(2008/08) Aug 2008

Re: egg yolk
When MIL told me to give bb this, she was only 5mths old leh... I thought must wait til 6 tmhs?
MIL said give egg yolk is gd, will "bu nao". .....

Tmrw will be another hectic day.

My dad's side relatives will come over to my parents' place. Hope bb wun be cranky.

yuuri
Hmm.. Maybe with a more rested bb the remaining time he has is quality time, being able to pick up things faster?? Just a random, non-study based thought.. heheh

Quite sure Keston wld regulate his sleep pattern soon.. When he can start to play more, i think sleep wldn't be a 'priority' to him *lol*

krex
So sorry to hear what happened between u & hb yday.. Do let ur hb know tt bb do need to sleep early, otherwise they wld become really cranky & they can make us cranky & then it becomes a vicious cycle..

How's bb Jonah today??

mummygiraffe
Dunno what are our aftersch plans.. Dunno if I can rely on my parents, but it wld be quite a distance between MGS & my parents. But if my hb's job still gives him the mobility then, then we may not have to think of aftersch plans..

U mentioned tt u send Anna to infant care? Which centre?

ReiRei
My heart goes out to you.. I hope little Char will survive Mon.. Otherwise, like u mentioned, the back-up plan is to go out! Steer clear of each other's paths

hashisan
Oooh, Misaki's so adorable.. Hb enjoyed viewing her cutie pix.. I want to cuddle her too!!!

gayle
Gosh.. Ur hb doesn't rem tt bb need a lot of sleep ah? We gave some places a miss for the visitation coz we protect Ashley's afternoon nap. I can sacrifice one nap, tt is the morning's, but def not 2 naps... Otherwise she wld be super duper fussy, and then I wld be very jialat

U're right.. Just gather at 1 place, usually the most senior relative can liao.. Go here & there also abit boring, see the same faces, stuff the face with more calories. Thankfully both my parents & ILs just have 1 side to gather for each..

krex78,

thanks, will increase feed next monday, wkends no time to feed cereal.haha..is okie to take breaks from cereal rite?

briebaby,
think my boy smaller than ur boy wor.. he weighed only 6.1kg at 5mth++
next wk 6mths, dun think he had gained much looking at his skinny arms/legs.
jia you on ur feeding k...must perservere hor..

re : gluten free
read that babies must stay free from gluten, any reason why and for how long ah ? cos my frd passed me a can of nestle, it stated got traces of gluten & soy, any harm giving my boy at 6mths of age ?

maid

arrrghhh so angry with my maid...today i brought her with me to tanglin mall...SHE IS SO SO STUPID....dont use brain to do things...pointed to her this is where u put back the trolley basket. and then she pushed the trolley with all the bags inside and returned the trolley! i was like ! vomit blood...use your brain if u return the trolley how are u going to get the bags out?

ARRRRGH! i was so angry with myself for employing a maid and expecting her to know any better...must keep reminding myself she is a maid straight from the padi fields...

ARRRRGHHH!!! the more i think about it the more i dont want her near my baby....

brie/ ruixuan,

dun worry, i read somewhere that after 6 mths, bb will not put on weight so fast though physically they might look bigger since they need more "meat" to sit down, crawl, etc. i think the normal rate is not more than 1kg per mth. mine also growing quite slowly. each week only gaining 0.1kg or 0.2kg. the last i weighed, he was abt 6.6kg. but my maid commented he looks chubby now, unlike last time, more to skinny side. he eats well and likes his cereal very much, so i'm not too worried.

interrace,

ok to skip now since cereal is only a "filler" and not to replace any milk feed. but if your bb is conditioned to expect cereal at a particular time and seems hungry, better to feed lah. sometimes weekends i also skip if i'm outside, esp during CNY. no suitable place to feed and bb is busy socialising anyway, and not thinking abt food.

hisstory,

today i managed to bring bb home early as hb was out. so drove bb and maid home by 9pm. *smile* i managed to put him to sleep at 10pm so that he can rest awhile before his last feed at 11pm. however, he's fussing a lot now, dunno why. i can only hear, coz i'm in the room pumping. hb is taking care of him now. hope he will be in a better mood this weekend.

krex
Gd thing u managed to bring him home earlier today.. He also needs time to wind down leh
I hope ur hb & Jonah's mood wld be gd this weekend.. *hugs* Prob ur hb yelled at Jonah coz he also cannot take it anymore. If he cannot handle, better let someone else take over, if not so cham for himself & bb Jonah..

