(2008/07) July 2008

Poor S! Hope he recovers quick n clears up all that sinus Problems with it.. And poor Youpi, go for a shorter nearby trip when he's better? Bali's got this animal safari and HK has a noah's ark that the kids would love

BBP: Doggiebb had that fantastic CL that everyone adored..go ask her

One more day and we are off on a road trip back to my hometown and I'm already salivating at the thought of all that I wanna eat n kids running in the garden and going fishing! Woohoo!

Smiggleprincess: all ok with HB now? Remember that saying floating around fb: sometimes u say sorry, not cos u r in the wrong, but cos u cherish n love the other party enough to be the first to apologize.. We all know men r from mars.. He's still the daddy of your kids..

DD

no chance to get her now if its for next feb...wahaha

holiday

me too youpi! can't take leave as i just changed jobs! *wail miserably together*

Doggiebb
Still having ur colleague's dad's home cooked delights? :p

DD
Where *is* hometown? Wow garden running and fishing sounds lovely

Youpi
Yup hope S gets well soon! Hugs!!

Went for Poppy's new sch orientation today. Love it. In built gym class every week, poppy would be so happy! And this is the 2nd time I've been there. Teachers are all smiley and patient. You know, at the current sch, I've witnessed the sch auntie yelling at the kids and sometimes complaining about them in hokkien, and the teachers gossipping and those that are nice only when they know people are watching.

One thing I really don't agree with : favouritism. Some kids have been "singled out" in her sch as clear favourites. They obviously get special treatment and even have special pet names. Like baobei. That's not right, right? What would the other kids feel? Anyway. Just 2 more weeks! Then we're outta there!

PB

you bet!
and still trooping to work in my bermudas and tees on days i don't have meetings! lalala!

bbp,

wah! my friend is also due the same time, could hardly find a CL!! And yes, no need to try doggiebb's CL, she is taken. Like wat cinbunny says "u need to book her 11 mths in advance" !!

sigh sigh sigh..now jh is having fever!!! what a bad week.....first jx now jh and it really affects work. these are the times i wish i m SAHM again. no need to rush my kids to get well and keep pumping them with medicine so i can get back to work quickly, no need to keep late nights so that i have to rush my work, no need to use tv to entertain them while i rush out some work..sigh...i wish i wish...

youpi
oh dear, sounds really sucky that u have to miss your hol! but i guess it is fortunate before he starts school next year! must be feeling really yucky for him! hope he gets well soon!

bbp,
feb is super hard to find CL cos near CNY......nowadays a lot of CLs are booked way in advnace. when my fren was trying to find, every contact i gave her was taken.....

PB
hmm on fav, i guess it is everywhere. but of cos as teachers they must try their best to refrain from showing it! anyway like what u said u r getting out liao...hooray!

SY
That post is for me ah? Hehe. Actually I checked with my gynae and he said those that I bought (like 5 bottles right?!), were not good for preg women! Ok for normal usage but not for expectant mothers. Anyone wants? Just take. 21st century one

Thanks for your concern...

Cold war over..
Haiz, it was really bad with divorce even throw up...
This time around my pride really got hurt...
Men can be so heartless and no think of e kids"...

PB
u din buy those specially for pregnancy? i used to take nordic naturals pre natal ones. even continue when i was breastfeeding!

smiggle
glad that cold war is over....hope that u and hb will get over it. soemtimes in the heat of argument we say things that we dun mean. got once me and hb also argued badly and also mentioned the word divorce. was so angry that i left the house with the kids and went to a gathering and din wan to go back till like after dinner. but it blows over afte a while and i guess some thing though we never say but we do try to make effort in our little ways.

though not sure what had triggered it but hope that u and hb can work things out.

