(2008/07) July 2008

Was there like, oh, thanks, but i dunno how to cook.. better safe it for yourself...

or just

'i dun know how to cook hee peow, you better take this back' ?

michelle,
no thanks or anything liddat... that's why i said i got a problem.... siao siao.
and accompanied by much waving of hands, as if my MIL was handing her smthing poisonous

aiyo.. tell her straight loh.. that next time just receive it, on your behalf, even if she doesnt use it, You can use it to cook for your IL, like as a return...

mils.
while we were away for the malacca trip. my mil decide to pack our room.
what should i do? thank her or what?
when i was that my room was touched, i didnt even know how to react loh.
she was apparently very pleased with it.

the Mil talk really get me boiling liao.
i also want to complain.

friday, his pregnant cousin came and try to get some freebies from us. (luckily, i have moved all the clothes to my parents')
then on saturday, both mils started to dig for clothes while i re-arranged barbies cabinet. saying that she promise to give his cousin some clothes. hello those are our property lehz.
couldnt find the used clothes, they confront me. i told them i have moved them to my parents boz no space to keep here.
so the only thing she can dig was the blankie, mittens and booties. and she give them away. hubby wasn't around that why they dig in front of me.
she gave away all my pinkie stuff and say very confidentally, aiya anyway next one is boy liao. don need to keep all these girlie stuff. all give to j****.
there is nothing much i can do or say. how i wish my hubby was there loh.

i complain to hubby that evening.

sunday, (eariler have already agreed with hubby not to leak out the news first) he 'hint' them.
his excuse, so that they will stop giving out clothes that we BUY FOR BARBIE...

yesterday, we went NTUC and i bought a pack of the anmum.
she gak gak ask me, this milk powder is for pregnant woman lehz. u pregnant meh?
so pretentious loh.

i really felt relieved that i listen to hubby advise to moce all the clothes to my parent's house loh.
imagine if i didnt, all the pretty clothes that i buy for barbie and to keep for my next 2 pregnancy will be gone on friday loh.

michelle,
muaks! i can only say at this issue was so close to me that it was bothering me a lot, but the answer to my mum is really so simple hor.

qing,
*blink
your MILs win lor.
good thing is HB is onside, agrees w you that barbie's stuff belongs to you and him, no one else shd exercise any property rights over them.

baby mares
how to reduce or prevent (!!!) their recurrence?
C has been having baby nightmares and cries in his sleep (twice last night, once a night at 1/2am for a week already).

and hor...
sorry mummies...

i cant join for the ramen...
gotta to go for my first check up...

Lunch
17 Dec 2009
12pm?
Liang court Marutama

1) Michelle
2) dustee and pomfret aka onlyeatsramen

batgirl,
sorry to hear about your aunt. my aunt too had a stroke and fainted in the toilet. it was after a while b4 her colleagues found her in the toilet. she was brain-dead when sent to hospital. it was heart wrenching to see her lying there with all the life support tubes on her. it was decided to pull the plug and donate her organs b4 it was too late. she was a buddhist and i suppose that'd be what she had wanted too. my condolences and you take care.

Holly,
rabbit head or body or tail? hehe... me planning rabbit head coz i realise with age, pregnancy is so much more tiring. so don't wanna wait too long. else, i'd most likely settle with 1 child.

SY,
i kept suspecting my son constantly tripped and lose his balance due to his flat feet. but hb kept telling me it's not the cause coz he's got flat feet too. he's still tripping but less frequent now. in fact, he's tip toeing after seeing his cousin does it. monkey see monkey do! i suppose this is just a beginning of more monkeying around....

MIL...
wah... Qing, your mil win liao. touch nvm... still give away your things without getting your permission!! this would be the straw that'll break my aching back! (coz for some weird reason, my boy has been asking me to carry him ever so often these few days).

i'm lucky in a sense that my mil is ok except she loves to talk "rubbish" someties. she still won't dare touch or give away my stuff without asking me first. imagine, i give away her precious bags & shoes with her son's blessings *evil grin*

just to share.. recently, during a chit chat session with my grandma, she commented,

"during her times, dil have to learn to be a dil when married into a family. had to learn how to do house chores, cook, take care of family & the entire in-law clan. nowadays, mil has to learn how to be a mil when dil married into the family. mil has to learn how to keep quiet and not talk too much, and of course MYOB." coming from a 80+ yr old mil, you'd think my granny very enlightened but truth is it's easier said than done. hahah...

