(2008/07) July 2008

ok, i think i'm a v kind dil. i've decided to get a helper to ease my mil's load. Can any mommies share with me your dos and donts for helper?

naughty phase?
recently when we took away the things that Frank was holding, he would cry. And those cries are like throwing temper kind. Are ur bbs like that too? Seems to be that he is now in the naughty stage.

PB
sounds like a tough time. possible tat instead of joining your hb on all his visiting, u n your family go out by yourselves at times? my hb likes to nap when we go hols n i will go out without him with my mum sometimes.

QIng
I keep forgetting to mention this. There is this stall at Junction 8 that puts blink blink on Tshirts for a fee. Looks like the kind on the Milk Supply Tee. Maybe you can check out I'm sure they do for rompers if you bring ur own.

Sonic
Glad everyone's okie now.

do1nk
Now is VS....hehe
But I'm looking through ON too....wahaha

CS
Email me K, wanna get it before CNY.

lbt
No wonder you MIA lah.
I think Ember play me out leh I see 1 white line very long liao until now still no teeth.....hahaha

waiwai
my bb start to eat his fingers when he began teething...that y i tot urs is teething too

CS
omg, ur mil has keys to ur house?! Surely she will also dislike it if her mil do the same thing to her, rt?
btw, we have an undisturbed weekend today. cos we changed the hps to silence mode and dint ans her calls ye!

dordor
hey, i think ur ideas may work. why i dint never think of that before? *slap forehead*

xiaoyang
so so chubby!!!!!!!!!!!!! and he is smiling so happily!

smiggle
isnt molar the last tooth to appear, after front teeth and incisors?
U must be feeling heartpain to see bb in discomfort.

PB
if u are confined cos of the weather, how abt building snowman and have snowball fights just outside house? or role-act "winter sonata" and take lots of silly photos =P

do1nk
Yep, started Dani on brown rice cereal liao and bbsitter says she likes it! I realised these days that she's looking at us eating alot so much til I feel uncomfortable to eat infront of her. She'll stare and swallow saliva like so kelian like that!

Hannahl
Dont worry, soon Celeste will learn the fun of a Jumperoo

summert
Dani will too, she'll screamed if I take away her teether while she's chomping on it!

dor dor
Okay okay, will email you by today yah.. kekeke

throwing temper?

my boy also throwing temper, will yell when we take things from him, even tho we tell him nicely.. I wonder if they already know the concept of "Yes and No", "Can and cannot" when we do so??

smiggle, get the dentinox teething gel from Guardian, it will sooth the pain... hugs.

to all babies and mummies under weather.. SPEEDY RECOVERY!

PB, aiyo.. went for holiday and yet no holiday? Hope the weather turns fine and you get to go out to PLAY!

anybody feeding Eu Yan Sang rice cereal? my MIL bot one ytday, but on the can did not say made from where? how do i know if it is packed/produced in China?? any mummy know?

YES! today is a rainy day, and i dun hafta go to work!

dordor,
heh. i like your idea of xian xia shou wei qiang. but lucky for me, my ILs are in Malaysia, so they wont jst anyhow suka suka turn up at our door
actually even my own parents dun do that.... b4 marriage, i stayed out by myself, told them already that i dun wanna come home at end of long n tired workday to find them lounging around in my place, watching tv etc etc. they got the drift...

PB,
good decision! win-win for everyone.. your closed door session w HB worked.

i will be back in malaysia, and therefore meeting preggie SIL, during CNY. u got sm pjs to let go too?

sonic,
glad to know both are ok now

do1nk,
heh, somehow in aust, i also spent my time grocery shopping.. they have a lot of stuff that is not sold in singapore, or much cheaper than in singapore. carted back a 5kg box of cherries and ?kg box of nectarines once. i felt really siao when picked up the fruits at changi airport...

tessmummy,
you got mail!

lbt,
oh dear, indeed sounds like horrible long sick week. u take care of yourself too!

summert,
you got mail too!