Sy
Yup I did get it for purposes of preg but didn't really check the levels of dunno what EPA and DHA. Apparently one is supposed to be very high and one very low and the one I bought didn't make the mark for preggie mamas. For normal usage is ok

Smiggle
Glad cold war is over. What sy say is true, sometimes in the heat of the moment we say the most hurtful things, things we don't really mean. But like the saying "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger", what doesn't terminate a marriage causes the couple to grow stronger together

hey girls (naughty mummy lai liao!!!)

remember road safety park? i was always upset cos i never got to be cyclist or driver. always boring pedestrian! it used to be open to kids in pri school only, but now it seems like it's open to public, and we don't have to follow an agenda (and get those yellow cards, remember?), and we can go anytime!

anyone wants to (ahem) skip school and join us one morning next week? 25 nov, fri morning? i think it's quite near (the former) big splash as well so we can have lunch there after

i'm ok to call and enquire BUT i need a big favour. can i possibly borrow a kick scooter from anyone? anyone close to their neighbours and can ask for a day loan? for poppy la, not for me. or else poor thing, she also kena same fate as mummy, got to be pedestrian!

ok on the serious side. it's fun and all but our kids really have to learn about road safety from an early age

sy,
are the kids better now?

sp,
glad that the cold war had ended. sometimes, i think men are v childish. they can say all sorts of things and then treat it as #justsaying. faint

PB
my kids went before to road safety park with sch. think they had a lot of fun...

me can't join. no leave left!

have fun!

missyz
yup but now they have terrible cough and terrible voices...

anyone going to book fest?

can post the good deals if going?

now i m the naughty mummy. sch just gave out scholastic book order form. if anyone keen let me know. i will email over. have scanned a copy in liao...haha

girls,
just in case i have missed anyone out thru sms. NO CRAFTERNOON SESSION AT MY HOUSE THIS THURSDAY. many mums can't make it, and i'm also grateful for the time that i could use to pack and prepare for my trips

SY
i also want the scholistic list ok? no point ordering from poppy's current school
oh girls, the lego series is quite fun! and quite easy so they can 'read' also

youpi
how's S doing? when is his op? auntie pink sends hugs!!

eh? nobody interested in road safety park ah? i thought it was fun leh. alamak. me, thinking road safety park is fun, doing crafts ... i think i am regressing! early dementia???

thanks SY. you are too kind
hey btw i did not receive your scholastic email. can send again please? thanks!

mummies, a funny question:
those who have the thermal flask: if it's always been used for hot foods, can i sometimes also use it for cold???

PB,
okie will send again. maybe it din get across......

hmm, i guess it shd work for cold food as well. after all it's about the insulation right...

i was craving for an egg tart today after a year and a month of egg deprivation due to C2's allergy. then i saw this on my fren's FB. http://freeyourparenting.com/2011/11/21/breastfeeding-attachment-parenting/

in the author's response to comments left on her post, this one... oh this one... gets me through a tough patch.
"every way of parenting is tough, whichever path you choose. It’s just that it’s so easy to blame the non-mainstream stuff if that is your path."

pb,
yes it works for cold food too. BUT the BP seller once posted that if you use the same container for hot and cold, once if you alternate, the hot doesnt stay too hot anymore and neither does the cold stay cold. so she had 2 containers.

sy,
u have iherb mail

is everyone better today? i read your posting abt escaping to NTUC over the weekend. sayang sayang.

courage to youpi for S's op!

CNY 2012
so the ILs left last wed, and i can breathe freely in my own home. then C1 had to go and miss them so badly that he cried himself to sleep in my arms for 2 whole nights. so soft hearted me is thinking - scuttle the whole plan not to go back to MY for CNY.... C1 was asking me when his ah ma and ah kung will be back, and if he can go to the airport now to take a plane to MY. sigh sigh sigh.
drats. there goes my GREAT BIG NOTI plan not to return for CNY.

I'm back from Malaysia! Wedding of the year is finally over!

Cellow,
Give it a few days. ILs just left so of cos C1's going to keep asking after them.

