(2008/08) Aug 2008

Re:touching water during confinment
I used warm water to wash below after every pee and poo, use warn water to wash hand also. Whatever thing need to touch water, it will be warm water including washing face and brush teeth

krex78,
today's papers got an ad that mothercare habourfront 15% storewide. Nuk sterilizer 20%. Tiny Love 20%. Some strollers up to 30%. Check out the Life section of today's ST.

snow74,
ya tomo cant go yoga cos need to go glucose test. But not sure after that can go taka sale or not. Why don't u PM me your contact, I sms you after my glucose test and we see how.

storeberry

Enjoy your check-up!!

catherine

Thanks for the info! Was still thinking where to go gaigai this evening

hisstory: Whoa u very discliplined siah...heehee..then go there for dinner oso can wor. Haha...me is evil...keep tempting u

Amabel's Mummy: Haha..so many versions of the coconut thing! I just checked with my MIL (since she's malay) she oso said have..got such thing...but it's the young thai sweet coconut one. Hahah...

Catherine: Really ah! Then i must go check out liao! hehe...30% is alot leh! I wanna check out my stroller..hehe...

huichin,
you may wana give them a call to check if the stroller you want is on sale, incase you dont want to make a wasted trip.

HarbourFront Centre (flagship)
1 Maritime Square #03-07 S(099253)
Tel: 6513 3243 / 6513 3245

Disposable panties:
You can get them at John Little Basement Lingurine section at Orchard branch. Per pack 5 pcs $5.05, still have 20% discount. The packing states its disposable panties for pregnant woman. I bought 6 packs, after discount is $24.24.

I went to JL & Robinsons on last Mon, the Pigeon steriliser is on 20%, so as many of the baby stuff. Only the stroller i bought wasn't entitled with the discount.

Snow74 (snow74)
Yes, GSS already started liao so need not wait till Jun08.
For JL sales, is it only for today? If it is, cannot make it. Any idea where got JL except Specialist Centre.

avocado,
JL not more at specialist centre. It's now at the opposite side beside OUB bank. (ex OG). They have outlets at Plaza SG, northpoint, causeway pt, jurong pt and I think marina sq

it was great mtg u gals yday.

mulberry & snow74,
tks 4 ur compliments. it jus happened tt he was on his best behaviour yday.

Huichin,
yeah you r rite, i also told my hubby that he is very fortunate as for my both pregnancy also dun have those unusual craving.

yeah i will have my coconut abt 2-3 times a weel but not those thai sweet coconut ( my mother will stock up for me usually- drink that on on first pregnancy - my baby came out quite clean so i think got help lor. haha

Krex78,
Thanks for the diaper information - guess will go for mama poko or pampers premium, personally feel newborn skin is delicate thus dun mind spend alittle more.

i guessed the mummies enjoyed their high tea session - hope i can join next time if i'm not feeling so tired.

If C section, do we need to use maternity pad?
anyone got any recommendation on dry shampoo?

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
hmm...no, don't think car can wait by the roadside of the bubble tea shop. Unless maybe park a little bit further away. The bubble tea shop is next to Mr.Bean shop.
I guess it's more convenient for those coming by bus or MRT bah.

sorry ya I can't offer to buy the bubble teas coz my hubby won't be ard that Sunday. So no one to carry for me.

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
hee...sorry i forgot the name of that shop liao. my memory failing me. This evening when i go out, i go take note of it ya. hehe... Oh I don't really like normal bubble tea. My favourite from there is their oreo chocolate ice blended with pearl.
But I haven't drink in loooong time liao...coz my gynae ask me to cut down on sweet stuff :p.

oh btw, some of the common abbr. used in SMH :-
DS = Darling Son
DD = Darling Daughter
DH = Darling Husband/hubby

<font size="+1">Dear mommies whom coming to the east side gathering,</font>
for those that haven't done so yet, pls PM me so that i can reply ur email with my address and contact no.

i just came back from my glucose test. the glucose drink is so super sweet, its like eating a lot of fruity mentoes. luckily only draw blood twice instead of 3 times. result will only be out next week but as long as there is no news its good news.

i also went for my regular check. baby is now 1.1kg at 28 weeks. rat, help me update when you free.

gynae say everything is good and going well even for my weight gain. total weight gain is 9kg at 28 weeks.

Hey mummy

Any recommendation on disposable panties. The last time i gave birth was 3 years ago, forgotten the brand that i bought.

