(2008/07) July 2008

bbp - hers is cry.. v loud kind.. must be carried and consoled.. last time my #1 also like tt.. for her she was initially ok, now also like tt.. arrghhz

smiggle
erm, i never try the gripe water lehz.
but hor after 5ml i drown her with plain water.

i haven tried blending stuff for her.
but hor i tried giving healthy times pumpkim pie and sweet pea
she don like.
i tried liao i also don like.
weird taste and smell.

crystal
actually hor, i was very reluntant in the beginning when mil introduce it to her at 1 month.
don know what is the content ma.
but hor, apparently after she consume it that night she ok lehz.
sometime when she 'ki-ah teo', and i never give hor. she can cry a few times one night.
sometime we give her pearl powder instead.

agree, it is really very tiring one loh.
some more next day still have to work or take care of the household chores and them.

or is she hungry?
maybe you feed her more at her last feed loh.
i normally give her 6 spoonful of FM + 1 spoonful of 'si seh' powder
she slept thru.

ibt
oh no...
thats not good news...
lucky mine is not drinking that.

Qing

ya sad news ..

i think a bit of gripe water is ok as long as it is diluted. else bb will get used to the sweet taste.

avocado
mums who have fed avocado. have you ever frozen it? i tried and each time i defrost, there is a brown layer on top of the green. i wonder if it's still good to give but have my doubts :| anyone can share?

missy
i gave poppy broc quite early but after sweet stuff too like pumpkin and sweet potato. in the beginning she made a face but now she's ok. they books all say try a few times over a few days if they don't like it at first
i read that banana can help with constipation but TOO MUCH can CAUSE constipation.

crystal
maybe you can give her a chou chou - a pillow or blankie. for security. then she won't get chuak so much? nightmare maybe. day time don't play until too hiong?

gripe
i give with water. put in bottle. agree with labbit, too much and baby will get accustomed to it.

have a nice weekend, mummies! see some of you at my place on monday 1230!

Gripe,
I heard that gripe water can cos phelgm. So i never give. my girl drinks loads of plain water.

my mum went to the chinese medical hall and they recommended this red crystal fruit for me to drink when i was pregnant. It contains apple, pineapple and other fruits. it got the same effect of coconuts for pregnant women. then hor after my gal 1 mth,something happened to her, can't rem what, so the PD ask us to give gripe water/glucose. think can't poo, then this same person told my mum can give my gal to drink the red crystal drink. so from 1 mth old we started feeding her with it. not too bad. my gal got some hemoglobin(wrong spelling i think) problem.that is like not enough blood, so she need multi vits and iron as supplements when she was younger. somehow with this drink she seems better also. so we just con't with it lor. anyway this drink is a little sour rather then sweet. =)

PB
i dun freeze the avocado. i just wrap in cling wrap. why freeze? dun need i feel.

crystal
mine dun sleep well
i feel tat i dun sleep at all the whole night. she wakes a few times

thanks for the sayang. will be gping to buy some papaya n prune juice for her.

where u buy the hankies?

re trial class
i like bb n cream at great world. anyone keen?

SY,
slipped my mind.. u can try the gripe water too. My ger is taking it daily after her constipation episode. U can try to massage her lower back as well.

ibt
huh
like that ah, my milk always give her 'pure' lehz

PB
oh no...
she has been on 'pure' since one month.
haiz
i die liao...

rayna
so far so good lehz.
no abnormal stuff...

and hor, where to get this red crystal fruits?
never hear of, sorry

trial class
is it free?

SY, I think BB n Cream at GWC is no longer there. I work there and I don't see it anymore.

Re: Porridge

I just tried to feed my ah boy with it. He "bu" the porridge into my face! He doesn't like it. He seems contented eating his cereals only. How ah.. Must find receipe to make it more appetising. I put pork, carrot and ikan billis...

Do1nk,

Yes.. his poo was caught in the swim diaper. Yea, I bot the huggies one. Someone was selling piece by piece, so I just got 2 to try..

