(2008/07) July 2008

Hey Delphine! Your due date is actually late Jul ya? Doesn't matter, your baby must be real excited to see you
All the best ya!! I guess by now you would have delivered liao.

so many cute babies are out to see world. Envy.

Mine not eager at all! Went to see gynea, he told me that water level is good so baby might be staying in there of a while.
haiz ... started my ML already and worst, my gynae is not around the whole of next week.
Very sian ... just hope tonight I will have contraction and I can deliver by tomorrow.
Just my crazy wishful thinking

PB,

I dunno whether fenugreek can help or not ... but I read up on the internet that it does help to increase breastmilk supply. I got 1 bottle from GNC just in case. Me kiasu

I am back home !!

now I have 2 "HARD ROCKS" with me ... ahah milk really came in fast man ! colostrum period is over and the foremilk is in !! so fast ! I cant believe it. Not going to bottle feed for 1st mth since Rianne can latch quite well. Hope I can sustain !!

PB

dont give up. If baby D cant latch well, just pump it out for her. It's still the same. but still try to latch say once in the morning and once before u sleep to create the bonding !

Supplement with FM when needed. I gave FM for first few days when I had #1. I dont want to starve her lor ... hehe

yesterday my mum bought me the crushed pearl powder from chinese medical hall, she say it's good for post surgical. So i consumed it yest evening and voila ! my wound is so much less painful today !! but still skeptical if it's really that powder ?

anyway told gynae abt it and he's happy with my progress.

oh i realised one "good" thing abt c-sect. The mensus flow after delivery is soooooo much lighter than natural birth cos gynae said he "cleaned" up for me. Hahaha I dont know what he means but that's what he told me. So I dont feel so "dirty" down there and always have to worry if I have stained the bed.

Rianne is comfortably sleeping on her bed and her elder sister Rachel is happy to have her around. Glad that they both get along well. Guess it's becos the age gap is small.

Delphine

JIA YOU JIA YOU !

PB

btw I saw ur gynae today leh .. he is the gynae of my roommate in the MT A ward. I guessed it was him from the way he talks. Really leh .. cos he was suaning that lady and I rem that lady mentioned her gynae was Dr Cheng. ahhaha then I heard the nurse call him Dr Henry cheng ! ehehe i find that he got a weird sense of dressing. haahha

delphine
your case sounds so similar to mine! 3 cm dilated, water level low, gynae ask today or tmr..haha deja vu...

u know i was planning for 3rd july actually. on 2nd july, i was telling hb, imagine if i haven given birth earlier, i wd be going in for op tmr.

PB
how's the latching? the latch is very impt. if bb cannot empty breast well, pump to empty. my 2nd attempt at bf is better. my gal has a better latch than my boy but drinks really slow. so i pump/latch depending on the time. u shd try to latch as often as possible and after latch, pump to make sure all the excess is pumped out.

fenugreek supposed to help but doesn't work for everyone. drink more red date/longan tea and milo and soups. all the hot drinks.

it's ok to give FM initially. once your ss kicks in, then u can switch to total BM.

re washing hair/ bathing
i haven bath or washed hair. can imagine that? for a week liao..for my 1st one, i wasn't so guai. but since may stop at #2, this is my last chance to 'bu' so hope to improve my health.

PB
your birth story so funny..i must tell hb abt it later. my hb did say he wouldn't wan to look at it again.

lbt
me also went c-section for #2 though #1 is natural. it's relly very different right. i din really like the whole op experience but the after that is actually much easier. less discharge n no epi wound to take care of. my wound din hurt that bad and now i m pretty mobile except for lifting heavy stuff.

SY

but i hate the moment when I get up from bed or chair. have to endure the initial pain. once i start walking then it's ok. I still prefer natural. My episotomy wound takes me a week to recover. Now i think it will takes 2-3 mths leh. and I cant carry my #1

another round of Congrats to blurmummy!!

