(2008/07) July 2008

Qing
The waiting time have shorten alot... my last pregnancy i have to wait around two hours but during my last FTS i wait around 1/2 hours. Hope you get to see Dr Kenneth Kwek.

Last time KKH AMK branch only used level one and level two is for CTG. Always not enough seat and so crowded. Sometimes have to wait outside. But is better than going to clinic B at KKH. Clinic B got no scan machine. Am wondering if need to pay more at AMK than clinic B?

Qing
To add on remember to ask the doctor for the ultrasound photo but if is Dr Kwek he will surely give it to you. You will be able to see your bb clearly today as the machine they used is more powerful. Can see the bb's feature quite clearly

still dunno wat's a FTS...

ya qing...dun forget to ask for your scans this time..

our 2nd scan last week...could see baby lying on it's back, kicking its hands and legs liao hehehe

Hi Qing / Do1nk / Chloegal:

U gals all seeing gynae @ kkh? me also .. but i in April 08 thread one kekeke ...

FTS = 1st trimster scanning ... which is done between 11 to 14 weeks of pregnancy ... (check for down syndrome risk) u can refer to this

http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/First+Trimester+Screening/

Qing: ur FTS will be done at KKH itself or AMK branch? cos mine is done at KKH ...

After 16 weeks u gals can actually sign up for a package and every visit will be at TPS .. which the waiting time is shorter and u get to scan the bb on every visit (scanning + urine test charges inclusive except for medicine) .. for clinic b there won't be scan everytime (and there will be extra charges if opt to scan for every visit)

thanks for reminding.
i will sure request for one this time.

chloegal:
sadly, mine doc is a lady, June tan.

don't know why, now i prefer guy doc.
as ppl comment guys are more gentle than lady.

and i normally pay $80++ every visit at AMK.
usually see Dr Han upstair, got more chairs.

do1nk:
FTS = Fetal Screening
screen for down syndrome

Qing,
I think the waiting time for FTS is depending on the mummies before you.. If their babies are cooperative during the scan, never play hide and seek, then it's very fast, about 10 mins for every patient. Otherwise you got to wait, I waited for more than an hour for my previous scan. The nurse told me doctor couldn't see clearly as baby of the mummy before me was hiding from him. Haha.. So all mummies queued behind got to wait lor.

Jenny,
I thought TPS and clinic B are the same, except that TPS is slighty expensive becos of shorter queue, and everything done one stop. Clinic B got no scan machine huh? Then what does the gynae check during every visit?

How much is the package at TPS?

Re hearing baby heartbeat
Usually when will gynae let you hear baby heartbeat? So far I have been on 3 visits already, but each time they will only scan and show me baby's heart beating but never let me hear baby heartbeat sound leh..

Re Ginseng,
Not sure whether mummies here heard this before, ginseng is very very cooling among all the chinese herbs, some gynae strongly discourage preggie to take ginseng. Dang Gui also a no-no.

Re bird nest,
Some of my friends took bird nest throughout their pregnancy, babies came out with very smooth and nice skin. If confirm is baby gal, must invest more $$ on bird nest.

But then, chloegal has a point, bird flu...
so must know where is the origin of the bird nest before buying.

Sonic
Since 11wks, my gynae will usually do the scan for me and show me the heartbeat then follow by listerning to heartbeat.

Sonic: for clinic B there's no scanning machine in the room .. only the machine for hearing bb's heartbeat ...

For TPS, the package which i signed up is for a total of 10 appointments .. cost abt $600+ cos my gynae is a senior consultant ... (which can be deducted using CPF)

You can obtain information from
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ForPatientsnVisitors/SOCs/Womens/Maternity+Services/

b4 16 weeks i go clinic b .. gynae just checked for bb's heartbeat, urine test and ask some questions ... but at TPS additional thing is he will scan the bb on every visit ... so far i get a print out of the bb scanning everytime ..

For Ginseng: when i attend the antenatal package, was also told tat to avoid ginseng .. as too much of it makes thins the blood .. after delivery blood flow difficult to stop ... so therefore not advisable .. so its better to check with gynae ...

