(2008/07) July 2008

dustee,
Another question I hate getting from parents is: What's wrong with him? (when bb is crying non-stop)
Couldn't take it yesterday and snapped at my dad "How I know????"
Seriously, I would really sought after if I knew why babies cry lor.

MIL issues
I don't think it's a MIL issue at all. I think it's a non-breastfeeding issue. People who don't BF don't understand the agony we go through, especially the older generation. Cos they brought up their children aka us via FM, so they always think no BM, then just feed FM lor. Then the insensitive comments will just follow.

summert,
I pump ALMOST exclusively. Tried latching on but too painful after a while and my bb tends to graze when he's on the breast, so I latch probably one day a week only. Luckily I have people to help me watch him while I pump, but there are times where I pump halfway and he fusses. Then just have to abadon pumping, settle him first and go back to pumping.

Steph,
During the 3rd week (and I think it's still going on now), my boy went from drinking 100ml in 3 hours to 2 hours. Bo bian, have to just let him drink. BUT, I do not give him more than 100ml at a feeding even though his mouth may be asking for more. Cos I know he will just throw up a short while later. So I will just try to settle him down and pat him to sleep.
I'm now at my parents' place, cos my mom insists that I finish my 30-day prison sentence (my MIL has gone overseas). I actually thought I could get my sentence reduced since we held the full-month celebration earlier to accomodate my in-laws schedule. Sigh... and my parents are MORE particular about the confinement thingy than my in-laws. I need to last till this Friday!!!

cellow
thanks.. guess i just need to have more confident in myself... i will try

bbp
so u pump at nite after bb feed too? so ur sleeping time even shorter? day time i have mil to help rock bb in the sarung when i pump (im pumping now actuali). haiii my bb needs to be rocked almost every few mins

people:
how to increase bb milk intake? my bb at 5th weeks still 60ml or lesser leh...

and, that same side of my breast has been giving me prob. the same lump will appear everytime it's full. aft pump then lump softens n disappears. sometimes when not pumping i could feel one of the nerve pulling on that breast. anyone experience that?? wat shd i do?

period
i got my period already! sigh. and i thought i was doing my best breastfeeding baby mostly except for one formula feed a day. why why why?

will having my period already, affect my milk supply?

Dor Dor
Thanks for the encouragement, it definitely helps! I'm thinking of catering food after CL leaves, 'cos with this baby, sure no time to prepare and cook food. Even doing daily toileting, showering etc is difficult! I brought the two kiddos back from the hospital myself the other day. Baby was sleeping in the sling and we took a cab home so it wasn't so bad...

Summert
Drink lots of fluids! Latch on often. Try fenugreek?

MIL / breastfeeding issues
Agree with bbp. When hb's g'ma (who breastfed 9 kids in her time) came over she took one look at me and told me to get more rest and sleep. She knew that I had been up at nights nursing baby. My mil (who never breastfed) cannot say anything 'cos she's 'outranked', hehe. She makes a lot of inane comments that I try to ignore ;p

Keeping baby asleep
Yesterday baby slept more 'cos he was carried almost all the time ;\

When baby's awake
Do your babies have a 'quiet alert time' when they are awake, alert, and quiet? Mine doesn't seem to have! If he is not latched onto my boob or asleep, he is screaming. Sigh. #1 was bad, but not this bad...

dor dor:
i wanna ask CL 2 leave.. but MIL, mum n HB insists she stays.. i oso tinking if i sink in2 post natal blues is all their fault loh.. aniway.. counting down now.. she will be leaving next Mon..

blocked ducts:
in fact i hv tried de warm towel compress n massage.. but then doesn't help so i anihw press press n torture nnp lah.. haha... lucki beta now..

sleeplessness:
yest bb supposed 2 drink milk at 1am.. so i woke up but he was 2 sound asleep n i afraid he wails loudli so finali i woke him up at 130am..den feed,change, wash until 230-300am.. nap a while..430 woke up 2 pump milk, after tat feed bb again.. n i onli gotta sleep at 630-abt 830..
but hb says... tat's hw we get 2 slim down..

