(2008/06) June 2008

long time no come in chat chat liao...really busy

btw, any good recommendation for sunblock for children other than california?

Jenny,
my kids are using this one;
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=74611&catid=12101

Leng Leng

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!
My long awaiting day finally arrived.....FRIDAY!!!!

Soyabean, u r not kiasu ok, my ger juz 3yrs old this yr and early of the yr, i oredy look look see see liao. hahaha......
But i'm not aiming at popular school, just wanna see the nearest school whether need balloting or not.Even plan to get hubby to do PV . But as i'm moving to another area, there's one school just behind my new place, and history show that the school dont hv ballot history, so can i can relax.</font>

Good morning

Long time didnt come in. How is everyone? Progress on Jaret, he is starting to walk a few steps by himself, still can't talk but can be really bossy. He will point and make noise until he get wat he wants.

Felicia, Soyabean, *Hi-5*
I was also looking into the current P1 registration and my my boy is just 4 yrs old. Seems the school opposite my place very popular.

Calling for Angel,
U know what are the type of Parent Volunteering Work school look for? I heard that PV needs min 40hours and should start when kiddo is at K1. Do you know about the PV? Dunno whether I am super kiasu or not...

felicia...
keke.... actuali there is one sch jus down my block... but heard no good reviews abt it and of its teachers, so i am looking at another sch...

nss...
wah... wat sch wld dat be? eh... not sure if angel will be able to provide any info cos she teaches jc... =p

soyabean, aiyah... just a neighbourhood school. But only left 35 vacancies for Phase 2B. They only open 4 classes for P1.

<font color="aa00aa">nss,
PV will need to start when your kid is 4yrs old, 2 yrs before registration of P1.
You can go to ur desire school website and see what kind of volunteer work they offer. I think diff school hv diff standard. It wud be better for you to call them directly. As far as i know most school start to accept PV during every yr June but there're some will start taking in Jan.
When u stay?</font>

It's Friday!!!

Ydd, Floyce insisted on walking back from bbsitter's hse back home.. it's about 1.5 bus stop distance.. Asked her if wanna me to carry, then she make fussy noise.. keke.. she enjoy climbing stairs most..

Felicia, I stay at Yew Tee. Still considering whether to PV. The most, get ah boy to take school bus.*evil grin*
It is very difficult to get him to wake up every morning and it will be nice to get him into the nearest school... Then also dun have to worry for Jaret.

Leng Leng, next year Athena going P1? How is the registration?

Warrior, give a few more months. When the novelty of walking wears off, she probably will ask you to carry instead.

<font color="aa00aa">nss, so urs consider is CCK area, rite?
Btw, i hv PM you to a ballot history link of CCK. As the source is from another forum, i'm not sure was it allow to be posted here or not, so i play safe, PM you instead. Hope it help.</font>

thanks leng leng.

btw, will u be organising any drugstore spree soon? if so, i will join u, if not i will just order on my own. thanks.

Drop by to say hi jus before i go for my lesson at 10am!

nss: felicia is right, diff sch got diff standards when it comes to PV so u need to check with the sch itself.. =)

Felicia:

Can PM me oso? I wan to see what is the ballot histoy for SVPS.. Heehee.. I aiming that sch for my ger.

<font color="aa00aa">Angel, PM you!
Wat does SVPS stand for? Btw, the link i send you is for CCK area. Anything beyond tat you'll need to find the area link urself hor.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Angel,
The ballot is for less than 1km leh.
U r under which phase? Btw, i was curious, for you as a teacher can you do PV in another school?</font>

nss

My colleague say PV can start 1 year before enrolment. Usually is help out at school trips and excursion, activities etc.

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
I think most school accept PV 2 yrs before. If you only do a yr before, the vacancy might be full oredy. Anyhow, all depend on the school itself.
Some school PV will require to do librarian jobs, traffic jobs, gardening, etc. Diff sch, diff requirement.

Btw, just to share some info since we talk about this P1. If you're aiming for your kids to enrol into top school like Maha bodhi, Chong Fu, Raffles, etc especially those had clan related, you might want to consider joining the clan 4yrs before the registration. Coz some clan will only offer the 'privilege' letter to older clan member.</font>

Felicia

U mean even if got parents who are from the same school? We r considering to try my hb's pri school but its one of those good school n v popular.

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
There's phases. I think ur kid will be under phase 2A2 (if u and hubby not alumni member)

Below is got from MOE website.
Phases of Primary One Registration Exercise
Category 11: Children who are Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents
Phase 1
For a child who has a sibling studying in a school of choice.

All children registered under this phase will be given places in schools.

Phase 2A1
For a child whose parent is a former student of the school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 Jun 2008; or whose parent is a member of the School Advisory/Management Committee.

Announcement of Result: By Friday 10th July 2009

Phase 2A2
For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the school of choice; or whose parent is a staff member of the school of choice.

Announcement of Result: By Thursday 16th July 2009

Phase 2B2
For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2008 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2009; or whose parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

Announcement of Result: By Friday 24th July 2009

Phase 2C
For a child who is ineligible for or unsuccessful in earlier phases.

