(2008/07) July 2008

bbD is sick..down w diarrhoea n high fever of 39 plus... then the area ard his anus all de way to his genitals red n painful..i c liao so heartache..

nw his fever is down, genitals nt so red..but..he refuses to take his antibiotics..vomit everything out once he smells a whiff of it..mix into ribena, carrot juice n even his 240ml of milk, he oso refused..i reali clueless..

how orh?

star xin
have to force them to take medicine. last time when my boy dun wan to take, my hb will hold him while i feed him. really force one lor. or u try to bait him with biscuits?

u press one side of his nose down as u feed. it will be a reflex action to swallow the medicine. a PD taught me that

cellow
ha, i got 3 blank messages......now i know who sent them...

hope C gets well soon....poor thing and poor u too!

re flu jabs
both my kids took them before we went HK. they seem fine. hb is the one who got sick after coming back....

JSP
Yah wait for BIG sale since still got time. Now shipping getting more n more ex must wait till sale 1 time buy ALOT then more worth.....hehehe

cellow
If u have essential oils then burn eucalyptus oil. It helps them to breath easier.

cellow,
haha.. it did work for B. propping bb up to slp to avoid back flow was taught by Bos' PD actually. Bos too slide down. i just put pillows n bolster at the side so which ever side he slide down, he is still propped up.

oh oh! ya, eucalyptus oil! i missed this out. this was taught to me by serene. haha.

re: flu jab
i heard news from taiwan. 7 yo boy suspect dying from takin the vaccine for h1n1, so i very reluctant to tk. my in laws are asking us to bring bring bos to take b4 we go hk in jan. but think most prop i wun care. is my son wat. bos took his flu jab last jan. think he can only tk again after w are back from hk as we are going in jan..

JSP,
who knows ur hubby end up shopping with u for ur princess stuff as well. ho ho ho..

morning mummies...

star xin
my boy also got diarrhoea last week... for the sore bottom part, we wash his bottom instead of wiping... n the antibotics i usually force feed one... n i will tell him last one so tt he will open his mouth...

dor dor
hahaha... i have started my bio-ing n will list out those i like soon...

holly
he not the shopping kind one leh... budden i think got exceptions one when its comes to his little girl... he was like so u wanna start buying liao?? n did not stop me lor... hahahaha...

jsp,
HB was at a Pumpkin Patch factory outlet in Perth buying a dress / top for his sister's daughter for Christmas... spent a loooooong time bio-ing the gals' clothes. so you never know with the HB... he might just surprise you wor
As for buying clothes for C.... we just took a min to scan thro the tees, and picked out one with a car on it for him. Dun need to think v much one.

thanks dor and holly.
am using Karvol essential oil in capsules at night. no more drippy nose, now coughing. bring to PD later at 1145am.

SY,
oh no, you too! C must have been really bz with my phone. well at least he din type in gibberish.
how ws your HK trip?

JSP, oh you intend to stop at 2 ar
Go for #3 leh

Celeste is now a "big" girl now. Talks a lot, runs a lot, plays a lot, climbs a lot! LOL Very playful and likes to show me her cheeky face. Very scared will spoil her leh.

She enjoys reciting 1 to 10 in English & Chinese, A to Z also. And loves to sing! Very funny, as my #2 often says "tell mummy!" when my #1 bullies him, now Celeste also likes to say "tell mummy"! Ho ho ho

JSP, i remember when i was expecting her, it's only cfm that she's a girl at detailed scanning. And when i hear it, it's like a Chinese saying, zuo meng ye hui xiao. Translated, dream also can smile.

And yup, guard your wallet

Well, wish you all the best and also to the rest of the expectant mummies.

hannah

your "zuo meng ye hui xiao" gave me the chuckles! you ah! muahaha!

and celeste is so good! mine always misses 5 and 7 in english and can only recite 1,2,3 in mandarin. i think for alphabet can only do up to G by himself. but he is really attempting to sing. can hear his "twinkle twinkle little star" in tune quite clearly. then "how I xxxxxx xxxx you are" then "up xxxxxx xxx xxxxx xx high" all only the first words and last words only. muahaha!

