(2008/07) July 2008

bbp,

Only on IT.
Comes to fashion and makeup which ladies suppose to be an expert in, I m a total idiot.
My 4 yr old gal takes after me. Get her to operate a laptop or dvd player, she is an expert. Once I ask her to wear something more lady-like (like lacy dress), she will tell me "mommy, dun you think I look funny in this dress?"
I really faint! But what more can I say, I could only encourage her to dress up.

Star,
Cedric also wakes a few times during the night.. only this week, dunno why... But he sleeps next to me, so I jst latch him and he drinks to his heart's content before he unlatches. Easier for me, dun hafta get up, take him out of cot, then later gotta put back in cot sm more. Maximise sleep for everyone!

daddy-bb out alone
Hmmmmmmz... I dun think my hb would have a problem. As long as bb is fed just before that, and he goes out alone w Cedric straight away. Got 2-2.5 hours before they need to be back for feed. No occasion for him to do so yet. But yes, he shd learn. Maybe I make them do it one of these weekends! :D

waiwai,
I would feel hurt if any1 else tells me my precious BM is too thin to fill bb. That is absolute nonsense. Bbs are not cups to be filled to the brim - they are little human beings! And BM from human mum to little human is still the best!

CS,
Cedric sleeps at around 10+pm. Depends on mood one. Wakes up at least once a night for milk.

CS,
Kayden sleep earilest at 7.30pm and latest at 9pm. But that means he wake up very early like 6 plus to 7plus.
But i insist on feedin him at nite. That is why bb drink the most and without fuss. Like tat put on weight faster mah..

Bluey
U my idol... I be goin down singtel to look their cameras, not sure if its wireless. if not then i go dlink..

Morning Mummies,

aiya, my bb also very close to my mum. esp at her place. if she's fussy or what, only want my mum to soothe her. but back to my home, she will be ok lor. i can soothe her cos no one else liao mah.

my gal usually sleep between 8.30pm - 9pm. sometimes earlier, sometimes later. but very seldom 10+pm. so we try to put her to bed at that time. sometimes can sleep by self, sometimes have to be in rocker, sometimes have to be pat. so always have to trial and error see what she wants lor. same as cellow's bb. will wake up at once a nite for milk.

Star,
It's normal to be jealous of ppl when it comes to handling bb. Last time I also feel that. Does your maid take care of your bb the whole day? Sorry .. I can't rem if you are working or SAHM. But one thing me and hubby always say, it seems that with bbb, there is something called 'change hand change luck' liao. Sometimes Jamie also cry n cry when I carry him, but as soon as daddy takes over, he calms down. The opposite also true sometime. So it could be that just the act of your maid (can be anyone) taking over calms the bb. Maybe try to play with bb more often can help?

CS,
Jamie sleeps between 7.30pm to 8pm and wake up between 6.30am to 7am (with 3 feeds at night). Most books say that you need to establish a bedtime routine for bb so he/she knows that it's time to sleep. Mine is bath, follow by feed, then turn off all the lights except the dimmed yellow ones. I think making the house a bit darker is important so they know it's night time already.

Waiwai,
BM just looks thin but actually it's packed with nutrients. Maybe you can latch/pump more often to increase supply? Dun listen to those comments asking to supplement with FM okie?

SDChick, youpi, PB... thanks for info on plain romper... shall start my DIY t-shirts & rompers soon keke

i shd tell my IL that unlike kopi-gao, there is no "BM-gao" (thick BM)!!!

hannahl... the gathering think i'll leave ard 4+ ba...

wai wai

ya think only few hubby going i will try to ask my hubby again see he wan to join bo cos he kn cheryl hubby so got ppl talk talk to him ....but if he really dun wan to come i also ok cos he go he also never help out anything eg: look after bb ...... my hubby never wake up before at nite to help out since theoler born he also never bath for him before ..i ask him feed him drink milk havent start feeding he will carry bb return me saying he keep moving very hard to feed him change diaper once he open got poo poo he will said "you change lah very smelly" then walk off.

i got one gf the hubby very good hubby everyday will bath the baby before go to work he help to feed milk change diaper when he around then give the wife relex ...

