(2008/07) July 2008

Hi All, my bb gal has eczema, confirmed by PD haizz....at 1st her face look likes as though she gt rashes (red dots) then gt liquid and dried which look like crust. was kinda worried so brought her to see PD. PD sd her eczema was quite bad but luckily still in time for treatment. Also her skin was quite dry too. The PD prescribed Cetaphil for bathing and some medication to apply for ezcema. then have to bring her back for review on monday.
Hope she wont get fever *crossing my fingers* as fever=infection.
Oso have to clean her gum and tongue as it seem she might have tongue infection but it is not serious. Worse is she gt cradle cap. Have to put olive oil.
Hope my bb gal will be fine after the treatment and medication.
Im beginning to feel that Im a lousy mummy as i didnt pay much attention all these things earlier

bbp,
No. I think that is during his growth spur (6th wk). Now drinking less most of the time but night feeding still 160ml (2 times). Overall still drink more than 100ml.

hi waiwai and 4Ds family, thanks for your replies. it so strange, i checked with kidslink at cck and they are charging me 160 per jab for 6-in-1 leh. the price varies at different branches?! so u mommies also bringing ur bbs for the first jab when they are 2-month old?

youpi, apparently different PD, clinic says different thing. PD said 6 in 1 starts when bb is 2 month old then GP said can bring for first jab at 1.5 mth. make me so confused but i think maybe not hard and fast bah..hmmm..

btw, any mommies got cooler bag already? thinking of getting one to keep the EBM if we intend to bring bb out...any recommendations?

cellow, good tht ur boy has upgraded to sports version! congrats!

bonnygal, hope ur gal recovers soon..cheer up.

missy
my PD charge 120 for the 6 in 1 jab. i gave to my gal at 6 weeks.

re driving
i already started driving at full month already though got csect. no prob with it

bonnygal
dun be too upset.does u or hb have sensitive skin? bb wd be more prone to eczema if you have sensitive skin.

1st time mummies
hang in there! things can only get better. i remember for my #1 i always feel so tired etc but now for #2 i keep telling myself tings can only get better.

hi mummies! I'm finally back on track..and caught up with all that I missed out on reading..

life's been chaotic since the little one's out.. in fact I think I juz lost all the pics we took during delivery and the first few pics of my little baby! *sob*

anyway..here are two pics of baby Gordon.. one where I tried to capture him doing the O-mouth, and another during our very first outing to the PD..
1637969.jpg
1637970.jpg

dunno where or how to start replying to the so many topics talked about...

anyway I'm still trying to adapt to this new life with my little baby who can be an angel one moment (like now, dat explains why I can be online) and cranky the next...3rd week growth spurt huh? really hope that's so... on the days where he cries n cries...I end up crying wiv him.. haha

for me... life revolves around that 3 hour cycle now...of feeding baby (bottled EBM), burping (which he refuses to lately), expressing milk, changing diapers, making him sleep, and before I can catch a wink...it all starts again.. there are also those days when I think he's asleep so sneak off to shower only to have to run in and out to a crying baby a few times!

think we are all going thru similar experiences now huh..

and what's getting to me are the pains and aches all over..anyone has painful wrists? think the piles is acting up again (heaty?), my bum is even getting chafed from wearing a pad for so many days.. and now painful nipples! I'm thinking of getting breastshells so my nipples are protected from any chafing against the bra and shirt.. anyone used this before? any idea if it'd help?

had a few instances of engorgement, then fell sick and BM supply fell as well.. had problems latching (lazy baby who doesn't really know how to latch right and a short nipple) the first few days were frustrating and the nurses taught us to use the syringe, but this is quite scary coz baby may choke if we squirt too much in... succumbed to using the bottle in the end in tears (was worried about nipple confusion initially) now we are 99% using the bottle to give him EBM.. I try to latch him occassionally still but he will still do the same: fall alseep (comfort latching?) or get frustrated (coz he has to work harder than using the bottle) and now he's got the deathgrip too.. and it seems to hurt when he suckle..so is he doing it right?

when he started getting cranky (crying non stop) that's when we reluctantly whipped out the pacifier too.. now he even refuses dat on certain cranky days

about pooing: wah..how come your bb's all poo so little... I seem to be using like 20+ diapers per day...today actually changed 3 diapers in 1/2 hour's time! always feel so heart pain, yet we can't leave them in soiled diapers or they'll get rashes right.. how soon before you all change diapers usually? juz called nepia to order my next carton of diapers..

