(2008/08) Aug 2008

coolsnow
if u buying the HT teething biscuits..put on hold first..personal experience..bb too young for HT teething biscuit..i let kaer try that day..all she did was lick it..n after half an hour..the whole biscuit still there!.the biscuit is too hard now for bbs..i dunno if catherine has the same experience..but my kaer still cannot bite the hard parts..so i bought the Heinz teething biscuit instead...and she chew 3/4 of it!..left 1/4...gave it to the dog!..heehee..cuz VERY VERY messy...sigh..think Heinz is much more softer after got saliva..then its easier for bbs to chew off and swallow...but the HT one..very hard and very dirty..cuz brown colour biscuit..

Shint,
Thanks for the offer, but i bought fenugreek oredi. Hiyoh... think ss drop till v pathetic liao.. until today menses came! Lagi more jialat... :S I'll keep trying... bf as long as i can still supply.... at least bb now 6 months old le.. hahaaa reached the 'target' set by WHO. :p

Paiseh.. really no time to log in.. will try to catch up soon! ;)

sean lau photoshoot

YAY! got 20 already..anymore ppl interested...aye interested august mummies...i pmed u all...pls response..i dont have ur emails...cannot forward u all details. the more mummies the cheaper...it think if we hit 30 possibly can go down to $160!

Baby in Good mood
today i think Mark XIN QIN HENG HAO. wake up smiled at mummy....today i also feel alot less tired...yesterday was very very very very very tired...today just very tired =) think the level of depression is linked to the level of exhaustion =P

thank you for all your concern. Adel looks fine, drinking well and chuckling at times. In fact, hb says he seems abit out, laughing to himself... other than that, no vomiting and crying loudly.

RX,
wow ! SL is famous ! keep all the magazines and pamphlets so that he can pass down through generations ! LOL

Cool,
I've mailed your package last night, look out for me and keep me posted.

Shint,
hope you will feel better soon. You really have a strong bout of flu. i had fever on Tues, the day Adel fell. Temp was 38.9. After eating the antibiotics and fever medicine, am feeling better now.

Tomorrow I return to work already. It's back to teaching, marking and lesson planning. So may not have time to log in so often. Take care everyone! =)

Baby emma
ya lor... if we r very very very tired, we got irritated quite easily... today I'm oso feel like that.. for this 2 nite, my bb doesnt sleep properly, woke up every hour
dunno what happened.. feel very sleepy but cant sleep

Mrs N
Where r u now exactly ? sorry just curious

Solid for bb
confused when to make thicker cereal for bb and when to increase the amount cos she doesnt even finished 1 tbps
then how long after cereal we need to feed milk ?

less milk intake
wanna check with mommies here, if ur bbs drinking less, is the next feed still stick with the schedule or need to b adjust ? TIA

lingling,

Now I just feed on demand, cos my bb is so cranky, give her at the time I think she is hungry, end up she doesn't want or only takes half.

sylvia,

Interesting article fr babycenter. By right the frequency shd drop but then my bb's total intake is miserable!!!

ruixuan,
heh? How come need to fill up the table? Tot there was a table alrdy?

shint,
wa... your condition sounds serious. U mean your cough got so bad that your voice no more??

baby_emma,
I think it is true that the level of exhaustion is linked to the depression. Cos sometimes when bb is naughty, I'll be v pek chek, rather than depressed. But can understd how u feel, cos especially if you're the only one handling bb.

Last few nights, I got a taste of it, cos since CNY Day 1 I've been letting bb sleep w me and hubby. Usually was the maid who slept w her.

morning mummies
hb just left for KL.. freedom for the weekend

valnsw,
if i end up at the gathering, i collect for u.

reirei,
bernice is still taking 2tbsp only. cos since she is a small drinker so i dont want to over feed her. she manage to finish her 2tbsp and doesnt fuss for more so i'm leaving at that. and also i am giving her once a day only. her milk intake reduced slightly but not really very significantly.

krex,
i havent intro veg, but i did give her pumpkin puree and i just steamed it and mash it up. will do the same with carrots. I think spinach puree will be abit yucky.. hahaha should mix with cereal or porriage better. haha.