CS,
"she's looking at us eating alot so much til I feel uncomfortable to eat infront of her. She'll stare and swallow saliva like so kelian like that" Feizai Cedric does the same too... then I think this boy got a lot of reserves la, dun nid to eat soooooo much, so I stop at 2 teaspoons of cereal
when he latches on these days, also like sucking for dear life... makes me wonder if my milk is enuf for him.

thanks for the link, batgirl! hope your panda eyes fm wufeng's UTI is gone

Rayna,
okie doke, thanks for the offer gal! lemme call SIL first (figured she wont want me to turn up at her doorstep w a bunch of clothes she doesnt want) and talk to her if she wants it... it was jst a random thot i had while typing a posting

Throwing temper bb
Most of the time, Cedric is a good natured young man. So it is all the more shocking when he started to scream when take away his hand/toy/food. Yes and we say 'please' and 'thank you' to him too.
Michelle, bb Ethan is not alone in displaying this bhvr!

mornin mummies..

been busy with reno and got no time for Kayden

but then can invite u all to my place for gathering soon

hope u all enjoyed your gatherin today..
its a rainy day.

Bluey
tt u the $$ last week for the leapfrog.
u pass the macaras to JSP rite?

any mummies interested in the pigeon disposable milk storage bags? can store 160ml each bag. I am selling it off at $12. 20 bags in a box, brand new. interested pls PM me loh..

I have reduced my pump to twice a day, and soon will stop BFeeding by 6 mths... it was such a painful decision...

cellow
I can imagine putting Cedric and Dani together then we eat infront of them... surely very funny one !!!! hahahaha!

Michelle
Perhaps you would want to check with EU Yan Sang instead? Safer this way

UTI
I was watching this repeared telecast program hosted by Bryan Wong and 8 lah mahs (hot mamas) and Pan Su Qing was talking about how she sees so lightly of her boy's fever that only on the 4th day she brought him to the hospital and he was immediately admitted. Aparently he was born with this UTI thingy and finally at 2 months old, it sufaced cos of accumulated urine going backwards. His fever was dued to it and because it wasnt handled immediately it has caused his kidneys to be of different size (1 big 1 small). Im not sure if UTI is more prone to boys but mummies let us all be cautious of this condition.

I think regardless at which stage we decide to stop Bfeeding.. it will be a painful decision some what...

lets see how long my two pumps a day can last.. perhaps can tahan till 9 months since Ethan DOES NOT LIKE TO DRINK MY MILK!

michelle

my problem is the feizai likes to drink my milk! but it is so hard to continue pumping at work! when he has his last FM feed, i have to crawl around the house lest he sees me and i can't speak. if he hears my voice, he will start crying! it's funny yet sad all at the same time. I have reduced my pumps to 3 times a day now with one pump done in the office. and my supply has dropped so much that i think i would stop at 6 mths. 3 more weeks to go!

doggiebb, I would lOVE to have your problem, that would be my motivation to keep on going.. actually Ethan does not like to drink MILK (incl FM). he only likes plain water. give him plain water he will bottoms up! puzzling rite? I do not have to pump in office anymore, and it made Bfeeding less taxing so I can get around doing things throughout the day without having to worry about pumping! so now its only morning when i wake up and once before i sleep... supply has dropped but each pump i still squeeze out everydrop (which is counter productive if i want to quit) .. so lets see how long it will last.. let my body tell me when to stop! haha...

Re gathering,
Sigh.. After my kids recovered, now my turn.. I'm feeling a bit feverish this morning.. So won't join you gals liao.. Have fun!

Reading previous days posts….

Summert
you are a good DIL indeed. Regarding your MIL wants to bring your bb back to Malaysia, bb Frank is singaporean right? Then you tell her that singaporean can't stay in Malaysia PERMANENTLY (more than 3 months), unless with valid permit issued by the govt there. Then problem solved, bet she won't bug u anymore.

smiggleprincess
Molar coming out liao? Isn't that too fast? My boy who is 2yo now having his molars cutting out only lately.

PB
Hmn.. Understand your point of wanted to bring poppy out as a family despite your MIL offered to babysit her. Cos I also like that, go out and have fun as a family, take lotsa photos. Then next time when poppy grows up you can show her photos that she been to this place that place with dad and mom at such young age.. Eh, since your parents and siblings are there as well, there will be enough hands to take care of poppy when out, so no worries la.

michelle
I once went to check out the Eu Yan Sang rice cereal (the one with shi shen powder added in), the sales lady told me that it's produced in Malaysia… that makes me think of those Malaysian biscuits being banned here. I'm abit kiasu, didn't buy.

I have also got-no-choice but reduced my pump to twice a day when my kids down with fever last week.. The supply went down shockingly by 50%!!! Quite heartache.

