(2008/07) July 2008

stephanie
before my first pregnancy, i was abt 42kg, then after pregnancy and one year of looking after my boy, my weight dropped to 39kg. At the start of this pregnancy, i managed to reach a weight of abt 41kg. but now still stuck here cos no appetite..

i hope can eat and rest more during the CNY period....

pinkbunny
hee, tell your hb gynae say can eat good already. my gynae said just eat whatever i like if no appetite....

jang
oh dear, u still work so late? try to rest more!

omg Jang.. work is not everything! pls take care! don't get too stressed up. read somewhere that says too stressed up mums may get kid with behavioural problem next time. choi choi touch wood!!

friends also told me to stay cheerful and happy. the hairstylist i go to said he'd seen many happy mummies with happy baby. and those who were grouchy when pregnant has grouchy baby. my friend (with strong character) cried alot during her pregnancy, and end up her kid cry easily too. but she said it's the kid who made her cry when pregnant la. anyway, try to take it easy ok!?

Pinkbunny,
you're so right. that's what my gynae said too. it's all those old folks' tales la.. sometimes hear liao can get irritated. like my MIL kept saying can't eat spicy stuff and my colleague say eat too spicy will blind the baby.. it's like omg, give me a break.. i just eat but not in front of mil lor.

how come you still on folic acid? gyane gave me 2 types of pills - some fish oil and multi vitamins. but these pills are making my lips so dry. sigh.. water parade again.

Nini,
i had whitish, sometimes yellowish discharge too. and sometimes got tiny lumps too. i just drink more water. i thot yellowish maybe casued by pee stain :p

Qing,
i mentioned other people's bed coz SY said she moving her son's bed mah. i also dunno why pregnant woman cannot move house or move bed, climb high or climb low. think maybe old folks worry about accidents. so you better guai guai stay home let your bf do the men's job ;)

but why cannot change bed sheet?! eeee... 9 months don't change bed sheets?! won't get itchy meh ? hehehe..

stephanie
eat too spicy will blind the bb? omg, your colleague belong to which era one.....

no lah, i dun really move the bed myself. but sometimes i will move his mattress cos need to lay out his mattress every night for him to sleep.

SY,
u r super slim! *lol* 41kg is like donno when I was P4 or P5. Me now at 16+wks oledi 58-59kg! Wahahah....

Rain,
^ 5, i also like french fries, especially KFC and Mos Burger fries....:p

Stephanie,
No lah...eat spicy wont blind bb lah. But i think eat spicy ur bb come out the whole body will have red patches here and there for at least 1-2 mths. Donno coincidence anot, cos for my No. 1 i also like those curry or watever food then my ger when born until 1-2mths old got red patches over the body but after that no more liowz

celeste blur
for my last pregnancy, i managed to hit almost 55kg....hee this time round think cannot already unless i gain a lot of weight in the last few months.

is there any reason why eat spicy the bb will have red patches?

SY good one! hahah.. but she's younger than me. must have heard from her folks at home. anyway, think i'll cut down after hearing from Celeste.

my friend said she had to stop eating chilli nearer her EDD coz her folks told her chilli make breast milk "chow chore" and baby may reject breast milk. anyone has any findings on this?

SY,
I also donno if its coincidence or wat *lol*. Mabbe becos spicy food is heaty thats y bb might get red patches?

As for weight I tink for No. 1 I hit bout 68kg!! *lol*

Stephanie,
no need cut down lah. Like my gynae said as long as u wish to eat wat then eat at least better than dont eat

pinkbunny..

the crab place @ AMK & TP are branches of the same company..though the waiting time @ AMK is crazy.. have not heard of the bedok one though..

but what about that curry crab you were telling us about?? tell us more!! where is it?? making me hungry! haha

hmm I seem to the odd one out, not being prescribed multivits.. still on folic acid and now being given iron pills coz I'm anaemic..

as for tom yum gong, they say chillis have lots of vit A.. think the only bad thing is that it may be heaty and worsen our heartburn? other than that, should be ok right?

anyone getting tired of drinking milk and soya bean?

