(2008/07) July 2008

Hi ladies..its been a long time since i posted here..

its good to noe most of u r coping wif ur mummy duties..hhehe

i mite be the latest 1 to update here..anyway..
i have given birth to a healthy baby boy weighing 3.78kg on 2 aug via emergency c-sect as i had an unsuccessful VBAC..
but im lucky my boy is still alive as i had a ruptured womb..
so now recuperating at home with a super long 30cm operation wound at home..

RHS,
my baby is also the same... U can carry her and do anything but once u put her to her bed, she started screaming! Dunno wat to do...

Just woke up to pump engorged breasts... HB fed bb boy using the syringe.

Congrats, Ju! hey the impt thing is to get your boy out healthy..

RHS, Sonic,
Patz. Jiayou jiayou! Mummies are really the greatest.

Dustee,
I can vouch for the California Baby diaper rash cream! used another brand before, but bb turns out to have sensitive skin at the bottom, so changed to CB 3 days ago, and now it is not red anymore. BUT but but water and cotton wool works too, give it a try?

Thanks bluey,
How does ur full time works? Maid is it?

Anyone can recommend me PT in TPY area. Really miss havin a clean home.

Just checked today, infant needs to pay a fee too.

BBP,
Practicality is that you MUST take care of yourself before you can care your family (bb + HB). It doesnt make u a bad person to separate fm bb for a while.. with u at parents and bb at PILs'.
Go easy on yourself.... one tip that works for me is before sleep, empty the mind, visualise a room with only one chair and u r sitting in it. There are 2 doors, one on left for your thots to enter, the other on right 4 them to exit. The thots may walk or even run through the room, but they cannot sit down bcz there is only one chair.

Hugs girl. Think u need more than hugs though, timeout is not a bad idea....

re fare
i paid infant fare. 10% of published rates but i heard that some airlines dunhave? got to check. i took SQ

yesterday my gal slep from 2+ to 9+!! only wake up for milk at 4pm, 7pm and thne 9+. was so peaceful and quiet...but night time was hard cos she was more awake...

lbt : I thot my baby was overweight! Today he is 4.4kg at his third week! OMG! and Pinkbunny's poppy is 4.5kg at 97% percentile! Where does my son fit in then... but dun give him milk, he cry until very cham. His birth weight then was 3.69kg.

I have a baby weighing machine at home... courtesy of my boss... Supposed to be able to measure breatmilk intake (ie weigh him before and after feeding). I dun know wat to do with the machine otherwise, so i weigh him everyday... :p

Ju : OMG! Ruptured womb! sounds scary, luckily both mummy and baby are doing fine! Take care!!

Steph : my milk supply is now standing at 100ml each pump..... and i am trying to pump every 3 hrs...damn siong ah..... but will try to perserve, in the meantime, will supplement with FM if i can't keep up!

Cellow,
Thanks... the visualisation sounds really nice. I hope I have the frame of mind to do it when I'm stressed.

batgirl,
Jiayou jiayou. Me doing the same thing now. Pump every 3 hours (although it always ends up being 3.5h or 4h). But I feed FM at night so that he can sleep longer.

congrats Ju !! Wow your bb is big too !
glad to know both of you are doing fine.

But why is the wound so long ?

batgirl

i think becos ur bb is big at birth hence he drinks more. Dont worry lah .. they will grow so fast that you lost track very soon. they will be on par with their peers as they grow older.

hihi..

sore breasts: i m hving some sore areas at the side of de moi breasts near de armpits.. tink is nt engorgement but juz so painful 2 even raise moi arms over moi heads.. ani idea y so? n wat can i do 2 lessen 2 pain?

ugly armpits:
for those who hv dark pigment at armpits, my frenz recommend nivea..i dun noe the full name but they hv a whitening thingy 4 armpits tat i heard is good.. haven tried it out though..

overwiped buttocks:
moi CL suggested dabbing de poo off.. den wiped gently.. cos if we kip wiping.. it may wear off the skin.. maybe tat's y kena de rawness..can try?? but i tink de cottonballs one oso good.. juz tat maybe gotta standby water by the side??

RHS
exactly!!! bb are so smart! she knows and cries instantly when i sit down when carrying her.

lbt
yeah, bb should be sleeping right after feeding. my gal was like that on the 1st two weeks.. but dunno why out of sudden she has this new pattern. i was also quite tempted to give her pacifier, but i'm afraid she will get addicted to it, will be very hard to get her off later.
now i'm thinking to let her sleep in sarong.. but again afraid she doesn't want to sleep in her cot/bed.

sonic

i think sarong is too early for our babies. I started my #1 on sarong when she was abt 4 mths old. I gave her pacifier too.

NOt that diff to kick off the habit lah ...but better than letting them cry out loud or need us to rock or cuddle to sleep.

