(2008/07) July 2008

good morning mummies...it's Friday!

little BB Adeline will be going home too!

BM: wah..youpi & lbt, you are the lucky ones who had ample supply huh..maybe this time round can consider what Fiona suggested...using it to make bb's hair grow thicker? have a milkbath in it too? hehehe

COCONUT: dustee, my MIL is a fan of thai coconuts too.. she always get them from the supermarkets and she has gotten the hang of chopping them up..initially was a headache too but she figured how to look for the softer side of it.. juz have to lightly shave of some skin and voila.. you have a hole to sip up all the water, and when you are done, do a bigger chop to hack off and opening and you can happily dig into the soft flesh inside liao...

DRESSING: looks like all mummies do this huh.. my mom used to dress us 3 sisters up in the same thing too..sometimes she buys the same cutezie material and make them into 3 different dresses, but we'd look similar coz of the same material

WATERBAG BURSTING: are you girls planning to work til you go into labour? dordor...where were you when it happened? Think we better leave a mini towel at work for standby..

BREASTFEEDING: hope I dun sound dumb (inexperienced and kancheong mah haha) but is this the sequence we should go thru:

1) latch one side first, then when bb lets go means empty? then move on to other nnp? how do we tell if bb is still hungry after dat? bb will cry?

2) give fresh EBM from bottle (how would we know how much to give coz can't tell how much baby drank from latching)

3) give thawed frozen EBM

ok...then after latching we'd probably wash up and clean baby and make baby sleep right? once all this is done, we sit down to pump milk out to be stored right? but since bb latch til empty liao...still got anything left to pump meh?

*blush*

how many oz does a newborn bb drink usually?

JMON
congrats, can bring your princess home today!!!

aww my colleague was so sweet. yesterday she came over to tell my department girls 'if PB's water bag burst during work and you girls don't know what to do, just come over and look for me ok?'. so nice

dor dor
hehe your experience of water bag bursting was so funny! i take a ride with my colleague every morning to work, and i asked her this morning 'if my waterbag burst in your car how ah?'. she said 'i dunno. i was also thinking about it. i don't know how to get to Mt A leh'. so we decided she would drop me somewhere where i could take a cab haha.

re the DHAxtra pills, would you be able to confirm with your clinic and let me know? i'm keen

hehe do1nk you and cin bunny go for same ante natal class? i think all your BF questions will be addressed this weekend

what i remember from the Mt A class, thought it might be useful to share:

- if you intend to BF, don't wash your nnp with soap cos the smell may not 'gam' with baby. just wipe with warm water before BF. after BF, squeeze out some of your milk and rub around nipple area. it's got its own antibodies (so clever, our nnp!)

- when you want to feed, put baby near your nipple then stroke the cheek closer to nipple then she will turn to it then shove nipple + aerola into mouth. that's a good latch (correct or not, mummies?)

- make sure baby's chin touches your nnp. that means that she has clear nasal passage and still can breathe

- when you want to remove baby from nnp, don't just pull cos that will result in sore nipples. put your little finger in her mouth gently and then she will open her mouth wide enough for you to remove your nnp from her

i quite pay attention during these classes leh!

pinkbunny,

U are a super good student.

Even for my #1, I simply bo chap ... never go for class one. #2 worse.

My friends always say ... "U dun behave like u are preggie, just look fat."

My clothes are getting loose except for the tummy area. I am shrinking in size!! The pant I wore today for work keep on sliding down my butt ... so "fan".

Tummy pain
I been having pain since this morning ard 6.30am till nw the pain quite unbearable in the first place after which ard 8 plus the pain is bearable till nw ...i was wondering is it i'm in labour or should i make a trip down to the gynae???

Feeling hungry now.

The new maid of mine simply "cannot make it" when it comes to cooking.
This morning I saw pancakes that look like roti prata! faint.

So tomorrow will be her "cookery lesson with bluey" again. Haizzz

Lucky I know how to cook, else sure die of hunger.

bluey
of course pay attention la! pay money must pay attention! hehe. super auntie hor? but i draw the line at ta pao-ing the extra curry puffs

serene
better just make a call to your gynae. the nurse asked me to go as a walk in appt when i described my symptoms. then kena put on the CTG, which monitors your contractions if you are having them. if it's nothing then your gynae will prob tell you if it was caused by anything. like for me it was caused by pressure cos i got LS hehe

do1nk,

dun worry, u will know... yr breasts will feel full b4 u bf yr bb.

