(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">Leng<sup>2</sup>,
I also breastfeeding about 2-3 times a day now, but i never had engorgement for a long time liao, think my baby is a small eater, thats why my supply decreases, now in the morning, my helper will make FM for him, and he is not so interested, sometimes can finish 80ml, sometimes only 40ml

Ellysia,
that is really sweet!</font></font>

feifei, my ger ever dig her shit frm the side of her diaper. when i saw, her shit was all over her hands,cot n wall cause her hand touches everywhere. took me so long to clear e mess. its terrible. lucky she din eat e shit. quite surprising cause she normally put everything into her mouth. maybe too smelly. haha!!

hi soyabean, is the gap/carter romper material gd? i ever bgt the gap long sleeve romper(i love daddy/mummy design) n e material is nt as soft compared to mothercare bodysuits. it look like e type tt wil go out of shape after a few wash. wonder the short sleeve one is made of tt material.mothercare is real gd. put in washing machine n spin w/out laundry bag oso wont go out of shape. infact, mothercare bodysuit has diff material as well. when e salesgirl open for me to measure sizes, i came across one which is nt as soft n e salesgirl told me becos of different season, the material used is slightly different. funny hor???

lengleng, din know there was a tread talking abt e bad quality, if i know, i wouldnt hv bgt it.

hi ellysia, my ger had her MMR jab a few days after she turned one n she is gg for her chix box next wk. so far ok, she din develop fever after e jab. was told by PD tt for MMR jab, there is a 30% chance of hving fever frm e 3rd-7th day.

wow lengleng, u vry adventurous man! but how come can unclot milkducts??

ellysia, yu zhe so sweet. can call mama n papa. mine still cant do that. she loves to saliva attack my hubby. when we say kiss kiss, she wil open her mouth big, stick out her tongue n lick my hubby lips. she also try to stick her tongue into his mouth. i think trying to taste is there's any food inside. haha..

hi fennie, do u express or latch. my milk drying up soon cause my ger refused to latch n for my case, i can only get letdown when bb suck. if i pump, very little milk only n i jus read somewhere tt letdown stimulate milk production.

My boy will make noise if he shit in his diapers. He come crawling to my hb last weekend and raise up his hands for carry, then my hb notice he poo lor. He also like to poo inside his ballhouse, will sit quietly and hide inside then poo..

Fennie

I oso dun have engorgement nowadays, since BM supply oso decrease due to his lesser intake.

yummy

oic.. all so fast take jab liao. I dunno why SBCC told my hb tat the next jab is 18mths n no jab for 1 yr old except chicken pox..

The gap bodysuit i bot doesn't go out of shape leh. I wash many times oso dun have those 'hairs' too. maybe yr washing machine too power?

My boy still dunno how to kiss kiss lor.. but he sometimes will bite my hb.. and when my hb nap on the floor (while taking care of my boy in his play corner), my boy will slap my hb face.. O.O

Fennie &amp; yummy

On weekday, I latching twice a day (morn and night) &amp; pump 3 times in office. He also drink 3 times during day time. total daytime around 410ml, then + 2 more latch (dunno how much amt) so maybe one day agar agar around 500-600ml. And 3 solids + water in btw, biscuits etc.

feifei..
darn tired but seeing jade enjoying the trip makes me feel its worth it!

ya me back to work today...feel like going back there again!

ellysia, my ger doesnt make noise if she shit so i hv to chk every now n then. ur boy so cute, hv his own quiet time to poo. maybe u can try potty training him by putting his potty in his ballhouse.

i read in my card tt MMR is to b taken between 12-15months n chix pox is more than 1yr old.

actually i haven wash e gap bodysuit. when i open e packaging, it oredi looked out of shape n e material feels rough so i dont intend to wash it. i bgt becos i like e design. moreover its long sleeve, nt gg to let my ger wear cause the weather is so hot.

ellysia, ur boy drink a lot hor?so gd!! my ger doesnt like to drink milk, only abt 120-140ml 3 x a day. ned to force then drink n at a few interval. she only eat 2x porridge. so difficult to make her eat but if she see us eating, she wil want to eat. even if we gvg her plain rice, she wil still eat. so funny. she is so skinny. only 9.5kg n 78cm.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">good morning .. all mummies...

yummy, my boi is oni 9.3kg and 73cm, seems like he is shorter than most baby here... ha ha..
</font></font>

that means she is nt very underweight hor. i m very worried cause she is so skinny compared to all my cousins bb. one of them who is 4 mths younger than her is oredi 10kg. she looked so tiny beside her.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">felicia, heee....

yummy, think so long healthy liao.. mine super active, moving non stop, think hard for him to put on weight also.. only his face looks chubby..</font></font>

yummy

Yr gal not skinny leh... at least still quite tall.