SY,
i not good at "ren". in fact, i'm short fused and renowned for my temper. that's why i'm usually quiet in front of new acquaintances coz don't wanna be written off so soon.. hehe.. but it helps that my mil not as ..... as some of the mils around. but that said, it's true 相处容易,同住难.

btw, i still owe you for the books. how can i collect from you?

cellow,
old people say don't let the kids play too rough and don't let them get too excited during day time else will get nightmares.

your mum maybe thinking family liao mah.. so didn't stand on ceremony and just say what she feels lor... plus maybe she thought fish maw so expensive, and that your mil shouldn't have been so spendthrift?!

Qing,
how come ur mil anyhow dig u all's things de? so rude. like no privacy given like tt. duh! but lucky ur hubby on ur side.

MILs
this morning my MIL came over to my place. she told me jetstar got promo for phuket NEXT AUG. den she use my lappy to check online. n she kept asking wan go anot? n she planned to go there for her bdae. her bdae eh! of coz must go la. moreover she's left with bosco, the only grandson for the yr. (my bil whole family go USA for a yr.) so.. i agreed. n nightmare starts. at first, i booked for 5. PILs, hub, me n bosco. (Jetstar webbie today abit technical problem summore.) den, abt an hr later, she called me. she say she calling another auntie see she wanna go. after awhile she call me, ask me book for another auntie n uncle. so total 3. ok, i go book. book finish, say hub's cousin n cousin-in-law wanna go, ask me help book. ok, i book another 2. finish n done. den call again! ask me book for another 2!!! pek cek until wanna scold liao. i bcome tour agency liao lo! kaoz kaoz.. whole morning been doing all this. plus today jetstar got some prob with the site lo.. seh.

re blocked ducts
i get this every 3-4 months. latching and latching won't help if the duct is blocked cos the milk can't come out. you need to do the U C roll on the nipple. best is to see a lataction consultant one time and learn how they do it. if there's a shooting pain when latching, may have some infection. you really need to burst the bleb or clear the duct, if not the milk can't come out not matter how u latch

dustee
u r really a good dil! despite how your mil treats u, u still dun let your hb tell her off. but no matter how good u r to your mil she dun appreciate it. it's really her loss!

re outside food
jx takes some nowadays. she's very naughty. she will not eat her food when we are outside. her fav is fries! she will go crazy over it.

re flat feet
i dunno whether all PD will check or not. but i mentioned it during her assessment check cos it was something that we were concerned abt as she dun walk properly.

i think if it's something u r concerned abt, better ask. cos they do missed out things during the assessment check. like in jh's case, the PD din see his hydrocele. i tot it wd be something that PD shd have noticed cos usually it wd be corrected earlier.

qing
your mil really too much. lucky your hb told u to move the things. foresight!

holly,
your nightmare has just begun. such a big group of relatives and without proper tour guide, there'll bound to be confusion and temper one.. at least that's what i experienced b4.. with my immediate family only hor! good luck to you.

is Bosco taking his nap now? how many naps he taking nowadays? 1 or 2? Elliot has been very reluctant to take his naps. so now it's only 1 nap for him. if he's tired, he can sleep almost 2 hrs. else it's 1 hr to "tong" until 8+ tonight. and it was a nightmare for me to make him take his nap.

holly
imagine you came home from holiday, your room is suddenly very tidy. and worse those babies stuff are kept outside our room. our room she also bu fang guo liao, outside the room. don even have to say liao...

congrats qing! ur wish came true. when do you intend to tell your in laws? scully she takes back the things from the cousin to keep for her own grandchild. ;p and what made her said that the next one will be boy? she can tell?

holly,
wow, from small family vacation to huge tour group liao. hope u will have fun!

cellow,
some adults (including men) talk without thinking much. maybe u can tell your MIL that your mom appreciated but didnt convey properly.