YLN,
I think the HT teething biscuits is meant to be that hard else if they are able to bite off then may be abit dangerous. Thats why it's meant for them to "chew" on it to massage the gums yet at the same time taste the sweetness of the slowly melted parts.

babyemma,
I PMed you back. Yes i'm interested. but when can we confirm this ? cos i want to let bernice take during her 6 mths. Small milestone for my collection.

glad you're feeling better today

happymummy,
sayang adel

Valnsw
ya lor... me oso the same.. after waking up in the morning she can last long w/out milk. Like last nite her last intake is around 1.30 am then til 8 am she still ok, no cry one but I thought after ard 6 hrs like that she must b hungry so I made the milk but she only drank half of it

If she can skips this kind of feed for nite one, I'll b glad cos means she can sleep thru but this is the other way ard... :p

Cat
when u gave bernice pumpkin then u mashed, do u need to add water or milk to make the consistency watery ? or just feed like that ? a little bit thick then ?

Sigh, hv something here to rant or rather think about.

My mum saw on the night of CNY eve, the maid throwing the baby roughly onto the sofa bed that both the maid and bb was sleeping on. (U see, my maid and bb will sleep downstairs in the room that usually is used as the maid's room) My mum was so furious that she almost wanted to slap the maid but stopped herself so as not give the game away.

She just pretend to say "How is my Velle Velle?" from outside the room as if she was about to go in.

Think the maid got a scare but she still gave a silly smile back. Then my mum took the chance to say let her carry my bb since she was not sleepy and told the maid just to go to sleep.

Ever since then, my mum told me better not to let the maid look after bb at night. She said this was not the first time she saw the maid doing this.

Since then, the maid's face is v "black" and I guess it's cos her conscience is acting her up.

Then, since that night, even though the maid will come up to ask me if bb sleep alrdy and to take over, I will tell her that bb is alrdy asleep etc tell her to go to sleep nevermind. Which was actually true.

Normally, if bb is asleep, the maid will bring bb to the maid's room to sleep. However, last night she actually brought bb up to me after bb fell asleep from playing too much. It was as if she assumed that I would take care of bb in the night after the past 2 nights when this should have been her duty!!!

From this and what I observed, she has no heart to take care of bb unless I specifically instruct her. She will find ways and means to do household chores which were not required nor urgent, instead of offering to take care of bb. Like this, what for I hire her?!! I might as well take care of bb myself.

With this incident, plus last time I saw the maid feeding my bb in lying down position, I'm super angry and alrdy no longer hv trust in this maid. Plus that time, her hubby called the house tel number quite a few times, and she also didn't tell me except the 2 times I happened to be at home and I picked up the calls same time as her.

Now I'm definitely going to send this maid away. So now, the headache part is: Should I hire a new maid but don't let her take care of bb at night, or get a babysitter?

My heart is telling me I want to take care of bb myself fully, cos either way there is the risk of bb being mistreated unless I'm there to jagar (no offence to Celyn and Ruixuan who hire babysitters, but saying this just in general).

Also there're considerations to think of: me moving to new house, then who's going to be there to supervise maid if I need to go out for work appointments and whether I want to become a SAHM for these reasons.

Really cracking my head over this.

ruixuan,

The plan is to send away the current maid as I no longer trust her.
Then I'm thinking whether to get new maid or use babysitter.

Damn stressed right now.

Valnsw
got to take it easy when send baby to babysitter's place cos yday i realise that babysitter was bringing baby here and there.. (which i dun like, but hubby say good as SL can exposed to outside)
SL ever come home with mosquito bites (hubby say that all this are natures' stuff)

catherine
so bernice will finish the HT biscuit? if so, wow..she is good ..
..kaer only lick and lick ..tried to bite and chew off..but very hard..after half an hr..i see so messy ..and the biscuit still in one piece..i took away from her..

ruixuan
im going for the BJG trial this sunday at 1.30pm..think they opened another class..u going?

