(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi hisstory,

my gals are:
Ashley, 7years, 2 Dec 2002, P1 @MGS (Had a stressful P1 regis last year) haha..
Anna, 5mo, 27 Aug 2008

mummygiraffe & happydough...
can still order. check out webbie...healthytimes.sg. we get 15$ off. collection @ my place. amk ok? can PM me orders? so i can track. it's hard to track e thread. thanks thanks!

mummies...
just called the person in-charged. delivery by next fri no prob. yay! i'll email to all who ordered the order list and acct info by tonight. pls check the orders and transfer the $. thanks thanks!!!
let me know when u've transfered.

mummygiraffe
That's a huge age gap between the 2 sisters
Does Ashley dote on Anna??

Am also thinking of MGS.. Hmm, stressful registration? How so?

hi timminbuzz,

yup, i'll pm you in awhile. yes, amk should be ok but is it anytime cos if i can't make it, i may ask my mum to help first. hehe..

hi hisstory,

ya, we actually only wanted 1 kid cos my 1st preg was quite tough. but when my fren told me it's not easy on one child when parents grow old and when Ashley asked me for a sibling, we thot why not. Anna is a miracle cos i had a major back op in 2006 and we did not know if i can go through the 2nd preg, esp when i can't take epidural.

yep, Ashley dotes on Anna alot and being the gals' mum, i always am on the lookout for same type of clothes for them, which is difficult cos the age gap is big. haha..

reg the P1 regis, i could only regis in phase 2C. there were only 210 slots in whole cohort and by this phase, only 37 was left! i was 7 months pregnant then and almost freaked out. had to keep fingers crossed everyday, especially during the 3 days of regis. really stressed out then cos i did not have a backup plan. luckily, just nice 37 kids were registered and all of us got in without any ballot. really phew...

where are you staying? near MGS too?

mummygiraffe
That's really sweet of Ashley.. And *hugs* to mummy! For braving the odds & enduring the labour cum pregnancy

heheh, shd be really cute to see the 2 sisters dolled up looking alike! I hope when I've a #2, it wld be a ger too

Oh wow.. Another miracle in the registration.. Now Anna can also have a place in MGS..

I stay in Bishan.. But am a Methodist, so aiming to send the little one to either PLMGS or MGS

been busy with CNY visiting & went back to work yesday... 2day & fri on leave cos my mum went on cruise... cayla kena flu & cough from duno who
during CNY visiting... she cried so much... so heartache!!!

val,
why not you & HB try to take care of chevelle at night? think it will improve your bonding with baby since daytime you dont get to see her much... then you dont have to worry about the maid... your maid must be tired/stressed with doing all the housework + cook + take care of baby... i think she must be very exhausted at night till she vent her frustration at your baby...

personally, i dont trust my maid to let her take care of cayla at night cos baby cant talk... & she is that kind of maid who love kids & always want to "snatch" cayla away from me somemore... my mum is 60+ aledi so cant impose on her at night since she take care of her from 8am to 8pm every weekday... anw my HB will do most of the stuffs like wipe baby, change diaper/clothes & night feed while i pump milk... i overheard my HB telling his own nanny that he take care of cayla at night & he can see that she responds to him whenever he talks/keep looking at him/smile at him etc & he said it's worth it... keke...

sam,

so is it ok to continue feeding veg or intro again when older?

val,

my mil takes care of bb. she does the feeding, bathing, diapering, etc. if maid does any of these, she must supervise. if i'm looking after bb from home when on leave, i allow my maid to diaper and play with bb, but seldom let her feed and bathe bb. i find maid easier to control but if bb sitter, sometimes dun dare to scold cos they're older and more experienced than u. dunno if putting bb monitor will help give u peace of mind? or if u're sahm, why not let bb room in with u? u can still catch up on sleep in the day but working mums like me can't, so i seldom handle bb at night once he sleeps.

timmin,

w/c part of amk u stay?

krex78,

i forgot whether she said to stop or continue le. pai seh. juz rem she said no need to worry abt bb pooing out the fibre strands. maybe can check with the lactation consultant at the hospital you delivered. or introduce veges with less fibre?

hisstory!

tks!
kudos to all mommies here too.

yep, they look really cute when dressed the same and posed tog, esp when one is so big and other so small. haha.. my sil says i bit siao.

ya, my hb loves gers when i initially wanted a boy but thank God, whether gers or boys, as long as they are healthy and happy.