RHS, lbt,
poke ar?! i dare not. won't get infected right? i let bb latch but didn't manage to get rid of the white spot. think i'll let it be for now.

summert,
not that hb always side his mum lah. think it this way, we also won't like it if hb always say negative things about our dearest mums too right?! come here let it out and ignore mils lor.. wat to do.. we married their sons, we married their entire family.

think some of us with mil staying with us / we staying with mil have it worse...

dordor,
good one on the post natal blues coz of mil! hahaha... maybe i shd try that too :p

cellow,
thanks! but hor... my mum's place got bro & sil & 4 mth old bb... i still keeping my finger crossed coz we can get too noisy for bb. and my mum is another "ti kee" grandma

bbp,
yours only 30 days.. my mum insisted 40 days! it's for our own good. so have to listen to the folks sometimes

Re: Screaming bb
mine too screams till his face turns red! realised he just wants to be carried. sometimes like this still not enough, must walk around, talk to him, sing to him... are babies nowadays really that much smarter? dunno to be laugh or cry!

youpi
sorry think my question wasnt clear. i mean, my bb who drinks fr my EBM drinks very little, at 60ml only. cannot force him cos he will ehk ehk. now my fridge has many bottles of EBM liao. how to increase bb intake of milk?

re: bb awake
yes my bb will ehk and wants to be carry when he's awake. tts y we bought a sarubg to rock him to sleep. though many pp dont like the idea of sarung, like me initially, it really helps to quiet the bb down. well he may not be asleep but at least there's peace! in fact we intend to do e same at nite if bb refuse to sleep. anyway as he grows bigger he may not want sarung anymore.

star
i heard we shd let bb sleep if he doesnt cry for milk. and if he wakes up much later n cry of hunger, my CL said give bb pacifier first then quickly warm milk (for EBM). hmm, dont kn how well it will work but will have lots of chance to try fr today onwards cos CL just left

steph
ya u r rite too. i also dont like it when hb or mil says bad things abt my mum.

To everyone here
just wanna say thank you to u guys! cos this forum is now my source of support to persevere. Thank you guys, really.

login just to update i m kicking alive.

at night take care of #2, daytime "pacify & entertain" my #1. now really panda.
i wonder if it is post natal blues ... why i feel tt my hubby hv quite "good life".
so tired ... wanna nap but so many unfinish things to do ... haiz.
worst, MS is not increasing, how?

hi all..

let's all jia you together.. we can form a big fat happy panda club togetther! =)

youpi - my #2 like urs! no quiet alert time one! terrible hor.. v v tiring rite? n my #1 is only 14 mths.. lucky i have mil at hm to help.. ech take 1...

my ms is v pathetic also.. each time pump only hovering ard 50ml.. sianz..

Way to go, youpi's hb's grandma!

youpi,
My bb does have a quiet alert time BUT they never last long. I think max 15min. Sigh. Then the rest of the time, he's doing what he does best... screaming his head off.

star xin,
Wah, your schedule very jialat leh. For me, I will try to schedule my night pumping together with my bb's feeding so I don't have to wake up so often.

Steph,
My auntie insisted on 40 days, but luckily my parents are ok with 30 days, so I'm SO going to escape this FRIDAY! The bb and the heat combined are killing me. Last night was really bad. BB refused to sleep even after his feed. HB felt that bb still looked hungry and decided to feed him more milk. Guess what happened? Merlion TWICE. So last night was a feed-puke-change diaper-change shirt twice. I was taking alot of deep breaths to keep my sanity.

summert,
You have an unusual problem. I think no need to try and increase your bb's intake of milk cos only bb's themselves know how much they want to drink. All bbs are different in terms of drinking, sleeping habits, so I think no need to worry. Just keep your EBM or freeze it. Can keep to quite long one if you freeze.

