(2008/07) July 2008

dustee, LOL on u learning to roll budget like me! dangerous man! there was a few months i was rolling my budget for the next 4-5 months! this month is better coz i haven been to any shopping spree yet (one coming up on friday with my friend) and Qing havent charged me yet for all my online purchases... errrm so the havent-burst-budget is a fake one! i have already burst my budget unknowingly ...

errrm dustee any recommendations for the website? bbX's books are like kiam cai (salted veggie)

sms to let me know where u are gg for lunch
will see if i can make it later

morning mommies

sayang all the babies that has bruises. Hope it goes away soon

do1nk
kidzloft opens Mon-Sat, 11am-5pm.

dustee
there's no queue for baby getting vaccination. It's by appointment. Just gotta be there 20mins in advance. But I didn't know it's free if opt to have the jabs separately. I even pay for the hep B jabs..

Dustee,
I agree with u ....i also dun like ppl to feed my bb food without asking me !!! last thur we went over to m mil place my hubby took out a pkt drink than as usual kacey would wan to feel n touch than my mil say " She wan drink give her some lah than she went to the kitchen and get a pkt for kacey" I shouted "NO" i du let kacey drink sweet drink it not gd for her, my mil say my sil twins love drinking it.

I was so angry tell my mil off " wat u wan to feed e twins is ur problem coz they dun have proper meals always eating rubbish food than feed kacey on this coz he still young" she was stunned

michelle

i dug it out! and it looks super groovy but but but its 3-6 mths! kua kua kua! tell you what, you go vivo look look see see, if got nice one just grab, if can't find, i just pass over to you to try try, since ethan has quite a slim waist and gap cutting is not that small, mine can be backup. don't need to sell lah since its not something ethan can wear for long. how's that?

Serene, I agree u should do that. If my mum does that, i will also scream at her! drinking packet drinks at such young age, no! sweets, no!

Actually its quite shocking that ur mil does that ... i mean she should know that kacey is young and should not drink such things right?

i always tot that they will have such sense ... maybe i should also watch what my MIL gives to bbX! i am quite slack on that coz i always tot they will have these sense ...

Wah can't catch up with the posts...

Hope baluku babies are better!

BbG
Are you thinking of the CaleyDaniel Like-A-Bike? I have.

Feeding babies
Whenever I read about your babies eating food, I feel - dunno, maybe a little upset? 'Cos L is now a totally breastfed baby again. He is still refusing solids and will not even open his mouth when he sees the spoon coming.

Polyclinic jabs
Separate jabs as in all the MMR jabs are single jabs? So no 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 but just one jab for measles, one jab for rubella etc? Do they give all these separate jabs on the same day? Or do you need to go many times?

Bookpeople spree
Interested!

Qing
Peach Garden is good, so are Wah Lok at Carlton and Cherry Garden at Mandarin Oriental. I LURVE LURVE LURVE!!!!

Relatives
At L's b'day party last weekend, one of dh's aunties (whose daughters are very smart and who loves to compare and test other children) brought a globe ball for S and asked him,"What is this?" S said, "It's the planet Earth!" And she was about to test him again when he told her, "Planet Earth moves in an elliptical orbit around the sun!" and that shut her up. Haha.

kayu daddies
reading abt all the things that kayu daddies do or dun do, make me want to laugh!

qing, you best. tell barbie tis her father the slacker. hahahaa

oh, and PB missed dim sum both days. see la, fly our kite kena fly kite too :p

SY,
hmm. now that you mention it... you are rite, ILs b strict better than being indulgent.
you say until your HB like that, you sure you can go back to work and let him be SAHD meh.
good luck for your interview on Friday!!!

bb Ethan, Jayden, ZL w knocks and bruises... my ah bu used to say, knock one time, wiser one time (it sounds much more punchy in cantonese). think the mummies more heartache! *sayang the mummies!*

#2C must be girl
I want to be mummy to a girl now that I m already mummy to a boy. Based on past experience, Mr C has got v accurate aim, one shot dio liao. So I will only try in Q4 this year. Good luck to me and Qing!!!!!

