(2008/07) July 2008

SY,
ya my gynae told me the same thing. Say many people have the misconseption that the longer the baby in the tummy the better. She said as long as after 34 weeks, if they feel that the baby is not absorbing the nutrients and growth well then they will rather deliver the baby and "beef" up the baby outside.

Pink Bunny,
Never strike ar.. nvm, next time ba when i had another dream with numbers.

lbt,
my complexion for #1 is so much radient than #2 but still same gender. Guess it's just myth ba.

here is the pic of my ger (jie jie)
1451632.jpg

Ooooh Jaslyn,
So pretty! Can already see that Jie Jie has big eyes and double eyelids. Mei Mei is so tiny and cute! And both have delicately fine features like those 'si da mei ren'. Guess they take after you, huh

Pinkbunny
A lot of people will have a lot of things to say. There will probably be even more after baby is born. So just stick to what you want and believe and nod and smile to the others. That will make life easier. A lot of people have very good intentions, it's just that they do not realise that what they say may not always be helpful or useful. But once in a while someone might actually say something constructive so just keep and open mind about it all, k? Don't worry, when it comes to actual labour and delivery, poppy will help you, and you will have all the experts (gynae, midwife, nurses) with you so you don't have to worry about anything

Delivery room rules
Does anyone know if there are any rules like 'no kids in the delivery room'? I would like to have #1 with me, just wondering if that's allowed?

Re weight gain
I think I've gained 13kg so far.

Jaslyn

hey your gals are VERY VERY VERY PRETTY !! and both have double eyelids and big eyes leh !!!

and they look so alike .. i thought they were the same baby !!

btw are u and ur hubby chinese ?

i just had my gynae appt this morning, overall i gained 900gm over the past 2 weeks but baby gained ard 1.2kg, seems like his absorbing more than me, which is good news.

jaslyn,
your gals very pretty leh, eyes going to be big big

serene,
what SY said is true, always give discount to whatever comes out of a man's mouth, they can't think far. but i would hold on to my newborn tightly so nobody else can carry lor...hahaha. just smile sweetly but firmly say, "i'll carry the baby" when it's time for discharge :p

re: cord blood
i'll be donating to the public cord bank, done the initial screening test with the coordinator alrdy.

PB,
choose only the good things to listen to, try to hang around with friends who give positive feedback and who are encouraging. there are just too many ppl out there who's too eagered to tell ppl what to do, so we can only try to ignore them hahaha...

Jaslyn
wow your little princesses very pretty even mei mei didn't open her eyes but from the line i can see her eyes also big.

lbt
hehe.. thanks!!
they r identical twins cos shaing one placenta..
I also trying my best to find their difference..
cos now they cots got their names so I know.. haha..

yep.. both of us r chinese.. y?

Fiona
thanks!!!

Catherine
ya their body also got hair..
my hubby say they r so hairy.. haha..

blurmummy
ya lor..
cant really catch mei mei opening eyes..
she sleeps the whole day..

wah...your girls look so sweet and adorable...your heart must have melted when they were out...

PB, think you are right..I'll juz ask gynae for estimated weight even if she doesn't do the scan next visit..

BREAST PUMPS: how did you girls pick your choice? avent, ameda, medela..

our thread's moving so fast, it's hard to go backwards to look for info huh.. or am I the only 'pa-jiao' one?

original ruyee oil: is it the one wiv two oranges or two ships?

klorane dry shampoo: how much is it selling @ guardian? I juz got a bottle from a toiletries shop @ raffles exchange for $11.60

jaslyn

cos ur gals dont look very chinese

dont worry their body and facial hair will drop. My ger was v hair at birth too.

good morning. I'm a mummy from the April thread. I stored my baby's cord blood with StemCord and have a $150 Voucher to give away (FOC). <font color="0000ff">If you're also thinking of banking your baby's cord blood and keen to have the voucher, do PM me.</font>

Dear Jaslyn, <font color="ff0000">Heartiest Congratulations to you on your twin bundle of Joy!</font> I've a close friend who delivered her twin girls 2 months premature 2 years ago due to twin to twin transfusion. Their birth weight was only 1.8kg and 1.6kg respectively and were in NICU and Special Care Unit for 3 months! But now, they are are growing very well (and very lively too!) See their picture and you'll agree:

1451729.jpg

Hope you'll be encouraged! Jia You! If you'll like to talk to my friend, I'll be happy to link both of you up!