I haven't been weighing my boy recently, but shd be at least 10kg.

He is getting less and less interested in milk too. sometimes when latch need to do a few times also. Morn we give him cereal &amp; fruit puree, then porridge/macoroni/mee suah for lunch &amp; dinner. I try to rotate the menus so that he won't be so sianz.

I can't put potty inside the ball house lor, wait shit on the house how.. got a lot of balls there also..

Anyway he still dunno how to tell us when he is abt to poo, so must wait until he is ready to toilet train then start lor.

maybe the one tat u buy is different from the one i bot. the ones i bot is v comfortable material. I link it on this forum thread before.

yummy

from 10 mths when our bb become active, their weight suppose to remain stable or go down. so its no surprise tat younger bb can be heavier.

SBCC told me tat 1 yr old benchmark is 10KG.

Last weekend play 'catching' with my boy.. i catch him and he hide inside the ball house then i peek inside one opening and he crawl away to the other opening.. haa.. quite fun but v tiring for me..

The ball house is fun but can get v messy cos he will throw the balls all around the house and we need to put it back after he sleep.. during the day can step on balls somemore..

ya, so long she is healthy, thats e most impt. haha, it wil b real messy if bb shit in the ballhse. i tried to potty train my ger but she always cry when i put her on the potty. guess hv to wait for her to b ready. my ger loves to throw things ard too. if i hv e ballhse, all e balls will sure end up outside e hse..

Ellysia,
Seems like ball house is a good investment. I remember you bought the house long ago right? Till now your boy still plays with it.

I need some advise. My ger now have become more demanding &amp; bad temper. She could be too pampered. I notice my MIL never scold her at all she wants what my MIL give in. Could it be the reason she take things for granted? MIL keep saying children are like that. Is it true?

I dunno is it my problem. Ivory like to touch this touch that. Basically everything she wants to touch. If I refuse to let her do what she wants she will scream until I need to scold her end up making her cry. It hurts when I always scold her…

I thought of putting my ger into playgroup or childcare whereby the teachers there will teach her what is right what is wrong will be better. How you all think of it? Will it be better if I put her into 1? Or is there any way to teach her? Or children are all like this?

My ger is now 13.4kg.

This morning when she woke up alone, she didn't cry as usual, instead I heard her saying "where, ma, ma, where...". When I quickly rush inside the room, I saw her sitting up and looking at the bedroom entrance anxiously and smiled when she saw me...
I think she is a big ger ger now, so happy.

Since yesterday, I let her spoon feed herself the porridge from her bowl. Although she still don't eat solid food now, and refused to be fed but when she spoon fed herself, she actually willing to est a bit lor. But very messy, 99% of the food go elsewhere instead of her mouth.

yummy...
yeah... i must admit that the mothercare rompers are pretty good in quality and they dun go out of shape after washing. i hv oni bgt 1 Gap romper b4, so far i find its quality ok. i bgt online, didnt buy from BP. i hv a couple of Old Navy rompers as well, but hvnt take them out for her to wear.

as for carters, the material is soft and yes, it can go out of shape a little after some washes. but its much cheaper than mothercare so i dun complain. :p and my girl outgrows them quite fast so for me, no point to spend too much.

i only buy mothercare rompers when they go on sale though... keke...

sharon...
my ger oso like that now. she will "scream back" at me whenever i tell her not to touch tis or that etc. jus rembr that we hv to be determined and stand our ground. jus cos they cry doesnt mean we can give in. we hv to let them know wats wrong or right. hopefully this behaviour will pass soon.

Re: Bad Behaviour

Children are like that bah... they are exploring the world and do not know what is right or wrong. Can do or cannot do. Tantrums are normal too...as they cannot speak, they cannot express themselves. Putting in CC is sometimes worse as they pick up bad habits from each other. My friend's DD was such an angel BEFORE she went to CC..after CC..behaviour got bad. They even bite each other to snatch toys. Just have to grin and bear...and hope it will pass.

yummy

yr gap romper is from BP? I bot from the online spree, quality is good lor. Price is cheap also.

