(2008/07) July 2008

haha serene, i'm the worst person to ask. i'm going to be mix cloth nappies, bumwear, and disposables and i've already bought packs of goon, nepia and pampers haha. i guess not too many newborn, maybe can mix with small size. maybe the other mummies can offer better advice

update! one thing off my list! ordered my cupcakes liao. later take photo and show you all, see if all want to consider for muah gueh or not :D

SY
relax, relax. xin jing ji ran liang.

Ohaiyo mummies,

Thank you all for sharing your experiences on planning for #2. it was really helpful in clearing my thots. i think maybe best that i leave it to destiny.

crossing legs:
read somewhere not advisable for us to seat with our legs crossed now. but i sit with legs folded and feet on the chair when i'm in the office.

mum & mil:
my mum & mil now gang up trying to psycho me to influence hb not to leave baby with infant care after my maternity leave coz they can't get thru to my hb. they take every opportunity to "outsell" themselves being good baby sitters! hahaha.. end up we beat them in their own game. we tell each of them not fair to the other if we let either one of them baby sit. heheh..

morning ladies

pinkbunny,
enjoy ur anniversary dinner

Re : How much newborn diapers to get
If you are BF and fully using disposable diapers for the whole day, then be prepared to use around 8 pcs a day.
If your baby is on FM, then prob need only around 3-4 pcs a day.
Also, dont stock up too much on newborn cos very fast the bb will wear S size diapers liowz

For my No. 1 i was using cloth diapers in the daytime and disposable diapers at nite and she was on BM, only use bout 2 pcs a day.

SY,
wow.. you teaching your son san zi jing liao ar?! you sure sound like a wonderful mum! wish i'll have your patience when my son is born.

Pinkbunny,
you're so sweet to your hb... did you ROM and have your wedding ceremony on the same day? hb and i dunno which anniversary to celebrate... ROM or wedding!? celebrate both like not very meaningful.

pinkbunny
u ordered your cupcakes liao? not too early meh??

bumwear probably u can only start using when older? not too sure cos i dun use that.

for diapers, must really try out before u stock up. some babies dun suit certain brands of cutting and for my boy he just couldn't wear huggies ultra but he can wear a cheaper brand like pet pet. so only buy like 2 packs first and then stock up once confirmed.

yeah must relax. cannot always get angry with the maid. just hate it when they talk abck when still so new.

steph
why not let your mil and mum take turns to look after the bb in this case? one person to look after for 5 days also too siong.

Re : Crossing legs
I also like to sit like tat....so far okies lah...anyway can still do things as per usual but if u dont feel comfy then change position

SY,
my mil works after her school-days and has no experience taking care of baby. not even her own son. but she said she can learn. but we're afraid she'll spoil the grandson .. you should see how she interact with our dog.. and it's just a dog! imagine how she'll interact with the grandson... *shudders*

my bro & sil (SAHM) staying with my parents and now with their son. too many people in the house liao.. we want to avoid any misunderstandings. plus my mum won't be able to stay home all the time one. then who will look after my son? the maid or my sil!? *shudders* again!

infant care has professionals despite the fact that they're "strangers". i visited one and was quite satisfied with what i saw. hence, we are comfortable about leaving our son in their care. the only disadv. i can foresee is the spread of illness lor. but if there's the bug around, kids can get it anyway, not only at childcare.

hehe... sound like i'm trying to justify my decision... my friends say once my baby is born, i won't bear to let him leave my side... is this true?? but i see some of them loving Mondays, after they have kids! hahah..

Steph,
If I have a choice, I definitely opt for relatives to take care of my kids. Unless the relative is really very jiatlat type. But most of the time parents or ILs will dote on the grandkid and take gd care of them. Although yes they may spoil them occasionally so its a give n take. Even we as parents might spoil the child a little too although at times disciplinary action is required.

For infantcare and childcare all I can say is if u really have no choice and dont want a maid then u have to send ur kid there. Imagine all those viruses, and you have to make sure you cannot be late in fetching them as they usually close at 7pm. If they are running juz a slight fever some cc will also ask u to bring the child home. Then things like stomach flu, HFMD are really scary type. Imagine you will most prob be burning most of ur AL on these stuffs. And take note that most cc or infantcare close 5.5 days a yr, which means u already have to burn at least 5.5days of AL on this alone.

steph
u must be prepared for the bb to fall sick more often in infant care. i have frens who pull out after some time cos keep falling sick.

no doubt infant care have professionals but still need to be careful. maybe u shd pop by unannounced just to see what they do.

i got a cousin who put in infant care and when her mum went to take a look, she said the teachers only wan the bb to sleep all the time and din do anything else.

yeah, once bb is born u dun feel like going back to work but the occasional break from bb is still good.

i share your concerns that grandparents will spoil the child as well. only natural lor but over time u can instill in them the standard of discipline u expect.

