(2008/07) July 2008

happymommy
Wah chinese sinseh so good for block ducts??
I think the 'pain' u refering to is actually milk. Cos ur bb latch on then ur body react n the milk will rush in. Ummmmm somthing like that...hehe
I get that feeling too when bb go pass her feed.

summert
Ummm change position??

cellow
Seems like Cedric like to stick his tongue on the roof of his mouth hor.
Maybe when u are trying to latch him u use a finger to hold his chin when he open his mouth so that it can't close so that the tongue will come down then u latch bb.
My girl was like that at the start her tongue keep interferring so I use this method to let her tongue go down 1st then latch after few times think she get the idea n okie liao.

Kpo abit think the 0.5 sdchick means the temp for the sleeping bag cos I know some sleeping bag can choose for diff temp 1.

Re pumping time
I pump and watch tv show online... and consider it done when the show finishes

Currently on a show called Samantha Who starring Christine Applegate.. about 20min long.

RHS: thanks for the weblink, it is veri useful.. i hv juz started trying 2 reduce the supply of milk so that it does not end up as 2 forceful a letdown for the baby.. cos dun tink i can like put him 1 side.. wait till slower flow den latch him back.. he will be cryin like mad.. n i will be messy like mad 2... hee...

next time, i will try the other positions agst the force of gravity.. xie xie ni...

pumping time:
i tink for pple aiming 2 increase MS, good 2 pump till every drop.. but if u wanna hv enuf supply 2 meet demand den juz pump wat is nided n stop...

massage: feel like needing a good head-neck-shoulder massage soon... cos oways bending necks down when expressing n pumping milk..den it 'cruck-cruck' everywhere liao..

baby shower: baby's shower is tmr.. yest brought him back moi mum's hm 2 pray ancestors n god liao.. well.. moi parents r toaist n rem, i was saying dey wanna follow de chinese calendar? n the rest of the big thing is tmr...hopefulli all goes well!! kiping fingers crossed..

lbt,
resent to ur gmail account.

So much info on BF ... too bad, my boy dun latch much now. MS not much, he is "angry".

pumping time,
the medela pump I have now has a default time of 1/2 hour. So I will pump till it stop automatically.

thanks dordor, will try that later... still no latch today.

RHS,
Ya, i also think the other mummy was trying to help. Therefore managed to calmly choke out a response to her.
Just. Not. The. Right. Time or Place.

Time to go, bb going eh eh eh again.

lbt, bbp, star, bluey
thanks. i m using single pump so i reckon that it's abt 30-60mins in total. ok at least i know i m on the right track.

dordor
u mean change sleeping position? as in tummy down?

star
ya, i also got backache from feeding, carrying, bathing, changing.. but feel guilty if go out to do massage n leave work to mil. sigh..

Need burping advice please!
Mummies, how do you burp your baby? I am terrible at it, even though this is my 2nd baby. Is there a foolproof method that can get the burp out even when baby is asleep or crying? Can share please? Thanks!

Cellow
Yes, my #1 detests the CL. He'll even tell her that she cannot look at him! ;P

Happymommy
Could it be letdown that you are feeling? It's tingly, and sometimes painful as the milk rushes in.

Re: swaddling
I don't swaddle baby for daytime naps, as he'll be too hot. I do swaddle for night-time sleep. If he wriggles out of it but stays asleep, I'll just rearrange it.

thanks girls, i will prob go to taka to buy pram tomorrow.

re latching: DON'T GIVE UP!!!!!! if i can do it, anyone can! ( i only managed to successfully latch on in week 3 and now she is very comfortable on my nnp )

Re: Swaddling
Alot of ppl told me when baby starts to struggle out of the cloth, we can stop swaddling already... but i will still swaddle when my baby is like a "music conductor" and crying non-stop. My mum says it will calm her down.. It does works at times.

Re: Pumping time
I will usually pump about 30mins in total for each pump. As long as i feel my breasts has soften and no more milk already, i'll stop.

hmm, i will be going to taka tmr. now tummy stll like 5mth pregnant, abit demoralised, really scared there will be people giving up their seats to me in mrt.haii... going to call mona later liao...

