(2008/07) July 2008

morning,
ytd i on leave went for check up ai ya i thought can see the bb gender cos my last visit gynae said on this visit can see but who's kn my bb leg open abit only cannot see clearly...then gynae push my tummy abit can see the bb move to the side a bit but he/she use the hand cover up then end up cannot see
anyway for me gal or boy still the same... bb now is 8.72cm weight 101gm

ytd i do my blood test now waiting for the result hopefully every things is ok for me... im doing the FT scan on 21 feb this test is for what de ar?

lbt
i also got my medela pump from FFY. i only getting the replacement parts. the shipping is not that ex. i already checked it out.

i also bought my stuff during later pregnancy stage. wait for robinsons sale or isetan sale etc.

i got a combi stroller (the lightweight one) but i feel it is not very hardy. after 2 years of use and 2 trips, it seems to be a bit breaking down.

i got the britax safe and sound as well. it's the reversible car seat.

ling
FT scan is for down syndrome. it shd be done betwn 11-14 weeks. how many weeks are u then?

Sonic,
Where is TPS? Is it the Ang Mo Kio clinic? So my price is expensive har? What's the market price? I always tot KKH will be cheaper.

Pump: What are the brands available? How to select? Think need those experiences bird to guide us new birdie.

FT Scan: My doc never asks me to do ler. My next visit, I will be 16wk. I will do the blood test then. Is it too late?

Robinsons having sale now. but since we are all popping in July, then can wait for the great sg sale.just worry no energy to walk onli. =)

my hb wants to look for those stroller or pram that have the bb facing us when pushing instead of facing outside. he say this way can see the bb and make sure bb is ok. but i think this kind of stroller cannot use for very long rite? Any 1 have this kind of stroller? What brand is good?

Hi Rayna,
I also bought a Combi stroller, friends advised that Combi are quite light...

Hi ling,
how many wks r u nw? cos u say your gynae say can c the gender already...

Ling you should be 15wks now right?

wah i'm 3 weeks later than you but my baby's half your baby's size.. is mine too small or is that normal?

I actually LOVE the buzz but it's really big and bulky and I definitely can't handle it by myself..but still like it a lot leh...if onli it came in zapp's frame but with the buzz seat...

Hi Glitter,
I heard that COmbi is light. but is it sturdy?

i also scare to get those heavy ones. cos if i'm alone with the bb, then it's difficult to carry the stroller down the stairs. and i don't have lift landing on my floor yet. =(

do1nk, u talking about stroller or car sit? sorry me a bit blur liao. buzz is the brand is it?

Hi Rayna,
to me, the Combi stroller is still quite sturdy & steady ...but of course after using 1 yr or so, it becomes quite used liao...

mayb the next Isetan sale, u can go take a look, i think they will have offer for Combi...

or u can go Kiddy Palace, there are quite a no. of strollers , inclusive of Combi brands...u can tried on them and c if u r comfortable w it....

doggiebb
really must attend those courses hor? ai. what to do. i have 5% knowledge only. borrowed a DVD from NLB to bring new born home. see the washing part already freak me out. Plus the wiping of eyes etc. oh oh.

how does things work when u book a confinment lady? safe to have only 2 person (u and her) plus baby in the house? hmn must put deposit with her 1st or just verbal agreement first? thx!

Ibt
Do u know how much is it to rent those pump? Hmn and err yr babyseat (car) is how much? I told husb must get one but he said later bb outgrow. V Meowwww

Do1nk
I think no need to worry so much abt bb size? because i read mum with some girl/guy grows at diff rate during pregnancy

Re Robinson Sale
Now the sales is open for public. I think might be better Before they are open for public. ie to Members only. There's additional discount from what i see from brochure.

Jang

i bought the medele pump, not sure how much to rent.

Eh the car seat is quite big leh .. can tahan until ur kid is 4 yrs old unless your kid is VERY big size.

I think we shld not compromise on child's safety and save on the cost of the car seat.

I see a lot of kids jumping around in the car. I cant imagine when accident happen. They will be thrown outside the car and it can be fatal.

And I dont agree on mothers or maid carry the child in hand. It is not safe also.

Jang

forgot to mention. my car seat cost me $390+ .. cant recall actual price.

most of the high end stroller can have either bb facing you or the other way. Very flexible. I think Aprica, Graco and Combi are the famous brands among parents.

rayna, I was referring to strollers...the brand is Quinny.. buzz and zapp are the models actually..

won't be getting any confinement lady as I'm staying wiv my MIL.. maybe get my own mom to come over and help too.. heard many horror stories about nasty confinement ladies..

so what's for lunch today?? Think I'm still eating a lot..munching on tit bits from HK, and going for lunch soon! haha

jang

yeah! it will help if you attend one of those. but i didn't! hehe! cos i know i am getting a CL. typically it's better if you can get a CL thru recommendations, mine came highly recommended.

what i did was i just called her and told her my edd and she is like booked already. subsequently when i got admitted to hospital, i called her again and she came over when i got back home.

if you are a bit worried about being alone with her CL, the first few days you could ask your mum or mil to just pop by. but my CL was a godsent! don't know how I could have survived without her and persisted with breastfeeding!

as for stroller, i bought a peg perego! it's italian made and very sturdy, only thing is it's very heavy. but i reckon the stroller would only be used when we go out with my hb so he can handle the stroller. if i am out alone with the baby, it's just the ergo carrier.

the cot and the rest, i rem i bought only when i was about 7 months but i started looking around and shopping when i was about 4 mths preggie. second tri is the best time to go shopping as you feel great and very mobile. look around and know what you are getting, then get them when you are nearer term i guess is quite a good strategy too.