qing, yew! MIL clearing out your room! How dare! why din you ask them to leave your things alone! I really feel like giving my MIL one big hug! haha...

oh, that day my auntie gave ethan a piece of chips and I shouted "eh, cannot eat chips, that piece is covered with salt!".. then suddenly the whole table turn to stare at me... then I repeat, cannot eat salt. then they all turn to "orrrrrr" at my auntie.. hahaha

Qing
Congratulations! Whoa lucky you move the clothes hor! Ee how does your mil knows next one is boy? keke.. Oh talking about this hor my MIL swears that she could tell from the folds on your current bb's tighs. If one fold exact on each tigh, next one will be boy. If one fold on one tigh, 2 folds on another, it'll be girl. In fact all the people from my hb's hometown believe in this, including both my sis in law kekeke... The first thing my MIL checked when I had Emma was - How many fold per tigh? hahahaha... when Emma had one each, she hinted to me many times to have another one, cuz it's going to be boy for sure. I told her the baby factory is closed. kekeke

Batgirl
So sorry to hear the news about your aunt.

Dustee
Don't worry too much. The important thing is what your hb thinks. Just turn a deaf ear when your MIL speaks about the ex. Another trick that I thought is good is to Butter your mil a little. Ask her about things that she's good at doing, she'll feel good if you praise her. If you don't mind, sometimes simple gestures like inviting her to have tea sessions with cake (something that she likes) together might work. If she has a lot of suggestions, try to do one or two as she suggested and she'll feel happy. Those "suggestions" you listed are the kinds that my mom suggested to me a lot until I also cannot tahan. but she loves my daughters a lot so sometimes I'll just follow the suggestions and things will quiet down kekeke. If you think too much of it it'll be stressful.

In-laws
Hmmm I should count myself as one of those who are lucky. My MIL is kind, and quite sui bian on certain things. As she ages she became dependent on us and can't really take care of herself so when she visits, I dictate what she eats/wear/goes. It's like taking care of another baby. Well there are pros and cons, but so far so good. Somtimes I wish that she's more independent so won't use my time that much. But since she's coming over maybe 2-3 times a year (but she'll stay about 1 month each visit), so It's okay. She also didn't really know how to take care of children, so I got no interference from her with regards to raising up children. My husband's family is really super respectful to her, so I had to know also what are the things I must do or mustn't do in front of her. I think her family spoils her a lot but luckily she's not the type that would abuse her power hehehe.

Michelle,
Maybe your friend can go to the lactation consultant as well if the problem get worsed.

Macau - hmm dunno leh since I only stay for 1 night, so I just let her eat the porridge from the food court.

Cellow,
Agree with Michelle, just tell your mum straight. Take it even dunno how to cook, can give back to you but not to your mil kekeke.

Ooh the recipe for the porridge:
Chicken stock:
half chicken, 1 carrot (cut into half), 1 whole onion, 1 stalk of leek (optional). Pour water in until it covers all. Boil with high fire first, then low fire. I used pressure cooker, so it's fast. Once done, let cool and if you're using pressure cooker, the chicken bone will be soft so you should strain the soup from the others.

You can also use pork rib in place of chicken.

I use the stock to make porridge/meesua etc.
The porridge I made is using the chicken stock, plus some butternut squash. I don't put meat anymore since the stock already used chicken /pork. If you want to put veggies, just put after the porridge is done. I use spinach etc, just stir in the chopped spinach in the porridge, you can also put potato if you want if you don't want to use squash.

Woa Qing, if i were you, i'll sure say cannot give away, coz want to keep for next baby!

Juz a question for everyone, how do you wash your child's hair at this stage huh?

I lie her down(like cradle hold)then wash coz scared the water gets into her ears, then she cry and cry coz dun like to lie down.

Then if i wash while pouring the water over her head, she'll cry also coz water gets into her eyes and nose. Then can't breathe. I did try the "shower cap" thingy, but water still flows thru it leh.

So every wash hair session is like a battle loh.

Hannah, I make E boy look at lights while seated so he will tilt his head up and once i pour water over, he will keep looking at the lights dun dare to move until i say ok oredi.. cos he scared water trickle into his eyes loh...

now ask him to look up put powder on his neck, he also automatic one.. sometimes want to do it himself...

