(2008/07) July 2008

do1nk
hee dun think too much. like what PB says, everyone has different experience. and no matter how prepared u r, the whole experience will still be different.

i cant really remmeber but i think they put bb on my chest pretty soon after he was out. cleaned him up and gynae was stitching me during that time. i told them beforehand that i wan to bf and when bb is out, i want to try latching. some hospitals may not bring bb to u after u give birth if u dun instruct in advnace. that's what my fren told me cos she din get to see hers till a few hours later. so she told me to tell them that i wan to latch after giving birth.

yeah your gynae will stitch u and make sure placenta removed.

jaslyn
congrats!!! how are they doing? what's their weight? both shd be doing well?

CONGRATS Jaslyn!! Hope it all went smoothly..c-sec + epi = you were conscious all the way right?

I have a friend who went for c-sec for her twin girls the sunday before! Anyway you rest well at home..so you are in tip top condition when your girls come home ok? have you picked names for them?

Doggiebb..how early did you ask for epi? was yours induced or did you have contractions/waterbag burst? so with epidural you didn't feel a thing? Had no problems pushing? or did they reduce the dosage so you could feel the contractions and push?

okok I think I better stop asking so much..no wonder my mom say ignorance sometimes is bliss..haha

eh girls. i just checked and i have 86 days of maternity leave! alamak i didn't know there was 56 of maternity, and then + 30 days of extended maternity leave. hehe shiok.

do1nk
i think the most impt thing is to know your options. like what pain relief is available etc. everyone's scenario will be different. and pain tolerance also different. who knows, maybe u dun even need epi..

jaslyn
did u try breastfeeding them? must try to pump if u going to breastfed.

PB
it's 12 weeks of maternity leave. that's 60 working days. u mean u have extra? the 86 days refers to working days or add in weekends/PH?

i know some companies give 3 months exact but most give 12 weeks exact.

Thanks SY and do1nk!!!

SY
they r doing fine..just need to stay till they r heavier..
jie jie is 2.065kg and mei mei is 1.585kg..

do1nk
yep.. everything went smoothly..
yep.. I was conscious all the way..
was quite surprised that I can do that..
at 1st wana opt for GA..
but then bu fang xin and want to see them both well so opt for epi..

PB

if u bb is engaged u will know. It's like a ball in between your legs, very uncomfy one. Just imagine ehehhe

do1nk

in fact with epidural, u dilate faster. U dilate faster when you are more relaxed.

Jaslyn

congrats !!!!!!!!!

got pics of your princesses ??

do1nk
ya if u want to BF, must rem to tell the nurse to let the bb latch on you once they are doing with the initial cleaning. After that they will send the bb to thorough cleaning and smells nice nice before they send it to you again. .. why I make it sounds like car wash ?

PB
during delivery or when u are admited into the ward u can just highlight to the nurses. not really your gynae lah cos he will be stitching u whereas it's the nurses who are cleaning u. the whole labor process so long, u sure got chance to tell the nurses attending to u.

jaslyn
try to express every 3 hours. must build up supply.

PB
u have so many days of ML? wow..got extra is it?

congrats to jaslyn n thanks to labbit for the file on delivery bag.. after reading from all of u, i feel so superbli ignorant and unprepared.. time to readi get ready liao, i tink.. thanks so much..

Wow, so many posts to catch up with... I went to Ikea Tampines today to look at sofabeds. Need to get something for CL to sleep in. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Jaslyn,
Congrats! Thought you might have given birth when you didn't appear on the forum for so long

Nursing baby after birth
If you state in your birth plan that you want to do total breastfeeding, they will write it on a card on the plastic capsule that the babies sleep in. You can also write in your birth plan that you want baby to to given to you to nurse immediately after birth.

SY
ya lor.. the NICU nurse also told me that..
trying to do that now..
cos need to feed 2 ah..

lbt
yep.. I have a pic of jie jie.. hehe..
but will post after hubby reduce the size cos cant upload..

