(2008/07) July 2008

Re baby position
just wondering….. If baby does turn around when I did the exercise on one day but I won't know right (unless I have the ultrasound done on the spot)… then the next day I do the exercise again, baby gets the chance to turn back to sitting position lor.. how arh???

dry shampoo
but if it is in powder foam, the hair will all turn white liao. right?

and it say don get hand or hair damp,
if hair oily one how, the powder sure clump together.

seem messy lehz

JMON, i also bought the dry shampoo after a fren recommend... so it good? now got sale? hmm.. btw, one bottle can last how long? cos i intend to use during confinement.

Hi Delphine,
Mine is a #1, boy boy, staying in the east, am with Dr Koh Cheng Huat, delivering in Mt A. I m 28 as of EDD... hee.. sori 2 trouble u for the update..

do1nk ah

regarding episiotomy, i think the gynae will decide for you. but i think it is better than having it TEAR on its own. cos the wound may be bigger and irregular! *shivers*

and OH NO! i have not wash any of clothes for my bb boi yet! *run around in circles screaming*

do1nk
i was going to say the same thing. u can't realyl decide whehter u wan episiotomy or not.

doggiebb
it's ok i haven wash anything for my gal too! dun want to wash too early. scared dusty.

hehe i washed and folded and put in drawer liao. and last night i foleded her 'older clothes' into big ziplog bags and labelled them 6 mths, 9 mths, 12 mths and 'to bring to canada'. hehe. *proud face*

Steph,

I also often feel the rapid thumping.. is it really hiccups? i couldn't figure what it was but hubbi says maybe baby is playing...

s 4 de dry shampoo.. tink i m going to go get it too.. cos i also cannot don't shampoo my hair 4 even 1 day loh..

pinkie ah

okie okie! dun run dun run! *starts to twiddle thumbs*

so haolian huh! hrrmpz!

err..the dry shampoo hor....*glupz* makes the hair even oilier and stickier *shudders* the last round i tahan for 5 days without shower, cos i was in air con room 24x7 and survived by tying my hair into a tight tight bun at the back of my head. no see, no touch so no gross! wahahah! after that my CL prepared the herbal water for me to bathe. it was SHIOK!

like star_xin says.. is it really hiccups? feel kinda "violent" to be hiccups leh.. sometimes it feels like how you knock on doors.. you know.. faster pace?! i'll ask gynae this sat and update here

bb has been very very active this past week.. i'm getting worried coz i heard from various sources that if bb is active in tummy... will be active bb when outside womb!! oh no!!!!

Re : Dry shampoo
Just bought it from guardian...yuppies now got 20% off
I tink U.P is $14+.

do1nk,
I think episiotomy not decided by us rite? If gynae thinks need to do it then they will do it.

sonic,
yuppies...agree...airwave nice and ya...petrol exp siah now..even 95 is already $2.10+ before those station discount!

Re : Bb clothes
I think i shld also take out my #1's old clothes to wash liowz *lol*. Havent even pack hospital bag yet too...haha

doggiebb,
i tink even with dry shampoo i am still going to wash my hair! *lol* For #1 i wash my hair once every 4 days. With dry shampoo mabbe i try to tahanz and wash like once every 5-6 days? *lol*

steph
don't worry, every baby is different one
maybe your baby is knocking to say 'hello mummy'?

doggiebb
haha of course haolian la! big achievement ok!keke. i think it's really nesting. after dinner i immediately plunged into it, folding her newly washed clothes and realised no space to keep cos her bigger clothes were taknig up so much space. so i cleared them. and actually hor, realised that ok la, not that many clothes after all, after dividing them by age group

walau just came back from lunch. geh kiang walked out 10 mins. it's so hot hot hot! i'm scared - got tummy upset today and my groin area SUPER sng. oh no is poppy trying to tell me she's ready to come out? not yet, not yet!!!