bluey,
I also feel my hb very good life leh. Last night came back still never volunteer to help me change diaper. I literally told him, "You're really quite a bastard you know." :p

reflux
doctor said that my bb is throwing up or posseting milk coz she's drank too much. then i said, but after feeding, she still cries, and smacks her lips and roots for breast, so i latch on, and he said it's comfort sucking.

so how am i supposed to differentiate between comfort sucking and real hunger? sigh.

and i was doing a combination of ebm and latching, and he says to just do total latch from now. sigh. so confused.

bbp
yes, u r rite, i shd let bb decide how much he wants to drink...

bluey, bbp
hmm i guess guys r v fortunate. my hb also didnt do alot of things, i think it's bcos they thot we want to do diaper changing etc. for this i believe must tell hb directly wat they shd do to help reduce our load, cos men needs to be told, they dont take hints, they also cant sense our tiredness!

one gd thg abt my hb is he will keep me company when im alone in the room pumping. he will also sms/msn to ask abt me n bb. that i truly appreciate. i think in the midst of our tiredness n busyness and craziness, we shd also rem to say i love u to our hb.

thanks for ur concern.

saw my gynae this morning. apparently my abdominal muscles are trying to close up (good news for me!) and thus pushes out some of the intestines ! duh !!

i was shocked at the moment but gynae says it's normal. He ask me to lift up my head and body while he presses on my tummy. He says my abdominal muscles is not closed yet so I can start with simple abdominal exercise. And he gave me the green light to do massage which I will start next week

summert

when I press on my tummy i feel a bit pain too but bearable. Gynae says it's ok.

btw u have to latch ur bb to clear the lump else pumping will not help much.
do it asap in case u get fever.

cellow

Rianne does takes the bottle but she's not good at the Avent bottle.
Any babies here using Avent now ?

I feel it is a bit big for her. That time my #1 also like, so I switch to NUK, then I used Avent when she was abt 4-5 mths old.

gals, dont get so stressed out on supply of BM. I think the more u stress on it, the harder it becomes. Just relax and supplement with FM first ok !! Jia you !

dustee

I think ur PD is trying to say to let bb latch on her own so she'll know how much she want to drink ?

summert : I have the opposite problem from yours! Not enuff EBM to freeze. My baby drinks at least 100ml each feed and still smacks his lips for more! Now i get phobia each time he smacks his lips and shape his lips to a diamond shape (like a hungry bird). Just spent the entire morning feeding him. Always not satisfied. *sigh*

For your baby, as long baby is pooing well, peeing well and also gaining weight, it should be fine. Each baby have different "capacities". Mine is continental engine... drinks a lot. Maybe yours is the more efficient japanese engine?
60ml can also give him enuff energy to grow. For me, the fridge is always empty, not enuff EBM. So dun worry about baby not drinking as much as ours..

For pacifier, my baby wont take pacifier if he is hungry. He will keep shaking his head. Quite funny. He seems to know that is fake and when i carry him, you can see his anxious face searching for the nipple... stress ah....

Cellow : I can see fine lines on my breasts ah... sigh.. suspect is from the vigourous breasts massage to squeeze out every little drop of BM for my hungry boy.

lbt
i use Avent
it was quite big for JX initially but now ok. it takes some getting use to..

brought my gal for her jab yesterday. she weighs 5kg!! really quite surprised cos she was on the smaller side at birth. so all the hard work to feed her is worth it.

dustee
think the good tihng abt total latch is that bb decides how much to drink. i actually read this article that says whether it is breastfeed or bottle feed, shd feed on demand initially

my gal's feeding schedule also very messy one. in the morning she likes to take 40ml feeds every hour. then progress to abt 60 ml abt 2 hours then at night it is abt 2.5 hours. i try to feed her more and she throws it up.

re hb
my hb also dun help much esp weekdays. got one night my bb woke up and it was time for me to pump also. ask him to help me feed her he ask me not to bother him. then sometimes my #1 will wan me to feed him also in the middle of the night (competition) and i have to quickly feed one, then feed the other and make them sleep...really multitasking

batgal
i also have those fine lines..same reason as yours..the vigorous massage....