Hannahl,
my decision for c-section was also becoz of previous surgery to remove cysts. the binder you used is it the same as the one lbt is talking abt? will get rash ar?! or your skin sensitive?

3D,
bb more important! just call in and explain... i'm sure your boss and colleagues will understand. have a smooth delivery.. waiting to see another cute bb pix!!

post c-section,
after i had my surgery, nurse advised me to lie on my side, and use my hands to push myself up from bed. dun try to get up when lying flat on your back. and yes, dun carry heavy things and dun squat.

Congrats to the new mummies!

Delphine
All the best for a smooth and easy delivery tomorrow!

Lbt
Your cups runneth over! It's good that everything is going fine. You sound like you're recovering very well!

Bluey,
Hehe, I also bought a bottle of Fenugreek from GNC to standby, just in case.

PB,
Poppy is very pink and pretty! Like SY says, latch is very important. Bring bb to your nipple, once her mouth opens WIDE, quickly put her on. Her mouth should be very wide and open on your breast, over the aerola (sp?) and not just covering your nipple.

It's okay to give FM first, then switch to TBF when your ss comes in. My #1 was on FM for the first two days in hosp, 'cos I could not bf after what happened during delivery. But I ended up tbfg him for over two years, so it's not impossible. Take LOTS of fluids to help.

Mt A mummies
Can you please let me know what the hosp provides? Bath towels? Toiletries?

Delphine:

Jiayou!! so fast is ur turn le.. looks like we wun meet in Mt A le.. unless tmr moi little one wants 2 come out too.. but tomoro's a good date 2 rem.. 060708 (678).. hee...

Congrats to all the graduated mummies!

I caught the bug from my gal and was rather sick till fever and thick mucus coming from my nose, throat and eyes...oh yes, even the eyes was producing greenish mucus which blurred my vision and can't open. finally succumb to seeing a doc yday and got an antibiotic safe for breastfeeding, today slept almost whole day(drowsy from the med) and felt so much better.

Baby Lucien just got discharged from hosp yday, a week after born. He's feeding very well and i'm staying as far away from him as possible so as not to spread any germs to him.

I've been pumping out breastmilk(brings to hosp and also for CL to feed) and will continue to do so rather than latch liao...but i do have a good supply so far, hope i can keep it up as this little fellow drinks quite alot, 70-80ml every 2hrs.

this is a pic of him
1535882.jpg

Blurmummy, congrats! and also to all graduated mummies - jia you on the b-feeding hor! this thread will be filled with b-feeding stories next.... how exciting.

Delphine,
Heh, ur turn next...wont c u at Mt A after all. Little boy still happily swimming in his still-full tank within

Labbit
Thanks. It’s not her. I have no supply at all. But now nnp starting to feel a bit achy, so maybe (like doggiebb likes to say) IT’S A SIGN. But a little bit depressed about it la. Cos BF is such a lovely experience. When she latches on then like so nice and warm the bond.

Haha I never bluff you about the suanning right? Hehe. But he’s been nice to me after birth la. Except when he visited v early one day and I was sleeping cos the night before I slept so late and he said ‘why still sleeping? Should be doing something useful like breastfeeding!’. The next day I happened to be trying when he came and he asked how’s my supply. I said don’t have. And he said ‘aiyah you are a lousy cow la’. But I have become immune to his comments liao la

Bluey
Thanks for the rec. ya I have heard of fenugreek. Tomorrow sending hubby to buy!

SY
I’ve been drinking a lot of the red date tea, milo and soups! No cold water at all for me! I do hope my supply comes soon. I try to get her to latch on more tomorrow. But see her so frustrated like that also make me very heart pain

CL
Dunno if it’s cos I’m a bit down cos of BM or not but I think I’m getting a bit irritated at her. She likes to wash whatever she wears for the day, that very night. And she only brought like 1 or 2 set of clothes on top of what she’s wearing. Even towel also, today use, today wash. But we separate our clothes lor, like wash all lights together, darks together, towels together…

Then today she just grabbed a bunch of our clothes to make up a wash, and then left them half dry cos ‘no where to hang’. Umm, check first before? Sigh.