Wu Feng also doesnt mind water splashed on his face. but I held back on dunking him... :p

batgirl
bb n cream no more? i quite like their lessons. let me go and check out others.

last time my boy tried kindermusik, gymboree, julia gabriel hol prog, bb n cream.

for porridge i try not to make it too tasty. my neighbour's gal rejected milk after eating solids cos too tasty..

i just put fish, carrot and brocoli. today's one was cauliflower, pumpkin and fish. jx finished a bowl.

do1nk
The cot is the kind that can convert to toddler bed so still can fit D. But hor the way he sleeps is horrible. Cos i took out 1 of the side rail n stick his cot to our bed at night. N he rolls over n feet n head can change place. Jialat hor.

bluey
hahaha so funny you say ur gal like koala.....kekeke
HEY!!! Good idea I like your Valentine gift...hahaha

youpi
I love that site too. The taggies so nice......keke...mine is from there too....hahaha
hehe I count my blessings when D says the bed is his....haha
I jus need to ask him if I can put E on it n he will quickly rush to sleep in it.
So glad to get him off our bed. So much space for me to turn....or rather I can turn on my bed now.

You might wanna try other cereals or even porridge for L instead? Cos D took porridge from 5mths cos he gets constipated if he take cereals. But Ember's fine with cereals. Jus not apples.....hahaha

Rayna
I only know online so far cos dun seem to find them in sg.

Tempted to order but.........
If anyone else is keen I dun mind ordering then we share the loot?? Anyone interested??

http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=76&zenid=3e2e856d97fc29510636dc566e3198a2

qing
i think it's ok to give gripe water 'pure' la
i just put it in water to make her drink water hehe

girls, just to update, poppy has a fever. started yesterday and today brought her to doc. 38.1 degree!!! my poor baby. brought her out with the fever plaster on her forehead. i'm a bit worried cos she had mosquito bites a few days ago. so doc says to monitor and if by monday fever still not down or if she gets patchy rashes, bring her back to clinic

so just in case, i have asked smiggleprincess if she would be so kind as to open her place for the gathering instead. there will be little inconvenience to those coming cos her place is very near mine. like 2 streets away. she has kindly agreed. so:

<font color="0000ff">MUMMIES PLEASE TAKE NOTE. MONDAY'S BOTAK GATHERING WILL BE AT SMIGGLEPRINCESS' HOUSE AT 1.30PM!!!!</font> note that the time has been changed too.

those who are coming, please acknowledge that you have read this message and please spread the word!

Gathering

I be at work til 12.30pm and should reach home abt 1pm.

For those who have not been my place,
i have a big dog. Harmless and kaypoh only.. wont bark or bite..

MY address is 118b jalan membina 03-131
or can PM me for my no.

my schnauzer ask if he can come visit too hehe... which mrt's nearest to your place? how to get there ah?

PB: how's poppy now? better, i hope.. poor bb

first let me post this pix of Cedric in the orange bebepod... pix taken a month ago liao... then need to find the cable to upload the pix of Ced in the mother &amp; bb rattan retro chair! then respond to posts.
2159920.jpg

PB, hope poppy's fever goes down soon... fret not, jst monitor closely k. Most likely nothing one...

bb wgt - no gain!
Ced went to the PD ystday and is just 100g heavier than previous visit. But grew taller by 2cm. Now weighing in at 9.1kg! Still Feizhai or not ha?

stranger anxiety
Cedric regards everyone new w that suspicious wide-eyed analysis. Once my uncle came to Aunt's place, said 'Hello!' to him, and he cried! Uncle backed off str away...

do1nk,
I came back to SG Thu night. I pronounce Cedric as Sa-dric [1st sound like Sa-lly
So good, Gordon can sleep on his own *admires*

Parenting role btwn HB and me
Ced sees HB as THE playmate and giggles, laughs out loud when HB talks to him. Ced sees me and thinks 'aha, here comes the milk vending machine' *grumble* but he does look for me when he needs comforting/reassurance. Like last night after his jab, think he was feeling poorly. Slight fever of 38 degrees. So whole night looked for me, and me only.

bbp,
hope Declan's merlion was a once-off! no more since Wed?
u were on TV ah, wow.

smigglep,
how long are u going London for? can ask HB to tk leave and follow u tog w Kayden?