Celeste,
Thanks for sharing. we are aware of all these but luckily my employer is quite flexible if i need to take leave sometimes. i guess we will feel heart pain when we see our kid suffering from the illness. recently, with the HFMD, my cousin's kid got it from her sister's kid. that's why i say if the bug is around, being kids, they can get infected anywhere unless you don't bring them out.

as for my mil, none of my friends believed me when i described how the dog bullies her! you have to see it to believe it! hahaha.. plus, if her son dun have confidence in her... you think i dare ar?! hehehe :p

SY,

can PM me which infant care you referring to? i did pop by without prior appointment to check out the infant care. will most likely pop in again after my confinment.

actually i don't mind letting my mum babysit but like not fair to mil. plus hb is quite adament in this decision on infant care. but we'll see how it goes. the most i'll make him the one to take leave and fetch baby when needs arise ;) hopefully he'll relent and let my mum babysit hehe...

SY
my cupcakes are for TONIGHT la! for my anniversary. hehe. but i will order from the same place for muah gueh. maybe that's why got confusion. sorry!!

steph
ya we did solemnisation and wedding on same day. april fool's day hehe.

okie off to get ready liao! going to surprise hubby with lunch at his work place :D and must bai dwee one that shop. haiz... then got to go buy icing things at holland v and collect cupcakes. wah biang. so tiring!!

steph
i m not sure which one but i heard from my mum that it's near her place ard bukit timah area.

actually if your hb really wants to try out infantcare, let him try for a while. who knows maybe the arrangement will work fine?

why not fair to your mil?

pinkbunny
hee, i so blur....

SY,
mil is the paternal grandma and she also wants to babysit. so if i let the 外婆 babysit, don't think the 奶奶 will feel good leh.. but we really no confidence in mil. aiyoh.. if let her know, she'll sure feel sad one ... i feel so bad now.

Anniversary:
mummies who had their ROM and wedding on different days: which day you celebrate with hb?

Steph,
agree on even if child not at infant/childcare also possible to get sick but to me I feel that at least the chances are reduced

Haha..envies u lehz...got both MIL and ur mom willing to babysit. Dont need to have headache like me *sigh*

morning mummies....

Steph,
I understand what u mean..
like when I got my grandfather to choose chinese names for my gers my mil also not happy...
she ask my hubby y is my side choose..
but I get my hubby to tell her cos she dun know how to do it mah...
she is not happy but I dun really care..

dor dor
not really faint becoz of draw blood lah, but feeling very uncomfortable lor. Imagine, got to fast from midnite till next day morning. Not even plain water allowed. draw a tube of blood, then given a glass of super sweet glucose drink *errks* then wait for an hour draw blood again... Two hour draw blood again... By the time the whole thing finish, it's lunch time liao, hungry leh. Somemore now pregnant, can't bear the hunger... Yet draw so many blood, with empty stomach, very hard to survive that long hours wait.

I had done that twice last pregnancy, both times result turn out fine, means no GD. But my urine test always fail me, so kena ordered to do it lor.

This pregnancy also, urine test fails me every time I go, though puke finger few times and result show ok, but gynae says to play safe, order me to do it next month. Pray hard result turns out fine too.

Hehe.. If your boy meets my boy, I think both of them will fight over a magazine...

SY
Agree with u. I started reading to my boy when he's exploring how to walk, so it's very late liao. For my #2, will start really early then.

My cousin also asks me to play the san zi jing CD for him, but he doesn't seem to interested, unlike songs, maybe it's too boring. even I myself feel bored. Hehe..

No wonder your maid got attitude problem, becoz she got overseas exposure mah.

pinkbunny,
do let us know where u bought ur cupcakes...i loves cupcakes.
enjoy ur date tonite

SY
have u book the massage lady after ur birth?
any recom ?

bye got to liao today going for check up I so scared gynae will scold me again coz didnt eat more to put on weight. sigh ....ever since i'm not working have been eat sleep eat sleep hopefully can put at least 1 kg

Sonic
Like SY, I also started reading to my boy as part of his bedtime routine when he was very young. There was also a phase where he'll run away after 1 - 2 pages. Now, he's able to sit thru several books at one go. So keep trying and he'll learn to appreciate it.

If you're not already doing so, perhaps you can set aside a fix time to read to him? Like for us, it is usually before bedtime. In this way, your boy will know it is reading time.

Step
Me too interested to know! How does your dog bully your boy?

