(2008/07) July 2008

ask you all 1 question. Wonder if any of you are like me. I can have cravings for certain food. but 1 hr after eating the food, i'll puke all out. i'm still having some MS. but not sure if it's ok to eat already then puke out.do you all think that something is wrong with me? Or is this considered as normal for pregnant ladies?
puke so much till i also very scare.

Pinkbunny
I can feel abit sometimes only cos this is my 2nd pregnancy so I can feel earlier. I meant my #1 last time very active at night so I always tell him not to kick me so hard.
I dun get leg cramps so far *touchwood* this preg also dun have.

SY
My #1 is currently 15 mths. Sometimes I'm really very tired when he doesnt sleep well at night but somehow I dun feel guilty towards #2 maybe cos can't see physically yet anyway bb is resting so well in our tummies ma.

Jang
Think my son a bit too young to understand all these. Now he will sayang my tummy everynight n he takes special interest in bbs I already very happy liao.

Rain
If ur bb will listen should be counted ba. Anyway we talk so much everything bb also can hear ma....hehe

Rayna
I have heard before of ppl who cannot take coffee during preggy but they die die want to take so she jus take already n puke it out lor. So dun think there's a problem if ur okie with it.
But for me I rather not la cos I hate the puking feeling so I rather avoid food that triggers my MS or jus take VERY little bit to satisfy ur craving.

hi rayna,
u r normal...i'm about the same as u..i was so hungry and luv the foods so much, and i ate all up but soon, i will vomit them out...i'm gg to 12 wks but i'm still having this terrible problem...just hope we can pass this phrase soon...
dun worry rayna, its normal...so long when u visit your gynae next time & bb is ok & growing well, u do nt hv to worry...

Thanks dor dor and glitter!

glitter, same as u, i'm going to 12 wks too. think it's tomorrow. I will be doing my OSCAR test this sat. and wouldn't be seeing the gynae till 2nd Feb. I realise that i don't see the gynae as often as some of the gals here. I only seen him once so far and that's when i was at week 8.
Dor, the worst part now is there are some food that i take is ok for me a few days ago. then few days later when i take the same food, i'll puke. so i can't be like you avoid the food that triggers the MS. =( think i just have to bear with it for a while more.

rayna

i guess different gynaes have diff practice.

For my gynae, he is extra careful during the 1st tri. I first see him on week 6, saw the heartbeat. He request to see me one week later, to ensure bb is growing.

Then req to see me 2 weeks later, and then 3 weeks. That was in week 12, so once he confirm bb is stable, the subsequent visits will be once a month.

one thing to note. My gynae told me if the MS persist into 2nd trimester, look out any infection. Cos that is one of the reasons for prolong MS.

Rayna
I just done my Oscar yesterday , can c the nasal bone & neck is normal and they said tomorrow then call me for my blood test result..ask my gynae if can see boy or gal, she said : still too early..arrg..my next appt is 4 wks later, after CNY liao...

thanks lbt, i'll take note of it. now is i'm also not very sure if i'm into week 12. but shld be. will ask the nurse on sat when i do the OSCAR.

not really looking forward to doing the OSCAR test. cos i scare of needles and have a low treshold for pain. wonder how i'm going to endure labor pain also. *Scratch head*

when they draw blood for OSCAR, will they also test for thalassemia? or do we have to ask them to test for it?

lbt,
what kind of infection is your gynae referring to if MS persists?

dor dor
hmm, i dunno leh. i just feel guilty towards no 2 cos i feel i dun take as good care of myself now.

today my tummy quite obvious. think starting to grow liao...

ya...haa...I'm refering to delivery..cos if u r too in pain, u can't concentrate on pushing...for my 1st gal, i took epidural...& find it has worked for mi...

How many week then is our 2nd trimester i now should be 15 week ++ if i never cough then i will not vomit... ai yo my cough hor so long liao cough till i also scare and had try many many drink liao eg. Honey, mint tea, see many manytime doctor take many many cough medicine, almond tea all no use... sian ar..

Rayna,
do they need to draw blood for OSCAR test?
I read that u maybe in Wk 12. Issit too early for OSCAR?
R u refering to the NT scan instead? Cos this test is usually done between wk 12-14. I just did mine last week

Ling,

my parents are ok le.
but having difficulty with money. can't wait for the month to end so that i can get my salary and bonus. weddings and frequent check up is costing a bomb.

anyway does anyone of you planning on going for the antenatal programme by KKH?

ling
second trimester shd be abt week 14 onwards. i also coughing now. my cough came back..sian...

re epi
i also took it. it made a lot of difference! really no pain from the contractions.

ling,
cos u r preggy, the doc will usually prescribe med that is not so strong, meaning u will take longer to recover.
I cannot take honey 1 leh. After i drink hor, i find my throat very itchy and phlegmy 1.