JSP

I am soo happy for you! but really close shop ah? sure don't want #3?

holly

then is mid Feb a good time for HK? i am thinking of bringing the children to disneyland during CNY.

hannah
u gd memory leh... still can rem i intend to stop at 2 huh... nobody help me take care very siong leh... somemore me n HB dun trust maid one how to have #3...
Celeste is such a clever ger lor... can speak so well alrdy huh... my Ernest still blur blur... best word he can say is 'MUMMY'... everyone also call mummy lor... very cheeky also... coz he purposely call my ILs mummy lor...
my wallet well guarded... its HB's wallet tt is in danger... coz his $$ is my money mah... hahahaha... n thks for the well wishes...

doggiebb
thks... i also like hannah 'zuo meng ye hui xiao' leh... at this moment with no help, i'll stop at 2 lah... budden when the kids r older i dunno leh... my hands would be full with 2 for the moment... i wanna enjoy motherhood n have time for all my kids leh... hahahaha...

talking...
C is still not talking. aaargh. only knows how to point at vehicles 'dada' and food 'mum-mum'. doesnt even wanna call us... will purposely call mama when i point to HB and papa when HB points to me. *tear out hair in comic way*

Can Celeste and Thaddie boy come over to talk please?

zuo meng ye hui xiao - LOL.... C2 gives me that too, I am just so tickled that he kicks me when he needs space.... he is even more active than C1 was in the womb.

Cellow
I use that too and put on a handkerchief nearby but seems to work for awhile only n must be very nearby only use for D before never tried on E. N D is such a fussy boy sometimes he smells it he will wake to make noise.
But this girl is good she will blow her nose if there is something inside and blow till everything is out. Maybe that's why she was not really sick. D doesn't blow his nose so gotta take meds to clear and its taking a long time lor......sigh
I prefer to burn essential oil cos its like the whole room will smell nice. Then lazy me dun have to keep making sure the handkerchief is near him so he can smell it......hehe

Hannah
I think cos Celeste has 2 big playful korkor to learn from.....hehe
Ember also learns alot of nonsense from her naughty korkor.

Celeste so clever can talk so much now. E still 1 word 1 word kind.

Jsp
hehe same as me now stop at 2 then when the kids older then see hw financially and whether I am still sane enough.....keke
Those kpos at the market always ask me to ahve another 1 say I still young then suffer suffer 1 time.
Siao lor I tell them now I have 2 to enjoy busy enough liao have another 1 to make me suffer for what?? I dun want to hate my kids.

dor dor
i totally agree with u... i wanna enjoy my kids growing up process n be able to spend quality time with them... so wat if i had alot budden no time for them... defeats the purpose right?? i dun wan my kids to grow up being undisciplined coz i got no time to teach them the right values... heehee... me n my thots... hahaha...

Doggiebb
how do you teach him??

By the time im home, im so tired to teach.. im worried that he watchin to much tv and refusin to talk..
he can only do 'mum mum', 'ball' and 'bird'..
might bring him to the speech therapist next jan..

Baby flea market
Next SUnday 10 Jan
Haji Lane

Counting
hahaha everytime you all mention something I will try with E and just now I tried counting.
I said "Oneeeeeeeeeee"
E went "dou"
I said "Twoooooo"
E went "dwee"
I said "Threeeeeeeeee"
She went "po"
I said "Fourrrrrr"
She went "pie"................

And I actually didn't know what she was saying until on it went then I realised she was counting with me and she actually is saying the number after though with very babyish pronounciation......hahaha

dor dor,
I can't do that with declan or else we will just be stuck at 2 forever. I have to point at things then he will count for me... or else he will just ignore me.

Our little ones r oh so cute n growing up so fast!

Hannah I've never met ur boys or Celeste yet. Did u enjoy babies prom? I accidentally deleted all my pics taken dat day!

brushing teeth: how r ur little ones taking it? Mne is resisting more n more. Now he struggles n cries big time when I grab him to brush

Woa, after reading thru the posts, didn't occur to me that my girl is so good in talking. Haha

She can communicate quite well to us. Maybe she's got a very talkative mum and grandma LOL

Aeroplane pass by will say xxplane; on the roads will say taxi, car, bus. When she wants you to go away, she'll not hesitate to say "go away", or "zou kai". But many times she just mumbles and talk it loud loh. When she sings, though not so exact, i can still figure out what song she's singing. When give her food that she likes, she'll say "woa, nice" with a very pleased look. So cute u know
Now she's into learning the basic colours loh.

