(2008/08) Aug 2008

Rei Rei

Saw your posting abt milk supply.. I know as a mother, you wan the best for baby..

I delivered at 36weeks, pematurely last friday and do not have milk flow coming in immediately.. and then it came.. the first day we were home and the confinement lady is not here yet, I am kind of stress cos we are first time parents and it really affect my milk flow.. only few drips.. so try to relax, dun think so much of the supply.. try to massage in cicular motion before feeding with warm cotton pad and then try to squeeze your nipple a bit when massaging then get baby to do the correct latching.. it should be fine..

For supplement wise, take more milk and fish.. old peopls also suggest to drink the brown rice (fried with ginger first) water to increase the milk supply,you might wan to try..

My baby got jaundice and admitted hosiptal for two nights. and as I am BF him so I am worried that the formula milk (as a top up on my EBM) might affect his liking abt breastmilk..and I got myself stressed up that I am not pumping enough milk and ended up baby need to top up with formula.. but come to think of it, so long baby is growing well with either BM or Formula, it does not really matter and it is good for both mother and baby..

valnsw:
Thanks! Would definately check with MOM. Quite worth saving extra $$$ to shop later :p

aurora:
Actually true, even I think I would miss the feeling of baby inside me :p But still counting days to see the baby :D

today, my CL left...OMG..i tell u...from the moment she left..my bb cried and cried ..didnt want to sleep till just now.(2 hrs lia0)...think bb recognise smell and touch of CL already...i cannot imagine what nightmare it will be tonite...
...plus today got full month celebration.,..bb sure kena disturbed and cannnot sleep..sure cranky one...stress liao...mummies...u better treasure ur CL whilst she is around...

Jvenus,
yes i did take home the placenta and my mom washed it and dried it.. now just waiting to pound it. actually can pound very long already cos dry already but i didnt go and buy a new mini blender to pound it. will do it next week.

re:confinement
actually i nvr really do confinement cos i already bathed in hospital, wash hair and all. come back i wash hair everyday too. nvr use hair dryer nvr use herbs to bathe. i walk arn the hse in singlet and shorts cos so hot the weather. as for food, we nvr eat much traditional confinement but hubby got put more ginger and sesame oil to cook la.. and drink alot of red dates drink.. sigh .. wonder if next time really will have problems or not. anyone else like me ?? heehee...

re: maid
after complaining so much about our maids .. those 1st time mums, pls remember to contact your maid agency to get them to send in the copy of baby BC to get your levy revised !!! dont forgot hor

checking in... what a morning. Every day like got new bomb drop on me.

Just now fed Chevelle and she stil kept crying.. until she finally slept. haiz...

this morning, my mum just asked the old maid if my bfast ready, and the old maid hollered at her.
My mum buay tahan her attitude liao, going send her away. She suspects the old maid woke up late and still frantically preparing the food.

The thing is this old maid actually called 999 using her hp (we didn't even knw she has a hp), and the police came. MY mum said its none of their biz if she wana send the maid back and the police even wanted my mum's particulars?!! siao... wats it gota do w police whether we wana send maid back??

Then my mum told the old maid, she can go ahead to call many times also no use.

Sibei sians, sometimes I think we employers don't get any protection.

Now I gota order confinemt tingkat for the remaining 2 wks, else I think the new maid cannot cope with bb and other household chores.

YLN,
I'm sure with time, bb will grow closer to u. Just hv to spend more time with your bb.

Megan,
I want 3 tins of Enfalac too!
Count me in. I remember you live in Tampines right? I prob can self-collect.

Okie..good we at least got 6 tins, M2B, how many would u like?

reirei..dun worry when i came back from hosp..my breasts were totally engorged..had to go back and see LC, and ms pitiful only 10ml..then at most 15ml..but i was happy cos at least bb got some..we should see it from bottle half full angle lah
..then my mum kept sayin i no milk..i also depressed but i persever and then 2nd week..pump 50ml...then now beg 3rd week..can do 70-80ml and when bb latch can see milk flowing out..though i dun reach 100ml yet, but i am happy that I can give bb some..jia you

Sorry to interupt...I m a newbie here (due 3Oct08) there are only a few Gleneagles MTBs in the Oct thread and they haven't pop so tot of asking u all

...my Gynae (from Gleneagles) recommended a paediatrician (Dr Y Y Yip) to me yesterday but I read some neg comments abt him from another thread so would like to check if anyone here knows if he is really no gd. Any other gd paediatrician at Gleneagles to recommend???