CS
what type of sleeping bag did you buy?
i am sourcing for one.
but those i see all so expensive.
then the one i bought from bluey spree. too small le.
she will outgrow it very fast.

waiwai
i agree with the idea on making our own.
i might be making one with baby name on it instead.
since i cant be the supply for long.

waiwai i totally understand how you feel.
i am facing this problem too.
haiz, bought a tin of formula back yesterday.
i know i cant meet her demand so i quickly offer to start formula instead of her telling me.
i feel better when i suggest instead of them insisting.
actually god mil has been wanting to go on formula le, but she got no choice bcoz it is my baby.

i really don like people to comment anything about our BM.
super sensitive loh, this issue.

what is formula when we have BM

talking about giant
that day i bought 1 dozen of rompers (lightly printed)
super thin material la.
AT ONLY $1.99 each

bluey
you are so advance.

ling
we sama sama
my hubby also never bath baby before
he has only been with baby alone the longest is 1 hour when i was next door doing post natal massage.
change diaper less than 5 times.
put baby to sleep, NEVER.
cry pass to me liao.
if he notice baby reguriate milk first hor,
(sometime baby back face you how to see right)
he will stared at you. like bb vomit everything out and i still sit there watch tv.
even saliva loh, she always like to play with saliva. so how to clean all the time while carrying her. he will just use the mouth and no action one. if you see her playing with her saliva help clean la.

i always envy my colleague's wife.
my this male colleague also mei hua suo.
he do everything loh.
from day 1 till now 9mths le.
change diaper, bath, fed bb.

Ya ya very difficult to find hb who's hand's on with bb. Just know I asked him whether he'll be okay if he were to go out with bb just the two of them for 1 hr. Immediately said NO. But he said he doesn't mind if the bb is bigger, say 2 yrs old.

Wah.. seems like some of the babies here do sleep early.. for mummies whose babies sleep early, LUCKY YOU !

SD
Our babies can shake hands, they sleep just as late !

bluey
Seldom you'll find women in love with technology, at least not for me, Im tech-idiot.

smiggleprincess
You're one of the lucky mummies loh.. latest koon by 9pm and he sleeps thru to 6-7am. Very good liao !

RHS
Dani does has a routine - bath, milk, wear sleeping bag, give chup chup, sleep.. and she knows it. Just that routine dont work at bbsitter's place. At our home, she's okay. Probably becos bbsitter dont have a/c so become have to skip a few items (sleeping bag, a/c) so Dani also blur.

Qing
Im using the Kiddopotamus Dreamsie Micro-Fleece for Dani and she loves it. She used to hate a/c, will eh eh eh once we switched it on so bo bian bring her out to the living room and blow fan, immed she knoked out. But since with this sleeping bag, she just loves a/c ! LOL !!
I just went to buy size L yesterday at $39.90 (only comes in S & L) cos her S becoming too small liao. Thinking of selling her S size off cos very wasteful, only used it for 1mth+ nia.. when I bought size S, I forgot that Dani's is quite big in size hence didnt managed to use for long.
I think PB is using the Grobag.. not sure how much thou. I prefer dreamsie cos got sleeve.

Re Hands-on hubbies
So far my hb he's very hands on with Dani. He's capable of looking after her alone for entire day and night. Morning he would bathe her, change her into new clothes with all necessary procedures (powder body, ru yi oil, diaper cream..) then feed her and pat her to take her naps. Afternoons, if she's awake, he'll entertain her with whatever ways he can think of, there's once he prance ard infront of her like a MAD clown to catch her attention. I went >> o_O ..
Night, he'll prep her for bedtime with her sleep routine but this time after bathe she'll get a body massage with lotion cos she'll be sleeping in a/c room and he's afraid of her having dry skin.
Having said so much, Im not trying to say how good he is, point is.. Its only after showing him THOUSANDS TIMES OF MY BLACK FACE during Dani's 1st month then he slowly learned and become like this. So ladies, give your hb the blackest face you can ever managed. They'll learn.

re: hands on hubbies
me agree with CS, i also showed my black face and talked to him about it then he became more hands on. hubby didn't help much with #1 till she's older ard 1yr+, bcos i think men find it easier to connect when the child can interact with them. then when preggy with #2 he started bathing #1, change her diaper, put lotion & oil for her, and even spent whole day with her before(brought her to work). now on & off will help me wash up Lucien, attend to his cries and even feed him.