Hannah
I used the shower cap thingy. Agree that water still flows, so I would hold and adjust. when spraying on the front, I would push the front part and push the side near the ear when rinsing that part. The water will still flow out, but a little bit only, so as long as the majority of shampoo is washed, then I remove the hat and just shower from the head very quickly. At first Emma didn't like it, but now she's okay with it. I used the Ikea stool (the higher one) so she can stand up and hold the stool and put some toys on top of it.

hannah
hee everyday when i wash jx's hair it is a battle. she will wet half my pants. she stands up to bathe and very stubborn. refuse to look up. so i just wash and let the water flow over her face lor. then after washing, i will quickly wipe her eyes with her towel. she will stop crying...

missysz
i guess all mils are like that.
they are only interested in boys..

maybe after the confirmation from the gynae at least?
and i don think she will take back the things. she would go to that extend for sure.

michelle
and you know what, she even pack my sexy lingerie in a ntuc plastic bag loh.
i know even know what is she thinking and whats her reaction when she saw them loh.
but i was truly embarrassed.

SD
mine did that too.
so i really don know loh.
but it doeesnt really matter to me loh.
some how i wish it would be a girl just to see her expression.

hannal
like she say, next one is boy we don need all these girlie stuff liao.
i was actually boiling inside but have to pretend.

and washing hair.
still the same as when she in still an infant.
and she still cries sometimes.

qing,
what is your mil going to do w ur lingerie? faint.

hannal,
j is no longer using the bathtub. he stands under the shower head..sometime he doesnt liek it too

Hair wash session
Kayden does it army style..
Go in bathroom, stand and pee, then stand and bath while playin with the bottles.
He's ok with shampoo and water rinsing.. Cos he more interested in the bottles..

Michelle
my fren just had a boy today, named Ethan too...
birth weight 3.6kg.. gonna visit him liao..

Qing
honestly, i don even know what i have, so if anyone pack for me i also blur..
u know everythin that barbie has??
and u cant lock ur room door???

Qing,
Wah kao.. really very no privacy. I hate that. Last time when I was younger and staying with my dad, I ald will lock my rm b4 i go out. Lucky I dun stay with my in laws. coz i know they are like tt too. Tt time my MIL came to my place n wanna see Bosco who was slping, she open my door when I was slping too. Lucky I sensitive to noise. I immiediately jump up when i heard a noise. Imagine if I was wearing my pjs and slp until kar kui kui. duh! LOL!!

Steph,
I think more like my mil will b the tour guide. she quite frequent phuket. but problem is, I go holiday really is go enjoy my holiday. slowly walk, slowly see. enjoy the scenery and the culture. my mil n fil only enjoy food. go everywhere also must find good food. very scary eh. n is eat le ask u fast fast go off. nuthing to eat will rush u off type. i had it so much in taiwan lo. haiz..

missysz,
i really dunno if i will enjoy anot. i wondering shoul we go phiphi island again.. i love the place though.

holly,
if you know already, then can dun go holiday with the ILs? i already laid down the rules for my HB. ok this year we go off for hols with your parents, next year is my parents, then 3rd year we go off holiday alone. i would rather we all suffer during the 3rd year and bond over the suffering than go off every year w the ILs. he din say anything, but i bet he will bring the topic of holidaying w his folks up again... ok maybe not 2010 when C2 is born, but 2011...
and i m not going back to Msia every single time there is a bleddy jetstar or air asia sale on! (i dun say it liddat to him of course)
i m soooo bored down there, not my house, no mobility, not safe to go out alone.... etc etc. once during CNY + once more over school hols (when C1 and C2 are bigger) is enough. the ILs can come here if they like... tis my turf and my home.

*leaking angst all over the place*

hairwash
hannahi, i think quite normal for them to yell and cry. C will scrunch up his face when i let the water trickle down. but no he doesnt cry anymore.

qing ah qing...
i m stunned speechless lor.

Qing,

Me too - flabbergasted! Ur MIL really is too much! INVASION OF PRIVACY!!!!