I tink the ideal age to start potty train is around 18mths to 2yrs old.

Sharon

My MIL also pampered my boy and give him whatever he wants.

From 1 yr old they will always like to test limits and they want freedom to do things also. Its our responsibility to allow them to choose but within limits set by us.

I also always grumble to my hb tat MIL always give in and spoil him lor. My hb also agree with me. But i dun intend to send to childcare so early. I am not sure if childcare will educate them, because they also 'copy' habits from other children. I guess this is also natural for this age.. but i do agree tat discipline has to start early.

My colleague CC - the teacher also watch/jagar while children play around lor.

I tink only those more famous CC will really teach children on manners etc. But it shd be more expensive too.

huggy

haaa.. v messy hor.

so far i havent give the spoon to my boy yet but he always want to try himself. I give teddy puff in a bowl to let him eat &amp; the pigeon straw cup (with either plain water/juice/rice milk). Last weekend my MIL discover he can drink from a cup (but must need adults to hold) so she bot a cup and will use it to feed water.. my MIL dun like to let him use the straw cup bec it will be messy.

sharon, my ger oso like that leh. she used to b so gd n quiet. when i take things away frm her, she wil give me but nw, she wil cry, so i hv to tell her 'NO' firmly. she understands cause she stopped crying when i stare at her. my ger is attending class nw. as usual, she wil keep crawling to e teacher table cause she knows there's a lot of 'things' there, as in games. i wil hv to keep holding on to her. she enjoyed playing e games but once teacher collect bac e game, she wil start crawling again. try nt to scold them. explain n talk to her nicely. last time i always scared her by saying beat beat n then spank her hand. after a while, when i say the word beat beat, she started slapping her own face n head. she slapped quite hard leh so nw i dun say that word anymore. sometime when she did something wrong n i stare at her, she wil hit herself. e best part is i nvr hit her head or face b4, dun know y she did tt. so nw, i hv to b patient n tell her nicely.

huggy, ur ger so sweet. look for u first thing in the morning..

soyabean, the romper tt i bgt was frm BP. maybe thats y so poor quality.

To minimise the crying, can give a few 'warnings' before u take the item. When doing things, explain in words often. Even if they can't tok, they can still understand some of the words we say.

yummy

maybe tats why quality is no good. spree ones are ok so far.

soyabean,
Ic.. so how u handle her?

janiviy,
Thats what my hb say too if putting into CC. But I heard feedback that when they grow in CC, they tents to be better &amp; independent leh. My HB actually told me he start to hate her because of her nonsense. So i guess we need to bare with it and repeating the 'no,no'.

Ellysia,
Is difficult to discipline them when the care taker is not following what we are doing. We parents don't allow, grand parents allow. End up when we don't allow they will scream.

About CC, i thinking of putting her there is because my SIL going to give birth next yr which my MIL will be going back looking after her's which I think no one there will focus on my ger if I put her at my IL house. With so many bad comments on CC, I think i should put aside this thinking shall see how is goes when time comes.

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">yummy,
i latch my baby, no extra to express liao,nowadays he latch on 10mins then don't want liao, think he drink very little.At 12month+ jab, he weighed 10kg &amp; height 76cm, he eats often, but small amount, when he sees us eat something, he will be interested to eat, just worried that he is not drinking enough milk

Ellysia,
you still can pump out 3 times, think your boy is drinking much more than mine</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Kids in CC
There's pro and con for kids in CC. My #1 learn a lot fr the CC but she's oso become 'copy cat'. Her friend got long hair she also want long hair. Her friend got new shoe, she also want new shoe. I found that my ger had become very 'show off' after 10mths in CC. But i shld said we as parent play an important role in teaching them what is wrong, what is right.
Everytime i have to remind her that she cannot always compare with her friend. Then when i saw any news or movie showing poor ppl, i'll tell her that there're many kids much 'cham' than her. No money to study, no food to eat and blah, blah...
But of course all explanation must use kids communication style, coz my #1 age (she's 3), she wont understand the whole pic.
As she like to use 'ze me pan?'(then how?), so i oso use 'then how' to explain to her. Like, if u buy this, then you dont hv $$ to buy food, then how?</font>

Sharon,
all our kids are like this,
at grandma's place, they'll bully grandma,
at home they dare not...