Qing
i remember one day my boy flip then he flip back knock his head he sitting there watch tv i inside the room he still can said y never keep an eye on bb you see lah this kind of father n hubby i have

SD
ya my hubby also say that too when bb big like 2yr old then he dare to bring him out alone...

wow CS your ah lao so hands on...

i think like what Fiona says, hbs always find it easier to connect when kids are older.

i can leave my gal with my hb alone and go out. but must bath and change her first. then i can go. as my gal is on FM, it's very easy for him all he have to do is to prepare when time come. but hor, being men, his time always agar agar want. i can go out come back ask him, when is her next feed and he will go "errmmmm think it's 1.30pm. not sure also"
wow liao, how can be not sure???? i keep on have to remind him it's very impt to know when they eat. cos scare we give them too early or late mah. *faintz*

but if he look after my gal, he will always tell her, ok, lets sleep. then he will sleep before the girl sleep. buahahhaha

but overall not bad lah, at least sometimes at nite, he sees i tired, he will take over the nite feed lor.

Fiona, CS,
hmm I showed black face then he said, I hired helper not for nothing. *piaks*
But he's quite ok with my#2 la.. It's just that he is more confident handling a bigger baby, not a young one lor. He only carry my#2 to play. He can change diaper, but not feeding. As for #1, he is more hands on cuz #1 is his princess #1. Princess#2 is still small, but I think in time he will spoil her too.

ling
Its normal for MEN to make such comments. My hb does it too, sometimes he'll expect me to be a human Octopus with thousand eyes !

Rayna
He's so hand-on after lau niang's many black faces.. must got kang-hu one but this skill not difficult to learn cos I believe we women are very talented in area. At least I am. LOL !!!!

And yes I agree with Fiona, perhaps men are more comfortable and confident with bigger kids as it is easier to interact with them plus not as fragile as babies.

can;'t keep up with the posts!

sigh, jx has some spots on her feet. hope it's not HFMD. praying real hard now!!

cherly
i posted the link on the food trays.

u referring to this one?
http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&pid=8740832889319558210&at=0

serene
did u go MPH sale? i was so tempted to go but a lot of books at home already

re hlper
mine went out without my permission today. so pissed! lucky i caught her...

re sleep
now jx wakes up abt 12+ and 4+. think this is quite good liao. she was worse a few weeks back

CS, i also got show him black face one. show liao got do lor. after that no more.

aiya he very irritating 1 lah. like to go disturb my gal alot. he likes to place his face damn close to her lor. then she will be very frustrated esp when she's sleepy. but he don't care will keep on want to disturb her. ask him don't do it, he still can tell me, she my daughter wat i want to do what also can. Pengz lor.but his daughter very clever lor.know cannot siam his face liao,she'll use her hand to slap his face lor. hahah just to push him away. then he will complain y "nu er" beat me. kaoz...u keep on distrubing her she'll also angry one rite.

ling,
your hubby still can make such comment ar...my hubby very cham one, he rarely make any such comment bcos i'm a super chili padi, will snap very fast at him if he did...i'm hot! *sizzling* kekeke

SDchick,
ya lor my #1 also princess, always bully the daddy. that's y ppl always says "daddy's gal" and "mummy's boy"...hahaha

rayna,
yup it's hard for them to rem timing, but lucky my gal now drink on demand, we'll only make for her if she asks for it....which is quite often lor bcos she's "gian ni" type...

CS,
wa sei...got kang hu liao ar...no wonder your hubby super hands on leh...hahaha

SY,
your helper so daring to leave without your permission. actually lots of them are like that. how did you manage to catch her?

yesterday jx did something interesting. she kind of crawled. she flipped then used her hands and legs to help her turn 180 degrees and then flip back.

rayna
hee, let your gal keep some long nails and when your hb disturb her, she can put it to good use.

fiona
i called home after leaving the house and she din pick up. so i asked a neighbour to help me check. as my neighbour was standing outside, she came back.....

