(2008/08) Aug 2008

Serriz: Yea do our best can liao! heh..i always tell my hubby he damn lucky cos i din give him much trouble..some mummies kena very bad cravings (need to go far far to get their food)and bad cramps at nite (need hubby to wake up middle of the nites to massage) etc. Muahahaa.

Awww..ur hubby shooow shweeet! Wanna see u as sexy mama la.. Kekeke...

Valnsw: Ate one steam bao only ah! Hahaaa..later sure hunger again one..keke. Whoa...now tt u say ice cream...i'm missing the Strawberry cheesecake icecream from Ben & Jerry's! Hehee..

Oh have leh..u know at the Bedok Market there...there's this stretch of makan places just opp the Shell petrol station. My fav one is Spize! hehee..power...the Beehoon goreng ala thai-style, the Chicken & cheese murtabak.. OMG..heavenly! heehee..and the nice drink called something selasih one..the rose syrup drink with the tadpole-looking 'seeds' with lime. Woohoo~! (ok i know the description sounds weird haha). I forgot the actual name liao. LOL.

Serriz & Celynlee: I got a fren (mummy) who advise me to take coconut - the thai sweet young coconut - only at 8mths onwards. Once a week. She told me it helps to so-call 'clean' the system inside..as in your delivery will not be that 'bloody'. Hahaa..she experienced tt when she delivered her girl wor.

Cindy: Think we both same same. Dun wanna waste $$ getting maternity swimsuit right. THen wear for next 1-2mths then put one side liao. LOL. Not cheap siah..

lookinf fwd to ko now coz hb and my gal enjoying their bonding session today while I'm at work...gg to be off tmr, wana spend some time together b4 hb flies off on Fri...abit sad coz he is gg to be away for 3 weeks...

planning to bring my gal for the singapore flyer tmr...

krex,
I'm wearing normal panties throughout my this and previous pregnancy.

diapers - I swear by PetPet, cheap and good!

Celyn,
All the best to your test tmr!

reirei,
oh. do let me know where to get those disposable underwear. i know about the herbal water to wash up but we don't use that to wash underwear right?

m2b,

reirei
ur CL will buy the herbal stuff for u to bath ? i checked wif mine...dun have one...must buy myself..headache now cuz dunno where to buy from..

hi valnsw,

the brand name i know for maternity sanitary pads is kotex and another brand which is sold in kiddy palace, cant remember liao. during my #1 confinement, i used Sofee, the one with 35cm one, cos heavy bleeding mah, this one can be for max usage and also, after confinement can still use mah for normal menses..
oh ya, i wear disposable undies throughout my confinement, cos of heavy bleeding, dun feel like washing the undies and cant bath everyday, so feel v dirty. cotton disposable undies is v comfortable...

hi reirei,

u are right. 4 packs in order to have free delivery. but need to take note, nepia cutting is quite small.. NTUC sometimes got promotion for it, 2 packs for $26++. the delivery ones slightly cheaper a bit cos it got throw in wet wipes...

hi yln,

those herbal stuff (da feng cao) can be bought at those traditional chinese medical hall.

hi m2b,

agree with u, Petpet is cheap and gd. but now i stopped using, cos there's gel-like pellets appearing on the diapers after removal from my girl. EQ also not bad. cheap and gd

underwear:
wah, how do u manage to wear normal underwear? a lot of my bonds low waist undies are very tight. maternity ones very comfi coz' can stretch, but can be hot sometimes.

disposable underwear:
i bought the maternity ones at kiddy palace. dunno if cotton or paper. only 1 kind, can't even choose. and they look more decent than the ones at metro.

maternity pads:
so far, i only see kotex and the funny brand they have at kiddy palace. i think i'll go for the latter. i dun see loop ones being sold at kiddy palace. even if they're sold at supermarkets, i can't find the maternity belt liao. i used to wear those when growing up (mom made me wear loop pads when i first got menses). now seem to be so obsolete.

krex78,
i don't even know how the loop pad look like.

i'm still wearing my normal underwear leh. actually i don't even know got maternity one. heheheh.... mountain tortoise.

