his temp?
if he is sleeping now and no fever maybe can wait tomorrow if u wanna bring to PD. sat morning kids clinic open till afternoon.

valnsw: aiyo..cannot give eggs white/yolk to baby yet. Maybe u can show ur hubby the "food allergy" chart then he will be understanding n side u instead of being defensive ya?

Shint: I heard it's best not to mix FM with BM.. Try to give more diluted FM to try..and not to much so he will slowly slowly get used to the 'different' taste. My Braiden also give me a funny look when i feed him FM cos he is so used to my fresh milk. But i mix FM in cereal n then give him the rest of the milk later, he OK leh. After that he still got appetite to latch on.

mummygiraffe: maybe as a start cereal can be given in between milk. after that then can give like 2-3x perday.

maid receiving hongbao: I wont keep her money, all I ask her to do is to tell me if anyone give her (so I can thank the person) and how much (so I can keep track on how much $ she has ).other than that I think she'll be a happier maid if I let her keep it herself. She doesnt have to spend a single cent for her toiletteries etc,bcoz i provide those stuffs for her.

hisstory: no lah.. its just bcoz I love music and kids

Nini: I dont know, my weigh macchine is broken so havent checked her weigh and mine (haha). i strongly think she is more htan 9kg hahaha.how is little handsome braiden. good boy ah can finish the cereal

shint,
i think better not to mix bm and fm. why not you try feeding full fm instead. monitor and see if he is not feeling well. i don't fm will cause him to throw out so much. and since its his first time having fm, maybe you should stir the fm with spoon so that it doesn't create a lot of bubbles compare to shaking.

Hashinsan,
Maybe he is not feeling well. He hasn't fully recover from his cough ... still got phelgm.

Happened that today i started formula milk.
I had already queued for kids clinic .... and still gotta wait another hour. The waiting time is 2 hours. I am back home now and waiting for their call.

He is not running a fever and his poo is alright.
He is normal except that he throws up the milk for the last 2 feed.

The last time when he had jaundice, I gave him Enfalac(those premix ones from the hospital), he also threw up 2 times from the 4-5 times i fed him.

Perhaps he is not accepting this formula. i suspect.

Nini,
I did not mix the milk together. Maid fed him breastmilk first then followed by formula milk.
cos i din wan him to leave any precious breastmilk if he is full with formula.

For the 2nd feed, we fed him breastmilk (fresh ones) and he oso threw up. Rested some time then fed him the remaining, he slept and later woke up and threw up quite a bit oso. His stomach is not accepting it for now.

Now he is sleeping and i have to wake him up and bring him to the PD when they call later. Hope he is ok .... *worried.

shint,
for me, i don't like to mix in either way. prefer to feed 1 whole feed of fm or bm.

could it be his cough that is causing him to throw out? once yu ze also throw out milk with phelgm (quite a lot of it) but after that he feels better and is able to drink well. maybe he is trying to throw out the phelgm but not sure how to do it so end up milk is being throw out.

Shint: dont worry too much okie, hope Kai gets well soon. u go there with hubby rite?
kids clinic nite time's queue is crazy
actually morning and nite is crazy.hhhh

Mummies: Anyone interested in joining aerobic/yoga class? maybe mummies at northeast?

Earnestmum:
if u are reading my post will u be interested bcoz I went to amore at heartland mall and ask about their classes

or sengkang mummies, wanna go exercise together at sengkang/anchorvale CC?
I saw they have class starting in feb and march
let me know pls

Kai has woken up and he is smiling ... so i gather he is much better now.

thanks for all the concern. He looks vv normal now .... so i think i prob will not bring him down ... cos kids clinic did not call yet! Told them to call 30 mins before my turn.

haha..hearing all the rants about ILs make me feel better to know im not alone in the way i feel
hehe..i know i shdn't feel this way, but can't help it leh...just feel so irritating n fustrated that have to pretend to be nice nice.

n i totally agree with the spoiling of bbs routine, dont they understand that bb need to sleep one? if not they will become cranky the whole day! n who take care in the end? me lah! driving ard whole day visiting here visiting there can die one loh...hubby drive n me behind pacifying her, trying to make her sleep. then when sleep, reach destination liao...then wake...sleep wake sleep wake, end of the day, she was super cranky n just kept crying n crying in the car. finally reach home, all peaceful n nice, then she so happy again.

for CNY, my side just vist ONE place. hb side visit like TEN places (all must drive here n there)...can die one :p on chu xi...must stay at ILs until after midnight! then the next day, must wake up early to go back there to 'greet' them! i tell hb bb need to sleep one...he say is only once a year. hai...no choice. btw, they stay east we stay west.

i really dont understand why they need me n bb to go visiting w them. go visit this uncle that auntie. most of the time is do nothing..got one we just go there to listen to them sing KTV while i put bb sleep on their bed. like so boh liao!.. n its really like i visit u, then u visit me...go this house or another house see the same ppl cos they all go visit one another! my side is all come to granny house at one shot...dun need go here n there waste time.

reunion dinner:

i dun like fish, they know i dun like fish...but dunno why everytime must ask me to eat the fish which is their favourite dish. now i just say "ah ah ok ok thank you" but dont eat anyway.

then also cook prawns, i dun really like unless someone peel for me, hb peel for me so ok la i eat. i was abt to bite when i saw the prawn still greyish! means not cooked yet! so i quickly give back to hb, im very scared of eating raw/undercooked food (i dun eat sashimi..steak also must eat well-done). then MIL keep insisting me to try another piece, cos maybe that first piece is bigger so not cooked or something like that. eeee! i see the prawn like that i scared already lor! still want me to try another one?? lucky hb eat then say ya not totally cooked so she just keep quiet.