S's op...
... took place last weekend, and he seems to be recovering well. We'll be seeing the surgeon later this week, and at intervals over the next year to maintain checks and ensure that he stays fine. THANK YOU!!!!! for all the prayers and healing thoughts
Parents down with viruses now. It's like a running comedy lah, this thread of infection coursing through our family ><

youpi,

Great to hear S is recovering well! yes..i know the feeling of "this thread of infection coursing through out family". We are down with that too... Anyway, hope we all get well soon!

Youpi: *hugs*.. to you and Sean, all at home too. hope you all recover well soon. Good to hear that op went well and Sean is recovering well.

Batgirl: hope you and family will get well soon too! *hugs*.. to you too.

Pb: thermal pot works both ways. I used my magic pot as chiller and to keep Longan jelly dessert before.
As for the small thermal food jar, I used it to store yoghurt before.

Oh no poor youpi and batgirl! Load up on the juices and vitamin C tablets! But what wonderful news that S's op went well.

Bbp
Is this the third and final wedding of the year?

My detailed scan is finally approaching. I hope to get peace of mind from it. Please please do keep us in your prayers!

Thanks for the thermal pot advice, girls. I went ahead and put some chilled watermelon in there. Just like I usually put some hot water in the flask before storing with hot food, I used iced water this time round. Worked like a charm. 3 hungry kids gobbled up a flask full of watermelon cubes in less than 5 mins!

Jo
Yoghurt? Wow! How long did you put it for?

Checks re plane ride
So, would like to seek advice here. Stewardessess would usually be willing to take stuff from us to store in their fridges, yes? Thinking of bringing small packs of milk and yoghurt, just in case there's nothing for poppy to eat for her breakfast on board plane. And I suppose the usual snacks...

youpi, batgirl,
hope everyone gets well really quick!

pb,
ans re plane ride
yes they would be happy to do that for you. best to give them a heads up when you board 'i understand you wouldnt have space now in the fridge, perhaps later after the first meal service?'
i was talking to a biz class stewardess once [wanted to store my EBM to chill] and she said they are normally happy to do so after the first meal is served.

bbp,
that's like... wedding part 3? after part 1 in italy and part 2 in SG?
C1 has subsided, not asking for them much now. so shall i go ahead with my grand plan anot... dilemma... C1 says he likes to see the fireworks. hmm hmm. i m only NOT going to show my MIL some colour, to remind them (and Mr C) that i m someone else's daughter too besides being Mrs Lxx.

tantrum
C1 did a fast one. he was too slow to choose his socks, so maid just slipped on a pair for him while we were rushing out of house this morning. meltdown in car, then later meltdown in school again. prob bcz he understood also that we wouldnt be fetching him this evening from sch... Mr C and I are going out on a date (finally).... v tempted now to cancel date and fetch him. but but i should put my marriage first before their temp clinginess.
haiya, why so many dilemmas this morning!!!

Youpi
Good to hear that S is recovering well! Emma has been sickly and I'm very worried cuz she's been drowning in medicine for over a month.

PB
Sure the stewardess can do that to you. I don't think you can bring them in the plane since we have 100 ml restriction to bring any liquid to the plane. I think no need to bring milk cuz the plane has it. Yoghurt might be considered as liquid, you might not be able to bring it to the plane. I brought once before and it was banned, but my friend could. Or you can request to your airline to include yoghurt and milk for poppy in advance. The kids meal normally include milk/milo anyway. If you are taking SQ they are pretty loaded with food keke.

Thanks, girls!
Batgirl, yes, hope we all get well soon! It's so hard to stay calm in the face of tantrums when you're feeling like $£%@!. I've exploded twice already.

Cellow
We do reunion dinner at alternate sides each year, ie. one year at hb's side, one year at mine. No complaints so far, as this was established from the very beginning since we got married. But we definitely will visit both sides on the first day. What if you all spend the morning with your family, then drive/fly up to M'sia to spend dinner/night over with the ILs?