PB
my gynae in fact is a male doctor although the name call dr sandy lek .. he is in mid 50 to 60 plus his clinc is at joo chiat he only deliver at east shore hospital.

dry shampoo
is it gd? coz i'm a person if dun wash hair for 1 day i will be crazy ...

oh i bought napisan already! (that's the reason i had to walk out for lunch... to go to medical hall) yay tonight can wash nappies!! funny the kind of things that get me excited these days hehe

lbt,
I read this in forums before. This one brought in only by PI rite? Then there were ppl saying 1.5L for 7-seater prob engine bo-lak

serene
YES it's the same guy!
yup my parents said his clinic was in joo chiat last time and he stays (or used to) at river valley. yup yup. my siblings were also delivered at east shore. last time it was called american hospital

helloooooo
have been missing for a while, coz work is impossible to finish (they still making me do OT till like 8pm plus those evil pple!) and then my home pc died, i had to send for repairs (apparently i burned out my graphics card from too much gaming when i'm insomniac :p heh) and just got it back. so many posts to catch up on!

then had a slight cold over the weekend. sneezed at the doctor's and he was so kind to give me two days mc :D hehe but now very bored at home.

episiotomy
last sat at the antenatal class they showed a live vaginal birth on video and you see them make the cut and blood flowing out.... gasp, so scary!!! i'm really really really so scared about this (yes i'm squeamish lor)

but suppose i try to be very brave about the pain, and not opt for epidural, i suppose the contractions would be so painful that i won't feel it when the gynae makes the cut? *gulp

mt alvernia on 9th july
pinkbunny! yes same edd but do you think hor, we would deliver early? so far i've not heard of anyone who deliver exactly on edd. if we deliver same day or a day apart, you think we have strength and time to walk over to kaypoh each other or not? (maybe you come find me lah you yoga rabbit who climbs 4 storeys home every day. definitely fitter than me the couch potato hehe)

i haven't washed anything, or tried anything (maybe should learn to like, take apart the breast pump and put it back together etc hor) i think maybe i need to buy a chest of drawers first coz i don't know where to keep the baby's things otherwise.

all day long i just want to lie down in bed. aiyoh

ok the dry shampoo you all posted is S$14.90 before 20%. after discount is S$11.92.
Really good as i have used before for no.1, it's helps in greasy hair.

dustee
haha labbit is 10 july also Mt A. 3 of us can meet for tea time snack or something la haha. eh. yoga labbit who climbs 4 storeys should be the one who gets to rest more!

i really really think this poppy will come early. most of my friends gave birth at week 38 for #1. oh ya hor, my breast pump still in the box. eh you sick, just lie down and rest la! wondering if can get MC from gynae for groin sng-ness

hey you attended ante natal class at Mt A? i never see that video leh. which lesson was that? maybe the one i missed...

dry shampoo
ok later this evening i go buy
which reminds me. the minute i realise i'm in labour, i want to go home and SHOWER!!!

about 'hiccups'
mine now feels like she's using a catapult inside me and targetting at the same spot. not bad her aiming

PB
yeah in fact he was telling me he would want to retire after 1 to 2 yr later .....

coconut juice
how often can we drink the coconut juice huh? coz nw my house here have pasar malam try the thai coconut juice on sun v nice so though of asking to buy 1 for me tonite when he on his way home....

steph
old wives tale lah. active bb in tummy doesn't mean active bb outside....

re washing hair
i wash my hair everyday during #1's time..haha...

dustee
why u dun wan epidural? err contractions are really painful..i din feel the cut cos the whoel area was pretty numb from the pushing...

lbt,
I heard that if too underpower car hor....very "jiak-you" (drink fuel) one...cos the engine needs to work harder. Actually i dont mind not running fast but sometimes when overtaking hor...really must have better pickup *lol*

bb movement
this morning was sleeping nicely than unit above was doing hacking working i was like crazy woman went up n scold the workers coz they have been doing renovation since march till nw .... my bb think she heard of those hacking been exploring my tummy since this morning till nw .....

delivery video
yeah the delivery video was showed for the 4th antenatal class, so that's the one you missed i think. actually it's just a more detailed session on what are the signs of labour etc, what to bring....

epidural
SY, i don't doubt the contractions will be horrendously painful. but my sil went through two deliveries without, and my mil and my own mum also saying last time they never had, so they've been nagging me not to opt for epidural. sigh. don't know leh. i don't feel i'm very strong (or pain-tolerant) i'm whining a lot as it is just for my backache. but maybe when the contractions start i will try to tahan a bit longer instead of asking for epidural immed lor.