MGS is a good school with quite a good system. we are happy with the choice. and yes, now i do not have to worry about Anna's school.

oh, i used to stay in Bishan till i got married 10 years ago. my mom still stays there so i'm there pretty often plus i work in TP.

hi timminbuzz,

i cant seem to get through the website le..tried many x liao but i supposed it's much cheaper than if i buy from outside yah?

mummygiraffe...
hmmm...i tried. ok leh. the web's price is more or less the same as NTUC but we can get 15% off for orders $250 and above.
let me know by tonight if u wanna order. i'm ordering tmr. cos trying to get it delivered by next fri in time for the gathering.

shirley...
can. let me know by tonight? i'm ordering tmr.

timminbuzz,

sigh.. think something wrong with my comp. cant hear sounds too. ha, got opportunity to buy i-mac liao. haha..

okok, i'll let you know by tonight if ordering. will pm you. tks le..

i've emailed everyone who had ordered. paiseh...sent 2 emails cos forgot to attach file in 1st one. :D

mummygiraffe...
good ah...can buy i-mac!!! hee...
ok...no probs!

YLN, thanks for the advice on HT teething biscuits. Will not be buying that then..

Happy mummy, can't wait to receive it so that can bring her to swim..thanks....sayang Adel too..very heartpain to see them falling off bed..

lingling,
Which brand of formula milk u using? Cos for Enfalac, it's stated after 2 hrs cannot use liao.

sylvia,
U're so right abt it, bottomline the baby is not theirs so they bochap. Which is super worrying for me if I were to leave the bb w maid.
My hubby is so qing song, said jus leave the kid w maid.

dongle,
I don't mind taking care of bb at night. Hb is ok with it. But of course, we're hoping that the maid can help out especially hb is working and myself too in a way.

The fact is, my mum alrdy told the maid no need to cook. So she just only wash clothes, iron clothes, clean toilet and the floor. Except these few days, cos CNY, outside dun sell food, must cook. Even then, during this period, she didn't really take care of bb in the day cos hb, my parents and I take turns to look after bb in the day. So I duno what reason she has to be tired or frustrated about.

I think in the end, it boils down to the fact that she has no "heart" to take care of bb.

I knw what u mean by our bb responding to us. Cos Chevelle has started to recognise both her daddy and me. Yday when hb was back, she saw him and she opened her arms out wide as if she wanted him to carry her.

mummygiraffe,
Welcome!
BTW which part of Aljunied/Geylang u live? haha, cos my ILs live around that area.

timminbuzz,
wait for me, i will order more stuff lor ... hee.
How much u have so far?
i can collect at your place, my office is near.
PM me on your address.

I might be able to make it next Fri though ... maybe can take 1/2 day .. that is if i have recovered from my cough else i dun dare to go too.

valnsw,
yes, my cough is bad. I had seen 4 docs and 1 chinese physician ... no help yet. Getting my 2nd round of antibiotics.

Voice is vv sexy now .... ya, like a man.

Hi mummygiraffe

I'm also a SAHM and am fully BF my son who is 5.5mths now. Wow.. I see you are very conscious about your diet! For me.. I only abstain from seafood (which I just recently found out includes fish - only can eat ikan kurau), nuts, alcohol and overly spicy foods.

Other than that.. I generally eat just about anything and everything else! Haha..

Why can't you take milk based products?