Re:CL

i feel it is both good and bad to have a CL.

Having a CL around really ease the workload from the mother and she will have lotsa rest. and new mothers can learn from CL. Hence they become very dependent on CL.

Some mothers told me they are so dependent on CL that they feel lost after CL left. I guess this is the bad pt.

However not all mothers or MIL are around to help so CL really comes in timely. So I think mothers shld still have hands on even with CL.

oh yes i want to ask can drink earl grey tea??? still within 1st trimster. btw i juz read 1st few pg of a chinese bk. say can start to talk to baby becoz bb can sense wat we r talkin by electronic waves or wat. hehe put hand over stomach n talk

Hello everyone! So many posts to catch up...

FTS
Just went for my scan yesterday and was given the all clear... didn't opt to do the blood test since the scan result is good and wanted to save $$$!

Stroller
I got a Maclaren XT... like it that it is sturdy but is on the heavier side. Actually I think it is more important to look for a stroller that can let the bb lie flat as for the first few months before the bb is strong enough to sit on his/her own, we'll have to put them flat on the stroller.

Car seat
Pls get a car seat for your bb... don't save money and compromise on their safety. I've seen crash clips before where the dummy bbs got flung out of the car upon impact... best to strap them down. I've been using a Maxi Cosi for my boy. I got one for the infant stage and it was supposed to last till about 1 year old. My boy outgrew it at around 9 -10mths as he was rather big. Now still on a maxi cosi seat.

BB Stuff
I got most of my things during Robinson's Sale which I find sometimes can be much cheaper as compared to BB Kingdom or BB Hypermart. Best that you do your homework and shop around. Then you'll know a good deal when you see one.

Rain
TPS or The Private Suite is located at KKH.

As for breast pump, I used the Avent manual pump as I find it worked better for me than the mechanical pumps.

Jang
I think tea or coffee is still ok... some books say can drink 1 cup a day but think the caffeine can hinder absorption of nutrients like calcium or iron, so try not to drink when you're taking your pills.

Obimin and Calcium
Oh yes, someone was asking whether can take these two together right? I was told to take my Obimin in the morning and calcium at night. Think Obimin contains iron and calcium will hinder the absorption.

Ling
Perhaps you wanna check with your gynae if your scan is the FTS. If it is, we're supposed to get it done betweem 11 - 14 weeks. So by late Feb would be too late for you liao.

SNL
ya, i was asking about it.
are u sure obimin morning and calcium at night?
i am currently taking calcium in the morning and obimin in the afternoon.
oh my.

why do we have to take all these pills? i feel sick loh. as only sick ppl take medicine.

Do we have to take medicine thru out the whole pregnancy? i hope not.

stroller and car seat:
so fast into this topic le.
i guess i will only take into it at the later part of third tri.

actually, qing, my gynae did not prescribe anything at all for me, except folic acid.. she was saying as long as you are eating well and taking your 2 glasses of milk daily, dun even need calcium pills..

jenny, wow those sound like good buys you got.. safety first sell lots of home safety items too, like for sharp corners or slamming doors..

Qing

these pills are not medicine, they are supplements !! so dont feel sick lah.

It is best to take if you dont eat a balanced diet.

Nonetheless it is always good to get the nutrition naturally from food, not supplements.

I think taking calcium at nite or morning doesnt matters, as long as you DONT MIX with iron or obimin.

Re: Pampers/milk Powder/Education $$$

ya loh. some even busy buying insurance for baby when baby born. waaaaaaaaaaaa headache

If there is no urgency to buy the bb things yet can wait till march ..

Heard there will always be a BB fair at Taka during march ... can save $$

last time when not pregnant, we look out for good deals for ourselves. like clothes, bags, shoes, etc. now everything we look at is good deals for bb stuff. heheheh..till now i still don't dare to buy bb stuff don't know where. don't feel safe buying now.

stimes Singaporeans get into trouble while in Msia. like they said 'wa very cheap etc' then Msian hear already find us haolian. Not i say. I heard from radio because they said some singaporeans are like this. Then go there take bills out is one whole stack $$$ then pull out the cash so make themselves so attractive to robber.

As for buying things, i read from 1 msia forum, they are asking whether its cheaper to buy from SG hahaha. so u see, where is cheaper leh? now petrol/diesel so exp. Shop in Sg safer. Save also cannot save too much ba

Rayna: for me i started shopping and searching for bb items in my 3rd mth preg liao .. at least can compare the prices and if there's sales just grab hahhaha tat time i bought the capella stroller also the same .. cos john little sales tat time ...