weight loss: darn.. I've got like 10kg to go man! now self-wrapping as often as I can.. completed my massage and was reduced from a 6mth preggie tummy to a 3mth preggie tummy.. will try baby oil for the pigmentation like you guys advised..

on the jabs..decided to go for the 5-in-1 version so that little baby's body can adapt to the vaccines slowly..

okie dokie..time to wake the little one up for his feed... will post more soon..

little Gordon having his full month party this sunday! what did your babies wear ah? could barely find anything small enough for him! I bought an outfit from baby gap for newborns and it's way too big...finally found a romper of the right size...but no matching mittens leh hehehe

those of your whose CL has left...hang in there! ;)

PB,
jiayou! hugz, take a nap, dun log on lor!

youpi,
heh our bbs only difference of one day hor... hi-5! must must tong the 3rd week.... whole day he just refuses to latch, must syringe feed him...

do1nk,
eeeeewwww, bb Gordon so cute! his hairstyle with the hair standg up just like Cedric..... macam put gel hor

do1nk,

Get the nipple shields! They really help. But after a while when your nipples get used to the abuse, you won't need the shields anymore

As for latching, it will get better. I went through the same experiences too.
Short nipples plus lazy baby = sad mother
Plus MIL kept "taking over" the baby so I didn't have much opportunity to try latching. BUT good news... I've had successful latching from a while ago, so definitely hang in there!

hi there
i just chk with my GP and they charging $99 (exclude gst and consultation) for 6in1 jab. Dont kn why u guys so exp leh? Nurse said can take the jab anytime from 1 mth onwards. So i'm gonna bring bb for the jab next week, 6 weeks by then.

PB
persevere! that's wat all of us are doing now.

do1nk
ur bb looks cute ler. u have inspired me to take the O pic.

6-in-1 jab
my gal took it yesterday, now she 6-week-1-day old. was surprised she didn't cry! now monitoring her temperature, so far ok, but today she a bit more sleepy than usual, which PD says it is normal. also good for me, can sleep a bit more too keke

my PD also did assessment on her development, comment that her neck is strong!

do1nk

Gordon looks like u ah ??? ehhe the O shape mouth looks cute leh !

my rianne now only poo abt twice a day. I change diapers after 3-4 hrs depends on her urine output. She had rashes a few weeks ago and I change it every 2 hrs so that the rashes will go away faster.

Any babies wearing S size diaper ? My Rianne will thighs seems to get in the way when using newborn diapers. Always leave a red mark on her thighs, so heart pain when I see it. Anyway I am on my last packet of newborn so will use my NEPIA S size next.

oh ya talking abt oral thrush, i need to start to clean Rianne's tongue. Got some milk residue on her tongue. if it gets thicker, they may resist milk.

Have you heard of the elderly say to clean tongue using a piece of black cloth ? Dont ask me why but my mum and mil sing the same tune.

just brought my 2 gals to compass pt for some shopping. Gosh, how I miss shopping !!!!!!!

hai but figure still not good, dun even dare to buy any clothes now

Bluey
Thanks for the AMK polyclinic info!

Missysz, Summert, Waiwai
So they take the 6-in-1 at 6 weeks then. Thanks for letting me know!

Cellow
Yup yup, just one day difference for our boys
Mine is behaving suspiciously well (that's why I can log on)...

PB
Hang in there! You're not alone!

Do1nk
Gordon is so cute! Can already see what he'll look like when he grows up hor. Re: pooping babies: you are not alone. Mine also poos a lot, average of 9-10 times a day. Re: chafing nipples: why not wear breast pads?

Okay, going in to sleep now. Must gear up for the night! G'night!

My baby is now in her 5th week le... Suddenly, she is into latching on after EBM. Now she will only take 1/2 of her usual EBM feed (which is abt 40-50mls) then cry for NNP. Only after the latch on, then will she be satisfied.

Anybody got such experience?

lbt
is it true tt bb will resist milk residue on tongue if too thick? how do u gauge if it's thick? and is it ok to clean tongue at such young stage? cos i heard no need to clean until 2-3 mths leh. how??

summert

u see if the residue is even and covers most area of the tongue ? Rianne's tongue has a small patch of milk residue but very eye sore. So I think can start cleaning. It is easier to clean when it is not that thick I guess.

youpi
no prob

lbt
we tried to use S diaper, aiyo so loose for bb. his poopoo even spill out. so we went back to NB diaper which is more secure, hmm no tight mark on his thighs.

waiwai
the jab is on which part of bb's body?

phyllis
my bb was like this when 1-2weeks old, they say he treat our nipple as pacifier so we bought n offer him a pacifier instead.

haiya dun kn y my bb been making noise since 7plus leh. rocking sarung, milk also dun want. tonight i sure cham..

