(2008/07) July 2008

do1nk
or should i just buy a brand new set?
haiz...

and do you mean slowly introduce hankie to bb.
like rock and sing then plus hankie.
will try tonight.

signs of tiredness
rachel also rub his eyes and nose with her eyes when she is tired.

JSP Michelle
i think she is fine.
she is acting normal.

pinkbunny
worse he didnt even know how she fell.
but hor, he was so scared, he dare not go work.
stayed at home to monitor her.

michelle
oh no,
imagine me carrying her to sleep when she is weighing like 1bag of rice?
and hor, my aunty say wean her from middle of the night feed by giving them plain water or pacifier.
don give milk. if got no milk, they wont ask for it liao.
maybe you can try

and ii bought the taggies from starmambo, the sqaure pillow.
but rachel don like lehz. she throw it one side.
so sad

pinkbunny / cellow
yes, totally agree.
super contradictory...

smiggle
ya... rachel also likes to 'crawl' or rather roll out of the mat and be on the floor.

doggiebb
i used to put rachel in sleepbag
but my room too hot liao. not really suitable
somemore she like cool cool environment.

Sleeping alone
It never happened with #1 ‘cos he never even slept in his cot. So he’s still sleeping in the same bed as me. As for #2, he started out in the same bed as all of us, but got woken to many times by #1’s kicking and moving around in the night, so he’s been transferred to the cot, which is in our room. I think when L gets older, he’ll come to join us on the bed as well ☺

Sleeping by self
Still cannot! L still wants to latch. Last night hb carried him for almost 2 hours, until I took over and latched L on.

Michelle, Do1nk,
How long did it take for the hankie to work?

Me-time
It’s non-existent since I had #1.

Cellow, Qing
Contradiction it is. We never had a stroller so I would sling #1 everywhere. When he started walking and did not want me to sling him, I felt a sense of loss, like a limb missing.

Michelle
California Baby Citronella Bug Blend. It’s very effective! Oh oh, just read that you got yours already ☺

Bbp
Chef for hire? As in, go to the person’s place and cook? Wow! Erm… another option for Botak gathering?
Is Declan better?

Qing
$15 is very cheap for the Bumbo. But if you already have a high chair or places for Rachel to sit in and play, there’s no real need for a Bumbo. But if you’re going to have more babies, then it’s a good deal lor.
Oh dear, is Rachel okay?

PB
Ikea sale! Yay! I want to buy high chair and potty! Hmm, I think we’ll all be there on Friday, haha!

Trial class
Swimming - Aquaducks. Kindermusik. My Gym. Gymboree – with #1 we went for a trial, did not like it much. Did not sign up for classes but bought the membership so that we could bring him there anytime to play.

Qing
That's Cin_bunny! Nice picture!

That is Cin_Bunny Alright!

eh... all the photos with same background one... you went there to take one or what?? whats the story?!? quick, tell!

youpi, i suggest dun put any expectation on how soon the hankie method works...just start to pass him some attachment object (hankie, blankie, small toy etc) to hold, even while latching, and do this repeatedly at every sleep time (incl afternoon naps). when it drops, pick it and put it in his hands again. in between sleep when he fidgets/etc, if you are there, put the object in his hands again.. just keep doing it, when the time comes, you can tell that when he is sleepy, he will be looking for the object and not for latching!
dun put a time frame so you wont be pressured and patience is the key!

michelle,
I am the other way round. "Bad mommy"
I told my hubby 2 month ago that I am reducing my boy 4am feed. He disagree and told me that he might be hungry.
Till lately, my boy is still asking for more and more milk @ 4am.
So I sua my hubby that if this goes on ... my boy might just wake up one nite and ask him for a bowl of rice. I really psst my hubby off.
But my boy is already a "rice sack"!
So unwilling, he let me just feed him water. For about a week, he finally can sleep thru' the might without asking for milk.

I "train" #1 early ... by 3 months, she sleep thru' the nite.

I am just sharing what I did ... it might not be the correct way.

smiggle,
yah i know how you feel, wish i can bumpermat my whole house.

youpi,
Yup, the Chef will go the house & teach the person how to cook a nice meal, plus the marketing somemore. But I was the guest... not the cook :p
Yes, I think Declan's ok but still monitoring him.

Re night feed:
Is 6am considered night feed? Cos usually Declan wakes up at that time for milk. sometimes he weird weird wake up at 4plus am. My hubby say... if he want, just give him la. Cos he so small sized already. And since I am currently not working, I just feed him lor.

Rayna,
Cin_bunny is 3rd photo from the top. She's in a green shirt.