Pinkbunny
Enjoy your lomantic dinner with your hubby!

wah so many posts !!

gals, I have been feeling fatigue easily due to the increase in wt of my tummy. Like suddenly become so heavy like that .. anyone experience this ? and I pant easily, even when I am seated !!!

Re : Massage Lady
lucky u all mention about massage lady, I almost forgot to book mine...hehe....juz sms-ed her heng she's ok with it :D

steph
maybe get your hb to sound her out whether she really minds? cos some pple dun wan to take care full time one. like my mil, last time she always tell my hb she take care few days then my mum take care few days but in the end we got a helper.

i celebrate both my ROM and wedding day....haha chance to go for nice dinner.

sonic
yeah i dun play the CD for him. i read the san zi jing to him. then sometimes i will recite and ask him to follow me. this one my fren teach me to do with him more for pronounciation. not so much that we want them to understand the words at this stage. it's really funny. i will try to take a video and post on my blog. every time we hear him recite, we laugh like mad esp my hb.

for my boy i started when he's less than 6 months i think. as early as possible lor. think for #2, i dun have so much time anymore...

serene,
i haven book yet....no recommendations leh. the one that my fren used quite ex.

Went for my checkup today n guess wat.
I gained nearly 4kg for the 4weeks. Got such a big shock but my gynea never say anything....hehehe

bb is now 740gm at 24wk 4 days....hehe

pinkbunny
Me wear diapers???? hehehe
Cotton ON aah okie I check out if I pass by the shops.

My sis aah....sigh
I dun really contact her this preg cos she hit my tummy when I was bout 8wks preg. N somemore gynea told me already might be unstable cos of that pocket of liquid n asked me not to let my son press my tummy.
Think my sis suspect I was preg n ask me why I was putting on weight. So I said might be due to my stopping of BF. N paik went her hand to my tummy. I was so shocked n pissed with her lor wat if I lost my bb cos of that how. So old already still so childish.
Wat can I say maybe I did something bad previous life so I get sis like that anyway dun talk to her I won't die also.....hahaha

SY
Yap my son 18mths already. But he gets real excited when doing flashcards or read books so I dun use it as a night routine. More like daytime if he picks books then try to read.
I very worried I read to him before bed endup he too excited can't sleep....hahaha
I was still so happy when he loves books when he was only few mths old can even choose the books to buy. Now he still likes them but dun like me to read to him he wanna flip as he likes....sigh
Envy u aah still got the patient to read so many books to ur son.

Steph
Actually why u dun want ur mum or mil to care for bb??
Own family better then infantcare right?? Cos u can't be there to monitor n the ratio is not 1 to 1. Bbs in infant care tend to fall sick more often then u get the heartache n u will need to take leave to care for bb urself.
I totally agree our parents will spoil our kids but then U also know they love them alot n will surly take better care of them since they love them right.\
Maybe use it as a chance to talk terms with ur mil lor no sweets till wat age or wat else u put in infant care...hehehe
Cos normally if got choice like some1 I know she cannot stand her son keep getting sick n when she spot check during lunch she sees her son crying in the cot no 1 attend to him in the infant care so endup she leave him with inlaw n employ maid to help.

My cousin also wanted infantcare initially but after trying for 1 day endup now her daughter split between his mum n mil few days each liao.
But since u have both mums on standby anytime u wanna change ur mind also can...hehe

I celebrate ROM cos we chose the date ma n its hubby's bday too. Chinese dinner normally they choose by auspicious date ma I dun even bother to remember mine....haha

Sonic
Why u need to draw so many blood during the test aah. Mine jus before the drink n 2 hrs after the drink only. So I supposed to go home n go back for the 2nd test. But I blackout lor....haha
So hubby no choice gotta bring me along for work.....hehehe
Yah lor need to tahan so long without food n we preg somemore. Gynea never ask me to take the test yet...hehe
Hopefully not lah cos I really scared of it already.

lbt
Me too more tired recently. Sometimes play with my son until I so tired I will sit on my bed n look at him play.

thanks for all your well wishes!!! yesterday went very smoothly even though i was dashing around like mad woman like huan dao zhui zhui zhui like that.

summary - pretended to roll in bed until hubby went out the door then jumped up and dived into action straightaway! wrapped presents, planned schedule (macam like army like that leh) and do other misc things then by 11 went to buy lunch for him. cos must queue up one so thought go earlier better. then brought to his office to have lunch with him.