Re episotomy
I got some wound cleaning kit to clean the stitches but I don’t know where gynae cut so I don’t know if I am cleaning the right place or not :S but cough or sneeze is tricky…

Delphine
Good luck!!!!

Youpi
Mt A provides the following during your stay: 1 box tissue, surgical sheets for you to lie on, shower kit, 1 small face towel, 1 pack of maternity pads, 1 pack of pampers newborn. When you leave, they will give you 1 bagpack that has some things like bib and nursing wrap I think.

Re feeding
Girls, do we wake the kiddos up to feed them or do we let them tell us when they are hungry? Poppy sleeps a lot and wakes up to cry when she’s hungry but that’s like 5 hours leh. If I wake her up to ask her to latch on then she’s pissed cos ‘walau ask me to wake up then make me suck suck for nothing!’. But if she gets up when hungry then I make her latch on then lagi frustrating for her… so how?? Help

i can't help but feel like a bad mummy cos i have no milk. and it's so demoralising to keep pumping air but i have to try to stimulate supply mah. hubby has been nice and supportive and MIL was very sweet too. she said not everybody has and it doens't make me a bad mother. i can still provide for her in other ways. she also told me of her friend who THOUGHT she had BM but her baby kept losing weight. apparently he had been sucking NOTHING for almost 1 month

just a quick update. I've given birth lor on 1st July to my son weight 3.12kg.

Breastfeeding,
If breastfeeding with formula milk, is it ok to give them in the bottle (bottle feeding)? Cos when I did that, my boy cannot latched on ler. Quite worry as he has jaudice now and today was admitted to hosiptal. Also why I have time to go online.

Sparrows/Lbt/SY/Steph/Youpi/Pink Bunny,
Thanks for all your well wishing. hopefully it is a smooth one.

Star_xin & cellow,
Yup. my little gal too eager to see the world, cant meet you all in MT A liao.

Star_xin,
My gynae also mentioned good dates to remember. (060708). Hopefully she will be out by then before 12mn.