Missing bb
actually it wasnt so bad leh, only the 1st night felt strange w/o bb latching n doing the little bird motions w his mouth by my side. I m grateful that I got some nites of uninterrupted sleep kekeke.
My colleague asked if 1st time I was away fm bb, i said yes. He said my HB most likely misses me more than Ced does. Came back, asked HB true or not, he just looked at me and said 'wat u think leh'...

PB,
haiz, why the rentatoy guy like that one. SAHMs have the hardest jobs... at least pple at work can doze off staring at computer screen or take a coffee [Milo!] break.

Qing,
got your sms. YA, dun buy from her the bumbo liao. so many other choice of sellers. HUGs to you and bb Rachel... you must hv been scared when she fell to flr.

CS,
so all 3 of u are in the living room now? LOL

Rayna,
Ya lor. But after the trip, I learnt to let go to my helper now... after all she is here to help me.

youpi,
your HB v patient, can carry L for 2 hours.

dordor,
so funny your D, claim the bed as his. heehee on the small print.

missysz,
my HT BRC is outside at room temp

SY,
oh dear for JX's tear. hope the papaya and prune juices help to soften the stool! u decided to quit ur job ah, need to look for part time lobang?

bluey,
LOL abt koala hugging u dream.

crystal,
oh dear on Caitlyn waking up to cry hourly... u must be exhausted...

lbt,
thanks for the info. luckily Cedric drank only one scoop of Wyeth Promise Gold during the time I was away. Now me and helper will finish up the milk powder since opened already.

Avocado
When I freeze then defrost, also got brown layer on top. But I tasted it and still ok to me, so fed Cedric w it. Why freeze? bcz he cannot finish one whole avocado and cling wrap in my crowded fridge compartment will jst contaminate the avocado. [and this kam siap mummy thinks avocado is a way too expensive fruit for the adults to eat - heh] I use the bb cubes to freeze.

batgirl,
Cannot imagine if the poo went into the pool sia. Luckily the swim diaper could hold it.

Poo
Ask u all - has your bb's poo turned pasty and more solid after starting solids?

any1 hear about Patapum baby carrier?
saw a booth promoting it @ $160 for 1 that can take the weight up to 28kg.
i m very interested ... anyone using it? Is it good?

Hope that poppy will be well soon. PB u take care.

PB, hugs to poppy. hope she recovers soon and it is NOT due to mosquito!

Just as well the timing is delayed, cos my stupid contractor suppose to finish all my carpentry work, but the doors to my cabinet are still not fixed! They will be coming on monday morning, and by the time I finish washing, late afternoon is ok... I may reach around 2.30 kinda timing, ok anot?

Smiggle, PM me your address and contact number please.

Cellow, of course Ced is still FZ! PD says weight increase will not be significant now but 9.1kg is still a great weight!

cellow,

9.1 kg is still hefty!!!
Welcome back!I will be travelling to Sabah end of the mth...also my first time away from bb....

And yes, lucky the swim diaper held it in...else jia lat man! My baby's poo did become more pasty and solid... also darker in colour and smellier..*phew*

PB,

hope poppy recovers soon! *hugz*

Re: Porridge

WuFeng is absolutely hating it. Today I fed him fish porridge with carrots. He ate...but gave the yucky face..mummy continue to feed...next thing i know, he merlioned all the porridge fed plus his ealier session of milk... real messy affair... back to the drawing board on "Types of porridge"...*sigh*

Dor,

i don't mind ordering. interested in the hold it and the 25 pc double prong alligator clips and also the 25 pcs 60mm snap clips.
let me know if you ordering. can tobang.