Teehee.. Sophie looks like she's yawning...

youpi
i don have a high chair lehz.
got jumperoo. but mil keep it liao.
say CNY got a lot of ppl come. EXCUSE.
she never like my jumperoo coz it take up a lot of HER LIVING SPACE.
then hb ah ma bought a walker for her. now she is flying with that.
i just feel that my 2nd child will be more fortunate.
by then i should have a house liao. then sure got one room as their playroom.
then i can buy and put all the toys the way i like it.

and i guess rachel is ok. no abnormal signs

smiggle
i also send in rachel for the coverpage and the idol bb(something like that one)
her daddy say i super kiasu.
but this kind of thing.
once in a lifetime lehz, if kanna the winner.

bbp
i always give Rachel her first feed at about 6-7am.

Qing! thanks for letting me know..did not even know got lucky draw..mua ha ha

michelle - nestle sent invite to go to mothercare harbourfront for baby event..when we arrived, we got a goodie bag with nestle samples and 15% mothercare voucher. and there was a photo booth and they took free family pix..that's the pix lor.

bbp - yes i think she was BORED,..photographer not cute enuff for her taste..heee

Cin bunny
I was just browsing loh
Super excited when I saw ur family photo
Remembered ur name but not nick
Heehee

U very lucky loh
Got goodies and discount
Now got even more goodies + cash I think

Remember to email them huh

best leh cin bunny, got so many things free! let us know what you won ok? *kaypoh*

re hankie method
pinkbunny's new excuse to buy a cute taggie!!! just now hubby said 'can't just use any of her towels?'. please lor. towel quite big leh...

Play Yards,

Just received them today! Thank you Michelle for organising!

BBP,

Oh dear I know how you feel when you see declan merlioning. Wu Feng merlions a lot (just merlioned yday - once morning, once nite). A bit numb liao but each time he does that, you still get worried. Glad to hear he is ok now...

cin_bunny,

I also kaypoh what you won leh! heehee

Michelle,

You got swim diapers for Ethan? My ah boy pooed in the pool the first time he went in...lucky got poo diaper, else diasastrous! I will probably bring him again this weekend... he likes to kick in the water...hehehe... have fun!

my hubby just told me something scary. my friends came over for lunch last weekend and brought their 22 month old daughter. she said "SHxT" when she dropped something. gulp. i guess that's what her mum does.

let's watch our language huh?

PB,
Luckily your hubby never suggest using his own hankerchief..

batgirl,
Maybe if he always merlions, I wouldn't be so worried. The thing is, he hasn't merlioned in a long long time. I think since he turned one month. But so far so good *keeps fingers crossed*

Sleeping alone
I let my #1 sleep with us all the way cos I TBF ma easier n he refuse to sleep in his bb cot. Once put in within 1 min will cry type. He only stop night feed when 1 yrs old. But already stuck with us liao.....hahaha
But then recently we bought a new mattress for the cot. Thinking its for Ember cos she does sleep in cot at night. BUT #1 says its his bed so from then now he sleeps in the cot everynight......hehehe

bluey
hahaha you funny lah.
But ur gal so guai aah you ask her to sleep in her own room she okie aah?
My sis's gal same age as ur gal will still keep running back to their room at night.

cinbunny
I like the gymboree at tanglin mall.....hehehe
Used to bring my #1 there to play.
I think its best to go when they are starting to crawl already. Cos if they can't move yet they can't use the stuff. Actually I like Little Gym in Forum the shopping mall. But its VERY expensive though they really do gym stuff n seem very pro.

PB
hehehe that's what I've had to do. Try to watch my language cos D copies us. With expression somemore. Coincidently he jus passed the "Sh*t" stage. Jus now he even told my hubby. Don't say "Oh Sh*t"......hahaha

bbp
Maybe he jus had alot of wind in his tummy yest night n now all burp out already.

re stranger anxiety
Ember's quite weird in this. Cos at 1st she starts recognising all strangers n cry. Even my dad when I went to visit on 2 consecutive days, she cried promptly for both days. Then she suddenly stopped crying totally with everyone even strangers. My cousin popping suddenly n carry her away also okie. BUT she still cries every single time when we go over to my inlaws place. Same with my #1 last time.
<font color="0000ff"><font size="-2">Not that I am complaining though....hehehe</font></font>

last night i tried the hankie method.
it works !!!
but hor, don know is it boz she tired or does it really work.
i on the music, tuck her tutu in, and force her to hold the hankie.
she did fuss a little and it took her about half an hour before she really doze off to lalaland
going to do it again tonight.
i was so relaxed loh, lying down beside her watching tv instead.

pinkbunny
thats true, a new excuse to buy.

and i have already warned hubby about his language.