Ha! We are opposite, my bb LIKES my milk than FM, so I gotto keep pumping lor.

Doggiebb, you jia you too.

CS,
Oh.. The UTI sounds so scary. My gal's PD also suggested to have her urine checked when she founds nothing to cause her fever (even though I told her it's her gor-gor who passed her the fever bug.) but we failed to collect her urine on time, until now that her fever subsided, was still thinking whether to have her urine tested or not… after your post, think I better go back and patiently wait for her to pee then get her urine sample.

sonic

now my turn for supply to dip too ! after a week of weak health and reduced pump freq .. my supply reduced drastically and now I am pumping 4 x a day to recover them ! sian .. panic liao .. though rianne is taking 1 x cereal and 1 x fruits, she can still take 4 x of 6oz milk per day.

hai .. if not choice maybe really need to supplement.

Well, this is happy problem cos bb still want to drink my milk.

bbp, thanks for the offer of the ameda pump. Though i'm planning to stop, but dun know can stop by Feb or not

My gal dun mind my milk so i'm still struggling to give. I can't stop now as my gal still need to comfort suck every nite b4 she sleeps. I've tried to pat her, cuddle her, she'll still cry till she finds my nipples ;-) I can't siam one coz i'm the one to let her sleep. I want it that way, the first & last person that she sees is her mummy, ha ha ha..

Out of desperation i bought medela mini electric plus yesterday. My greatest mistake.. painful & super noisy.. lbt, u using this pump also, if i remember correctly? No compliants?

I was thinking of getting a pis then sell away after i've stopped bf. Siao bo? Almost bought it yesterday
I also dun know what i want lah. Want to stop but dun know how to stop
But work & family really makes pumping very difficult ..

Btw Fiona, i like the pics, so funny. Ur Lucien bah bah one

Hannah, you should have told me about the medela mini electric.. i posted last wk I have one to let go... if you had wanted to try, should have taken mine to try.. it is my spare set for use in office, since i no need to pump in office, i can sell it off.. anyway, too late liao lah... despite that the pump is painful and noisy, i find it can empty better than my ameda cos the qty also more loh.. but takes much more time loh...

my milk supply cannot meet my gal demands liao. most likely today she got to drink FM supplement liao. hiaz. throw away first tin last mth. told my maid cannot keep so long one cos it already open. v wasted almost half left.

this time round, tell her to use it once open regardless of how many BM i have.

mummies, have we discussed on the topic on when to stop the sterilising of bottles? cos was having lunch with my colleague and she is still sterilising the bottles for her 3 yr old son! but so contradicting cos when the son eats out, they are not sterilised?!?

wonder how the bugis meet-up went.. did you girls have fun?

juz back from pumpin in the toilet coz big boss hijacked the 'nursing' meeting room!

looks like lots of us are experiencing decreasing BM supply now too huh? feel so sad.. despite me downing all that fenugreek n domperidone and long painful pumpings.. gone are the days when I pumped til the little avent bottle overflowed..

drool battle: my boy is drooling more n more.. learning to blow raspberries and is sucking on his hands more n more! but the good thing is that he's kinda gotten the hang of sucking on some of his teethers now haha it's so funny seeing him try to jam the whole thing into his little mouth or how he always mis-cue (open mouth big big but teether not in right position)

walker: hmm.. not much benefit getting this huh?

PB & Cin_Bunny: having fun overseas?? send us pics leh

hannah: the avent pump seems to get more n more noisy hor (thought it was juz my imagination)... medela mini electric is confirm more painful too I didn't like it either..

jumperoo/exersaucer: what's the diff? many of you have hor.. wat does bb do in it? sit and bouncie-jump?

diaper cream: when do you all apply? when bum is red? apply after cleaning bum right? then when do we wash it off? each time we change diaper? or when we bathe bb?

dordor: when r u placing orders for VS? =)

IL's: mine stay wiv me.... ..... ....