Mummygiraffe

Sorry.. just read your earlier post about your girls' eczema problem.. I see now. Sure hope they will outgrow it! What discipline you must have to abstain from all the snacks!

hi val,

haha.. i think you got me mixed up with another person. i live around dunearn, nearer to clementi side. but my parents live at bishan so i hang around there quite abit too. =) tks for the welcome!

hi Wendy,

hehe.. i'm not a SAHM.. wish i am cos my #1 is in p1 and both gers need my attn. i was for my #1 but now, cannot afford to be one. haiz..

i only stay away from alcohol and shellfish. but ok with prawns and once in awhile crabs. but now with the milk allergy in my gers, i got no choice but to be careful of what i eat. worse, i love chocolates and now i can't eat them. urghhh....

ya, they should usually outgrow it by 3 or 4 years olds. meanwhile, i can only be as disciplined as possible. now, wherever i go, i must check the milk content and % b4 i can eat it.

re: SAHM gathering
maybe can list down what you bringing for tea? anyone has allergies/ special diet?

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx
7. Happie
8. Apriltan

Shint...
my acct info is in the email sent out.
Hope you get better soon! then can join us on fri too!

Valnsw...
is it possible to transfer by tmr? cos i'm ordering tmr morning. thanks!!!

baby fell asleep while eating

today fourth day of cny had to go do last min house visiting...baby over stimulated again...got home half an hour past his dinner time...so i thought...ok better bathe first then eat then sleep....so i rushed through his bathing....CRY CRY CRY(coz sleepy) ...then rushed to prepare his food....put him in the highchair....tsk tsk the little one fell asleep after just one spoon of cereal...Oh dear...head flopped over to one side....zzzzzzz

first time this has happened..one min he's awake the next he's asleep....=( felt so bad....felt like maybe i should have fed him first before bathing...

maid throw baby

sigh...maids always give problems to the employers its neverending!

u know today i told my maid...(I USED DICTIONARY TO TRANSLATE WORD FOR WORD)

if u drop baby or baby has any accident(sarong hit wall, baby rolled off sofa etc)...please tell me...so i can send baby to see the doctor straightaway..doctor can check to see if baby is hurt..and baby will LIVE..dont NOT tell me because u are afraid i will scold u....

BECAUSE if the baby DIES..POLICE WILL CATCH YOU....You will go to prison for 20 years.(manslaughter)...if premeditated murder(confirm death penalty..i graphically described hanging to her)...i wrote this down on paper also...got another maid to translate.....

i think i will repeat this to her everymonth...make her sign and put the contract up in her room...

my maid doesnt look after my baby...but sometimes...i shower or got to poop or got to make business call..then how? i cant watch her all the time with baby...

re: SAHM gathering
maybe can list down what you bringing for tea? anyone has allergies/ special diet? :)

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma (1kg round cream or cheese cake)
6. Linx
7. Happie
8. Apriltan

so many post to catch up.

krex78,
if baby pass out the food that they eat means they are not able to digest the food. but i think can still continue. maybe can cut down the amount.

shint,
me me!!! i haven't got menses yet.

you have seen so many doc still not well? the virus you got is so power. try to have a good rest.

Wah alot to catch up! Welcome mummygiraffe! MGS is an excellent choice ;)

YLN,
So your BJG class will be different from mine and Rata's? Guess we can beo you since our class is later :p

shint,
I haven't got my menses yet *touchwood*

Sleepy Baby syndrome
These few days I realise my baby really can sleep! I know it's like the opposite problem from what some of you are facing...but I'd quite like my baby to be awake to talk to and play with!! He sleeps around 11pm until 8am....and he takes 2-3hr naps 3times a day. I also tried feeding him HT cereal but he absolutely refuses to let the spoon in!! But if I put pizza near his mouth, he want to eat...