Sonic, RHS:
We are in the same boat!!!! My bb also wants to be carried and rocked all the time. Sighhhh so tiring!!! somehow the bb knows when we stop. I used the pacifier when she cried, it used to work for 2 days, afterwards, she still cries and refused the pacifier!! *faints*

overwiped bum:
My bb's bum used to be very red. I used calif baby diaper rash cream - very good and it's not creamy - wipes off easily. I used Johnson and Johnson's baby wipes - I found it better than Pigeon's. If baby poos a lot, I wash her bum with water, then always put the diaper rash cream afterwards.

Star_xin, really ah... nivea? my armpit is uuuugly! About the sore areas on your breast - did you find any red areas which feels warm on the breast also? I've mastitis before, and there was a red area which is so painful and I can't raise my arm. Turn out, there was an accumulation of puss inside the breast. The puss had to be extracted by needle. Ouchh... Just to be safe, go to your gynae/breast specialist.

xin, re: ugly armpits. im using nivea-extra whitening. It does whiten the dark pigment.

Just now i bathed my gal on my own for the 1st time.Kinda scary and challenging :p luckily she didnt fuss *phew*

rhs, was looking at the mirror n saw this ugly, flabby n wrinkled tummy of mine
then i hurried to put on the corset and gt a flat tummy to create a false illusion to console myself haha..

Rain,

mine is a maid. Sorry for the confusion.

My boy also the same like most of the babies. Carry on arms, sleep soundly. Once you put him down, he will give you that pek chek look, if you dun carry him, he will cry.

My boy now dun latch on me anymore. I think he feel that the milk flow is too slow for him if I breastfeed him. But I also cannot tahan him latching on ... seems like forever

Anyone knows wat to give to baby 3 weeks old who is having constipation?

My baby has not been passing motion for going 3days! I've check wif the PD but she says its normal for babies at this period to have lesser bowels...BUT..its been 3 days.

bluey,
then do you pump for your boy?
I am still facing the same thing, latch on for 5min, then sleep, then wake him up then latch him again and same thing happens. He will sleep for like 5-10 min then open eyes are wants to latch again. Can't tell whether he is hungry or just want to latch for comfort and yes, the whole process takes really long.

juz now wt my boy..he is 4.2kg @ his 3rd wks. His birth wt was 3.4kg..n now drinking 100ml every 2 hrs..nite time oso i feed him FM cos BM making him to poo too frequent n he got angry wen CL clean him. Nite time, CL got to carry him walk ard the house 4 at least 1 hr for him to sleep. Late evening time also..he wanted to b carried n will b awake once puttin him on the bed..

my CL will wash his buttock each ime he poo..i'm using johnson wipes oso..so far so gd...

i oso hate to see my tummy..still got kg to go though i have finished my massage session..but i think this time roubd (natural birth), the tummy not as big as C-section..

bluey, sparrows

did u disturb ur bb and wake up them to latch again ?

the nurse ask me to massage their feet. Some ppl even remove the clothings so that bb is awake to latch. Else they may develop this bad habit and will be very tiring for us.

hmm or maybe try to burp him or change his diapers too ?

phyllis

oic .. ya understand. So is her poo poo soft and watery?

actually you can do massage for bb to pass out poo. I know my friend tried before and it works. But I am not sure how to do it. I think it's something like raising both the legs and pushing is forward towards the tummy in circular motion, or something like that. Better ask your PD ok ?

bluey, sparrows,
I only latch during weekends when I can afford the energy cos I realised latching makes me have to feed almost every hour. Sometimes at night I also latch just to prevent him from crying while my husband goes to make FM.

My bb latches on irregularly, sometimes long sometimes short. The worst is when his eyes are closed and he's stopped suckling and I think he's asleep and I try to remove him, I realise he's NOT asleep cos he has a DEATH HOLD on my boob/nipple.

I pump for him. He prefers the bottle now. Feeding is abt 45mins for 120ml if he is hungry.
This includes burping, changing diapers.

My boy poo almost every feed. Like to poo a bit a bit one (bad habit). Now I "train" him to poo all at one go. So he can now tahan abt poo-ing every 3 feeds.

lbt,

I try many methods when latching him. But whenever I pull him away from the nnp, he will cry. Put him back to feed, suck 2 mouths and then zzzzz again. My #1 is better so I latch her till 3 months.

Lbt, bluey,
Same thing for me. After suceeding in waking him up, I'll latch him on again and he will just suck a few times and then close eyes.

bbp,
Seb also has a death grip on me! Many times i try to unlatch him cos he's eyes are closed and mouth not moving, but the moment he feels the breast moving away, he will suckle like 2-3 times, dun want to let go. Really wonder if this is the beginning of a really bad habit.

Also, Seb is 3 weeks now and he seems to squirm and make alot of noise when he shits. He's starting to have lots of heat rash on his cheeks and his poo is abit watery. Am thinking of bringing him to PD next week to see what's wrong. Now, i just use this Calendula cream on his cheeks. The rash seems to be spreading to his body already. Sigh. Am researching online, milk could be a culprit too. But i dun want to assume too much.

bonnygal

ahhaha think our newborns v cham .. always try means to wake up them.

sometimes when my gal overslept, I will squeeze out some milk and rub nnp against her lips. And she will start to latch on.

can try ?

youpi,
same same.. very stressful hor?! you feeding him BM or FM? he's drinking FM at night so can sleep longer. he drink BM like drinking plain water. not filling at all. that's why can't sleep longer... sigh.. am at a lost... he's whining now again... slept less than 1hr

Cellow,
what's your secret????? share share leh!

lbt,
i also tried to put the infant pillow for my bb but mum, mil and cl all say bb too young to sleep on pillow. will have hunch back next time :S think will try again coz my bb's head "kok tau" at the back. maybe that's why not sleeping comfortably.