Hairwash,

I just wash from top down. So water will flow all over his face. Wuffy doesn't cry but he will just lower his head while I bathe him. But I also get all wet after his shower, cos he likes to splash the water onto me.

Sidetrack : Neo Garden membership

Anybody has lobang for Neo Garden catering? got any discount card or voucher to share? thanks!

qing
your MIL is one-kind also hor? what if she find private things? like condoms? haha. next time you go holiday with her purposely pack 2 big 12-pack one! for weekend holiday! lol

washing hair
as you all know, i don't have much hair to wash so if in bathtub i just use the face towel. she still uses the same soap (johnsons) for body and hair. if shower then just spray lor. she used to be ok with it and would laugh but now she doesn't like water down her face. very clever, she'd run and hide behind me.

just to share some upcoming events:

The first of its kind to hold a Car Boot Sale of such a scale on a monthly basis in Singapore, SG Car Boot Sale seek to be a launch pad / shop front for entrepreneurs, small businesses and online businesses. In line with the venue’s (Playground @ Big Splash) concept of being family orientated, this monthly event is also a get-together for families to hangout and have a fun day of buying, selling and haggling.
December 19th, 2009
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Disney Princess Party

Girls will love it as their dreams to be a princess will come true this Christmas. VivoCity is giving all girls from 4 to 10-years-olds a chance to dress up in their favourite Disney Princess costume to attend the Disney Princess Party! Each Princess will receive a photo for keep sake. There will also be arts and crafts sessions and a tea party to keep all princesses entertained.

The best-dressed princess at each party will be given the title of Ms. Disney Party Princess Xmas 2009 and receive $300 vouchers which are redeemable for Disney Princess merchandise. Shopper with $50* (maximum of 2 combined same-day receipts) spending between 20 November and 6 December 2009 can register their kids for a chance to attend the Party. At least one item from the $50 spending must be a Disney Princess merchandise. To register, just present the receipt(s) at the Customer Service Counter on Level 2.

Limited to the first 40 girls per party on a first-come, first-served basis.

Date : 19 December and 20 December 2009

Time : 2pm

Venue : South Avenue, Level 1
December 19th, 2009
02:00 PM - 04:00 AM

today they painted the ceiling in most of the rooms ( i don't know what for also, coz the ceilings looked just fine before.) had to bring pomfret out while they painted. came home and wondered why every other room had no smell and our bedroom smelled horrendous. turned out a wall shared with the outside bathroom has mould, so they had to treat it and varnish it.

told my mil the smell is too strong and it's giving me a 3-panadol headache (means i take 2 panadol already but the pain is still there.) and she told me "what to do? just tahan?"

then after that she made the helper put bedsheets on the extra beds in the extra bedroom (indeed, there are 2 extra beds in this extra bedroom, and about 5 mattresses. i kid you not when i say, my ils don't throw anything away)

but the last time pomfret slept in the extra bedroom, she kenna-ed rashes all over. (coz not sure if maybe the mattresses are really super old)

so the dilemma? more panadol and smelly room... or risk pomfrety rashes?

sigh, i guess it's panadol here i come....

dustee,

I would choose to sleep in the extra bedroom, cuz really the smell is not good for you and pomfret. before sleeping, vacuum the mattress over and over and over, put like 5 layers of bedsheets just to be safe. Hopefully the smell will go away soon.

She kept my sexy lingerie and pjs in the plastic bag and put back at the same place loh... I think seeing these sexy lingerie is more happening for her then seeing condoms around...

Dustee
ur mil...
I feel the same to sleep in the extra rooms
maybe shift ur whole bed over???

Dustee I enjoyed babies prom so much more than bbG too I think hehe

dor I didn't queue to get in front cos bbG woke right b4 they performed so he was standing on top of a stack of toys in boxes haha. But yeah saw some ill behaved parents blocking small kids juz because they wanted to videocam e performance!

Qing Mei Mei feeling ok so far? Scary MIL's u have there

looks like we really need a LET-IT-OUT session soon hehe

alrighty all set for the 6-8 hour drive up north tomorrow. Praying (real hard) dat bbG will be an angel!