Ling,

i suppose that your cough might be due to hormones changes. thats why.
my sensitive legs are also boz of hormones changes. it has been very itchy since pregnancy and it is not getting better. now don even dare to wear skirts as i can't help but to scratch when it itch. leaving so many red rash and scar on my legs. so ugly. so sad.

Re Epi
I have a friend she said her spinal cord the bones? area are too closely together and she cried while having epi and she even beg them not to inject. *faint*

I hope I can do natural if possible. gynae said I've narrow vaginal canal or what lor. But pls leh i cannot stand seeing the threadings at the stomach. Ouch! Plus there's been research that bb going thru natural birth are better because of the hormones emit while mothers gave birth.

i dont know my threshold of pain anymore. i am not scare of injection etc, take blood etc. i can see nurse poke the needle into my skin etc, i wont scream or what if i hurt myself like fall down from bicycle and cut my skin etc. BUT i am very scare of vagina pain leh. The gynae help me do the pad smear? and he helped wiped my vagina waaaaaaaa pain until want to cry. So i dont know if give birth, what will happen to me.

Btw, does gynae cut vagina area or is it cervix area to give more space to give birth? Really must cut or can wait for it to expand? i am reading Jan thread and one mummy said she 9.5cm dilated and end up C-section. cannot wait for it to stretch further etc?

Sept03
what type or brand of honey do u take? actually i'm not sure if can take manuka honey while pregnant but its v good for sore throat etc. i've sore throat at night, wake up to take a spoonful and slowly suck in then morning wake up, no more sore throat.

if the cough is cold, then avoid eating cold foods/cold drinks at the moment. else will take v long to recover.

Qing
i'm thinking of going for TMC programe instead of KKH. Wedding is like this so thats why its always good to have savings while working.

qing
did u go and get the lotion from pharmacy? try eucerin or cetaphil. for sensitive skin.

i din go for any antenatal classes.

Qing

you dont need to attend antenatal class so early. I think I started mine when I was 7 mths preggie.'

You can call the hospital and they will advise u when to start the class.

Jang
I had epidural also. It's not that painful lah.
Just keep very still.

And at that pt of time, the contraction pain is much more than the epi pain !

my gynae cut abt 3 cm of my vaginal.
It's quite unavoidable for 1st time mothers.

but my recovery is quite ok, think my gynae stitching skill is very good I feel.

eh paps smear is not supp to be such a painful process !! my gynae did it for me, i dont feel anything also.

Jang,
how much is TMC charging for the classes?
KKH is charging $120 for weekdays and $150 for sat. and it seem like KKh has class every week. i check the web for available class. every month there is about 4 classes.

i was wondering should we go for classes like this when it is nearing to labour like 7months or now can join? which is more favourable?

Rain,
you can surf KKH website.
under events & classes, the next available is in feb. i might check with the gynae during my next appt on how to go about it. but my next visit is 30th Jan.

SY
i tried cetaphil but not much uses. it is still itchy. especially during the night time. i also tried vitamin E and all sort of moisturisers. but still the same. the itch is killing me.

Qing
wat kind of rash? i need to check the pricing. i cannot rem if its $200 or $300++ or even $400. totally forget. if yr rash is v close together, feel itchy, is red, maybe u like to patch test (only one small part to try) tapioca flour mix with hot water, let it cool down and apply it when its warm onto yr area with towel. it will tighten the area and make it less itchy. so apply only like 1 teaspoon to one cup to avoid too thick. it must be watery otherwise when it dry, very tight n painful

Ibt
eekssssssss but u have epi so when sewing up u dont know if its painful or not. hmn sewing up means more prob/healing time. geeks

Hi there... am new here and my EDD is 070708..

I need some help here. Currently I am seeing a Dr Wee Horng Yen, Consultant from The Private Suite, KKH. Usually my appointments are in the evening at 7pm on Mondays.

I am a civil servant (Teacher) and I am able to produce my CSC card for payments at The Private Suite. When I asked the staff at TPS whether it is considered as a restructured hospital, they said no, although previously they said yes.

Anyway, checks from my pay slip has indicated that they have only deducted 15% of the bill from my pay. In other words, it seems that TPS is considered structured/govt hospital and thus CSC card has benefits. However, I am afraid that the 85% subsidy is too gd to be true (for TPS) and that they may actually deduct the entire amount from my pay much later.

Anyone who is a civil servant and have any information on the payment for The Private Suite?

Also, anyone took the package for the antenatal visits from TPS?

i am experiencing some pain on my left side, the area where the panties will be over it. hip bone area? is it because i am kind of experiencing bb movement?