Phyllis
bbs have to stay in NICU..
cant go back yet..

star_xin

youpi
ya lor..
got admitted on 22/5 for checkup..
then gynea say cant wait liao..

youpi
when exactly do we give birth plan? and to who? when we get admitted?

re beds
sofa beds are for occasional use. so sleeping on it for 1 month may not be very comfy for her. if price is a concern, this one is pretty ok:
http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/product_display.asp?id=1923

if you intend to keep to put in guest room:
http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/product_display.asp?id=3147

if it's solely for CL use and you don't intend to keep it, this does the trick (bed):
http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/product_display.asp?id=55

labbit
hmmm. a bola... i don't think i feel that but it's very sng ler. haha car wash.

today my boss asked me 'how's your back?'. how to tell him it's not my back that's bothering me, but my groin area. so i just said hanging in there lor.

SY
not sure. the leave system just said 56 days of ML, 30 days of extended ML. but the 30 days i have to go and prove with birth cert then i can claim. so i guess that will be the day that i will bring poppy to say hi to all the aunties and uncles. and maybe deliver cake?

updates!
yay today her towels dry liao. so fold and keep, and nappies are hanging out to dry liao. thanks to napisan. hehe

girls, girls... i felt my stomach harden like 4 times in the past 2 hours.... too much? no pain, little discomfort. think i go to sleep la

Jaslyn,
Congrats! Must be very happy the moment you see your little princesses

Phyllis
In S'pore there is no water delivery

Youpi
One of my friend just lay the mattress on the floor let her CL sleep

Youpi
Ummmm I dun think they do delievery cos I asked a few times(try luck) but they all tell me to go Toa Payoh there to buy....hahaha
Since I'm going to get as well U went me to help u get then mail to u??
My friend told me they sell it in 1 set the petal massager n the small things umm not sure which....hehe
U PM me with ur contact then when I go n get I let u know. Should be these few weeks cos waiting for hubby to show me the place than I quickly drive down to get before my tummy gets too big....haha

SY
Dunno leh that was why I was surprised when I read it I mean so easy meh.....hahaha
I do sleep on my left sometimes cos my son is on my left BUT my bb is still headdown but facing my tummy....wrong direction leh.

do1nk
1) After bb is out think they will let hubby cut cord, show u bb then bring bb to weigh n clean up abit THEN give u to cuddle all the way till they take bb to nursery to wash.
2) Once bb out I am back to normal liao can start directing hubby which position to take bb's photos.....hahaha WHile my gynea was delivering my placenta feel abit of tug only.
Then they will jab u n stitch u up. I was abit scared of this part lah but I told myself I already gave birth liao wats stitching up right so I keep looking at bb n try to ignore my gynea stitching lah...hehe

Jaslyn
CONGRATS!!!

pinkbunny
I asked to BF my bb after I was stitched up. Think the nurses will also ask u if u wanna total BF or want them to help feed FM.

Hi Blurmummy,

There are some ppl who did water delivery. And i heard that NUH has a water delivery room. Although i know that its quite rare. But i wanna hear any advice on it cos i'm thinking if i can go for it.

Okie here it is

HOW TO ENCOURAGE UR BABY INTO THE BEST BIRTHING POSITION
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- Go on ur hands n knees, wiggle ur hips from side to side, or arch ur back like a cat, then drop ur spine down.
- Sit with ur knees lower than ur pelvis and ur body tilted slightly forwards(never cross ur legs)
- Kneel on the floor, over a beanbag or cushions
- Sleep on ur left side.
- Swim, using breaststroke, as it is thought to help because it opens ur pelvis.

Phyllis
Ya there are people who did water delivery but not in s'pore. I did attend the antenatal class and they also got mention that in S'pore there is no water delivery.

WATERBIRTH: I think I was also told that SG has leh...TMC too, if I'm not wrong.. Phyllis, if you are having a very smooth pregnancy, no complications nothing, think you can opt for it.. which hospital are you with now?