Gd night all!!!

babyemma,
wat time were u at tanglin mall ? I was there today for bernice's kindermusik at 3pm.

my maid everytime go supermarket will somehow manage to upset my hb with the way she push the trolley. she will go so close to people and always bang people. and she has this tendency to pull the trolley instead of push. i dono why. my prev maid also no IQ with trolleys.

anyway rant abit about my maid.. we have this pail for mopping floor which comes with this drying part that you put the mop(the cloth mop) in and then step on one leaver and it will press out the water (umm some european brand cant remember, blue color one cost $288 during sale) She very stubborn, told her many times to just use the leg step step few times to dry the water out, she like to stand ON the thing using her body weight. And finally the leaver now cannot come up. After telling her NOT to do it, I caught her doing it again today. So angry. My mom told her is she break the other one (we have 2) she is going to have to pay for it. I told her we buy things to make things easier for her, if she is not going to take care of the things and use properly then go back the primitive way of using cloth and hands.

Then today I developed some pics of bernice. I came back and my mom looked at them and showed some to the maid. Then she went to do her task. I was feeding juice to bernice at the table when my maid came over and just took the pics out from the envelop and started looking thru them WITHOUT asking me. My mom looked and me and then she said to my maid "you see the pics later mum scold you", my maid can rely back "see only what". wahhh i soooo angry. But i kept my cool until after dinner and after bernice slept, I told her it's very rude of her to just take things to see without asking for permission. It's not because she is a maid cos I wont take her things without asking. It's basic human respect. She apologized. But I still felt very upset.

haishisan: hehe he's fine. I think the jumperoo is a really great buy. It keeps him entertained everyday! He can be so bored @home but when he's in the jumperoo, he will keep screaming in excitment n laughing away.. As a parent, my heart really melt!
But the "side effect" is, when we try to hold him standing up, he will tend to keep jumping non-stop too!! haha!! This also train his leg muscle to be v strong.. Now he can even stand firmly for 2-3 secs.. So i think this is my ever-most best buy for toys! haha~ :D

dongle
Your mil knows you don't eat prawns and 'specially' cook prawns for you? Hmm...mine also like that. The other day my hb casually mentioned that I don't eat tow gei and the very next meal I ate at their house, she fried tow gei! I eat there 5 over years, this is the first time she 'specially' cook tow gei! Evil or what?

missysz
I think she was in my orientation grp in jc. Hehe..online friend? From blog ah?

reirei
Krex was saying she wanna migrate to get ILs out of the picture mah...I also wanna get ILs out of the picture but not by migrating, if you know what I mean! haha

HT cereal
How do you all mix ah? I tried mixing 1 teaspoon in 30ml water and also 30ml milk and it comes out v v watery. Is this correct? And what kind of bowl you use? I use a baby feeding bowl but the cereal so little, very hard to scoop!!

gayle,
sorry to interrupt. But me also like you. For cny, my side only go to couple of places and then all stay at one place to hang out. But hb side? Must go to every household to “chong ren qi”. Ai yo, it’s so tiring cos his relatives begin to start visiting the 1st place only from 2pm onwards. And there are so many households, uncles lah, cousins lah.. by the time at 3rd household, already 5+pm liao!!! Dr here and there like crazy. Some more see the same people at every place. My poor bb sleep and wake. Everytime cranky, I must latch. I also feed until I back pain… I told hb that’s not productive. Been telling him 10 years liao.. fall on deaf ears. Goodness, when more and more cousins get married, we probably need a week to complete all the household visits! And cover entire Singapore! Haha.. ^^

Shint,
Good to know your bb better.
Maybe stomach getting used to changes..?

History,
Hi there! Anna goes to a childcare in HDB hub. You heard of it? Very reasonable price and there are about 10 babies there. It’s also a childcare and studentcare. So my #1 promoted to studentcare aft her k2 there. This place is my #1 3rd childcare liao. Her 1st one is the best but too bad, no proper classroom system to prep her for p1.
Yup, plan for p1 only when the time comes lah.. now, just enjoy the time with your bb.