PB,
Megan also having fever. highest is 37.8degress. don't know if she's teething or not. sighz. also got mossy bites. hope it's not dengue. cos she got more then 1 mossy bite. =(

oh no...all the feverish babies!

hey cellow...back in SG huh? joining us for monday's meetup?

smelly poo n smelly farts: definitely... oh my boy hasn't pooed yet today.. strained a bit but onli let go farts in the end.. hope i don't get an explosion when out tomorrow

okie dokz... gonna hit the sack,.. happy valentine's day mummies!

hello do1nk,
cannot join for monday's meetup as doing the same sessions nx week that I did this week for Philippines, just running virtual sessions nx week - heng ah. dun think i can take another week of travel... so cannot tk leave on Monday. enjoy the botak gathering and post pix

Us not going for the botak gathering can then determine each bb's level of botakness... kekeke

Happy Valentine's day to all!
HB and I went to Marine Cove 7-11 to eat free ice cream today. Walls was launching 2 new Cornetto flavours! Also to the supermkt for grocery shopping... how opposite from the dinner-and-roses combi that the media is promoting. Valentine's def changed w the birth of Cedric.

PB,
hope poppy's fever is coming down...poor girl..hugz.

Cellow,
aiyo dun say till like it's cedric fault,haha.. it is still as sweet as before so long the love within family is still there. ;)

bbp,

yes! farts are getting smellier too! the silebt ones are the killer....haha...

Rayna, hope megan gets well soon! Really worrying when our young ones gets a fever.

batgirl, ethan LOVEs to eat porridge. Now he prefers porridge to Cereal liao..

Cellow, at least you got a chance for free ice cream! me and hubby was shifting to new house ytday, with ethan in tow! in the end, i was so tired, suppose to prepare dinner and eat at new house, ended up became KFC and asked in-laws over with helper! who is the romantic one?? so tired at nite... hit the sack at 930pm!

Doggiebb, Love the Grobag, ethan looked so comfy in there...

Gatherin

118b Jalan Membina #03-131
it abt 10mins from Tiong Bahru mrt.
my num ber is nine-six-four-six-six-nine-three-three

do1nk
bring your dog but no guarantee that my dog will like him..
you can take care of both dog and baby anot??

Michelle,

Aiyoh..i think it is me lah.. lousy cook. Do you add salt in the porridge? Today I test test using the porridge at a dim sum restaurant. He LOVES it! can smack his lips some more!! But we are not supposed to add salt into their food yet rite?

hi smiggleP

sorry, i thought since it was initially at PB's place at 1230 pm, i could pop in during my work lunch hour to say hi..but now tt it's 130pm, i will hv to give it a miss
..you ladies enjoy! (now i need to figure out what to do with all the dwinks i bought ;P )

so far we have not had confirmation from
tess mummy
youpi
straw

i have smsed youpi, and emailed her and straw. anyone has tess mummy's contact can please pass message?

PB
hope poppy is better. 38 not too high so maybe teething fever?

cellow
jx ok after one day. lucky her poo soften liao and dun seem to hurt anymore when she poo.

yes her poo is smellier now and is more solid. it is better cos last time always so messy to clean.

i actually tot their stranger anxiety will be lesser after 7 months. cos jx used to be really bad. now much better.

batgirl
not supposed to add salt cos their kidneys won't be able to take it. i read that their taste buds are more sensitive than ours so no need salt.

so far what did u put in the porridge? i have tried 3 kinds of fish and jx all ok with it.

michelle
u have no more helper after u shift house?

re all sick bb
get well soon!

Wow so many posts!!! Been missing... Super busy at work.

Michelle,
I've tried Tommee tippee.. dun really like it. I've got 2 bottles and both bottles leaked. So I trade that away with Pigeon wide neck. Now no longer using pigeon, I'm using bfree instead. Works well for me.

batgirl

NO SALT pls !!! SY is right abt the kidney theory. No additional seasoning at least after they turns 1 and NO outside food ! It's full of MSG and very unhealthy for adults, not to mention babies !

maybe you want to check the consistency of your porridge (is it too thick?) and maybe only add one ingredient such as carrot ?

PB

is poppy ok now ? could be some viral thingy .. esp during this period.

Hi girls.