Qing
6 lessons wkday $180+, $203
6 lessons wkend $214+, $235+

MORE EXp pricing=deliver at other hospital besides TMC

rain
i stay tiong bahru. alot of aunties in the area. was thinking of just walking around and checking out through auntie network when i'm more visible preggie hehe. i also headache, nobody to help look after. my MIL does not live in SG, my parents are working, relatives err, not really lor. no more grandparents. sigh.

jang
cross legged meaning one leg over the other, or like both feet under backside kind? i have a back problem and one leg over the other does give me spinal pain la. so maybe it will affect all mummies too, because of the increase in weight. like what labbit said

cinbunny,
ya ya ya i want pre natal yoga! ok we keep each other updated.

dordor
so cute, your son sayang your tummy!!

rayna
me and toilet bowl still good friends. 15 weeks liao. but lately no appetite. first trimester everything gian. now everything sian. many books say take a few small meals instead of just 3 big ones. i guess it helps lor. but at work, how la. so hard, right? i keep crackers with me la. and that helps ease the nausea

labbit
our next appt is in 2 weeks. i will ask gynae again if still got MS. our last appt remember he told me 'good good. vomitting is good so your stomach won't be so big'. kua kua kua...

SY
yay congrats! join the belly club hehe. don't forget to take photos of your belly journey!

ABOUT PAIN
wah biang. i also got low threshold for pain. my friend was telling me she inhaled alot of 'laughing gas' and that helped during her labour. see what gynae says i guess.

ABOUT PUBLIC TRANSPORT
update: still nobody giving up seat for lao niang on the train!! let's see who gets the first kind soul eh? hehe

Ling, i also 1st time mum. so also don't know how it will be. quite scare actually

Sept03 bride. i think OSCAR is the same as NT. they take blood for test as well as ultrasound. need to do it between 11 - 13/14 weeks. so i'm just nice to take it this weekend. =)

Pinkbunny, i also find eating small meals difficult lei. sometimes hor, when u buy food from outside 1 portion is 1 portion lor. eat a bit then throw the rest very wasteful lei. but like u, i have lots of biscuits and tidbits on my desk. my colleagues are saying my desk looks like a small pantry. hahahha.
What is 'laughing gas'?

good morning!

haha I'm so glad to hear that I'm not the only silly one terrified of needles.. I can never look when the nurse is jabbing me with a needle, and my heart will beat real fast, and I'll start shaking after a while..for the NT/OSCAR test, they took 4 testtubes of blood from me!

my hunger has slowed down now, but noticed I can't eat big portions or eat fast or will feel sick after that.. I love durians, and we bought some the other weekend.. the first one was yummy but the minute I finished it, the smell made me so sick I had to go lie down...

laughing gas is another alternative to painkillers like epidural when you deliver right? think my colleague took this instead of epidural or anaesthetic instead as she was allergic to the latter..

Mummy23,
Ya...agree! Those agency normally they ask u pay more is prob only that the package let u exchange for like 2 maids within 1 yr. Those cheaper package will include lesser things. I don't believe in wat promise of Grade A maids or watever also

glitter,
Actually i a bit scared of taking epidural, cos i heard of cases the mommy dont feel anything end up donno how to push then went emergency c-sect! Scared of this kind of thing happening!! *lol*
For my no. 1 i went for natural and only took pethidine with luffing gas....wah liew....then 1+ to 2 hrs before my actual delivery timing, I told nurse can opt for epi anot...the nurse say i crazy...haha..cos i oledi dilate 7-8cm liowz...so juz have to "ren" and use luffing gas. But I find luffing gas quite gd lehz
....i take deep breath liowz feel very high at least relieve some pain...hehe

pinkbunny,
Yesterday i took MRT home also nobody give up for me, mabbe cos i not wearing maternity tops yet *lol*

lbt,
I think my gynae also cut quite big for my case...cos my ger's head was 36cm!! Big head, I saw at the nursery her head is one of the biggest, the rest are usually 34-35cm! *lol* No wonder my wound took a bit longer to heal...*sigh*

Jang,

thats expensive. KKH is less than $200 with 10 sessions. i think i will go for KKH one instead. morevoer i am not delivering in TMC.

as for rash,
both my hands and legs are very itchy. do i do the test on one small part of my leg? tapioca flour mix with hot water = gluely feeling right?
do i have to wash it off after that?

pinkbunny
we stay quite near! i'm staying near bt merah. juz now walk past the depot rd zion bb care centre then saw many toddlers hanging ard together but like know how to walk. then they ve another area is for kids n they hold hands dun koe sing songs or play games. for single child, gd to go to such centre to interact with other kids. only bad pt is what many mummies said. get lots of virus/bacteria home.

for me i also vomit everyday then i check things out. my main prob is i wake up v late n have late breakfast so the empty stomach already hurt my end of the day digestion. imagine i drank cereals at 10am and still consider late. alamak. so now 8plus i go buy breakfast. must kuai kuai liaoz

my grandmother already 90+ liao lor hahaha how to take care bb? my mum shall do the job and lets hope she wont grumble too much. must start to teach bb now to be good bb. dont cry at night.

err cross leg=one leg over another.

