(2008/07) July 2008

mummi star_xin is feeling depressed n crying all by herself.. cos she's been doing alot of things tat she tinks CL shld be doing.. den CL neva fails 2 comments on everything in de whole wide world.. n today she commented moi milk quality was nt good.. who n in what position has she de rite 2 say it??? i told hubbi i wasn't hapi abt it.. n he said i was OVERSENSITIVE... sad.. y cun hubbi take moi side??

star_xin,
agree CL in no position to say that.... HB... mmm... well, talk to him after you hv both calmed down. think he is stressed too... men have bob the builder fix-it mentality... and both your unhappiness and CL comments are smthing he cannot fix.
re: heating up EBM outside, can try buying heat packs gua. guardian sells the tua kong type; osim has a cute kidney shaped type

youpi,
thanks for asking... Cedric is being sunned (when the sun is out fm 8am to 10am) but the whites of his eyes r still yellow. haiz, slowly does it i think... HB irritating me by constantly commenting how yellow he is though... his last heel prick test was on tue and the SV level was 16.2. havent done another heel prick test since.

Updates on bb latching
Today he latched all the time...!
but i succumbed just now and fed him 30ml by finger/syringe. just too tired.

youpi

yup. apparently the elevated bed prevents Rianne from milk flowing out of the milk hence I dont have to carry her for long after feed. But that's provided I managed to burp her. SOmetimes if she doesnt burp, she will fuss very shortly after sleep. Then I'll know she need a burp and once I put her down, she's back to dreamland.

starxin, unless I am going to a friend's hse else I wont heat up EBM outside. I will just latch Rianne.

mummies who have c-sect:

just realise the flesh abv and below my wound is a bit swollen and pain when I try to press it. Very worried now. I wonder is it caused by my #1 who kicked me accidentally

will call my gynae tmr am. sigh .....

PB

what you mean by patchy ??

Youpi,
If he pooed a lot (sometimes can hear from the explosive sound) we usually change his diaper coz feel a bit icky to sleep in soiled diaper. Not to mention the danger of leaking. It's a dilemma, I know :-(

What baby thinks abt breast? Food! :)

Re: crying for no reason
I notice that Jamie is crankier in the evening if we brought him out or if there were lots of people visiting earlier. I think he's over stimulated and he cries to de-stress himself. Today is one such day. He's very unsettled even after I nurse him. Haiz ... can expect a long night today.

Re: finger feeding
How do you do that? Dip finger in milk and let bb lick/suck the finger?

Re: milk blister
Anyone evet got milk blister on the side of the nipple? I have 2 white dots but they are on the side instead of on the tip. Not sure if they are milk blister?

patchy on legs
when the skin shows like purple and white and red in patches. it's actually coz bb feeling cold, and their baby circulation not so mature yet so the skins shows patches like that, i read in bb book (when latching bb for marathon feeding sessions, got lots of time to read)

youpi
if i know bb pooped i will change diaper at the peril of waking her up. but i will whine a bit first (at nobody in particular i guess) then steel myself for another possible marathon soothing session. (stretch my arms, stretch wrists, stretch back, drink water, go toilet, etc, then change her diaper)

pb
i see you surface to civilisation occasionally. heh. i'm still trying to 'book' my hubby for my day off to myself.

mil issues
i have told my boss my plans to quit and be a sahm. sigh, i'm gonna have to pray every day that i can tolerate my mil (or learn to ignore her sometimes hurtful comments) from now on. sigh.

when baby's fussing and fretting and crying non-stop, and you're tired from trying to soothe her for long periods, the last thing you need are comments from mil like 'why are you not feeding her? why are you letting her cry? why are you not calling the doctor?' etc. sigh.

baby cot mobile
are these things good at stimulating baby? or not advisable coz baby might become a bit 'cock-eye' after looking at a moving mobile too long?

anyone doing exclusive EBM?
i m currently. wonder how you juggle between feeding bb and expressing milk, esp at nite?

btw, i m pumping now, bb with CL.