Summert,

the thing is... my baby will reject pacifier. So no choice lor, at nite i still have to lactch on for her to drink even after i've pumped my milk already. Tiring!

Summert,

I wish i can juz rock her to sleep at nite... but she die die muz latch on then can sleep. Worst, she is literally sucking hard and drinking. dun think its for comfort sucking only.
My mum still thot she saw "dirty" stuff cos she cries non-stop every nite till 2-3am initially when i din wanna latch her on.

summert
Sleep very wasted ma n I'll wait for hubby unless I too tired knock out. Cos when they sleep its my own time n normally i'll be aiming wat to spend money on next....wahahhaha
I think my fil wants to 'be in charge' also even though I'm the 1 taking care of my kids.
Cos he's the very traditional kind n his hse like imperial palace n he like king. Everything he says they follow totally no qns asked.
N very irritating lor cos he keeps asking the same qns every time he sees me even though I purposly give him the exact same ans everytime he ask. N he will soon be asking "When will u stop feeding her at night?". Siao lor as if I can control if bb wanna sleep through anot.

Starxin
Ur boobs okie liao?? Or fever becos of them??
If u see doc they will tell u if the medi okie to bf anot. But my pd say actually very few medi cannot bf.

bbp
If cradle cap u can try to put olive oil or bb oil. Then wait awhile for it to absorb n use those bb brush for their hair to brush it. Should loosen n be brushed out bit by bit.
But personally never try before cos both my bbs dun have....hehehe

youpi
Yap yap AMK polyclinic. Actually even nearer to u then me.....hehehe
But call n make appt 1st so it will be faster. Cos bb got pirority. Normally once I reach the next num will be mine already so I like to go there...hehe
Ummm not sure about 6-in-1 cos the last time they only have 5-in-1. Maybe can call n ask then shun bian make appt.
Which reminds me I must make appt liao....hahaha

bluey
THANX for posting that.....hehe
I forgot the price liao only remember $15 for hep B. Cheap hor....hehehe

btw re polyclinics hor please note that there r 2 diff management. AMK 1 is under National Healthgroup, Sengkang 1 is Singhealth n I have heard complains of waiting 1hr for jabs at Sengkang.
But I've only been to AMK 1 so dunno hw true.

do1nk
Finally see bb gordon so cute. U save the best for last ahh?? hahahahaha

morning mummies *yawn*

already w CL, so tired waking up for 2-3 feeds in the night. wonder wat will happen to me when she is gone... one day at a time...

bb Cedric has refused to latch onto my nnp since 9am ystday. less than 24 hrs but feels like hell esp when he does one of those ear-splitting cries

Hi girls
Poppy is asleep. Whenever I wake up before her in the morning, I feel very lost, like dunno what to do with my time hehe. Cos usually she wakes up first then I kalang kabut, jump out of bed.

Thanks for the encouragement girls. It’s very tiring but manageable la. The minute hubby turn the key in the lock, I tell Poppy ‘PAPA’S HOME!!!!’ but actually it’s mummy that is super happy cos once he change up I will give Poppy to him and say OK I go sleep now haha.

Labbit
We have a part time helper that comes in every weekend to do the big things. But still, everyday must sweep or else dusty, and do laundry. At least Poppy’s laundry.

Catherine
I know what you mean! Poppy also always like gek sai like that. Face all red and scrunched up, then only got fart. Sometimes she will cry also. I always tell her fart fart only, no need to cry. But so cute la!

Bbp
Oh cradle cap also occurs around eye brow area? Then I think that’s what Poppy has too! But not a lot so I just leave it alone. I don’t want to apply anything cos so near the eye la

Rena
I have 5 tubes of bao yin dan left, would you like? Just pay me for yi si yi si can already. Cos we bought but PD said better not to mix ang moh and Chinese herbs.

Youpi
How are you holding up? 5-in-1 is first month, 6-in-1 is second month.

