(2008/07) July 2008

smiggle/michelle
original she selling at only $20. good condition some more. now, she has lower to only $15 thats why.
haiz, me tan xiao pian yi loh...

michelle
ethan wean off pacifier liao?
so fast
and able to sleep on his own?
mine, haiz...
even after last feed, i still need to put her in the sarong till she sleep liao and bring her to the bed.

michelle, do1nk
how to train them to sleep with the hanky? jx very hard to fall asleep one...

qing
why do u wan to get the bumbo? i agree that our bb are much older and dun really need it. honestly, for me it was a waste of money. my boy sat in it twice and both times he cried. i remember rachel is qutie chubby. if so, then the thighs are qutie uncomfy. did u try her in one before?

re trial class
they will do music and movement, do some bb exercise, blow bubbles to train eye movement. stuff like that.

YES YES tonight I arrive back to SG to be w my bb!

Qing,
U work near Red Star rite?
Want me to collect the bumbo for u [since my parents stay near Simei] and bring to the office? PM me, but can only email u back tmr hor. I PM u my hp no.

trg starting in 10mins. read and respond tmr! cheers.

doggiebb,
spur of the moment missing bb, v common during travel hor. all the travelling wkg mummies tell me so.

SY
i did tried once at my cousin house.
she ok lehz. erm... but that was once awhile back liao. heehee...

michelle / do1nk
ya, agree with SY.
how to train.
i am really very tired everynight gotta rock her to sleep first.

morning mummies

bbp/smiggle/do1nk
Ernest also smile at almost everyone lor... and lets almost anybody carry him lor... coz i think he likes to be carried so will tend to let others carry lor...

bbp
sounds scary leh... maybe he drink sleepily until too full... possible??

Qing
huh?? wat a bad excuse lor... maybe ask her to meet u at a place of ur convenience this time lor...

CS
so u all now ting zhang huh?? hehehe...

cellow
i m working at tanjong pagar
thanks for helping. received your PM liao.

missing bb while overseas.
oh my, i am going taiwan in april for a week.
guess i am going to miss bb like crazy.
i might even want to video call her everynight when i am there loh. heehee.

yes cellow

that achy breaky feeling you suddenly get cos you suddenly remember that particular way he smiles or the way he sleeps! then feel warm unshed tears behind your eyes cos you can't hold him right now! all the time my dear!

aiyo.. so many types, which one is good?

SPF 30+ “Everyday/Year-round” Sunscreen 2.9oz 26.00
SPF 30+ “Citronella Bug Blend” 2.9oz 26.00
SPF 30+ “No Fragrance” Sunscreen 2.9oz 26.00
SPF 30+ Sunblock Stick: Everyday/Yr-round 0.5oz 20.00
SPF 30+ Sunblock Stick: No Fragrance 0.5oz 20.00
SPF 18 Moisturizing Sunscreen: EvDay/Yr-Round NEW! 4.5oz 27.00
SPF 18 Moisturizing Sunscreen: No Fragrance NEW! 4.5oz 27.00

do1nk
i dunno the hankie method la!

qing
agree w michelle. so many bumbo sellers, forget about this one la!

bbp
wow you are a tv star now!!! autograph autograph!

michelle
haha i'm not a mee siam fa. rather we all bring something la. more chin chie

i'm going to give poppy porridge today! making stock now and it smells gooooooood! start her w veg stock first. corn, carrots, onion, celery

yesterday i waited and waited for the rent a toy guy to come pick up the jumperoo. he said he will come 'in the afternoon'. afternoon is 12pm to 4pm lor. very hard to plan my day like that leh. wait i breastfeeding halfway or wat how?

anyway i waited till 5 and sms to ask him wat time coming, he said oh sorry.... he forgot!

Argh!! the BP can only deliver in MAR!!!

Can i borrow sunscreen from somebody? PLease Please please???? I bring ethan for his 1st swim this weekend..... if not next weekend loh..
else, what other "cheaper" brands can i get... cos the mom essential hor.. selling the CB one at $40.95 while BP only $26!!!!!

smiggle,
Yup, that was me & hubby, with his cousin & hubby.

Michelle,
Last night. Chef for hire. 9pm I think. But the stars are not us, we were supporting cast only.
Sunscreen - eh, brought Declan to swim twice liao & sunscreen never crossed my mind.

JSP,
Damn scary last night. He threw up 3 times
2nd time was while he was sleeping. Cos when we came up, his face & hair all got milk puke. Threw up until completely no more milk, cos he was throwing up clear liquid at the end. Scared he gets dehydrated so will not feed him solids today. BM all the way cos he super hate to drink water.