after that went to get icing at HV, then to katong (yes KATONG) to collect cupcakes. of course on the way home i ate 1... or 2 on the bus haha. then iced them at home (basket, not easy to squeeze icing leh. not consistent one! sometimes fat line, sometimes thin line, sometimes just one blob), displayed them nicely on the dining table so that when we get home later that evening, he will be greeted with 'happy anniversary!'. then rushed out to collect movie tickets for 5pm at lido.

all througout the day i sent him clues about where to meet then he go and wait at wrong cinema la. he went to plaza. lucky it was close enough. so after movie went to absolute haven for dinner. very nice, the place. after that went to rendezvous for some ahem.... MUDPIE LA, what were you thinking? it's nice cos that was the first place we shared dessert together. same dessert.

then at home i thought ok la spent a nice day together but got no present never mind la. then after i tng sar and want to shower liao he turned off the lights and said ok close your eyes. wah biang super vulnerable leh in that situation! then he put something on for me. cotton nightie from mothercare!!!!! super cute one and can use for BF! so sweet!

ok la, not so summary in the end haha.

labbit
me la. i'm panting alot. in my normal day at the office, i have to climb up stairs 4th to 5th storey alot. one flight only i heh heh chuan. sitting also can pant. until i can hear my heart beat in my ear, remember?
maybe it's because bunnies got big ears? haha

Upcoming Events

John Little Expo Sale
3 to 13 Apr 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 5

The POPULAR Sale
3 to 6 Apr 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 6B

MPH Book Sale
1 to 4 May 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 4A

lbt
i also feel breatheless at times leh. think cos bb pushing up.

dor dor
wow your bb so big. makes mine look very small. somemore i already coming to 26 weeks....

re reading
sometimes my son will bargain with me on the number of books to read before bedtime. quite funny one. i will say read 2 more and sleep and he will ask me for 3 and i will tell him ok. then he will try his luck by asking for 4 or 5 and when i say no, he will try to negotiate. sometimes i give in and sometimes i don't. but really need to set the expectations or he will not let me switch off the lights.

pinkbunny
sounds like u had a realy rush day but glad everything went well.

did your hb suspect anything?

haha SY your boy is a negotiator in the making!

i think my hubby knew la but he just never say anything. we have learnt that when there are special occasions, to not ask any questions hehe. ya i had such a busy day yesterday. and i am SO tired now.

pinkbunny
u really make a lot of effort to make the occasion special. since having kids, we dun do much anymore. usually just dinner and that's it....

hee, maybe can be a lawyer in the making if he studies hard next time. if not we say he can go be actor. he likes to act

good morning ladies

SY,
haha...ur boy so cute! My ger I say she can be actor also. within 1 second she can turn from smiling to crying then within 1 second can turn from crying to smiling *lol*...kids are so farnie

good morning mummies..

labbit,
me too feel very lethargic recent 2 weeks. altho slept early b4 10pm, next day still feel grouchy coz like not enough sleep
climb 1 flight of stairs also panting and kar sng... feel like i'm old woman liao hahaha..

Pinkbunny,
wow you sure had a bz day yday. but so happy for you. very heart warming.. maybe i'll do something for hb end of the month coz our ROM anniversary. but heng for me coz hb doesn't like cupcakes hehee..

talking abt cupcakes. anyone watched Ch 8 last night 8pm on the qiang tan da xing dong!? the stall owner located at Amoy hawker centre 2nd floor was selling muffins. looks delicious...

dor_dor,
i of coz dun mind my mum babysit but mil also want to babysit. but now issue is with hb. he doesn't want either to babysit. he's already developing the "daddy knows best" syndrome! hahahhaa...

dog bully mil:
due to popular demands, i'll cite a couple of examples. heheh..

eg.1 when mil watching tv, dog will stand on 2 hind legs, put his front paws on mil's lap, use his nose try to lift her hand. aim: he wants to be scratched, ruffled, etc.. cute at first lah.. but after a while a bit irritating. mil always give in without fail.

eg. 2 mil loves to buy dog treats even the very expensive japanese ones. but dog has weak stomach, always puking. so hb told her to stop. she bo chap still buys. hb fed up and threw away all the treats she bought. she ended up hiding the treats and secretly give the dog in her room. dog always dashes for her room when she comes home. then come out of room after a while, licking his mouth with a very satisfied look. i was clueless until the grandma mentioned behind mil's back! hahahaha

eg.3 dog sleeps in mil's room. every time will scratch door signalling mil to let him out even when she's sleeping. and she wakes up just to let him out of her room.

bottomline, dog treats mil like his slave... and it's just a dog.. imagine if it's her grandson... at least my mom not so indulging. but mil did mention that she won't interfere when we discipline the child. but from her past records, she won't interfere but she won't follow our instructions too. now with the dog, we close both eyes. but i doubt we can with a child. i don't have much problems with mil and we intend to keep it this way.