Summert,

I'm not sure about being late. to me, its better to be late than never! But my massage lady, who is quite good... says we shd start early so that we can remove as much "wind" as compared to later. On the 1st day of massage, she literally reduced my tummy by half le. i was very amazed. ahhah...

summert
my massage lady also say the same thing as phyllis's.
she say it is better to do massage one week after if natural and 21 days later c-section.
but hor, if not doing massage early can use the binder to bind the tummy first.

and so good that you can go out.
i am like stuck in jail.
i'm already confinement liao but still can't go out. especially bring baby out. they give stupid excuse that now is 7th month cannot bring baby go out. what crap loh. i can't even bring my baby to my parent's house now. everyday stay at home.
i am going to die liao.

phyllis
her massage lady so good ar.
my tummy still look the same lehz. but a bit more tight la.

swaddle
i have stop swaddle Rachel since full month celebration. and i am glad we did loh. she is now having heat rash i think. her face is full of pimple like rashes and it so red. especially in the evening. but once i on the air con she ok liao.

taka fair
went with bb today! it is so tough to go to orchard with bb in pram by MRT, so crowded. some more some places dun have lift, so pram-unfriendly
got sell pillow for BF but quite ex, around $70+. also got sell prams

pumping
i'm using dual pump, takes 10 min. maybe me not much milk so by 10 min got nothing much come out liao

summert,
i started my massage with mona five days after delivery. try to book her time early coz she is very fully booked.

swaddle
i am also still swaddling my boy but i can see that he really hates it. his hands always struggle to come out..wanted to 'let free' but CL said better to swaddle till full mth.

taka fair
i sneaked out home to the taka fair too. only got the necessities like wet wipes, detergent, breast pads. saw a lot of prams and car seats. sometimes it is cheaper to get these stuff at the taka pte sale. usually they have additional 10% for members.

just now bb suddenly cried so loud for around 15 mins...i was so lost..couldnt control my tear too. really dont know wats wrong.

missy

mona is coming to my plc next mon. looking fwd !!

youpi

1)u can either carry bb in an upright position with his head lying on your shoulder n burp him.

2)rock him gently fwd n backward.

3)rotate bb body in circular motion. this works best for rianne.

if bb dun burp, carry him in 45deg position for a few minutes so that the milk is settled in his tummy.

Thanks dordor for clearing that up. Yes, the sleeping bag is 0.5 tog meaning for room temperature around 24-25 deg celcius.

RE: bb jerking arms up
Yes my bb did that too and she doesn't like to be swaddled. Hubby's friend bought us a beansprout pillow and it had done wonders when she sleeps. Her arms seldom jerk up anymore.

bb wipes: I bought at Swanston store in chinatown or any of those toiletries stores - they're much cheaper. I bought johnson&johnson wipes for only $3.20. Supermarkets sell at $4.90+

Qing,
Really can't take bb out? Hehe I took bb out for 2-3 times already.

Youpi,
I also burped bb the way lbt advised. If that didn't work, I put her on my shoulder. If that didn't work either, I'll just wait for around 5-10 minutes with her lying down at an angle and try to burp her again. If she didn't then I'll just stop.

Qing, phyllis
just curious, is ur massage lady mona too?

missysz
yeah, i've just called mona, luckily she still has an evening slot for me. m starting on mon too.
btw so is ur tummy reduced by alot?

we shd take meal only after massage rite?

SDchick
my fren got us a beansprout pillow too, but bb will still swing his arms. sigh. so we use it more for securing him.

Qing
u still in confinement? u doing 30 or 40 days? i know how u feel, i too, was so desperate to go out, counting down everyday. in fact bb n i only went out twice, for "official" reasons, to see PD and gynae.

burping bb
my fren said bb must burp after feed, even if it took her an hour. else bb will chocked.

Qing, Summert,
My massage lady is not mona. Mine is introduced by my fren. She's quite popular. But popular ppl have some kind of attitudes, if u know wat i mean... But since she's good, i dun mind lah. hahaa..
Btw, is that mona that good? it seems like quite alot of mummies get her for massage too. How is her charges?

Re: Burping baby
My baby dun really burp. I check wif my fren who's a nurse in KKH...she says her baby also dun really burp at all. But my baby will auto-burp after an hour or so. But then again, my baby got colic in the end lah. I think i'm the 1 suffering wif her.

Missysz,
Me me.. just do my rebonding on monday, feel so good. I hate my super duper curly fringe, cannot stand it anymore. The hairdresser mentioned to put ampoule to prevent the chemical from slipping through the scalp so I just put lor.
Kidlink have package for their jabs, call to check again.

Pink Bunny,
Whaha.. so ready for #2??

Cellow,
Dun be so disheartened. At least cedric is still drinking your ebm. Try to push the chin down a bit and shoo your nnp above his tongue, maybe it will help. Cool down.. they commented at the wrong timing.

Youpi,
I have tired lbt method of gently rocking bb back and fwd, it works for denise.

Bbp/lbt,
Wah.. envy leh, your bb can sleep through or with 1 feed per night.
Mine still every 2-3hourly, very tedious and wondering how am I going to cope when I am back at work, which is another 2 weeks more.