Anyway just to recommend this maternity pad MADAMME. You can get from kiddy palace. Very comfortable. I use it when i having my first kid, really no complain.

mulberry,
no problem i can offer to get the bubble tea cos my hubby driving me to your place... But mummies need to give me ur orders lah... Will buy them at the most convenient place for me, hope u all dun mind.

thanks to mummies for the info on disposable panties, nursing bra, coconut and sale.

i saw the nursing bra at OIO at kk today. they have those soft underwire one, are they ok? or must wear those without underwire?

hi, just came back from JL sale. quite disappointing. cldn't even find the maternity pads (or rather, the staff were so blur). only bought a thermal blanket and got 20% discount with my NTUC link card. saw the cotton disposable undies but not the maternity ones.

mad, how come the madame pads packaging so big ah? as compared to the kotex maternity ones? have u tried both or just the madame ones? i dun mind getting one pack to try.

cat, how's the variety at harbourfront mothercare like? it's at vivo or harbourfront? i only seen the one at vivo before, quite small. i'm waiting for july, then use my 15% discount coupon which i got from one of the bb magazines.

Krex78

Becos Madame is long and soft. Kotex is folded. I remember i run out of the Madame and my hubby bought the KOTEx. oH MINE, it is a big different and i really hate it. Even now i already got the Madame brand for this pregnancy. I got it from metro or jl sale the other time. No regret.

celynlee,
Did you have to like wait for 2 hours there ? my gynae told me that take the super sweet drink then have to wait for 2 hours. My cousin when she took the test was asked if she wanted hot or cold drink. She told me yesterday to take the cold one.

krex78,
it's habourfront. 3rd floor. Very huge one.

mulberry,
PM you already

hi ladies, i bought 2 pigeon bottles but i dont know if they are Pigeon PES bottles. the bottles did not indicate anything. please advise. thank u..

1436967.jpg

Hello All,

I am new to singapore and also to the forum. I would appreciate the moms-to-be to help me a little especially for shopping for baby.I am due in last week of august.

Thanks all!

missysz,
yes those are PES bottles. The color is more brownish than the normal plastic ones

hi Luvlel,
welcome to sg and the forum
We're all crazy shoppaholic MTB/mums here. hahaha. you've come to the right place.. hahaha

Welcome Luvlel -

all mummies with #1 kids - i heard from my frd that AIA is offering a free 90days trial policy for HMFD - prehaps u might wanna chk with ur agent.

Thanks Catherine :D I am going to be a first time mom. I am excited and also nervous at the same time as got only my hubby to help me out :eek:)

Re: High tea yest @ marriot
it was nice meeting you girls yest but it was a pity we were sitted quite apart to really talk much. But it was good, thanks again to Snow for organising =)

Mulberry/reirei,
so tom we confirm 10am at take fountain rite?

Re: East Gathering on 1st June
Im afraid i cant join alrdy. Cos HB just told me we've a family lunch that day. Next time =)

Cindy,
you are making me drool over bubble tea! Hee..sooo tempting to get a cup NOW!

joanne,
ya abit wasted to be at seperate tables. only managed to know who you were when leaving :p

serriz,
ya c-section also need to use maternity pad. But I heard from some mummies that less blood. Dono how true. But I think it's quite individual. At my breastfeeding workshop, they also said bf will have less blood.

luvlel,
no prob. I'm also a 1st time MTB. blur blur also like that pass thru 28 weeks already. hahaha. GSS starting so it's a good time to start stocking up on things. A good start would be to have a checklist on the standard things you need. Most departmental stores have a copy. Just ask them at the baby items section

mad, which JL u went to? the one at marina sq don't have leh.

btw, any mommies here paid $10 to be kiddy palace member? dunno whether to join or not. might be worth it if i do regular shopping there for bb in future, like buy diapers, food, cream, etc.

Krex,
usually i buy my diaper and milk powder from medical hall - they sell cheaper!

like now my girl is drinking friso gold 4 - if buy from supermarket is abt $21.00 for 900g however i order directly from Friso so they deliver to me and their on gg promotion is buy 5 get 1 free - so total 6 tins for $105/- (abt $17.50 a tin)
can save quite alot

Krex

JL at singapore expo. I think you got to get from kiddy palace. Hey last time i got the card but i find it useless as alot of the things in kiddy palace dont have discount even you have the card. So i actually didnt renew the card after a year.

re: marriot hi tea
nice to meet so many mummies yesterday... we got 2 very pretty mummies in the forum

re: maternity pad
im bought some laurier long &amp; for nite use with wings ones... duno whether ok or not?

re: maternity panties
i bought some cheap cotton ones from mothercare, 5 for $18... so far bought 2 packs aledi cos the size 8 ones a bit tight so buy size 10 2 weeks back...