Gosh, I wanna go to kidzloft this Sat too. Mayb I will see SD and PB (?) there.

dustee,
are u trawling the forum for bookpeople bargains? gosh, why u wanna wake up at 5am to do online shopping????

chumint,
you talking abt polyclinic must pay for the jabs ha? my impression was it was free provided tis separate, none of the fancy 4in1, 5in1, 6in1. then hafta go every month one from 1st month to 6th month.

Breastfeeding at work talk
mummies, i have been arrowed to give a talk/sharing. and got the following topics in mind now... can you help me have a think abt what else would be useful for you to know b4hand?
1) Support from Employer
2) Time Management
3) Storage, Handling and Transport of EBM
4) Why bother????
5) Managing Supply
6) Taking care of ME

kidzloft, yah i also wanna go this sat ;P maybe we will see each other there!

cellow wow u giving talk!!
- how abt washing sterlising bottles in office?
- sharing nursing rooms (i know that my friend's place has got to q up to go nursing room and my office's nursing room has 3 seats - meaning at each time 3 pax can be inside together ..)

SY
Good luck for your interview! But...I thought your previous job was waiting for you? Are you looking for a new job?

Husbands
I make mine do the MAN-ual work.

michelle, bluey,
sayang the boys!

mommies,
anyone started giving enfagrow for age 1 - 3? the tin label says to give 4 scoops for 225ml but my boy is only drinking 160ml max and cannot finish most of the time so how many scoops and water shld i give for enfagrow? TIA!

youpi,
PHWAH! Your S ar... thumbs up! I feel stressed already. Hands up to those who feel the same way!

Cellow,
Our hubbies can shake hands, both very accurate one. You know what's worse? My period chose to play me out on that month. So count timing to prevent jackpot, also kena jackpot. Wah seh.

Serene,
ya, big mental TOK on your MIL's head for having no sense. and you think they get wiser as they get older too. hmmph.

oh youpi,
S's response must make you (1) v v proud of him and (2) happy in a perverse way that the silly comparing auntie shut up. hahahaaaaa

eeeee. the bbsitter that i interviewed (and subsq rejected us) when C was 2mo, also told us proudly w super smug expression that her child rearing methods work v well, and she has 3 children in the gifted stream. i ws taken aback. i ws thinking to myself, you are lucky (me being sour grapes?), your children have good temperaments for you to mould and they got no underlying physical illnesses, so they can study. anyway her eldest was in Sec4... *further sour grapes* maybe they will give you heartache yet, being mummy is a marathon, not a sprint.

*pat* L wont starve himself. Maybe milk is all he needs for now. He has got a whole lifetime ahead to eat solids. think abt it this way... isnt it great that he luvs luvs luvs your milk? and that you can sustain him for all his daily activities. YAY for youpi!

heeey, why m i so lor-sor.

SY, hi5. my hb similar to yrs. not handson 1 unless really really tat moment only he can help. even then, he will wait till either me or maid free again. wun tahan. there was once i pump n ask him to bath boy to save time n tat was in HK. he gave the poor boy such a hot bath tat the boy scream n refuse to give him bath him ever since. clever step rgt for him...

aiyo poor ethan! baluku, swollen eyes, red rashes...

forgot to wish bbG's 'twin' TESSIE happy birthday!

and HAPPY BIRTHDAY JONAS today!

c's big day tomorrow
then it's dani.. and liam.. and all our babies would be officially ONE already!

LOL to smartie sean shutting up the aunties.. must get him to ask them cheem questions next time so they turn beetroot red!

youpi: it's good dat L wanna take in all dat good BM.. persevere in introducing cereal to him again? try yummy flavours?

youpi - wahh S is like super duper smart lor..i dont even know anything about planet earth..ok ok, maybe i super duper not smart..lol

SY - all the best in interview

dim sum- you girls making me hungry!!!

dustee - lol..you cannot sleep cos thinking of shopping ah? i dont mind joining spree but then again, sophie does not really read her current books..hmm.

kisses to all the baluku (this is a new word for me!) babies.