updated table before i go.
<table border=1><tr><td>Jul 2008 Graduated Mummies</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Popped Date</TD><TD>BB Wt(kg)</TD><TD>BB Ht(cm)</TD><TD>Delivery Via </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>JMON-lynn</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>3-Jul</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>12-Apr</TD><TD>1.254</TD><TD>40</TD><TD>Normal Vaginal Delivery </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Jaslyn</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jul</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>Twins(Girls)</TD><TD>Xin Hui, Jerlene</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>2.065</TD><TD></TD><TD>C Sect with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Xin Yi, Jernelle</TD><TD>24-May</TD><TD>1.585</TD><TD></TD><TD>C Sect with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Chloegal</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>7-Jul</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>27-May</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>44</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Mummy yan</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>Twins(Girls)</TD><TD>Elsie</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>1.39</TD><TD>42</TD><TD>C Sect with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>1.77</TD><TD>42</TD><TD>C Sect with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>3-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>17-Jun</TD><TD>2.885</TD><TD>49</TD><TD>natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD></TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Cayden</TD><TD>19-Jun</TD><TD>2.785</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Jeanyard</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Jul</TD><TD>NIL</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Serene Yap</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Sandy Lek</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Kacey</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>2.795</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD></TD><TD>Star</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Joshua</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>3.52</TD><TD></TD><TD>C Sect with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD></TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Roy Ng Kwok Weng</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Ayden</TD><TD>24-Jun</TD><TD>2.845</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Celeste Blur</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>2.67</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Dusty_Gecko</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>9-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Melissa</TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD>3.09</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD></TD><TD>Fiona</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Devendran</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Lucien</TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD>3.75</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Ethan Goh</TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD>2.63</TD><TD>49</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD></TD><TD>Miracle</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD>3.255</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Sy</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Hannahl</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Jun</TD><TD>3.48</TD><TD>51</TD><TD>Emergency Csect </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD></TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul</TD><TD>DR John Lee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul</TD><TD>3.12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Pink Bunny</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>9-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-Jul</TD><TD>3.12</TD><TD>51</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Cin Bunny</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>8-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sophie</TD><TD>2-Jul</TD><TD>3.44</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD></TD><TD>Labbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rianne</TD><TD>2-Jul</TD><TD>3.17</TD><TD>53</TD><TD>Emergency Csect </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Blurmummy</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul</TD><TD>2.87</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Julysweetiepie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>21-Jul</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Ernest</TD><TD>4-Jul</TD><TD>3.674</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jul 2008 MTB waiting to be popped</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Sheila</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>4-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>AMM</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>6-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>6-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Furnana_Toh</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>7-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD></TD><TD>Shu</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Wai Wai</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD></TD><TD>Bluey</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD></TD><TD>RHS</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sparrows</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>12-Jul</TD><TD>Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>MeiH</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Qing</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Sonic</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Xiaoyang</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Koh Chung Fai</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Sept03bride</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>14-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>Lee Hui Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD></TD><TD>Garfield</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Woo B H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD></TD><TD>Youpi</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Jul</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>dor dor</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Batgirl</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jul</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Caitlyn</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Sally Cinnamon</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>22-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul</TD><TD>Prof Biswas</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>do1nk</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Manuka</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul</TD><TD>Dr ML Yeap</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Autumn</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Peppermint</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>SNL</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Stephsg73</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>DR Lim TB</TD><TD>MTE</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD>doggiebb</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Catherine</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Star_xin</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>28-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Koh Cheng Huat</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>NE</TD><TD>Delphine</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD></TD><TD>piggy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Glitter</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD></TD><TD>Ju</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Cellow</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>31-Jul</TD><TD>Dr Lim TC</TD><TD>MTA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Shay</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Kimi</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>4-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Little bear</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>8-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Oei Pau Ling</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

JSP
Wah congrats!! Suddenly u also disappeared to pop liao....hehe

Pinkbunny
Ur CL dun hand wash aah??
I tot they would handwash bb clothings 1. Or she handwash bb clothes n machine wash her clothes with urs aah??

Delphine
U 3cm liao sure fast labour...hehe
I like the date leh so nice to remember but too bad lah see my girl so comfy jus keep having contractions but nothing still...sigh
U so good so fast 3cm liao gonna deliver liao dun have to wait....hehe

Delphine... jia you! Waiting eagerly to hear your birthing story!
Thanks for updating table before you go...

PB, dun you for a moment think that you are a bad mother. Our bodies are different and your BM will come eventually... you have been a great mother preparing so much for baby D so far.

From the breastfeeding class I went to, I was told that we should wake the baby up every 2-3 hours to feed and not let baby sleep throughout cos later will be too late then baby will wake up crying. Just let her suckle and if really no milk then use FM. Need the suckling motion to start the BM to flow. You have massage lady? Maybe can ask her to help you massage to improve BM flow too. Oh and also do things like aromatherapy or just relaxing, it is supposed to help.
Wish you all the best! Stay happy and positive!

Cellow, my bb also seems to be happy staying inside. Gynae says will let bb stay in max 1 week after due date, then if still dun come out must induce.

PB,
dun be stress abt the milk supply, just try to pump 3hrly and latch when your gal shows signs of hunger. the tricky thing is, ms comes in only if you are relax. just give FM for now and keeps pumping. i also never latch only pump but can get ms going, so dun think too much abt the latching part.

just to share, a gf of mine also faces the same prob. she was so stressed out bcos she was so determined to breastfeed n family not very supportive somemore, her ms didn't come in till a mth later. but she persevered and carried on pumping till her ms was so much till whole freezer not enough space to store.

Congrats Fiona, Rain and JSP!!!

Fiona
take care ah!

wow.. ur friend got so much milk..
me after 1 mth.. milk supply going low..
and then my pump siao siao one..
sometimes can pump, sometimes cant..
so how dun know how..
if send for repair got no pump.. haiz..