CS: you must hide in the storeroom and eat without letting dani catch you haha.. my niece is like dat now leh haha and will grab my SIL's hand to get her attn n kinda like telling her: I wanna eat too! hahaha

cellow: talk about fruits.. they are so dirt cheap during summer in aust huh? we bought crates of aussie mangoes to eat.. they were like less than a dollar for one.. here selling for like $5!! if onli i could bring them back wiv me...simply love mangoes

wah now i know why your cedric is a heavy weight champion.. how heavy is he now? saw bluey's little one and he's 9.2kg she said?? my puny boy didn't put on weight this month and is only 7.3kg now yet pple are telling me he looks chubby =(

bb lucien is so cute! fell asleep like dat.. he must have been really tired hehehe

sterilising bottles: some say 6mths? some say 1 year? if u dun mind.. can keep sterilising till your steriliser konk out?

juz like some dun even bother to use bb clothes detergent or wash bottles using bb detergent.. or some (my MIL!) clean bb tongue, not wiv boiled water but tap water..

think some pple even say sterilise liao cannot touch wiv hand or will contaminate.. no hard n fast rule i guess..

this is one of the many mini battles I always have (wiv hubby who sides MIL of course saying i'm over protective/ paranoid) sigh...

haha sorry i turned out rambling .. to answer you shortly: 6 mths or 1 year i think...

do1nk, 6 months can stop sterilising? wah... 2 more weeks le!! sterilising is quite a hassle loh.. imagine I went to sentosa got to lug so many things wor... those who went overseas with baby, how you sterilise? do you bring along sterilisers?

michelletan, think can stop sterilising after 1 yr since they are not so vulnerable liao? anyway like wat u say, as they start going out more foten n eating from normal bowls, it okie to stop. just as long as u wash their utensils well enough.

for my boy, I never sterlise his normal drinking bottle liao. but his milk bottle I still sterilise if got space in steriliser since mei mei still using. It more on using the space.

cellow - pjs
i have 2 pcs which i have worn only during hospital stay after delivery. Its front opening all the way kind.

Texture is silky type. PM me if keen

hi hannahl, michelle, do1nk,
hahaha...it was the 1st time i see him fall asleep just like that, i didn't even realise till i feel the weight of his head on my arm...happened so fast.

michelle,
hehe i've been busy setting up my own website lor, now very busy getting own range of kids' clothings and maternity wear

re: sterilising
i'll only stop sterilising the bottles when baby starts eating outside food with us. bcos by then no point liao mah...for now i'll still keep sterilising.

hannahl
you must slowly try on the jumperoo.
once they feel secure in it.
they will jump like crazy.

walker
my early childhood friend say it is not advisable to use walker.
it is best if we can let them crawl for as long as they want.
until they are ready to learn walking.
don pushing them by giving walkers.

dor dor
junction 8 ah.
kinda of very very far for me lehz.

throwing temper
rachel does that too.
yesterday in order for me to carrying her.
she move her face backward so as to knock onto somemore behind while her dad carry
i told her i was angry with her foro not finishing the milk milk.
and she knows by doing that i will sure carry her when she carry.
she give a cheeky smile when i carry her.
she won

ohh,
and she loves to scream nowadays.
suddenly one loh.

michelle
i also giving up BM liao
supply don meet demand
i can feel that it is getting lesser and lesser each day.
so sad.

fiona
he is so cute
like that also can sleep

sterilising
we do it once a week.

re stopping bf
when i stopped for #1 i was really sad. so this time round i decided to bf longer. really hope to try to bf for 2 years.

is it ok to give 2 cereal feeds?

re sterilising
i stlil sterilise my boy's bottles but the reason is cos i m scared that maid dun wash very clean. i actually stopped sometime back but find that after the maid wash, there is a smell so decided to sterilise again.

think i will sterlise till abt 1 year at least.

fiona
wow your own biz? did u do the designs yourself?

do1nk

i stop sterilising when bb turns 1 year old.

Hannah

yes I use Medele mini electric at home and Ameda at work. ahhaah I very versatile one

yes Medela is super noisy and painful but I am use to it le. Using it for both my kids. but after trying Ameda... I feeel Ameda is better .. softer and more gentle to the nipples. anyway since u bought it, just use it then sell it away.

re gathering
how is it? wanted to join but jx was having runny nose so tot better not. got pic?

who will org next gathering??

i dun mind at my place but will be on a weekday

Fiona,
Wah, Lucien is such a big boy alreAdy! Wish my boy can fall asleep on his own. He now fusses before he sleeps. Sigh.

Bugis gathering mummies,
Sorry I had to pull out last minute. My little terrorist was crying the house down & refused to sleep. Finallyhad to supply my nnp out of desperation.

do1nk,
I apply diaper cream at every diaper change, regardless of whether his butt is red or not.

dor dor,
I did think of buying VS, but not sure of the sizing leh.