LBT: wah...si bei confusing I tell u.. some say take epidural will slow down the process and higher chance of having to end in c-sec, some say will speed up the dilation.. some tell my episiotomy better than tear, some say tear better than being cut.. haiz.. think I won't bother liao..juz go wiv the flow and decide on the spot lah haha

BABY COT: where else can I go to look at baby cots? I've been to kaki bukit, robinsons, mothercare, suntec... have not found the right one yet and getting desperate..

swollen feet?

Why Does Your Body Swell During Pregnancy?
Pregnancy puts a strain on the circulation in your lower body. This can cause excess fluid to collect, creating swollen feet, ankles and even varicose veins. Sitting for a long time at a desk, in a car or on a plane slows down the blood from your extremities to your heart even more.

The swelling usually worsens by the end of the day, and is most prevalent during the summer months.
Tips to Alleviate Swelling During Pregnancy
To reduce the swelling and help sooth your feet:
Lie on your left side when you sleep to relieve some of the pressure on your veins.
Put your feet up when ever possible.
Soak your feet in cool water.
Do not cross your legs or ankles when you sit.
Stretch your legs often when you do have to sit for extended periods. Rotate your ankles, stretch your calf and heal and wiggle your toes.
Drink water. This sounds counter intuitive, but the water actually helps your body function better, including retaining less water.
Wear comfortable shoes and avoid socks that have tight bands

last night had so much trouble falling asleep. got up 3 times to pee BEFORE actually going to sleep. then couldn't find a comfortable position cos back pain and butt cramp, then got the stomach hardening some more. and by the time i got comfy (with FIVE pillows + 1 bolster.... poor hubby had no pillow, he had to go borrow poppy's one), i realised i was hungry. kua kua kua....

re waterbirth
I went for TMC hospital tour
they have water birth but I think only one or two rooms only..
so they say subject to availability...

doInk

I was induced. so I had epidural very early on because with induction, the contractions come fast and furious, within the first hr, the contractions were already off the charts (i can see my contractions via this machine next to me and it was like charting off the paper already!) Geez! I laid there from 9am and 6pm before i gave birth but throughout i was watching TV! wahaha!

but at the end, think i didn't have too much strength left and the gynae had to assist with using suction pump. but all in all, it wasn't painful or scary. the most painful thing throughout the whole birth process was when they inserted the drip thingy onto the back of my hand! NOW THAT HURTS!

Gd Morning!
Aiyo now i know you all mistaken that the hospital pool is for water delivery. The pool is actually one of the pain relieve you can choose from before delivery but does not have much effect on strong contractions. when delivery time you still have to get out of the water.

Do1nk,
After your bb is born, the nurse will place the bb on your chest and show you the gender. After a while, in the delivery suite, they will roughly clean the bb and let hubby cut the cord (my hubby didn’t manage to do for #1). They will also take length and weight of the bb and jab the bb. (This process can be video tape down except for the injection part). Then after written the particular of the bb on 2 strips, they will have one strip on bb ankle and one strap on your wrist (to show you are the mummy of the bb).

While you are waiting for hospital room to be ready, this time you can breastfeed your bb while in the delivery suite. After transfer to your hospital room, they will took the bb for complete cleaning as well as tests needed to be taken.

Pink Bunny,
Yesterday, I had a dream of you in the delivery suite with me while I gave birth. Whaha, I remember my bb weight is 2.7kg but I didn’t manage to catch a glimpse of her. The labour is super short think only last 1 hour.
both of us fated to have one another in the dream .

youpi

i find that the sofa beds from Ikea v ex leh.
I rather buy good mattresses for CL if I am getting one.

jaslyn

one qn.. why u need to deliver ur baby so earlier ?

I have a friend who had twin boys under my gynae too but she deliver at a later stage.