Nite!

i think bernice is soooo demanding. she constantly wants someone to play with her, if she is in a good mood she will play in her exersaucer for abt half hour.. else even when she plays in it she wants someone to be there with her. i can't even walk away to get something in the kitchen... ARRRGGGHHHH !!!!! But the minute she sees me, she gives this mega smile to melt my heart.. hahaha..

Celynlee,
The PD say bb's weight would triple birth weight by 1yr. So yes, the weight gain will slow down around 6mths.

ruixuan,linx, celyn, valnsw, hashisan, mummygiraffe, happy_mummy,

Thanks for concern and advice.

Kai has taken his feed just now and so far, he has not thrown up another time.
He's now fast asleep. Hope he's back to normal.

I see how, maybe tomorrow i gotta try again and if he does, i better go buy another brand liaoz.

Guess i am in more of a hurry cos i am left with only 2 FBM left in the fridge.
Maid did not tell me. Last time i checked it was at least 7 packets there.
On CNY, we used 2 packets and 1 packet was broken ... wasted.

Maybe I should start him on cereal liaoz ah? if he is not taking to FM. My EBM is slightly short of his consumption.

How to decrease his intake ah? anyone tried?
he is now taking 180ml * 7 feeds.
I am trying to get maid to feed him lesser for the nite feed cos she says he'll be dream feeding and might fall asleep before he finishes the feed.
so i can save some milk ..haha.

For now, I am trying to pump more times to increase the FBM supply.
*Stress. How to produce so much milk ah?????

catherine
I totally understand what you mean! My boy's also been like this for the past week! He can play in his gym or jumperoo v happily as long as one of us is nearby watching him...but if we walk off for just 1 second, he will immediately start wailing! Come back, he smile sweetly again! PiangZ! Best thing is when he was taking a nap this morning, I was abt to walk out of the room when he started stirring. His eyes squinted, saw me leave the room and started wailing!!! Come back and he smile and fall back asleep!

Yuuri,
Now they are recognising us more and wanna choose liao ma. Accordingly to babycentre chart .. kekeke.

Kai oso ... if walk away, then he makes alot of noise. Come back talk to him only, he smiles and responds. vv busy ah.
Sometimes i'd just talk in and look at him. Kai'd give me a smile with his eyes half closed .. he knows mommy's here with him and he'd close his eyes fully after giving me a grin. hehehe. so cute rite?

Hi all mummies

Happy New Year to all. Finally managed to finish reading all the posts by skimming through.

Happy mummy- sorry to hear about Adel's fall. Good to know he's fine.

Shint- I also very stressed about not producing enough breast milk coz the supply in the fridge is falling. So everyday, I calculate how much I pump and how much she is taking. If I don't produce enough to replace the EBM, then I'll be quite stressed and try to put in an extra pump or pump after she has latched on. Also starting to think about FM but hoping can tahan for another 1-2 months.

Mabel has been acting strange these few days. She's getting very difficult to feed and a few times, even refused to be latched on. Then if I feed her bottle, after awhile, she will fidget and wriggle and wants to sit up. She's also drinking less. I'm feeding her 1x cereal and 1x sweet potato for this whole week. Next week will try carrots. But she not so keen on sweet potato..

I also very confused about feeding times now. Coz if I follow the chart given by hospital, it means I will be feeding her every 2-3 hours with the milk feeds as well as the supplements like cereal etc. Told hubby, like that I spend whole day feeding, cleaning, playing with her- I no need to wrok liao. Haiyah.

Re CNY- lucky I no need to visit anyone. Everyone just gathers at my grandmother's place on the 2nd day for lunch. Very noisy but also good for catching up with all at one shot. Less stressful as well.

baby emma- the sean lau photo session can only be done during Feb is it?

Shint,

great to hear that Kai is ok!

Meredith also will give me a smile with her eyes half closed ..when she know that I am holding her, she will close her eyes fully after giving me a grin too. Sometimes she will check who is feeding her... of course me loh.. bf mah.. who else. hahaha!!

When we go out and reach home, I will bath then change her clothings n diaper. These few days.. when I step out or before I can step out,hb already outside of the toilet with her in tears in her eyes. She looking for me to hug n feed n sleep.

