(2008/07) July 2008

celeste blur

usually i buy FM from chinese medical hall. It is $1-$2 cheaper than NTUC. even diapers too !

Jang

full pregnancy is 40 weeks.

jang,
aiyo ur qn is v funny. wat do u mean by 'full pregnancy'? 37 wks can b considered full term but the whole pregy act lasts 4 40 wks. so which is e one u're asking bt? hehehe

as 4 bathing. hmmmm, intersting qn. i tot it depends on preference? as long as we dun fall dn can liao lor!

stroller:
i got a peg perego too. it's v good. sturdy n v smooth, v easy to push. altho it's heavy but it act feels weightless when u push it cos it's v well made. i've tried others, mclaren, lucky bb etc. they're lighter than peg perego but much more diff to push. i bring my ger out on peg perego myself, but can only take mrt lah. tt one hor, too heavy to fold n carry. but occasionaly when i've to access staircase, still hafta carry e stroller together w my ger. hehehe...

CL:
erm, i personally dun like e idea o a CL lah. i like to b hands on. n i've heard too many horror stories o CLs. unless u're v lucky n get a gd one. or i tink it's more suffering than help. i feel e 1st mth, most o e work is feeding e bb n tt CL oso can't help. those who dun wan a CL, can cater confinement food 4 e mth n if ur mb mil/mum can help w chores in e day, it shld b fine.

pills:
i dun haf so many diff pills leh. so far only folic. 4 my last pregy, fr 2nd tri oso only multivit n fish oil (optional). my gynae dun recommend calcium pills cos they're q heaty n yes, as long as we drink enof milk, wld b fine.

hi everyone, not sure if this has already been asked but how's everyone's bump coming along? i seem to be quite big for 13+ weeks. yesterday the gynae said 'wah have you always had a little tummy?'. and when we told him i was still having morning sickness he said 'good, keep throwing up'. dunno if should feel insulted by his comments or not leh.

kimi
i'm toying with the idea of catering confinement food too (there's a caterer called natal something, heard it's good). but the bathing part (herbal baths?) and how to take care of myself etc, i dunno who to approach for help. my MIL is not in SG and my mum is working.

you all seem to be very zhai about your pregnancies, now i feel quite scared! everything blur!

Kimi
oh i dont have any idea so ask and check out then see how gynae derive the EDD hehhee

i dont know leh not sure can bend and clean. because earlier i read those pregnant ladies at later stage cannot bend forward. must sit and slant, like not pressing on stomach as not good for baby. :p know nuts abt early stage though :p

lbt,
I went to various places to see liowz...hehe...so far the cheapest is at the Bukit Panjang I saw. Previously it was already around $3+ cheaper than NTUC. Now I tink my Nan 3 selling around $26+ at NTUC, then the bukit panjang my fren told me selling at $23.80 so its still bout $2+ to $3 cheaper?

pinkbunny,
Me also having slight MS now. Juz got those nauseous feeling at times but heng no throw up already. Before that I can throw up like 4x a day! *sigh*. My No. 1 one MS not so bad one

Jang,
37 weeks bb is "ripe" enuff to pop liowz...haha..but got ppl say 40 weeks pop better cos very "ripe" mah...but cannot "overcooked" also....for my no. 1 i was induced at 40 wks cos gynae say dont wait so long as bb is big enuff liowz

celeste,
the $5 increase in my boy's FM is based on 900g per tin lor. lucky my hb collected 6 $5 discount coupons from SingPost, so will be buying all 6 tins at one go to last till April cos after that he will change to stage 3 of the FM.

pinkbunny,
dun stress.. things will workout in the end. how abt your other relatives who can help u to cook?

as for catering of confinement food, it's not cheap leh. 2 meals a day for 28 days (i think) costs abt $1600 leh.

as for the bathing part, no need to worry, though i have ILs to help me, i still boil the herbal water myself. just throw in the herbs packet into the pot and boil it. wait for it to cool off a bit then pour the herb water into pail and mixed with tap water till 1 full pail, and wah-lah, can bath liao :p

if u know how to cook, u can cook simple confinement food. the ingredients needed are very simple, ginger, sesame oil, rice wine/DOM, etc are things that cannot run away one. then u can steam fish with ginger/sesame oil/soya source, fried kailan/chai xin with sesame oil/ginger, boil herbal soup with chicken thigh, cook mee suah soup with rice wine/ginger/sesame oil/minced pork, fried egg mixed with minced pork, ginger with sesame oil etc very very easy to prepare. but need ur mum/mil/hb to help u on marketing.

i eat these for 1 whole mth basically. then for the boiling of red dates tea also very easy. i very lasy so i just throw everything into slow cooker in the morning and boil it.