dustee
yes i've heard that bb will have cross-eye so better be safe than sorry

mil issues
i think all mil r the same, they dont think v highly of their DILs no matter wat we do! i've heard more hurtful comments fr my mil such as ur neh small so wont produce enough milk. u dont kn how to carry bb.. bb cries when u carry. well i cried few times for that. i guess more to come.

star_xin,
think the guardian ones are like the normal heat packs, must heat up in warm water or microwave then put into thermal flask or sm oth container to retain the warmth. osim one quite fascinating - just click the metal piece inside and it ll stay warm for at least 20-30mins.

lbt,
oh dear... let us know how things are after u see your gynae abt the wound yea

RHS,
re: finger feedg. Cut fingernail on index / middle finger. Insert into bb's mouth, making sure the tongue is down and latch is correct. Wait till he sucks b4 insertg syringe. Pump milk into bb's mouth only when he sucks.
... btw, Dr Belinda's nurse Susan taught us this.

dustee,
Big big decision to be sahm.... but but but if u have thot it through, then go for it! jst need to tolerate ur MIL gua.

dustee, summert,
*hugs* Very insensitive of your MIL to comment like that. Just try to ignore, okie?

cellow,
So that's how it's done! Thx for the explanation. I guess the nurses never say anything coz they know I'm still doing total BF until now. But this may come handy one day.

morning mummies

lbt..
oh dear.. better faster go see ur gynea..
my wound abit pain dun noe isit that day go buy
baby's clothes washing detergent.. carry heavy stuffs.. haiz..

dustee
*hug*
just ignore her..
my MIL also like that..
so I dun answer her when she say stuffs..
dun care whether she scold me for not answering her call...totally hack care her...

Star
I started eating after 40days.. hehe..
my MIL say should only eat after 100days..
but aiya.. hack care her..

summert
my MIL will say I feed more bbs than u..
who r u to say that I dun know how to feed bbs..
but then its totally wrong..
my gers r sucking air leh...haiz..
I carry over.. then she not happy..

RHS,
finger feedg is tedious, only to avoid nipple confusion for my little Cedric. if Jamie latches totally, then no need!

summert,
dun cry over MIL.... not worth it.... hugz

Jaslyn,
haiz, must must must get the HB to carry heavy stuff for you, and also less going to crowded places...

warming up EBM outside

what i did was bring a cup with me and hot water in a flask as well. then just use the cup with hot water to warm up the EBM.

BCG

apparently the "发出来“happens in the 3rd week.

baby cot mobile

I am using that for my #2 now. he is fascinated and will watch and watch. i read it stimulates their brain development as there is sound and movement. my #1 had that too and didn't turned out cockeyed! hehe!

Hi July mummies and congrats to all!

Forget my password and only managed to recover it recently.

Updates:
I've delivered to my baby girl on 03 July. Natural deivery w epid. She weighs 3.47kg n is 52cm in length.

Although I did't post anything but this forum definitely helped me through my confinement as I share lots of similar experiences and got the tips from u mummies. Just wanna say a big thank you to all!

rhs, cellow, jaslyn

thanks.. yes, MIL always use their experience to put us down, no choice we got to "ren". really envy those who are not staying with MIL..

jaslyn, star
i also had c-section. didnt take seafood cos it's "poisonous". cos i heard though the wounds seems ok, the flesh inside still healing. so jaslyn, dont carry heavy stuff. not gd for u.

BCG
my boy BCG pertrude out n form a red spot after a month. Doctor fr TMC told us that it will be like this. but i m not sure if it's painful for bb cos he has not been drinking much. anybody knows?

lbt,
have you called your gynae? everything ok? take care ya!?

we burped bb after every feed. he burped but sometimes when we thot he's finished burping and put him into his cot, he will cry and when we carry him up, he let out another burp. only then he settles back to sleep.

everything i want to try, will attract a lot of comments from hb, cl, mil, and my mum. always end up not able to try anything. sian...

Re: Feeding
mummies, will you give your babies more when they still want even when they have drank 100ml already?! and 1.5 hr earlier, they drank another 100ml? are they being over fed? how long does the growth spurt last? few days? 1 week?