PB,
What star? Like 20sec (or maybe less) only lor.
What's good to buy at IKEA?

michelle

ME ME ME!!! take from me!!!

tmr morning meet your hb and i pass to him. i got 2, mustela and CB. i pass you the mustela one can? cos sat we going sentosa so i need to bugs off! hehehe!

bbp
better monitor hor... is he better now?? still got throw up?? if too many times, better bring him go see PD... scared viral infection...

michelle
u gg to PB's hse on Mon rite?? i can squeeze abit into a small container n pass to u... maybe will go awhile during lunch coz her place veri near my hse lor...

Michelle
think u can try mustela?

bbp
u got bring declan go see pd??
why suddenly keep pukin?? somethin that was disinfected?

ikea sale
this friday? i wanna go buy photo frame lei..

medela sunscreen, buy from where? cos if not as EX as the CB one, i can just buy loh.. main thing is must be proven good for baby skin one loh... PD say one...

PB, ikea sale! damn, i just spent so much money buying so many things from IKEA before CNY!

normally what kind of discount at ikea sale?

i mean mustela. my blains horr!! hehehe!!

i think mustela is sold in major dept stores and is very good too. I used this before I got the CB one with the bug repellent.

bbp
20seconds on tv is very good loh! 20s commercial is very ex liao loh hehe

i dunno what's good to buy at ikea. i don't work there anymore la. and no i don't have insider info. don't want to get my ex colleagues into trouble

hey what happened to declan? hope everything is ok now *hugs*

PB, really?? wow then i want to go buy potty!! how does ikea potty look like? IS it the normal round kind?

Haha, shall go there walk walk. see got wat rubbish to buy.

Sunscreen:
Oh ya, that remind me of getting sunscreen for my gal.

PB, really?? wow then i want to go buy potty!! how does ikea potty look like? IS it the normal round kind?

Haha, shall go there walk walk. see got wat rubbish to buy.

Sunscreen:
Oh ya, that remind me of getting sunscreen for my gal. think need to get those with insect repellent. Mossy super like my gal. kept on biting her. now she got 1 big bump on her forehead. before that was her hand. sighz...

bb poo
my bb has been pooing 3-4 times a day since monday? like that normal or not?? she was on frozen BM on sunday, then these few times only FM and rice cereal... hope not my frozen BM got problem...

bb sleep
my bb slept in her own cot in her own room since 1st month... coz i'm a super light sleeper, can't sleep whenever she made sound. but now the problem is she relies on her pacifier to sleep

Qing... wah if i were u i sure will not buy from her, unless she offers to deliver to my house to compensate waste of time and transportation fee

but talking about bumbo... my friend lent me, but my bb's thighs outgrows very fast. she gets stuck when i try to pull her out of the bumbo

PB
really,
ok, going ikea this saturday..
got some stuff to get.

sunscreen
really necessary ah?
i never buy lehz.
oh no...

waiwai
poopoo so many times???
i think maybe you should bring her see doc liao.

my complain
you all also think don buy from her unless she bring to my doorsteps ah?

and hor,
yesterday hb drop bb from bed to floor.
i already left for work
he was still sleeping with bb.
he didnt even know how she fell BCOZ HE IS SLEEPING.
he only realise it after he hears her cry.
oh my...
lucky got bumper mat on the floor.

qing: bumbo...if u r planning for #2 or #3, then ok lah.. still can get.. wah for $15 sounds very cheap leh...

hankie method: teaching bb to fall alseep on their own...give them a security item like a blankie/hankie/teddy etc.. but takes time and must be consistent every nite..so that they understand dat when they are put on the cot wiv their bear-bear/blankie, it's time to go to bed..i used to have to carry, sing and rock gordon to sleep in my arms then slowly place him in cot.. so i started by making him hold his blankie in hand..initially like no effect...but slowly u will see bb getting used to it..then when i placed him on cot wiv blankie..he surprisingly didn't fuss..but took some time to fall alseep..i kept putting the blankie back into his hands initially but now he grabs it himself..

trial classes: i feel it's more for bb's to do something different and interesting and fun.. rather than juz going out shoppingi or kai-kai everyweekend

bbp on tv: when when? wah smiggleP very observant wan hor

michelle: hehe so cute hor their going-to-sleep ritual.. gordon also likes to rub his face and eyes wiv blankie..n sometimes fall asleep wiv his whole face covered.. n he likes to suck on the knobs on his blankie! now how did you wean the pacifier? if i dun give gordon his, he can't fall asleep n will start crying.. n if it drops out i still have to pop it back in or he won't sleep too...