summert,
Yup, think you're right. Must ask hb directly to do things. Will work on it.

lbt,
My boy uses Avent, doesn't seem to be too big for him. Then again, maybe he screams/cries alot so got big mouth already. Haha.
I suspect some people don't like Avent cos the teat has a really small hole so bb needs to do a lot of work to get the milk. But I think it's good cos that's kinda the way our nipples work too. I think it prevents bb from getting lazy.

batgirl,
You're so funny! Use engine to describe your bb. But I totally agree... my boy is continental SUV. He takes 100-120ml every 2-3h. I can only stock up EBM during the night cos we feed him FM at night. Then by evening time, EBM almost all gone liao.

milk bottle
i tried using avent, but think the teat hole too big for feeding BM, bb finished 60ml in less than 5 min!!! then switch to NUK now

my son was born in july too. hope i am welcome to join this thread.

i would like to ask if you mommies have brought ur baby for the 2nd hep b dose? i just called up a PD at kidslink and the recep told me that if i am going for the 6-in-1 vacinnation, the hep b 2nd dose can be taken at 2nd mth instead of 1st mth. just want to make sure this is correct coz the original PD assigned to me by gynae asked me to go back one mth later for the hep b 2nd dose. anyone has any experience to share? thanks..

my son is drinking very little also...if he can finish 60ml at one go, i will be so thrilled.

waiwai, i am also using avent bottles, sometime bb will struggle and scream, dont know isnt the flow is too slow or what.

hmmm, i think my rianne finds avent too slow. she took 20 mins to finish 70ml leh. can see she is tired after that. i think my beast milk flow is faster.

Wah biang, now I really very scared of my boy liao. Fastest record: He can finish 120ml in 15min using Avent. But he does drink until very gan cheong.

Re: Avent bottle
Im using Avent bottle oso..but i chaned the teat to Pigeon peristaltic wide neck teat. So far my boy is okie with it. Both my #1 n #2 doesnt like Avent teat,,i personally think that the teat is too hard oso..

Bluey,
i think u really need to rest more to increase the ms. That s wat i understand. Not enuf resting will decrease the ms.

Re: Express milk
I manage to pump out 200ml every 4 hrs. The trick is hot compress followed by pump 15 mins left side, then repeat 4 right side. Then another 15 mins 4 left n right again. During the pump time, just on n off rearrange the position. I noticed that certain position will b pressing on the right area of the milk duct. I will keep on massaging during the pumping oso...

So far, still able to store some in th freezer as my boy drink every 2-3 hrs 110ml.

bbp : hahah! your boy sounds like mine!! he finishes 110ml in 10 mins using pigeon. he also drink until very gancheong.. can hear him panting some times!! i know wat you mean by "scared of your boy" cos i am also very scared!!!!

xiao yang : good leh...30 mins 200ml... i 30 mins... havent hit 100ml yet.. jia lat. mine is dual pump somemore.... when you say hot compress, you mean hot towel? or something else?

SY : i am starting to apply mosturiser on my breasts when i amssage them, hopefully can reduce the lines.. so sad leh... small wrinkled breasts....

missysz : welcome! your PD is correct.

SY

wah ur gal is big! how old is she now?

i think I am going to try the Pigeon teat later, or I may "drill" another hole on my Avent teat too.

btw how big are your Avent teats ?

I am using the 1mth+ teat. I just drilled another hole. will see how Rianne reacts to it

batgirl, bbp
wah ur bbs really big eater somemore can finish milk w/in such a short time, so gd i m so envious, me prefer the continental engine leh.

re bottles
my boy switch from nuk to avent cos we think he doesnt like nuk teat be it latex or silicon. for avent i m not sure cos after wat u guys say abt the small hole, i m wondering if tts the reason y my boy drink so little. is pigeon gd?

missysz
welcome, i m new too.

hey ur case is the same as mine! bb will struggle at times as if we r forcing poison to him. but sometimes if like this will try to burp him then feed again. sometimes it works n he will finish milk. but 60ml nia lor.

summert

i bought this teats puncher from FARLIN at Kiddy palace. It comes in 3 sizes of teats hole. I always use the smallest hole size.

after I punch the hole then I sterlise the teat.

xiaoyang xiaoyang:
u hv good milk supply.. mine has dropped till i dun noe wat 2 say liao.. but then.. haiz.. let nature takes its course bah.. i tink i give moiself 2 much stress le..