PB
Packet milk (if it's the UHT type) or Milo does not need to be chilled so you can just keep it in your bag for quick and easy access.

youpi,
Great news! Hope the whole family gets well real soon. Remember to load yourself up with vitamins and supplements whenever someone around you gets a little sniffy. Prevention is always faster than cure!

Wedding:
YES! Third and final wedding of the year!
Exactly as Cellow said. Part 1 - Rome, Part 2 - SG, Part 3 - Aloh Star. If I'm glad it's over, I can't imagine how the wedding couple feels. I think if I were them, I would be tempted to burn something like the wedding invites or something.

PB,
Which airline are you taking? Food and milk may be a little tough due to the liquid restriction. How about powdered milk?

Cellow,
Definitely go on with your date. As you said, it's one that you all finally managed to set up. So go!

oh thanks girls. how come i never thought of milo! doh! *slap head, homer simpson style*

bbp
worst to worst, yeah powdered milk.

we're taking qatar. have never taken that. anyone got anything to share on qatar?

the last time we took BA and wow the snacks! shiok man. but all choc and ice creams. shiok for mummy haha. and managed to bring corn and broc for poppy to munch on, and our neighbour on board brought hard boiled egg for her daughter. nice idea hor? but we're taking night flight so no need real 'food' la. just snacks i guess.

cellow
go on your date. i think our kids will always find excuses to act up but don't let that harm your marriage. i remember as a kid, my mum always told me "no matter what the kids do to us, we always need to be husband and wife. we owe it to each other, and the vows we made to each other". i used to resent that cos i always thought their priority should be to us kids first, but now as a parent myself, i admire that. it's hard to think about yourself sometimes when all you feel like doing is giving all to the kids. hor?

bbp re wedding
dunno, maybe they like?

Oh. Wonderful update for you. I picked up BEER CANS from poppy's school playground this morning. Excellent. Cigarette butts, condom wrappers, sanitary pads, now beer cans. What else. Counting down the days. Can't wait.

PB, "interesting" stuff you pick up there. If you look around that area, you will probably know the tenant mix in that building. and hence the litter they produce.
Good riddance!!

youpi
glad to hear that his op went well. how come still need to go for regular reviews? hope all of u get well soon!!

cellow
i can totally understand! jx has been having meltdowns lately too and it is really getting on my nerves...but you have been inspring in what u shared!!

PB
what weird stuff to be picking up....i wonder what the sch thinks...

Pb: put the small tub yoghurt, unopened, into the jar then throw in some ice, then it remained very chilled even after 4 hours.

Cel: I hope you went for the date anyway. I share Pb's thought about being husband and wife. The kids are natural distractions for us and it is so easy to shift our focus from hb to kids. Must always remember how to date, how to affirm marriage.

Batgirl
From what I see, it's lots of old folks (I don't see the condom wrappers and beer cans coming from them...) And many filipino ladies who dress in such a way that makes one wonder if they work at orchard towers.

Sy
The teachers see me picking up all the crap. One of them said "mei ban fa... Nothing we can do". I disagree. Picking it up is doing something. Sure they cannot control what others do but once it's their playground, it's their responsibility. The school cleaner can surely do a round of clean up right? I bring poppy there at 9. The cleaner's there at 7. Surely 2 hours are sufficient to sweep up a playground. These things are not thrown in the mornings. Anyway 4 more days. Maybe less cos thinking of going to the zoo one of these days haha

Oh got a funny thing to share. One of BB's students told him this:

"Teacher, what is it called when 3 people have sex? A threesome. What about 2 people? A twosome. .... So that means that... I'm very HANDsome!"

pb,
yes, milo or soy milk are good and healthier (i think). or bring banana? all the best for your Detailed scan. Remember to tell us its a gal or boy ok? hehe

youpi,
speedy recovery!

bbp,
your relo's wedding? sounds super grand!

PB
going zoo again?? haha u bought the groupon?