Also paid dep and picked a Myanmar almost fresh maid..could barely understand each other, hope things work out well too

and

finally submitted reg form for JG Evans rd n SJCK!

Done so much I'm pooped!

G'nite mummies! Enjoy e ramen!

SD
Actually during my #1's 1st mth celebration my fil went to see his thigh n announce that #2 will be a girl. But I duno hw to see still.....haha

Hannah
I will tilt Ember's head up and pour water or use shower head to rinse. When I 1st started, I will tilt her head up then count 1,2,3 while I rinse. Then tell her she's a good girl. Cos if I dun talk to her when I rinse she will get scared cos dunno what ur trying to do so must tell her something so she's assured.

Qing
I also wished my 1st child would be a girl just to spite my FIL.....hehee
N now still can see that he still prefers my son, my daughter is shunbian nia.

Holly
Not to say stay together lor, I dun like the fact that my inlaws have a bunch of my keys.
N during my #1 confinement, she brought a friend up to see bb and just open the door with her keys without informing us at all. N my hubby was the unlucky 1 cos we watching tv in room cannot hear sound and he was changing halfway when the door open. Although they didn't see anything I leave it to my hubby to make noise to his mum.....haha

batgirl
I have their membership but........I need to go and find the email.....hehe

Eu Yan Sang Brown Rice Si Shen Powder
Bought in Singapore
I bought too much for my baby would like to exchange for ntuc voucher
I had 5 bottle with me
One bottle exchange for $5 ntuc voucher
if interested kindly email me

yay, tis wed, then thu soon, then fri... the mid week hump is gonna be over by lunch today

do1nk,
sending you safe-trip vibes! and bbG be guai guai too.

dustee,
so which did you choose? 3 panadols or rashy pomfret?

ILs prefer boys
maybe bcz they are malaysian, but yes, in general, i also get the sense (HB denies this) that they prefer boys... lo and behold, they have 4 own family surname grandsons. 2 fm HB and me, 2 from HB's bro. now they say they want a granddaughter, and look at HB expectantly. lalala

Qing,

There's a BP for Ergo. Go take a look. =)
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/mess
ages/581296/3376135.html?1260913692

Wash hair,
I had been fighting a battle with M since don't know when. She's ok for us to pour water all over her face now. but still hate bathing with the shower head. so still got to fill up the tub to bath her. sighz....

PB,
can read your blog? Love reading it. =)

batgal,
i am a neo-member too. let me know if u need my info.

do1nk,
oh, you've got a helper. hope she wll be a good helping hand. what an accomplished day for u. did u enrol bbG for pre-Nursery playgroup or nursery or k1? can share how much is the fees? can use MCYS? sorry, a lot of questions. ;p

pb,
is poppy going to join the Disney Princess Party?

cellow,
haha..so going for #3? i am sure the grandparents will love love love the grand-daughter..princess in da house!

bbg
i made a big mistake by taking bus instead of train this morning.
i am so sick now. feeling like vomitting and having a serious headache...
ouch !!!

rayna
i saw it liao.
but the design i wanted have to wait lehz.
so still deciding should i go for the other choices...

missysz,
eh, talk to me after i have had C2.
i m pretty sure the girl (if there is one) will be spoilt by the grandparents

qing,
oh no oh no, suan mei to the rescue?

Temper tantrums
http://www.babycenter.com/0_tantrums_11569.bc?scid=mbtw_post16m_3w:598&pe=2UynvNN
C had his first ever prolonged meltdown 2 nights ago.... He was frustrated tt we dun allow him to play with the laptop mouse / handphone / car keys... and now looks like his face has been scratched by a cat. (He kept rubbing eyes, nose and face during the meltdown)
The abv article reminds me he is normal, I m normal, everything is gonna be fine.

Qing, today seeing gynae? take MC and rest at home.... what is your feel, boy or gal? For nauseaus feeling, try ginger tea? maybe go force vomit out you will feel better?

tantrums...
of course its normal... everything is just a phase (my mental reminder when things dont seem to go according to my expectation.. haha). Its just a phase.....

Cellow,
My first reaction to that question was a loud "HA!"
No I'm not and don't think I'll ever be :p
I've always liked suan mei la.
It was not a loaded hint