below is a pix of his favourite begging pose:

1331978.jpg

SY,

so your son taken care by maid at home now? won't it be confusing for the kid if spend a few days at nai nai's place then another few days at wai po's place? plus you having to travel around to drop and pick up your boy when you go to work?!

actually in my family we've always put in alot of effort for birthdays and special occasions so this has followed me. last time all our birthdays, my parents will put plan treasure hunt around the house to lead to our presents. maybe can do that for your kids, mummies!

haha whether or not my husband likes cupcakes, i dunno. i just did them cos quite sweet, the idea hehe.

hubby also likes planning such things to a certain extent. 2 years ago he arranged for a surprise macdonald's birthday party for me. it was hilarious. all my friends and family crammed into one small room, sitting on small chairs, playing kids games haha.

steph, so cute your doggie!!!

speaking of which, doggiebb, where are you hiding?
come out and play!

pinkbunny...
wow.. ur anniversary sounds interesting..
must have been very sweet... hehe..

macdonalds party... haha..so cute!
it must be a bdae party to remember in a lifetime..

haah yup. cos i mentioned casually that as a kid i never had a macdonald's party. for those of you who want, there is no extra cost, you just have to pay for food per person and book in advance :D

it was such a laugh. everyone had a good time. i think the staff were like 'siao ah, this group' and it was hard for them too because we insisted on making it like a real kids party so we played all the games too keke

haha.. icic..
casually mention and u have it..
thats so sweet of ur hubby..

haha.. the stuff there really scratch head ah..
adults playing kids games..

steph
my mum and my mil will come to my place. previously with the old maid, they will come once a week and the rest of the time it's my maid with my boy. but now cos the new maid too blur, everyday we try to have someone else ard.

actually it's not confusing for them lah. if your mil or mum dun mind going to your place to help u with your bb, then u can save the trouble of travelling to and fro. i stay too far from my mum so not feasible to drop off then go to work. plus my boy is now going to sch.

your dog is really funny...

pinkbunny
mac party? so cute..your hb really quite funny also.

dor dor
ur bb same size as mine !!

ok at least I am not the lao kok kok pregnant lady who pants so easily ! but I don rem I pant so much in my 1st pregnancy.

labbit
no la not lao kok kok la you. i join you in the panty group ok? aka panting ladies group haha. ka sng and panty.

sy
ya mac's party. cos one day i was just saying like everyone had a macdonald's party when they were young but i didn't lor. we're both siao la! keke. my parents also came for the party and they were so ON too. they also put on the party hats and played the games. the staff really felt very weird haha.

leg cramps
sob sob. jumping out of bed and standing up immediately used to work for me. but now stomach a bit big ah, and not so easy to jump out of bed. and the cramps have been coming more often
so now i just grab my husband and scream 'OW OW OW OW!!!'. poor thing, it must be quite scary for him to get woken up like that in the middle of the night hehe

community message
for those who are prone to dizzy spells, increase your intake of red stuff. not necessarily just beef. can be beetroot, tomatoes, carrots. but too much carrots will cause your skin to go yellowish/orangey hor hehe.

lbt
first one i also dun pant so much. this one will pant.

pinkbunny
i really remember last time someone told me leg cramps and calcium intake related leh.

Same here.

I dun really pant easily for my first. But this one really drains my energy.
Sometimes feel that I get out of breathe easily.

pinkie, SY

eheh I feel more relief now.

oh yes for leg cramps, I do scream at nite too ! but scream softly cos dont want to scare my gal ! i jusst grab my hubby and pt to me leg ! damn painful.

I drink lotsa milk and take calcium pills daily leh .. so why still cramps ?

Wow ... pinkbunny ... your wedding ann so happening one.

But your hubby is real nice ... *envy

Maybe should get your hubby to "counsel" my hubby.

As for my hubby ... he remember to do dinner booking for any special occasion, me considered very heng already (like striking lottery)... lol

bluey..
gd idea leh..
maybe should also get pinkbunny's hubby to "counsel" my hubby also.. haha..
my hubby can even forget V Day..
he still can ask me.. y today so many gers with flowers on the road huh.. *faint*

I dun exp so much cramping for thsi second preg...

though i sleep on my back more often now.

i rem my first preg, i got cramping every nite... n i can't sleep on my back...

gals

dont fret .. some hubby tends to me a bit "stone" on the outside but they do care for us .. in another way. Some guys are more expressive and some are not. We just have to accept the fact

as long as they treat us well, and doted on our children, think we are considered very 幸福

cheer up !