2 more days of work..dont know why really dread work these days..just look fwd to weekends only. :p

caitlyn - how was little gym trial last week? me going tomorrow

oh yes, today is Jonas' birthday! enjoy your day and your year ahead, little one!

plus tess and G's bday yesterday too. where did you bring them, phyphy and do1nk?

youpi yes i totally agree that S is great! I didnt even know that was the answer!! *stress how am i gg to teach bbX next time?!*

jia you jia you cellow and qing! hee hee
mr jacelyn is like that too. 1 time dio liaoz. wow all hubbies are power ah.

cin, yah me also lookin fwd to weekends only ... weekdays at work just hoping time flies away

Bbp, Cellow, BbG, Cin_Bunny
S is not super smart lah. It's just that he's been in his I-love-the-solar-system mood for the longest time and so has read many many many books on it. He is always choosing to read these instead of other books. So some of it must have seeped into his memory lor.

I also want him to learn other things though, like being able to pee into the toilet bowl without missing!

BbG
Are there yummy cereal flavours? Where? What type?

Polyclinic jabs
now all go by appointment already so the waiting time is ok.
yes, 3 in 1 is free but onces u choose 4-1/5-1 ,u will need to pay for all the jabs.

waterplay
i remember someone mention that safra club got waterplay area but which location was it ? tampines one very boring....

birthday
bbg also yesterday birthday? we went to the zoo and tess have so much fun at the water park only

wahahah

kidzloft will be packed with july mummies this sat morn! I must get referral fees from them lah!

why ethan got baluku and swollen eyes and red rashes!!! what happened?

Youpi, that peeing with accuracy, i think it takes them a life time to learn.

Oh wrt bbX waking up and crying, i think i might know why: she is feeling cold! We realise this morning that she was cold all over even when we touch her thighs which is well hidden in her PJ. So I will be turning the air con to a higher temperature and giving her a bigger and thicker blanket... see how it goes. Hopefully that is the cause!

Rena
Nope I hardly blend anymore. I just dice into small pieces before cooking. At most I will use the potato masher but even that, I hardly do. Except fruit. Apples or pear I will steam then blend cos quite hard to mash. Apple/pear/blueberry/strawberry combo is nice btw

Dordor
Thanks! I have gotten hubby salivating at the 50% off so we’ll be heading off to kidzloft this weekend
will we meet any of you there?

Youpi
“Planet Earth moves in an elliptical orbit around the sun”. oh my gosh. I don’t even know the word elliptical! S is amazing!

Cellow
How about misc things like ‘drinking lots of water’ and just ‘take it easy and let it flow let it flow let it flow’.

Bbp
Haha on feeling stressed. Don’t worry la.

Jacelyn
PD told us before – 26 degrees is the best for baby to sleep in. I like to put poppy in cotton sleeping bag cos she hates the blanket (will lift her legs high high so I cannot put it on, and kick it off immediately).

Toilet seat
Girls, we bought one - it’s a really cute bee design (so prob for girls) but it doesn’t fit our bowl. Only put it on, put poppy on it for like 2 seconds and then wiped and back into packaging. Anyone want to take over? It was originally $16.95 from toys r us.

RP lunch
hey girls can we make it a bit later? 1245? cos i can't make it at 12! or if you girls want to meet earlier and start munching first, it's alright with me
yes kolo mee food court is good, doggiebb!

PB yah i know 26 degrees is the best
but its a bit too warm for me .. :p
ok i try the blanket
if it does not work i will look for a sleeping bag (another excuse to buy things ah)

Toilet seat, how come dun fit your toilet bowl? hmm will it fit mine?

PB

can! shall we meet 12.45pm then? then i will go for a swim first then come and look for you! woohoo!

jace and bbg

12.45pm horrrr!

