Qing
Congratulations! Whoa lucky you move the clothes hor! Ee how does your mil knows next one is boy? keke.. Oh talking about this hor my MIL swears that she could tell from the folds on your current bb's tighs. If one fold exact on each tigh, next one will be boy. If one fold on one tigh, 2 folds on another, it'll be girl. In fact all the people from my hb's hometown believe in this, including both my sis in law kekeke... The first thing my MIL checked when I had Emma was - How many fold per tigh? hahahaha... when Emma had one each, she hinted to me many times to have another one, cuz it's going to be boy for sure. I told her the baby factory is closed. kekeke
Batgirl
So sorry to hear the news about your aunt.
Dustee
Don't worry too much. The important thing is what your hb thinks. Just turn a deaf ear when your MIL speaks about the ex. Another trick that I thought is good is to Butter your mil a little. Ask her about things that she's good at doing, she'll feel good if you praise her. If you don't mind, sometimes simple gestures like inviting her to have tea sessions with cake (something that she likes) together might work. If she has a lot of suggestions, try to do one or two as she suggested and she'll feel happy. Those "suggestions" you listed are the kinds that my mom suggested to me a lot until I also cannot tahan. but she loves my daughters a lot so sometimes I'll just follow the suggestions and things will quiet down kekeke. If you think too much of it it'll be stressful.
In-laws
Hmmm I should count myself as one of those who are lucky. My MIL is kind, and quite sui bian on certain things. As she ages she became dependent on us and can't really take care of herself so when she visits, I dictate what she eats/wear/goes. It's like taking care of another baby. Well there are pros and cons, but so far so good. Somtimes I wish that she's more independent so won't use my time that much. But since she's coming over maybe 2-3 times a year (but she'll stay about 1 month each visit), so It's okay. She also didn't really know how to take care of children, so I got no interference from her with regards to raising up children. My husband's family is really super respectful to her, so I had to know also what are the things I must do or mustn't do in front of her. I think her family spoils her a lot but luckily she's not the type that would abuse her power hehehe.
Michelle,
Maybe your friend can go to the lactation consultant as well if the problem get worsed.
Macau - hmm dunno leh since I only stay for 1 night, so I just let her eat the porridge from the food court.
Cellow,
Agree with Michelle, just tell your mum straight. Take it even dunno how to cook, can give back to you but not to your mil kekeke.
Ooh the recipe for the porridge:
Chicken stock:
half chicken, 1 carrot (cut into half), 1 whole onion, 1 stalk of leek (optional). Pour water in until it covers all. Boil with high fire first, then low fire. I used pressure cooker, so it's fast. Once done, let cool and if you're using pressure cooker, the chicken bone will be soft so you should strain the soup from the others.
You can also use pork rib in place of chicken.
I use the stock to make porridge/meesua etc.
The porridge I made is using the chicken stock, plus some butternut squash. I don't put meat anymore since the stock already used chicken /pork. If you want to put veggies, just put after the porridge is done. I use spinach etc, just stir in the chopped spinach in the porridge, you can also put potato if you want if you don't want to use squash.