Jang.. you poor thing, slogging away at work...I'm working my butt off, trying to meet my Year End deadlines too

Hi Jang,
OMG, you better take care of yourself.. still working at that wee hours. tell your boss you are PREGNANT!!! needs lots of rest.

Hi Stephanie,
I also hear my MIL say cannot change bedsheet, so my hubby have to do the job when i am not around lor... hehe.. but no idea why..

Wow.. you ladies are so slim... me already passed the 60kg mark.. haha.. maybe my excess fat from #1 pregnancy.. hehe.

Morning Mummies!

Spicy food
I dont think eating spicy / hot food will make ur baby hv red patches all over. For me, i cant live without cili/sambal n i took them throughout my 3 pregnancies. So far no skin problems on them... But must not forget to take plenty of water. Advice for those with weak stomach, better not take too much...

Qing

yes yes .. go to Toa payoh or AMK central.
u know those neighbourhood shops that sell clothes ?

u go in and ask if they have maternity clothings.

I went Toa Payoh central and this shop sells v nice maternity pants for $20+ only.
and v comfy and nice. OK this shop is quite near Bengawan solo at TPY.

I think the shop name is Carrano.Unit #01-334.

pinkbunny

tks... i went to see GP this morning, gave me mild painkillers and I felt better now.

the pain is so bad that I cant even swallow properly.

Celeste

hi-5 ! i am 59 kg now too at 16+ weeks ... heeh last preg i hit 66 kg... now this one I cant imagine.
but I am able to control the diet better.. i eat only digestive biscuits when I am hungry. No more curry puff or kuehs !!

btw I also dont think spicy stuff cause red patches. That becos the mummy is heaty and did not take enuff water.
I still take durians also during my first preg and my gal turns out alright.

Sorry to intrude.. heehee... I'm a mother of 2 and MTB in mar too! Can I check anyone here has a list to share with me for 1st time mother? My fren needs it but I too lazy to list down for her...

TIA :D

lbt,
But I am quite short lehz..me only 1.58m and this weight...ermmz tink i am fat! *lol*

As for red patches is becos mother never take enuff water i dont tink so. I am the kind that even need to bring water bottle everywhere...*lol*...so i definitely drink enuff water..haha

2nd time mummies,

just read from a news report this morn regarding pneumococcal disease.. have you all taken your child for vaccination?? the news reported it will affect 1 millions children worldwide and it is increasing..

3Ds Family,
I let my ger take 2 doses of pneumoccocal (cos my GP advised me if go childcare only need 2 doses. If infant care better take the full 3 doses). Rotavirus i also gave her. In fact I tink I gave her all the vaccine available *lol*.

delphine

me too .. my gal take whatever vacinnes under the sun hehe .. i rather she suffer for the jab than getting the virus !!

celeste

me 1.61m only too .. not much taller ...

u know some ppl's body is heaty by nature, means how much water u take is also like that ... that's what I observe.

but good that u drink a lot lah !

Celeste blur, u don't look fat lah...so don't worry...actually i think being pregnant really put lots of sacrifice on the mum. the mum have to endure MS, putting on weight and then looking after the kid. no wonder ppl alawys say mothers are wei da. hehehehe

Bedsheets:
Super Cool! Now i got excuse not to change bedsheets! let hb do it! :p

Food/Chilli:
Like Sheila, i can't eat without something spicy. But sometimes worry this worry that.. scared if anything happen to baby, hb & mil will blame me (TOUCH WOOD)
really sometimes think so much no wonder will get depression.

Eileen:
What list you talking about? is there such a list for 1st time MTB !? if there is, may i have a copy too hehe :p thanks

bedsheets:

i have not heard of this myth before. I still change bedsheet all the time, just that my hubby dont allow me to shift the bed. and MIL and mother says bed is only for sleeping and nothing else.