Errrmmm why we need food tray huh? to put bb's puree next time? not cook when they want to eat meh?

Fiona,
my gal also kind of feed on demand lor. but sometimes we just give her when 4 hrs is up. she's now drinking 120ml every 4 hrs. so in 24 hrs, she drink about 5 feeds onli lor. somehow don't know why from birth till now, she's always short of 1 feed. if wake her for the extra feed, she sure make noise lor.sighz, PD always ask me to wake her up. but everytime i wake her liao, she don't want to eat lei.

SY
WHere was your helper trying to go?

Rayna
LOL !! I like your hb's quest : 'Why nu er beat me?' So funny !

Fiona
Yah ! He made me 'chu kang hu'.. its his choice.. HA!

SY,
she sneaked out jalan jalan, very naughty leh. must be careful bcos they could have know some maids/men who always ask her out.

my 3rd maid is like dat lor, she climbed out my house wall in the nite and my neighbour saw it and alerted us, then i found alot of love letter from another foreign worker man. in the end, i sent her straight back to agency the next day.

rayna,
if you buy half a pumpkin or something like that, it's easier if you puree the whole thing then put in food tray in portion enough for each serving, then each time just cook/warm up the require portion.

is your gal's weight of normal range? if she's growing fine dun need to wake her up for feeds one leh. usually they know how much they want to drink. my boy on & off drink more then less, hard to predict, so just wait and take cue from him lo.

CS,
hahaha...ya they "jing jiu bu chi, chi fa jiu"

Rayna,
Hi-5! My hb also likes to disturb both gals. when one is asleep he will go and correct their sleep posture until sometimes my gal wakes up. after that he quickly runs away!! *double piaks*
When we're back from work, sometimes my bb asleep already, he doesn't even wanna check whether bb asleep, he will go inside and yell bb's name. Guess what bb wakes up lor!!

SY, wah JX very good can do all sorts of things already!

wow fiona 3rd maid more daring climb out the house wall power .....

sy then you got ask her go where bo? i today work half way went home then i suddenly open the maid door without any noise but heng lor she never do anything just feeding my boy ....so far my this maid still ok.

Fiona,
wow ur maid so daring, climb over the wall.

sighz, got maid also headache. no maid also headache. hehhe...

hehehe..i also don't know is she in the normal range. cos i never really check. PD never say anything, then i also never ask too much. buahahha...

SDchick, really hi5! lor my hb sometimes also will like that. then he always very disappointed if bb is sleeping when he comes home. and will try to disturb abit. but i always tell him "NO!!" go away, don't disturb her!!! now he seldom do it liao lor...

he already dreaming of bringing her to his soccer session next time when she's older. hehehhe....

Croc Sales at Expo,
i went there ard 11plus than choose n my hubby Q for almost 2hrs just to PAID.
Imagine me sling kacey n go into those crowd n choose n shout for size "I WAN SIZE 8 OR 9 have " some lady saw me help me to shout coz i got kacey with me but some AUNTY hor just push n i shout back "cant u just wait must u push if cannot wait than come early lah" haha so ladies were laughing those aunty I feel so happy ...
My damage for today is 3 pairs of croc shoes/sandals

Serene,
Wah, the sales sound very scary man. Applaud you for able to chiong this kinda sales together with Kacey.

Re hands-on hubby:
So far, my hubby has done everything (diaper changing, bathe, feed, pat bb to sleep), but yes, need to ask one. But think most men are like that la. But quite good already, at least ask will still help. Then weekends quite good, he will auto cos I declare before that weekends are my off days. So he let me rest lor.
But but but... realise that they like to finish whatever they are doing first, even things like watching TV. Last night, ask him to help me bathe Declan, he ask "Can I watch finish Friends first?". Sigh, at that time, quite late liao lor. Completely past Declan's bathtime/sleep routine. But I just say "I can let you watch finish, but dunno whether your son will let you watch finish not. Anyway, it's very very late already." Then hubby auto liao

wah so many posts. just glanced through!!

wah fiona your maid.... spider man? haha

ergo mummy fans - where to buy from ah? we want to test it out

wah serene. you power!!!!!