Avent teats:
actuali i hv both Pigeon and Avent teats but bb seems 2 like Pigeon beta eventho the flow like quite fast.. or rather he ganjeong n end up choking himself on it.. i tried Avent but he din like it cos veri hard 2 hard n his face turned all red sucking..

Contact for Nepia:
i rem sm1 was recommending Nepia..was it Dustee or Bluey? ani1 has the contact for the agent? can do delivery is it? any MOQ to it?

batgal,

Yeah..hot compress mean jus use towel soak into the hot water,,then press against the breast n massage b4 pump...

Actually i drank a lots of soup..salmost every lunch n dinner with 1 big bowl of soup n my CL cooks the papaya soup every alternate day..

pink bunny

sorry the late reply ..
yeah me n my boy r doin well..
the reason for the ruptured womb :

1) i conceived 3 mths aft my 1 c-sect which the wound has not completely healed yet.

2) for VBAC,there is a 1% chance of having a ruptured uterine which will leads to a hysterectomy(removal of womb completely),baby mite be born with problems or worst still death..

for me my baby had some breathing problems aft birth which they sent him immediately to special care nursery aft i saw him.they gave him a day of oxygen therapy n we thank god he doesnt have any other major problems..

n so my gynae has advised me not to have babies anymore..coz the next time my womb ruptures,dunt noe wat gonna happen..so factory have to close liao..we have to stop at 2..
so options given by gynae:
1) IUCD
2) Oral Conceptractives
3) Ligation..

still considering which is better though..

so to those who had c-sect,pls try to give ur body 6 mths to 1 yr rest before conceiving again so ur womb cud heal properly..

Youpi
Hmmmm actually when I had #1 showering was very difficult(read running out in middle of shower often). But dunno why so far now its still okie both will be sleeping while I shower so far dun have to run out of the shower yet(hope I dun jinx myself).
My girl doesn't have quiet alert time too. She's either screaming or talking but only for few mins at most.....sigh
I'm wondering why too leh.

Star xin
Then try not to be bothered with ur CL liao lor jus try to manage bb on ur own without her help (anyway she not helping much). Try to think of her as a backup now for u while u try caring for bb alone.
Maybe ur mil n hubby thinking $$ wise so they dun want Cl to leave early but anyway she's leaving soon so jia you!!

Steph
Hehehhe U wanna try another 1??
Last time for my #1 my fil like to come over before hubby is back n will keep asking n saying idiotic things.
So I told my hubby 1 fine day I cannot take it anymore I will simply scream at them. Then he can jolly well tell them I am suffering from post natal blues.....hahhaha

missysz
Yap cos hepB is included in the 6-in-1.

dustee
Last time I BF for #1 1st few mths mense came back was okie not much diff. But after that I realise my milk supply will dip VERY low before my mense come.

dor dor
hey it's 2.15am and u r still awake as me? poor us.

my boy just had milk and sleeping now. so got to quickly come out to pump milk cos it's been 4.5hrs that i didnt pump liao! hope wont engorge tmr.

may i ask all mommies, should we wake our bb up to drink milk or wait for him to wake up? cos for my bb he drinks without struggle when he's still in sleepy mode but will struggle when awake. so dont kn shd wake him up to drink or let him sleep through so that i can have longer sleep too?

summert,
good morng to you... for my bb, i will usually wake up b4 he does - he makes small eh eh noises before actually crying - so that yes he will drink w/o struggle when in sleepy mode.
hi-5!
my boy is also drinking 60ml now... but he feeds every 2 -2 1/2 hours in the day! we got the efficient japanese engine bbs... heh

dor dor,
your FIL very lor sor and like to say a lot of inane things hor

dustee,
real sucking - can hear bb pomfret swallow and see/feel the ears wriggling, not all the time la, in btwn got rest stops; comfort sucking - just shallow suck suck on the nnp

youpi,
the scene you described sounds like the finale of movie "monster in law" starring jessica lopez and jane fonda! hahahhahaha... to your hb's grandma - well said!

