(2008/07) July 2008

morning ladies

Jaslyn,
congrats on your princesses. Take gd care now yah?

PB,
u want to feel high on the luffing gas? Haha...its really high okies? I think i was still a bit groggy like 1-2 hrs after delivery. I still remember i gave birth at 6+am. Gynae dropped by to visit me at bout 8am or wat and ask me got come down and walk anot...i was telling him i still "mabok" from the luffing gas..think i inhale too much *lol*

re bed for CL
i also getting mattress for her. i told her upfront that i m getting a mattress for her. good to let her know upfront. my mum told me her neighbour's daughter CL insisted on a bed when she reached their place...

do1nk
is it nec to get a bb cot? now i find that it takes up a lot of space. in fact i always tell pple dun waste money. get a good bb mattress and put on the floor. more flexible on the sleeping arrangement. then can switch to toddler bed when they older.

Re : BF baby
If you are deliverying in TMC...dont worry...the nurses super onz one. Immediately after delivery still in the labour ward the nurse oledi ask me wanna BF a bit first anot *lol*...i told her no lah..cos i still so blur n high from the gas *lol*
Then middle of the nite they also push bb in to ask u BF one...haha

I am from March thread. I haf a few DOM to let go at $35, originally at $43.10 ( DFS price ). Sms me at 9746 1185 if you are interested.

DoggieBB: you are so cute! haha! but I'm so glad..you made me feel more relieved..you know I was so terrified that I actually burst into tears after they inserted that needle into my hand before I went for my surgery previously..so malu....

PB & 3D: maybe you two had some kinda connection in your past life huh..maybe you were twins? hehe

BB COT: Dun wanna risk my bb being trampled on (by humans or dog) if I put him on a mattress on the floor...so I'm looking for a sturdy cot which can be converted into a toddler's bed as he grows up..some people prefer playpens as it's broader and can be converted into a play area too?

okok OG Is one place I have stepped into like 2 or 3 times only..looks like I must now venture there in search for the ideal baby cot...

what's for lunch ladies?

haha celeste yes! i've always regretted not trying space cakes in amsterdam hehe.

oh but if we are mabok, will that pass on to baby when BF? mabok baby?

PB,
No lah...wont mabok bb one lehz...or at least nobody told me it will have impact on bb yet...anyway when u first time BF its only a bit of colostrum...nothing much passed to bb for first feed...and bb prob suckle like 5mins on each side only

Re : Mommies with more than one child
Have you all thought of which bank (Standard Chartered or OCBC) for ur child's CDA account?

Re : BB Cot
I think if its the first bb then no pets at home prob can let bb sleep on mattress on the floor. For my case I oledi have bb cot from #1, will use it for #2 then #1 sleep on mattress on the floor. Otherwise scared #1 accidentally trample on #2.

Celeste Blur,
Thanks for bringing up this CDA thingy. I was just asking hb about it this morning. Very blur about it. Someone or other is supposed to have sent us letters about it, issit? I have not received anything. Do our firstborns have a CDA?

celeste

oh ya .. I haven compare the interest rates of these two banks yet.

someone was asking for hospitalisation insurance right ? Newborns from Dec 2007 onwards are covered automatically under Aviva shield. I think it is FOC is it ???

Re: BB cot
#1 never slept in the cot and we ended up co-sleeping till now. We converted the cot into the toddler bed hoping that he would be tempted to sleep in it but that didn't work. So we're going to convert it back into a cot for #2 to hang out in safely. But at night #2 will probably co-sleep with me and #1 on the same bed for easier bfg access.

Re: Epidural & episiotomy
Both start with 'epi' and have roused lots of controversy over the decades! Anyway I had both and I think the epidural helped relax me so that my cervix opened up 8cm within 2-3 hours. Before that I was at 1.5-2cm for the whole day... I am hoping to go without this time, but dunno whether I can tahan... wait and see, and go with the flow lor...

Delphine
Jie Jie name: Xin Hui, Jerlene (2.065kg)
Mei Mei name: Xin Yi, Jernelle (1.585kg)
what other info u need??
pics coming in soon as hubby reduce size
cos I computer idiot.. haha..

lbt
cos my twins r sharing one placenta
then will have higher chance of twin to twin transfusion..
and then mei mei has low fluid level and small in size for bb at 34 weeks...
so gynea say abit dangerous..
so he ask me to deliver them early...

Fiona
I will

Serene
I also hope both of them can go home faster..
ya.. started confinement liao cos at home..
engage CL but I gave birth too early..
she only available next week...
so my mum doing for me lor..

garfield
ya excited.. hoping for them to come back..
its natural to be scared..
the night b4 I also cant sleep..