Another good thing is dun have to spend so much at 1 go .. buy a little at a time than won't feel the pinch .. kekeke

rain
i really like my medela PIS. i think it is really good cos it's dual electric pump. not so tiring

rayna
u must know what u r looking for in a stroller. some strollers have more functions and accessories but it means it's heavier. for me i bring my boy out alone so i can't handle strollers that are too heavy.

Jang
i din go for any classes or read up much. mostly read from magazines and learn from confinement lady. they will usually ask u for a deposit. it is generally ok to be alone with her at home. can even chit chat sometimes.

ling
is that the detailed scan or FTS scan? if FTS scan it is too late. detailed scan wd be ard that time

if taking obimin, still need to take folic acid or not?

re stroller and car seat
must really train your bb to seat in them from young. for me, my boy went into both from about one month so he has no problems with both.

Jang,
everytime i go to JB i will buy at least 4-6 tins of milk powder for my boy.. heee... 1 can save S$7 leh.... a lot u know. then i also go petrol stn to pump petrol, 29 litre for RM56 for the best petrol :p

me cheapo hahaha

JMon-Lynn,
FM now so exp...i was told by my fren that Nan 3 at the shop i went to increased from $21 to $23.80!!

SY, ya lor..then now both hb and i blur blur. don't know what to look out for or what to buy. and i think i too tired to be shopping as well. so sometimes can shop, i'll take the chance to walk around.

think must do like what Jenny suggest start looking at things so when sales, can grab. save some $$

celeste,
the brand that my boy's drinking now increase at least $5 lor. thats y i go JB to buy.

There's a possibility that the FM price will increase some more in future lor.

lately i received SingPost brochures dont know on what, there's a $5 discount coupon for my boy's FM. hahaha, i have collected 6coupons to buy liao LOLZzzz

oh thanks mummies for the CL, shopping @ msia replies hehehe

Maybe we can start to let each other know when we know of any upcoming sales. I'm not shopping much because my MS is making me uncomfortable. Plus dont know what to eat is a big problem

I have a shower qn. Is it better to bend down to wash our legs or raise our legs to wash ah? i am now raising my leg to wash them. still can balance on 1 leg haha. i heard some when stomach so big, cannot see toes/lower part of the legs *woah*

calcium n obimin cannot mix? i take both together leh the lady give me medicine never said must anything..

for the scan i think i need to check again ...not sure the scan i said issit the same as u all saying de scan i blur liao...maybe diff scan..haha

ling,

dr heng sud be referring to the detail scan. It is done either at paragon or east shore rite? i like the scan cos can see bb for 30 mins! can't wait for my turn le.....

i'll be seeing dr heng on jan 14 for the 1st time. rang her nurse, Joanne yesterday and she said i so daring now only see her huh...... i actually booked her on jan 23 (by then wk 12) so that i can start my pkg straight away but Joanne told me 1st visit cannot start pkg.......arrrggg! so i tot i might as well see her earlier since i already have to pay for my 1st visit - that's y changed my app to jan 14 and may be going bk again b4 cny for blood test (which suppose to be done ard wk 12 if i'm not wrong). like that more worth it mah......

Cos I will be in Malaysia during CNY for relatives visiting, so if cheaper may go shopping there for bb stuffs.

I still very blur what to buy ler, esp since I dunno what the baby gender. Hopefully will know before cny.

SY
Is medela PIS pump noisy? dual pump, so each time can squeeze both is it?

Shay,
yaya the scan at east shore they never said can go paragon ... then when u do the scan? cos my appointment is on 21 feb by then i already 20 weeks liao..by the way i ytd do the blood test they never tell me when can get the result ... last time they call u or u wait till next appointment then they give u result?

rain
the medela PIS is not noisy. very gentle and quiet. yup it will pump both breasts at the same time. pumpin both at the same time is supposed to simulate ss also. cos it's like telling your body u feeding twins.

re sales
yup, we can always keep each other posted. sometimes really too busy to keep track

rayna
dun worry too much on what to buy. we sure have a lot of discussion as we go along one. the big ticket items wd be the stroller and car seat. actually can get pple to give to u as presents next time. for me both are given as presents but i chose the model and brand.

during sales, buy things like sterilizer, baby wipes, baby wash, bottles etc. just buy enough. u will still buy as bb grows. sure cannot resist one.

ling,

aiyah me only 10wk+ so haven't schedule my scan yet. me not even seen dr heng yet hehe...
if i rmb correctly, they didn't call me to inform of the blood test result-dr heng only tell on the next visit. touch wood, unless result not good then they will call u. so better hope they dun call u in a wk time

JMon-Lynn,
$5 per tin! Base on 1.6kg tin or 900gram tin? Mine is 900gram tin increase by $2.80....super sianz...spore inflation so high, everything go up *sigh*...regret not buying a few more tins the other time *lol*