(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN, i guess it's cummulative effect ba.... we always read demand=supply and I would like to know HOW MUCH can we pump in addition to what bb needs. my girl now only needs about 85ml each feed but I very lazy to pump out the excess in my boobs...

but one thing very true was a day last week I was stressed out by MIL and in the end the whole day cannot pump out even 100ml each pumping session. Hence keep yourself hydrated and think positive.

tomorrow is my turn to check in to the hospital... Baby stubbornly refuse to come out and she is 6 days overdue liao.. Wish me luck!

just finished a night feeding for my BB

also wanna share my experience w mummies out there to prevent this from happening to them. whatever u do...please please please empty ur breasts completely whether u r pumping or direct breastfeeding. my nipples were sore so i could only let bb latch on for a while until i cannot tahan...so i guess some milk is left inside.

one day...morning im fine...took a nap...afternoon wake up feeling achy like getting flu. took a shower...my right boob looks red on bottom half. slowly start feeling worse...feel cold. cannot even on fan. my boob starts to feel v pain n hard n even more red. think i got clogged milk duct. ask hubby help massage v hard to push out...doesnt help. try feeding bb direct twice also cannot. v pain cos nipples cracked n bleeding liao.

went to sleep...cover blanket, wear jacket without fan n windows closed n still feel cold. got slight fever too. 3 am hubby took my temp...i feel totally like shit now...ache everywhere...boob sore like hell...n got high fever. 39 C plus

finally cannot tahan...have to go to TMC 24 hr clinic. have to call my mum middle of night come my house look after bb. got prescribed antibiotics n ponstan for the pain n fever. immediately after taking the meds i feel so much better. think the ponstan helped.but boob still red. antibiotics is to clear infection in block duct.

now 2 days later, i still get the chills when the ponstan wears out. boob is still red n hard...just have to keep pumping n pumping n eventually will go away. hopefully...

anyway... just wanna share this so u mummies can avoid any breast infections.. really the most painful n xin ku thing until i keep crying n crying. when reach clinic nurse look at my puffy eyes n say..."wah! allergy ah?"

so please please empty ur breasts completely at each session!

morning ladies. =)

m2b
wah...then now u can relax liao lor...hee hee...
me 2 more wks, waiting to be release.

jo
jia you!
dun worry about the date, as long as bb is healthy ok?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HELP!</font></font>
My CL just called me to say she wun be able to do my confinement as she is sick. Can those of you who just finished with ur CL, pls pls pls PM me the contact and ur comments/recommendations abt her? Appreciate that!

Hi ladies! im back online again! Baby Braiden was born on 20.08.2008! kekeke

Here's my birth story:
Induced at clinic on my EDD 19th Aug cos doc say water running low..must induce. Cervix was only 1cm opened.. Check in hospital 11.30pm. Went to labour ward around 12plus..Strapped on to CTG, blood pressure machine. Gynae came to check and break waterbag around 1.30am.. VERY PAINFUL LEH. she say she only 2 fingers i so pain liao..haha. Then contactions started to come in gradually, but slowly.. around 2.30am, the epidural was given since the doc was on the round. I dont like it lor, felt so paralysed! Couldnt feel both my legs n my butt... feel so weird! I shivering very badly...non-stop till morning.. Felt the urge to push around 8am plus.. Nurse came in to tell me to practice pushing..thou legs are numb but feel the urge to "pang sai" like that, so every contraction i jus pushhh.. Gynae came in at 9am then within 3 pushes, my baby is out.. I cried.

Hubby was very supportive throughout the process.. He loves baby so much now. The grandparents also.. which is quite expected. *roll eyes* :p

My milkaholic is hungry again! GTG~

Krex: yes, you can request for your desired time for goon. can put my name there as recommender? my mobile is 90401870 for details. i plan to order more from them.

Jvenus: my gynae also wanted me to induce so i did lor and missed out on the enhanced bby package cos got 5 days' difference.

Hi...me too back online again... My baby Eunice was born on 18th August 2008.

My birth story to share:
18th 9am, water bag burst. Had to call my hubby to turn back as he just left for work after he drop me at my mum's place. Reach NUH about 10am, from A &amp; E, wheeeled to Delivery Suite. Strapped on CTG etc. I was about 2.5-3cm dilated, contraction every 3 mins. But pain still bearable. Was asked whether I wanted EPI, wanted to be hero, but after much thoughts, better take before I regret. Hee hee. Therafter I sleep, watch HBO, olympics while my hubby worked on his pc. Was fully dilated at abt 6pm. Only start pushing at ard 8+pm, and after sveral pushes, bb out!