RHS,
i have white dot on my nipple too. it's been there for 3 weeks liao. how to "remove" it? i only apply nipple cream but still there.

Re: MIL issues
dustee, i admire your courage! after spending the 1st week confined at home with mil and cl, i told hb straight out that i can't face his mum 24 x 7! she doesn't say mean things to me but she beat around the bushes when she want to direct certain comments at me.

i complained to hb abt his mum's not really helping whenever she tries until he avoided having any sort of conversations with me for the entire week! so now, to prevent further conflicts, see no evil, say no evil, hear no evil!

i'm going over to my parents' place for the next 2 weeks coz my mum insists i recuperate more since i'm generally quite weak. cl said same things. mil kept repeating (*note the repeating!) she didn't "bu" after giving birth; her friend also didn't "bu" after having 2 kids. what is she trying to drive at? she only cares abt her not able to see her grandson for the next 2 weeks! it's like omg... only 2 weeks, if i don't get a good health, how to take care of my son? not everyone as strong as her mah... oh well.. ignore lor.. wat else is there to do?

summert,
some mils are just so mean. take it easy ok. anyway, i don't think very highly of my mil coz she has zero experience taking care of babies. hehehe... so i tend to ignore anything she says. my cl told her mil, last time kids not as smart and alert as babies these days, so cannot compare! heheh..

taking care of babies are already very tiring, still have to deal with mil... how inconsiderate can they get?!

hi summert,

i m pumping EBM exclusiveli but honestli i hv yet 2 solve or fix tat prob.. de end so far is.. a sleep-drprived mum.. still oso looking out 4 a beta solution..

cellow
ya lor..
cos my maid say no more liao..
cannot wash bbs clothes...
so I bo bian cant wait for my hubby..
so back then regret..haiz..

summert
ya lor..
the wound still havent recover yet..
ya lor.. will get hubby to carry liao..
cant tahan liao..

re BCG
my PD say its ok.. they wont feel anything..

re MIL
I m not staying with my MIL
but she can be as "fan" cos she will call everyday!
and she always tries to trick my hubby into staying with her lor..
but I always analyse to my hubby then he also bo bian..

Steph
agree with u..
already so tired taking care of bb..
then MIL like that..haiz..

star xin

forgot to mention. if u bring EBM outside, u can go to food court to buy a cup of hot water and submerged the milk bottle to warm the EBM. if u are in restaurant, I usually ask for a big bowl of hot water.

i have called my gynae clinic. They ask me to monitor and maybe go down tmr. I dunno if it's infection.
scared ....

summert,

i oso pumping exclusively...so far still got CL help to feed bb..i havent start on my own yet but this sat onwards,,will b on my own..but i still got maid with me...will see how to make arrangement..normally, my last pump wil b around 11pm..then i can tahan till 430am...so, i think i will try to feed my bb before 430am...

Re: Feeeding
My bb also drinking 100-110 ml every 2 hrs..most of the time is less than 2 hrs..especially he nvr sleep..it could b 100ml after 1 hrs..asking for milk again..then, i will juz make 30ml for him...then, maybe he willsleep after tat...

Re:MIL
Our life will never be our life with staying in MIL...especially when our hb is sided to the mother..

cellow,
Right now Jamie is latching exclusively buy my LC suggested I expressed a bit and keep in freezer just in case one day I can't nurse him (sick, etc). The finger feeding method looks better than giving bottle if I want to avoid nipple confusion.

Steph,
If the white spots are on the tip of the nipple, do warm compress before feeding to open the pores and latch your bb. The strong sucking from bb is usually enough to unblock the ducts. You can do search for 'milk blister' to find out more about it. Mine is on the side of the nipple where milk doesn't come out from it so I guess no choice I have to poke with needle to open it up

Steph

yes yes RHS method is correct. I do have one blister weeks back. I think it is gone now after the strong latching of my Rianne. if U want to use a needle, get a sterilised one hor.

i started to pump now .. in fact I am pumping now. Heng, supply still ok .. one side gives meabt 80ML, the other ... not much cos kana sucked dry by Rianne just now

Cellow, Dordor
Yea, Seb did go to the PD at NUH but it is quite far since i stay in the east. Will look around for another PD. I think i def. need to bring him soon cos his 2nd Hep jab and the 6-in-1 jabs. Should be 1 month after his 1st jab.
Dor dor, the pic is so sweet!