Re: maternity pad

Actually don't really need to get maternity pad, just get those for heavy flow or those with longer length. Bought kotex and other brand maternity pad before, is very thick and uncomfortable, non maternity pad absorption is just as good. Hths!

mad, just out of curiosity, what's wrong with folded kotex pads? how inferior is it compared to madame?

serriz, what else can u get from medical hall? never noticed they sell such things. i think punggol got one ZTP and i read fr this forum that rivervale plaza one also quite cheap.

Disposable Cotton Undies
I jus went Metro to get some more. Brand is Impression.
The SA told me i dun haf to get those for maternity cos they r soo v big!! and btw my bums not small lor...
So I jus bought non-maternity ones. S$4 for pack of 5.

Missysz,
Yes, i got the same ones too..these are made of PPSU..
the teats r supposed to resemble the mother's nipples.

Joanne,
Yes, confirmed
See u tomolo!

Serriz,
Answer is yes..cos we wld need to shed away the lining in our uterus. same logic as having menses.

Krex,
I jus got my membership cos now member enjoy 20% mah.
Used it to buy some bb clothes for home wear.
But then, if u see price tags wif "Offer" or "Special", there will be no further disct.

Krex78,

some medical hall sell, some dun. so u need to chk out.
usually i buy the luyi oil, baby powder( yellow box one), nappy cream, body lotion, baby cereals and etc.

catherine,
yah, i waited for 2 hours to draw blood the 2nd time. the glucose i got is room temp. i was telling my hubby if i got a straw, i think i can drink much faster. the moment i finished, i have heartburn and almost puke. after that i keep burping.

krex78,
is there sale on avent products such as steriliser, pump?

i saw in today's zaobao, robinson got sale at expo.

Reirei,
thanks for the informations - i still tot if c section then i can use tampon cos i reli dun like the feeling of wearing pads esp those thick and big one...

hi tea ladies,

nice to meet up with u guys. wasted all of us forgot to take a pic. if not can paste it here

yup, seated too far away, never really have a change to talk to the ladies at the other table.

vone,
once a gain, yr son is really well behaved

i went out the whole day yesterday from morn till night. today dead tired man, that;s why never hear from me till now. i was snoozing all day, hehe

maternity pad,
can just buy the night ones that are super long? at least it comes with wings. the maternity ones do not. won;t it leak?

Missysz,
I bought them at Bugis BHG..at 20% disct.
I was told 5-6 shld be enuff....anyway i oredie bought 3 pigeon and 3 medela.
If buy steriliser/pump, they'll provide some too.. :p

Krex,
ZTP issit the one on ground floor? dat shop is soo pathetically small...they sell chinese med oni... there's another 1 on 2nd floor but doubt they sell..
I tink serriz is referring to those bigger medical halls in those neighbourhood shop houses bah...

luvlel: Welcome! Where are you from? Yap, the forum is for sharing &amp; I have gottern quite abit of info from the mummies here!

There is a Loreal sale at expo, including Shu Umera, biotherm, Lancome, HR..etc.. Don't know if I should go or not.. Last time me &amp; my frens will be the cheonging for this kind of sales.. Haha..

Re: Milk bottles

I bot a pigeon sterlizer and the whole set comes with one big and 2 small wide neck bottles. Tot my baby wont be using the large one, feel like getting 1-2 more small bottles. Any idea if other brands bottles like avent, NUK can be fitted into the pigeon sterlizer?

mulberry,
i pm u liao.

little twin stars,
tks 4 d compliments.

cindy,
no need 2 buy so many small btls. coz bb outgrew them quite fast. 4 my son, 2 small btls r enough. wherelse i need 6 big 1s when my son outgrew his small btls. yes, nuk &amp; avent can fit into d pigeon steriliser.

hello ladies!
sorry hor, i went out to JL sales straight after my post. =P
the additional 20% for link card holder till 25th, its written in the email additional lor.
E.g. my silkpro shampoo [($9.90 - 10%) - 20%] - 5% = haven calculate yet.

Serriz
dunno if its convincing, but my 4 other friends and i who had c-sect had little menses flow after delivery.
1 of them even only need panty liner, i'm using as normal.
all our menses din last more than 10days.
after that stopped for a couple of mths, then menses start again.

catherine
i remember i pm u my hp nos b4 ya?
maybe i'm 4getful lately....ok, i'll pm u again.
remember to let me noe earlier tmr hor? =)