Sparrows,
Does your breastfeeding course tell you to massage before feeding? Cos my breast will leak before massage, so not sure if need to massage everytime for each feeding?

Argghhh, still can't get the hang of breastfeeding.

PB,
Hang in there, just use the pump first to create the flow.

Ibt,
Can check with you if your breast leaks before you even massage, like it's time and the milk supply just come?

Rain
If ur breast already leaking then u massage when u feed lor else if u massage before u feed it will surly leak even more.
But must be cautious when u massage during the feed cos the milk flow might be more n bb might choke cos too fast for bb to swallow.

cin_bunny,
you gave birth in GlenE right ? what did the hospital provide ? Was the LC/nurses good ? I'm going to have a csec GA there end of the mth.

Rain, you don't need to massage before every breastfeed since you have a healthy flow but some people who do not have BM flowing do get help from massaging.

I'm just recollecting from my course
I myself am waiting *patiently??* for bb to come and was adviced by many people and also at the breastfeeding class that we should not be stressed out if there is no milk in the beginning. It WILL come and we need to be more relaxed. This stress of no BM is also a contributing factor to post-natal blues. Another thing to help relax was to smell the baby more!
) Good luck to all new mommies!!

Sparrows
Totally agree with u.

Pinkbunny
Dun stress over ur BM take it easy. Since u already supplementing with FM liao so jus try to latch bb on as much as possible to suckle n stimulate ur milk supply. N u got so many ppl supportive of BF so good.
When I was in hospital for #1 the nurse tell me max each boob 10min to stimulate cos dun have milk yet.
U never know leh we press got nothing hor but bb might be able to get something.

I still remember after discharge being sad dunno got milk anot dunno my son drinking anot then I tried pressing my nipple alittle n saw some milk. I was so happy then even called my hubby to announce I got MILK liao.....hehe

I still feel using bb to stimulate is better but dun try until ur nipple too sore hor cos it will be painful when u latch bb.
Btw u using the manual pump or electric??
Heard from some ppl their boobs can only use the manual 1 so try try lah.

Jia you okie.

Need your advice! Help... anyone getting any confinement lady from Malaysia?? How do you apply for their work permit? Need urgent advice from ya.. =( MIL suddenly gave the order of applying for work permit for a CL whom I have never even met, don't know how it might turn out to be.... do pm me. thanks!

MT A provides a small pack of toiletry bag which includes toothpaste, toothbrush, a comb and a small towel. that's all. BB is given a new born gift in a MT A haversack and the bath tub.

PB

aiyao ur gynae is quite irritating ya !

anyway u wont be seeing him again except for paps smear !

hey dont give up BF !! I'm glad you are so keen on BF even though milk supply is not in yet. Just keep on supplementing ok ?

Poppy will still accept your breast once ur milk comes in

Rain

i am not leaking yet but I do leak if my Rianne suck and slept very fast cos milk is in already.

i did not massage before each latch. One reason also becos I dont know how and also I tried to squeeze my areola, I can see the foremilk so I presume my flow is ok.

btw I have a lump on one of my armpit !! is it due to the milk ???

yest nite my 2 B was so hard and I felt painful. Almost wanted to pump it out until my SIL advised me to put on hot towel. So I did, and felt a bit better. Then i dunno what happen to Rianne... she keep waking up from 230am to 6am and insists on latching ! aiyo I was soooooo tired ... but good thing is she cleared most of the milk and pee a lot. hehehe good sign lah.

anyway I think it's becos it's her first nite home. I rem my #1 was like when she went home after discharge from MT A.

and my mum concluded that RIanne also need pacifier to sleep. This afternoon she wasnt able to get a good nap, we gave her pacifier and she slept for a few hrs.

I may be too late...but JIA YOU 3D!! hope you have a smooth delivery!