Youpi,
I have the same problem as your Random Question No.1 but i do change his diapers when i see that it has alot of poo. Even so, his poo area is still reddish.

PB,
Yesterday we had a mini gathering for Seb's 1 month and he was sleeping the whole day! He only got up to feed. Then everyone tried to touch his face, head, ears, body, hands and we even changed nappy, after that he just went back to sleep :/ Then at night, he was awake! We had to cave in and start using the pacifier.

Summert, Dustee,
Stay strong for yourself and baby... come here more often... HUGS!!

Lbt,
I hope all is ok for your checkup tomorrow.

Star,
I will still avoid prawns, sotong and sting ray especially for at least 2 more months.

mommies,
After you expressed your breast milk and you let it sit outside for a few hours,do you still heat it up before feeding to baby?

Dor dor and bonnygal : Thanks for the tip on the first month party. Have decidd to bring fwd the celebrations too, means i can get out of confinement soon! YAY!

Summert: I tried to pump exclusively for my boy, but i cant keep up with his schedules.. so now i pump, latch and feed formula -- watever it takes to feed him. Hopefully my milk supply can kick in so i have ample stocks for my to pump exlcusively....

Star_Xin: HOw are your blocked ducts? Hope you have gotten some help to relieve the pain.

re MIL
i'm glad that i'm not the only one facing the mil problem, at least now i got an avenue to voice out.

steph, xiaoyang
i did not complain to my hb anymore abt mil cos he will definitely side her. so i just swallow it down. anyway i also dont want him to think badly of me too.

sparrow

xiaoyang
u still ve a maid to help u around, so gd.

star
how abt u? u have maid or mil to help u?

my CL leaving tomorrow so i guess i'll join the sleep-deprived mums' club liao.
i m thinking to pump after i have fed bb and after he's asleep.

batgirl
is there any difference in bb sleeping time when bb drink EBM, latch on an FM? im thinking of feeding bb FM at nite so tt he can sleeps longer but hb said give bb EBM cos not sure if FM really helps him to sleep longer (as in more than 2.5hrs).

lbt
wah one side got 80 is gd mine is half of urs

how many weeks r u now?

Rain... bring manual pump when go out for longer than 5 hours. also ice pack bag to cool EBM

Star_xin... i usually bring a cup, a small thermal flask of hot water and a bottle of water to warm EBM when outside

dustee, summert... i can understand your feeling about MIL, coz me faced the same thing during my confinement... felt so hurt when she keeps nagging don't let bb cry so long, why so little milk, etc. i cried when bb kept crying and she said how come i get anxious so easily, never console me. now i learn to take her negative comments as sing song :p

summert... i'm pumping exclusively now as i'm returning to work next month. my last pump is abt 10-11pm, bb usually wakes up 1-2 times in midnight, so pump again after feeding

waiwai
according to my CL, my bb wakes up around 2-3 times at nite. so how did u manage then? still pump after feed? u have time to sleep?my bb needs to be coax to sleep...

batgirl,

i tried smthing mioself n it feels beta.. nt s painful but still blocked.. after pumping, while using water 2 wipe the breast, i used both moi hands n press moi nnp.. pushed hard hard 2wards the nipple.. cos i heard tat's wat LA will do.. n then out come quite a no. of jets of milk.. so saiyang.. wasted..

but then smhow moi milk supply reali dropped, dun noe if it is becos i've been feeling down n kinda stressed.. so 4 me.. i m letting nature takes its course liao..

CL: had a quarrel w hb over de CL.. juz told her bb will rm in w me fr 2nite onwards.. so it is more jialat sleeplessness le.. gtg catch a nap now.. catch up w u all later!!

summert... i'm deprived of sleep since the day i gave birth! u have CL to help at night, so envy. during confinement my MIL just woke me up and asked me to feed, then she went back to sleep. when my hubby offered to help during weekend night, she asked how come me not doing the job. usually my bb will fall asleep after feeding, so i can pump. really tiring!