Jacelyn,
*stress how am i gg to teach bbX next time?!*
you teach her to b curious and to find things out for herself, then phew, you dun have to memorise the entire enclyopedia. that's how i was taught anyhow.

kolo mee
i have asked my MIL to bring back more packets of uncooked kolo mee the next trip she is back here in sep. so prob in oct liddat, can invite you all for kolo mee lunch at my place. authentic Sarawak kolo mee!! yum yum

toilet seat - better i measure

the cushion itself is 28cm x 27.5cm on the outside and the inner ring of the cushion is 18cm x 15cm. the actual part that goes into the bowl is 24.5 x 20.5cm

bluebunny thinks it is too big but i think it is just nice. but since he da man, i say ok ok let's get smaller one to make him happy.

Whoa, Youpi, your S is a genius! By saying those things! think i already tongue twisted oredi.. if i even know them in the first place.. haha... dun worry about solids for L lah.. haha, you have opposite problem as me! Ethan likes solids dun like milk.. they should shake hands and maybe inspire each other?

Doggiebb, last night under the FATHER's watch, Ethan fell onto my living room coffee table, you remember how sharp the table was? well, he fell heads on, and then.... sigh... no idea on the swollen eyes and rashes tho, i thought it was food allergy, but MIL said he din try anything new... so need to monitor further... heartache!

Jace, aiyo, at one stage Ethan also woke up feeling cold lah.. now i finally found the perfect setting for aircon and never change it liao.. hee hee... you still let her wear those PJs with booties? aiyo.. ethan is outgrowing them so far, think cannot find bigger PJs with booties.. thinking should i start letting him wear socks to sleep... but will it be too tight to me him uncomfy... anyway, cross fingers it is due to temperature!

Cellow, you considered babysitter for C meh? nothing beats own relative lah... eh, so far I have not met any irritating aunties who likes to compare... in fact i only heard praises on how ethan is smily and happy baby.. and of course, my entire family (extended included) thinks Ethan is smart (no idea how they know but they just do).. cos he is the youngest baby in the family mah... hahaha. but should I get irritating aunties, I think i will retort.. dunno, when the time comes...

hey hey, i think I may drop by kidsloft this sat too... but in the afternoon...

busy @ work ...
BUT I saw the siaing for books...

Erhh ... how much will it roughly cost to get the Little Mr Men and Miss series.

Argh ... spend $$ again *chop fingers

I wonder how come kids are so amazed with SPACE.
My gal is a fan of universe and planets. Too bad we can't see eclipse here yesterday, else another life classroom lesson.
Reading and the correct TV programs will help them to gain the knowledge.
Just hope my FZ can "catch up" with his sis. Still trying hard not to compare them. * bad mommy.

yessssssssssss swimmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!

c ya later! will be chop chop lunch hor cos i will need to dash back by 1.15pm lidat.

bluey

the shipping will come up to be about the same cost as the books. but still will be cheaper than buying here at least for my usbourne readers, if they are sold here at all.

1pm is a good time for me, but I doubt I will be going. Cos the little boy still isn't sleeping, which means he will be a HUGE TERROR during feed time later.
Bloody bloody HELICOPTERS. One flies past almost every half an hour, and everytime that happens, it makes the house rattle VERY loudly and scares the bloody hell out of him. I just wasted half an hour of my life patting him just now and just as he was 5% to dozing off, the BLOODY helicopter makes its bloody appearance again.
I'm so mad I feel like smacking pple.
OHHHHHHHMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Still not working.

sorry to interupt.. =) As I'm currently preparing for my boy's birthday bash in sept...

Would like to check if any mummies are selling away Mickey Mouse theme birthday stuff (Cake topper/ banner/ party packs/ foil balloons/ etc) ? Please email me at

I am looking for a Visual Dictionary for Ethan, it is highly recommended by my DIR and I want to prepare Ethan to be like youpi's S (*admires*)... HAHAHA

cannot find from the links, any mummies heard of this?????