Hi Megan,
My Gynae is Dr HY Tan... isit your gynae too? Can advice me which paediatrician is good... very kan jiong coz i am a first time mummy. duno who to ask. hehe...

hi Karen..ya..my gynae dr Tan too
u noe..the nurses at the ward say..if they deliver...70% of nurses will choose dr tan as their gynae..and so I trust him when he recommend yy yip...u can trust dr tan..

Thanks Megan!!!
I feel so relieved to hear that! my HB says that I shld trust Dr Tan too but i get more assurance to hear from experienced mothers...

thnks ya!

Whoa after seeing the date of incentives pushed to 17 Aug, i really feel anger and boh hua that my princess popped on da 2nd Aug instead leh! Kanasai!!!!!!!!!! Somemore my EDD nearer - 12 Aug!!!! Arrgghhhhhh

earnest, tks for your advice. i'm going to get the goon diapers coz' i'm running out of mamy poko and i'm so broke from buying diapers already! btw, when u order either by phone or online, can request for them to come on a certain day at a certain time?

EBM:
btw, do any mummies encounter this phenomena...when u first pump, it's a lot, then it decreases quite substantially until much later. when u think u have nothing left, suddenly your breasts squirt out milk again. so strange!

Hi Karen,
I just delivered in GlenE, my PD is Dr Gong WK from KinderClinic. He's really very friendly and my hubby likes him. I feels he's quite good even thou we've only went back once for jandice check. But that day I had some queries and called the clinic, he returned call to answer my very silly question. You can try him.

krex,
I also sometimes encounter that with EBM, tot no more then suddenly squirt out more. That's why duno how long shd pump.

Megan,
Gd that u got increase in milk supply. The max so far I managed was only 55ml yday morning. Think I've been to bogged down w things and too stressed leh

Twin stars,
I think the fears that you mentioned to me abt 2 maids together in the hsehold, hv come thru. Can sense the new maid (the one supposed to take care), kena influenced by the old one. Can sense she alrdy impatient and she got black face for prev nite's night feed.

Then my mum also said she ever spot check e maid one night during the night feed. She saw the maid anyhow carry Chevelle in the mid of the nite (when Chevelle was crying), letting her head loll abt without supporting the head.
My mum saw that and was in front of the maid, but e maid also got nothing to say lo... wat can she say when she did something wrg.

Catherine,
Ya, super drama. She called 999 twice. The 2nd time, I was in the toilet bathing. Can u imagine?!!! Then the police also knw tis maid kinda lying n playing tricks jus so tat she will not be sent back. COs she told e police tat she didn't get to eat since morning, when bfast was given to her except tat she din wan it.

It's her word vs mine.
Anyway, now gota tong her til send her to the airport later her flight at 11pm, make sure she dun anyhow call police or run away.

Sigh... now with all these probs, think hv to contemplate sending my gal to childcare after 6 mths but I really bu she de...

Re: Regurgitation of BM
My ger regurgitated BM after 2 of her feeds today after I BF her.. Anyone has experienced this & can enlighten me on what I can do?

aurora
Oooh, thanks for the info! We have not reg for her BC coz we hadn't settled on her Chinese name *tsktsk* We're so slack!

krex78, did u request for Goon samples to try on your bb? I ordered last week but turn out that the cutting wasn't suitable for my bb and it leak, can't even contain urine..thus I had to ask for refund on remaining unopened packets..too bad that the cutting wasnt suitable for my bb but I like the feel..very soft but kinda thinner than mamy poko..u can request them to send on a suitable timing, they will contact u after u have post yr order.

avocado,
I hv written the letter but yet to send it out.

Lochia
Anybody still having it and those who have finished, how long it took?
Cos mine still there 2 wks and it comes in drips and draps... not all one shot and finish. So now using the thinner pads so as to change more frequently. Else use the thicker pads and dun change frequently, kinda smells. Hope I'm not too gross here...