Celeste,
Same here, my ms was not as bad for #1 and i tot #2 sud be even better who knows........

any >2nd time mummies giving goat's milk formula to their older kids? My son is 16 mths old now and i'm giving him Karihome goat's milk since i gave up bf ard 9 mths. The price has been increasing and I tot of changing to Similac. But I heard that Similac is kinda oily and heaty. Would like to hear some feedback from experience mummies before deciding which brand to change. I prefer Similac or Enfa.

actually I've never understood all these advice that some say we must practise:

* why can't we touch water after we deliver?
* why can't we bathe in normal water but must use herbs, and wat kinda herbs are these?
* why can't we wash our hair?
* why can't we be exposed to any breeze (will get pain in the bones.. arthritis? rheumatism?)

Confinement food, I guess ginger is to help expel air, but for those who are breastfeeding, can't take too much too right or may make baby yellow?

What's sesame oil, rice wine, vinegar and DOM for?

what other do's and don'ts are there?

pinkbunny
MS is a good sign as it is due to your pregnancy hormones. so your gynae prob trying to say that. last time when my MS is very bad, my gynae also say it's good. he said throw up more is better.

sy,
my gynae also told me the same thing when i complaint to her about my bad ms.....but it's comforting la cos at least we know our bb is progressing well hehe......

Celeste Blur
ohhhhhhhh now i get it. Thanks! hehe. Just some update, i'm reading some books now (on and off) and the one i touched on now is said talking to baby. its in chinese but translated from japanese author. inside the book, they talked abt baby not in position yet although EDD is due or over. Then they told bb to 'use their own force to come out before when and when' ie weight, date etc and then the baby really comes out on that day/criteria. sounds amazing sia. i guess no harm trying too. some will tell bb to get into corrcet position, dont let mummy go open tummy or forceps used to aid in delivery. etc. then all turn out to be natual delivery. think must really talk to bb. :p

one eg is talked for 2 hrs to bb!!!

do1nk
sesame oil is very good for body but i forget what. really v good n thats why koreans used it a lot in their cuisine. lots of goodies inside and their fragrance are lost easily so its best to put it at last stage if they r required for fragrance.

Ginger is get rid smell, allow air to flow better in body i think. give body warm too.
as for not getting into any air etc, yes, thats right. i am only late 20s hor and i already kena it. so no way am i going to on air con.

share my experience, if i sleep with aircon on, when i woke up in the morning, my joints and bones ache! when i open the window rather big, no curtain to block partial air, so constantly blow at my legs, wa morning wake up, legs damn cold and no energy, like lots of air inside. then the other time i saw chinese medicine show n they said if wind gets into the bones, next time will ache etc. i go to those dui na place to dui my back and the uncle/auntie also said so. the auntie is chinese doc while her husb all along doing dui na. she said now enjoy aircon, fan blow onto face/body, next time old liao then know. heheheh

just an update.. john little having nursery fair 20% discount till this sunday ... includes prams, car seats, cots etc ...

u all might wan to go down have a look and grab if there's anything that catches ur eyes!!