Celeste Blur
saw that spree liao. but not keen to join this. next time if u organise again, pls post it here also then i can order directly with u becoz i cannot join the spree also. tsktsk

as for MRT, maybe take those MATERNITY CLOTHES brochure, Breastfeeding etc and see if anyone let u sit down while u are reading them with a not-so-plump and doesnt see pregnant stomach body. ahhaha. Thats what I did oncce. Then I also not paisei abt sitting down lor. :p

I saw another place, one mum try natural (W/O Epi) for like many hrs (half day event) then also end up C-section and labour is 24hrs. My mum gets to input 3 bags of blood after giving birth to me and she thought she gone case liaoz. *tremble* because i refuse to come out or what. Then even after that her nightmare not over. I even cried at night for very long time and sleep in the morning.

Qing
wa 10 lessons??? Thats cheap! I will check out KKH to see how is it.

Yup, u just do it on one small patch of rash. Maybe just 50ct area. Mix very little amt of tapioca flour with hot water, stir, then let it cool down first and use towel to wipe. but since patch test, i think use hand to wipe is okay. Then just leave it like this. It will tighten the area and will not be so itchy.

If its sticky, then TOO MUCH already. Later tight until painful. texture is RUNNY like clear 'pi ti' hehehhee.

THis remedy is get from temple one. So really depends on the type of rash thats why i asked u to patch test. Actually i was also told to wash with one type of grass but i dont know what grass because its my senior (ah pei status) helped me pluck the leaves.

Mummiessssss
I saw Mt A hospital, they provide like free video demo via their TV programs for mummies to learn and also have nurses to help 1st time mum to learn how to take care of bb. So does this mean i dont need to go for such classes if I plan to deliver at Mt A? Save $ lor since with BB is not cheap.

haha.. I sayang my stomach and read preggie magazine oso no one give up seat for me...

when do you all intend to start prenatal classes? maybe we can join the same class

will check out NUH Prices during my next visit (but probably not so popular as not many people deliver there)

good morning all.. i m back to work.. been MC due to flu bugs..

SY,
my flu very jia lat leh... been sick over the weekends, back to work on Tues then afternoon down again. sigh... i bo bian, yesterday went to my aunt's place to sleep cos if i stay at home, my #1 sure want to cling on me...

I dont feel unfair for the #1 cos #2 have not come out. but hard to say in future lah. anyway, i m really tired these few days, dont know wat happened to him, keep crying non stop and want to be carried and walk around.. sian....

why dont u pretend to vomit n see if anyone will give up the seat? hehehhehehe i am lucky because i tar bao my things to do at home and i take cab to work. cannot stand the jerking bus plus journey takes up too long time. and oh my working hrs is own time own target but must finish my work so i'm like working from mon-sun if i cannot get things done.

If take up the class, i'm more keen to take up TMC since so many pple rave abt this Ms Wong although i know one lady said she talked irrelevant stuffs too. Aiyo aunties hor, always side track one.

waterman,
i also use CSC card to pay when i m visiting TPS. but hor i normally dont care how much they deduct my salary one leh.. i m just lazy :p

i will be signing up the antenatal visits from TPS, 10x of routine tests/consultations from my gynae costs $620 cos she's senior there.

Jang,
I think take out those brochure also no use lah. I got frens telling me they purposely protrude their already obvious tummy and then ppl pretend to be asleep *lol*...but sometimes understandable lah, some ladies they have their families also...reach home need to do this n that so they prob wanna catch a short wink on the mrt.

Me that time quite heng....although mine was induced case, cos 40wks liowz...labour lasted bout 6 hrs in total. Otherwise I think I prob surrender to epidural also *lol*...at that time i kept wondering I will faint from the pain anot...haha

do1nk,
I think prob need to wait till like 8 mths or so before got ppl really willing to give u seats *sigh*

JMON
was it useful?

and what is the antenatal visit about?

do1nk
i intend to start only when i am abut 6 to 7 mths. scare later learn too early forget liao.
most probably going for KKH ones.

Jang,
thanks for your advise. might try later

Qing,
i find it ok lor esp at the part where the nurse teach you how to take care of infant cos i had experience of taking of infants when my bro and my cousin were just babies. so this is just to refresh my memory.

some are useful for 1st time mum, like wat to eat, how to exercise, how to breastfeed, etc