Do1nk,
the original ru yee oil is 2 oranges one. Also the dry shampoo selling at guardian is at 11.90 after 20% discount.

lbt/jaslyn,
think that is not called hair, it is another word but suddenly just slip off my mind of what is that called. But as lbt mentioned, it will drop eventually.

jaslyn
your gals are pretty. so much hair.....nice...
how do u differentiate them? now when i look at my photos of me and my sis, we can't differentiate ourselves sometimes!

youpi
i also wondering whether i can have #1 with me. sigh really worried when i stay in hospital.

baby hair on body = lanugo

thanks 3D! will look out for 2 oranges :D

falling asleep from reading up on breast pumps...

breast pump ... medela is good ... just that a bit expensive.

Just back from hospital ... baby gain weight @ 2.1kg now and me lost 0.5kg

Get tired easily nowadays.

bluey

so good u lost wt ! ahha it never happens to me !
how many weeks are u now ?

do1nk

i still LOVVVEEEE PIS .. but dont think will buy .. too ex. what if I stop at 2 ???

may want to borrow .. but dunno from who.

lbt
oic.. hehe
oh.. they hair will drop..
okok..

angel
thanks for ur encouragement!!
ur friend's ger r so pretty!!

SY
haha..
I cant differentiate then now..
look that their names on bb's cots..
really must find some thing to differentiate them fast.. haha..
oh.. very difficult to differentiate hor..

delphine
oic.. still got name one ah..

do1nk
oic.. very difficult to pronounce leh the name...

lbt,

I am 34 weeks now.
You can buy the PIS, then after you done with it, sell it off.
You price it reasonably, sure have ppl buy from you one.

Re complexion
2nd trimester I was radiant. Now skin become dull again and very oily! Hehe.

Jaslyn
Your princesses are adorable! Got so much hair!!! And they really do look alike! Got special birth mark or mole somewhere to differentiate or not? So if nurses swop cots then you cannot tell them apart liao? hehe

Youpi
Yup I’m adopting the ‘heavy filtering method’ now hehe. Selective listening. Hey will having your DS in the delivery suite with you make you more kanchiong? Like you and hubby have to give attention to him too, and cannot focus on #2? Just my kaypoh 2 cents

Do1nk
Klorane I think it’s $12.60 before 20% off. Ru yi you – I was already sitting comfortably in the computer chair then got up to walk to poppy’s room to check for you ah. Touched or not? Mine got 2 oranges one

Re sleeping positions
Ok today at yoga class someone asked why must sleep on left side. That one we all know already right, girls? But why it is advised not to sleep on back for too long – baby’s weight is pressing on spine at the exact area where a lot of nerves are, and those nerves are part of the central nervous system that connects to different parts of our body. So compressing them makes them not function as well, and whatever part that is pressed on will affect the corresponding part of our bodies. Ok my explanation is not so good but when she explained I was like ‘ohhh…. Ya hor’. Hehe.

bluey

maybe not .. PIS too ex leh ..

and this time I target full BF for 6 mths .. dunno can handle 2 kids or not ?

Jas
both ur gals got so much hair do u intend to shave their hair during their full mth? i told my mum that i will shave my bb gal hair when she full mth

re pump
i love PIS too. big supporter of it...

re bb hair
my son was born really hairy. we alwyas say he is like a little monkey. he is still pretty hairy now. he din drop much of the hair actually. u know they say how bb will drop hair at 4-5 months? he din drop. i hope my gal won't be so hairy like him....

Serene

my gal was born with black luxurious hair and I dont bear to shave it off. after shave off, it doesnt promise better hair hor .. cos my niece was like that. In fact it was v thick.

i just trim a bit of my gal's hair at full mth.

serene
why do u wan to shave your gal's hair? some pple shave cos of tradition or pantang. like lbt, i refused to shave my boy's hair at full month. only cut a bit for keepsake.

serene

ppl shave at either full mth of 4th mth.
some babies grow their hair very unevenly, so patches of hair here and there ... then they shave. Else I rather not, esp for gals !!