PB: ya..don't be disheartened... though I've not gone through it yet, but everyone says to hang in there.. relax.. latch as much as you can and pump as much as you can, and the supply will surely come... my younger sis got a pathetic 1oz each time but she still persevered and is still latching after 13mths now.. better than nothing... SIL had problems wiv first... now wiv 2nd she juz persevered and she's got a freezer full of milk too!!

oh ya, they say to think of happy thoughts, think of your baby suckling and it will help the milk flow too right?

so mummies..if we have engorgement, better to use a warm towel right? then express a bit, then let BB latch right? think i'll avoid cabbage leaves if I can coz dun wanna decrease milk supply...

Rain, JSP, Fiona,

PB &amp; Lbt,
Thanks! Now my hosp bag can be even lighter! It already is, hehe!

PB
Think you can tell your CL what you want her to do or not to do, right? After all, you are the 'employer'. If I recall correctly, yours is S'porean? Ask her to go home and get more clothes?

Re: Breastfeeding
I've read that women who have not been pregnant and who adopt babies can actually eventually breastfeed these babies (who are not theirs biologically) by latching the babies on often. This is because the act of latching on and baby's suckling evokes some hormonal thingy in the women's bodies to start the lactation process going. It takes time but the benefits would be worth it.

Re: Feeding
I woke #1 up to feed 'cos he had jaundice and I wanted him to have as much fluids as possible to flush it out.

Rain,
Re: bfg with fm - sounds like nipple confusion. Some bbs will reject mummy's nipple or the bottle teat because they prefer one over the other, or 'forget' how to suckle from mummy 'cos it is usually easier to get milk from a teat. It is less 'work' for them. You can try using teats that are said to mimic natural ones, like Nuk. The wide Avent teats are also popular 'cos they encourage baby to open their mouths up wide, like they do when breastfeeding.

being so bz pumping BF didnt have time to log in to chat with u guys.....

PB
Wat my CL teach me is that use hot handkerchief to massage the breast with both hand slowly the supply will kick in.... as for the first few days i also dun have supply i cried than by the 5 day my ss kick in but only manage to pump ard 50ml from both but nw i able to pump 50ml each dun stress watch tv while pump BF while keep u relax.... also drink hot drinks while pumping BF also help.

jas,youpi,
thks.

jas,
you may want to try using manual pump? it's usually beta for establishing ms than electric one. after that then use back electric pump after you get it fixed.

youpi,
now waiting for your turn to pop.

re: breastmilk
i juz ordered from the spree here for lasinoh milk bags, should have got it earlier but was worried abt ms. now i dun have enough bottle to store so out come my gal's big bottles i also use liao...

i also read up alot of good tips fom the website youpi gave.

hi all mummies... i've graduated! gave birth to bb girl on 2 july 220pm at TMC, assisted delivery (vacuum) with epi... 3.275 kg and 49 cm. name still pending as need to consult feng shui master

here is my story...
1 july 6pm: went for gynae appt, he said gotta induce that night as water level low

11pm: at TMC, gynae inserted a pill to induce

12-6am: in the ward resting, could feel cramps but still can tahan, but very scared as was alone, nurse said hubby cannot be in the ward, so he slept in family lounge

7am: gynae broke water bag, contraction got stronger, though still can tahan, but knowing my low pain tolerance, asked for epi at 8+am

8+am: doc injected epi, he is very skillful, done in 5-10 min... not as painful as i thought!!
but shiver for about 10 min when effect of epi kick in

9am - 1pm: i love epi!!!
my legs not very uncomfortable, but still better than pain like siao

1pm: nurse did VE, said 8-9cm dilated

2pm: gynae said can start giving birth liao!!! suddenly shiver again, think i was scared, not coz of epi this time :p gynae left the room after saying this, i was like "huh?!" then nurse came and asked me start pushing... pushed till face twisted but the progress is slow, epi made me feel nothing leh! gynae came back, said bb heart rate dropping... i was so scared! tried to push harder but still couldn't make it. end up gynae used vacuum... felt something slipped out from below and saw my bb on my chest!!!!! my hubby was tearing in joy but i was stunned. hubby busy taking video of bb while gynae do stitching for me. after more than 20 min then i burst out crying as very touched!