Re: carrying BB to sleep
aiyoh.. my bb also like this!!
cl says carried him till he really SOUND asleep at night... day time we take turns to carry him! after next week i jialut

RHS
Can try putting bb to sleep on ur chest??
I also cannot tahan the crying it out method n dun wanna risk bb having wind in the tummy n cause colic later. Plus her cries r really very horrible compared to my #1.
My girl is abit manja also sometimes when I shift her into the bb cot she will wake n cry to be carried again so sometimes if I'm too tired I put her to sleep on her tummy on my chest.
Jus place a pillow on the side so if u really fall asleep n bb slips down will be on the pillow with ur hand lor.

lbt
Yah mine also once I move her or her korkor talk only jialat she open her eyes think she too kpo so hard to make her sleep sometimes.
Now that u mention I remember got 1 massage to make them poo. But I forgot is massage the tummy in clockwise or anticlockwise leh....cham
Thanx for the link....keke

doggiebb
U very gian to chat online hor.....hahahaha

Starxin
Have to keep pumping. Its worse then engorgement if u start having fever if still dun go away see LC or GP.

bluey: can share on hw u 'train' bb on the pooing-part?? cos mine oso bad habit.. smtimes let out gas,will poo a little.. change him.. den he wee.. den after change again..poo sm more... can nv do everything 1 whole course one...

Sparrows
If that's the case when he stops suckling u jus try to move away abit lor.
Cos I do that with my girl.....hehe
N if she release the nipple means she's full lor if not I jus put her on the bed wait for her to cry for milk then feed her again.

phyllis

eheh no lah, cos 2nd baby so more experienced now. And i learnt a lot from this forum when I have #1.

steph

u mean elevate the bed is it ? My gal dont sleep on pillow but the top of the bed is elevated with a pillow under the bed.

I did pose the same qn to my PD before. PD says bb can sleep on pillow one, no harm on their spine. He says only worry is when they learn how to turn , their neck may not be strong enough to lift their head up and the pillow will be a danger then.

btw my gal also kok tau a the back so let her sleep on sides lor.

dor dor

i think gals are generally more KPO ! ehhehe

but my Rianne has been sleeping very well these few days. You can see from my frequent postings in the forum ! hehehe I hope I dont jinx myself.

lbt,
thanks for the link, reading it now.. very informative...says that the rash is normal and dun do anything to it.
As for nnp becoming pacifier, must find idea how to prevent it liao :/
Another fren suggested using ice cube and just touch touch his hands, legs and face! :p

star xin

sometimes I have to do the "ngggggggggggggggggggg" sound to my Rianne and wait for as long as 5-10 mins for her to finish her business. Most of the time, once they pee, means they finish the poo poo business already. This fact is from my mum.

dor dor
past few days was the same for me too, feed then change then he dun wanna latch, then i put him to sleep, 5 min later i hear a cry and he open his mouth wide wide again, really macham baby sparrow. So now must really think of more extreme measures to make him eat in 1 go. I can usually wake him up but he will look around abit then close eyes liao. play with his mouth then he close tight tight. :p Only when i use bottle then the feeding is better, but i still striving for TBF.

lbt,
like shock therapy hor? heheh.. quite evil lah but i guess it doesn't make the baby feel comfy to sleep back again. I haven't tried it yet tho.

dor dor

yeah lor! the boi latches almost every 2 hr and i sit here like a kuku lidat! chat a bit time passes so much faster. luckily i already got a gang of regular msn kakis! hehe!

my boi also has rashes on his face. i think it is milia but it could be baby acne too. anybody knows the difference?

Sparrow
Maybe i more hen xing. If my bb keep playing i will let her cry abit 1st let her wakeup more confirm very hungry then feed.
If she stops crying once I carry I also wait till she cries again n like searching for my breast then i feed her.

But she at night sometimes also treat my nipple like pacifier cos i doze off then wake to find her sleeping so soundly with my nipple still in her mouth......hehe

finally, i washed my hair that the salon downstairs.
was digging for my pre-pregnancy clothes and i couldn't fit into my t-shirts. so sad. in the end i wore my hubby t-shirt downstairs. haiz.
till now, still don't dare to weigh myself. what if didn't slim down at all?
haiz haiz haiz.
kinda very disturb by it now.

baby hair cut
beside washing my hair,
my princess also got her new haircut.
but the aunty hor, insist on going botak loh. but of cos, they refused la. her hair a lot lehz. so she cut and cut. now so short.
tml and sun is full month celebration lehz, sure got alot of ppl comment she so boy.