Mummies, my bb gal had rashes on her cheeks and forehead. They seem dried up and feel rough.Any remedy for this?i had tried j&j lotion n diaper rash cream.

Goodness!my bb gal kept wanting to drink milk almost 1 hr. But when i latched her she will drink for a while and fell asleep. Short while later will wake up and want to drink again. Also she will split up the formula milk when given if she isnt very very hungry. Couple of times i am so angry and scolded her and refused to give her milk.I am such a bad mummy

star
maybe u want to try this method cos it works for me. for blocked ducts, i use warm towel press press massage massage. then i will pump that side for as long as half an hr. u will feel that the lump seems to have soften or if u r lucky the lump will go off. otherwise continue the same strategy the next time u pump. for me the lump will be gone after 2 long pumps.

waiwai
wah ur mil oso one kind but think positively at least she wakes up to wake u up. i hope my bb will fall asleep soon after feed like urs...

jaslyn
thanks...

bonnygal
dun worry, my boy has it on the whole face from week 2 till now week 5, and has spread to head, chest and back. doctor said it's the mummy's hormones that is still inside bb. some bb has it some dont. and it may last up till 3 mths. dr gave bb cream to apply. doesnt help much. so just wait for it to heal on its own lor. oh btw my mil use lycee water to dap bb's face, she heard it helps.

summert,

i have no choice..need the maid..cos my #1 still young n need attention..she is now 20 months..sometim,es, still wake up nite time.

RE: blocked duct
i oso doing the same thing as u. Always het ready a small pail of hot water..n use the cloth to wet it n massage the breast n clean the nipple b4 pump..it applies to both of breast..and i find that it is quite useful. At the samt time oso i took Lecithin (can b get from pharmacy) which believed to help unblocked the milk duct. I took 2 tablets each time n i noticed that i ccan last 4 6 hrs without pump n yet no feeling engorgement. This is rem by the LC.

summert

my Rianne is 6 weeks old this week.

Just now introduce Avent bottle to her. THink she is not used to it. Drank 60ML and dozed off. Still got abt 30ML, cold liao so I throw it away. Then after a while she wake up crying and latch on. Think she drinks more than that, just need her to get use to the bottle. But heng she din reject totally.

xiaoyang
oh ok i will not get a maid yet until i have another one.

is there really no side effect taking lecithin esp for the bb? but milk ss will drop if din pump for 6hrs rite?

summert :
According to research, FM babies sleep longer. But my experience with my boy, the sleep time is only slightly longer. 3.5 hr instead of 3 hr. However, sometimes i give him a full feed of EBM (110ml), he also sleeps for 3.5hr. Maybe you shd try out your baby. Feed him FM and time him. Feed him full feed of EBM and time him.

However, my boy has sleep patterns. ie sometimes, after a full feed, he does not sleep. If he does not sleep, the EBM of 110ml can only last 1.5hrs. Formula milk only 2 hrs. So when you do your experiement, do it over 2 days at the same time.

Being a sleep deprived mum with not much milk to spare, I do feed him FM for the last feed of the day. Half an hour is also precious sleeping time...

Star_Xin : glad to hear you found a way to relieve your blocked ducts! yah...last time in the hospital the LC also squeeze my breasts so hard to unblock the ducts! now I also massage my breasts with warm towels, and do massage from outside towads the nipples. sigh..i can see wrinkles forming on my breasts liao....

wonder if any one of you have the same problem.
note from my picture,
baby left eye is a bit swollen.
i tried the massage that IBT teach but still like tat lehz.
hope it is judt blocked tear duct and nothing more.

massage
after almost a month, i started my massage today.
hopefully it is still useful in getting rid of my flabby tummy.
yesterday celebration really got a lot of idiot people comment that i am very fat loh.
got one even say, your face look like a kid but your body look like a aunty. so hurting and i don't really know her that well.(she is my mom's colleage).

batgirl
thanks for sharing, seems like i need to experiment it then see how. if my bb can sleep for 3hrs with EBM i already v happi liao.

lbt
my boy small eater leh, if he could finish 60ml, we will all be v hapi.. except tt my CL says he drinks 80ml at nite.

re massage
hey i had c-section, in my 5th week now. but when press the pertrude tummy can feel slight pain, so can i go for massage too?? if yes then anyone has any masseue to recommend? wats the price like?