So most babies will wail or make noise when we are nt around? Sometimes Meredith can play herself awhile, sometimes she very manja n keep wanting to play with me. Even sleep will check if I am around...

I think they grow up and change very fast leh. hahaha!!

oh.......btw....... weight is 3x in 1 year? Meredith like Kai is 2.5 x liao loh... later they grow slower???

morning mommies,
I'm up for pump again cos Kai woke for milk. Last nite feed was ok and now, it looks normal. He finished his milk and had gone back to sleep.

Prob I will try one more time today in the afternoon to see how he reacts to the FM. If he vomits again, then I have to change to another brand to try and see.

Hopefully he can find 1 milk that's suitable for him. I suspect maybe Enfalac might not be suitable .... will monitor and experiment to see how.

krmeow,
I should have been Gan Cheong earlier. Left only 2 pkts then i start trying FM. Maybe you want to start trying earlier, if u have slightly more. I had like 7 pkts last week i checked only, dunno why so fast disappeared liaoz.

Sianz .... i am trying hard to pump 2 feeds for Kai .... but i am not meeting that quota, only managed 1.5 feed. Maybe i am abit stressed out that his FBM is running out and i have to produce more. Must learn to relax .... relax .... relax ....

shint,

dun stress yourself...else end up u get less milk. actually 7x a day is quite often...i only feed mine 5x a day coz' trained him to sleep thru the nite liao. dun think u'll want to cut intake esp if kai is a big drinker and will feel hungry if u give him less milk. either u replace one feed with FM, but if he reject, then u may want to supplement with cereal liao. for me, i replaced the nite feed with FM and started cereal coz' jonah was quite distracted during milk time when i latched him on. turns out when i feed him cereal, he seemed hungry and always wanted more. now i think he seldom cries out of hunger coz' his stomach is also filled with either cereal or milk, haha.

jumperoo:

looks like a lot of mummies have this. is it really gd? how much was it selling for at mattel sale? dunno whether to buy for in law's place cos they got no playpen there. is it too harsh 4 the legs if bb jumps vigorously? there's no landing pad leh.

morning mummies

shint,
maybe you should not cut down kai's feed but give him more on the last feed (6 feed of the day), then skip the 7 feed (midnight one). unless he wake up and cry for milk then no choice must give lah. if he is ok with fm, then put it to the last feed. see if he can last till next day and sleep through. you still feed him every 3 hour?

don't stress ok. stress cause ss to drop.

ruixuan,
3 times, birth weight at 1 year. ok. yu ze only hit 2 times now, should be able to hit 3 times by then.

krex78,
last mattel sale, its selling at $150 or $180.

Are you bring babies along? I try to get some kueh kueh..

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma (1kg round cream or cheese cake)
6. Linx
7. Happie
8. Apriltan (nonya kueh kueh)
9. Smurfette

shint
y dun try to introduce cereal to kai ? since he is already 5 month old rite? this will lessen ur stress of trying to produce enuff for his feed..plus this might be a good time to start intro cereal into his diet..

im going to make fish porridge for kaer today..so that's one less milk feed..good cuz my ss has been dropping..so i think by month end of feb..i will stop expressing ...will give kaer full formula milk liao..come to think of it..feeling a bit strange that have to stop breastfeeding..hmm..have been on this routine for so long..

re: HT order

I just got email from the co. Barley cereal & Jasmine Chicken Luau (Jar) are out of stock. it'll take 4 weeks to arrive in Singapore.

Would you like to wait or change ur order to something else?

YLN
Am also thinking when I want to start Ashley on FM.. Feels weird tt when the moment comes, it really is the end of bf oredi..

krex
U not considering an exersaucer ah? Seems the exersaucer has a higher weight limit than the jumperoo..

mummygiraffe
Hmm, i havent heard of the centre at HDB hub, coz I was looking at one in NUS (near my workplace).. What's the bb-caregiver ratio ah?

I might have to turn to infant care if my parents can't manage 2 babies + 1 toddler..

Krex
jumperoo is good as my son love to play with the toys on it. i dun owe one but i bring him to kiddy palace to try out. but one thing my son's feet cannot reach the floor when he is in Jumperoo.

i trying to get one.