lucky i gotta nurse bb, so i quickly eat finish n go feed her. then i tell u...OMG, MIL said the stupidest thing!...she took my nursing wrap (its n OBUBA wrap) n started feeling the thread saying "the thread very rough hor?"...i was like "har?? so??"...she just keep feeling n saying "so rough so rough"..i buay ta han say "why does it matter??"...MIL: "will it scratch bb?"... *fainted* i just ignore.

hai ya...got so many other small small things that r so ridiculous i just bear with it.

then 1st day CNY have dinner at our place, steamboat...dunno y MIL must 'throw' the food in, water splash here n there...dunno how until fishball can drop on floor. actually, is v small thing, but i just v pek chek already.

then she started talking about cannot feed bb this cannot feed bb that if not next time will have phlegm/ cough/ asthma...talk abt how when my hb young kana bronchitis la...SILs also have bad coughs, all must hospitalise etc etc. then tell me she v strict when they all small dont allow them to eat ice-cream. at this point i v pek chek, so i say "then how come they all become sick often?" wah...the whole table quiet...hehehe...i secretly laughing inside n continue eating

wah..i complain so many things liao...pai seh..just cannot bear. this weekend gotta go back again, cos now PILs turn to host n everyone will come visit...XIAN!

baby emma
I'm interested but how old is the bb need to be ? in their pic, the bb looks like can kneel oredi leh..

hashihan
I was with mother and child for my prenatal.. still have some more time that can b use for postnatal. The thing is I havent use it at all :p
Is Sengkang CC having yoga exercise ?

Shint
U must feel relieved now... dont worry too much

Gayletan
I understand how u feel.. I oso felt the same like u.. Think I put it in the earlier post when I came back from visiting FIL.. when I read ur post, I reminded hb again " u see bb got to sleep one :p " hehehehe

shint,
gd to knw that Kai's ok. Must hv been worrying.
Thanks, got your email abt the transfer maid. Guess if she's not available alrdy, I will look out for others.

Gayle,
Wa... I didn't knw it was that bad for u.

For me, Chevelle was super cranky the moment she stepped into ILs. She doesn't like strangers including ILs. She doesn't like them to carry. The moment they carry, wa.... she will cry lo...
After crying, she slept while I ate something. Luckily, I alrdy ate at my parents' place for the reunion dinner. Dread nxt yr when duno if will hv reunion dinner at my parents' place first.

After she woke up, I also finished eating. Then had to drink milk. She was carried around and then again the whole cycle began. Cry, pacify, bring up to hubby's room to pacify, bring down again to let her see the relatives. Then this cycle will begin when she fusses.

Think I went upstairs to pacify/calm her down for 2 times at least.

My prob is the opposite, I think MIL no time to even carry my bb much. Cos she was too bz doing up the dishes (all hb's relatives will gather at ILs' place so MIL has to do the cooking) and after she was done, she had to look after her precious grandson (hb's younger bro's son). He was like climbing up and down. In fact, he was climbing up the grilled window next to me when I was feeding bb. Wa!!!! When MIL saw that, she had to bring him down. Lucky she did that, else if he fell, he wld fall on me and the bb!!!!
MIL then commented, this boy v active, must hv somebody to look after. Then I casually asked her: Why don't ask the maid to look after her?
For gdness sake, they hv 2 maids, surely one can take turns to look after him mah...
To that qn, MIL didn't reply. Haiz... really zhong nan qing nu I think. I remember asking her a 2nd time why the maid not taking care of him, again she had no reply.

dongle / gayle / reirei,
Not bad leh... at least u all dare to say something back. Me ah.... I don't dare, later say alrdy duno if will complain to hb or not.
For me, I rather "shao yi shi".

nini,
When MIL told me abt giving egg yolk to bb, hb was not present. Actually before reunion dinner, she alrdy mentioned it in front of both of us, but we just listen. I guess my hb's bochap abt this. Since like that, I also dun bother to argue w him on this.

re: egg yolk

from the phamlet i got from my pd in kk actually state that we can give mashed egg yolk to baby after 6 months, give about 1/2 to 1 egg yolk.

linx
baby yoga i think as long as u are comfortable handling baby's weight..initially i thought i wait till he can sit...but now i think now is a good time..coz he is not mobile yet...kekeke...wouldnt want him crawling around the place.

Shint
happy to hear that Kai is okay

Dongle
for me, it is not my in law but MY MUMMY i cannot tahan... she snatch SL over plus cross the road without using the traffic light while carrying SL...

Next baby #2
today i went for my pap smear at my gynae.. i ask him when i conceive another one..
he replied "when u hear National day song"

ruixuan,
you do pap smear so late? i did mine after 1 month+ after delivery. my gynae didn't even tell me the time frame to have 2nd baby. he just told me he will see me in 1 year time for pap smear or earlier if i'm not careful. haha....

I brought bb to PD today for checkup. He's still very small. He was 6.3kg at 5mths. Now 6mths, he is 6.6kg. Grow only 1cm taller. :|

Anyway, because he doesn't want to drink much and he also eats little cereal, the doc ask me to feed more smaller meals. Argh!! He's such a difficult bb to feed and I have to feed more often. I think I'll die of hyper-tension soon.

And also, can mix with cereal egg yolk or unsalted butter to add calories. I told him my bb has eczema from the last visit, he asked me did I feed egg yolk before? I said yes, and then since got no bad reaction to the egg yolk, it's ok. Anyway, he said usually egg yolk is safer to feed than egg white. Say egg white is what triggers allergies if the bb is reactive to it.

celyn
i did it late cos he say as long as i dun have menses i can do. what ur gynae is what my gynae's nurse say. kekee...