Celeste
thanks! I will..

youpi,

first child doesn't have cda account. from 2nd child onwards only.

some1 is bugging me to move no.1 out from my room as soon as I can... now my no.1 sleep in playpen in my rm... but i no other rm except maid room...

dun wan him to sleep in same rm as maid ley... but no. 2 can sleep in our rm? rm not big enough ley... i can't put them together in same playpen... sure no.1 step on the small one 1... hiaz... headache.

Garfield,
Oic, thanks for clarifying. I'll go online and start researching the two banks' offers then.

Maybe #1 can continue to sleep in the playpen, and #2 can sleep with you on your bed? Or the other way round?

Jaslyn,
You've picked nice names for your two princesses

How big are you?
Remembering how PB measured her tummy with the Ikea ruler, I tried that yesterday. The ends could not meet! There was a one-inch gap. My stomach is huge and pointed. Met my friend's mum and she took one look and said, "Boy, right?"

youpi,
firstborn dont have CDA only cash gift of 3k. 2nd born is cash gift 3k plus max of contribution 6k from govt. But you must put in 6k for your 2nd child CDA account first before garment match the 6k. So total u will have 12k

As for letter I think they will only send after we have delivered?

lbt,
I saw OCBC got 2.05% and standchart is 2% interest. Standchart cap at 25k max in your child's CDA account. OCBC I havent read yet.

Jaslyn,
ur princesses have very nice names

wow just receive a letter from TMC saying that my gynae already help me make a reservation on my behalf. Now must fill up the pre-admission registration form and send back to them. This is to help them prepare my record so that they can reduce the time on the day of my admission.

youpi

such a coincidence ! i was measuring my tummy with the ikea ruler just now. My col told me it is still a 2 inch apart !! so I am like 43 inch big !! cant imagine ...

eh my col also insist mine is a boy ! ahahah

celeste

tks for the info !! need to research soon. however I have bad experience with Stanchart. I have an e-savers account for my gal and they keep reducing the interest rate !! so pissed off with them. wonder if they will do the same for the baby bonus account.

Celeste, OCBC does not seem to have a cap on the amount...

(from their websites):

OCBC:
Promotional rate of 2.05% p.a. for CDA will be valid from 1 August 2008 to 30 September 2008. Thereafter, interest rate for CDA will be set at 1% p.a. or a rate to be determined by the Bank having regard to prevailing market conditions. Promotional interest rates are subject to change without prior notice

StanChart:
2% p.a. interest rate applies to a maximum deposit balance of $25,000 in the CDA. 1% p.a. interest rate will apply to deposit balances that exceed $25,000 in the CDA. These interest rates will be valid from 1 August 2008 to 30 September 2008. After 30 September 2008, 1% p.a. or an interest rate that is set by the Bank based on prevailing market interest rates will apply to the full deposit balance in the CDA. The Bank reserves the right to revise interest rates at its sole and absolute discretion at any time without notice.

re CDA
i think prob will put in OCBC. more convenient as more branches ard. anyway i have accts with both so both also ok....

garfield
i m thinking of putting 2 in my room! hb prob will not agree but i will still try to push for it. then when #2 is older, i will move both out together...

SY

same as me ! my #1 and #2 will be sleeping in same room as me, each of them in their own play pen. Then move them out together, no arguments eheh

lbt
u can put 2 playpen in your room? your room must be big. i will have one big mattress and one small mattress. then no space to walk liao....actually my bed is big but dunno whether wan to put #2 on my bed to sleep with me. scared #1 will wan to sleep on my bed if i do that.

Placement of kid and bb
For me, I will let #1 to sleep with me and hubby as usual and #2 in the play pen. Just that when doing night feeding, a bit ley chey cos need to crawl from bed to playpen to feed. Last time when only have #1, just let her sleep with me and pull up my shirt and Viola, she got her milk.

lbt, youpi
But even if no cap hor...I read that if you put in the $ liowz you will not be able to withdraw it out except for those approved thingy like childcare, kindergarten fees etc. So if put in a lot also not worth it
I tink i prob stick to putting just 6k since govt match 6k for 2nd child

delphine

aiyo no such suprised pls ! hahaah

SY

hmm room not big leh .. normal SK 5 rm flat.
But can still squeeze in 2 playpens on the right side of my master bed.

probably it is the layout of the room and your furniture ?

celeste

actually we have until when the child turns 6 yrs old to put the money in right ? so for a start u can say put 1K first .. so we have 2K to expend.

jaslyn, congrats!!! 34 weeks is quite good for twins right? rest well rest well, once they come home you'll really have your hands (and breasts!) full !

lbt, SY,

if no 2 screams n cries, wun no.1 wake up too? tat wat bothers me... cos my no.1 is still small ah... less than 2 yrs old by the time no.2 is out.

then putting 2 playpens in my room... not sure it possible cos then no where to walk liao.

celeste, i heard from my collegue tat the cda accoutn though match 6k, but there a cap each yr....