BF is another nightmare as bb doesn't latch on initially... not until on the next day we asked the senior consultant mrs wong to rescue us. she talked to bb, put her on my chest, and within 1 min bb started sucking!! wah mrs wong is good!!!

now another new problem: bb loves my left breast but not the right side!!! also before bb starts to latch on, i start leaking already, wah must be the confinement soup from TMC and my MIL :p

need someone to help: think i got a pile after delivery... think push too hard... anyone has similar experience?????

pinkie

Dun be too disheartened! My milk for #1 also only came in after 4 or 5 days. In the mean time just keep latching! Jiayou!

Ah tmr is 37 weeks for me already and last round I gave birth at exactly 37 weeks! Doc's appt this wed, woohoo! Hopefully next week can give birth at 38 wks liao!

Fiona

oh.. manual pump better for establishing ms
din know that... thanks!
okie.. maybe get hubby to get a manual pump..
he sure nag cos need to spend $$ again..

Dor dor
Hmm not sure if she hand wash poppy’s clothes. Maybe not. But even if not, it’s ok with us cos when she leaves, we will also machine wash poppy’s clothes. But separate from ours la.

I have been using electric pump cos remember my hands pain? I had a feeling it wouldn’t go away after poppy was born cos I would carry her a lot. Lucky I bought an electric pump even though I already had a manual one. If got to pump like siao, I think I will key siao!!

Sparrows and Fiona
Thanks so much for your sweet message *hugs*. Sparrows, baby’s head smells very nice in first few days one!!!

Fiona, why is manual pump better to establish MS? Won’t pump until chew sng? Wow your friend’s story so kua zhang! Whole freezer no space! Supply came with a vengeance! Hehe. Speaking of which…

Everyone,
I have fantastic news to share… my supply lai liao!!!!! For the longest time I was pumping air then very demoralized but last night when I was cleaning my nnp I saw a glistening drop of liquid. It was colustrum!!! But poppy had already been fed and was sleeping so I just pumped. Today I averaged about 30+ml. Ok or not? Still supplementing with FM because she has been drinking about 50-60ml of FM at each feed.

But now that she’s been a bit used to the bottle, she frets still a bit when I try to get her to latch on. But happy to announce that she’s been staying on my breast a bit longer today. Yay!

Hubby has been so so supportive, I don’t know how to manage when he goes back to work tomorrow. I said ‘poppy used to having easy flow from the bottle liao. With my little milk each time she sucks, she will be frustrated’. He said ‘don’t worry, from the bottle, each time she sucks also one drop by one drop’. Feel so warm and loved

Re massaging
Wow maybe cos I had to wait a few days before supply kicked in, that’s why once come only so pain from the engorgement!!! But I do think the massage lady’s magic hands did help :D

Re warm towel
That REALLY helps with engorgement. Put the whole towel over the nnp (but make sure it is not dripping wet or else you will catch a cold) then massage around the nnp to clear the ducts then push from outside in, stopping at aerola part. Then squeeze aerola a bit to get milk out then feed/pump. Chey, maciam I like champion now or what hor? Massage lady taught and I follow and it’s very useful!!!

Youpi
Haha sudah la. Send her home to get more clothes wait I got to take care of everything at home, I will kalang kabut one. Never mind la. I think she bought some at market today hehe.

Thanks for the BF website, it’s good!!

Serene and doggiebb
Wow high five! You also had to wait for your ss!

Congratulation to those graduated mummies. As for those mummies that same as me still in the waiting list..have to hang on yeah..My visit to gynae yesterday for my 38 weeks checkup..gynae said still no sign of labout..bb is doing fine..and still got to be patient for antoher 1 to 2 weeks lol..though whole body not comfortable at all...