SY - jialat your maid! where she want to go? gai gai ah? then your kids leh? she just left them at home??!!

Ergo
I got mine from http://www.mummysmilk.com/

Hbs
Mine has been trained since #1's time so he can do everything - except breastfeed. My black face can also get very very black if I feel that he is not sharing the parenting load and I have no qualms about waking him up in the middle of the night to carry bb to sleep if I am too tired. And I am thick-skinned enough to tell him "see what a wonderful job I am doing with my babies" and force him to agree, hehe.

Croc sales
Serene, you are v brave!

Fiona
Your helper - cat woman lah.

Bluey
I am also fashion & makeup idiot. Don't own any lipstick or lipgloss. Only use sunscreen. But I am also a tech-idiot though I love admiring gadgets, especially the well-designed ones.

CS
My #1 sleeps around 7/7.30pm; #2 gets nursed to sleep by 8pm (usually). Both wake at about 7am the next morning. Bb feeds once or twice during the night.

MY bedtime now! *yawn*

yo gals !

seldom login now .. work is super busy.

re:sleeping time

Rianne sleeps at 8+ to 9+ pm until next morning 6+ to 7am. Today is exceptional. Slept at 10+pm cos brought for a jab at my PD's nite clinic.

She is 6.4kg and 66cm tall. Din cry for the first jab as anticipated by PD. He says 2nd jab will sure cry cos of the chemicals in the injection and indeed, my dear Rianne cried a bit after the 2nd jab. Stop then cry abit again and then stop. She's considered very kuai as compared to my #1.

She dont wake up at nite for milk...phew ! mummy can have a good nite sleep ...

btw u gals milk supply got increase during 4th mth ? mine did leh ... now can easily reach 200ML per pump or more. eheh so happy. so got a lot of extra to freeze. Rianne drinks abt 140-150ML now.

ling
your mum very disclipine when come to training bb hor.. very good leh. i'm so jealous...

michelle
aiyo.. your friend's boys need 6 bottles of milk throughout the night? oh dear, their metabolism too fast isn't it?

RHS
really that book is good at traning bb sleeping on her/his own? ok ok, will check it out.. but like youpi, I'm one that cannot tahan seeing/hearing bb cry one.. especially my gal, she's not just crying, but scream!!

star, bluey,
me also using dlink.. i also got this problem of having always changing IP address which eventually i gave up to ON the camera. wasting $$ leh. how come they keep changing IP address leh?

wai wai,
yes pls.. i want to know more about how to create those special photo effects.. email me at [email protected] thanks!

youpi,
oh your bb can nap on his own now, also not bad leh. mine need to be carried be it afternoon nap or night. *shake head*

dor dor,
hmn.. ya lor, i think let bb sit higher on ergo is good, so she won't be so hot 'stucks' inside.
will look for a similar size pillow to try out..

re hubbies/men
mine also sama sama one
when bb cries in the room while i'm in kitchen having lunch.. he will quickly ran to me (without pacifying bb first).. 'bb cries leh'..
when bb made big business liao.. he again went to look for me, 'bb poo-poo liao'.. leaving bb there untouch.

most of the time i will quickly attend to bb, until one day i fed up, and response with black face.. "so...?" then he said, 'no lah, just wanna update you, incase you want to do it yourself mah.."

the conclusion is, never spoilt the men, they will take it for granted that we mothers will always do what we always do or assumed we supposed to do it.

start showing him my blackie face...

re maid
aiyoo... Fiona, your maid arh.. so daring.

SY, your maid also.. sigh

these maids come here to work or look for honey?

wow youpi,
your kids sleep 12 hrs at night?!!!! does your #1 nap during day time? wonder how do you manage to send them to bed at about same time, my #1 needs to be separated from #2, else one will awake the other.

PB,
i got my ergo from Metro, got it 20% off their UP$199... they marked up the price!!

hmn... maybe you can ask the sales girl to let you open the box and try it out there. oh yes, not all Metro outlets carry this ergo, only Metro at causeway point.

lbt
you also another lucky mummy... rianne sleeps alot hor..

your whispering method made this works? hey, i tried your whispering method hor, it keeps waking my bb leh.. she's light sleeper, so when i whisper in her ears, her eyes open big big liao.. hahah...

oh lbt, your ss increase arh.. mine drop leh, maybe sickie plus lacking of beautiful sleep ba.

got to go zzzz liao.. my bb is going to wake up in an hour time for milk i guess...