pb
your groin always sng, is poppy engaged? my gynae say expect 36 weeks they will engage, then you will get pelvic pain/soreness. (and also deliver anytime lah)

i thought maybe when the baby engages then i will go and wash all the clothes and stuff. heh.

i got my long hair cut till very short. now i look like a boy lor. (or a man with a very serious beer belly) but still feeling damn hot. perspiring non-stop.

dustee
ya that's the class i missed! the 4th! hehe. hey your classes recently finished is it? aiyah that means we've been attending the same batch of classes la is it?

re sng-ness
her head is down but i don't know if she's engaged liao (wah haven't born, engaged to kahwin already? keke). but my mother also say once kena this sng-ness also can anytime pop liao. gulp.

me too just cut hair recently cos so hot. hehe high five, mah brudder with beer belly!

saw this in another thread:

<adv> Your Great BabyCare Buddy‏

We are pleased to inform you of our latest initiative for parents and parents-to-be, called “Your Great BabyCare Buddy” in partnership with Mount Alvernia Hospital. “Your Great Babycare Buddy” is a FREE insurance package provided by Great Eastern to all babies born exclusively at Mount Alvernia Hospital between 1 March 2008 and 28 Feb 2009.

So if you are planning to deliver your new-born at Mount Alvernia Hospital, simply complete the enrolment form and submit it within 1 month of your baby’s date of birth to enjoy this free package. The enrolment form can be obtained from Mount Alvernia Hospital.

Give your little one a headstart in life with protection and financial planning by signing up for Your Great BabyCare Buddy package today! For more information, please visit our website or call us at 6248 2211.

Life is Great!

Yours Sincerely,
Keith Chia
Vice-President, Marketing
Great Eastern Life Assurance

yipee ... went to get the dry shampoo just now @vivo.
Look very little in the bottle, leh. So brought 2 bottles instead of 1.

For #1, actually I dun want to have epidural but my labour was 12 hours, so ... I gave in. Put epidural and went to sleep till it's time to give birth. Woke up ... 2 big push and my #1 is out.

But if possible, I still prefer not to have epidural. Why waste $$, if can tahan

bluey,
I bought 1 bottle only...eheheh...cos i will still wash my hair but try to wash less frequently *lol*

Re : Epidural
I also agree if dont wanna pain better opt epidural early cos if last minute wanna opt, mabbe cannot take if you have dilate quite a fair bit liowz.

wah it's raining..and we should be all snuggled up in bed... haiz...

STEPH: think you have a little thumper bunny (disney) inside hehe so cute.. my baby movements are not very sudden these days..more like gliding movements or waves..

DUSTEE: eeks..that video you watched sounds SCARY.. I must try not to visualise it or I'll scare myself shitless again (anyway it will be down there and I won't get to see what they are doing right?) *think happy thoughts think happy thoughts*...*legs getting weak*

BB BOY CLOTHES: must ask those of you expecting little boys..where have you shopped for little boys' clothes so far..little girl clothes are so much cuter
what do newborn - 3mth olds wear? rompers at home and shirt + long pants when going out? wondering if I should get him some cargo shorts since July's gonna be warm?

for those who has been thru it before.. were you walking around in your room for a couple of hours til it was time for the baby to come out (like what we have watched on those videos so far)..is the mobile epidural available in SG? and by who ah? coz the minute we ask for epi we are kinda confined to the bed liao right?

have a feeling I'd opt for epi real early too..but worried coz some say it slows down our dilation and there's a higher chance we may end up in c-sec end due to that?

ok...must try to tahan til I cannot take it..last chance to ask for it is when we are aroub 5-6cm dilated right? coz anything bigger means too late to take right?

wah..I Must not scare myself..think I'm a super big coward leh..I heard that the bursting of waterbag hurts, the checking of dilation also hurts...n I'm very scared of pain.. and needles.. arrghh!! and when I'm scared.. my body goes weak and I can't even clench my fists.. how to push like dat??

dustee
i did think of not using epidural for #1 but for #2, i already told myself will go for epi...maybe if your labor is quick and your pain tolerance is high, u can do without it. it really makes a lot of difference.

do1nk
when i was 4cm dilated, i asked for it. and i realised i shd have asked for it earlier cos the contractions were pretty strong by then and though i used laughing gas, it din help me much and it was hard to keep still for the epi jab. so this time round i told myself i will take it earlier.

for boy's clothes i got those normal ones from pigeon, etc for the first few months. wear rompers easier. richigi etc got boy clothes also. he didn't really wear long pants and shirt when going out. comfort is most impt in the first few months.

actually cos mine was induced the min i went to delivery suite i was confined to the bed. cos they will hook u up to machines to monitor bb heartbeat etc. so cannot walk ard.