so it 1 K matching per yr until she/he is 6 yrs old, so total 6k... which mean if u put 2 k in the first yr, they only match 1K cos cap.

anyone can agree w this?? cos i never read abt this b4.

last nite my mil just told my hubby that when me n bb discharge fm hospital she would wan to follow us n carry the bb home for us... i was pissed off coz she cant even walk properly need an umbrela to support her already than she wan to carry bb home .... i was unhappy n told my hubby ur mum herself cant even walk properly liao still wan to carry bb home ....i was unhappy when she pass my hubby this message

Space cakes PB? what are those? Like the magic mushrooms huh? hehe

LBT: I was asking abt BB hospital cover..this aviva one is if the parent has some aviva healthshield cover right? it auto covers the BB up to age 20 right? so will cover everything under the sun but has the usual co-insurance and deductible?

serene
dun bother too much abt what all these old folks say. one ear in one ear out. after some time u will learn this trick.

garfield

pick #2 up when he/she cries immediately ? ahaha dunno leh... #1 must get used to it..

do1nk
yes me and my hubby are both covered so my #1 and #2 is now covered for FOC.

the default plan do not include co-insurance and deductible. I opted for the rider to include the co-insurance part. Deductible will still be payable, once a year (even if hospitalised > once per year).

garfield
thanks!!

youpi and Celeste
thanks!! hehe..

SY
so qiao. hehe..
chinese or english name??

Serene
I manage to prepare for delivery..
cos I started packing and wash bbs clothes early..
but for my CL I told her mid june..
but then now become en may.. so she could only come next wk..

dustee
thanks! yep.. will rest well.. haha
yep.. my gynea say after 32 weeks for twins will have little risk liao..
but then still not heavy enough lor..

jaslyn
congrats!! hope your princesses will go home with you soon. meanwhile just relax and enjoy your confinement yah.

3D
haha.. my room got limited space too. i will also need to CRAWL from bed to playpen to feed my #2 if she cries. #1 is light sleeper, hopefully he can gets used to #2 crying lor..

will #1 disturb #2 ???
heard from many experinced mummies that young #1 (especially <2 yrs) will usually disturb #2. so when both are at home, i was advised to separate them during day time (#1 most active time).

my mum told me that my elder bro whacked me with his car toys when i was a baby sleeping in sarong... haha...

dor dor
thanks for the position tips, seems method #2 - #4 are the simpliest.
ohhh.. cannot cross legs arh.. i've been doing that... OOPS!

CONGRATS JASLYN!!!! Must be very happy to see your princesses!!

I went for my 35th week checkup last night. Gynae said bb not putting on enough weight. Must go detailed scan at TMC tmr..... sad and stressed for whole of today. Just hope that everything goes well for my little one!!!

jaslyn
chinese name. and u know what's even funnier? i know a pair of sis who has the same names but xinyi is the elder one and xinhui is the younger one. but they are not twins

sonic
i also cross legs a lot. maybe that's why always get that numb numb feeling

sonic
thanks!!
I hope so too!

piyo
hehe.. ya very happy..
but also xin tong see them like that..
dun worry k..
I understand what r u going through..
ur bb will be fine..
relax.. too stress and sad not gd for bb..

SY
oic..
aiyo..
so qiao! haha..
I guess the names my grandfather choose are quite common.. hehe..

Jaslyn

do u feel so much lighter now that ur princesses are out ? ahha cant imagine I carry twins leh .. I oredi feel very heavy nowadays.

SY
in fact i dun actually like mil coz lately she in poor health been always sick than she would poke into all matter regards small or big issues i'm so scare she might pass the germs to my bb by carrying her ...
only lately i got to learn my hubby that she got hep B leh i was so shocked .....nw dun dare to share food with her liao

piyoz ..

i rem my #1 gain v little wt during last few weeks too and hence her birth wt was only 2.44kg. However gynae did not raise any alarm cos too him, 2.44 is also a good wt for natural birth ahaha he v positive hor ?

so you dont worry too .. we still got a few more weeks to go

serene
could it be that ur MIL is just a carrier ?

jaslyn,

your gals are of good weight for twins!! they'll be able to go home soon. Looking forward to seeing their pics here =) Do they look more like you or daddy?

after gynae visit, my hb started thinking of what went wrong/ why bb not growing.... then started to say I carry too heavy things, I must have eaten the wrong things. Suddenly, I felt like I'm such a lousy mummy.

keeping myself busy today, so that not much free time to think too much. If not, start crying again.... last night, I can't sleep. Cried buckets!!!

piyoz

i think during the detailed scan, they will look for white spots in ur placenta. these white spots are calcium deposits and that also means the placenta is ageing.

i think this is not your fault .. sometimes we dont know how our body function. meanwhile u shld remain cheerful and try to take more beef and durians ? but not too much durians, wait too heaty for u also.