Finally I make it for VBAC.

Now I milk moo moo to her and my #1. Giving my excess to my #1.

interrace,
ok .. at least i am not alone .. hahaha. my fren ask me yesterday, say i dont follow tradition isnt there sideeffects ? i ask her to ask me again in 20 years time .. hahaha. how to have effect immediately ??

my girl also drink sometimes 2oz sometimes 3oz depends on her mood. make 2oz she not enuf, make 3oz she dont want to finish. hahaha.

had baby full mth yesterday .. sooo tiring. but baby was an angel and slept thru most of the party despite being passed around from one arm to another. she only made some noise when hungry and when changing diaper. But while changing her on the bassinet pram, she peed on my very expensive bassinet.

The gift pack from babybliss is so nice and a hit with everyone. As for the continental catering, i didn't manage to eat any cos was so busy entertaining, but heard mix reviews, some said very nice, some said so so .. The cakes from roomfordesserts also came back with good reviews. But my very expensive cake from cherylshuen everyone said too sweet
so disappointing. guess nothing is perfect

<font color="0000ff">earnestmum</font>, so sorry to hear that some of us did not get the enhanced baby package. it is quite unfortunate as i thought it likely to benefit all aug mums like in 2004. anyway, the best you can try is ask if your gynae can get letter to state EDD for 17 Aug?

<font color="aa00aa">Induce?</font>
I'm still thinking if I should induce or not. I'm not very keen as I'm worried if the cervix is not ripe enough, may end up c-sect. May I check if your gynaes do v examination to determine if cervix is ripe enough before advising if induction is suitable?

HELPPP!!!!

I'm at my wits' end. My bb is not sleeping during the wee hrs of the night. Every night from 10+pm til 4AM my bb won't sleep at all. I give her milk, change her diapers etc, she still refuses to sleep!

This pattern has been continuing since 2-3 days ago. I'm so sleep deprived.

One night, she cried like anything, cos she wanted to poo and then when she pooed out all at 4AM, changed her diaper, she slept. Other times, she just wants somebody to cradle her to sleep or I duno, if she's being cranky.

I also noticed that she has difficulty drinking well in the night, she tends to drink too fast, then choke then cry. End up for the whole feed, she will do this at least 3-5 times then I hv to burp her everytime she does that, to stop her crying momentarily.
Day time, she's so gd, can drink v steadily without much crying and then just sleep peacefully. It's like her internal clock is the other way round!!!

I felt so pek chek by bb's cries. Lucky the prev 2 nights, got hubby around to help but last night was really tiring. Though my hubby came to help at 1AM+, but later he had to sleep as need work today. Lucky my dad woke up this morning at 4AM to help carry my bb around then I slept til 8AM when she woke up for another feed.

Anybody facing the same prob as me and any advice? Think I'll go mad if this persists.

Reading all the articles online but all say let bb hv own sleeping pattern.

valnsw,
I read in many books and mags that baby tends to be more active at night, even my PD also mentioned it to us, and this should get better as baby grows older and reached their one month. Maybe you can try dimming the lights everytime it comes to the night cos iread somewhere as baby's eyes are sensitive to light, they tend to be irritated. Dim the lights so that and try telling her to sleep so that she get used to dim lights mean sleeping time.

My baby also tends to be more active at night too. But me lucky got CF so she will help me with the feeding and cradling while i con't to sleep. This mummy so bad hor.

Val,
I had the same problem (for a couple fo days) when my boy just got home. We reckon he didn't have enuff milk to last him for a couple of hrs so decided to bottle feed him till he's satisfied. The other thing that we did was to wake him up at around evening time and do cluster feeding till around 12midnite and if he's still not satisfied we will bottle feed him. It helps sometimes and he has been slepping well for a straight 4-5hrs since then except for these 2 days he refused to sleep till around 1.30am. He just wants to be cradled to sleep. He will wake up at around 5am and I will bf him for 15mins and he goes bk to sleep till 8.30am.

Are u breastfeeding him at nite too? You may try to bottlefeed and see if it works for ur bb.

valnsw,
my baby also need people to carry him to sleep. lucky for me, night time i got CL to help for now. day time, i will carry him to sleep. after he fall asleep, i will put him down but still stay very close to him like carrying him. after another 5 mins or so, then i go off to do my things and leave him there.

i think they just want someone close to them to have security.

Thanks for all of ur concern.
I'm feeling a bit better now..at least i'm not crying everyday liao.
R/s wif mil oso slowly improving but still got 'heart knots' lah..