dordor
thats so cute of D

bb kept stirring and crying a bit since 4am today.. had to pop the tutu back into his mouth a couple of times (I usually take it out when he's asleep)

hankie method: ya, must be persistent and keep doing it at every naptime.. I was surprised G adapted so fast though..

the taggies and plush are really cute huh... but would they want different taggies or dat one familiar smelly one dat makes them fall asleep?

youpi: LOL to feeling like you lost a limb when you stopped slinging your baby..

batgirl: wufeng poo-ed in the pool.,so it was contained in the swim diaper huh? always wondered how it'd work.. the onli swim diapers around is the huggies one ah? wiv nemo and dory all over? hehe my boy loves to splash water and he doesn't seem frightened by it splashing onto his face.. have not tried dunking him though..

dordor: can damien still fit in the cot? so you lowered it to the lowest rung? does your in-laws look scary hahaha

do1nk
yup.. just reached...
chen everyone havent reach yet faster see see.
boz my PC is facing in such a way that whoever walks in will see my PC and my back.
very difficult for me to surf net.

oh.. ya.. I figured the onli way for me to stay afloat here is to try to read as many posts as I can in the mornings when I get into office first..haha

Monday 1230noon Meet-Up (is this the latest list?)

1) PB - tom yum udon
2) bbp - sausages
3) youpi -
4) SY
5) Tess_mummy - still thinking
6) Straw - Sotong balls from old chang kee. Will get chicken wings, if
they are selling it
7) do1nk - can't cook for nuts.. wat do u all feel like eating? nyonya
kueh from bengawan solo?
8) Smiggleprincess - bring dessert ice cream or mango sago
9) Michelle - Otah
10) Bluey - cake?

good morning mommies!
long time no post.

anyone has started spinach or broccoli puree for your baby? Just steam the vege and blend? What is blanch?

Do you store your healthy time cereal in the refrigerator or just room temperature?

dordor,
where got so good ...
initially, in the middle of the night @ 3am ... I dreamt of a koala bear hugging me ... open eyes ... well ... my gal fighting space on our small queen size bed.
The next morning I explain to her that if she dun sleep on it at night, I will sell away her bed.
The bed is actually chosen by her, those with a staircase where she use the top bunk bed as her "playground". I know she wun bear to let me "sell" away her bed.
So after a few days of repeated threatening ... she finally sleep thru' the night w/o coming over.
But till now, I still have to put her to sleep on my bed first.

don1k,
are you asking us what we want to eat..heehee?
I want shark fin soup! lol

missysz,
Blanch: Just use hot water to cook the vege for a short while.
I keep cereals @ room temp. My boy finish quite fast.

Nite feed:
As long as he ask for milk after 6am, I will feed him. Anytime before that I try to give him water.

Very sian today ... becoz after 12 yrs of marriage, I am running out of ideas what to give for V-day.
I woke up this morning and have this idea.
Why not I "wrap" my boy in a pretty gift wrap and give it to my hubby?
Think, think, think!

re cereal
i keep in fridge.

re brocoli
i will steam and then mash

re hankie
will try this method. hope it works.

jx so poor thing. she got a tear at the anus!! cos her stool too hard....hope she will recover son.

cereal,

In my new house, i keep in fridge (cos eat only once a week). In MIL house, it is left outside, cos he finish quite fast.

brocoli and spinach, my MIL cooks it with brown rice, then grind.

SY, sayang JX. must let her drink more water, or gripe water... to soften the stool.. or barley water?

hankie
Ethan use a new hankie every nite cos he will put in his mouth, smear it all over his face... gets dirty! hmm... he doesnt seem to mind so maybe he does not need the "smell" yet but rather the "touch" to get to sleep?

do1nk,
Yup, I think that's the latest list.

missysz,
Yup, started on broccoli puree already. Just steam and blend. Heard spinach need to strain, so much work involved, but not sure cos haven't try.

bluey,
LOL. Your dream super funny!
Your V-day idea quite good sia. I wanna try... but how to wrap? Maybe just tie a ribbon? Or do treasure hunt with clues that eventually lead to your boy? Eh, I just realised, I cannot use this method liao. Cos my hubby reads this forum!

SY,
Oh no... poor JX! Give her diluted prune juice?

PB
Taggies: can buy online from www.babybeans.com.sg - I lurve the stuff on this site!

Dor Dor
D so cute to claim the cot and sleep in it. Wish my #1 would do the same, but he prefers to banish his didi to the cot and continue to sleep with me. Dunno until when...

Feeding solids
L seems to dislike his BRC. I have to try to force it past clamped lips and clenched gums each time. Did anyone go through this? 'Cos my #1 was very happy to start solids and had no problems with BRC.