Updated table

<table border=1><tr><td>Jul 2008 MTB</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Predicted</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>#kids </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sparks</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>29-May</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Jenny Chua</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen S L</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Tinyfeet</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Eve Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Roy Ng Kwok Weng</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Star</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>JMON-lynn</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Serene Yap</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Sandy Lek</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Sheila</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>04-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Jeanyard</TD><TD></TD><TD>05-Jul</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>NIL</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>AMM</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>06-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>06-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Chloegal</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Cin Bunny</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Celeste Blur</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Hannahl</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC/MTA</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Labbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Sy</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Shirlyn Teng</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian B</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Icegal oink</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>MeiH</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Nienie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Qing</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Lee Hui Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Miracle</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>triplets </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Lisa William</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>dor dor</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Shu</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Batgirl</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Caitlyn</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Mummy yan</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>twins</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Sally Cinnamon</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>do1nk</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Helpme</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Manuka</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr ML Yeap</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Peppermint</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>SNL</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Beverly</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Delphine</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>piggy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>Glitter</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Pink Bunny</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mid Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Cynn</TD><TD></TD><TD>late jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Dongle</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Shay</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>04-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>Kimi</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>04-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>Little bear</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Oei Pau Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>Missmissy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>Wu Hui Hui</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

sereneyap
a lot depends on your gynae. some gynaes willing to confirm as early as 12 weeks but for mine he said not accurate. can only be sure later.

sereneyap,
me same as u, curious at the same time, I'm anxious to know too..heee...

like SY said, really depends on individual gynae..

glitter
i keep asking my gynae leh but he said next visit then can confirm...i know he won't say but i still try my luck...no luck.

SY,
I'm gg for my Oscar next tues(15 Jan) ....hmmm, i will try my luck &amp; ask my gynae...hopefully can see, bb is co-operative &amp; gynae willing or can i say confident to say out...

But of course, my primary concern will be all clear for my oscar ...

Jang,
wah..tok to bb for 2 hrs! Amazing...hehe

SY,
so fast 12 weeks? My gynae say normally 18 weeks earliest. Then during my NT scan at 13wk+ the radiographer also say normally detailed scan then can see

SY,
Your gynae is so funny. he keeps on asking his patients for birdnest huh.

Rain,
TPS = The Private Suite
It's located at KKH, at the children tower, next to 7-Eleven. Go and check it out when you go down for your next check up. KKH is no longer the cheapest among all, it's even more expensive than some private hospitals if you opt for EPS package at TPS. Yours is 'expensive' as I thought clinic A should be cheaper than TPS. Never mind as long as you still get the best service from a top gynae there.

You haven't do your FTS yet? 16 weeks is already too late for the NT scan. Only blood test alone is not accurate. You better call your gynae to find out soonest possible before your next visit.

Re car seat

Mine is Britax too. Can be used from 0+ upto 4yrs old, costs about $400 average is $100 per year so it's still quite reasonable. I agree that we must not be stingy over spending on car seat, we can get cheap stroller but not car seat, safety on the road is always a first priority.

Britax is good, but too bulky. I will have problem when I get another car seat with the arrival of my 2nd baby in July. While my boy is still young, 14mos now, he cannot sit on booster seat yet, which mean my rear car seat will be occupied by two bulky car seats. Oh dear... Anyone can recommend any other good brand for car seat which is more compact ie. can save more space?

Celeste
hehe ya so u remember to talk to yr bb too! but dont read books for too long. might irritate the bb. hahaha. 10mins/day is enuff. Overwise backfired. hah. i think reading story book is later stage ba? anyway bk said always good to talk to bb because bb forming and they have the left brain developed too. can see images thru mummy *shrug* lets interview some bb in the womb hahahahhaha

i have started talking to bb by touching stomach. hehe but i started having dreams again. very 'dreamy person'. wondering if my bb knows anot. Oppss.... my dream can be quite violent at times.

and err 12wks can try to see gender? i already tell my bb to prepare himself/herself. if during scan must rem to sit open, hands high up haha. Dont block the gender identity

JMON
wow thanks for the recipes! indeed they sound very simple! btw, where to buy those packet herbs before?

JMON and celeste
thanks for the encouragement. i stay in a rather old estate so was thinking of walking around and asking the neighbourhood aunties if they know of anyone. then next time when i go back to work also can leave baby in her care. still considering

sereneyap
i'm in my 14th week. had a scan 2 days ago and gynae hinted 'these feet look like they're made for shopping'. but he says can confirm at next appointment (3 weeks time). i heard it also depends if your baby is cooperative

jang
you so funny, preparing your baby like that hehe. i've been having very very weird dreams since pregnancy too.

have a nice weekend, everybody

oh, got this from my gynae, for those of you still plagued by MS. things that may cause you to feel queasy:

milk and milk products
sour foods including citrus fruits + strawberries + tomatoes + kiwis
overly oily foods
overly spicy foods

but milk i drink anyway. if not wait baby no calcium, take from me how?