Re: Bf
Those mummies that facing bf problem. Can really try of fenugreek.. I used before for my #1 and it really helps. Endup, onli took 1 as the flow is really fast and a lot..and cos engorgement..And can try to damp the hot or warm towel, followed by massage the breast (around nipple) area before bf or pump out milk. It will help to generate the flow...

Have to keep on trying and trying...and the milk flow will come natural. Of cos it hard initially. U may want to ask the help from the lactation consultation during your stay in the hospital. Normally, they are very helpful...

I tbf my #1 for 1 mth and subsequent months started to pump out and keep stock and start to bottle feed my gal from 2nd month onward till she was 7 mths. ALso have started her with 1 feeding of FM from 3rd mths onward cos worried that she might reject FM when i wean off. So far, it worked for her. Guess i will continue with the same method for my #2 also...

Mummis that need more informatin about breastfeeding..I have some useful artifcles about bf..maybe can PM me and i will send through email to you..cos i try to upload the file but the files are too big.

hi catherine

glen provides for mummy : 1 packet of maternity pads, toiletry pack with shampoo, bath wash?, comb, toothbrush, toothpaste, small face towel. you also get daily newspapers..and there's a confinement food menu..food actually quite good

for baby : a pack of pampers diapers, pigeon wet wipes and a bag with tons of promo leaflets like rustic nirvana, full month packages, baby diaper bag with change mat, some milk samples, some johnson and johnson samples, dettol samples..

sorry, i cant remember everything as my hubby opened the above

congrats all mummies who given birth lately!

re BM - wow, no kidding that BF is hard work..and sore nipples and engorge boobs are no jokes..my nipples has blisters on them so each time my girl latches on, i hv to bite my lips from screaming out in pain
..the engorge boobs part, i just hv to make effort to pump it all out..someone pls tell me tt things can only get better at this point...:p

cin bunny

i am having sore nipples too. whenever my gal finishes latching she would release the areola slowly and then stop at the nipple ! ouch ! I cant scream in case I scared her ... so gotta slowly open her mouth to release my poor sore nipple

anyway rem to apply some milk over the nipple after each feed. and dont wash ur nipple with soup cos it will make it drier.

think my gal drinks more today cos my 2 boobs are not as hard already. I can feel that it's softer after each feed.

PB, are u going back to MT A for any chkup for poppy ?

I am going Kinderclinic tmr morning at 9-930am to chk on my gal's jaundice level.

sms me if u r there ok !

oh PB

try to phase our bottle if u intend to latch poppy for quite a while. My #1 hates to latch on after I intro bottle to her. I still think fresh BM is good but I wasnt very good at BF that time, so bottle was the alternative.

selling PRELOVED Avent Digital Bath and Room Thermometers

This digital thermometer is a bright and cheerful way to keep baby safe and comfortable. It doubles up as a convenient way to monitor the temperature both in baby's room and bath. Ideal as young babies cannot control their own temperature and are more sensitive to hot water than an adult may be able to predict. It has also been designed and tested as a safe, fun bath toy.

1538316.jpg

email me: [email protected]

Wah so many mommies pop liao! CONGRATS!

BF
Those who are bf-ing, jia you... not easy but just hang in there!

PB
You try to pump after your girl has fed... this is just to stimulate your flow so that your boobs think that your girl is still feeding... jia you and soon you'll be able to catch up with her demand.

Still waiting
At my last check up two Sats ago, gynae predicted that my bb will come at 39 weeks, like his gor gor... meaning could be towards end next week *gulp*! Thou 2nd time liao, hubby and I still feel gan cheong and so ill prepared! Got my next checkup this Sat and gynae will check and see if I've dilated.

Hee hee, over the weekend, I dreamt that I gave birth on 20 July... so let's see if it is true!

Jaslyn &amp; PB
Manual pump worked better for me for #1 when I was establishing my ss. I'm not sure why but I feel the suction was better than when I used electrical pump. My frens have also told me that it is better to use electrical pump after your ss is established as it'll be faster.