PB,
can bring my wakler to your place anot??
Kayden so active, if not gotta bring my maid along.. but cannot cos bring maid then must bring dog!
i be there 1plus cos coming after work..

those who do handicraft, do you know where i can buy those non-slip hair clip? those plain one so tat i can do my own design kind.

bbp
haha my hubby don't use hankie one. this kind of guy going extinct liao i think

missy
i gave poppy broc liao. just steam for about 10-15 min then blend. store in freezer when it is fully cooled down. i leave cereal on kitchen counter but in lock lock container.

Monday 1230noon Meet-Up - do1nk i think you are right, this is the latest list

1) PB - tom yum udon
2) bbp - sausages
3) youpi -
4) SY
6) Straw - Sotong balls from old chang kee. Will get chicken wings, if
they are selling it
kueh from bengawan solo?
9) Michelle - Otah
10) Bluey - cake?

those mummies who are still thinking, maybe can think about non dessert stuff and consider real lunch stuff?

bluey
lol at your koala dream! and haha ya wrap your boy up! and put a gift bow on his head! i did to poppy at christmas hehe

SY
poor jx! sayang her. how did that happen? constipated? thought you TBF?

youpi
poppy isn't a big fan of BRC either. i let her try barley and she loved it. maybe you can alternate? now she's taking barley, and oatmeal. she's so-so on oatmeal, like she would eat it cos she's hungry. but she still loves barley

smiggle
sure you can bring kayden's walker! but i don't know if my house got space for him to walk anot. unless i put all the dining chairs on the table like when restaurant closing then sweep floor kind? hehe

btw those who stay in the area: http://www.curry-favor.com/web/promo_buffet.php

i went before, but not for the buffet. the curry is very shiok!

Monday 1230noon Botak Gathering

1) PB - tom yum udon
2) bbp - sausages
3) youpi -
4) SY
6) Straw - Sotong balls from old chang kee. Will get chicken wings, if they are selling it
kueh from bengawan solo?
9) Michelle - Otah
10) Bluey - cake?
11) cin bunny - dwinks!

thanks bbp, michelle, sy, pb and bluey. am going to try brocoli soon but dont know whether he will take it since he has tried other sweet vege. :p

sy,
did u give her banana? i heard banana will cause constipation? maybe give a bit of prune juice?

SY
oh no... that must hurt a lot for her.
ya, should give her 5ml of gripe water.
rachel always drink gripe water daily. it helps her poo daily.
see can soften the poopoo, if not later she scared to poo poo.
thats what happen to my friend's boy.

bluey
her girl is so cute loh
will come and squeeze with you.

Milk bottles
Any mummy here tried tommy tippee bottle? I have tried pigeon and the teat is no good and lets in a lot air. Recently bought the expensive BFree bottles, but the teat is very much softer and Ethan does not like. Saw the tommy tippee anti-colic bottle, the teat looks similar to Pigeon wideneck type, but worried if it will be like pigeon - airy?!? any advise?

michelle
i am using avent currently.

i bought the green to grow from the bp here.
pending for it to come. don know good or not

aftn all.. can't follow the thread.. saw something abt trial class..

caitlyn is now attending kindermusik lessons at tanglin mall as i went for a trial and she was super happy..

anyone interested in joining LNT? www.littleneurotree.com The bugis branch is having a rather aggressive promo of sign for 1 term, get 1 term free.. (but for e malay lang class - meaning e lessons are in el, chinese n malay).. i trying to get a sunday, 9am, class started for mei mei since my #1 already attends class there at tt timing.. =) PM me for more details k as i can't follow this thread!!

I saw the avent teat is similar to the BFree one.. soft teat, right? does it let in air too? cos the BFree one hor.. has a special tube in the bottle for air to remain in the bottle one loh...

michelle
it doesnt seem too soft to me lehz.
i don really like to use avent thou.
i always can never close the lid properly. milk always leak out.

crystal
rachel will only cry in the middle of the night
if she has a very exciting day. or kanna scared by something. we always give 'jin fong shan'.

Qing
wah, gripe water very sweet rite?
and u give daily??
then does she still wanna eat plain veg after u blend them?
After Kayden tried sweet potato,he refuses his carrot.

qing - does e jing fenf san work?? last time my son liek tt.. now mei mei also like tt.. is it tt traumatising to be my child?? sob sob

crystal,
Don't be so upset. Sometimes Declan does that, mostly during the day. To me, I see it as he hasn't had enough sleep but can't get back to sleep. So I just carry him and pat him back to sleep. I really don't mind, cos when he's had enough, he will wake up without a sound and start crawling off the mattress. Gives me a bigger heart attack.

crystal,
Caitlyn cries or does she fuss? Cos sometimes Declan will whine or give a little cry in his sleep, but will drop back to sleep after perhaps half a minute.