Valnsw,
My bb oso drinks v fast and i can hear loud 'gulp gulp'. Here's wat i do..
1) Same as you, burp her when she's taking a rest from the suckling. After my lil' one burps, she can usually continue drinking much slower wifout the 'gulp' sound. Alternatively, sit her 45 deg to let the milk flow down her system.

2) Once she starts to 'eh eh' after 3-4 hrs, i will quickly prepare milk before the real wail comes in..cos when she gets too hungry/angry, she tends to drink v fast and choke.

As for crying, i was told to do a mental checklist:
1) Hungry?
2) Diaper wet/soiled or not worn comfortably?
3) Milk regurgitating? - I will carry her 45deg and she will be v shiok.
4) Too hot or cold?
5) Got wind in stomach? - I asked PD how to tell if bb's stomach got wind. She said incontrollable crying. And she oso confirmed dat ru yi oil is OK to be used on bb. But we need to put a small dab on bb to see if she's allergic to it first.

HTHs..

I am also having the same problem!!! For the past 1 week, my 3wks old bb girl usually wake up for a feed at about 3am and after that her eyes would be wide open and keep hoping to communicate or play with me. I really sleep deprived as I have no CL to help me at night since my mum returns home at dusk. Despite dimming the lights and ensuring that the feeds are a quiet affairs at night (as not to stimulate the bb), she is still demanding for attention. last night i told her sternly but in a low voice that everyone needs to sleep when the skies are dark outside. I told her that it's 3am and mummy needs to sleep too. I promised her if she were to go to sleep and be a good girl, I will play and talk to her more today. She blinked and eventually went back to sleep with minimal fuss. :p

Valnsw,
did your bb poo at all in the day or until 4am then she poo all then she sleep ? you tried the ruyi oil ? rub some on her tummy at night when u put her to sleep. my girl sometimes will be cranky esp when she havent poo and will sometimes put down also cannot, carry sometimes will cry, but better when carry then doze off, but the min you put her down she will wake up and cry. my hubby will apply the ruyi oil, then after that lay her down and stroke her tummy lightly downwards. a few times after that she will poo poo. dono if will work for you.

my girl also sometimes damn gan cheong and will drink super fast then choke, but i think it's also cos of the teat. i dont have problem with the nuk in terms of choking but the hole so small, she will sometimes suck until fall asleep the milk also havent finish. The medela one is super big and thats the one she will choke most of the time, else the flow so much that it flow out of her mouth. Pigeon i tried so far ok, but if she gan cheong sometimes will also choke. try to let her drink allevated almost sitting down position.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Pls PM me your CL contact asap!</font></font>
My CL just called me to say she wun be able to do my confinement as she is sick. Can those of you who have finished with ur confinement, pls pls pls PM me the contact and ur comments/recommendations abt her? Appreciate that!

hey jvenus..hope u find ur cl soon..

M2B, Valnsw..sorry to inform you guys that I wont be ordering from the supplier but i can give u the contact, she stays in AMK...but she hasnt replied to my mail for a few days...alternatively my house next door medical shop sells the powder at 36bucks, i will check if they got branch downtown..M2B...

Valnsw, i can give u the address and u can come and buy..

does anyone baby has phlegm?

forgot to share this important news...those mummies who stay near NUH or HB can go there...Fitti Comfort is buy 2 get 1 free for newborn and s size!

thanks for all well wishes

valnsw, i also have the same problem... my bb girl refused to sleep in the night time.... haiz... yesterday, i tried to wake her up in the day... but night time still wake up but hourly instead of refusing to sleep for hours.... to change diaper, to cruddle her, to feed her.. ai yo...

M2B
Okieokie.. I intend to give my mummy an AP too, and now with her doing the grocery shopping, i intend to slip cash into her wallet. I know she wld refuse if i give it to her outright..
So shiok, ur confinement's got only 1 more day to go!! I've just finished the 1st week only.. But coz my mum is chin chai &amp; lets me bathe, wash hair &amp; wear whatever I like, i am so relieved!

val
The last 2 nights my ger also woke up a lot for feeds, but the thankful thing is tt as she's fed, she poos too.. So i dun have to wake up yet again. But the whole process of feeding, cleaning &amp; changing takes me almost an hour..

I hope this phase for u &amp; me goes away quickly..

interrace
Lie on the right ah.. Okie, i shall try. So far I notice she sleeps better on her left though.. Must persevere!

jassie
Wow, tt's alot of milk.. I am on TBF, wonder how much milk i'm producing &amp; feeding, actually...

YLN
Is ur ger regurgitating due to the size of the hole of the teat?