catherine,

dun worry wor, am like u. the morning after delivery i went to bathe liao. at home also bathe everyday, sometimes even twice a day, without herbs, just hot water and din blow dry my hair either, drink lotsa water and only eat food with ginger and sesame oil here and there. i din even eat the ginger cos i fear will cause my boi's jaundice to worsen when he take my breast milk.
also drink coke and eat macdonald just now wor..kekeke...craving lah..sick of the ginger/rice wine food. washing hands every time before/after changing baby's diaper and have to bathe him every morning and sponge bath him at nite,wash his bottles..how not to touch water?
so we see how when we get old ba, see if got wind here and there bo.. :p

re : regurgitation of milk
my boy been doing that very often too, already checked out with PD when we went visit for my boy's jaudice review, PD say is normal for them to throw out when they drink excess wor. also ask why sometimes he drink more, sometimes he drink less, PD's reply : depending on his mood loh ...some day he happy to drink more, some day he happy to drink less...aiyo, i hear liao also dun feel very assurring...think too kiasee as 1st time mom ??

re : lochia
still have abit..sometimes it hurt abit down there, do you all have the same feel ?
or i squat too often and tore my wound??

Cindy,
A mummy was kind enough to give me many many bottles and plastic covers and I don't think I will be using all of them. You can PM me and arrange for collection as I can share some of them with you.

Other mummies here who want plastic covers for your glass bottles may also PM me. I have quite a lot to giveaway. But then, just want to let you all know upfront that all the plastic covers are without the middle seal oh.

want to sell one unopen bottle of GNC Fenugreek (610mg) 200 capsules at $30. Good for promoting milk supply. At GNC you'll only get 100 capsules for this price.

Can give a away a bottle of opened Fenugreek (180 capsules left). Best by Dec/2011.

PM me. Collection at Boon Lay/ Toa Payoh / City Hall / Suntec.

Hisstory,

I also burp my boy after feeds, but he still regurgitate lei. ask doc how come i see my boy's mouth like want to throw out then he swallow the thing back, why he like that, doc say nvr mind mah, so long as he swallow back then okie loh. aiyo..i also dunno how to comprehend his reply, but i think to him is normal for babies to react this way, but for us first time mom, is a new and unusual thing to see happening to our baby ?
he did say burping will help as well as elevate the baby a 45degree after feeds for few mins. will prevent the milk from flowing back up ? but so far i did all the above, he still vomit...cos i think he is a greedy little baby, always eat more than his little tummy can accomodate.

Koras,
we brought camera into delivery ward, no problem to take with flash wor.

Babywise,
Thanks for offering. PM you liao.

Huichin,
My delivery date is 15th Aug, nearer to the effective date lor, more heart pain but bo bian. As long my darling daughter is healthy.

interrace
Thank u so much for sharing.. We've tried burping, and elevating her for a few minutes after feeds or between change of sides of breast. So far less regurgitation oredi *phew*

Huh ur PD says its okie if bb swallows back ah? Sounds so funny.. Maybe we really kiasee 1st time mummy.. *heheh*

coolsnow, i did ask for sample but my CL tried for bb during the first few days when i was too busy to evaluate the diaper. she said so far all the diapers he tried no leak, so i'm gonna take the risk and order 4 packs of goon. really unsuitable then i refund lor. i bought 1 pack of dryers small yesterday coz' scared the mamy poko won't last for long. dun really like the material, but it was cheap lah, ard $12 for a big pack. i'll use that until my goon order is processed lor. i'll call to order tmrw or tues.

Krex,
I bot the drypers too. The material a bit rough rough hor. And its defintely not absorbent at all man. Cos i feeding BM so baby tends to poo and urine after every feed so ok. But there is once my baby think pee during her sleep of abt 2-3 hrs and the drypers is wet liao and have to change. But agree with you its cheap. How is mamy poko?

Halo Mommies!
Yday went to celebrate my gal’s full mth with my family and then shop awhile in Marina Square…felt so good man! Another 2 more days to the official end of confinement…heehee

Valnsw,
I sure hope my gal will stay tat way man…yday after feeding her at 11.30am, she managed to sleep till 6am again…then drink liao, sleep until 9.30am…hope thatz her pattern man…

Medusa,
Thanks for your advice. Will do that to my gal, hoe the pimples go away soon…

Aurora,
Yup, guess what my #1 oso wana eat now coz my mom told her eat liao will become pretty…hahaha…so now my mom got to buy for both my princesses to eat…

Von,
CONGRATS!

Hisstory,
My mom is doing my confinement for me…we intend to give her either $888 or $1k angbao…

Your gal looks like you?