CS
she went to NTUC. i did instruct her before that she can't go out without my permission.

actually my maid wants to go back. hb always say that she do all these things to make me angry to ensure that i will send her back.

fiona,ling,
of cos ask her where she go. her reasoning is that go 5 min only very fast one so no need say

PB
the iherb stuff is here. pass to u on tue.

your hb good leh. can take care of poppy alone. last time during #1's time if i go out, hb always keep asking me whether i coming home lareayd or not.

i brought jx to jh's sch. so no kids at home with the maid.

lbt
hee, my gal is 7.04kg! hb always say dunno how she grow so big when she sleep so little..

sonic
your gal so cute. kept waking when u whisper...

woa, so many posts to catch up..

ok slowly..

sonic, there's one at lorong ah soo, the people's bible church (tpbc). My #1 was there. I think st paul's church not bad if u r more concern with the academics.

My no. 2 was attending tpbc kindergarten till 2 months before i gave birth. Now he's with kinderland childcare as i need him to be away from home so i can take care of celeste better. I've actually registered him with Ascension kindergarten for Jan 09. It's at potong pasir, inside st andrew's village. A very popular one, difficult to get a place
But now headache as dun know if can leave her with the maid or not.

Well for playgroup, there's a pats school house near my house
Can try their d'story club, very good.

I finish going thru' all items I wanna get from learning resources already. I will be ordering tomorrow night.

The clearance items have additional 40% discount so I m getting quite a few items. Others no discount.

But I think the most worth and relevant for mommies here will be these 2 items.

U want just PM me... but best by tomorrow nite. Some BPs going on too so I am afraid OOS for my items.

http://www.learningresources.com/product/parents/shop+by+subject/smart+safari--174-+count+-amp-+grow+giraffe.do

http://www.learningresources.com/product/parents/shop+by+subject/color+bear--8482-.do

bbp, your hubby very good, can manage to take care of declan all by himself. Mine arh...

Can sleep in the scooterbaby too arh

bluey, i got the my baby can read dvd liao. And guess what.. After i played it, was wondering how come the things look so familiar.. Then my son said we already had it!!! I bought the cd ones for my #2 last time.. Bought so many stuff till can't remember.. I want to cry now..

CS & Fiona, my hubby immuned to my black face liao leh

waiwai
wah.. u oso got to tk test? i'm a saf regular..
u?

hannahl
my hse available till late.. can stay as long as u mummies want. ;)

ling
ehs.. my hubby wont be home leh... ahhaha..ur hubby like shy, shy kind..

flipping
alamak..how!!! cayden coming 5mths le.. still dun wanna flip.. aiyos.. been trying to train him to flip.. but d most he can manage
is to flip onto his back when i placed him on his tummy.. then he'll smile at me (cos face-to-face), like macam sangat satisfied kind..
aiyos.. but he still cant flip from back to tummy yet..
when will cayden flip like prata??!?!

sy
yeps, d food tray... ohs, i saw another one in bp, $12 each for 2 oz x 8.. individually capped... like better leh..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1883379.html?1226638597

pb
really admire u leh!!! bluebunny can bring poppy out for trips alone! aiyos, i wont dare to let my hubby bring cayden out..
leave them alone at home, i oso worried liao.. ahhaha.. n its not just me who feels insecure leaving hubby n bb alone.. my mum n mil
both scared too..

Qing... u can still make the supply t-shirt.. coz u have unlimited supply of love for rachel

sonic... u've got mail!

lbt... my ss still the same leh, haiz... how many times rianne need to be fed everyday?

hands-on hb
think i'm kinda lucky to have a hands-on hb... he is the "changing station" as he is mainly in-charge of changing diaper... he also helps to feed bb and entertain her (or she entertains him with overflowing saliva)... but i still hope to train him to bath bb (he tried once and scared to do it again) and bring her out without me keke