Updated list

<table border=1><tr><td>Jul 2008 MTB</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Predicted</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>#kids </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sparks</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>29-May</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Jenny Chua</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen S L</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Tinyfeet</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Eve Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Roy Ng Kwok Weng</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Star</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>01-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>JMON-lynn</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Serene Yap</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>03-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Sandy Lek</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Sheila</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>04-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Jeanyard</TD><TD></TD><TD>05-Jul</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>NIL</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>AMM</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>06-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>06-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Chloegal</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Cin Bunny</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>08-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Lee Hui Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Hannahl</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC/MTA</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Labbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Sy</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Shirlyn Teng</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian B</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Icegal oink</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>MeiH</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Nienie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Qing</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Miracle</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>triplets </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Lisa William</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Shu</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Caitlyn</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Mummy yan</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>twins</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Sally Cinnamon</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>do1nk</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>dor dor</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Helpme</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Manuka</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr ML Yeap</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Peppermint</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>SNL</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Beverly</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Delphine</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>piggy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Glitter</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Pink Bunny</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mid Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>Cynn</TD><TD></TD><TD>late jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Dongle</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Shay</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>04-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Kimi</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>04-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Little bear</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Oei Pau Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>Missmissy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>Wu Hui Hui</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Re bird nest
Bird nest is good for organs, so I will take it.

chloegal,
KKH clinic B and clinic A got difference? I saw my doc at clinic A. What about the cost? Is it difference if I go to AMK then KKH? When asked about the package, my doc advised me against taking it cos your baby may come out before the complete 10 visits as the visits are to last till week 42. So it may be cheaper if pay for each visits.

Sonic,
I did my scan in my doc own room....

Any mummies here having maids? I'll like to look for a good one, any recommendations or advise? Much appreciated.

hi jenny.. I'm with Prof Mary Rauff at NUH..

oh so that's what FTS is... I did it last friday during my 2nd visit to the gynae's.. she didn't tell me the reading for the NT test but did say they will call within a week if the blood test indicates any problems...hope all goes well..

didn't get to hear my baby's heartbeat so far too.. hopefully the next visit we'll get to.. and hopefully can tell the gender by then (15th week)!

Can i check with you FTS scan=NT scan?

For my 1st pregnancy, only detailed scan at 5th month.

Am going for my NT scan on 19 Jan 08, just wanna to find out more on the procedure.

Rain
There is no difference between clinic A and clinic B. But not sure about the cost between AMK and clinic A or clinic B. You can call n check. If no different then go AMK better cause there is scan machine inside. I visit my gynae at KKH TPS which is abit more expensive. My gynae also advise me taking the package cause if delivered early no refund will be given.

Sorrie, typo error.... What i want to say is my gynae also advise me against taking the package caused if delivered early no refund will be given.

chloegal,
I'm fine with KKH cos my doc got the scan machine inside his office. Not sure if the same as AMK but did see my baby at my first appointment.

Act. I can't wait for my 2nd appointment. So want to see my baby so badly.

Hi all first time MTB here, Just something to share with you..... Copy from other thread.

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Baby's Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or ?White Tree Oil?)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodward?s Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs &amp; swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash baby?s face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby &amp; pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys &amp; Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mum?s drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mum?s confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pig?s trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mum?s bathing and face cleansing.

chloegal,

Yes. Inside the doc room. Told to lie on the bed, nurse came over run some gel on my lower stomach and then doc come to look for the baby.

Chloegal,
Your gynae let you listen to heartbeat at every visit? At his own room at TPS? My previous gynae at TPS never did this for me. I'm only get to listen when I'm about to deliver at delivery suite!

Jenny,
If clinic B has no scanning machine in the room, then where do you do the scan if you ask for it? Who will do it for you then?

Rain,
Just realised that your gynae is Prof John Tee (director of O&amp;G), maybe only he has the machine in his room at clinic A? Others don't get to enjoy that I guess.