But i take for granted that girls are by nature talkative and they talk earlier than boys. So cellow, smiggle, maybe dun need to worry so much now lah. And btw, can talk early doesn't mean they'll do well in future or are exceptionally clever than the rest lah. They'll catch up.

Cellow, i think when she sees u, she'll probably be too shy to open her mouth. Then look at macho cedric maybe also end up speechless liao LOL

Jsp, dor, i agree that taking care of 3 kids is really very taxing. Esp when they enter pri sch. Nowadays quite competitive already. It helps to space out the kids a bit. My #2 is 3 yrs younger than my #1, #3 is 4 yrs younger than #2. But actually both has pros & cons lah. But you must be ready for a lifelong kind of commitment, i guess.

Smiggle, i somehow agree that watching too much tv may cause a delay in a child's speech. Coz my #2 watched a lot of TV programmes last time and he couldn't really talk well when he was younger last time.

All the babies are very smart. Kudos to the hard-working mummies who teach them!
Not commenting on mine as he is not speaking properly yet.

HK during March hols
We may just go anyway. See how. #1 loved it so much that he keeps asking to go again. We keep suggesting other places but no, he only wants to go to Hong Kong.

SY
Where did you stay in HK?

SmiggleP
Which part of Haji Lane is the baby flea market at? What time? It sounds interesting!

dor, see, Ember can count!!! Amazing right, at this tender age.

do1nk, i didn't really enjoy the babies prom. Maybe if seated in the front will be better. Partly also not suitable for my boys coz they are too old for this. I think Celeste got enjoy part of it bah, then part of it distracted liao. U enjoyed? I think better if she's 2-3 YO. Can go up stage and look at the instuments. Coz they dun allow parents to go up with the kids. I shared the tickets with Ronnie, i think his son enjoys it. I probably won't go again in future. I didn't take many pics. What's there to take huh?

Ya, my children have not met any of the kids here. A little difficult coz the meet-ups are usually on a weekday whereby i can't take leave. Remember i once say how difficult it is for me to take even a one day's leave? Got 21 days leave also got eaten up in the end. Sob.. Btw, those with 18/21 days annual leave, how to clear them with the additional 6 days of cc leave huh? Won't affect work meh?

Do1nk, I use the first teeth finger brush to brush Celeste's teeth. She's ok with it. I also bought the pigeon brand toothbrush for her to brush on her own. She likes it too.

My only struggle now is the washing hair part. Everytime cry loh.. Dun know when will this end..

Oh ya, if go HK, will it be cheaper to book tickets thru jetstar then book hotel on line, or go thru a travel agent to book free and easy package?

Any recommendations on hotels that is child friendly?

Youpi, since your #1 is not in pri sch yet, why will u still choose to go during the mar sch hols?

do1nk,
bbG doesn't like putting the brush into his mouth? Or won't give up the toothbrush like Poppy?Initially when Declan wouldn't open his mouth, I would ask him "Annie Apple says?" and when he says ah, I quickly put in and brush. He would fall to this trick a few times, so can still sorta brush his teeth. Then when it came to the won't-give-the-toothbrush-up stage, I would hold his hand and do it together with him. Nowadays, I will say "Mama help you brush first", and when I ask him to do the respective E and Ah sounds to brush the front and insides, he will do it liao. It's a very gradual process. Jia you!

Hannah,
Washing hair part - can distract with toys?

Kayden very short attn spanned and by the time i say 3, he run off liao...

Brushin also headache, but he like to watch me brush..
he like me puttin hair band on him and praise him handsome... hows!!!

Youpi
e whole haji lane wil be closed...
think from 10am-6pm/8pm

He used to be ok wiv the finger brush. Then when I introduced the baby toothbrush, he took to chewing on the bristles n dong he brushing himself. At one stage he even reminded me to put toothpaste first. But dunno why he gradually didn't like it n now he won't even let me put the toothbrush near his mouth. Ends up crying big time when I try to hold him down sigh

drinking milk to sleep is another bad habit he's cultivated which i can't wean him off too arrgh!

do1nk
Will G brush with u??
Cos Ember loves to brush her teeth and will ask to brush her teeth when we have woken. It helps that she has D to brush with and they both love to brush....haha