Celyn,
Oh no no! i tink i got u confused..sorlie..
Wat i meant is we can still get in contact wif normal tap water..so shld still be able to wash undies ourselves lor..
but lazy me dun wan..in case got stain, etc..very troublesome to wash..so jus wear disposable ones.

Celyn,
Lemme chk wif my Sil on the cotton disposable undies..will revert soon..

YLN,
Ya..mine dun haf too..my MIL says she will buy for me..
I suppose those pple at the traditional chinese medicine hall shld know bah.. Maybe can try telling them its for confinement bathing purpose..

ReiRei,
Would like to know where to get the disposable cotton panties too...

celynlee,
I also wear normal undies but buy the xtra large ones so that its more comfortable. maternity panties very expensive.

celyn, i chanced upon it when i went OIO maternity a few mths ago. then i also saw cheap and nice low waist ones at spring, so i also bought lor.

cindy, my spring undies only $10+ for 2 pcs (i think). quite normal price. OIO one costs about $10 per undie.

cotton disposable one can find at robinsons, but never seen maternity cotton disposable ones before.

Hi M2b & valnsw, thanks for your concern! My tummy still don't feel good but don't think its food posioning cos I am not vomitting, just stomach upset... Aiyoo.. I missed today High-tea cos decided to rest...

I bought Sofy pads for night cos didn't see the maternity ones at the shops, will that do?

Waterlotus,

Sorry I missed your post..Hw r u managing to work?? When r u planning for your MC? Guess your feet swelling is more ‘cause of the strain…I spend most of my time with my leg up..but still hve leg cramps..had my scan yday..gotto c my boy nd girl..my girl is lying very low..i sometimes feel her b/n my legs when I walk
..my doc tld me to take complete rest nowonwards…have u already booked ur bed?

Mrs Teng,

I think getting 2 separate ones is better idea..my hb also agrees with me..
My scan went good..both of them doing well…she din’t tell me their weights..when I asked she tld the formula used to calculate now will not be accurate..then I thought no worry as long as they are growing fine..last time my boy was bigger than the girl, this time the girl is bigger
doc tld me that the water content in my both my sac is more so chances of bursting more..he increased my medicine dose..gotto see him in 2 weeks..gonna take complete rest now..weight gain better now..when I started I was underweight and with 4 months of morn’ sickness I lost weight too..now getting back to track.. when is your scan and doc’ visit?? Take good rest

found this in a sengkang forum. any comments?

pureen: super cheap, soft to touch but leaks terribly (average can last 4 hours)

drypers: cheap, good and absorbent but ds got nappy rash from wearing too long (average can last 4 hrs)

petpet: cheap, good but more suitable for home use as will leak

mamy poko: very good and soft to touch bt price a bit ex. can use for long hours like night time (average can last 6-8 hrs)

fitti: two kinds, day type will leak, night type ok but more suitable for short hours (day type can last 2 hrs plus, night type can last 6 hours)

nepia: very good and soft, a bit ex and diaper will get lumpy when it is used over long hours(average can last 8 hours)

pampers premium: very good, soft to touch, price ex and has urine indicator (average can last 6 to 8 hours)

nini,
2-3 days back my girl hardly move at all till i became a bit worried.. i say to myself if today still never move must call my gynae liao.. then today she kick & wriggle the whole day.. very uncomfortable.. my girl pattern is move a lot for a few days then move a bit for a few days...

reirei,
hehhehe.... i see. thought we use herbal water to wash. hahhahhaha.....

cindy,
i have not change my underwear cos mostly are low waist so still ok to wear. also never thought of changing. only change bra cos i heard its not so good to wear underwire bra.

krex78,
thanks. i will go robinson to have a look.

storeberry,
i intend to use normal pad cos maternity pad are very thick. maybe need to change very often if i use normal one loh. or if really bad, then buy those long type.

doubleblessing,
doc told you to complete bed rest. you better be good and take enough rest. i guess it must be very tiring for you carrying twins.

jo,
when my boy don't move, i will lie on my tummy or half lie on my tummy then he will start to move. at the same time, my hubby will be screaming away when he see that. heheheh....