Sonic
Yap, so far he let me listen to heartbeat at every visit at his own room in TPS. In clinic B if you want a scan the doc will write a form and you have to queq at that dept for scan after that you will go back your gynae and he will read the report for you. Very troublsome and time wasteing. Who is your previous gynae?

Sonic: yap as per chloegal.. will got to another place for scanning done by another doctor after which bring back to own gynae ..

chloegal
i heard my bb's heartbeat the last visit. think abt 9 weeks. he said shd be able to hear by 10 weeks. but he also mentioned i very skinny so that's why can hear. i dunno why he say can only hear from 10 weeks. my fren's one say can hear from 7 weeks.

jenny
i tot dong cong cao is very good? last time when i was at a medical hall, a lady told me can take after 5 months. i took 3 times in my first pregnancy. always think it makes my son so strong that his cries so loud and long..haha esp in the first month...

i tot bird nest cannot take too much? it's supposed to cause allergies in some babies skin. i think best is everything take in moderation.

sonic
clinic B got no machine. so if u wan to do scan at every visit, must go to TPS. i pay abt 70+ for each visit at TPS

i din take a lot of bird nest when i was having my son. my son is very fair and skin very nice. so not true that need to take a lot of bird nest.

rain
i have a maid to take care of my boy. u looking at indo or filipino? personally i prefer indo but getting a good maid is all abt luck.

Hiya mummies

hmn Ginseng is not cold. Actually depends on where they are from because there's like 2 types? America, Korea, China.

For korea ginseng, korean said its netural but Singapore doc said its hot/warm. For me, i tried taking and after that get fever. its like 1wk of taking ginseng then kena the fever.

i read from another forum, someone took ginseng and i think bao shen or dong cong cao. then during pregnancy, cannot stop the blood flow. because consider to be bu qi and helps in circulation (blood). so maybe check with chinese doc before taking such herbs.

i feel that baby fair anot mainly depends on genes.

For me, i went to see gynae today. Supposed to be in July from my last period but after checking baby size, doc said its Aug baby. Some thing about mensturation and ovulation date. but i forget to ask gynae, first time i went by right its 6wks then now consider 5wks since baby said to be 1 wk younger than before. 5wks can see heartbeat already? that time 1st visit already see baby heart beating. hmnn but i'll be sticking mostly to this thread since here so many mummies liaoz. easier to ask advice hahaha

today no printing of the scan. doc said next wk then give me. fine with that too because i'm not really concerned about those scan.

Today saw tiny baby inside. Not really moving. ask doc if baby is sleeping or baby dont sleep. doc said baby doesnt need to sleep. hehehe. maybe because busy building the organs etc.

oh gynae also didnt let me listen to heart beat. nevermind. everyday i take my own pulse for fun see can feel baby pulse anot hehehhehee

SY: hmm dong cong cao think is quite good ba (but very ex now lor).. as for bird's nests it best to take on alternate weeks ... cos too much also no good .. normally my mum also cooked chicken soup with pao sheng on alternate weeks for me .. but best time to take tonic is after 2nd trimester around 4 mths plus .. something which i believe everything take in moderation lor .. not too much also ...

welcome new mummies !!

sonic

since 6 weeks pregnant, i can hear my bb heartbeat. My gynae will always scan, let me hear bb heartbeat and print out a scan for me for every visit.

I guess every doc is different. As my gynae owns his own clinic i guess he is in control lah.

i had stomach flu again .... within this pregnancy. Dont know why my intestine so weak this time round. . hai ..

Hi mummies out there anyone start looking for confinement lady ?

I tot of engaging lily as in the forum page for her service any comments?

got my scan print from the doc.
she even printed out 4 different scan for me.

overall, didn't have to wait very long. nurse was kind enough to inform me that the doc is not in yet, can have lunch first. if not i will sure be grumping to my BF.

Jang:
i also tried to take my own pulse but only can feel my own. wonder how does TCM feel the pulse like as shown on TV to determine whether you are pregnant.

bird nest:
mummies, if you are considering taking bird nest, don't take in the 3rd tri. my cousin took bird nest almost everyday during her last month, now the baby is more prone to have phelgm.

drink honey for cough. dont eat too cooling foods. the cough might be cold type. Honey buy better type. Because some honey cheaper ones are said to have sugar mixed inside.