Welcome mummygiraffe!

babyemma,
ur post so funny..but what u say is true. My maid is meant to do only hsework but she loves to look after bernice (found out she was more like a nanny cum hsekeeper in philippines, so she doesnt know much hsework). So if I need to make a call etc and I need her to watch over bernice, I always make sure I put bernice in the exersaucer and she sit down and just watch her or play with her. I seldom let her carry bernice if I am not able to supervise.

hi timminbuzz,

i'll give this HT round a miss.. can't go into the webbie. funny le.. plus i realised my hb on reservist next fri onwards so i gotta rush back home with my gers cos i hv no help at home. TQ!

Shint: I also havent gotten my menses yet. still full breastfeed Misaki.

Valnsw:pls be careful.If you are going to send her home, NEVER let her know or hear bout your plan.. Tell her last minute to pack her bag. and dont let her carry chavelle anymore after you tell her she is fired. pls . I really worry about chavelle safety after reading your post.
if there is no trust between you and her, there is no point in keeping her working for u. you will not have peace of mind. which is something you really need because u work.
If you think she is bad / abusive best is to send her home straight away. u can call your agency to do that for u.

A babysitter that is recomended by someone might be a good choice. If u want a new maid, take someone who worked in overseas before (malaysia will be good). when agent says experience doesnt mean she is has previous experience as a maid, she might be working as a shop keeper or selling food and they tell u she is experienced for 2 yrs (that happended to my friend)
but dont think its a good choice to leave baby with new maid. unless there's someone who can supervise, dont leave baby with a new maid.

shint
haha u doing survey? me also no menses yet...but dunno why always feel like got menstrual cramps around the time of the month

ruixuan
firm? no lar..im not at all..in fact i let my maid have a hp...dunno im stupid or not...but i rather have a happy maid (maslow theory) happy maid will work harder.

catherine
keek kee kee...r u going to change ur maid?

mummygiraffe
hello! welcome welcome!

mummygiraffe: welcome to the aug mummy forum

wish I could join u guys for gathering but bcoz its not weekend very difficult for me to go ( hubby working daytime so noone to help me with my #1).
so i hope u all enjoy your self and have a great time.
hope there will be more gathering on weekend or around north east area hehehe

babyemma,
honestly I'm so lazy to retrain another maid. Till date, she hasnt done anything majorly wrong. Just small things that is "killing me softly" .. hahaha

Eg.
me : pls give me a can of oolong tea
mom: pour half of it for me, I share with mum
me: open a can I share with mom
maid: pour 1 can into 2 cups ?
me: yes
maid: ice ?
me: no need, just pour the can into 2 cups I share with ah ma
maid: ok ..
(walks away from table)
maid: 1 can 2 cups or 1 can each ?
me: 1 can
(she comes back with 2 cups filled. obviously more than 1 can)
me: I told u 1 can I share with mom, why u open 2 can
maid: but I asked u 1 can 2 cups or 1 can each ? you say 1 can.
me: I said 1 can 2 cups, I share with mom !!!! you dono the meaning of share ????
maid: but you said 1 can.
me: *vomit some blood* and *fainted*

hashishan,

THks for your feedback.

Ya, I intend to send her home NOT to agency but of course will not tell her.

Cos I'm also worried of the things that will happen once she knws.

That's why even though my mum saw her throwing the baby to one side of the bed, she kept her cool.

Ya have to "act" in front of maid.

Thks for your concern and feedback, will definitely keep that in mind.

As for getting the agency to do the sending back, I prefer we do it ourselves as never knw if the agency will keep the maid to further "utilise" her and let her be employed by other people.

Valnsw
I'm using Friso.. it said only 1 hour

Yuuri
ur lucky.. my bb is the other way around now
she used to be able to nap ard 2 hrs, now very diff, max 1,5 hrs.. that's oso after I tried very hard. These couple of days, her nite sleep oso gone bad.. every hours she moves or cries mann ... Haiizz... I'm really sleep deprived ... Waiting for the weekend to come cos hoping my hb can help ard by then...