Registration: : Wednesday 29th July 2009, Thursday 30th July 2009 and Friday 31st July 2009

Announcement of Result: By Tuesday 11th August 2009

Phase 2C Supplementary
For a child who is unsuccessful in gaining a place in a school of choice at Phase 2C.

Announcement of Result: By Wednesday 19th August 2009

Category 23: Children who are neither Singapore Citizens nor Singapore Permanent Residents
Phase 3
For a child who is neither a Singapore Citizen nor a Permanent Resident.

Registration and Announcement of Result: Friday 28th August 2009

Footnotes:
Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies in any phase, places will be balloted according to the following order of priority:

Children living within 1 km of the school of choice.
Children living between 1 km and 2 km of the school of choice.
Children living outside 2 km of the school of choice.

At the end of Phase 2A(2), 50% of the remaining places will be allocated for phase 2B and the other 50% for Phase 2C registrants in a school. In the event that less than 50% of the allocated vacancies are taken up at Phase 2B, the remaining vacancies will be carried forward to Phase 2C. ↩
Children who are Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents and who have not registered at any of the earlier phases are also eligible to register at this phase. Registration in this phase will be done on a first-come-first-served basis. ↩ </font>

nss...
woah.... SVPS is not your average neighbourhood sch leh... they are VERY hot...

angel...
is SV the nearest school from ur mum's place?

sigh... i always look at the Reg Phase for P1 and shake head... no matter how i see, mine will be at Phase 2C.... so far behind...

Felicia,

I used to study at SVPS so i should be under phrase 2A2.

So ballot means got chance or not? I thot since i used to be from there got higher chance but if ballot then its not the case le.

I tink i should can PV at another pri sch ba.. I never ask eh.. Anyway im not pri sch teacher so there shouldnt be any connection.. Heehee..

soyabean: ya.. SV is the nearest sch from my mum's place.. jus a stone's throw away.. i might consider change add to my mum's.. hahahahah...

<font color="aa00aa">Soyabean,
Opt for PV lor, then can jump to phase 2B2.

angel,
from past history, there's no ballot for Phase 2B, so can said quite safe lah, but u'll still need to monitor the history of next few yrs. Else, kiasu a bit, join the alumni lah. hehe....

angel...
can... u ask for transfer to that pri sch? haha... actuali since u are a old girl of SVPS, u dun need to change addy liao mah....

felicia...
now too late to do PV... cos if for next yr reg, hv to be PV b4 1 Jul 09....

Felicia, thanks for the link.

Soyabean, heehee, me also can only fit in Phase2C. If want to go my hb old school, my kiddo needs to travel all the way to Bishan. When my hb suggested this, I told him he is 'siao'

Angel, no need to change address. Think you can just get a statutory declaration that your mum taking care of your kid. Read somewhere in the MOE website.

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng,
Feifei is on leave today. She said she want to order the toys but she's outside now. She'll try to post her order asap.</font>

felicia n soyabean: okok.. maybe i go apply to be alumni of SV..

hahaha.. i think i dun wan to teach there la... its a popular sch cos its very result-driven and they can produce good results.. but this means the teachers there must be very stress.. i think my current sch beta la.. =)

nss: is it? okok.. how to get statutory declaration that my mother is taking care of my ger..

angel...
i put up post in WTS for HT liao... included your 4 boxes... :p

hehe... my boy turning 5 this sunday...
he asked for a Transformers cake so we ordered one for him...

angel...
no party.... :p we are lazy parents.... hvnt even reali plan wat we wan to do dat day... haha....

going to login RC for first time today... keke...

Felicia

My hb is considering to join as alumni, need to pay a fee. But dunno when shd join the alumni. alumni will have better chance hor.

My hb's pri sch is ACS n is boy school. if next time got gal then cannot try the same sch liao.

It is also quite far from our house. But i tink maybe can put under student care after sch or take sch bus back to my MIL house then we pick up after work. Anyway it is still far off to discuss.. now shd be tinking abt enrichment n childcare

Leng Leng

U mean the shipping is free? But need to pay the fee for Vpost to send to us right?

soyabean: hahahaha.. ok.. i think im lazy too.. how to plan birthday party every year? furthermore u got 2 kids to worry about.. heehee..

me oso jus log on RC not too long ago.. but i can't get into PS.. sian..

I considering weekend enrichment for 18mths course.

Looking at little neuro tree at TPY and GUG at United square. Any feed back u all know?

soyabean: thanks for the trade!

heehee.. can tell.. cos your pet always got flies.. =P RC dun need to play de.. Jus on n let it be.. So in the meanwhile i will go see my pet..

i took this pic of my ger last weekend... nowadays she keeps moving when i try to take pics... so usu cant take good shots... but this is one made for a beijing 101 commercial... =P

2700585.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
ACS another popular school. If become alumni quite confirm can enrol de. I think u can consider later. Only if wanna join clan, then need to consider earlier.

soyabean,
My ger hair is same as your ger leh. haha....</font>