Qing
is ur masseue gd? chinese or malay?

rain
i think most shopping malls have nursing room so can try pump there? probably bring along a shawl to cover just in case. toilet hmm nolar so smelly i think i will rather engorge.. hee

People:
any idea when to go for the 6 in 1 jab for bb? is it at 6 weeks?

tmr my CL will leave at 11am.. wonder wat my life would be like after tt.. pls pray for me..

youpi
Hang in there. My girl also keeps wanting to be carried but I will try to put her down even if it is on a pillow on my lap(sometimes I eat n feed #1 with bb in lap) n wait until she fuss before I carry her again. N she very kpo also sleeping like not sleeping cos she keeps peeking. On good days she sleeps after some feeds so I jus have to keep my #1 off her.
Maybe it helps cos I dun cook all the time. Only cook if I have the mood n time n my #1 eats watever I eat. Jus believe that u can handle everything I'm sure u can also U can even manage to bring ur son to so many places when ur tummy was SOooo Big that time.
Will be bringing the 2 out on my own sometime this week. Wish me luck!!!......hehehee

sonic
90% percentile??....hehehe
U look my BM too up...hahaha My girl was born weighing 2.74kg only now not that skinny but she's got chubby cheeks.
Dunno how much she weighs now going for her hep B only next week.
My son is a horror sometimes think he feels very able to carry his meimei that he keeps trying to carry her every chance he gets so I have to watch him closely.

Starxin
Been wanting to say this. Why not jus ask ur CL to leave??
Since she's irritaing u so much n not helping would it be better if she's not around??
Cos I asked my mil not to come over after the 1st week cos I was feeling so miserable n even felt teary. Actually wanted to tahan till 2nd week(while I make sure I'm able to cope alone) then tell her not to come over anymore. But I really cannot tahan so endup asked her not to come over after jus 5 days. N I already feeling so much better once hubby told her not to come over.
I told my hubby very frankly lor if I get post natal blue its becos of his mother.
Talk to ur hubby lah. Yes maybe u are sensitive but he won't want u to sink into depression right??

dustee
Congrats gonna be a sahm liao.
Urrrr staying with inlaws aah jus act act lor. I also act with my inlaws(thankfully we're not staying together anymore) but I will complain to my hubby n everyone else....hehehe
N normally after I complain n hubby sees it from my point of view okie lor forgotten liao. Why make urself miserable becos of them lock urself in ur room if u dun wanna hear their comments??...hehe

Qing
Rachel really ALOT of hair......hehee
Envy lor can use hairclip. Mine hor dunno wait how long then can use....haha

Warming ebm outside
If ur in the mood to indulge get the prince lionheart 1. It comes with an insulated bag and the heat packs. Cost $30+.

Change sleeping bb
Hmmm normally my girl also cries big time when changing but once I used warm water n cotton pad to wipe her n she actually slept through the whole process. Maybe can try that the next time?

sleepless in singapore
Cedric woke up at midnight, fed at 1230am, 3am and 5am, make HB and CL whole night cannot sleep. I took the 1230am feed, they did the 3am and 5am feeds while I snoozed.

summert,
tell urself you will manage, and u will! we are strong n capable women!

bonnygal,
hang in there! there will always be times when we r frus w our darling bbs... HB told me last night 'eh, bundle of joy?' then he laughed the kind of laugh that says it is plainly NOT true. dun b so hard on urself and bb okie.

steph,
have a good time-out at your mum's place! dun think so much lor.

lbt,
hope everything is ok aft ur gynae checkup today... let us know. Rianne sounds like dun hv nipple confusion - can take both bottle and latch on too, good!

xiaoyang,
long time no hear fm you lor... welcome back