3DsFamily, lbt
u all got let ur no.1 take chicken pox vaccine also? I gave that to my ger too *lol*

lbt,
true...i tink my body is heaty by nature cos I easy to get sore throat one *lol*

Re ; changing of Bedsheets
I also change bedsheets all these. Even until 39 wks I am still doing hsework, so far so gd for no. 1!

Re : Baby's movements
I can feel baby's movements now liowz...any of u mommies feel it too?

celeste

hehe I gave that too ! kiasu and kiasi mummy

there are too many viruses nowadays unlike our era. Cos my PD says there are too many people travelling in and out of the country so bring in foreign viruses.

heeh u are one "HOT" gal lah ! ehhe

i also do light hsework throughout my pregnancy, so far so good.

eh i tell u hor, i oredi felt bb movements in 1st trimester .. my gyane is surprised too.

Baby movements
me too... me too.... past 2 weeks can only feel occassional sudden sharp pain or sudden feeling of hardness below abdomen area. This week feels the light flutter like bubbles instead. Couldnt wait to feel more of the baby, like baby stretching and you can see the bulge against your tummy. Frankly speaking, what i missed most about pregnancy is to feel live movements inside me....

wa damn stress up. have to go office now. now still working frm home. then after that have to go to iras submit form. wa very stressssssssss ahhhhhhhhhhhhh. machiam "lor zai". gek sim manz.

then tomorrow stress up with new things again. and i drop my laptop on floor aft quarrel with husb few days back. My 'P' button pop up n now pressing on the rubber. argkkkkkk hope warranty can replace it. Sianzzzzzzz

and i feel BB movements more today, think i too stress BB complaining. plus i order KFC to eat at home. 1 person order 1 meal but yet only eat 1 chicken and whipped potato nia. STRESSSSSSSSSS

Jang
Cool down... don't stress urself up, its not good for you and baby. Take few deep breaths to calm urself. Usually our minds cannot function properly if we r under stress, then we tend to mess up further n then get more stressed.... Take good care of urself n baby...

stephanie
i think different bb has different taste pref. for me last time my bb will reject bm only if i ate sour stuff. but chili ok leh

do1nk
i very lazy to drink milk. so far only drank like twice. think i shd drink more to put on weight.

3D
my son had 2 doses already. actually the last dose due but cos he had some allergies and took steriods so he can't take any injection for 6 months. so his last shot for pneumoccocal got delayed.

re bb movement
thikn i can't feel recently...but sometimes cannot differentiate whether it is gas or not.

wasay i nearly slipped down just now. stepped on my plastic bags that flew out from bag. heng ah...... PHEW

my heart beats v fast today becoz today due date. so ganchiong. else kena fine by govt $S200. gtg shower n go wk liaoz. later at night come post.

Hi Eileen,

I have what you want. Here is the list.

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Baby?s Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or ?White Tree Oil?)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodward?s Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash baby?s face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mum?s drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mum?s confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pig?s trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mum?s bathing and face cleansing.

Re vaccination
My boy took 4 doses of pnuemococals & 2 doses of rotavirus. Hasn't have his chicken pox yet. Any idea when can give him chick pox jab?

Re moving furniture
Thought we are not allowed to drill hole, hammer and nail things at home only. Can't even move furniture, and change bedsheet??!!! Don't think so la, we still have to push playpen & cot around the house right?

SY
Me too, can feel baby moving, but then it's true that sometimes can be gas.. Hehe..

Jang
If you feel painful when urinate, better check with doctor to rule out that it's not urine infection.

anyone felt cramp-like pain near pubic area? had been feeling slight pain whole day today. even when sitting down have to sit down slowly

hospital:
is there a reason why Mt E like not popular here?! is it more expensive? is Mt Alvernia better/cheaper?

sonic
my boy already took his chicken pox jab when he was 1 year.

i think shd be ok to move furniture bah. i still do. move mattress etc.

stephanie
yes, the cramps are quite common. it is due to your uterus expanding.