PB

another thing is .. some bb only get engaged during delivery .. just like mine. So then I know how it uncomfy if I were to walk with a ball in between ahahha

re: BH contractions.

gynae says it will get more and more freq to prep our body for labour .. so dont worry ok ?
so did u slept well last nite ? ;)

do1nk

hahahahahaha i can imagine ur confused face after hearing so much abt it right !!! aiyah just leave it to the hands of the gynae , they know what is best for u.

just to share, my fren tear naturally during her 1st birth and it was terrible. She was suffering during the full 1 mth ! She was even bedridden during the 1st week of her confinement ... i rem she told me very very pain.

for us who got stitched by gynae, think we recover within 2-3 days.

jaslyn,
CONGRATS! so happy for you
Pls post their pics soon(but of course when you have the time ^^).

PB,
wow so good, you have so many days of ML? I have 56 + 28 calendar days of ML which means it includes weekends and PH bcos it counts as calendar days and not working days. and i have to fill up a "paid maternity declaration form" and submit to my HR before i get the extra 28 days of government paid ML. you can check out the website, www.maternityleave.gov.sg

re: epidural
i also had epidural and was wondering whether i can tahan with just the laughing gas or not.

re: water birth
TMC and NUH support water birth, but your gynae has to be one who's in for the idea as well.

re: water retention
what PB mentioned is right, you drink more water to reduce swelling bcos when your body detects that you don't have enough water, the brain will signal the body to retent water instead. now we need alot of fluid to maintain our volume in the water bag.

re: CL
me also putting a mattress(no extra bed) on the floor for CL and baby will sleep in the playpen with bassinet.

labbit
we were just kanchiong cos it felt like too many. anyway called the clinic and they said yup better come down just for check. if anything, for reassurance la. and the nurse said 'if you're working today, you'll get an MC'. ahhhhhh keke.

aiyah i really don't want any pictures taken DURING delivery either!

press my head down? OMG, like torture chamber!

PB

oh ya i too had v freq BH contractions. Anyway seeing gynae next tues. Will do a strep B test that day also.

oh nurses say u can push better when ur head is down, means chin down towards chest. got it ?

seem everybody talking abt birth experience i'm so scared as it the date getting nearer....

Jaslyn
congra .....hope both jie jie n mei mei can go home soon... Havr u start u confinement already ? did u engage any confinement lady ?

do1nk
u still sourcing for baby cot?? i saw a few at OG at albert complex quite nice price also reasonable. u shouldget it fast n air it coz new baby cot tend to have a smell....

Phyllis
If you mean the pool i can tell you more about it there is one at TMC. You have to pay extra $ for using the pool but your request will depend on whether available when admission. There is only one room at TMC have it so must try your luck

good morn!

Jas, congrats on your two princesses! u must be v excited now.

wow so fast soon, everyone will be popping... actually i still abit scare though i given birth b4...

labbit
ya understand. like showing major double chin? haha.

do1nk
i got one for babysitter from metro. $80 on sale. i think original price is $150 or something.

garfield
hehe i'm scared too but very excited! i cannot wait to see her face ler. but i keep telling her 'poppy, wait another 2-3 more weeks la ok? it's for your own good'. then i feel like uh oh. i'm talking like my mother, saying 'it's for your own good'. haha

and since i will be home the rest of the day, i will finally pack that hospital bag la! and fill up my birth plan

re insurance for babies
anyone got any recommendations?

delphine
you dreamt of me? ya la, we fated to meet in dreams la! 2.7kg, i am 29 this year... go buy 2729 for tonight's 4D la! keke

Sorry, mistaken the waterbirth as water delivery but i think most of u get wat i mean. thanks for the advice.

do1nk,
I'm at NUH. i know thru my frenz that NUH also have a room wif such pools.

Blurmummy,
i ever watch online re: waterbirth and it seems that u can still give birth in the waters without having to get out of it to deliver. I mean, its too difficult to move ard already having that contractions and maybe even the baby's head pushing to come out. But anyway, i'm gg to my obstetrician this 30th. i'll ask him more abt it.