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box.Use less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Serangoon (weekday), Sengkang or Punggol(Weekend) MRT station. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1643960.jpg

phyllis
5 sessions in total, around an hour per session. charges $160. how abt urs?

burping bb
sometimes when i burp bb, i cant differentiate if it's bb's making noise or he has burped cos it could be very soft. so i continue rubbing bb's back. any idea how to tell e difference?

night addiction
so in the beginning, when bb pomfret was doing her marathon 1-2hr breastfeeds, i decided to try feeding while lying down in bed.

but chamz, i think she's addicted to the 'lying down with nipple in mouth' thingie! she won't sleep at night now, even after a full feed, unless my nipple is in her mouth -_- have been trying to just pat her, or rock her to sleep but she'll cry for hours (and really, she refused to sleep till 3am, when i succumbed and brought her into bed with us)

sigh. how how how?

suppose to go to taka fair later. but the thoughts that my tummy still there and pimples everywhere really frighten me to leave for orchard... too bad hb needs to stay at home

dustee,
she wants your smell lah. what about putting a piece of your cloth in her cot?

summert
burping sounds normally quite loud, and often accompanied by a mouthful of spit out.

re way of carrying baby
when baby crying out very loudly and you couldn't stop her no matter what you do. trying carrying your baby upright on your shoulder, she will stop immediately! my baby is a crying queen, i tried many ways (except pacifier and sarong) to calm her down.. this is most effective one.. 100% works for me!!
but then it'll be very tiring carrying on shoulder compared to cradle lah.

re cleaning baby's tongue
does your baby cry when doing this? i don't know why, my baby doesn't like me doing it for her. and she will pull her tongue inward so that my finger could not reach. sigh... the milk stain is very very thick now.. wat can i do?

delphine

thanks for the compliment ! she looks like me ? hehe most ppl says she looks like daddy now. Daddy got 2 gals resembling him leh ! they only took after my chubby cheeks

Rianne is quite easy at nite now. Will be in deep sleep for a few hrs and wont fuss after feed. Hope she is sleeping thru the nite soon. SOmetimes when she poo, she is still asleep ! ha dirty gal ...

hey u taking 2 mths leave only ah?
btw desiree is a replica of you !!

and u did rebonding already ! so fast ! oh ya, that's becos u r going back to work hor?

who's taking care of ur gals when u r back at work?

dustee

ya I think putting a piece of ur clothe with ur bb shld work. Must kick the habit when they are still young else u will suffer in the future.

sonic

i have not really clean my Rianne's tongue too. Maybe I ask my MIL later.

hi mummies, ask u all about menstruation while still feeding bb BM:
my flow of lochia stopped when bb was 4 weeks old. i'm now expressing BM exclusively, now bb 6.5 weeks old, last nite i started to have some menses-look-like discharge, but is not a lot. anyone has similar experience? is it because i don't stimulate my breasts enough? or something is wrong with me?

lbt,
ya lor, take 2 months and 1 month flexi. Will take whenever bb needs jab or sick(touch wood).
That is the reason why i go for my rebonding liao, else dun know how to go to work with such bad hair.
Yes, desiree is like a photocopy of me, she looks like me since birth. Now Denise a bit diff, more like her daddy.
I saw rianne's 1st pic does resemble a little like you.

Very tired!
When baby is not asleep or on the boob, he is screaming. Even after checking everything and burping, still screaming.

Lbt, SDChick, Delphine,
Thanks for the burping tips. Sigh, those are what I have been doing all the time, but don't seem to be very successful with. I'll have to work on it!

Summert
Burp for one hour?! Wow...

summert
my massage lady not mona.
but you say she only charge $160 for 5 session.
oh my.
mine charge me $350 for 6 session lehz. i kanna tok le...

and my 30days confinement end liao. but hor, still can't go out. not with the baby. they simply have no trust in me loh. haiz.
feeling very annoyed.
i know i am only 22 but i think i am able to handle it well loh. even my hubby also don trust that i can do it alone.

pillow for BF
i saw it once at the recent BP selling at $39.90
but the response wasn't very good. don't know still on or not

Latching update
Cedric latched at 3pm just now
suckled for 20mins contentedly (i imagine) before he spit out my nnp.

Qing,
as long as your massage lady gets results for u ok already. mine charges $330 for 7 sessions of 1 to 1 1/2 hours each... but effective lor. now after 6 sessions my tummy is barely there already. just need to wait for time to shrink the uterus.
Taking bb out. Hmmz, maybe not your age gua, try talking to both HB and the rest... but really, where do u want to bring bb to?? I myself dun feel v steady to go out alone w bb, so I dun.