Baby cries
We were very gek sim cos she cried a lot in her 2nd-3rd week. Thought it was wind but ru yi you, bao yin dan and ridwind didn’t really help. Then PD gave REUTEFENE, a probiotic drop, which is supposed to introduce good bacteria into her intestines to help break down enzymes or something for better digestion and it really works. She is such a happy baby now

Steph
I think very hard to gauge when they drink more, when they drink less. I just let poppy tell me. If FM we usually make 120ml. If she’s hungry, she will finish. If not then she will refuse to drink. If baby finish whatever you give her and still hungry very fast after means it’s time to increase liao loh!

FM make baby sleep longer?
Agree – FM make poppy more full so she will sleep longer, and more shiok. I decided not to stress her up so much by breastfeeding all the time+FM cos the poor baby also need to rest cos only when they sleep then they will grow right? And be in good mood :D so day time latch on whenever she cries, and if not enough then FM, but night time FM direct. But now she got new pattern also. Very liam liam with me, and sometimes after full FM feed, still must suckle until shiok. If too long then I will just give pacifier

Bonnygal
How to clean mouth? I use small towel wrapped around my finger and clean gum and tongue. Correct or not ah? Hope your girl gets better soon!

Missysz
I got avent cooler bag. And I bought those frozen ice pack thing from ikea. Not sure if they still have but it’s very good. Those kind you put in the freezer overnight then when you bring out, it will remain frozen kind.

Do1nk
Poppy say didi Gordon is very handsome
and did I read correctly… did you say SHOWER? Tsk tsk. Painful wrists ME LA. I am queen of painful wrists remember? From pregnancy times. But gynae say it’s due to water retention. It will go away. Now for me (poppy is 6 weeks old liao) the pain is better but worst. It is not constant but more of a sharp pain when it does happen. What to do? Cannot don’t carry baby right?

Agree with bbp, my nipples now are strong liao hehe. Only when she initially latch on the first 2-3 sucks then I open my eyes big big cos she very kanchiong, want to suck hard hard mah. After that ok liao. And funny, now she will automatically adjust adjust herself and
suckle correctly

ok ok she start to eh eh liao. Gotta go!

lbt,

I'm in the same position as you. My bb can't fit into the NB much longer. See whether I can actually use finish the NB diapers first or he grows out of it first. In fact, I actually encouraged my mom to use the disposable diapers (we were using cloth diapers) cos bb was about to grow out of it soon.

As for the cleaning of tongue, no need use black cloth bah? My mom also cleans bb's tongue but use normal cloth only.

summert,

My bb was also fussing the whole time last night. Then when he finally slept at 10pm, he slept all the way till 5.30am :p

pinkbunny,

Yeah, I also didn't know that cradle cap occurs in other areas other than the scalp :p I think I also won't put anything cos I know I quite itchy fingers one. So I scared I will be over-enthusiastic about brushing the skin out. So better to leave it alone.

As for strong nipples, I think cos I don't latch often.. so when I do latch on, it still hurts initially. Once adjusted properly, then it's ok liao.

summert... jab at bb's buttock

cleaning toungue
since bb came home, my MIL cleans her tongue using clean cloth dipped in cool boiled water during bathing time

lbt,
Yah.... I enjoy my miracles when they come

But hor... my mommy on leave today, so she help me for the 5.30am session also, although I helped warm the EBM. Woohoo!

Hi everyone! Wow, envy you guys whose babies sleep long stretch at night. Jamie still wakes up every 2 hours to feed and has to be carried to sleep. Average I sleep only 2 hours everyday

Re: holding baby
Feel very sad lately ... Jamie always cry when I carry him. Think my way of holding him is uncomfortable. He immediately calms down when my mom carries him, even hubby can calm him down most of the time. I feel that I'm only good for feeding him *sob* Now if he doesn't fall asleep after feeding I get a bit scared coz I know he'll cry if I carry n rock him. Haiz ....

Re: cradle cap
Can use olive oil or coconut oil. Just rub a bit on the scalp, wait for a while, and you should be able to rub the flakes off. It works too for dry flakes on the eyebrows and ears.