Hannah
Actually Ember learns fast but her speech is not as good as my #1 used to be. She uses alot of ways to make sure we know what she's talking abt and understands us very well but somehw doesn't talk alot which I'm surprised cos like U i feel girls talk faster.
My #1 talked early and was already speaking in short sentences before Ember was born so i was kinda expecting more from Ember who has a talkative mum like me and a KPO korkor.....hehe
But they always surprise us.

doggiebb,
CNY is always the coldest time of the year. I have no idea why even though CNY is always at different day n month of the year. Plus all the shops are not open. might not b a good time. BUT! if u wanna go disneyland, this might really be one good timing. coz all the China ppl might not go HK during that time. hehe.

Hannahl,
I always buy on jetstar n book our own hotel. coz we always get promo tix. hehe!

dor,
Ember is so clear lo. Bos is not counting at all. He dun even understand wat is ONE. =(

Holly
I'm surprised Ember will put out 1 finger when you say 1.....hahaha

Oh and hor the other timing my hubby wanna go HK is during CNY lor cos they themselves also not working during CNY n he was thinking of going during that time. N I told him what you said lor. CNY LOR plus hk CNY quite big 1 ma sure alot of shops close then we go FOR WHAT!!!!

Actually during Mar when we went that time and it was quite cold 1 of the nights the night markets close very early think cos it was too cold. So cold weather go also wasted hor.................sigh

Youpi
I am so bad wanna go holiday also didn't bother if going during sch holiday or not.......hahahaa

gd morning!

youpi,
you dun have to rush with others over the mar holidays to go to HK, since S is not yet in P1?

talking bbs
pat on back to the hardworking mummies who teach them

C will talk in his own time. i know he understands us, and if he really wants smthing (usually food or cars), he will let us know for sure lor. the receptive vocab is ok, only expressive vocab is lacking. haiya, forgot to ask the PD ystday.... but I was bz asking abt MMR and her availability during C2's hospital stay.

Brushing teeth
do1nk, you remind me... I got a bb toothbrush for C, time to use it! whenever HB or I brush teeth in the morning, he points to our foamy mouth and says (what else) MUM-MUM. thinks we are eating smthing... greedy boy.

being greedy is better than not eating though.
i gotta keep reminding myself i hv a good problem... being greedy is a good problem...

C has recently taken to stuffing an entire animal biscuit (those retro kind that our mums, or least my mum, used to give us) into his mouth. He looks like a chipmunk when he does that.

smiggle,
ok then! off to haji lane we go on 10 Jan!

oh holly

coldest ah? i like! hiak hiak! but all the shops closed ah? here in singapore only first and second day of CNY they are closed, after that most of the shopping are available right? in HK, they remained closed from the third day too?

youpi

the studio shots i put up at facebook were taken with David at foto-U. he knows how to get the children to laugh so this is the second time i went back to him.

doggiebb,
I just LOVE Talia's dress. I recall you said you got it from China? How much did it cost you? *thinking why I asked cos I'm not going to be needing it lor*

Cellow,
Yup yup, C's eating and growing.. that's a really good thing. Me on the other hand, sigh. My auntie says my 3 month old niece is going to overtake him in size soon. I gotta always tell myself.. I'm small-size, my husband's no giant either. And the other thing I tell myself to console myself is that Declan's clothes and shoes gets lotsa mileage la.

smiggleprincess:
my friend told me that the baby flea market is postponed leh... she was planning to set up a stall but the organiser informed that the event is postponed...

Brush teeth:
how to teach our kids how to brush teeth? XP doesn't like us to help her brushing, she wants to do it herself, but use the wrong side of the brush to brush her teeth (-.-)

Childcare centre:
XP is going to school next Monday! feel so weird when i helped her put on uniform to try size yesterday... she grows up so fast!!

bbp

that dress is the most RMB150! what a steal right? a similar dress here would cost me at least $100! but boohoo since i changed jobs I won't be going to shanghai anymore!

waiwai

its that david! he is quite the guy to elicit chuckles!