linx,
i mix the mashed pumpkin with some water to get the right consistency. I think pumkin already very creamy so if add milk will be abit too "jelat"

val,

for me, i hire maid mainly to do housework and cook. taking care of bb is a plus if i'm not free. bb sleeps in his cot in the same room as her at night. we expect her to be able to soothe him to sleep if he wakes up. but sometimes, we also have to do it ourselves if she can't manage.

mrs n,

dun think i can feed solids tog with milk. seems like a lot. i have better luck feeding in between meals to fill his stomach, but that also means it eats into his nap times. these days, my bb can sleep instantly after cereal. dun even need to rest or burp, haha. when we have to replace 1 milk feed with solid, i'll prob just give him a full meal, e.g. cereal/ porridge with veg and/ or meat and drop the milk completely at 12pm.

Hi Baby Emma ,

I`m from the May forum Mummy

I have email you on the Sean Lau `s studio abt my interests yesterday .Can I check when can I start to make appointment with Sean Lau .
As was thinking to bring next week for the photo taking .

Please email [email protected] , PM or can find me in May forum .

Thank alot for your help !!!

YLN,
no la .. cannot finish la.. hahaha. after abt half hour i also took away. and of cos had to bathe her and clean up the mess she made. hahaha. Cannot complain to much abt this cos i gave half of her HT to briemummy .. hahaha.

krex,

I thought u are working? Then in the daytime, if maid is doing the household chores, who is taking care of Jonah?

So far, u're ok with her, except that sometime she cannot soothe Jonah to sleep right?

My prob w this maid is I cannot trust her to take care of bb at night liao after these incidents. Day time she can take care, but somebody must be there to jagar else I duno what she will do to bb. Though I think most likely wun do anything funny cos I think the maid is pek chek/impatient at night cos I knw my bb is a tough one to coax to sleep.

Cat,
Yup, it wld be gd if u can help me collect the HT cereals. haha the way u say, "if you end up at the gathering" ;P

ruixuan,
So u hv issues w ur babysitter? That was what I was afraid of. I duno isit I'm too demanding or too particular but ya, we women tend to be more concerned about such stuff while the men just take it as nothing much.

But I guess if we hv to work, then we hv to close one eye. If your bbsitter is gd to SL, I guess that's minor.

For me, the maid alrdy did some unforgivable things, so total loss in trust in her.

That's why I'm v concerned if I hire another maid, to just leave bb w her, duno if I fang xin or not.

krex78,

i heard fm sister kang tat bb stomach cannot process vege initially. the fibre fm the vege will be pooed out exactly as we feed them. it takes time for bb to get used to vege lor

val
Sounds like ur maid bor xin to look after bb huh?
I think must specify to the agent tt u want one who has experience with bb and really likes bb.. But guess at the end of the day, also no guarantees..

Bb sitter may be an option? Hopefully u get to find someone who truly enjoys taking care of children..

ling
I've got the same question as u too.. My ger is latched on & her duration for feeds are really short. Though my mum attributes to faster milk flow & better suckling techniques by my ger

The thing is my ger doesn't fuss for milk, so I thought might as well stick to 4hrly, and not disrupt the schedule.. But am i wrong to do tt too??

Catherine,
I oso gave Char 2 teaspoons yday but she din finish all.
Gave her milk, she oso din finish.
Char is a small baby, so i hafto keep monitoring her intake to make sure i'm not under-feeding her..haiz..

Valnsw,
oh dear! if i were ur mom, i'd be screaming at the maid oredie. how could she throw bb on the bed?! Is ur maid married wif kids?
My mom's maid is abt 30yo..married wif 2 kids..she's v mature and takes v good care of my 1yo nephew. Feed him, bathe him, etc..
But no matter how good she is, nite feeds are still done by my mom (weekdays) and bro & sil (weekends).
Maybe u can let the maid handle bb but make sure one of u is around to watch over the maid..dun let the maid be alone wif bb.

hisstory / ling,

For me, I feed on demand but of course will not drag to more than 5 hrs. If by then she cannot finish the milk, what I do is to use the remaining milk to put into the cereal to feed her. Else will be wasted and gd way to get her to take the milk in a different way.