then normally i time it. each side abt 40 min at the beginning cos prob milk supply not so much then.
then after one side, u can actually feel yr breast not so heavy liao. then u move over the other side, if yr bb is full, he/she may not so keen to suck. but if she still v wiling to suck, then i will continue again.

once bb suck, u will know that she drink if the other b is leakin v quickly... abit wasteful but if u resourceful, u can pump the other side or take a empty container ;p

this time, i hope my supply is alot... last time my supply is v little... i feed liao practically left nothing to pump.

i just make a call to my gynae he was saying ask me to go down he give me some medicine to delay the delivery till mid june as nw too early bb might be a bit small than got to spend a lot of $$$$ in hospital....
me nw going to gynae nw updates u guys later

Serene,
do update us ya after your gynae visit. tell your bb guai guai stay till is ready to come out.

Jmon,
Congrats on Adeline!! can go home today le. you can now cuddle her as and when you like.

my baby's blood flow is ok =) TMC machine showed that my bb a bit heavier 2.3kg, compared to 2.1kg at the gynae's clinic. blood flow ok, placenta ok, so bb's growing well, just that on small side. So gynae just ask me to eat eat and eat more!!! So more ice-cream, more milk these coming weeks...... SO RELIEVED BABY'S FINE.

RE: Shaving....
My boy has lots of cradle cap. Used special shampoo, baby oil all no use... the cradle cap just keeps growing. Finally shaved him totally bald at 4 months. All the cradle cap gone. He didn't have more or thicker hair after the shave. But the shave did get rid of his cradle cap once and for all. Plus the shave made him really cute.... hee heee

Here's my little botak boy right his shave.....

1453829.jpg

piyoz!

CONGRATS! so happy for you! just pile on the foodie from now on!

and your boi! aiyooo! so super duper cute!! *pinch pinch the cheeks!*

piyoz
glad everything is ok
your little boy so cute! look like xiao he shang! and i see an ikea pink stool in the background hehe

doggiebb, pinkbunny,

thanks =) so very relieved after yesterday's visit. Ya, going to eat and eat and eat these coming weeks.

ya ya.... my house full of ikea stuff.

piyoz
ur boy so cute!
wana pinch his cheeks.. hehe..
and glad that ur bb is fine..
eat more ya!

Serene
update us after ur trip to ur gynea ah..
take care...
tell ur bb dun come out so early like my gers..
really need to spend alot of $$..

morning ladies

SY,
Pat's schoolhouse no subsidy ah? I noe MMI got subsidy

Jaslyn,
ur gals very pretty....got double eyelid rite? Next time grow up sure pretty one

Re : Cutting bb's hair
That time i shaved my ger botak when she was bout 2+mths old. But regret a bit cos the hair that grows out seems a bit more coarse than her previous bb hair. Think I will not shave my #2. Btw just a picture of my #1 with her hair at around 5-6mths! *lol*

1453932.jpg

Serene,
Better make a trip to gynae yah?

piyoz,
congrats on the gd news.....glad to hear that everything is well

celeste
wow your girl got full head of hair! and so flexible hehe. i long time never touch my toes liao. she looks very comfy in the holey t-shirt keke

jaslyn,

now then I see your girls's pictures...... so much hair, and they have such big eyes...... pretty pretty. Can see double eyelids so soon.... usually babies eyes quite puffy at birth..... their double eyelids must be very deep ones =)

Celeste,

your girl's hair so thick and black...... so pretty.

you mentioned about the milk bags, is it? Lansinoh ones are zip lock type, sterilised. Avent ones must use separate clip to seal the bag, right? Actually first time I try lansinoh.

THe last time I use avent bags also and pigeon bags. This time round, my colleague gave me 12 milk bottles for storing EBM. So will probably use the milk bags and bottles together.

piyoz
hehe.. thanks!!
oh.. usually bbs eyes r puffy at birth one ah??
I dun noe that..

u know where can I get medela milk bottles for storing EBM??
I got 4 but not enough to store leh..