Hi Sonic,
I bring my gal for chicken pox jab at 14th months, next MMR at 15th month, then 1st booster at 18th month. I delay her MMR jab maybe till after CNY. cos scare of side effect.

Hi Stephanie,
personally feel Mt A's staff more friendly.. they are very into breatfeeding. they will keep encourage & guide you throughout your hospital stay.

delphine
my boy is due for MMR next month. Ops, maybe I have to bring him for chicken pox later then. Got to wait for 6 months in between jabs?

steph
most of us experiencing cramps, it's normal. and meaning baby is growing, next more space to move around...

SY / sonic:

i thot cramps shd be further up the tummy. so got worried when it was "down there" :p

thanks for the info.

i tend to worry too much coz i had surgery to remove cysts 3 years ago. was initially afraid can't conceive too coz of my age and i'm weak in health and had a lot of "bai dai" since young. my mum kept saying woman with a lot of bai dai has difficulty conceiving.

hey all of you can feel little baby moving already??

how do you know if it's not gas or wind inside or I dunno...anything else??

*excited*

good evening everyone!!

Hou3 mong2 qian1
Must tell you all!! Last week I had a very bad headache after work so I thought I would give myself a treat by going for hairwash. Then the hairwasher talk so much to me and I wasn’t really paying much attention until she said (in Chinese) ‘so you notice any difference or not? Because your hou3 mong2 qian1?’. I thought what in the world is hou3 mong2 qian1??!! She meant ‘hormone change’ ahahaha

Stephanie
Dunno, it’s my last pack of folic liao. Saturday going for next appointment, think will be starting other pills liao.

jang
don't stress, hope you feeling better now and you manage to finish your work and never get fined by cheng hu!!

Celeste
Oh I love MOS burger fries!! And long john silver fries. Near my place got one and every time I smell it I very gian :D

do1nk
the bedok one the soup is not as gao but still good. And relatively cheaper. Mmm mmm. I want!!! Huh? Curry crab? I never have curry crab before leh, is it me who say? I like chilli crab la.

Me too, only on folic. No multivitamin yet. No iron tablet even!

meiH
very scary leh the list!!! Really need so many things ah.

Mandarin oranges
Remember early early I said my gynae advised not to take citrus fruit cos will make me vomit? I very kuai, I followed that very closely. Then today I thought ok la second trimester liao can la. So I ate one mandarin orange. Wah biang. Vomit until like first trimester MS like that. Everyone better take care during CNY hor. Most of the goodies are heaty

Baby movements
Labbit, sheila and celeste - You can feel baby movements liao? Cool!!! Me not yet leh. Sometimes I think I feel something but then again maybe it’s just gas or what. But they say mummies who have had previous births feel it earlier. I cannot wait!

Mount E
No ah, nothing against it. Just that my gynae is only affliated with Gleneagles and mt A. Gleneagles is very clinical, I don’t really like.

Craving
Now I’m craving for fish ball noodles hmmmm…. But because of tastebud change I’ve not been able to find a good one. Any suggestions? I stay at Tiong Bahru.

sheila,
paiseh leh. only reply now as i was on leave to do somthing to my hair. could not take it anymore, so messy.

appt on 11 feb for detail scan is at 2.30pm then see gynae at 3pm. but i dont think the detail scan can be done w/i 30minutes lor

pneumococcal:
i have not let my boy take the jab leh. since he will be staying at home and i m not going to send him to daycare and my nieces and nephew are not coming to my place so often, so just delay it till 1yr old then decide.

sonic,
ask u ah.. did u give ur boy egg york to prepare him for MMR and egg white after he's 1yr old?

i started on egg york many weeks ago till now i always forget to let him eat egg york leh. i m lazy hor..

i m thinking if i can mix the egg york into his porridge cos he does not like to eat it straight.

moving furniture/change bedsheet:
i have been doing that all these times... i dont care and bo chap one. lolzzz

oh one more. sleeping positions

sleeping yesterday was very jialat for me. lie on the side so uncomfortable, lie on the back so uncomfortable, cannot lie on stomach
... so finally put head on 2 pillows then ok. sigh.

and today i became more aware of my stomach. like i can feel it bouncing (not the usual fatty jiggle haha) when i'm going down the stairs.