When i did my oscar scan at 12 weeks, i was told that can't tell the gender yet cos they all looked the same at that time. And they showed me the private part, true leh, only 1 line down there.

When i did the scan at the gynae's clinic at 14 weeks, still can't tell cos of the position of the bb.

Now so anxious
Must wait till 2 feb for the next visit then can try my luck again. Haiz... Can't wait man.

Btw, what do all of u wear to sleep at nite? I'm having problems finding big and comfortable enough shorts to sleep at nite cos i'm not used to sleeping with dresses

wow hannahi, your scan sounds very detailed.. we could only see our little baby lying on its back, and a blur outline of its hands and legs .. hope to see more in next visit ..will be 15 wks then..wonder if we'll be able to tell the gender by then....

been dreaming almost every nite too, but can't seem to remember most of them.. haha

anyone going for the john little sale?

Jenny
Thanks for the information!

not going for the sale because no one accompany meeeeeee plus i hate crowds now. just now went kenny roger ate alone and then vomit out. waste my $$$. think cant take the spaghetite (how to spell haha).

Pinkbunny
yea i throw temper also tell bb i will be good to bb next time. DONT worry *wink*

I wear pjamas/track pants to sleep. I cannot wear shorts because i like to kick away my comforter while i'm zzzzzz then i make myself so cold at night. so i must wear long pants.

later on after 1st trimster, i'm going to squat and bath. to train up my legs and also stamina. I believe will aid in labour. I believe only la becoz cannot squat to give birth leh although i wanted to so much. - because see newspapers, those young kids or teenagers/adults gave birth while squatting/sitting down to go toilet.

Ibt
ya loh actually what u said make sense. i cannot stand it when my husb say where got bb put car seat one. then i have a friend, she has car seat on the car but she hand carry her bb which is sooooooo dangerous. if anything, the bb is the first one to get hurt during abrupt brake etc. so its not good. just knock against the plastic compartments is enough already. but she said u also need to see whether the kid/bb wants to be seated on the car seat anot. headache manz.

JMON-Lynn
not cheapo lah, if u go there often, know yr way etc, then worth to buy more on a single trip. all the $ adds up. like now, i also headache. dont know how to settle who to take care of bb because i'm working too. opt for child care leh or let my mum take care? but my mum bad temper and su ka su ka throw temper. later say 'u bring yr bb home lah. i dont take care of u liaoz' then i L-L liao. Sianzzz

If both sides then means (cot + bedside table) etc X 2 + 1 yao lan *faint*

is it true bb who zzzzzzz on yao lan has flat head? or just a myth? coz i was reading this on other thread n they talked abt this. for me i zzzzzz on yao lan and my back of the head quite flat lehhhhhhhhhh tsktsk

but my mum said bb zzzz on yao lan = like pple hugging bb so more secure, less noisy, cry lesser etc

Jang
Actually bbs who sleep in yaolan will have rounder head those who sleep on bed tend to have flat head if they always sleep on 1 side.
But I never let my son sleep in yaolan cos if they get addicted everytime sleep must yao lan then go out how??

wow hannah. your scan like very advanced leh! mine is always same angle. baby's head on left, legs on right.

next gynae visit, we will film the scan! would be interesting to show baby when he/she is a bit older

raining and lazy, didn't make it to john little in the end hehe.

wa so 'ON' even scan during the scan. Like those commercial film etc. hehhee. Interesting &amp; fun. Ask yr hubby to interview u too. hah

DorDor
oic. then i'm one of the rare cases. my mum commented on that (bb in yaolan more secure) because her friend's grandson kept on crying n crying. like not secure.