BB photos
Ew. Delphine and Lbt, your bbs' photos are sooooo cute!

Sleeping
I suppose I am lucky in this way. BB Cedric sleeps in 3-4 hour blocks at night, so I am getting sm decent rest these 2 nights

Dordor, SDchick,
re: 0.5 bb sleeping bag - thanks for explaining! Did u use sleeping bag before, does it help bb slp better?

dustee,
I second Sonic's way of carrying bb upright. My bb also stops. Swaddle your bby with your unwashed nightgown maybe will help, since it has your smell. And a pacifier will do wonders for a fussy baby.

Sonic,
sometimes my bb will cry, sometimes not. I use NUK's oral wipes once a week when it's really dirty, the rest of the time, I'll just use a gentle cloth/gauze dipped in warm boiled water. My MIL used to use tea to clean instead of water. When my bb was smaller, it's hard to clean with our finger cuz it's too big for her mouth, so when she's crying, I used cotton bud, dipped in boiled water and swipe it really fast. Helps too.

Waiwai,
not too worry, I have the same situation as you, still have spotting a little. Have checked with gynae, and he said it's quite normal.

Qing,
You mean you want to go out with baby, just the two of you? I don't know about you, but for me, I will need someone to help me in case bb vomit or even poo, or making milk powder. I also tend to bring a lot of bb stuff when I go out, so handling those with the stroller and a baby alone is overwhelming for me. But if you use sarong sling/bb carrier maybe will be better. at least dun need to handle the stroller. I'm a bad mummy, I'd rather go out by myself and leave bb at home.

Youpi,
Jiayou! Maybe bb is not a loud burper LOLs. As long as bb looks fine, dun have colic and didn't vomit, should be okay.

Cellow,
Well for me it doesn't make a difference. My bb doesn't like to be swaddled, and bb sleeps in aircon room and we're a little worried using a blanket to cover bb, so to reduce the chance of SIDS, I use the sleeping bag.

Haiz ... I think Jamie is having growth spurt again at 6 weeks. He cries for milk every 1.5 hour and refuses to sleep in between. Just now he cried for more than half hour and we don't know what's wrong. Hoping this will pass soon. My poor nipples!

Mummies: sorry to intrude. I still have 12 units of Desitin Creamy and 1 unit for original. Per tube is $10.20 (4 Oz) Interested pls PM me. Thanks

yo people! i just came back from taka! 5 hrs didnt pump, engorged!

just now in the train, even got pp offer me seats! sigh.. now i'm more determine to get rid of that tummy.

i think this bb fair really has a lot of stuff. but for clothing a lot of 0-3mths clothes have been sold. oh yes i got the "baby you can read" dvd. will let bb listen next mth.

cellow,
my massage ended yesterday. but hor, beside having a tighter tummy. there is no weight and waist reduction. it is still the same. and tummy doesn;t look smaller only firmer. haiz.

cellow, SDchick
bring the baby to my parent's house or perhaps shopping? my hubby don't wanna go with us loh. giving excuse now it 7th month cannot go out. hello! he get to see his family everyday (we staying with mil) i only ask to visit my family once a week also cannot. he even say you are now married, it is different. i think it is too much loh. so what married, married no equal to break ties with my own family loh.

sleeping bag
is it really good.
Rachel always kick her blanket off.

Rain
Did PD give you medication for fever? Can give that to baby. Or sponge gently and check temperature every hour.

Summert
I join you lah. My tummy is also big enough for people to offer me seats And that's AFTER the postnatal massage hor! My massage has ended but my tummy is still there. Not unexpected lah, since I could not keep the binding on all the time. I had to take it off in the evening to bathe with #1. And there's all the excess fat that I already had before getting pregnant with #2.

SD
Thank you for the encouragement! I keep forgetting that my baby is only three weeks old and is still getting used to life outside the womb. Must do the 'om' and ren3!

RHS
Yes, six weeks is another growth spurt, then nine weeks. Hang in there, Jamie sounds just like my boy - all the time!

Summert,
5 sessions in total, around an hour per session. charges $160!!
SO cheap? But is it effective?
Mine is $50 per session, 1hr each. But that is if u stay at woodlands area. If out of it, she charges $60 per session.

Rain,

did the PD told u that baby might get fever after that jab?
Anyway, Try lightening some clothes off the baby. And maybe give some boiled water might help.

SDchick... any idea is the spotting considered as the 1st menses after delivery? does that mean we have to be careful during "bedroom activity"? i don't want to have 2nd bb so soon!!