Just managed to take a short break w e maid to tong bb for awhile.

cindy / shay / celyn / reirei / catherine / hisstory,
Thks for the advice. Really appreciated it.
Haiz.. I've done whatever I can, including those things you have mentioned, like getting her to wake up before 12 MN to play w her, tire her out so that she will sleep better during the night.
Cradle her etc...

I can only hope she will get through this phase. I'm just thinking if things dun get better, maybe wana bring to PD?

Sometimes I feel so guilty not able to control her crying
Esp when she cries til her whole face damn red and crying is like so chamz...

To make things worse, cos my mum fired the old maid, left this new maid hired under my name. So this new maid gota do the hsehold chores etc while helping to look in on the bb in the daytime. Night feeds supposed to hv been the new maid but then now I have to take over.

shay,
I'm giving her FM at night but seems that she will still gulp too fast and then choke.

i tbf my boy now but i had a tin (900g)of open fm which i must finished by next week. so far we had only given him fm twice, i feel like giving him fm for this week so as not to waste the tin of fm. at the same time, i feel like a bad mummy if i do that. how? should i throw the fm away or feed him with it.

happie,
i still give even though i was having fever last week.

nini &amp; happymum

valnsw
my bb active time is 1am - 4am. =P

megan
bb zynn got phlegm, she tend to cought a little &amp; vomit milk sometime. =(

val
*hugs* Hang in there k? I just managed to satisfy Ashley's hunger a little, and now have a brief respite too.. U must rest when u can

Maybe she's slightly colicky..

Thankfully ur old maid is gone, one trouble less to handle. U continue with the night feeds first, when bb's routine is more established, then get the maid to help.. I think after the 1st - 2nd mth, things shd get better yah?

*jiayou*

NiNi &amp; Happymum

*congratulations* Ur bb's are so cooperative, heheh, only need a few pushes and they were delivered.

Hope you get as much rest as u can

Hi celynlee,
I also faced with the same issue over the "unfinished" tin of milk that needs to be discarded after 1 month from date of opening. End up, I decided to discard the unfinshed half tin of milk powder. Better follow instruction than regret although my in-laws said its still ok to use till it finishes....heart pain..
I am trying to get my hubby to look for smaller tin of milk powder..

Poo Poo :
My gal have not been poo pooing since last Tuesday after i have inserted the Glycerin Suppository. Today is the 6th day, think I have to insert another one for her. But I dun want her to relay on the medicine to poo poo..Although PD mentioned to me its ok, dun have to be worry even if she don't poo up to 2 weeks but still I can't help worrying..

Thanks Snow74 &amp; hisstory!!

I push very hard even thou i m on epidural.. push until my 'zhi chuang' come out. So painful..cos got 3. I sit on the swimming float now. hee hee :p

celynlee/Roiv:
U mean bb milk powder must finish in 1 month??

nini,
yah, its written on the tin. to finish within 3 weeks after open.

happie,
i took panadol given by gynae which is safe for bf.

hey snow u started eating chix liao?

my boy..hmm..4plus will be awake till 5plus..haiz..

i feel abit tired now but have to keep awake to do my assignments..due this sunday..

i also look after bb myself at night..with my husband taking care of 1 feed..my maid does not handle bb at all, only housework..with her sotongness, i will be mad soon if i allowed!

[start of cut &amp; paste]
re: update on drugstore, mommysown, pumpinpal &amp; amazon spree

I have just paid vpost fees... expecting the items in 1 week's+ time... will check through items &amp; then post final tally... bad news is USD exchange rate is very high... mostly 1.43 to 1.45... im using uob credit card &amp; i will include the transaction/posting date &amp; details in the spreadsheet... good news is that UOB credit card got 12% discount off vpost fees &amp; i was reading from another month thread that mommysown.com charge them local shipping + cannot use international card &amp; organiser end up using paypal which is additional USD?? + 5% of total amount (duno isit i lucky or wat cos ours went through... hehe..)

those mummies who want normal or registered post instead of self collection at my house (3mins walk from serangoon mrt), please indicate below, most items are bulky so if i need to purchase wrapping materials e.g. box or mahjong paper or bubble wrap, i will add the cost to the postage fees:

YLN
faerie - postage
Babywise
valnsw
Cat
Shint
Yurri
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum
hisstory
[end of cut &amp; paste]

dongle,
Will you be at home on 5 Sept (Fri), afternoon?
Cos my hubby like wana bring bb see his grandma, so I think prob will go to ILs, which is around Potong Pasir, can go down from there.
Actually I still don't know the details, i.e. what time that day going over but will confirm w u again. Else, if really cannot self-collect, will opt for postage liao.

I've PMed you my mobile, just in case.

Cindy, ya lohs what to do right! Bleah...