Hisstory
for infant care, better to get one near the house unless u drive. cos in case ur hubby (who drive) can't send u. dun tell me u can manage to send ur baby over.

mummygiraffe,

What's the name of the childcare centre in Toa Payoh? Can it also be for infants, i.e. less than 1.5 yrs old?

May want to explore this option too.

ruixuan
Hmm, i prefer one nearer my workplace coz in event of anything, i can go pick up bb faster.. Partially i also prefer the envt of the infantcare centre at NUS over those in my neighbourhood.. But still no firmed up plans at the moment

Thanks for all your concerns.
Today I went to the PD to get some sample milk sample to let Kai try ....
They gave me Isomil Advance for 6 months one and also i requested for milk-based sample for him to try, and was given Mamil Gold.

Just now I let him try on Isomil 30ml only with 130ml of my breastmilk. Dun wan him to take too much.
So far he's ok .. no sign of throwing up. But he did BURP vv loud and farted alot.

Hopefully he is ok .. tomorrow then i will start back on the Enfalac and see if he can take it .. if he throws up on Enfalac again, that would mean he is allergic to it.
Then have to try other brands like Similac , Mamil Gold which I have the smaller tins.

celyn,
I tried to give Kai 200ml previously and he still wakes up after 3 hours for feed.
So i gather it does not really help to give him more.

Now I am trying out on FM. But so far, it seems with Enfalac, he throws up.
1. When he has jaundice, he drank 4 times and out of the 4, he threw up twice.
2. Yesterday, i only gave him 30ml, he threw up and even for the next feed of BM.

krex78,
Ya, me thinking of starting cereal liao ..... tot of waiting till 6 months but well, see how.
If he can take FM, then i will still start on 6 months.

YLN,
I just went to buy a packet of Heinz Rice Cereal .. jus to standby.
Worried cos i did not try out FM until yesterday ... and he threw up. Suddenly i was thinking, what if i really din produce enough for his feed and all my FBM runs out, what is he gonna drink?

I am quite ok with the current pumping schedule. No plans to change that.
THe only thing is that what i produce is not sufficient to fully feed Kai.
Actually like u said, we're so accustomed to pumping and it feels weird not to pump rite? hehe.

Catherine,
TPY is far for me, but just wondering which childcare it is, see if they hv branches somewhere in the east.

Finally all the activities over, bb is tired out and sleeping. Hopefully tonight she can sleep better. She only slept at 2AM this morning til 10AM.

Ruixian,

do u intend to rent the jumperoo? There is a place to rent it. Maybe u can consider?

Saw you searching for it for quite sometime liao. Just a suggestion.

Mummies... when you start solid food.... must it be cerel or brown rice? Can I start with puree?

Will it be replacement of one feed like cereal too?

Take an EXTRA 50% off Old Navy Clearance!

5 DAYS ONLY--exclusively online

Don't miss your chance to save even more on already low prices, now through February 2.

sylvia,

U fan of ON? haha everytime see u announce the sale.

For the solid food, I will start with smaller amount, i.e 1 serving. Follow the instructions as per the box. Then first time, best to mix with BM or FM so that bb still can taste the milk. Then gradually increase to 2x a day. Then can start to add water instead of milk.

The cereal not enough to replace one feed, I think more like a filler.

These few days my gal doesn't wana drink much, duno isit she's teething or cos she had quite abit of cereal that she doesn't want so much milk.

Hi to the new mummies!

Switching to FM
For mummies who are trying out FM for babies above 6 months, remember to ask for free sample. I got a free tin of the Similac Follow-On 400g from Abbott - http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/freesamples/child_samples.asp

900g tin is also on offer at NTUC now... $33.45 Kiasu mommy here already bought 2 tins to standby liao kekeke...

Porridge
Any mommies started porridge yet? Using slow cooker or just normal cooking pot? I holding out till baby is closer to 6 months which is in 2 weeks so better start planning first..

vern,
i also receive sample for similac and will be receiving sample for friso too.

i had already started porride. i used normal cooking pot then transfer to slow cooker. i realise when i switch to keep warm for slow cooker, it will still dry up the porridge. don't know how leh.

shint,
i see. maybe you want to start him on solid soon loh. once yu ze starts on solid, he can skip the midnight feed and now having only 6 feeds. so in a way its not tiring having to wake up to feed.