celeste,
the $5 increase in my boy's FM is based on 900g per tin lor. lucky my hb collected 6 $5 discount coupons from SingPost, so will be buying all 6 tins at one go to last till April cos after that he will change to stage 3 of the FM.
pinkbunny,
dun stress.. things will workout in the end. how abt your other relatives who can help u to cook?
as for catering of confinement food, it's not cheap leh. 2 meals a day for 28 days (i think) costs abt $1600 leh.
as for the bathing part, no need to worry, though i have ILs to help me, i still boil the herbal water myself. just throw in the herbs packet into the pot and boil it. wait for it to cool off a bit then pour the herb water into pail and mixed with tap water till 1 full pail, and wah-lah, can bath liao
if u know how to cook, u can cook simple confinement food. the ingredients needed are very simple, ginger, sesame oil, rice wine/DOM, etc are things that cannot run away one. then u can steam fish with ginger/sesame oil/soya source, fried kailan/chai xin with sesame oil/ginger, boil herbal soup with chicken thigh, cook mee suah soup with rice wine/ginger/sesame oil/minced pork, fried egg mixed with minced pork, ginger with sesame oil etc very very easy to prepare. but need ur mum/mil/hb to help u on marketing.
i eat these for 1 whole mth basically. then for the boiling of red dates tea also very easy. i very lasy so i just throw everything into slow cooker in the morning and boil it.