Celyn,
No offence but i was oso luffin aloud when i saw u typed dat..hahaha.. :X
I oso like to lie on my side to feel bb kick & punch..like she's struggling for space to move..feel abit 'zek ark' whenever i do dat but hafto do it to lah..to make sure she ok..heheh.. :p

Maternity pads:
i tink it really depends on the flow..my menses is usu v heavy so better get the maternity ones..but i will oso get those for night use ones to standby.

hi ladies! =)
really enjoy myself chatting during hi-tea.

m2b
ya, can always arrange another session.
its really relaxing to sit down and chat with a big group of friends lor.

disposable underwear:
its better to wear disposable 1, imagine who is going to wash for u if stained? =P

maternity pads:
yup, normal night use pad is more comfy lor.
maternity 1 is so thick, and might not be as long as normal night use pad...so, end up will still stain some time lor. =(

<font color="0000ff">mommies whom went to the Marriot hi-tea</font>,
it was great meeting you all
. Aiyah too bad no one brought camera, when i reached home only i realised we didn't take photo together leh.
Btw, sorry that didn't really get to chat with those sitting on the other table.
vone - your DS is so 'guai' and cute leh.
wah i eat until i'm still full now. Will be skipping dinner tonight. :p

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
hope your tummy upset no more now.

<font size="+1"><u>Re: Gathering in the East on 1st June</u></font>

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
thanks for the lift again ;).
and thanks for offering to help fax the orders. I think we place order next Wed, then mommies can still decide what else they want to add on or whatever. Or any other mommies wanna join in the gathering.

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
outside Eastpoint Mall / Simei mrt also got a stall selling bubble tea..hehe..

Dear Mommies,
Pls PM me so that I can reply your email with my address and contact no.

mulberry
oh ya hor, forgotten about camera...hee hee... =P
think we arrange another 1 2-3wks later ok?

vone
agree with mulberry, ur ds is really very guai leh.

reirei,
hehhehe.... no lah. no offence. i do that just to make sure he is ok and feel more at ease especially when don't feel his movement for some time. hahahha.....

i guess you all have fun at marriot.

HI mommas..this thread is mving waay too fast for me!!! Anyway, I am expecting my 2nd child EDD Aug 3rd. Firstborn was a boy 3 and half years now and this one is a daughter... everyone is excited

Nice to meet all here...anyway, I need some help here though. Those of you who go shopping often, can you help me to look out for any sale on either the bugaboo bee or the maclaren techno XT? Think we have everything but would like to have another stroller

Doubleblessing
Really have no choice but to work as have a lot of work to clear. I am a teacher and want to rest during the June break before I go on MC in July. EDD was 20th Aug but now Dr Loh has brought forward 1st of August. Like you they can't tell me the weight of the kids.
I have been down with the flu the whole of the long weekend and my fever wouldn't come down despite taking panadol. So I went down to KK in the afternoon to check and they admitted me saying my contractions had started every 6 min! But there was no pain and I am only 26 weeks. I really panicked. After medication it is better now but I am still not sure the difference between the baby stretching and the stomach hardening(contractions) Anyone else experience this?

lolarose

From what I know, the Bugaboo strollers are controlled price items, so no discounts even if there's a sale. Am not too sure abt the Maclaren though

backaches

These few days I've been getting backaches, not due to pregnancy (i think) but coz of the very tight working schedule these couple of weeks. Issit okie for HB to massage while I'm on the tummy? Coz I find it hard when he massages while I'm on the side

storeberry

Hope u're feeling better now!!

huichin

Wah, ur vivid description of the food makes me want to try.. But I'm qt cautious of food intake now, feel like i'm expanding too quickly! Have put on another 2kg in the last 1 mth

Looks like all the mommies who went to hi-tea had a good time!

Looking forward to the east-side gathering.

reirei,
I also sleep on my side and then can feel my bb kicking me. Actually feels more like tickling against my ribcage. Hope it doesn't become more ferocious. tdy she's kicking me more, maybe to protest against the hot weather?

Re: maternity pads
The brand sold at Kiddy Palace is Madame or Pureen brand. Sold at $7.95. That time at JL expo sale should have grabbed a few packs, cos selling at $6.35/pack.

RE: diapers
I heard Petpet will leak towards the back if bb is lying down. Pampers of course is the most expensive but the softest. Mamy Poko is not bad and can use for night-time. Have not heard comments about other brands. Personally, I prob will use the cheapest brand to let bb test, then night-time use better brand. cos diapers will be use and throw away, no pt to spend too much.