Waiwai
really?
the flea market postponed to when?
was lookin forward to it lei..

bbp
i only like have one of each hair accessories lor..
kayden sorta throw it until they all spoil..
he machiam smile so pretty like girl when hairband is on his head lor..
he loves it so much he would take the hairband to me and ask me put on him!
my husband grumblin abt it..

smiggle,
Never mind, one of each accessories also can count mah. Since he like hair accessories, at least it can hold his interest.
At least Kayden can smile prettily. Declan smiles like a maniac nowadays, with his eyes so small and all his teeth showing.

doggiebb,
Oh my... what a steal! It looks like it's worth at least twice that!

bbp, i've not tried distracting with toys yet. Coz she cries whenever we pour water down her head. Once i said ok, mummy pour water ok, she'll cling on to me and cry. It took a while before she's willing to bathe properly after the series of pouring water onto head. Scared if i try again, backfire leh. So i still cradle hold her and let her cry. At least she'll stop crying after i'm done.

Holly, jetstar dun hv promo tix at sch hols period leh.. *sob*

bbp, so funny, the way u described declan's smile

bbp,
oh my. C's smile is the same as Declan's, eyes super small and all his 8 teeth showing.

especially when he is being cheeky (and he knows it). since when did he develop a sense of humour, right under my nose without me noticing.

bbp
same.. kayden got lots of cheeky faces and grin...
he also know how to "bio" and "armm chio" at us... those slanted grins mean he up to somethin...

But nowadays he seem to be gettin more independent and not so sticky..

Woohoo.. tml get to interview new maid.. cant wait...

random worry
C is going to school in Mar. He is so big sized that he gets mistaken for a 2yo.... what if some teacher picks on him for snatching toys out of a smaller-sized but similar-aged tot...

wahlau, i cannot stand myself smtimes.

doggiebb,
that dress hor is such a steal!!!! i also wan, but like bbp, also dunno wan for wat. for my lost childhood, most likely, than for C1 and C2... bwahahhahaa.

mad already with work handover stuff. ok back to the grind.

smiggle, all the best with the new maid! transfer or fresh off the plane one?

cellow

transfer maid.. hopefully she's good.. its a mummy's maid from the forum. another one maid interviewin next week is 42yr old. dunno if consider too old and cant keep up with kayden?

ur random worry same as mine..
i worry the school find kayden too active and beat other kids how?? i know kayden wont let himself be bullied but he quite the scaredy cat when around girls..wait i have mummies knockin at my door...

cellow:
i'm worrying now... XP is "fierce" (this is the description by XP's PD after i delivered XP), hope i won't get complaints from teachers and other parents next week :p

doggiebb: pls pass me the contact details of the FTWM who made the elmo cake ok? bbG's CRAZY over elmo and sesame street now!

did it taste good too? :D

our kiddos are growing up so fast huh? I still remember TA girl sitting pretty on the potty pic and she was so tiny then huh!

managed to distract bbG with my electric toothbrush earlier this evening while i quickly brushed his teeth!

and since he didn't get to drink his milk in a milk bottle to sleep, he's been asking me to bao-bao him in my arms instead!

Cellow,
Ah, but does C1 have ugly teeth like Declan?

*Ignores doggiebb's evil laughter*

Re worrying:
I know as mothers, we will never stop worrying. We worry that our kids turn out to be bullies or they get bullied. So far... Declan doesn't look like he's going to be any bully (how to bully when the size so small right?) So my strategy right now is to just ensure that he doesn't cry at any little thing. The rest... one step at a time.

Happy New Year mummies!

Random worries..

woah I have plenty! From worrying that he is autistic (cos my nephew is autistic - worried it is hereditary) to worrying he is not the wee bit interested in books... more keen on his remote control cars and helicopters... worried he wont be able to speak mandarin in the future...aiyoh...worry so much that i think i just sprouted a few white hairs!

Will adopt bbp's strategy ... one step at a time....haha

cellow
hk trip was fun but tiring...hb says leave jx at home next time..

dun worry too much abt C in sch. will u be going with him for a few days?

teachers are experienced and they know how to handle them. when jh started sch, he wasn't very clear in his speech but somehow the teachers can understand him after a while. think they are already used to it.

dor
jx also dun speak as well as jh i feel. at this age, jx seems to be slower than jh in terms of learning. but she is definitely good at making us happy....haha...

youpi
we stayed at south pacific. the hotel's location is good. my dad's office has corporate rates so we paid less than SGD 200 a night for an executive studio (has a separate living room).