re: yaolan
it's already been proven tt yao lan is bad for bb's spine and it's dangerous. u can go to KKH webbie, it says never put bbs in yaolan. n i agree w dor dor, my frens who haf bbs on yaolans haf a tough time weaning them off. wat 4 start sthg unnecessary den spend extra effort to wean off? i feel best is to sleep in a cot fr e start, best n safest 4 bb n most convenient for us.
as 4 e secure feeling, tt's y bbs r swaddled mah. all newborns r wrapped up, even their limbs so they can feel safe n warm, just like in their mummies' wombs.

pinkbunny,
i still can wear most o my shorts. but a couple o them r too tight liao leh. it's q hard 2 find loose shorts unless u buy e ones 4 guys which r way too long 4 my liking. wat i did 4 my last preg was to go chinatown n stock up on boxers.
they're so comfy. tell u hor, even after pregy i still wear e boxers, sometimes even out 2 e coffeeshop. hehehehe....

oh, thx 4 e info bt wat food trigger MS. but u're rite lah, milk still must drink rite? sigh..

went chk up 2day. lost bt 2kg so far. was q surprised cos i tot my MS better n was starting to eat almost full meals again... but bb is fine. so now 99% safe

i dont know if i read it here or where (books) but adding vinegar into soup (not sure if marinate together or halfway cooking etc) will make the calcium/iron (dun koe which one) to be released frm the bones during cooking, then can get those goodies from the soup.

re: yaolan
if thats the case abt secure feelnig, might as well buy the clothes where can swaddle bb? somemore wont be bad for bb spine. must update my mum's knowledge. tell her KKH website put that. thanks for sharing!

Hey mummies
i find this v useful in case anyone dont know

http://www.kkh.com.sg/ChildSafety/SafetyatHome/

I like to see those online shops items and some sell the waterproof mat and some put them in between the mattress and bedsheet. isnt this dangerous? equivalent to getting a mattress that cannot allow air to pass thru and is safety hazard?

Kimi
do u have the link for the yaolan? i cant find in kkh website abt spine issue n yao lan. thanks

jang,
e sarong cradle mentioned on e KKH webbie is yaolan. e issue bt e spine, i read it somewhere else, i can't rem where tho. i noe places like robinson (i tink..) dun sell yaolan anymore cos it's bad 4 bbs. btw, i read b4 in e in papers... docs said sarong carriers r nt gd 4 bbs' spines too.

re: yao lan
yup, it is bad for spine but good for head. Cookie had loop sided head (one side flat, another round) cos he always turn to one side even when we moved him. in the end gotta put inside yao lan.
but we use yao lan in the day and firm mattress at night until 4mths when he started to flip, then we stop using cos afraid he'll fall out.

re:yao lan

I would like to share my experience with it too all mummies too... Now I'm having my #2 and EDD is August. When my #1 was born. Yao lan was introduced to him as early as when he was a month old.

Personal opinion...
Use yao lan if..
your bb was delivered by assisted vacuum and needs yao lan's help to prevent agrivating the shape of the bb's head.

Ultimately we still, we need to let him get used to mattress and his babycot b'cos bring him out (shopping or visiting) is a nightmare when he cannot get used to sleeping in his pram.

1-9mths (yao lan)
9-14mths (mattress)
14-now 28mths (yao lan during naps and bed at night)

jang

ur fren is not wrong either. There are many kids who refused to be confined to car seat SOOOOOOO you have to start early. Early as in the kid is still not v smart yet hahaha

I rem I started at abt 3-4 mths old. SO bb is very used to be strapped in the car seat enjoying the view outside.

That's the key to getting bb to sit in the car seat.

OH btw, it is good to practise squatting for easy labour but then again, NOT TOO early hor. Else some preggies may experience low placenta. Do it a few weeks before full term lah.

Hannah

I still wear my usual shorts and t shirt to sleep. I am not used to sleeping dresses also but then when we progress to later stage, the dresses really comes in handy. COs I cant find any big shorts !!

Re:yao lan

yeah dor dor is right. sleeping in yao lan promises rounder head like my gal !!

my mum said her head is like a round apple, very perfect.

btw my gal has been sleeping in the yao lan since 5 mths old till now. IN fact she can sleep better and longer in yao lan. Same for my nephews and nieces. At nite, she sleep in her own cot, no need yao lan.

You need to establish this kind of routine so bb is used to it. Oh on weekends at my MIL place, she sleeps on the mattress during day time cos no yao lan there too.