I just quarrelled with my sis cos when i went home, i found out my bro had painted some parts of the wall...
I seldom go back to sleep one unless my hubby is working overnight. My bro painted the wall when i wasn't around... I know its all pantang but i can't help feeling angry n i quarrelled with my sis cos she keep siding my brother, saying i am overly-superstitious!! I told her off saying if bb got birthmark, who is going to be responsible?!! She say God will guranteed my bb dont have birthmark! Grr.. why cant she just admit its my bro's fault n still have to scream at me?
I was so so so so so angry n decided not to come home to sleep anymore!
I rather stay at my in-laws place then onwards!
Really very upset with them, i still thinking of moving back to stay for confinement but this incident makes me think otherwise...
Sigh, wsh i can have my own house soon...

M2B,
Wow, still exercise, not easy now. Peifu u.

celynlee (celynlee)
How to brush teeth and wash hands after every toilet visit if cannot touch water.

Lorarose: Some mummies in Sept thread were suggesting to go to this shop called Cheong Choon at Chinatown, they said the strollers &amp; car seats are cheaper than Baby Hypermart but its a small &amp; cramp place, can placed order thru phone &amp; above $150 they will deliver. You can call &amp; check out the price.

Address: Blk 34, Upper Cross Street #03-132, Tel : 6532 3855

Thanks mulberry &amp; hisstory dor your concern! Better now! I just treat it as "Pai du" lo.. Kekek...

Take care water lotus &amp; double blessing!

Yah the mummies must have enjoyed yourselves! Hope to join you all the next time~!

diapers,

I found this from the forum but can't remember where..
pureen: super cheap, soft to touch but leaks terribly (average can last 4 hours)

drypers: cheap, good and absorbent but ds got nappy rash from wearing too long (average can last 4 hrs)

petpet: cheap, good but more suitable for home use as will leak

mamy poko: very good and soft to touch bt price a bit ex. can use for long hours like night time (average can last 6-8 hrs)

fitti: two kinds, day type will leak, night type ok but more suitable for short hours (day type can last 2 hrs plus, night type can last 6 hours)

nepia: very good and soft, a bit ex and diaper will get lumpy when it is used over long hours(average can last 8 hours)

pampers premium: very good, soft to touch, price ex and has urine indicator (average can last 6 to 8 hours)

strawberry,
Was just commenting today at the hi-tea that I don't remember who I was suppose to collect the washing machine from :p Friday would be good. Prob lunch or after lunch time ? Cos morning I'm going for glucose test. At paya lebar right ?

reirei,
I'm also thinking of what diapers to get.. Worry that buy too much or that they grow too fast :p Maybe I'll just buy 1 NB and 1 small to standby at home.

re: hi-tea
actually come to think of it, I had a camera in my bag but forgot to bring out :p Ya abit wasted we seperated to 2 tables. Should have rotated seats

hi lolarose,
Mothercare sale starting 23rd may. you can try calling mothercare to check. They carry both the strollers. But think bugaboo is fixed priced item.

btw, just curious to know, what is ds?

just went to spring and found out they're having GSS already. i think i'll pop by the flagship store next week to take a look!

catherine, is the whole store on sale when mothercare goes on sale on 23 may? till when?

avocado,
i don't know leh. but i think my mum did mention about using boiling water and not tap water. very blur about all these things. i guess i will try to follow as much as i can loh to play safe mah, anyway its only for a month. of course, if can't take it then break the rules lah. heheheheh......

krex/celyn,
i remember seeing it maternity panties at OIO and its selling in pack of 3 i think but very ex leh. Din see the spring ones. Tot wont wear aft preg so no use buying so ex ones. Gonna throw those xtra large panties aft birth. Cant wear my normal ones liao cos too small for the growing butt and thighs... haha...

mulberry,
is there a waiting area for the car to stop at eastpoint bubble tea shop? cos need my hubby car to carry the bubble teas should there be more orders.