I guess for both of you bfeeding no prob w wastage of milk.

hisstory,

I also hope can find somebody who likes taking care of children. Now waiting for the magical 18 mths then can put her into childcare liao.

reirei,
Ya I knw, I wld be screaming too but I think gotta act cool now, cos I dowan her to do stupid things or run away then I v chams. After the experience of the previous maid who really knw how to zhuo hee.

My maid is married w 2 kids, which makes me wonder how the heck she can do that, somemore under my parents' roof.

So hor, really duno what all thes maids are thinking.

Thank you for the welcome!

I stay in the Aljunied/Geylang area - anyone near me? We can go East Coast Park jalan-jalan!

I'll be taking bb to Botanic Gdns tmrw, but I don't think I'll suggest meeting up then, cuz I have a cold and I don't want to pass that to any baby here.

I can bring donuts to next Fri's gathering! Unless people want more healthy stuff? Or goodies from Geylang like tau huay or frog legs porridge?

dear mummies,

i'm new to this thread. hope you gals dont mind. =)

i've 2 gals, Ashley who is 7 years and Anna who is 5+ months old. both gals are allergic to cow's milk. they get severe eczema. =( i'm thinking of starting Anna on HappyBellies cereal cos it's non-dairy. wat's HT?

am wondering if any one of your babies are already teething?

Val,

what one of my frds did was.. when she has to work, she will bring the maid with the bb and sit next to the meeting room or when they are in hotel lounge. The table for kids will be nearby for her to watch.

If u can find one who is patient, that's a plus. As most have this attitude after a while... bottom line... the bb is not theirs.

For the babycenter... I think they also mean... other than frequency, lesser intake too? Distraction is also one of the factor to lesser intake.

hi everyone...
HT cereal is open for orders! i tink we still need more orders to get 15%.

shint..
not sure leh...cos my 1st time ordering and feeding too.
thanks krex for helping me with the qns!!

ruixuan...
thanks for collating!
timminbuzz/ boy/ ethan/ 12 Aug

missyz...
can collect @ my place? AMK.

everyone who ordered HT...
i've got more than $150 but slightly less than $250 of orders right now. should be able to order soon!

Valnsw
I'm using fm leh.... if more than 1 hr cant b used again rite ?

hisstory
I guess as long as ur bb weight is increased, mayb shouldnt b a problem...

Cat
Ohh, mixed with water uh ? so make it bit watery or already can started little bit thicker ? I found the watery consistency bit diff to feed the bb cos once the hands move that's all :p or if she doesnt swallow it just play the toungue :p

Timminbuzz
My order :
Brown rice 1 pack
Oatmeal cereal 1 pack
Barley Cereal 1 pack
Mixed grain 2 pack

Have no idea at all how many quantities we better get :p maybe u can post all the order so far so I can 'copy' heheheh
So we have reached the $250 mark ?? Yuppieee..

I sent this to ur pm oso..

mummygiraffe
Welcome !! U can use the soy based milk then if they r allergic to cow's. HT = Healthy times. It's a brand for organic baby food

Happie, Happy mummy, Linx & Saigonapple...
got ur orders!

mummies...
i tink we have reached our $250 mark! yippeee!!!
will call person in-charged asap to see when delivery can be made. thanks!

missysz...
sorry eh...cos i'm SAHM, i'm usually @ home. and if i do go out, i've to take public. so it's a lil difficult to handle bb and orders. hope u understand.

val
My bf-ing got wastage of milk too..When i express out the milk & she rejects the bottle *bleah*

I'm also hoping tt my ger can go childcare soon.. Then i dun have to think of logistical arrangements and wonder if my parents wld be able to cope..

ling
Tt's true.. Can use weight as a yardstick..

hi Sylvia,
thanks for the welcome! cheers!

hi ling ling,
tks! ya, i'm still bf so i can't products with milk like ice cream, chocolate and many others.. =( but for the good of my baby.. no choice lor.

hi Timminbuzz,
how much is each pack and if in time, can i still order? if not, it's ok.

hi missysz,
i also stay in the west, dunearn area. you?