BB's students are funny...

yeah i agree with u. how can they say cannot do anything? it is super lame. at least pick it up right!!!

Batgirl
Haha great, poppy's school has vampires!

SY
Ya lor! I also think it's very lame.

Missy
Yup LSH. I think it's partly the "I already don't like it so keep finding things wrong with it" syndrome.

Zoo
Hope for good weather too! Haha not groupon voucher this time. Complimentary ticket!

Ok time for a very random and silly question: have you ever noticed that many old ladies have weird toes? Like overlapping and they don't feel any pain? Not talking bound feet kind. Just one toe over another and they are completely at ease with it? I would so get a cramp!

i went on my date in the end. ended up at old airport road hawker centre (could have fetched C1 ourselves). eating fish soup, hor fun and satay. after making Mr C take half day off to watch Immortals the movie and walking around MBS. no, i restrained myself girls. i did NOT buy another bag. haha.

youpi,
exploding only twice in a morning with 2 boys.... that's pretty much the avg for me on weekend mornings. so well done, you!
what was estb from before marriage was that we spend christmas w my family, CNY with his family. right now i m feeling v good and ok with the world in general, so cannot really rem what the ILs did specifically that i wanna show them colour....

sy,
ha? *blur look* what is inspiring? going on a date?

wanna sleep now after lunch. zzzzz.
actually on MC today after 3 days leave from mon to wed. went to doc again just now. this cold/cough combi is difficult to shake off! even the sambucol tablets did not help this time round. since last monday. that' like... what... one week 3 days of being sort-of half sick.... bleah.

today, i m entertaining the thought of quitting my job, and nua for a few months. bleah bleah. tis the work stress la.

cellow
those facebook posts that u have been making. i find it pretty inspiring and a good reminder to me not to keep losing my temper with the kids...

i think a lot of pple are sick and it doesn't help when u go back to aircon...

my fren who wanted to quit her job took 5 months no pay leave to nua....shiok right.....

Cellow
Exploding twice in two days, haha! ;P
As long as you've already set the equal-opportunity time with both sides, there's nothing much to show colour about anymore

Bbp
Wow, for the wedding couple, the memories and photos from all the celebrations will make it all worth it.

PB
Is all the rubbish appearing only now? Not there when Poppy first started school? I know you would not have enrolled her there if you'd seen all that then.

Plane snacks: get those that are small (easy for Poppy to hold) and not crumbly (else the bit will get everywhere, all over the seats, and into the gaps of the handheld remote for the entertainment system). Guess who had to sweep a lot of crumbs off (and pretend to know nothing about them) when she stupidly brought cookies for her kids to eat on one plane ride?

Taking time off
My friend just took half a year and it did her a world of good. She travelled, exercised, did some soul searching, made some decisions about her future, and is a lot happier.

Haha. Roger that. No cookies (mentally scratching off "home made peanut butter cookies" from list). Just fruit bars and raisins and small bikkies.

Funny, I wouldn't think about this amount of snacks for the same period of time at home, on land but in the air is a diff story!

Anyone up for zoo on 1 dec? :D go morning, leave after lunch (byo lunch). I have ONE adult complimentary ticket to spare.

Wow today took the train and seriously people were fighting to give me their seat! Is there a courtesy campaign going on or a gotcha team roving the streets that I don't know about? One lady gave me her seat, I sat down, the one next to me said "I'm sorry I didn't know you were pregnant". Then I gave an ah pek my seat and while standing, a guy next to me points his chin to a young chap sitting and asks me "would you like me to ask that guy to give you his seat?"

I had to check: Were my boobs peeking out of my bra or what?! But no. And neither was my skirt stuck in my panties.

Wow that train ride was so surreal. So unsingapore. So swedenish

pinkbunny,
wow..really so unsingapore! my friend was just complaining abt commuters who pretended to sleep, played their hps on the train..nobody offered seat to a preggie lady at all. she even took a pic of it! haha