The trick to get bb NOT SO ADDICTED To yao lan is ....

DONT ROCK TILL THEY FALL ASLEEEP.

So this also means dont buy those electric ones cos parents tends to leave it on rocking even bb is asleep.

WHen you sense that bb is going into deep sleep, stop rocking. let the bb fall asleep on his/her own.

THis method applies to all methods of getting bb to sleep, be it patting or you carry and rock the bb.

Always ensure that bb fall asleep on his/her own.

my gal has no problem sleeping when we are outside. When they are tired, they sleep anywhere !

hewchen,
now your toddler is still using yao lan? is it safe?
my son sleeps in his playpen now cos he'll roll all over the place and he falls asleep by himself by tossing and turning.

wow thanks all mummies for the replies on yaolan! keep them coming in hehehe. so the idea of bb on yaolan has flat head has been busted. boohoo. as for spine ya, think maybe morning put inside yaolan then at nite put in cot. my mum also mentioned not to shake the yaolan otherwise it will be a habit.

Ibt
oh my friend,she and her husband also bad examples. both dont put seat belts. even when she carrys her bb. aiyoo but u r right, really must train bb. i saw one UK video and the toddler so happy to be seated on the car seat. smiling happily.

oh luckily u told me abt the squatting issue. else i also dont know. i still like to squat down at times to do my things now but i restrain from doing too often. so far only initially stage where i dont know abt it (that squatting/walk too much is no no for 1st trimster).

I am VERY angry today because my husb was picking up my goaty soft toy on the floor. then unhappy that i dropped onto the floor, he tossed it up. Then it landed on my stomach as i'm lying on the sofa! argkkkkkkkkk and its a hard land because it goes up and then come down. makes me sooooooooo pissed. hope bb is fine.

I am having diarrhea and fever. Hardly eat anything since yesterday. Vomited some yellowish liquid. Feel so sick and worry about my BB. If mummy didn't eat then BB will have no nutrients rite?

Both my nephews sleep in yao lan. Like what lbt mentioned, BB can sleep better and longer in yao lan. Both of them have round head too.

hannahi, we share the same gynae. Dr Paul Tseng. and u seeing him on 2nd Feb too? That's my next appointment too. what time is you appointment?

can I ask how squatting exercises would help us have easier labours? opens up our cervix?

jang, dun stay mad at your hubby lah, am sure he didn't do it on purpose.. BB should be fine coz got our tummy as cushion.. haha all dat anger may be worse for the little one inside..

beverly, the yellowish liquid is your gastric juices coz you are too hungry with no food inside..perhaps you could take some warm broth, chicken soup or mild porridge dats easy on stomach but will fill you up and baby will have something too? sip fruit juices too... take care ya.. go see a doctor if still not better..

it's monday again, traffic in the morning was horrible and more people at work are starting to ask about the tummy now (news spread real fast)

have a good week ahead y'all!

morning ladies!!

monday blues.....

Jang,
my no. 1 I tried toking to her lah...no use...I ask her to come out at 39 wks liowz..she stay till 40wks still refuse to come out then gynae induce me liowz *lol*

pinkbunny,
u tinking of getting a bbsitter for ur bb? Start sourcing for one early

Hihi all,
will like to join this thread.
Currently 14 wks preggy.
Nick:sept03bride
EDD:14th Jul 08
Hospital:TMC
Gynae: Doc Adrain Woodworth
Zone: West
No of kids: 01

my boy was on the yao lan when he was abt 3 mths old. We used it only for his naps. He will sleep in his cot at night. Reason why we started him on the yao lan was because he couldnt nap very long on cot. But with the yao lan, he could nap up to 3-4 hours which makes him less cranky.
Anyway he self wean off the sarong when he was abt 14 mths. Refused to be laid into the yao lan. So now for his nap, he is sleeping on mattress.
I think no fast and hard rules when it comes to taking care of BB. Whichever way works for u

Hi i also like to join this thread.

I m around 14 wk too as my delivery is around 16 jul. this time round edd is really estimated as my gynae say my menses date not accurate as I just wean off bf.

I have a boy now going to 11 mth.