PB
i guess if hb is the stay home dad i sure will give him a lot of instructions every day!!!

for the herbs, what herbs do u add? the tomato paste brand is hunts is it? i used that for my boy last time

re talking
u know what jx says best? she loves to say hello. funny right.

yesterday i asked her whether wan lunch and she shook her head 3 times when i asked. quite funny.

dustee
i love kids since young. maybe now i enjoy them cos they are so cute. when they are older they start to be a nusiance...haha

cellow
i like kolo mee!!

PB
not every kid will sit on the kid toilet seat. jh refused to sit. he will sit on the toilet bowl like us so we have to hold him.

ask a question. do u see the food bits in your bb poo? i always see corn, carrots, and even brown rice. but the food is quite soft leh.

youpi
jh can pee into the toilet bowl but he will purposely aim high! very naughty lor.

i think they know but dun wan to do it.

garfield
haha the only time my hb bathed my boy was becos my boy wan and we needed to check his testicle cos we suspect something wrong. that is the one and only time.

cellow
haha, i think i will give hb a chance to be SAHD if possible. cos he keeps talking abt how he is missing out on their growing up days and i can sense his disappointment. i always take videos of jx to show him and i can see how sad he is at missing those moments. so if have #3 i told him his turn to stay at home.

re aircon temp
my kids also sleep at 26. it used to be 27/28!!

Cellow good idea! teach bbx to be curious! I also want authentic kolo meeeee *hint hint hint*

sorry ladies cannot join in lunch at 1245 leh.

PB ok the measurement sounds foreign before. i never measure my toilet bowl before so cannot answer u .. got to go back to my place this weekend then i know.. can?

Michelle, bbx is always wearing PJs with booties. very good. can get at mother care. when there was a discount that time, i bought 3 packets, all the way up till 36 months i think .. so should have the size. Oh i think this month got special discount 15% for VIP members because is our bb birthday month!

doggiebb, u know if the car seat at kidzloft is good?

michelle
poor ethan. hope he won't fall again. really heart pain! now that jx trying to walk she falls down more often but not the serious kind. no brusie no blood i m ok.

what kind of dictionary u looking for? hee i did teach my boy solar system before but even i m not very good with it. so for a period of time he will rattle off the names of the planets

share something sweet. that day my boy was singing a song abt daddy. so i said how come never sing song abt mummy and i m so sad. he said ' mama dun be sad'. then he continued playing and he said ' if u r sad i will be sad too'

boys peeing in toilet bowl
i read somewhere that this helps MEN aim. maybe can try for boys.... they (as in the toilet people) put the sticker of a fly (maybe you can use black marker?) in the toilet bowl, so the men (being the boys that they are) will try to aim to kill the fly...

SY
i mix around with dried basil, oregano, italian, thyme. we have a basil plant so sometimes got fresh basil too. but i usually take the leaf out before feeding

yes we always see food bits in poo. esp corn and carrots.

bbp
join us la! ... have never seen a naughty declan before hehe

SY
awww JH is so sweet!

doggiebb
so cute the teeth/tooth holder!

yesterday poppy did not take afternoon nap so by 6pm she was really really cranky and calling MAMAMAMMAA. i said 'can you call dada instead?' cos dada was home mah.

sigh. when they first call MAMA we very happy. but when everytime not happy, call MAMA, very siong!

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=7&products_id=318&manufacturers_id=

i also have this cut-fruit set! super fun!

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=7&products_id=314&manufacturers_id=

this is the wooden trike i adore but didn't buy cos already got one from toy r us!

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=7&products_id=149&manufacturers_id=

this musical set is very fun too! talia will bang bang and sing her twinkle twinkle little star in rythmn to it.

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=7&products_id=553&manufacturers_id=

this fire engire push cart is soooo nice! but it squeaks! dunno if oiling will help so i didn't buy!

Doggiebb the work bench looks shiok leh! errm but noisy or not? like will be noisy leh .. and its not expensive!! wow !! really must drag hubby to go this weekend! the parking there ok? bringing bbx with us.

i also never see a nottie declan before.