ReiRei,
Hope you and your MIL are getting along better nw…dun be upset ok? Easy to get postnatal depression 1…

Megan,
If order 6 tins, got free delivery too? I dun mind taking 6 tins though…heehee…but must collect from your place in Tampines ah? Coz my mom’s pl is central…near bugis…

Catherine,
Hi 5! Your confinement sounds like mine and me worse, I go out as and when too…hahaha

Hisstory,

no problem, we are here to share whatever we learn through our motherhood journey wor.

btw, i also asked PD if i should lie baby on the left cos i tot our tummy left so lie him on the left to facilitate digestion, he replied, lie him on his right cos that's the outlet...din ask what outlet but think is the stomach outlet facing left?? anyway i also tried to lie him on his right, so when he do vomit, also wont get choke by lying flat loh... haiz..everytime feeding time i also worry that he will vomit.

Hisstory,

no problem, we are here to share whatever we learn through our motherhood journey wor.

btw, i also asked PD if i should lie baby on the left cos i tot our tummy left so lie him on the left to facilitate digestion, he replied, lie him on his right cos that's the outlet...din ask what outlet but think is the stomach outlet facing right?? anyway i also tried to lie him on his right, so when he do vomit, also wont get choke by lying flat loh... haiz..everytime feeding time i also worry that he will vomit.

hello mummies!!

I have gone missing since 31 Jul when my bag leaked and many advised me to go hospital. heee...reverted to a silent reader in the forum cuz i can never keep up with all the posts!

one more week to the end of confinement for me! are those of you in confinement getting sick of confinement food yet? I am QUITE there already. Esp that I realize I didn't cut down much weight despite of the 7 days post-natal jamu wrap (total weight loss from labour till now:6-7kg). I know that BF mummies shouldn't diet but I can't wait to see myself reverting back to my original size and weight. I gained 15kg during my pregnancy and that means I have 7-8kg more to lose!

re: cloth diapers
I have started to put on cloth diapers (bumwear) on my girl girl since she was about 10 days old. It has worked fine with her since then. Cannot tahan how often she needs to change her disposables! I actually did a diaper log for her and learnt that she changes diapers about 18-20times in the first two weeks. Hence I made up my mind to put her on cloth diapers for 12 hours (daytime) and disposables for the next 12 (evening onwards).

re: milk supply
wow, I am finally reaching the ~180ml per pump mark. Sometimes early the morning (after skipping two feeding sessions), I can pump as much as ~250ml. Trying very hard to stock up now..hee...

re: perm hair
I am intending to perm my hair just before coming to the end of my confinement period. Asked around for opinions but there are so many differing opinions on whether we can perm/dye/highlight our hair if we are BF. Anyone has a DEFINITE GREEN LIGHTS from PD or gynae or not??

re: MP Visit
Today MP Mr Ong came to my block of flats to do his rounds and I raised the issue about the maternity package and asked for the possibility of backdating to 1 Aug (since my girl arrived on 1 Aug!), but he said "current baby package is pretty good"... I guess that is a NO? Sigh.....

finally..the full month celebration is over...wah..so tiring...n my first nite w/o CL...damn shag...each feeding is half an hour...then i pumped..so all in all..everytime i wake up, its an hour plus...and sleep for 2 hrs..and wake up again...very very tirng...dunno how to last for another 2 months..
...mummies...how ur cope ar? i did sleep alittle just now..but i cannot be sleeping all the time when bb sleep mah..got other things to do..just wondering how lor..sigh..

lochia
me finish liao..no more..just slight yellowish or whitish discharge...just put panty liner..for me , abt 4 weeks liao lor..

regurgitation
my bb last nite regurgitated half the milk she drank..i gave her FM cuz i thot she would last longer...but no leh..first feeding..i think i put too much milk powder liao...then she vomit half out...then second feeding..i put lesser FM..but she still wake up after 3 hrs to feed leh...just like BM...ask ur har..how much milk powder to put for 100ml of water??

wah jassie
u got so much milk ar..i now max only 130ml..thats y i giving FM to bb at nite and stocking up on my nite expressing..otherwise not enuff milk to store leh..

YLN,
I either pump or latch bb on every 1.5-2hr. sometimes when i pump till dry, i just wait n massage. sometimes more milk does come! be as relaxed as u can when u pump. sometimes i watch tv n pump while mum feed bb ebm...hahha...

jassie
wah u pump 1.5-2 hrs got so much liao.. i must pump every 3 hrs then i will get 130ml..if i pump 1.5-2hrs..only max get 90ml-100ml..good leh u...