missing the little baby: dun even have to be overseas..sometimes at work will also think of bb n suddenly miss him.. and his little nose or little hands.. or wanna sniff at him... can't imagine being away then..

michelle: think you got the BP-syndrome..better seek treatment fast before it gets serious!

sunscreen: I'm someone so lazy dat I dun even apply anything at all on my face.. not even moisturiser though i buy so much everytime i go for my facial.. so no.. didn't bother wiv sunzcreen on bb.. should be ok right?

poor declan.. is he better today? acting normal?

bb poo: gordon sometimes poo a bit n a bit like 3 times a day, but he seems ok and it stops after a while..so I didnt' do anytyhing....unless the poo looks/smell unusual or is super runny like diarhea. should be ok i guess? wah xp also sleeps on her own at such an early stage...all the good girls...

smiggle,
It happened last night, so we didn't bring him to the PD. Am now monitoring him, and so far so good. *Touch wood* Cross fingers and hope it's nothing.

JSP,
Yah, I also scared viral infection. Those type cannot defend one. So far it's only last night's episode. He seems alright now... but only more complainy. But then again, the complainy part could be my own imagination.

PB,
Haha... 2 sentences on the show. Actually I didn't really want to watch (cos I think I was horrible and unnatural in it), but my hubby was so excited about it. In the end, he was like "Huh? My TV debut so short only??" Hahahahahahah!
Thanks for the hug. Didn't sleep till 1plus, cos was so worried.

do1nk,
Declan seems better now. *Touch wood* But he seems stickier... complains more when he's left in the playpen & nobody is around to entertain him. But I realised he's usually super sticky after jabs. I wonder is it because he can sense that the adults are worried about him and he takes the opportunity to play punk...

do1nk, yah, now Ethan has a new pattern, he likes to hold the edges of his pillow, sometimes, fold the pillow to cover his face, and FALL ASLEEP! sometimes, he likes to roll till he is like 3/4 face down with head just off the pillow... then he sleeps... lots of pattern one...

wean off pacifier, basically it is to first give him hankie with pacifier - carry on for weeks then you realise he needs to hold hankie.. then you remove pacifier once he falls asleep, but make sure hankie still in hand (distraction?), then you realise he does not need pacifier in between liao.. then slowly he also dun need it to fall asleep! tho my MIL still sterilise them everyday - she say Just in case. I suspect she may give him in the day without me knowing, but when i am around, he does not need pacifier at all loh.. haha

any mummies who wants to adopt hankie technique, you must be patient, create a pattern each and every time so that baby form an association that hankie = sleep. it is a No-Cry Method, but it takes a loooooong time... so trick is be patient...

hope bb Rachel is fine from the fall. Hope bb Declan recovers from the puking... better get the PD to check? cos from the way BBP describe, like sounds quite serious wor...

ya, PB, it may take weeks... but for Baby G think it was quite fast? if you want really fast result, then you got to bear with CRYING. else, i think this method is still better than doing nothing and waiting for baby to come around on his own ( I have friends who needs to carry their boy to sleep - 2.5 Year Old Boy! - of course that is another extreme. shhh dun tell hubby else he will send ethan off to another room again)

The other problem i have is how to wean ethan off the 4am feed, cos i genuinely think he is really hungry that is why he wakes up to feed, but hubby thinks otherwise... Grrrr!

bb slpg alone
I am the one who wants to send Cedric off to another room! not HB! HB has no strong opinions either way.

Missing bb
ok let me get down how I feel really... I miss Cedric, yes doggiebb, tis that achy breaky feeling of remembering little stuff like how he babbles, how he turns to me when latching, and the feeling gets really really bad at night. HOWEVER, I also miss sleeping thro the night myself and used to curl up w a good book before I slept. Wanna reclaim a little of my time and space back.
Very contradictory hor. Sighz.

high five, cellow! me too. i am irritated that only i can latch poppy on to sleep (which i am trying to stop..... once i get a hankie!) and hubby can snore away beside me. but then once she stops, i know i will miss it. cos even though i am pissed, seeing her face when she's doing the little bird expression, searching for my nnp, it still makes me laugh

last night poppy woke up at about 2am and immediately i thought "hey some of the mums have said their babies wake up to play, right?" but she was screaming too much to be wanting to play. so i latched her on. and for some reason i was very agitated. maybe cos i knew she woke up because hubby changed her diaper. so in a way, i made it HIS fault.

so i told him if i latch her on and she won't sleep then it's his responsibility liao. all along it's been me putting her to bed cos the logic is 'he needs to work whereas i can take an afternoon nap'. and i guess the resentment has built up. cos if *i* don't sleep enough, isn't it dangerous for me to look after poppy in the day??!!

sorry, just needed to complain abit

cellow.. I so totally know what you talking about... when we were in bintan, the sleeping through the night was great.. but after that.. all the guilt and achy feeling starts to build up and it makes the being able to "sleep in" not attractive anymore...