Qing
I'm just playing with my pulse hehehehehe

Bird nes take from which month onwards?

I dont know but i am very scare of Tofu now...... Eeks

Qing,
So u see yr bb moving rite? happy bo? so when is yr weddin dinner? dun need to find ex ex place cos i rather u save up the money for other use...

Re: bird nest
qing is rite taking too much will cause baby to have alot phelgm. so dun take too much everything just moderate

2molo will be seeing bb liao but hv to do blood test (so scary)

Hello to everybody here!

I finally got the courage to post on this forum! After 2 miscarriages, really really paranoid.

my EDD : 19 July
Gynae : Dr TM Chua
Hospital : NUH

This will be my first child!

hope we all have a smooth journey to motherhood!

welcome batgirl !!

bE positive and ur bb will be ok !!

Qing

if u can hear ur bb pulse u can be a chinese physician liao ahahah

u know I try to use a stethoscope (correct spelling ?) to listen to bb heartbeat on my tummy, but fail also. think my fats are too thick ahah

chloegal,
the scan is additional, scan is $10.70.
My fee is as like, consultation is $77, scan $10, urine is $6 or 7. First visit already $100+
Expensive or not? I'm not sure if subsequent visit will be cheaper or same since KKH ma.

Sonic,
Dr John Tee is director, I dinno that. I'm only informed he is senior consultant, so higher fee. What I heard is that his stitching is good, so I choose him. My ex-neighbour also used him for her 2 preganancy. But he never let me hear heartbeat, next time must ask him

SY,
Not only bird nest good for baby skin, other food also. I hear those chinese desert, barley beancurd helps too. Also taking more soya bean too. Act. indo and filip both I scared. Myanmar can?

Jang,
I took birdnest once I confirmed I'm preggy which is in late 2nd mth. My GP scold me so late then check cos I went to him to confirm only after 2 mths :p

Birdnest if taken not so sweet should be ok.

What is the average baby heartbeat? Is there a difference for boy or girl?

rainbaby

i think birdnest can only take in 2nd tri only. and not too much.

bb heart beat will be faster than adults and will slow down to the normal rate before delivery.

I think it is the same for boy and gal.

jmon,
remember to take out the bangle early because I have one friend who always wears a bangle when small and ended up with one wrist smaller than the other because the bangle will really restrict the growth.
(think of those traditional ppl who put rings around their neck)

sorry to interrupt. I'm from feb 2008 thread and I got a few sachets of milk samples for pregnant women to give away. Enfa Mama and Anmum. Do send me a PM if you are interested. I just need you to send me a SAE (50cents). Thanks.

haha aren't we funny mummies... all trying to hear our baby's heartbeat and all..

my hubby was juz saying two nights ago: why dun we get a scan machine ourselves so we can see our little baby as often as we like

haha!

actually i didnt even know of hearing heartbeat. can see ok already hehehe

if can get the $$$ scan machine, getting the gel is peanut issue already.

there are TCM doc that can take pulse and know gender of baby even at 6wks mannnnnnnnnn.

do1nk

ur hubby wants to be like Tom Cruise ? hehe that's what he did.. bought a scan for this wifey !

but I think too much scan is not good also right ?

oh ya for us, rem to stop wearing rings when ur fingers have water retention.

Thx lbt for the encouragement!

My chinese doctor says can take bird nest already. When I was in my first trimester, I was already eating them. If not for the baby, for me lor...hehe.

rain

oic. no lah I dont mean cannot eat, but tot more beneficial to eat during 2nd tri. that's what my mum and mil told me. and even my gynae also.

i didnt wear wedding ring one!!! hahaha because i'm too rough and create scratches here n there with only a day of use! but can wear earrings hor? hehehe

ohhhhhh baby organ foaming can take bird nest? i'm going to ask my mum and ask her help me buy!!! i want to eat bird nesttttttttt. i'm having so much phlegm now! there's a time i constantly take and not much phelgm or in fact, dont have at all