Jaslyn,
Ya...she got a lot of hair when born....but hor always look so messy....*lol*

PB,
holey tshirt actually very comfy for babies somemore cheap...hehe

piyoz,
The avent milk bags I actually bought those vacumn clips from IKEA. I tink a bag of donno how many pcs costs only $4.90 or what. then not enuff clips I use rubber bands...hehe

But if you are keeping the ebm in freezer can only use milkbag cannot use bottles.

hehe blurmummy i am also wondering
i feel she will be a very hiao poh. cos every time during scans, we catch her touching her face and she always like to gelek her pantat against me hehe

my colleague dreamt i gave birth in mrt

i'm back my gynae clinic, he was telling me my tummy to high n it start to push bb out coz bb got no more space liao ...n he say it nt time yet as i'm on 32wk ...so he gave me medicine to loosen the tummy n also to prevent contraction further n i keep asking bb to be guai guai to stay at least till 36wk than come out .....i'm not ready for arrival coz i wan eat dumpling next week ......n also celebrate father day with my dad

since we are on the topic of hair and shaving... thought i would share this with you girls. i was about one year old in this pic. i think i was not shaved and as you can see, rather botak-ish. from my gao eh posture and my mum's expression, i'd say i had just gotten into trouble

and ahem. pink dress haha

1454142.jpg

hey just got call from gynae clinic... with my strep B test results. i got a v discharge infection. which i find very strange cos i don't even have any discharge leh.

anyway because the clinic is so far from my place, they will send me the prescription then i just go buy at guardian or unity pharmacy. she said it's not serious to me but could affect poppy when born but as long as i finish the medication it will be fine, AND i have to be on the drip during delivery just to be sure :S

congrats 2 jaslyn 4 de 2 cuties...i loved their dbl eyelids but both me n hb dun hv so i doubt moi boy boy will hv it.. *sob*

congrats 2 piyoz 4 de gd news...

ask u all lei.. yest i was at mum's place den i realised i onli gained like 0.5kg fr last mth.. but overall gained like 14kg le... den moi mum says if no gain in weight means baby coming le...
huh? but i onli 31 weeks le.. quite scared n unprepared...

den tell u all hor.. she oso says abt de shaving hair thingy n mux go back niang jia on full mth.. den still nid 2 do catering.. got so much time 2 run abt meh? i rem when i was borned.. grandma says i had veri curli hair den in those days.. curli hair means diff 2 take care so they shave me clean.. in a way i m thankful cos nw little natural curl.. else nid 2 oways go rebonding.. haha..

as for breastfeeding.. i oso neva go sign up 4 de antenatal class cos supposed 2 start 5th mth when i was superbli busy w sch... so i guess i will be mummy trial n error le..

ask u all le.. u noe de teats we buy 4 de milk bottles.. i veri dumb dumb go try den realised they r nt punched.. so wat we used 2 punch de holes? muz buy those puncher or can use scissors cut?

Wow ... so many baby photos out already.

Wonder when is my turn...

Btw, I started on overseas spree for the medela bottles. Just went go to isetan to check the prices of the bottles ... see the price ... still decided to buy from US instead.

Bluey..hehe your clothes are getting looser?? mine are getting tighter that I gotto go hunt for bigger ones! hehe what are you teaching your maid to cook this week? Can I attend too? (who knows my cooking may be worse than hers hehehe)

PIYOZ: glad to hear that your little bb is ok! now u got the license to eat to your heart's content..dats good!

all your BB's look so adorable! Celeste..your little girl look so happi in the pic...

PB: wah...top student eh?? teacher's favourite too? How come our classes dun have curry puff to eat wan? only got mini cup of milk to drink..

haha oh my you've got stylo hair back then as a kid hor.. looks like two locks of hair coming down your forehead? sounds like your poppy will be very cute next time..now oredi full of character ah... mine has been doing stretching exercises today I think coz I keep feeling hard and quite painful jabs juz below my breast!

STAR XIN: hey my younger sis juz said the same thing to me..coz I've been having an upset stomach lately and I barely put on much this month (my weight gain was erratic.. I even put on 4kg in 4wks during the first trimester!) but no lah..dun think bb is coming out soon coz I'm barely 32wks now too!

r u sure the teats have no holes in them?? must go back and check the bottles I got...thought should have coz they are even labeled level 1 or 2 etc to indicate how fast flowing they are?

anyone tried ordering from babycenter before? wah wonder if it's possible to order a baby cot from US..shipping would probably kill right?

I have just delivered my baby in the early morning of 27 may08. Her weight was 2.1kg and is a 34weekers. She is currently in SCN. Guess i am the second to delivered in these thread...

Bluey,
may I know if the milk bottles you are ordering can fit ameda breast pump? Are they BFA free? Can thaw milk directly in boil water with BM in them (the plastic can stand the heat or not)?

sorry for so many questions as I couldn't find the answer in the webbies you provided... Considering to get some for standby.

Chloegal,
CONGRATS!!! You are the 3rd in our thread, after Jmon and Jaslyn.
since bb weight >2kg, think you can go home together with bb soon right?

Chloegal
congrats to u.....

it seem that most of the bb r popping as early as their due date .....so scary .....i afraid i might be the next one how how?????

aiyo ...

do1nk,you more "crazy" than me. Shipping a baby cot over?