PB, I also soooo totally understand what you mean. Hubby can take rest and have some down time somewhere between work.. but you can't! poppy doesnt sleep, you can't sleep! plus, ya, taking care of baby is a taxing job, you need to be attentive all the time, cant even shut your lid for a while if baby is not sleeping! Grrr...

how about getting a taggie for her.. the taggies made by starmambo looks really pretty.. and taggies are really nice cos they can feel the ribbon and slowly doze off to lalaland.....

Qing
Kayden also has been tryin to crawl and keepin ending up bumpin his head on the floor..
the bumper mat so big already still not good euff for him!

Currently Kayden like to sleep face down..
haiz.. always give me heart attacks in the morning.. he always look so still..
tried to tie him down with the blanket but he just manage to escape out... sang nao jing..

Michelle
Kayden last feed is at 12am, then he will sleep thru the nite til 7plus. but some nights he super hungry wake up at 3plus lor..
try to feed him more at the last feed.

For Kayden to sleep alone on his own, we hang some teethers and toys in his cot so he can reach and play.. sometimes he play to sleep..
sometimes he play until cry, so i carry him for awhile.. or my maid pat him till he sleep...
my idea is to play with him til he's so tired that he knocked out with 5min.. it works most of the time

sleeping on his own
my FZ will play with his bolster, squeeze it, nuzzle it, turn to side, turn back, all sorts of pattern before falling asleep on his own.

sleeping bag
he is in a sleeping bag cos i am afraid his blanket will cover his face accidentally in the middle of the night

michelle

that 4am feed could be a combination of hunger and habit since you said that ethan doesn't really drink too much milk sometimes. since he likes his solids so much, you can add in one more meal of snacks like fruit or cereal and see if he can sleep better?

and the sunscreen? how? you need bo?

hanky method,
it works when my BB is at my hse. somehow when at my mum's place, hankie don't really work. hahaha..Megan got on the hankie method quite fast. but certain nites she'll need nothing but her pacifier onli. sighz...trying to wean her off. but still can't.

Nite feed,
Megan still wakes up once at nite. and we realise it's not because she's hungry. it's because thristy. so we gave her water. but being a little milk face, she's not satisfy when we gave her just water. so what i do is instead of 4.5oz, i gave her 3oz of milk. and instead of 1 1/2 scoop of milk powder, we give her 1 scoop only. usually she will onli drink 2 oz of it then fall asleep again. so both myself and my mum decided we shld just give it to her rather then let her go noisy and keep us all awake. hehehe

cellow,
i understand what u mean. we want to spend time with our bb but at the same time we want some "me" time. but when ppl offers to help us to give us some "me" time, then we can't bear to leave our bbs. i have that feeling too.

I GOT A CB SUNSCREEN POSTED TO ME TODAY!! Thanks to a super nice Mummy... muaak muaak muaak...

so doggiebb, no need liao. gam xia!

I am thinking of buying a sleeping bag for ethan once we shift to new house, cos will prolly turn on aircon as the new house not as windy as my MIL's. Cant use blanket too cos it will cover his face! sometimes i wake and see the pillow over his face! Scary! (btw, what is a nice sleeping bag to buy and got BP or not?? hee hee)

I have asked my MIL to increase his feed to 3x a day.. but she complain it is difficult cos he sleeps so much in the day! LOL.

smiggle, it is very difficult to increase Ethan's milk intake, especially at nite. HE does not want to drink, means he does not want to drink. He will keep his mouth shut and turn away from the bottle... so my only resort is to do it when he super drowsy, then try, sometimes he blur blur he will take some.. but most times, not a lot and he will kun liao.. plus hor, he cannot stay awake past 10pm! no matter how much he sleeps in the day, latest 10pm, he will sleep liao... i wanted to make him stay awake till 11pm thinking can drag his last feed, but so far has not succeeded..

michelle

okie dokie. i've got 2 sleeping bags. one is a cheap cotton one ($30 plus) which i use when there is no aircon but is windy. the other one is a grobag, it has different thickness for different temperatures, i think mine is a 1.0 tog one ($89).