xiaoyang,
i also drink one big bowl of soup every meal, and one milo, one warm water at bfast. no fenugreek or papaya/fish soup for me leh, but MS still adequate - thank god. to take batgirl's engine analogy further, the pump has a lot of petrol, bt bb capacity only toyota vios!

oh yea... forgot... bk to one-cell brain...

welcome missysz! how old is your little one now? boy or girl? heh kaypoh qns

cellow
hihi morning! *hi-5 back! our bbs can be best fren liao, daytime his feed also plus minus 2.5hrs. yah, in fact the last feed at 7.20am i fed him while he's in sleepy mode and hurray no struggle and finish 70ml! think i will try 80ml tonight.

oh btw, last night was the first night without CL, though slept for 3.5hrs only but i survived!! ;)

summert

when u say wake bb up, do u mean day time or nite time ? the nurse at MT A says to only wake them up for bb if they overslept during DAYTIME. As long as you give them the last feed before sleep at nite, then dont both abt nite feeds. Let them sleep.

summert,
I will normally wait for my bb to wake up before feeding him. Maybe that explains the gan cheong syndrome when he's drinking. But bo bian, I have to do that, or else he may just graze (which has happened before), then scream for milk just 1 hour later.

summert and dor dor, thanks, will bring him for his 2nd hep b dose in his 2nd mth then. have u mommies bought ur babies for their 6 in 1? how much u all spent ah? my PD is charging $160 per jab (3 jabs in total for 6-in-1). reasonable priced?

cellow,
dont worry, not kpo
it's a boy, today is 22-day old but still drinking like what u described - toyota vios, maybe mine is picanto lol. your baby also boy right? it seems that the girls' appetite is bigger than the boys. heh.

just now I try out Pigeon standard silicon teats on my Rianne. I think she prefers this one cos it's softer and resemble the nipple. can finish 80ML faster, unlike 70ML in 20mins ! Guess I have to stop Avent teats for a while.

xiaoyang : i also did the warm compress thing. With regards to papaya soup, is it cooked with fish or pork?

bbp : mine is also fed when he wakes up. I dun wake him up for feeds... haha...same same...then you see the gan cheong spider start drinking his bottle quickly.. quite funny actually...

missysz : LOL, picanto!

batgirl

the papaya soup is best cook with threadfin head bone. and only use green hawaiian papaya for best results. Sometimes it's not easy to get this papaya, you have to order it from the fruit stall.

i m dead tired.
backache carry bb.
backache pumping.
backache rocking bb.
only slept for 3hrs.
milk ss drop.
delay pumping for 4 hrs.
delay shitting for 5 hrs.
no time to drink more fluids.
though my mil here but she also doing housework and cook lunch.
just now tried to feed bb but he simply refused and merlion. so pek chek though i din show to bb.
this is only day 1 life w/out CL.
how to carry on to tonight, tomorrow...???
if ask hb to help feed at nite then he'll ve lesser sleep hrs n cant concentrate at work.
how. sigh. i m so tired.

lbt
i mean day and night time. fr wat u said i dun think i need to wake bb up during daytime cos he's always half asleep and v light sleeper. sigh.

missysz
my bb hasnt gone for 6in1 jab yet. is it done in 6th week? i oso would like to kn the price.

Summert,
Jiayou... i also face the same problem but at least u have ur MIL at home. For me, after the "Man Yue" party, my parents leave for Genting immediately the next morning, leaving me alone at home wif the baby only.
Struggled but managed to clear all stuff slowly.
So, i believe u can handle the baby after a few days. Definitely frustrating, i know. Somemore, my baby keeps crying non-stop. Can't do anything at all but carry her whole day.