Today hubby was holding on to Dani and I walked away to the bathroom and I heard her saying something then hubby said, 'hey! she's calling you mama, come quick!' and really, Dani said it again, 'ma-mmmmm ma-mmmm.....' The MA sound was really short and quick but still quite clear. Not sure if she's trying to say mum-mum (food) instead.
-_-"

Oh and she's not resisting her playmat anymore. Crawled on it quite abit but Im still very cautious abt her falling backwards and hit her head cos then she'll start to hate it again. JSP, thanks to Ernest. You know what I mean lah huh.. *wink wink* kekekeke...

Also I made her alittle mango puree yesterday, for Vitamin C and she doesnt like it. Gave that sour face. She better not be a fussy eater, this dont like, that dont like.

Hey dustee, if you see this message, paiseh hoh, didnt see your msn message the other day, I came to the screen quite late and you're already offline.

Ysh I've got the pink hearts Ergo. Mr CS already made it clear that he's not going to carry it thou he picked that design himself, said it's the nicest. Or maybe its just his trick of not having to carry it.

Girls, how many of you sleeps your baby in an a/c room?

Dani has been sleeping in a/c room all these while but I realised since yesterday that she has slight runny nose so I thot I'd just let her sleep with a fan for the next few nights or so and she was terrible for the past 2 nights! Woke up in the middle of the night fussing and crying and screaming! Would it be she's used to a/c liao? I sure wouldn't want her to get used to a/c. Sleeping with a fan really so hot meh?

I know this sounds stupid but I've always asked my bbsitter this same quest ('wah, wear until like that, not hot arh??') whenever I see the little boy toddler that she's looking after wears long sleeves and pants to bed in a non a/c room.

Am I being paranoid about babies feeling hot? Is it that babies can generally take some level of heat well?

CS,

This question is something I've asked myself for a long time.

I think every baby is different. A certain temperature that works well for a baby will not work for another.

Just go with your instincts CS. I believe every mother knows best

CS
My D hor since birth in aircon room liao. But when aircon he is fully covered lah long sleeve long pants n even toe covers last time. N he can still be perspiring at the aircon cannot reach area. Or he turn n u can see wet patch. N when our aircon spoil waiting for uncle to repair for 2 days. It was hell man cos he can't sleep.
Its was like BTH too tired then sleep kind n wake super early even though the fan was blowing at us n he was infront of me lor. I dun feel warm but he WAS!!
Kong bu hor next time NS dunno how leh. N then this Ember also lor hot she make noise liao.......sigh

gathering
ok,ok noted that time n venue change
hope poppy recover soon .... and all bbs who is unwell
any mummies wan to meet at the mrt station n walk together ?

bb food
i try to give bb food with its natural taste meaning no adding salt .

so far tried out the following
1. potato n carrot( she likes it)
2.potato n chicken ( she likes it)
3. apple puree ( give a sour face )

but she got a bad habit, likes to put her finger into her mouth and also make 'bu bu'sound .this will create a mess .

a/con ,sleep
so far only sleep 2 night with a/con on ,she kind of ok with the fan but must be blowing her , if got pillow block the fan , she will sweat n wake up from sleep.

now tess still wake up midnight to have her milk.
she too will cry during night time with her eyes close. if i unable to soothe her , i will have to wake her up n she will be ok again .

PB
how to give bb chou chou ?

poo poo
ya,tess poo poo is dry now , its like paste.
but do they need to poo poo everyday ?

bluey
hehe I replied you in FB haha.
Thanx thanx but I'm not going cos my mum not working so will be at her place instead. You not working aah. Siok lor lavender cupcake aah. I want leh very stress aah.......hahaha

SY, Lbt,Tess_mummy,

Thanks for sharing! Alamak, yday gave him his first taste of OUTSIDE FOOD!!! Will stop it immediately!

Consistency..hmmi think he likes it thicker..so far i strain all the porridge I make. I use "ngoh" fish and carrots (the one that make him puke) and, ikan billis, pork and carrots (the one he spit all over my face).

Have to trial and error again..
will leave it to my mummy this week to experiment! hahahha..