My hubby always say I crazy one ... dunno why must i buy things from US. But after he see the price of the breastpump in Singapore, he "zip" his mouth already.

The teats should have holes one. Last time I also do the same thing to my avent teats for #1.
Then realised that the teats are designed this way.
I keep thinking it was those days when my mom used to cut a cross for the teats of my brother.

do1nk

can buy the teats hole puncher from Farlin. quite easy to use.

funny, i joined a 2006 thread a few yrs ago and i was the earliest to pop at 38 weeks.

the babies in this thread are real impatient and very eager to see this world !! eheh

do1nk.. hee.. i tried sucking but no feeling lei...maybe i dun noe hw 2 suck.. but de pt abt sizes reminds me.. if no holes den y nid buy different sizes... hee.. tink i beta go chk.. maybe u oso can go chk urs.. hee..

congrats to chloegal.. waiting 2 hear ur story soon!

Jaslyn,
I see a bit of curly hair very pretty okies. Got a fren her ger got those wavy slight curls very pretty!

Haha...my ger's hair hor...u noe...i comb liowz she roll a while on the floor then messy again! *lol*
I also told my mom my ger next time need rebonding cos her hair very thick not so nice...rebond liowz will look nicer

PB,
u look so cute in the picture...hehe...like a bit grouchy...ur mom dont want to give u sweets? Hehe

Chloegal,
congrats

Chloegal,

our thread got so many mummies delivered before edd...

i was experiencing some this morning, and by the time i was at my work place i got a little breathless during the contractions one hour apart, felt mild pain but lower part of body was feeling so sore, so i decided to go labour ward just to check it out.

as i was lying there comfortably with the CTG strapped on, baby's heartbeat was great and had a couple of contractions but still far apart and cervix's still closed(i hate the VE check), so no worries just monitor for time being.

only while i was walking back to office felt the contraction again, seems like a little exertion will bring about the pain.

Should be quite soon. Think my bad cough have caused my cervix to dilate earlier and faster.

In the early morning of 27 may, when i just reach home from my mom's place, i started sneezing and then i feel somthing flowing out from below, at first i just thought that it was my weak bladder due to pregnancy as i was already having the same sympton in the morning. But i was wrong, when i went to the toilet, i found blood on my panty liner and so i quickly took a quick bath and proceed to KKH.

They do CTG for me and found that i am having some contraction and inform Dr Han immediately. A check by the midwife show that i am 3cm dilated. Dr Han arrive around 20mins later and a check show that i was already 5cm dilated. He immediately make the decision to cut the stitch for me. Another check show that i was already 6cm and is dilating fast. Dr Han told my hubby that my labour will be a very fast one and true enough within 1/2hrs my baby is born. But i still have a hard time pushing... but lucky with the help and support of Dr Han and the midwife, i manage to do....

Mine expected to delivered early due to my incompetence cervix. A stitch is needed to prevent my cervix from dilating as early as 22wks. I was luck to be able to hold till 34 wks. But what happen to Jaslyn? What is her bb's weight and gestation?

CONGRATS chloegal! This is your 3rd baby right? it was indeed very fast! wish we first timers could have quickie births too..wat stitch did they cut for you though?

CONTRACTIONS: so fiona...wat did they feel like? Bad cramps?

wah all this early popping is making me more nervous too! i'm not supposed to be due til 2 months later leh!

Celeste, curly hair babies are very cute and it's nice to have nice waves when you grow up next time leh... I wish mine was more curly too and not so flat n thin..wanna perm my hair again after delivering...if only it remained naturally curly...

Bluey..haha I'm getting desperate lah..n the cot I like is so much cheaper overseas! but shipping may juz kill since it's not gonna be small and light... dunno..must explore this option more..

haha I think you are right...it was our mother's time where teats had to be cut

star xin u even funnier...u tried sucking on your baby's bottle? hehe okie tonite I go home n see...

chloegal
congrats! wow your labour was indeed very fast!!

do1nk
haha ya lor. so happening my hairstyle. i love the facial expression though keke

celeste
dunno man. i think must be just dio meh or what cos i look very guilty

re: bad eyesight
aiyoh mummies. you know we were talking about eyesight some time ago and were saying how our eyesights have become bad since pregnancy? my colleague came over to ask me something and said 'eh how come your monitor so jialat ah? like double vision?'. and i realised that it was NOT because of my bad eyesight. it's the monitor problem!!!!!!! argh!!!!! how many months i have tahan-ed it??!!