#1 went to childcare at 20th month old,
#2 - 18th mths old,
guess #3 will be thrown in at 18th mths too... hehehe... "thrown in"!!!

feliciarosey,
I told my kids... if so &amp; so's mummy is such nice mummy,
then go &amp; be her child...
This mummy of theirs no money.

sharon...
jus be firm that everytime she does something she is not supposed to, stand firm and tell her she cannot do that. kids and babies, they can test our patience, cos they trying to see how long they will do it until we cave in...

so for my girl, everytime she touches something she isnt supposed to, i will jus tell her No and then bring her away. she can scream all she wan at me, but i will do it. slowly she will learn lah...

felicia...
agree wif wat u say... no matter our child is in CC or at home, we as parents are responsible for their upbringing and we have to be the ones to teach them the right values and mentality...

The Little Gym at Marina Square is giving free trial in teh month of July bcos they are newly open.

Im finally back to forum again.
Was so busy with my house moving till no time for some chat. And worst case is lappi mouse spoil , so took some time to replace it.

<font color="aa00aa">Shinely,
welcome back! Wow, u move house? To where?

About CC, i got another story to share which just happen yest.
Yest my #1 asked my MIL to buy 2 sets of hairclips. When ask why, she said she wanna give to her friend in CC. She said her friends ask her to buy for them. *faint*
My ger even agreed to buy for them!
Nowadays kids are very diff from our generation. Sometimes i just feel i'm so bad at teaching my ger.</font>

Morning ladies...

Shinely,
welcome neighbour =)...

ZuEn,
hi ya..long time din see ur posts leh....free trial? great =)...keke..tink will call to ask more..tks for e infor ya.DO u hv their number? They tie with Grace Kids?...hows ur TTC getting on?

Lengleng,
wow, throw in..hehe..which CC ur kids attending nw?

Felicia,
dun feel that lor, now kids are bery diff leh...They are so clever and materialistic now... I always tell hb, must be those supplements we ate during our pregnancy thats y kids are clever now..last time our mummy's time, where got supplement de..hee ..

morning mummies...
sigh... i served my quarantine at home yest... i came down wif sore throat and runny nose yest. then developed fever oso. went to see doc and got 2 days mc. in the end, my mum didnt allow my kids and maid to come home yest. hb was working late shift so i was home alone yest nite...

miss the kids sooo much... called them and spoke to my ger too... i said "call mama" and she said "mama"... wish i cld hug her...

shinely...
congrats to having ur own place...

feifei...
haha... dunno issit supplements or our genes are evolving to be better as each generation goes... my ger oso quite smart as well... in fact, i thot she is more "geng" than her bro when he was her age.

jus the other day, she crawled to a switch socket and turned it on (no worries, i plugged in the safety knob). after she did so, she looked at me and said "orh..." and waved her finger in a pointing manner and then shake her head and wave her hand, indicating "NO", which I always do whenever she touches it. haha... she has acted out my reaction even b4 i cld do so!

just wondering if you could share your ideas on what to feed the little ones. I am running out of breakfast/dinner/lunch ideas!! I think my little one is getting quite sick of the porridge I cook for her.

Also, I have been giving her cereal for breakfast but she doesn't seem to like it. In fact, her milk intake is still quite high now - about 800ml a day! She not a big fan of solid food.

She'll take the first 4 spoons willingly with mouth wide open then it'll be very hard to feed her after that. Anyone got problems like that?

soyabean,
ur ger so cute leh..my ger always on e switch lor, i did plug in e safety plug...when i see her doign it, i say no-no...she will look at me and crawl away..faintz...

Drink lots of herbal tea ya...me also throat dry now..

Hi tailwhack,
Maybe u can add some biscuit like cheerios or gerber stars biscuits to her cereal, or u can give her some bread to chew. Thats wat we did too. Or you might want to add some fruits to her cereals.

Actually now we started giving my ger zhu chang fen, bao, chee kueh without the cai bo4 etc...Basically wat we eat for bf, we will give her some =)

yah.. i would love to give her that too. She eats that when we're in singapore and LOVES it but we live in Shanghai and they eat really weird things for breakfast. Shao Bing and all that. So i don't dare to give her that.