LBT: have you tried the PIS before but dun own it? You borrowed from someone ah? which pump do you currently have?

what do you girls think of buying 2nd hand ones to save $$ (juz get new spare parts)?

electric would be faster and easier than manual right? some say get dual so can work both sides at one go, some say you need a free hand to massage so get single?

PB: haha thanks eh.. didn't want you to sit too long at the pc anyway hehe =p

SHAVING BB's HAIR: some do it so that the hair would grow more evenly and thicker after the 4-5mth old shedding right? but I guess if you decide to shave, better to do it earlier than later..so bb hair can grow back faster..otherwise you have a botak one year old..(worse if it's a girl?) hehehe not sure if I would or not..see if his hair will drop badly or not..

CIRCUMCISION: what about this? for those having boys? who's gonna do it? sounds painful man

do1nk

yes was using my friend's PIS for my #1. returned to her cos her SIL wants to use.

that time i owned a Medela dual electric and old model of Avent manual.

in fact, my friend is the 3rd owner of the PIS. She bgt it from somone else and the pump is still in good condition. I use my own Medela parts such as funnels etc.

do1nk
re circumcision, i think there is a portion in the birth plan also for you to indicate if you want your boy to be snipped. up to you la. i think if i had a son i would do it. and do it early.

re breast pumps, i think it's personal preference. personally i didn't go for an electric because 1. price 2. i didn't want to risk wasting the money in case i didn't have enough supply (CHOY!!!!) 3. i only intend to have 1 child (so cannot make use of economies of scale) 4. it's quite noisy (i was with my friend who was using hers and it really sounded like a lawn mower)

re full month
hehe that hot topic is gone liao suddenly. ok we've decided that we will put together our own boxes. rope in my family to help. in the box (we'll have about 50):

ang ku kuehs (mum will buy)
red eggs (dyed on our own!)
glutinious rice (buy from where, anyone knows?)
cupcakes (from my favourite chin mee chin)

plain boxes cost about 30 cents each, and my sister will personalise the box by printing a sticker with poppy's photo and all her details.

i'm a sucker for personalised things and being different hehe

PB

remember dual pump can helps in est supply cos u trick body as if u r having twins. so ur worry abt not enough supply can be solve by owning one electric pump.

circumcision 's for hygiene purposes right? but may cause discomfort to the little boy right as he grows up too?

wah DIY full month cakes... didn't know chin mee chin sells cupcakes..only recall their egg tarts and those eclairs...wah i suddenly feel like eating egg tarts...

Bluey.. your freestyle PIS seems tempting...is it noisy like a lawnmower? very efficient and quick and easy to use?

SY/Ibt
i think it traditional those ppl at the temple told me bb hair is called "tai mao" not clean n it not gd for the bb, i also dun wish to shave at four mth coz it quite near to chinese new year liao ....

my mum told me last time she also shave my hair n eyebrown than after which she apply martell on my hair than my hair grew v nicely

ya you are right lbt..everyone is telling me dat it's a demand-supply thingy...juz keep perservering and pumping non stop and the milk will flow... hope I can when the time comes...

wah serene...you mom shaved you totally? haha.. for me it's more for the hair to grow back nicely rather than religion...so will see if my baby goes botak or not next time...

full month
i was asking my hubby ytd he also dun noe coz it seem that we got one whole list of guests, relatives n friends to invite ....sigh

do1nk
ok to buy 2nd hand ones then just change the parts that u come into contact with.

it's not true that shaving bb's hair will mkae it thicker and nicer leh. i have frens who tried and it din work.

i did think of doing circumcision for my boy but after asking ard, decide not to. cos no medical reason to and it really depends on whether the foreskin is making it hard to keep clean. and on the advice of a malay colleague, unless u do it like within the first month or early days, dun bother to do it once they start to get active. u need them to be able to keep still after doing it.

PB
PIS is super quiet. the one that is noisy is the medela mini.

Serene

i would not try it man ...

like what SY says, it is not proven u have better hair after that.

SY

ya my nephew has his done on the 2nd day after he was born. guess it's a difficult decision ya ?