Pinkbunny
You make me laugh with the hou mong qian joke! I was wondering what it was when I saw it in your header!

You stay at Tiong Bahru? Me too... nice fishball noodle ah, heard from a colleague that there's a nice one at Margaret Drive Hawker Centre. But I also not sure which stall... around here like dun really have nice fishball noodle.

Me too love the mos burger fries... yummy!

Jmon
I only gave my son pneumococcal after he turned 1 too 'cos that meant need only 2 jabs instead of 3 if taken younger... at that time, I gave him all the vaccines there are except for Chicken pox... he like very poor thing lor, every month also kena one jab, so decided to help him lessen the pain a bit.

As for MMR, it is best that you try out egg white on your boy too as egg white is more allergenic than egg yolk. MMR is supposed to contain egg in it. Since he is fine with egg yolk, you can try whole egg now. You can steam the egg, mix into the porridge or use it to cook french toast... yummy!

move furniture? that require strength leh. and sometimes i like to use stomach to support too hahha. so no no i wont do all these things. i even scream at my husb for buying furnitures from ikea soon after he knew i am pregnant. and i told him before NO new furniture. its not pantang but more on scientific prove. abt those furniture using glue and laminates etc and the toxin will remain and wont disperse until yrs later lor. worse if its brand new.

now still at work and later have to submit cheque. tsktsk. at least i submit via online liao.

then have new things to rush again. i'm still vomiting and i think thats because i starve myself and cannot stand liaoz vomit again.

i urine, the urinary tract? is not painful but uterus area is like v tight n painful. is it because i never sit down on toilet bowl? i just use my thigh muscle and do "za ma" hehe.

logged on this morning, wondering if Jang would be the last poster from last night hehehe...

jang you start work late and end late wan huh?

pinkbunny.. haha..I thought you mentioned eating some yummy curry crab at AMK, so that got me excited, coz curry crab is not dat common huh... if you like chilli crab..I find ban leong wah hoe's at casuarina (near lower pierce reservoir, famous courner shop) really good... hubby and I would go and order nothing but giant chilli crabs to eat hehehe

stephsg73, wat's bai dai?

gd morning do1nk,

bai dai (in chinese) is whitish sometimes yellowish discharge when not pregnant. folks say usually woman whose body are naturally "yin" and/or weak will have.

re giving egg
u can give egg yolk before one year and egg white after 1 year. how abt doing scrambled eggs with cheese? or steam egg? my boy also doesn't like to eat egg like hard boiled eggs so usually i do it omelette style, steam egg or scrambled eggs.

feel so tired. my boy sick since wed and i have not been able to sleep. he will wake up at 5am and cannot go back to sleep and will wan me to play with him. feel so guilty towards #2 cos not enough sleep, not enough food....sigh...

Hi Sonic,
hmm.. so far never heard of 6 months period before the next jab, i just follow PD schedule, she say this month take what and next month take what, i will follow.
the only reason for me to delay the jabs is when my daughter is sick!! i will postponed till she is better.

hi sonic

ya think the 6 mths period is not necessary unless the kid is sick.

My pd ask me to go back when my ger is 18 mths ... dunno for what booster jab .. cant rem liao. so far I have taken all the mandatory ones, and optional ones like rotavirus, pneumococcal, chicken pox and MMR.

here is my daughter,desiree wishes all mummies an advanced Happy Chinese New Year. Hope all of us have a smooth delivery in 5 months time.

1232281.jpg