So when you say add biscuit to her cereal, the cereal is quite watery, so it becomes like the "milk"?

I wish they had chee kueh and zhu chang fen here like they do in singaporean hawker centres!

My girl also goes for the switches (but the china ones don't have the button). WHen i say "no" sternly to her, she smile back at me lah!! They really testing your limits

tailwhack,
I see...u stay in Shanghai? hmm..nope, normally cereal is qutie thick de..which type of cereal did u give ur ger? maybe ur ger prefers thicker cereal so that she can feel e texture? My ger prefers thicker cereal to watery ones..I am giving my ger nestle and healthy times on alternate days. For healthy times one, its more fluffy, so we give her about 9scopes with 2 scopes of FM. We give her about 6 scopes of nestle cereal, plus 2 scope of FM, then some biscuits added in.

<font color="aa00aa">Soyabean, take care! Me oso bit sore throat, hubby too. Then my 2 gers still coughing. I realised now got bit haze then we tends to get sore throat easily.

feifei, agreed with you. Now kids very materialistic. They always compare with each oth.

tailwhack, my ger also take about 800ml of milk a day with fruits puree x 1, cereal x 1 and porridge x 1. Then we'll give her bread and some biscuits.

Ladies, btw any idea if kids is coughing, is not allow to take fruits? </font>

good morning ladies,

soyabean, ur ger very cute leh. i think she is trying to tell u 'i know lah, don't repeat again, i do it on ur behalf' lol...

hi tailwhack, my ger is exactly e opp of urs. she doesn't like milk. only solid. she can finished one whole big bowl of porridge every meal. when it comes to milk, she wil shake her head whenever she sees e milk bottle. i hv to break into a few interval jus to make her finish 5oz of milk. personally, i think drinking milk is better than eating solids leh. more nutrients right? correct me if i m wrong.

lengleng, envy u leh. still can get engorgement. how i wish i can get engorgement. can only happen in my dream bah...

Felicia

Can take apple if cough. But dun take it cold(i.e. take at room temperature). Avoid pear, watermelon which give phlemge.

feifei

My hb add raisins to HT cereals before.

tailwhack

I always add fruits puree to morning cereal to add taste. and rotate the fruit puree so its different taste.

Some mths back my boy ored start to get tired of porridge. And so we do rotation of menu. I tried giving the following

Porridge - white rice + brown rice cook in slow cooker with vegs (cut into pieces) &amp; meat/fish. Sometimes add barley/red dates/wolfberry/ginger/si sen brown rice for taste. Add potatoes/sweet potatoes/pumpkin for the sticky texture (easy to feed). Usually will add the ikan bilis powder which i made from ikan bilis myself. My MIL buy fresh silver fish to add in for calcium.

Mee suah - break into pieces before putting in slow cooker, same vegs/meat etc but avoid potatoes/sweet potatoes as the texture become too sticky n not so nice

Macoroni - bellamy marcoroni (plain or veg marcoroni) or bellamy pasta stars (brown rice) with brocoli/cauliflower, more chunky type of vegs

Soup with rice - seldom cook this as its more work and more soupy means harder to feed. Cook soup in slow cooker then mix with rice (from rice cooker).. the texture is a bit different.

Last weekend i cook apple with pumpkin marcoroni, smell v nice.

Can add tomatoes for 'kai wei' or add EYS si sen brown rice powder for appetite.

Fennie

As baby grow older they can suck out more milk at faster speed so u may tink tat latch 10mins is short = less intake, but maybe he took the same amt but he can do it faster than before. Maybe if u pump out u will realise tat yr intake didn't drop. But latching lesser than 15mins for each side (i.e. 30mins for both) will result in dropping supply therefore if the latching time is reduced it is better to pump some out after latching, even if there is no milk during pumping it will stimulate and eventually will have more supply.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
Most of the times i'm giving my ger apple puree leh. But MIL commend when kid cough shldnt give fruits. But i told her apple is ok, so she din said anything liao. But my ger was coughing for weeks, thou not serious coughing, only few coughing sound especially at nite.
Then recently she told me those neighbour aunties told her not to give fruits when kid coughing, so i stop. My apply puree was warmed up in hot water before given to her leh. Anyhow shall see if her cough will reduce or not after one week. Just hope she wont constipate.</font>