Interrace, whoa so gd ah! My ILs keeping saying CANNOT drink cold water for a month leh! Whoa laus..how to tahan! No one told u not to drink cold water? So gd one..for me is aiya respect them loh..wat to do rite? Another one more week and i'm done!!!

Valnsw
Dun fret.. Sometimes bbs are like that. Does yr gal sleep alot in the day? Maybe got to try to wake her up in the day so that she will sleep in the night better. For me I will try to keep her awake from the evening and let her be active awhile.. then by 10 plus she is so tired she wil just sleep and wake up for nite feed at about 2 plus 3am.
Another thing is that could be colic. Get come colic drops or ru yi oil to standby.
I am quite particular about carrying bb too much when they sleep cos that happened to my #1. So now with my gal, the moment she fall alseep in my arms i will put her down. Babies are very smart, sometimes they want the body warmth and so will protest when being put down.
Hope these helps.. with babies, sometimes must trial and error one... take care.

Nini
Congrats! Take care and rest well.

medusa,
Can I ask how many ml your gal is drinking?
Cos I'm just wondering if I fed her enough. The Enfalac tin says 120ml for bb 2-4 wks old. So far, I've just been giving her 90ml max. Cos dowana overfeed her. Cos' once, made 120ml for her but duno why after some time she not interested then just sleep off. Then a while later, start to cry for milk

Today, bb is super active in the daytime, she's like drinking 60-90ml per 2hrs. I didn't get to nap much, once I about to doze off into deep sleep aft see her sleep, she starts to wake up again. I'm hoping she will be guai and sleep thru the night.
*keeping fingers and toes crossed*

dongle
Thanks for the update! Keep us posted on the final cost when the items arrive.. I wld prob do self-collection coz I stay in Bishan. But will have to wait till at least 3 weeks later (hope you dun mind) coz I've just completed 1 week of confinement..

NiNi
Did u do episiotomy too? I had to do &amp; it required quite a bit of 'courage' to poo after being discharged..

hisstory
i also dunno how to see if teats hole is too big or small...my bb normally gulp very loudly..then like out of breath..and must take a breather...but most times she just drink and never make noise...issit normal to gulp so loudly and be so breathless?? drink milk drink until breathless..like so chiam like that...

dongle

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks

faerie - postage
Babywise
valnsw
Cat
Shint
Yurri
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum
hisstory

YLN
Which bottle are u using? the NUK bottles I have have 3 kinds of teats with small - large holes. If u can go out to check at the stores, u might be able to compare &amp; select the right size

I'm on TBF and my bb also gulps loudly, esp when she 1st latches on.. many atimes she wld get slightly choked, so must withdraw &amp; tease her again..

I'm back to the thread - for now ... hehe.

Share my son - ZK's story.

Born - 20/08/2008 @ 3.655 kg @ 51cm - Pls help me update the table. Thanks!

C-section so no drama mama story to tell.

9+ - Admission
11+ - C-section and baby delivered.
New gynae also cut out a fybroid of 3.5cm for me ... thank goodness. Asked the old gynae before but he says to ignore it.
12+ - back to ward .... threw up a little liquid and was not given any food til the next day. I was actually hungry during the operation already ... can't imagine i tahan till the next day lunch .... cos they forgot to give me my breakfast cos i was breastfeeding.

ZK has jaundice and only discharged one day later than me. So far, waiting for review with Dr Ong EK on Wed .... and these few days no sun leh.

Who used the photolight machine ah? I need some advice ... can I PM you?

Milk flow started coming in on 2nd day ... so far so good with bfing but .... ZK does not suckle vv long ... HE FALLS ASLEEP ON MY BREAST VV FAST ... anyone had the same problem? Can't seem to wake him up at all ....

So far I am pumping out and storing and give him as supplement if he fusses for more and not suckling long enough.

Sharing his pic here with you all ;)
Post later ... gonna rest.

1664989.jpg

Do u all turn on the fan for the baby?
So far i still wrap him up .... and since i cannot take too much wind ... i oso seldom on the fan ... not using aircon either.

House is vv windy ... sometimes i even close the window. But for baby, can they go under the fan?

WHO IS BREASTFEEDING AND GIVING BOTTLE at the same time?

I am giving total breastfeeding now but since my boy does not suckle long enough before he falls asleep on my breast and vv difficult to wake him up .... i had given him my expressed breast milk via the bottle a few times ... cos it is so difficult to cup feed!

Who is now doing bfing and bottle feed? Which bottle is good to make the transition good? I am also using Medela nipple shield quite often .... any advise for those who is successful to have the baby switch between the bottle and the breast without problem?