RHS,
Don't be sad. Sometimes I also feel that way, but maybe is cos he cry until tired already and so happens that your mom/hubby got the lucky part? Just do your best

RHS don't sad, don't sad. sometimes it's like that one. just keep talking to jamie. i also felt very sad when hubby or CL carry then poppy quiet immediately but after a while they will know who is their mummy one. yesterday i went out (hubby chased me out of house and asked me to go shopping cos he thinks i'm getting cabin fever again) and when i came back he said poppy cried about 1 hour but when i carried her and talked to her, she calmed down :D

CL says try to carry with baby's head on your left, and hold her close to chest. babies will feel calmer cos they feel secure being held so close, and hearing mummy's heart beat

unrelated question: mummies, you know where got sell plus sized clothing? not preggie clothes, but for bigger sized women. my bro in law and his gf are coming to visit so i want to bring her out for shopping and she's not the skinny sort

RHS,
My bb also one fussy bb and can't sleep, always demand to be carried. I give up, use sarong = yao lan. Yao Lan is a life saver.

Bra Extender
Any one using this? I bought bras from Mothercare, but it is too tight. Do you think the extender is usefull?

Sumert,

i tried to juz let bb latch on last nite but cannot. She couldn't finish sucking all the milk...in the end, both breasts still engorged.hahaha... still need to pump it out. But thank goodness, she feels satisfied... slept thru the nite. from 2am to 7.30am. i get a better sleep... will try again tonite. hahha...

re S diapers
my gal already wear S 2 weeks ago but it depends on the brand n cut. drypers cut is small but nepia is big

re sleep
i also ave 3-4 hours a night. dun worry will get used to it soon

re bb poo
mine used to poo really often. she finished 8 packs of pampers in 4 weeks.....imagine tat

RHS
maybe u try diff positions? dun be too sad. they all know who is mummy.

PB

Dorothy Perkins shld have.

ya always carry baby close to you, means her body touching your body. They feel very secure and can smell our odour hehehe

bbp, lbt
how did u get ur bb to sleep for so long? EBM, FM or latch on?

phyllis
envious leh ur bb so guai..

wai wai
thanks. me going to bring bb for the jab on monday.

RHS
sama sama! my bb will not sleep longer than 3h at nite. i also feel the same way as u, my mil n hb always have a way with bb. even at nite when bb cry n i failed to quiet him down, once hb take over he's sound asleep, n it's suppose to be my job n not to disturn my hb cos he still gotto work the next day lor. i feel equally lousy as u.

star
we also bought sarong, electric somemore n i kindof quite scared to go near him cos he scared he'll wake up n useless me cant coax him back to sleep.

hmm dont kn who has this problem.
i m feeling like not doing my job. my mil staying with us will help feed bb, do housework, cook meals. she helps fr 8+am till 10+pm. while i do feed bb, it's like only once during daytime cos bb feeding usu when im pumping. i tried to pump aft bb's feed but mil will be faster than me n feed bb. see, i only take care of bb from 10+pm to 7+am but still take afternoon nap (cos mil insist tt i rest) while mil sleeps fr 11+ to 6+ yet she didnt take nap. i m feeling so guilty n useless. though she never complain, i wonder if deep inside is she feeling that i m incompetent? anyone share similar feelings/experience?

summert

i din do anything. Usually Rianne will have her last meal at abt 10+ to 11pm then I know she will sleep till wee hrs of the morning. I wont wake her up for milk. so after the 3+am meal, the next time she wake up it will be abt 6+ or 7am. Somehow she adjusted her timing. I have not introduced FM to her yet.

At nite I only latch her. Sometimes she stopped latching, I will burp her then entice her with milk by squeezing out some milk then brush my nnp against her lips. Most of the time she will cont to suck. So I guess she is more full and can sleep longer.

hey dont leave the electric sarong rocking all the time leh. It's quite bad cos they get addicted to it very very easily and u may have a hard time when bb is older and u r outside.

My coll's daughter cant sleep outside. So they always have to make a short trip out and rush home when it is her sleeping time.

btw does ur bb sleep on bed at nite ?
I only limit sarong to day time nap. Nite time is always bed.

summert

i think your MIL is very very nice !!

probably she wants you to have enough rest during this critical period to build up your body.

Maybe u can try to help her out in hsework while bb is sleeping ?

lbt
i dont dare to let my bb wake up for milk cos once he's awake v difficult to feed him.

sarong during daytime but when we tried to reduce the speed or even off it he will wake up immediately n then another round of making him sleep back. actuali last nite we put him to sarong once cos he simply refuse everything. i kn we shouldnt but he keeps crying.. i really v scared he'll be addicted but we really cant handle his demands.

for housework, ya i do help but she's always faster than me to finish the work b4 i can do...