Bubbles tea:

Anyone try the milk tea ( bubble tea) at KOI cafe ( take away shop).. they have 3 outlets..
1. China Town - outside people's park complex
2. Marine Parade
3 Toa Payoh...
their milk tea ( bubble tea) is very tasty

morning ladies! =)
today those who have NTUC Link card can go cheong John Little liao, its additional 20% discount u noe? hee hee....
and if u pay by OCBC Robinson card, should have another 5% discount rite? =P
siao liao, so many places to shop.

catherine
so u cfm tmr not going to yoga and taka sale liao lah? =(
haven got a chance to really talk to u leh.

cindy, i'm wearing the OIO and spring one. i saw the OIO one first and tot i'd buy to try. quite comfi. it's about $30 for a pack of three, quite normal price if u buy brands like sloggi, etc.

as for spring, it's much cheaper. i think only $10+ for 2 pcs. and it's lower waist so more comfi, haha.

snow, what's there to buy at JL? quite sick and tired of going for sales liao. i'll wait for june/ july to come then buy all the remaining items (and go broke), haha.

val, is madame or pureen maternity pad better? i only saw one brand that day at kiddy palace, can't remember which one liao. packaging quite big one, almost the size of diapers! maybe i'll buy that at JL, if i do happen to go there.

krex
hmm...actually they started the GSS liao lor, so its almost same as what u will see in jun/jul.
its just that they got extra 20% discount for Link card holder, it really depend on what u need to buy.
e.g. my shampoo is normally on 15% disc, can imagine now is 15% + 20% + 5%? =)
it will definitely be cheaper than what i can get in chinatown lor.

hisstory: Haha..well u can mah! Just dun order too much, and bring more ppl so u can order and share! keke...i oso one month gain abt 2kg leh..scary loh..but wat to do, i just try not to eat too much one meal, if hungry then bite on fruits or bread etc loh. Haha..

Mulberry: Do u know what's bubble tea shop is there at Simei (the place u mentioned)? Any recommendations? LOL

storeberry

Good to hear u're on the road to recovery.. Such positive thinking ah? Detoxify.. heheh

Hope it didn't make u too tired out..

huichin

Hahah, gd idea.. But i prob wun be in the area till maybe in the nights, like supper.. But no suppers for me, too tired &amp; must manage weight.

Am only taking my 3 regular meals &amp; no snacking.. Must make sure I control intake of sugar fr drinks too

snow

wah, the JL sale sounds gd.. The hot deal's only on for today?

Celyn/Cindy,
the cotton disposable undies hor, can get fr Metro or isetan.
Btw someone mentioned abt nursing bras in this thread. I oso got mine at metro for $9.90 each. Oni bot 2..dunno if it's enuff..anyway dun intend to wear for long bah..
quality not bad..no padding one..it's by this brand called Impression.

Catherine,
Datz wat i plan to do too!
I jus bought pampers NB ($16.10 at ntuc for 36 pcs). Bought the best cos v scared of NB skin..
V tempted to get nepia S size ($15 for 54 pcs) cheap cheap n reviews so far been pretty good

snow, are u sure so much discount? i think it's just 20% off normal price and 5% for robinsons card members. ok, maybe i shld just take a walk to JL later. the discount for NTUC cardmembers only for today ah?

Serriz &amp; Celynlee &amp; huichin: About coconut drink, doing research on this last time, most of the ppls said best to drink those big red coconut but not those small and young one and to drink it only after 34 weeks, the max is twice a weeks only. I do that when I got my girl.

Sanitary
I use the Kotex maternity pad as the flow is alot and have to keep changing every fews hours. After at later part after a month the flow become lighter i changed to those night sanitary so at least more comfortable.

Disposable panties
I used it throughout so if stain the panties, just throw away. I bought quite afew of those cotton with tiny holes that allow skin to breath (shape look like boxer very confortable for me so i wont feel so hot down there since confinement make me so hot and sweat alot. But is quite exp per pcs

Disposable diaper for newborn
I swear by PAMPER newborn, thought expensive but is better for newborn sensitive skin and got urine indicator too

Hi Krex, if you are at JL, can you help me see if the Pigeon Rapid steriliser is on discount? Kekek.. Thanks! And does the promo include Passion card members? Cos Passion card members also have LINK points...

Thanks hisstory! Tonight going for my check up! Can see bb again!