For those delivering in TMC:

http://www.thomsonmedical.com.sg/facilities.htm

"What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
• personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
• maternity brassieres
• cardigan or dressing gown
• bedroom slippers
• sanitary belt (optional)
• sanitary towels (optional)
• polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
• baby vests
• disposable diapers
• toiletries
• a baby bag
• wrapping blanket
• a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables. "

After I see this, my big bag looks so empty now.

hmm .... SY reminds me.

I also experience the same problem with #1 when having epidural.
Also tried that "stupid" gas ... no use one.
Maybe should consider to take it earlier.

I also like rompers ... my #1 likes to pull her clothes ... so rompers is the best.
Till now, she(4 yrs old) still wear the largest size rompers (from mothercare) with pyjamas to sleep.

i'm super duper sleepy today, such a nice weather...

re: hospital bag
i've been thinking about it for the past 3 weekends, but never once did i make it to pack bcos got an active toddler at home who will try to grab my stuff and make you chase after her for it...haiz. but when she finally sleeps, i also no mood to pack liao...

re: washing of bb's clothes
i'm still at it, washing the last batch this weekend.

re: episotomy
though i had it before, still gives me the shudder when i think about it, but with epidural confirm no feeling. and a few hours after delivery i can walk to toilet to wash up.

re: sngness
been having this feeling at V region for some time liao...massage lady said age also plays a part(she's saying my body is old?)..so sad. i would rather it's a sign my baby is popping *crossing my fingers &amp; toes* but she did mention my hip/pelvic bone is giving way to let bb'a head engage and i hope it happens soon.

SY, bluey
I think I am the opposite. I think the luffing gas is very gd! I took pethidine but no use one...then when i was thinking of epidural nurse said i was 7-8cm dilated will deliver in 1 hrs time told me forget bout epidural...then i used luffing gas instead make me very "high" managed to get thru everything *lol*

bluey
yeah i remember i felt so high with the gas until it makes me uncomfy....

so i decide will take it earlier this time.

fiona
i haven pack my bag yet. shall do it this weekend...

haha..I had good intentions last week..I took out my designated hospital bag..but stopped when it could only fit like 25% of the things in the list...ever since, haven't resumed packing..I must go look for a SUITCASE this weekend and continue packing haha

ok..another 2 questions from the scaredy cat:

1) after the baby is out, do they put the baby immediately on your chest or do they bring baby away to clean him/her up first and cut the cord?

2) we will still continue to get contractions til our placenta is delivered right? how long did this take? And after dat there's still the stitching up (if we had any tears or episiotomy) so it's not end of story yet right?

*gulp*

so long never come in liao..
I just gave birth last sat, 24/5 to my twins gers by c section with epidural at 34 weeks..
now both of them r in NICU...

i want laughing gas! i want to feel high! i also ask hubby to film me talking nonsense when i', super high :D

do1nk
don't scare yourself. everyone has different experience one.

doInk

once the bb is out, they will take the bb away to clean, weigh and measure length then ask the daddy to count the toes and fingers. hehe!

while in the meantime you will be lying there while the gynae stitch you up. takes about 10 mins, then bb will be placed on your chest and you will be encouraged to try to see if the bb will suckle at your neh neh or not.

all this done in BLISS for me cos i was on epidural! how to give birth without epi! aiyooo SOOO PAIN ONEEEE!!!

pinkbunny
they r both fine..
just that they r underweight..
so have to stay..
at 1st was thinking that the jie jie can go home with me..
cos her birth weight was 2.065kg..
but she lost weight after birth and din gain much back after 3 days..

I just got discharge today and the wound is super painful..