Michelle,
Didn't have to bring bottles & steriliser cos still direct feeding. But if I had to, I would just use hot water to rinse the bottles.

bbp,
Declan can drive already!!

Waiwai,
The rompers are so nice! I love milk junkie!

xiao yang,
I love your bb's many expressions!

Fiona,
BB lucien is so cute.. can fall asleep while on the high chair.

All BF-ing/pumping BM mummies:
Jia You!!!

do1nk,
I apply cream at almost every diaper change, particularly after bath and before sleep. I don't wash off though.

Sterilising bottles
Last time I sterilised until 1 yr. This time will too. When going overseas, I have a special small pot to sterilise by boiling water.

SY,
I feed bb cereals 2 times a day, around 10 am and between 5-6 pm. Morning one with fruit, evening - plain cereal.

Rayna,
it okay manage to find annie at BP liao hope she still have stock .....hehehe

CS u wan to buy the bag ??? c if we buy 2 fm her got discount or not ...

Cellow
I have a blue satin-y shirtdress (up to the knees) with buttons halfway down the front that I can give you. Wore it only while in hospital after giving birth. PM/SMS me your address if you want, I'll send it to you.

Do1nk
I apply Desitin Creamy at every diaper change, and put more at bedtime. It can be cleaned off with the wet wipes.

Fiona
Wow, Lucien looks like a big boy already. Envy envy that he can fall asleep so easily on his own! Share more about your maternity/children's line leh. We can all recommend to our preggie friends.

Waiwai
Xuanpei's rompers are very well done

Michelle
That's why I love bfg lor. Easy to travel. No need to pack anything extra, just lift my shirt and stick out a boob.

Sterilising
I am still sterilising my #1's water bottle even though he's turned three. Think it's habit already, even though I know it's not necessary anymore. I just automatically do it each morning, like a robot.

Michelle,

same same..I intend to bf up till 6 mths only. the decision is tough but we have perserved well! Now pumping 3x a day - originally just enuff to feed my boy, but after he recovered, his appetite seems to have doubled!!(i think making up for lost time,kekekeke) Not complaining though.. he lost some weight previously....happie that he found his appetite again. Tomorrow must buy milk powder liao, demand exceeds supply now......

Fiona,

Lucien looks like you!
quite funny to see him slumped over the high chair zzzzzzing... Show us your new webby once it is up!

CS,

Yah lor, UTI sounds serious hor...my mouth drop open when the doctor explains what harm it could do... Now must take note more....

batgirl,
why u intend to bf only 6 months? if possible, i wd encourage u to continue. i can see a difference and the benefits of bf from my kids. when i stop bf #1, he fell sick a couple of times after i stopped. even my hb who did not believe in the benefits of bf commented on the fact that my #1 fell sick easily after i stop.

and for jx when she had fever, her fever went away really fast. i do notice from my kids ( and from frens) that kids who are bf recover faster. now my hb also say that he noticed how fast jx recvoers.

and once u hit the 6 months mark and they start on solids, it is much easier to continue. so dun give up!!

SD
i think i wlil give her 2 meals a day too. she always cry when finished. quite funny

straw
Cos u too shan liang......hahahha

Fiona
WAH!!! He can sleep like that aah??
Bet it will look so cute if you took video...wahahaha

do1nk
Soon cos wanna get before CNY. U want? then I wait for you. Let me know k.

bbp
Sizing aah should be same as GAP, ON kind cos I buy the same size. U can use the measurements on their website.

Serene
You also bad eye aim the bag liao aah??....hehehe

youpi
hehehe me too still sterilise #1 milk bottles n once in a while water bottle. But we lazy sterilise all at 1 go n use until no more clean ones then sterilise again.

SY,

6 months was the minimum commitment I made to myself (and my baby).
Now that it is nearing, I feel a sense of relief (it is quite disruptive to pump at work). But I know that it is beneficial for my baby to have BM. Maybe after 6 mths, I will supplement with FM, not 100% EBM.

Another reason is that I want to readjust my body back to normal. I am hoping for a second kid (if fate allows me to...I tried for a long time before I had Wufeng).

DorDor,
actually hor i being looking for baby bag for quite some time but just couldnt find one that i like ....heheh nw want to sia CS to buy but the lady only give $20 discount if 2 bag purchase...
$350 each x 2 - $20 .......